Back to Formation page
Formation free download for Mac

Formation Reviews

1.1.4
13 September 2005

A unified idea/personal information organizer.

Espiridion
02 October 2006

Most helpful

The original Formation showed great potential. Radical Breeze used to be a respected company, so when they acquired Formation it seemed to be a positive move. Unfortunately Radical Breeze did not deliver on their frequent promises, and so far I have not seen a decent version of Formation which includes what was promised. About a year ago they said it would take 2 more weeks, if I remember correctly. Time sure flies. Their only program that I use occasionally is Disc Blaze, and still I ended purchasing Toast. I would not waste my money on Formation as long as it's developed by Radical Breeze. Too many promises but no improvements.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4

Read 22 Formation User Reviews

Rate this app:

Samantha-Meagan
03 December 2011
I just loved this app and think it had great potential but Radical Breeze bought it and now it's in the wind which makes me sad and angry that they would not continue to develop such a great app that had even greater potential. Where did it go? I really wish someone would pick it up and continue development on it, even if they started charging more for it, I would sick with it. I really miss it :(. I can't find anything else close to it that I really like. It just sucks!! Radical Breeze sucks as well!
Like
Version 1.1.4
Notimetoulouse
19 January 2011
**** Note For Macupdate Admin **** Dead links here, the developer has left the building.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Orion-Mk-V
19 October 2006
I guess Formation is dead. Hopefully Radical Breeze returns the rights to the program to the original developer or some other more active shareware developer buys it. It has potential, but since RB bought it, it's gone nowhere. *sigh*
Like
Version 1.1.4
Espiridion
02 October 2006
The original Formation showed great potential. Radical Breeze used to be a respected company, so when they acquired Formation it seemed to be a positive move. Unfortunately Radical Breeze did not deliver on their frequent promises, and so far I have not seen a decent version of Formation which includes what was promised. About a year ago they said it would take 2 more weeks, if I remember correctly. Time sure flies. Their only program that I use occasionally is Disc Blaze, and still I ended purchasing Toast. I would not waste my money on Formation as long as it's developed by Radical Breeze. Too many promises but no improvements.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
Aquilles10
18 August 2006
So in trying to decide which program will become my personal information manager I've downloaded Yojimbo, SOHO Notes, Mori, Circus Ponies Notebook, and Formation. Formation seems to be the most full featured application I tested, however it also has the steepest learning curve. It can do whatever you need it to do, be it orginize your contacts, calender, passwords, serial numbers, etc, etc. But to me, where my needs are modest, the program seems a bit overkill. Plus if it's true that the developer is no longer writting programs for the Mac, then support may become spotty, which is unfortunate. Yojimbo is on the other hand VERY simple to use (almost to a fault) and syncs with dot Mac which is nice. SOHO notes is another alternative, but support for it is also spotty.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Tim27
27 July 2006
well, don't bother buying this software. or any other radical breeze software. the author has decided to abandon the mac platform and switch to linux. unfortunate, as they made decent software. but don't waste your money, since they probably won't update anymore.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Chaosclownz
22 May 2006
This program seems amazing. The functionability is great. I've encountered a few bugs and crashes though after 10 minute with the demo. If they can be fixed, I fully plan to use this program more than my email.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
13 September 2005
glad to hear v2 will be free to registered users. Nice app, but needs improvement.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
22 April 2005
As a registered user, I'm pleased to see Radical Breeze take over, as it's a great app, but has been slow to evolve. RB will probably be a bit more aggressive with updates.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Mrandre1
21 April 2005
Call me a snob. Call me picky. But there are waaaaaaaaaay too many icons in this interface.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
11 November 2004
It took a little thinking before I grokked the paradigm but once I did it hit me like a hammer, this app is extremely powerful and has a tremendous amount of potential. On first glance it seems to be just another 3-pane note program, look again, there is *much* more to this one. My wish list: - a full calendar an todo module with recurring todos, events and an alarm - I'd like to be able to drag images into text fields - I'd like to print envelopes - needs much improved searching Excellent version 1 application.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
27 October 2004
The new v1.1 features and enhancements are very welcome. Great app for assorted info if you don't want to create custom databases.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
26 October 2004
It can't display Unicode contact name and note subject in the list. Useless for Non-English users.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
19 September 2004
This app is looking great for the future and has a concept which I haven't seen before, though still somewhat limited in its integration and features with regards to the apple address book (let alone integration with ical soes not yet exist). It won't properly show custom fields created in address book, it will mix up some phone numbers, it doesn't have subgroups / categories
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
17 June 2004
I'm liking this one! Also, I noted one of the authors is a motorcycle head so they might get my registration on that alone. Here are my issues: 1) Interface is a little too Windows; nicer icons would be better. 2) Doesn't work well with Unsanity's ShapeShifter. However, all said, and I've tried the others and this one seems to be the head of the pack. Also, appears to be priced correctly. I mean really, have you seen some of the ridiculously priced garage apps that are out there today?
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
07 June 2004
Clicking in calendar icon and then on a date is nto working properly. Jumps to different days and months, not to the one you are clicking How can you change date formats?
Like
Version 1.0.1
Dana-Sutton
04 June 2004
There has long been a need for a good OS X PIM, this may be it. It's got a long way to go. The Calendar isn't implemented yet as an appointmenet calendar, it ought to have a phone dialler for Contacts, you have to dig down through too many layers to get at your Websites. But it's a very optimistic beginning. Anybody who complains that this is bloated ought to take another look at Entourage!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
02 June 2004
Formation is a breath of fresh air. I registered it within the hour of trying it out. It's an amazingly flexible app for people not needing a full database, but more than an outliner and PIM. It reminds me of a once promising app called WebArranger that died on the vine in the 1990's that I'd used to manage all aspects of my business and personal before it was abandoned by CE Software. Thus far it hasn't crashed and the general features and UI are robust. It'll be exciting to see how it evolves.
Like
Version 1.0
Sean Warburton
01 June 2004
I have a iBook G3 and the app crashed as soon as I go to file -> new with a nilObjectException error. First impression, not too great.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
01 June 2004
It's too cram packed. Why can't it be simpler and not have soo many things. I hate bloated apps.
Like
Version 1.0
Bansuri
01 June 2004
$29? Probably a joke!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
01 June 2004
It's a great app. But why does $29 feel like it's too much? If it was $20, I'd already have a license, but I don't use all the features, so it just feels weird paying for this, especially when i get everything it offers for cheaper or free for the most part. Yes, it has a lot of the free things included all in one program, but is $29 worth being able to use one window? In my opinion, no.
Like
Version 1.0