Back to Nestopia page
Nestopia free download for Mac

Nestopia Reviews

1.4.2
07 August 2019

NES emulator.

Anonymous
11 September 2004

Most helpful

Best NES emulator on the Mac, period. Sure it's a little slow on older G4s but that's only because the emulator is cycle-accurate and not taking shortcuts like most NES emulators do. Small price to pay for near-perfect emulation, IMO.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2

Read 14 Nestopia User Reviews

Rate this app:

danaldd-fan
09 September 2014
i don't know what to say because i somehow can't open it because in my finder, it won't let me click on it
Like
Version 1.4.1
GrammarNatzie
11 October 2012
I'm new to emulators, and I don't even know if this should be under troubleshooting, but how do I download games to go on it? Thanks.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Foobar1969
05 August 2012
Works great on MBP Lion, although the controls are not adequately explained. Also, some features are intentionally excluded and sold as a separate shareware add-on.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Acuraice
15 June 2012
does anyone know why the game genie codes for legend to zelda worked for the first few hours of the game but now will not work??? have re-entered them correctly a million times,restarted game,loaded saved states etc. still they dont work anymore. where is the data stored for the game genie function to work??? i emailed the developer but he doesnt why. is it bc of lion 10.7.4?? but if that was the case why the hell ddid everything work perfectly and i mean everything in unison,the controll/joystick with emulator enhancer demo,game genie codes,freeze/load states,everything was working perfectly before. i unistalled and reinstalled completely and still same problem. its either the rom itself or nestopia.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Raffpio
27 February 2012
beautiful app but now doesn't work with Lion. :(
Like
Version 1.4.1
Utrunn
15 December 2011
A great NES emulator. Provides state freezing/unfreezing, custom keyboard maps for two players, and several other features. I've noticed some occasional stuttering and on rare occasions when opening a ROM it instead opens the previously opened ROM. No significant problems or crashing.
Like
Version 1.4.1
anonymous-toucan-2739
18 August 2010
I was wondering, is this a more up to date or renamed version of RockNES?
Like
Version 1.4.1
Em-Adespoton
14 March 2006
The current version of Nestopia features * Completely free to use. * Efficient CPU usage, for improved battery life on PowerBooks. * Flexible video display sizes with numerous Blitter effects. * Sound recording functionality. * Transparent decompression of GZIP-compressed game files. * Support for 174 different mappers. * Support for five additional sound chips. It is THE BEST cycle-exact emulator for NES on OS X. The previous reviewer who said Nestopia can't run full screen stated falsely. The free version of Nestopia cannot run full-screen; with the purchase of Emulator Enhancer (which works with ALL of Bannister's 28 current emulators). From his web site: Additional Features This feature set above can be expanded using Emulator Enhancer, a shareware module which adds the following additional options: * Full screen mode. * Network play (some emulators). * Real time video and sound filtering. * Support for USB game pads and joysticks. EE is currently available for . If anyone wants to rate EE (based on the customer having to pay for it), this belongs in a review of that software, not Nestopia. Nestopia even has its own support forum now; use it if you need help with the program: http://www.bannister.org/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=forum;f=36 I rated the Features as low, as Nestopia is missing a few features in the free version -- also, it is currently missing support for zip and 7-zip archives, as well as for Quartz effects and OpenGL overlays. Everything else, I rated as 5, as there are no other NES emulators that perform as well (on ANY platform) as long as you have a fast enough CPU to run it at full speed.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
Emulaunch
14 March 2006
The best Nes emulator available for the Mac. You need emulator enhancer to make the best of all of Richard's emulators but its a small price to pay for all the hard that one person has done porting so many emulators to the mac.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
Graknor
29 January 2006
This emulator cannot even play in fullscreen mode, pathetic.
Like
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Zepfhyr
Zepfhyr
03 October 2008
The emulator gains support from the developers "Emulator Enhancer" product. This adds full-screen support and gamepad support. Emulator Enhancer is shareware, but is fully-featured without registration (there is a nag screen at startup).
Like
Version 1.4.1
Anonymous
17 October 2005
The best NES mac emulator. SO the best. I don't like NES much but I play it now just because this emulator is better than my N64 one!!!! Get this emulator, and get commercial ROMs for it with Limewire a free program that lets you download files
Like
Version 1.2
Ian Lueck
12 October 2005
Nestopia 1.2 is FAR faster than previous versions (up to 50% faster, in fact). Anyone who was severely disappointed with Nestopia's former performance (or irritated with how slow RockNES has become) should definitely give the new Nestopia a try.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Anonymous
17 July 2005
Works great....except has no USBcontroller option, the supplied emulator enhancer DOES NOT WORK, all other NES emulators work with USB controllers
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
11 September 2004
Best NES emulator on the Mac, period. Sure it's a little slow on older G4s but that's only because the emulator is cycle-accurate and not taking shortcuts like most NES emulators do. Small price to pay for near-perfect emulation, IMO.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2