Back to Angband page
Angband free download for Mac

Angband Reviews

4.0.0
30 June 2015

Dungeon exploration game based on J.R.R. Tolkien books.

Frosty
01 June 2007

Most helpful

Seeing as some have totally misunderstood this genre of computer game and have therefore given it a very low rating because they thought there ought to be graphics in a 1.7mb download, I felt the need to give a positive review. I have played this game on and off for ten years. It is an extremely challenging game (for me) and will offer hours of gameplay if you like RPGs. I wish there was continued development on this game, but it seems that steam has run out of the project. I'm glad it was ported to OS X though. Thank you developer. Good job.
Like (9)
Version 3.0.5

Read 14 Angband User Reviews

Rate this app:

bbw7
01 July 2013
Am glad that the related/forked game, FAangband, had an update, otherwise I would never have been aware of these games. At the developer's website there is a ver. 3.4.1 available (MU download links is to 3.1.2), which is about 16 Mb and appears to have a bit more in the way of graphics -- for those require such fluff.
Like
Version 3.1.2v2
Londonskater
20 February 2010
Modern games leave very little to your imagination: there's usually a set goal, one or few set ways to reaching it, and heavily detailed graphics that show you exactly what the game developers want you to see. Angband and all the rogue-like variants are not about this. The graphics are non-existent or limited to tiles, the gameplay is entirely open, and your goals may be different: you might want to collect magical weapons, or learn all the spells, or whatever, but it's a rich, rich world down there, and we're all the richer for it. It may take a little getting used to if you're coming from Doom III or Half-Life 2, but if you love gaming, love fantasy, then you may find something new and brilliant here. There's nothing like a little frustration and disappointment (carting unknown weapons and armour; finding out they're rubbish) to make the triumphs (finding a Holy Avenger; killing a Multi-Hued Dragon) even sweeter. Try it, you'll like it :D
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2v2
Dremwkr
28 December 2009
I have been playing Angband and the like, a long time before I played WoW. I enjoy the thoughtful pacing and using my imagination. I still play it because it is rich in RPG aspects, the way that a movie isn't as rich and in depth as a book is. Before there was a WoW, Warcraft, etc. there was Moria and its variants, Angband. This is a remarkable piece of gaming software. (I give it a 5 for Graphics and Sound because I have a good imagination)
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
Kris-Browne
27 July 2009
Amid the Rogue family of games, there are those descended of Nethack (which are direct Rogue descendants) and those descended of Moria. Of the Moria family, Angband is the most successful, most consistent, and to my mind most fun. While there are tilesets available to play with a modicum of graphics, I still always play text only. I know in my minds eye what the various creatures look like, and no game will ever match the resolution of my imagination, even if they might have superior framerates.
Like
Version 3.1.1b
nargot
08 January 2009
perfect osx port of angband. havn't had time to test stability however, due to the nature of the game i would hazard a guess that it would be fine. I'll play it for a while when i get time. To those who want a fast action paced graphics based game this is not for you. Those who love moria/anband this is for you. i have given 5 star review as angband as is a fantastic game and the 1 star reviews are complete rubbish.
Like (5)
Version 3.1b
1 answer(s)
nargot
nargot
16 January 2009
stable currently level 33 without any hitch
Like (1)
Version 3.1b
Frosty
01 June 2007
Seeing as some have totally misunderstood this genre of computer game and have therefore given it a very low rating because they thought there ought to be graphics in a 1.7mb download, I felt the need to give a positive review. I have played this game on and off for ten years. It is an extremely challenging game (for me) and will offer hours of gameplay if you like RPGs. I wish there was continued development on this game, but it seems that steam has run out of the project. I'm glad it was ported to OS X though. Thank you developer. Good job.
Like (9)
Version 3.0.5
Anonymous
24 April 2005
It was boring and needed some graphics.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.5
Anonymous
28 January 2005
Most kids 15 and under would not like it maybe even 20 and under... personaly I will probably never play it again. :) CAUTION: THIS IS A TEXT ONLY GAME!!
Like (3)
Version 3.0.5
Anonymous
13 January 2005
Excellent dungeons&adventure type of game for intelligent players that have imagination, persistence, skills, strategic thinking and ... ehem, courage :) Most recommended !!! Five stars !
Like (5)
Version 3.0.5
Anonymous
04 September 2004
Very addictive and intelligent old school game. It is refreshing to play a game that doesn't rely on the latest video card or needs multi gigs of files. Unlike other games this one depends on the player for imagination. Much like reading a novel instead of watching the movie. To get the most out of the game, it is best to read the help files by typing '?'.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.5
Wormwood
13 June 2004
A more serious, less tougue-in-check game than NetHack, Angband is a classical "roguelike" game inspired by The Lord Of The Rings. While its dated "emacs" like interface will turn off many modern game players, the replay value and game depth puts most 3-D games to shame.
Like (7)
Version 3.0.5
Anonymous
13 June 2004
Note: this is not a game for idiots. Angband is a tremendously rich and enjoyable fantasy adventure game with a difficult-to-learn interface, more so for younger players who have never experienced a text-based or Apple II-style game. Some people love it, and some people don't get it. So try downloading Angband and figure out which one you are.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.5
The-Valrus
13 June 2004
Had you bothered to read the readme or tried pressing "?" while playing (reasonably intuitive if you want help, I think), you might have found help files available in abundance. Angband's been around for 14 years, and for good reason; your inability or unwillingness to figure it out doesn't merit a one-star rating and probably reflects more on you than on the game.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.5
Anonymous
13 June 2004
This is just about the worst mac application (let alone game) that I have ever opened. It is played within a terminal window (fair enough), but after creating your character, you're subjected to a clueless textual interface. I died within five seconds of holding down the arrow keys (ie, moving around the "world"). After this, I promptly trashed this download.
Like
Version 3.0.5
1 answer(s)
Wormwood
Wormwood
13 June 2004
This is not a "Mac" game. It is a relatively old "roguelike" game, with the same pedigree as NetHack, Rogue and Moria. These are the game that originally inspired Blizzard's Diablo. I've played this thing since college days. Very addiction, but definitely not for all tastes.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.5