Back to Chmox page
Chmox free download for Mac

Chmox Reviews

0.4ß
13 September 2005

Viewer for Microsoft Help CHM files.

Anonymous
10 June 2004

Most helpful

Works just fine so far. Some Features like Search don't work (and still some French in the Application). Nice and easy interface. Perfect for me. Thank you.
Like
Version 0.1b

Read 17 Chmox User Reviews

Rate this app:

Poikkeus
22 December 2010
I've used this application once, but was able to handle this arcane MS file format quite ably. But if web activity is evidence, the .chm format will be relegated to the past - where it belongs. Chmox is barebones, easy to use.
Like
Version 0.4b
i know developers of these utilities are on a hiding to nothing, having to work with proprietory microsoft junk - but i wish the various chm viewers for OSX would at least try to be a bit more user friendly. chmox is a typical example; OK it does what it says on the tin, as far as displaying the content, but it would be nice if scrolling to the end of a page loaded the next one [as happens with PDFs], or if there was a keyboard command to load the next page. instead, on a chm i'm reading at the moment, i have to scroll back up to the top of each page when i've finished reading it, to click on the 'next page' link which is at the top instead of [more logically] at the bottom. now this may be a 'feature' of the chm itself and not chmox's doing, but if it was possible, it would be nice if chmox could make working through a chm a bit less painful. oh yeah - and as someone previously wrote, PDF export [so we didn't have to bother with this microsoft crap in the first place!] would be a killer feature. chimp apparently has this - but their website is dead.
Like
Version 0.4beta
Mrgando
01 June 2006
mac users need a CHM reader , this one was going on pretty well, keep developing it :)
Like
Version 0.4beta
Wlester67
17 January 2006
It would be nice if one could print using this. Other than that, really good software.
Like
Version 0.4beta
Anonymous
24 November 2005
Nice but i didn't have "search" button on drawer like on screenshot one... i need it.
Like
Version 0.4beta
Anonymous
08 November 2005
I'm quite new to this .chm format and though MS never seizes to amaze me with their proprietary garbage. Thing is there anything for Mac to convert these .chm to say a PDF or back to HTML? I saw converters for Windows; hopefully this Chmox will one day export to other formats (hint hint... please and thank you!)?
Like
Version 0.4beta
Anonymous
16 October 2005
Good work. NEEDS a "Go Back" or "Go Forward" button option in the toolbar. I clicked a picture link, and it jumped to a page w/out a [NEXT] or a [PREV] page link.. which leads me to the next suggestion.. Why cant we navigate the Content (Drawer) menu using the UP and DOWN arrows on the keyboard like you can in Apple's Preview app? Lastly, when I navigate using those on [NEXT] and [PREV] page links, why doesnt the Content (Drawer) UPDATE the position to let you know where you are? The same OLD page is highlighted till you click to a new location. Seems like that makes the Drawer 50% useless. Dan.
Like
Version 0.4beta
Anonymous
13 September 2005
Can't view some of the photo in .chm file.
Like
Version 0.48
Anonymous
13 September 2005
It's a great little app - it could use a few more features (bookmarks is the first to come to mind) but very functional as it is. I can't see any difference with the previous version though...
Like
Version 0.48
Anonymous
17 August 2005
awesome program
Like
Version 0.3
31 July 2005
I'm on panther 3.8 Chmox 0.3 opens up with absolutley no problem and pages appear. No graphics, though. A little blue box with a ? appears. Clicking on 'picture x' or [View fullsize image] has no effect.
Like
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 August 2005
Please submit your bug here: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=add&group_id=109512&atid=653690 Don't forget to attach the CHM document so I can reproduce on my machine
Like
Version 0.3
Anonymous
26 November 2004
Very good work! It renders the files great, much better than xChm, and it's stable and free. Keep working on it, an option to check for updates would be nice too.
Like
Version 0.2
Anonymous
28 September 2004
A nice little piece of Open Source. It works and renders the pages nicely. The biggest problem is that it doesn't have a find functionality.
Like
Version 0.2
Yves Pouplard
01 July 2004
Any chance for it to work on OSX 10.2.8?
Like
Version 0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 July 2004
No 10.2.8 for the moment.. My current priority is a full featured version of Chmox. OS X 10.3 allows me to do it faster.. You're the second person to ask for it, so I will try my best when I will have to time to install a 10.2.8 test environment
Like
Version 0.2
Anonymous
22 June 2004
For the first time, I can open CHM files on my Mac without side steps. The program is stable and very usable. I would like more flexible zoom options. Also, I wish that the About dialog box contained a direct email address to the author, so that I can send her comments & requests more easily.
Like
Version 0.1b
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 June 2004
You can send me fetaure request by following the links from the new homepage!
Like
Version 0.1b
Anonymous
12 June 2004
Says it's open source, yet no sourcecode is available.
Like
Version 0.1b
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 June 2004
The source code is easily downloaded via CVS. Go to chmox.sourceforge.net and follow the links to get the source. Then go apologize to the developer. :)
Like
Version 0.1b
Anonymous
10 June 2004
Works just fine so far. Some Features like Search don't work (and still some French in the Application). Nice and easy interface. Perfect for me. Thank you.
Like
Version 0.1b