Back to Cheap Impostor page
Cheap Impostor free download for Mac

Cheap Impostor Reviews

3.3
17 March 2013

Create books and booklets from PDF files.

Dingdongdaddy
19 September 2010

Most helpful

Works flawlessly. The program inspired me to go and buy a duplexing printer, and wow--the freedom to easily make two-sided, folding booklets is great. I love to print out long PDFs this way. It's mentioned somewhere but worth emphasizing that the program lets you do signature--that is, consecutive booklets--that can be then bound together to form a full book. The instructions even include a nice simple tutorial on a basic binding system. I often will print out a long book this way (to many pages for a single, magazine-style booklet) and then just clip them together with a two big bulldog clips. It looks slick and professional while at the same time nerdy and crafty.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.2

Read 13 Cheap Impostor User Reviews

Rate this app:

mbennettty
03 February 2016
Mecodegoodsomeday (Developer) Member Icon Dev +86 Mecodegoodsomeday (Developer) I need help with this app. I can't quite figure out how to enable the sliders.
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Dylan-Mc
Dylan-Mc
17 March 2016
The program runs, produces booklets and/or books, and the "Top offset" slider is enabled off the bat. If you want to enable the other sliders, that's what the registration fee unlocks.
Like
DavidLPorter
14 January 2016
I tried downloading it and followed instructions to drag app to my Applications folder. I clicked on the app and it doesn't open. I have looked in all desktops, etc but can't find an open program but when i try to move the app to trash it says I can't because the app is open. I look in forced quit and the app shows up in the list as available to force quite. i am on El Cap Mac pro w/8 gig and downloaded 3.3 as instructed. Any suggestions? D.
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Dylan-Mc
Dylan-Mc
17 March 2016
Just launching the app doesn't open a window - you should either use the File menu's Open File item, or just drag a PDF onto the Cheap Impostor icon.
Like
Anguka
07 November 2015
As a very long term user I am extremely pleased with this excellent and reliable application, and do not understand the low ratings. It does everything it claims very well, and I am rating it 4.5 stars, but will hopefully (soon) be able to upgrade to 5 stars the the one minor problem is fixed; it needs a lateral adjustment in the final layout (or separate adjustments for RH and LH Inside offsets, to compensate for slight variations in printer page settings. With that (and a responsive creator) it will be a most comprehensive and easy to use app. v.3.3
Like (1)
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
DavidLPorter
DavidLPorter
14 January 2016
I tried downloading it and followed instructions to drag app to my Applications folder. I click on the app and it doesn't open. I have looked in all desktop etc but can't find an open program but when i try to move the app to trash it says I can't because the app is open. I look in forced quit and the app is show up in the list as available to force quite.
i am on El Cap Mac pro w/8 gig and downloaded 3.3 as instructed.
Any suggestions?
D.
Like
xfpine
12 June 2015
I like how simple this program is consider how confusing imposing can get. It works really really well with open source Scribus and a duplex printer.
Like (1)
Version 3.3
ameram1
10 May 2015
Excellent little program - does all it says and comes with amazing personal support from its creator. Look no further.
Like (1)
Version 3.3
LaurenceH7153
25 October 2013
I downloaded and tried using it. Download was quick and easy. There are three sliders that are supposed to center the document on the page, but two of them are greyed out, so I can't get the material centered to print it. Using OSX 10.6.8 Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 3.3
2 answer(s)
Dylan-Mc
Dylan-Mc
09 January 2014
These sliders are enabled via registering, however the program is useful without needing them (the free version actually has more power than most booklet-making solutions).
Like
Dylan-Mc
Dylan-Mc
23 September 2015
Neither this user, nor "DeborahM4501" has reached out in response to my offer to help. Their one-star reviews are the only negative reviews of Cheap Impostor. Oddly both accounts seem to have been created (one month apart) solely to give Cheap Impostor a bad review. Draw your own conclusions, but I don't think this is fair.
Like
DeborahM4501
26 September 2013
I can not get the software to work on my IMac. My operating system is OX Lion.
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Dylan-Mc
Dylan-Mc
09 January 2014
Developer here - I'm happy to answer questions, but you have to send me email. I have many users on Lion, Mountain Lion, and Mavericks, so I have high hopes we can get your copy working.
Like (1)
DeborahM4501
26 September 2013
I can not get the software to work on my mac. My operating system is OX Lion. :(
Like
Version 3.3
Dingdongdaddy
19 September 2010
Works flawlessly. The program inspired me to go and buy a duplexing printer, and wow--the freedom to easily make two-sided, folding booklets is great. I love to print out long PDFs this way. It's mentioned somewhere but worth emphasizing that the program lets you do signature--that is, consecutive booklets--that can be then bound together to form a full book. The instructions even include a nice simple tutorial on a basic binding system. I often will print out a long book this way (to many pages for a single, magazine-style booklet) and then just clip them together with a two big bulldog clips. It looks slick and professional while at the same time nerdy and crafty.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.2
Hamishmacdonald
10 February 2010
This program is the most visually friendly and non-confounding imposition application available for the Mac. Please, Dylan, add N-up settings to Cheap Imposter, or even produce "Expensive Imposter", and if it's anything like this application, a grateful community would be happy to throw money at you.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
1 answer(s)
Gobra
Gobra
02 July 2010
Have you tried other impostors for Mac? There are lots of pro applications at various prices, N-up is a simple task for them.
Like
Version 3.2.2
David-Ross
19 June 2009
I've used Cheap Imposter for years, and it works just as advertised. While it may not have all the bells and whistles of other programs, you can't beat the price and performance. Prior to Cheap Imposter, I used Quite Imposing, a very good, but very expensive program with very expensive upgrades. I've never looked back. David
Like (1)
Version 3.2
tc
24 November 2005
As I only have simple imposition requirements and CocoaBooklet chokes on complex layouts - gave this a try (v2.4) and it does exactly what it says it will do. Auto duplex printing with my Canon iP3000 doesn't rotate pages as needed by this printer but manual duplex is fine.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 November 2005
If "autoduplex isn't working" try experimenting with "binding edge" in either Cheap Impostor or in your print dialog. That should fix things.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
04 June 2004
Wow. Program works great. If you want simple imposition of pdf files, this is definitely worth a download.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2