Back to Smultron page
Smultron free download for Mac

Smultron Reviews

12.0.1
13 October 2019

Easy-to-use, powerful text editor.

stefaniebarth
07 October 2018

Most helpful

Das ist eine der besten Textverarbeitungsprogramme mit denen ich bisher gearbeitet habe. Sehr gut gefällt mir die erweiterte Suche aufgrund derer man komplexe wenn/dann Beziehungen abfragen und zum Ersetzen nutzen kann. Auch das Vergleichen von zwei Dateien ist sehr gut. Preis/ Leistung stimmen. Danke dem Entwicklungs Team
Like (2)
Version 11.0.2

Read 154 Smultron User Reviews

Rate this app:

stefaniebarth
07 October 2018
Das ist eine der besten Textverarbeitungsprogramme mit denen ich bisher gearbeitet habe. Sehr gut gefällt mir die erweiterte Suche aufgrund derer man komplexe wenn/dann Beziehungen abfragen und zum Ersetzen nutzen kann. Auch das Vergleichen von zwei Dateien ist sehr gut. Preis/ Leistung stimmen. Danke dem Entwicklungs Team
Like (2)
Version 11.0.2
piquadratpi2
20 May 2018
Meanwhile I use macOS High Sierra and therefore I udated to Smultron 10.1.6. It works like version 8 and 9, is fast and small and the developer always updates very fast if it is necessary. The new features are great, especially the dark mode. I use it beside textedit from Apple very often and really can recommend it...
Like (1)
Version 10.1.6
Macs007
02 October 2016
Still using the free 4.3.1 I see no reason to do a payed upgrade with no interesting new things.
Like (1)
Version 9.0.1
1 answer(s)
Ptk3
Ptk3
09 April 2018
The free version is now name Erbele, wich means Strawberry (in french Fraise means the same, that was the name of the old open source fork from Smultron when it became a paid app). You can update in the free software world… https://github.com/abentele/Erbele
Like (2)
piquadratpi2
08 February 2016
I updated from version 7 of the AppStore and could only say that this editor is a real good alternative to BBEdit or TextEdit. It is fast, very easy to learn and has many features. And the update price of 7€ is very fair. I think I will use it from now on more often than TextEdit. And the support is great too. Fast and very helpful. Thank you!
Like
Version 8.2.3
rtheone
28 April 2015
This editor seriously lacks a good code folding mechanism. It's simply not enough to have to manually select every single paragraph of text and then apply the "text folding" menu command on top of that. Most code editors (even Brackets, BBEdit, and TextWrangler) have a much nicer mechanism for automatically identifying folding structures. In those, you simply click the little black triangle.
Like (2)
Version 7.0.5
2 answer(s)
Steven-Sky
Steven-Sky
07 February 2016
I agree about the folding problems. This is badly implemented.

On side note - wasn't this a free app in the past?
Like
rtheone
rtheone
07 February 2016
Yes, it used to be free. But since it's now a commercial product, I found it valid to rank it down for missing basic functionality. Otherwise, I would have been more forgiving.
Like
Bleech-Jef
01 October 2014
Best text/code editor for a small price. Highly recommended for just about everyone.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.10
Finally stepped up from the old free version. Great editor worth every penny.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.7
Steeps-Patrick
21 February 2014
Wasn't this free before? Not that I am complaining. :) $5 is still high value for this great app.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.4
1 answer(s)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
07 March 2014
Ptk3: It's implemented separately in each bundle. For HTML, Bundles -> HTML -> Validate Syntax.
Like
Iliketrash
11 January 2014
This editor does not provide a way to direct compilation errors to a special window where they can be clicked on to take you back to the offending line in the source. Without this feature, it's just eye candy in actual use.
Like
Version 6.0.3
2 answer(s)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
28 February 2014
TextMate, Komodo Edit. I would be pleased to learn of others.
Like
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
07 March 2014
Oops—I forgot TextWranger and BBedit
Like
Greedyfranky
11 August 2013
Great neat and easy text editor !
Like
Version 5.3
1 answer(s)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
07 March 2014
Sorry—Ignore that. I posted to the wrong thread.
Like
blanked
28 June 2013
I like Smultron 5. It's stable with a good array of features. The older versions of Smultron were more attractive in terms of ease of use. For example: 1/ Snippets should be insertable via unique keystroke combinations (built into the macro). 2/ Preview (HTML) does not appear to work in Safari (6.0.5). I get a blank tab. I have to copy and paste my code into Smultron 3.5.1 to preview.
Like
Version 5.3
1 answer(s)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
07 March 2014
Ptk3: It's implemented separately in each bundle. For HTML, Bundles -> HTML -> Validate Syntax.
Like
Mikael-B
04 December 2012
A 10.8 requirement for a text editor both seem steep and is. I blame Apple though. They make it more awkward to support several OS X versions then need be.
Like (2)
Version 5.1
2 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 February 2013
I blame Apple because they could have made it simple in Xcode to support several OS versions back and they choosed to not do that. I selected Sublime for now. Smultron was just a placeholder anyway.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 February 2013
That is beside the point. Apps can be on MAS and support OS X 10.6. Apple didn't have to push developers at all. Apple developers have been pushed around for too long time by Apple.We should be happy we still have the great supply we have in the Mac market. places like Macupdate, and before Cnet bought Versiontracker that too, do a great job advancing the Mac platform and don't spread garbage apps to a large extent. The vitality of the great Apple apps there is don't need the app store. If MAS kills the other ways to distribute Mac apps Apple will kill the spirit of Mac. I don't think they will do that though.
Like (1)
Masterminter
07 November 2012
Excellent editor for all kind of purposes. I use this mainly for php stuff. In the past free but well worth the small asking price.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
Naoh
15 August 2012
Just so people don't get confused, the download link currently points to Smultron 4, not Smultron 5. Remember to take a moment to check which version you're looking at before buying.
Like
Version 5.0
Thomas1977
31 March 2012
Active updated! Thx for making the best editor.
Like (1)
Version 4.3
Mlbkxbx
17 October 2011
Not digging the multiple windows interface. That was one of the things that was so nice about smultron back in the days, when single-window applications was something unheard of. I'm not going back. Well, while i'm at it, i never liked the in-application (toolbar, preference, etc) icons either. The main application icon is awesome though! Still, i wish smultron all the best! :)
Like (5)
Version 4.0.5
DirkTheMenace
05 October 2011
Great editor. Was free in the past but the dev jumped the crAppStore for money. But in the end it is worth paying the small price tag.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.5
Vince-
14 August 2011
I really liked Smultron when it was free... A+ Why is Fraise development stopped?
Like (2)
Version 4.0.3
1 answer(s)
Raddle
Raddle
22 September 2011
Probably because it's free.
Like (6)
alas!
01 August 2011
I wouldn't mind paying $5 or even $10 for it but, as I've posted here before, I do have a big problem with the MacCrapStore and Apple's attempt to jam it down our throats. I have the utmost respect for developers who elect to keep sales in-house and will support them exclusively. If any software that I want is available via MacCrapStore only I'll just not purchase it. Some smart developers offer their software directly through themselves as well as through the CrapStore; I don't have a problem with that approach.
Like (17)
Version 4.0.2
4 answer(s)
nattkrigare
nattkrigare
03 August 2011
+1 I hope that developer reads these comments and really hope that there will be a NON-CrapStore version soon. Until then I am sticking with Fraise which is pretty much Smultron :)
Like (7)
Raddle
Raddle
22 September 2011
Not a comment on the software = not useful.
Like (3)
Thyx
Thyx
18 October 2011
@Raddle: let's see whether a meta-comment or a meta-meta-comment is further below zero on the usefulness scale…
Like (3)
Ikir
Ikir
20 February 2013
Why? App Store is great, multilicense, easy install. Much more handy for novice users, you can keep all your purchase and reinstall when you want. Mac App Store is great, unified digital distribution is the way. I don't really get why some users like you make such a great noise. And yes 30% cut is great too, i know many devs and thanks Apple for this (server and payments are all handled by Apple).
Like
Yavari
29 July 2011
I used Smultron back when it was free, so my reviews are based on that. I was using it for the bulk of my coding projects, and I love its intuitive and well-thought-out interface. I see the creator of Smultron has decided to sell the product via the Apple Store, which I have mixed feelings about. On the one hand, he's charging for an open-source project that has been free for years (and has previous free versions and a free fork called Fraise); on the other hand, the price itself ($5) is extremely low, and is an extremely good value for what you're getting. I'd say it's a good deal, even if I have mixed feelings about him 'going commercial'.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.1
2 answer(s)
Rich-K-
Rich-K-
01 August 2011
Your "mixed feelings" are over $5!!!! Do you work for free?
Like (13)
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
01 August 2011
So you used his work for free for years and now you have mixed feelings about $5...shame on you!
Like (11)
H1bast
27 July 2011
Just 12 Day ago i buy Version 3 from the App Store and now again he wants my money, why no Update aviable?
Like (2)
Version 4.0.1
Robk
27 July 2011
The last FREE version of Smultron (with source) is available here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/smultron/files/smultron/
Like (3)
Version 4.0.1
Radus
27 July 2011
simply the best for lion. Buying it from the app-store is a no brainer. keep up your outstanding work.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.1
1 answer(s)
winnar
winnar
15 August 2011
Exactly to the point. The app-store really is a no-brainer! Why are you supporting something that suppose that you don't use your brain? I suggest you use your brain to think about how corporations and their chase for profit alone limits everybody's freedom. Why is supporting multinational corporations in your interest at all? Apple (and micro$oft, including oracle, ikea, coca cola, haliburton, google, and you name the rest of them) are trying to take over whereever there is free choice. The open source community offers a chance for the individual (including developers like Borg) to make a difference. Why not? I would rathe pay 100 dollars to Borg than the 4.99 that he charges behind the appstore. It is beyond me how people (particularly on the right wing) want to defend monopoly. Tell me, why do you like the idea that all your purchases are routed through your operating system, owned and controlled by apple? What might be the advantage of giving up freedom and integrity for a net business right inside your computer? Let me know! Give it to me - all the fantastic qualities that I have missed...
Like (1)
Drfrank
23 July 2011
A new 64 bit text editor already featuring Lion's Resume, Auto Save and Versions. That plus line numbering, syntax colouring, snippets, regular expressions and commands for $5. Bluntly, I'm dismayed that anyone would have the nerve to complain about such a bargain. I'm delighted to see that Peter Borg has finally decided to charge something for his hard work and I'm very grateful that he has been so generous.
Like (6)
Version 4.0
Hkim
22 July 2011
Yet another app that I will not "buy" through the Apple store. They want to charge 4.99 USD for this "free" app.
Like (2)
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Ben-Gold
Ben-Gold
22 July 2011
The developer submitted his app to the app store because he would like to be paid for his hard work, as he should. You seem to suggest that Apple finds apps it wants in the Mac App Store and charges for them.
Like (7)
Hkim
Hkim
02 August 2011
No "ben", paying is no problem but using the Apple store is a big minus. Maybe I could buy a copy through his site? . . . not possible.
Like (1)
Neil-M
Neil-M
09 September 2011
Hkim, did you ever donate during it's long life as openware?
Like
Iliketrash
21 July 2011
I haven't looked at version 4 (Lion only) but it looks like the main changes are to accommodate Lion's new functionality. The program therefore, according to the What's New list, still lacks project management features (at a minimum it should have virtual folders) and the ability to add italics and bold to syntax highlighting. There are other niggles—the auto-insert matching ) works as advertised but instead of recognizing that the user has then hit ) and advancing the cursor to the right of ), it forces the user to manually advance the cursor. On a personal note, this user appreciates the first-class handling of Ada syntax and the fact that the Ada function parser actually works, as opposed to the attempts to do so on some other text editors. But all in all, this is a good effort and will be suitable for many whose needs are at the intermediate level. It is a straightforward design, has a good multifile search, is deeply Coca, and is really pretty graphically.
Like (2)
Version 4.0
DonkeyKong
21 July 2011
Was free, now $5. But still worth every $ One of the best text editors for Mac OS X. A good alternative : Fraise, free but no updates as far as I know.
Like (3)
Version 4.0
SawtoothRising
02 June 2011
Last I knew Smultron was discontinued so I've switched over to Fraise. now all of a sudden it's back and it's commercial. I've moved on sorry and all that
Like (3)
Version 3.8.4
Leoofborg
02 June 2011
No one should have a problem with handing the dev 5 measely dollars. As an aside, there are apps like HTML & blog editors that do not fit with the Mac App Store model (the dev cannot push quick updates). But every update of Smultron has been very well thought out and stable. Maybe if Apple had more folks like Peter Borg with his mapped & judicious updates, the Mac App Store would be more successful. Regardless, if you get ONE Mac App Store app... let it be this one.
Like (6)
Version 3.8.4
1 answer(s)
alas!
alas!
21 July 2011
@Leoofborg While I certainly have no problem with the measly $5 price of admission, I do have a big problem with the contemptible MacCrapStore model and Apple's disgusting attempt at forcing their users into making use of it.
Like (6)
Xplicit
11 April 2011
Totally worth 5$ (or more). Too bad it's Mac AppStore only.
Like (9)
Version 3.8.3
winnar
25 March 2011
Smultron is of course worth $5. But not worth the cost of giving up yet another share of what is left of personal integrity by registering to yet another keyhole for marketers to peep through. Take a break and think about what is going on. Apple has now definitely taken the lead in developing marketing strategies. They *really* want to register every move you make. Is Smultron, or any other app is not worth giving up all integrity and privacy. Have you ever read any of the licence agreements that you have approved over the years? It will take some time if you decide to do that; the licence agreement for appstore on the iphone is 60 pages long - and on top of that it has further references to other texts. Would you approve if somebody asked you if they could register exactly evwrything you do - second by second day by day and year by year, what interests you have, map out your relationships, tastes and preferences? I urge everyone that don't like the idea of market analysers registering, categorising peoples lives (and what ever else they do) at work, at home and everywhere else where we bring our gadgets.
Like (12)
Version 3.8.2
3 answer(s)
Hurrikenux
Hurrikenux
11 April 2011
This has nothing to do with Smultron other than the first sentence, and should be marked and deleted as spam. If you wish to preach about something like this, get a blog like everyone else does.
Like (9)
Laine
Laine
12 April 2011
When a free application stops being free, I either continue to use the last version that was free, or just get rid of it entirely.
Like (4)
alas!
alas!
21 July 2011
Well said, Winnar! Apple's scheme now seems to be to have all Mac users look to Apple as their "Big Brother" and fit us into their plans for controlling much of Mac users' computer habits to Apple's advantage. Down with the Big Brother mentality wherever it rears its vile, ugly head!!! Is the Apple behemoth evolving into another heavy-handed fascist corporate enterprise? Or are they already there?
Like (3)
Stainboy
23 March 2011
i can't believe how people here are freaking out about the developer charging $5 for this. really? FIVE WHOPPING DOLLARS. you spend that on one latté that's gone in under an hour but you can't bear to cough that same amount up for a feature-rich text editor that you might use all the time to get work done. money that will keep the developer working on improvements/bug fixes to Smultron. yes, it was free at one point, but free is not always sustainable. try working for free sometime and see how long your priorities hold out.
Like (12)
Version 3.8.2
2 answer(s)
Maxxx
Maxxx
23 March 2011
I totally agree. Shame on you skinflints! This developer deserves respect from all Smultron users.
Like (6)
K9haven
K9haven
24 March 2011
I am glad to see that Smultron is a paid for app in the MAS. That means there will be a greater chance of continuing development of new features and support for customers. Also, as a MAS app, it means that I can easily install and keep the app up to date on all my Macs. And, as with all MAS apps, it's like having "cloud" backup of my Mac app install disks and no maintaining of a list of corresponding serial numbers. Besides, I want to reward Peter for his good work. At $4.99, it is a great value and wish more Mac developers would join in. I'm glad to see Markdown support in latest version.
Like (5)
Michael-Sebrecht
04 February 2011
Always free until now, because of the damn App store, the dev is asking money for it. Why not free on the App store too? It is still one of the best editors but just for being greedy I cannot recommend it anymore. I use Fraise instead (same source, same app, ..)
Like (7)
Version 3.8.1
1 answer(s)
Damian Weiss
Damian Weiss
18 February 2011
I totally agree with you. Unfortunately, Fraise is no longer developped. Ask why! Because Smultron is back.
Like (3)
Madmacmad
04 February 2011
Why 5 $ ? Why App Store ? Love to work with KOD... it is still free !
Like (4)
Version 3.8.1
pandora-1
04 February 2011
Try the free KOD, available here
Like (2)
Version 3.8.1
Spike Jones
11 January 2011
I am confused. Is this still in development or not? This new version has no new features at all. What about Fraise? Is it the same?
Like (2)
Version 3.8
Aone-Dev
10 January 2011
$5 dollars for this app is nothing. Just pay it if you want to see much more improvements!
Like (6)
Version 3.8
Monkeyjunkey
07 January 2011
What a confusion with Apple Mac App Store. I already hate this thing. MacUpdate lists Smultron as "Free" (as of 07Jan2011) but also states that the software is ONLY available through the Mac App Store. What a bad idea is that? And what would the benefit for the customer be??? Having Apple do some datamining on me doesn't count for the benefits-section, imo. And now, on the Mac App Store Smultron is 4,99€. As much as I liked Smultron, when it was free I now advice everybody to use Fraise (which is still developed on GitHub and is free). Reactivating Smultron without any update and making it 5€ is a completly sh*tty concept.
Like (8)
Version 3.8
2 answer(s)
Kris-nx
Kris-nx
08 January 2011
I agree with you regarding the confusion here. Hopefully someone at MU will change it from Free to $4.99. According to Smultron's developer at: http://www.peterborgapps.com/ -he states that he is back to developing and supporting Smultron. He also say's that 3.8 is an "official" Snow Leopard version with bug fixes. I was hesitant about purchasing Smultron but I thought about how long I've used it and the money I've made using it. I saw my purchase as a donation and a bit of thanks for a solid editor. It's good that folks have a choice to go with Fraise or help support the original developer.
Like (3)
Lidador
Lidador
16 January 2011
Certainly the author of Smultron deserves the money, no doubt. Another story is an application I saw on Mac App store the day after it opened... It was selling for a small fee... I went to the application website and there the same application was freeware! I got it and am enjoying it. I own the author one beer or two, but I will not register in the store just for that.
Like (1)
Robk
06 January 2011
Smultron used to be FREE Open Souce Software. You can still download the last FREE version and the source from: http://sourceforge.net/projects/smultron/
Like (4)
Version 3.8
Damian Weiss
06 January 2011
Fraise is identical to Smultron and is for free. http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/33751/fraise
Like (7)
Version 3.8
Cv186
06 January 2011
I was a big fan of Smultron until the Dev announced he wouldn't be developing it any more. So what gives? Now that it's not free, and $5 on Mac AppStore, does that mean that he is supporting it again? Would love to hear directly from the Dev what his intentions are.
Like (3)
Version 3.8
2 answer(s)
Leoofborg
Leoofborg
06 January 2011
It means that the Developer has to eat. For what we've (all) been using Smultron for, it's a pittance. If money's a problem, then I humbly suggest Fraise. Me? I'm going back to the original....
Like (3)
Cv186
Cv186
06 January 2011
> Leoofborg -- agree completely that $5 is nothing for good software. But software without ongoing support is useless.
Like (6)
Encro
24 March 2010
To avoid this being buried in the comments. The Smultron Project has been forked by Jean-François Moy and is now available at: http://github.com/jfmoy/Fraise See the MacUpdate Fraise Page for more details: http://www.macupdate.com/fraise
Like (10)
Version 3.6b1
Vince-
17 March 2010
Wasn't there already Version 3.7a1 a few days ago? What happend to that Fork? Version 3.6b1 is the version that has been up here for month.
Like (5)
Version 3.6b1
1 answer(s)
Neil-M
Neil-M
21 March 2010
That was a fork in the project hosted on github - it has been renamed "Fraise" http://github.com/jfmoy/Fraise [3.7.2] * [Announcement] Name changed for Fraise (to avoid confusion with Smultron, following a request of Peter Borg) So thats 4 forks so far. vijaykiran / smultron (Objective-C) derferman / molturns (Objective-C) kjk / smultron (Objective-C) jfmoy / Fraise (Objective-C)
Like (4)
Version 3.6b1
Masterminter
14 March 2010
YES! My fav editor back to life! Thank you thank you thank you !! Still the best of the bunch.
Like (3)
Version 3.7a1
Beto-Boton
14 March 2010
I was sad about news smultron was not going to be updated anymore. This release proved it wrong, and it is fantastic news! Text editors with a programming style interface and usability are a must. Smultron is part of my everyday writting, programming, note creation, translations etc. The best and a must have for TXT. Many thanks for the developer. Beto
Like (2)
Version 3.7a1
Leoncahun
14 March 2010
Apparently, 3.7a1 is 10.6 or later.
Like (1)
Version 3.7a1
Mark-Everitt
14 March 2010
This is just an observation really. Why include auto-update as a feature if this will no longer be developed?
Like
Version 3.7a1
1 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
14 March 2010
It's been forked: http://github.com/jfmoy/Smultron.
Like (5)
Version 3.7a1
Marching-Pete
04 January 2010
Seriously, this is one hell of a editor. A pity it isn't developed anymore but the latest release is very stable. Use it on daily basis. No substitute for me. Smultron is BIG
Like
Version 3.6b1
Archaeogeek
22 November 2009
Excellent editor, shame free time lacked because it was a great project (oh well, the source is still there, too), huge kudos to the developer for getting through a Snow Leopard ready update.
Like (1)
Version 3.6b1
Revco
13 September 2009
It really is that good. It's my first choice when I have to edit code.
Like
Version 3.6b1