Back to iGet page
iGet free download for Mac

iGet Reviews

2.7.1
05 June 2008

Mac-to-Mac file transfer tool.

Anonymous
24 June 2004

Most helpful

Sign up to be a beta tester and receive the "Welcome!" e-mail 50-60 times! Maybe more! Sheesh.
Like
Version 1.0b5

Read 19 iGet User Reviews

Rate this app:

lacwbo
24 June 2015
Still works even on Yosemite. Hope it continues to work in later releases of OS X. Definitely the easiest way to transfer files.
Like
Version 2.7.1
appleHQ
03 February 2012
Abandonware..
Like
Version 2.7.1
3 answer(s)
misterjspencer
misterjspencer
12 October 2012
it still works, whats the problem
Like
appleHQ
appleHQ
12 October 2012
On what OSX version? Definitely not on newer versions.
Like
misterjspencer
misterjspencer
12 October 2012
I am using 10.8.2 transferring from an iMac to an MBA..only with 3 goes in demo mode but it works fine and it seems faster than the basic mac transfer between machines
Like
Jazzaddict
09 July 2008
really want the .app, but I think it's overpriced. This cost twice what other file transfer tools cost. I would encourage the developer to consider lowering the price. Of course I wouldn't encourage the developer to do anything that would cause a loss in revenue, but I think the amount of new customers a price cut would create might justify the price change. just my 2 cents. great .app. super easy, fast, and robust. :-) wish i would of caught the MU sale.
Like
Version 2.7.1
Delta-Farce
20 November 2007
Extremely awesome. Makes file transfer between Macs so simple and fast, yet its secure. One of the first installs I do when setting up a Mac. The "sixty second learning curve" is really not a lie. Best tool for secure transfers between Macs.
Like
Version 2.6.2
Ziek
23 June 2007
For those who have tried to access their Mac office files from a home Mac (OS 10.4.9 recommended), and more or less gave up on the project, because you skipped out on that engineering degree...this one's for you. iGet is the most intuitive tool I have yet come across for sending, receiving (copying) and searching files across the internet. When I looked at the testimonials I was at first read... and ... second read...skeptical...it can't be that easy. Checking further on the net there was some consistency to the stories. I bit...on the demo, anyway. Incredible! This is the way, over-the-net file transfers and search should be, from a Mac users perspective (is there really any other). It should always have been this way. The most current version vs 2.6.2, I downloaded from MacUpdate although it is available elsewhere. I have done Mac systems support since, are you ready...the Lisa... which puts me closer to Attends than Pampers, and have worked with many programs over this time, that fell far from the hype. This is one piece of software that deserves attention by all.
Like
Version 2.6.2
lacwbo
14 February 2007
iGet is an amazing application. Something Apple should have built into OSX. I downloaded the application and was able to connect to another Mac on my Airport LAN in less than 5 minutes. I transferred files in both directions flawlessly and fast over my LAN. The price does seem high; however.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Anonymous
22 October 2005
iGet is the BEST Mac transfer file tool I've seen. TRUE I would like it to connect to Linux. But that is now what it is designed for. I emaile five speed today, and they said yes SFTP to Linux maybe someday BUT they are focused on MAC. Also they had very good and detailed response from tech support even though I don't buy this product (yet). BUT to me the REMOTE SPOTLIGHT SEARCHING is worth the price by its own. That's AWESOME. -- Corb
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
21 October 2005
Still cannot hold a candle to the KDX Client / Server software from haxial.com.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
05 August 2004
iGet really is nice! It is faster than AppleShare in all ways--to connect, to use, and file transfer throughput--and it couldn't be easier. I used to have to use AppleShare over my home DSL to connect to work (4Mbps connection), and although that works, it sucks (and cannot RESUME when the Finder craps out, which happens a lot!!) Marc, I don't know about your speed problems, I got full 250KB per second, which is as fast as my DSL can go. And I get several megs per second on LAN... anyway way to go guys you made my life that much easier...
Like
Version 1.0
Flash1296
01 July 2004
The following is my (nearly verbatim) final beta test Report for iGet, reproduced here by permission of the software development team:    " . . . major complaint is SPEED, or lack of same. Speed of file transfers must always be the primary concern of admins and users alike. As a not-entirely scientific test I performed multiple uploads and downloads with iGet SIMULTANEOUS with an equal number of file transfers utilizing (haxial's) "KDX Client." [KDX file transfers are encrypted and function on a Server - Client and/or (Peer-to-Peer) basis. [ K D X is fully platform-independent and does NOT conform to Apple's A.P.I.s. It is completely cross-platform, including interfaces for BSD, OS X, Linux, WinXP, etc.] iGet file transfers were generally in the range of from 1 - 3 K/sec. (on a Cable Modem connection.) KDX got 3 - 6K /sec with 4 files at a time, and with 2 files, 4 - 8K/sec each. For comparison purposes only my downloads from a selection of standard web pages ranged from 45k/sec to over 500k/sec [utilizing "Speed Download"] A major annoyance was experienced immediately as iGet does NOT report the ongoing or the final speed of file transfer or estimated time to completion. These are available in all of the P - to - P applications that I have tried as both user and admin' over the last 12 years. The following is a illustrative representative sample: 2004-06-30 17:30:03 -0400: Task started. 2004-06-30 17:30:03 -0400: Requesting upload... 2004-06-30 17:31:28 -0400: Will start transfer stream... 2004-06-30 17:31:28 -0400: Total transfer size will be 2.51 MB. 2004-06-30 17:52:51 -0400: Complete. 2004-06-30 17:53:35 -0400: Transfer complete. 2004-06-30 17:53:35 -0400: Task completed. 2004-06-30 17:53:35 -0400: Elapsed time: 1411.547 sec. The computation required to determine the actual speed -- after the fact . . . 2.51 x 1,024 / 1,412 = 1.8K / sec. On balance, iGet has a nice clean uncluttered basic no-frills user-friendly and intuitive interface. Perhaps the "newbie" would be stumped by his inability to understand the File Permissions in the "Get Info" windows, but that is splitting hairs as (s)he has no "need to know." It is important for end-users to realize that iGet utilizes OS X's File Sharing, and, security concerns aside, this requires that the other party share with you BOTH her Mac's I.P. address AND her PASSWORD. This needs to be borne in mind. I believe that if the speed of file transfers can be ratcheted up by a factor of 2 or 3 then iGet can be viewed as a seriously valuable tool on a LAN or on a wireless Airport Extreme network. I would not hesitate to recommend it as an affordable and uncomplicated alternative to First Class Client / Server, etc.
Like
Version 1.0
Hi. Five Speed does not solicit reviews from friends, but we did mention to our beta group in our latest newsletter that iGet is now listed on MacUpdate and VersionTracker (the beta program was private up until 1.0b5, so it hadn't been listed anywhere). That is likely the reason for the jump in the number reviews (which we do appreciate, thanks!).
Like
Version 1.0b5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 July 2004
That still kind of skews the ratings a little, doesn't it?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
30 June 2004
Looks like the developer asked several friends to post positive reviews today. This software was released on the 23 of June and, all of a sudden today (June 30), several five-star reviews have been posted.
Like
Version 1.0b5
1 answer(s)
Wonsore
Wonsore
19 November 2008
you are right.
Like
Version 2.7.1
Anonymous
30 June 2004
I love this program. It's the easiest way to transfer files! No nonsense interface - check it out - it's the best option out there.
Like
Version 1.0b5
Anonymous
30 June 2004
Finally! Would have been nice if Apple had integrated something like iGet directly into OSX in the first place, but Five Speed has basically done all the hard work for them... This app works great in that it doesn't feel like an app – it feels like a part of my Mac. Initially just had it on my PB G4, but now I plan to install it on all my machines so I can initiate transfers from any machine (one of the cool features of iGet is that you don't have to have it on the remote machine your connecting to). Resumable file transfers is one of the main reasons I wanted to get iGet, and the ease of use (and SPEED of transfers) are nice bonuses. 5 Stars to Five Speed for iGet!
Like
Version 1.0b5
Anonymous
30 June 2004
iGet is not only well written but well conceived. As has been the root of Apple's success with so many of its technologies today (Darwin, iChat, X11, and more to come in Tiger) iGet is based on time proved, stable open source bits. Theses foundational pieces are then wrapped an integrated as if they were long lost siblings! The result is an incredibly easy to use, stable, and useful app. As a traveller and user of several Macs (home, work, etc) this software has filled a major gap. Were I used to have to do hand made command line SSH/SCP sessions, I can transfer files between macs with the ease that a Mac should have, no command lines or arcane knowledge needed here. Plus, the security is far superior to other, earlier options to this dilemma. Talk about an instant, easy home network to transfer files! One checkbox on one mac and start iGet on the other! I am hard pressed to name a detractor to this product so far (especially when the developers are so open to user feedback).
Like
Version 1.0b5
Anonymous
27 June 2004
I have to agree with Tommy. Try using the software before reviewing it. What "spyWARE IG" means is anybody's guess, but the previous review is off the mark too. Sure, AppleShare works fine on a fast LAN (as FiveSpeed's iGet page even says) but this app completely rocks for connecting to other connections like my office DSL. (Ever try AS on a 256Kbps upstream?? Sloooooow....) Five stars (except Value since the price is not announced).
Like
Version 1.0b5
Tommy Romano
26 June 2004
First of all I never write reviews, but this is ridiculous! This software rocks. I bet none of these people have even tried it. Download the free beta and try it yourself. Stable, great interface, absolutely the easiest way to transfer files between macs, and it's encrypted.
Like
Version 1.0b5
Anonymous
25 June 2004
There's a little thing called AppleTalk already built-in to the Macintosh Operating System. You can easily turn on this filesharing system. Alternatively you could use iChat to transfer archives between macs on a LAN or even use AIM's filesharing system. Given these (and multiple other) free options. Why would I even bother with this software that isnt even readily available for download? Oh yeah, I won't.
Like
Version 1.0b5
Anonymous
24 June 2004
Sign up to be a beta tester and receive the "Welcome!" e-mail 50-60 times! Maybe more! Sheesh.
Like
Version 1.0b5