Back to Tweak Freak page
Tweak Freak free download for Mac

Tweak Freak Reviews

2.1
21 January 2006

Operating system enhancement tool (was Control Freak).

Anonymous
09 August 2005

Most helpful

If you like Tweak Freak you should try Onyx latest version :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0

Read 29 Tweak Freak User Reviews

Rate this app:

philonous
12 January 2008
I really hope this gets updated for Leopard. It's a great utility.
Like
Version 2.1
Souldressing
09 May 2007
Oh yeah, this app Rocks the Bomb! Onyx screwed up my system, but tweak freak didn't break anything, and it even let me turn off spotlight. What a relief!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
09 August 2005
If you like Tweak Freak you should try Onyx latest version :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 August 2005
Tit for tat, huh? LOL.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
09 August 2005
This is a really lousy app--confusing interface, poor developer support, crashes and hangs. Try Onyx, it's far more stable and has a superior feature set.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
31 July 2005
Sigh...like we really needed another one of these utilities...
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 July 2005
Yeah, variety sucks. We don't need more than one of any application. Come to think of it, we don't need Macs, either. We should all just use the same kind of computer. It would make things so much less complicated, you know? Yep. Variety sucks. Totally.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 August 2005
I also do hate these "we really needed another one of these utilities?" comments. Can these people think at all?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 July 2005
I've always had luck with this app. I use the cleaning feature to zap all of my internet browsers caches and other storage hogs in one click. I also use other shareware apps in this category as well. No complaints here, and no problems as others have listed in the previous version.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
12 May 2005
Stay away - poor programming - hangs, gives an applescript error on quit. Choose something else that is more stable! Had to force quit app.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
07 May 2005
Hung while doing repair permisions and update prebinding under Tiger on an iMac G5 then f---ed my finder tookbar settings. When Onyx is updated I'm going back.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 March 2005
I do not see what all the concern is about--if you have not tried it. I have and try them all. This one actually works well and has the best browser cache cleaner of the bunch. Along with Panther Cache Cleaner, resides Tweak Freak and my Mac could not be happier.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
26 March 2005
Have not installed this, but want to give a quick comment... I've learned my lesson with appearance and/or OS enhancement tools... the benefits are usually very minimal, and when they cause problems (of which they often do), the problems are big. I run everything lean...in fact, if there is an installer that's beyond the "drag to your system folder" type, and it's not Apple, I usually discard. My G4 hasn't had the SLIGHTEST bit of trouble since I started this practice, and I'm going to stick with it. Again, just a comment and not a review on this app.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
25 March 2005
considering all of the alternatives, don't bother with Control Freak/Tweak Freak. The interface/arrangement of options is a bit cumbersome, it occasionally crashes (an OS tweaking app crashing is not excusable, you never know what it might crash in the middle of), and the final straw was when I repaired permissions as part of routine maintenance, restarted, and then all of my permissions were completely screwed up. Apps were hanging, Activity Monitor wouldn't launch, etc etc - repairing permissions again in Disk Utility solved the problem, but I've never seen it have to repair a thousand permissions before. I don't mean to badmouth the dev's effort, and I appreciate that it's free, but really - this app caused a lot more problems than it fixed, and there are other apps out there that do the exact same thing without the problems.
Like
Version 1.0
Macmend-com
05 January 2005
works like a dream for me, on my g4 tibook and G5 DP. I like this app and its FREE
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
26 November 2004
-Crashes during startup.
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
25 November 2004
two Apple script errors on startup and then quits! Tried on PowerbookTI g4 & iMac g4 & iBookg3 & g4 Sorry
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
13 September 2004
Is this just a different flavoured Cocktail ???
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
asmeurer-1
asmeurer-1
23 November 2004
Yeah, this is the free flavor.
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
23 August 2004
Same Applescript error problem on startup on my iBook 700. Please fix as this program kicks ass!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
22 August 2004
Generates an Apple script error. get if addr en(0) failed, (os/kern) failure (1) On my iBook 700.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
20 August 2004
It's an excellent app that does everything it advertises.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
20 August 2004
I'm getting the same Apple Script error too! Please fix this. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
20 August 2004
Generates an AppleScript Error on Launch!!!
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
20 August 2004
I cannot believe this program, WOW WOW WOW is all l can say. I tried for weeks to change my mtu to its best etc and yet on speed tests would only get 700-800Kb now quick optimise for broadband and 960kb straightaway and pages load up so much faster!!! THANKYOU if it wasn't free l would pay for it lol!
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
02 August 2004
Ithink this app is great, I am relatively new to osx, and this is a great way to get the most out of my mac. Very noticable difference in download speeds with the optimized buffer. For that alone this app is worth it. And FREE... how could you beat that? Well, a nicer Icon.. But I change all my frequently used app's icons anyway..
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
04 July 2004
That icon is great as a cartoon but HORRIBLE as an icon. No contrast, no recognizable outline... just bad. Sorry.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
02 July 2004
Lovely implementation of this kind of utility. It's very intuitive and offers a few new bells and whistles. That said, the launch time is a bit on the slow side, but who's complaining for a free app. A nice addition to compete with Cocktail, Maintain and Onyx.
Like
Version 1.3
TerryJ
02 July 2004
Very nice! Very versatile and easy to use interface. Thank you very much for a great free and useful utility!
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
21 June 2004
Control Freak offers a couple of features not found elsewhere in free apps, as far as I know: - Change the Dialog Sheet Animation Delay (!!!) - Backup / Restore Finder Preferences - Backup / Restore Dock Preferences - Optimize Network Buffers for Dialup or Broadband - Save embedded Quicktime Movies I like it. Thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 1.2
Jimw
20 June 2004
At least it's free and fairly complete. Could have gotten annoyed by the Cocktail shareware fee. Probably learned something in the process by doing it. Now we have still another free choice so lets not scream to loudly as it does seem to have a few nice twists, judging from its description.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
20 June 2004
::cough:: Tinkertool ::cough::
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
20 June 2004
Sorry, but what's the point? There are already other apps that do this. Isn't this reinventing the wheel?
Like
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2004
U bet.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 July 2004
You're right - we should get rid of alternative word processing programs since MS Word exists, Apple never should have made Safari since there were already so many other browsers, and we should all complain that people are writing alternative FREE software.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 July 2005
You are missing the point, if you're going to reinvent the wheel, then do it better. This is just one of many many apps that keep popping up that all do the same things. If people released apps with more features or stability then there would be a point however these are practically verbatim copies of each other. Granted this one is free, which does it some small credit, but at the end of the day it does nothing new, or in a better way than previous implementations. Too put it bluntly this is a waste of resources, both users and the developers.
Like
Version 2.0