Back to Compost page
Compost free download for Mac

Compost Reviews

1.9.5
29 December 2008

Prefpane limits contents of trash.

Memphisbird
03 January 2008

Most helpful

There most definitely is an uninstall feature in version 1.8.8, and it's still in there in 1.8.9. When you open the .dmg to install, there is also an option for uninstall. I find that is where most applications have the uninstall option.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.9

Read 23 Compost User Reviews

Rate this app:

Algos
10 February 2014
The automatic trash purging still seems to work perfectly in Mavericks.
Like
Version 1.9.5
Stephen-Cooper
11 November 2011
I've loved this program - why has it been discontinued? :(
Like
Version 1.9.5
2 answer(s)
GeogProf
GeogProf
21 August 2012
It was probably discontinued because the dev was charging an utterly ridiculous price for it, so no one bought it.
Like
Stephen-Cooper
Stephen-Cooper
22 August 2012
I bought it back when it was $5 (I think). Good price for it then. I can say that aside from the context menu (which I never used anyway) and having to re-launch preferences in 32-bit mode, it still works in Mountain Lion. So I'm happy.
Like
alas!
21 September 2011
Compost's Download Now and Developer's Website links are broken.
Like
Version 1.9.5
gryphonent
04 February 2011
Another ten months and waiting…:(
Like (1)
Version 1.9.5
Mikec64
27 May 2010
I've been using Compost for years and it's a must-have as far as I'm concerned. I'm glad to see you're still maintaining it. I have Compost v1.9.5 and I'm using OS X 10.6 and noticed that it's ignoring my "Files" settings. I have it configured to automatically and instantly delete files that end in ".mov" or ".mpg". I'm using File Vault, if that factors into it. This isn't a must-have feature, but it shouldn't let me configure it if it isn't doing it.
Like
Version 1.9.5
1 answer(s)
Theonetruerobb
Theonetruerobb
02 November 2010
Anxiously awaiting Compost 2.0....
Like
Version 1.9.5
gryphonent
11 April 2010
Thanks for the info. Good to know that the app remains in active development. I was concerned when I saw that the developer website is down… you might want to look into that.
Like
Version 1.9.5
Gregw
30 August 2009
Compost on Snow Leopard works fine with 2 exceptions. The preference pane, like almost every preference pane that exists today, requires System Preferences to relaunch itself in 32-bit mode. I'm working on a new build that will eliminate that. The other, more serious problem, is with the context menu plugin. Mac OS X 10.6 does not load traditional context menu plugins into 64-bit apps (such as Finder, for example). The recommended fix is to recreate the plugin's functionality as entries in the Services menu, which as conversions go is not small. I am working on it, but it'll be a few days.
Like
Version 1.9.5
5 answer(s)
gryphonent
gryphonent
10 April 2010
Eight months down the line… still waiting for 64 bit compatibility.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.5
Gregw
Gregw
11 April 2010
Still hammering out solutions with my beta testers for the issues that 10.6 raised for Compost's context menu plugin. As before, the main automated trash purging continues to work fine, as does the pref pane with the exception of causing System Preferences to relaunch itself.
Like
Version 1.9.5
Kiwi-Graham
Kiwi-Graham
16 December 2010
I'll just chime in and say that I'm really missing those contextual menu items. I'm still pleased with the current version in that it is still doing its primary job in the background.
Like
Gregw
Gregw
16 December 2010
This is going to sound really stupid, I know, but at this point the biggest stumbling block I'm having is getting the new installation package maker to do what I need it to do. It was overhauled a lot in 10.6 in the name of security - and that's perfectly understandable - but installers exist explicitly because some software has complex installation requirements and getting it to do Compost correctly and consistently has been a challenge.
Like
kmess
kmess
30 November 2015
Greg, I realize that you ceased development on Compost, and I can appreciate your reasons for wanting to do so. However, it's still an important app to me, and I continue to use it today with Yosemite. Since you have officially discontinued the product, would you consider open-sourcing it to allow others (like myself) to try to maintain and update it?

Thanks-
Kevin
Like
Memphisbird
03 January 2008
There most definitely is an uninstall feature in version 1.8.8, and it's still in there in 1.8.9. When you open the .dmg to install, there is also an option for uninstall. I find that is where most applications have the uninstall option.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.9
Theoldflyfisher
06 October 2007
I bought your version of compost on the 10/2/07. at 8:24:57 order no. was #ST71001243 I payed aud. 14.97 idris welch Scotties Custom Flies 3 Balaton St Riverhills Brisbane QLD Australia I haven't intentionally included my phone number in this email as it may not be secure. it was payed to "ES ACUTUS TRADING" I can't get it to change it keeps telling me to update. Can you please do something about this,, the last time it did it, I lost evertthing that was on my desk top, however although it took me 1/2 and hour to fix it, I wish that you could work this out for me
Like
Version 1.8.8
Jass
21 July 2007
Installs easily. Good informative installation menu and good informative preferences menues. Ran it for 30 minutes, but really disliked it and thus wanted to uninstall it again. Guess what: there's no uninstaller! You manually have to remove it in /Applications/, remove the prefs.list for every single user, and clean up your System Preferences. A program without a clean uninstaller! No thanks. I'd rather just delete directly from ~/.Trash using a script.
Like
Version 1.8.8
1 answer(s)
Gregw
Gregw
04 January 2008
Guess what: Every version of Compost that was distributed as an installer package (as opposed to a self-installing double-clickable preference pane) was packaged with an uninstaller.
Like
Version 1.8.9
Programhappy
28 May 2006
Developer immediately fixed the problem by uploading a new installer. Great product!
Like
Version 1.8.2
Programhappy
25 May 2006
I just bought Compost and registered it on my computer (Dual 2.3 GHz PowerPC G5 running 10.4.6). The functionality is fine. However, an incredibly intrusive, unmovable message (that steals desktop space) appears in the upper right-hand corner of my screen that reads, "A newer version of Compost is available." BUT GUESS WHAT? I have the latest version already! Auto-update and Greg Weston's Web site both state that I have the latest version. Someone better fix this, and FAST!
Like
Version 1.8.2
Anonymous
17 April 2005
This is a fantastic utility, and it receives great support from the developer. I had a few issues with RAM and CPU usage with an earlier version. I sent email to the developer and received a reply within a few hours. Over the next few days, the developer sent several revisions that ultimately solved all the problems. I've only rarely received such quick and capable support from a develooer. The new additions in this version are extremely useful. The ability to open the trash on any volume and selectively delete items via a contextual menu is great when you need to get rid of an item you've already trashed and later realize is taking up too much disk space. The menubar item allows you to get a snapshot of the trash and free space on all your volumes. This allows you to easily zero in on where you might be able to free up disk space. This utility basically allows you to ignore your Trash. By setting various parameters as to when trash gets emptied, you can simply let it manage the trash for you. And these parameters can differ on a volume by volume basis. There are few utilities which offer the features of this one. It's a great value.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
15 April 2005
NOW, this is ONE very SPIFFY utility! It doest a lot more than even Windows Trash Management, which has been better than Apple for some time!
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
27 February 2005
After upgrading to 1.5.1 the built in version check still states "there is a newer version available...."
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 February 2005
Just a clerical error with the web site which was resolved on the morning of 2/28. 1.5.1 is the newest at this writing.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
06 December 2004
Features : Add enable Trash Sounds.
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 December 2004
I wonder if the poster could expand on what's being asked for here. Just a way to turn the trash sound on/off or maybe choose what sound is played, or something else?
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
13 October 2004
Starting around October 8, PayPal began experiencing difficulties in transaction processing severe enough that it's easier to characterize their uptime as intermittent rather than the troubles themselves. As of the morning of October 13, they still appear to be unreliable. If you sent a license fee for Compost in this period and have not received a license code I have not received your payment. Please check your PayPal account - both history and balance - to make sure you were not inappropriately charged. I am investigating other means of accepting payment, but for now paper mail appears to be the only option. Thank you for your understanding.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 October 2004
PayPal appears to be functional again. I would still recommend a heightened level of observation of accounts for a little while.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
23 July 2004
Works very well and at a great price. This does not feel like a hack but something very nicely put together. I have found no known issues or system degradation and highly recommend this program to everyone looking for this functionality. ** Look for more of my reviews in the future. The Review King
Like
Version 1.1.2
06 July 2004
Is it normal, that compost only empties the trash after restarting/relogin and not while being logged in? Or is this only available in the licensed version?
Like
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 July 2004
Compost runs while you're logged in, but as noted in the documentation, the unregistered version will run for only 7.5 hours at a stretch. You can manually restart it through the preference pane, or even do it automatically it via cron and AppleScript. Or, of course, you can register.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Gregjsmith
27 June 2004
It's been a very good app. $5 is more than reasonable.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
19 June 2004
When I have checked for Compost to begin at login (add to startup items), it deletes all my other startup items! The developer's site does not have an email link, so I am hoping to let him know about this so a fix can be found.
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 June 2004
There's no mail link on the web page at the moment, but there is contact info in the read-me. Can you confirm what version of Compost you're running? The issue you reported is something that was observed by two users in the 1.0 and 1.0.1 releases, but as far as I've heard was not reproducible with 1.0.2 or 1.1.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 June 2004
Oops- yes, it's 1.0.1. I'll grab the latest. Thanks so much for the reply.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
11 June 2004
I had never heard of iCan, so I checked it out. Catwink's comments are surreal to me. The feature sets and behaviors of iCan and Compost are almost completely distinct. I would hope Catwink would actually use a product before reviewing it. For reference, Compost is an enhancement for the OS X trash can that brings to it features that were never part of stock Mac OS behavior. iCan is a full trash can replacement that brings something inspried by the OS 9 trash to OS X and provides some addition behavior to both 9 and X. The only shared feature - and the actual behavior is not really all that similar - is the ability to limit the trash to a specific size.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
11 June 2004
For 5 dollars more get iCan, does all this and much much more. Nice app but should be free.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 June 2004
Frankly, I'm not sure what catwink means. It looks to me like iCan's feature set has almost no overlap with Compost's.
Like
Version 1.1