Back to LazyMouse page
LazyMouse free download for Mac

LazyMouse Reviews

2.5
17 April 2011

Automatically moves cursor to default dialog button.

zx
20 May 2009

Most helpful

Super responsive developer...i Love this app.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.6

Read 70 LazyMouse User Reviews

Rate this app:

michaeladams59
30 September 2018
Love it! A simple indispensable feature that everyone will appreciate.
Like
Version 2.5
macus
31 July 2018
CursorSense 2.0 has added the auto-snap feature which is working very well. You can turn off the other features in the Prefpane but the automatic snapping will continue to work.
Like
Version 2.5
Tachy0n
23 May 2018
I have just upgraded to 10.13.4 and I have managed to get it to work. You need to add ~/Library/PreferencePanes/LazyMouse.prefPane/Contents/Resources/LazyMouseBG.app to System Preferences ➔ Security & Privacy ➔ Privacy and then launch ~/Library/PreferencePanes/LazyMouse.prefPane/Contents/Resources/LazyMouseBG.app/Contents/MacOS/LazyMouseBG from the Terminal. I got some error messages but it seems to be working.
Like
Version 2.5
macus
24 March 2016
Web site and download links are no longer available.
Like
Version 2.5
zx
14 February 2016
Please update!!!!! Will gladly pay for it....:)
Like (4)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Dnoel
Dnoel
23 November 2016
I have the LayMouse version 2.0.2,. Where can I find the more recent version. I want to try it on MacPro with OS Sierra...
Like
jac747
09 December 2015
Found this app after a Google search. I have El Capitan. It downloaded without asking for money. Yet.... As I figured after reading the comments, it did not work at first. I read the comments and see the complicated process to make it work below by sgilbert (Also an El Capitan user). Hmmmmm.... I deciphered the complicated but useful instructions and made it work! I moved the ALIAS to the app file, and still nothing. Going into the Preferences/Security/Accessibility and then unlocking to make a change and then CLICKING this app to work made the difference (after a reboot.) I use Photoshop (with file saving actions) and go through a multitude of file saving dialog boxes moving my mouse a million times up and down. This will save me a LOT of time. MUCH appreciation for the inside scoop on getting it to work.
Like
Version 2.5
prof-dr-koller
15 November 2015
Hi, how can I remove Lazymouse? Regards
Like
Version 2.5
Sgilbert
07 October 2015
This worked for me, even on 10.11 El Capitan! Thank you Tipp-Flo! Tipi-Flo Nov 06, 2014 For Yosemite users 1. Move »LazyMouse.prefPane« into the »PreferencePanes Folder« in your user account. 2. Show the package contents of »LazyMouse.prefPane«. Go to »Contents/Resources«, make a alias of »LazyMouseBG.app« and put this where ever you want, best maybe the »applications folder«. 3. Go to »System Preferences > Users & Groups > Login Items« and add your alias. 4. Log out and in again, or double click your alias, »LazyMouseBG.app« should start. If you get the message: »LazyMouse cannot run if »Access for Assistive Devices« is turned off in the Universal Access Preference Pane. - Open the Universal Access Preference Pane« open »System Preferences«, go to »Security & Privacy > Privacy > Accesibility« add you alias. It may not show up but it should work. If it doesn’t start, one or two reboot should do it. Hope this helps
Like (1)
Version 2.5
4 answer(s)
Sgilbert
Sgilbert
23 March 2016
Well, OS 10.11.4 finally broke Lazy Mouse for good! I've deleted & bought SteerMouse.

What a shame a terrific piece of software has fallen into oblivion.
Like
Apikoros
Apikoros
06 April 2016
10.11.4 did NOT break Lazy Mouse! I have it working just fine in 10.11.4. The trick was to go back to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Accessibility and re-check LazyMouseBG in the list "Allow the apps below to control your computer." After applying the combo updater to 10.11.4, that checkmark had been erased. You might try looking there.
Like
boomvangs
boomvangs
16 June 2016
I found your easy to follow instructions and thrilled to have it working flawlessly on El Capitan 10.11.5. on my mid 2011 iMac . Luckily I still had the 2.5 dmg version in a download folder on an older mac that I bought years ago because it is virtually impossible to find the download anymore anywhere. The only flaw is that it asks me to register the copy and there is no place or window to do it so I guess I will have to live with that small flaw. I also installed it on my 2014 macbook Air with El Cap and it is working perfectly. Thanks again for your detailed instructions. Lazy mouse is a great app that should be standard in the OS
Like
the-thistleblower
the-thistleblower
13 April 2018
Thank you, this worked for me. Ver 2.0.4 - Yosemite
Like
livingcrayon
18 November 2014
amazing! Thank You so much for posting!
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Pjot
11 December 2013
LazyMouse, after years of performing perfectly, stopped working in 10.8.5. Contacted the developer, never got an answer. Saw other comments here and can add that remarks from Shk747 and Tipp-FLo worked for me: I went into the contents of the LazeMouse prefpane, made an alias of LazyMouseBG, put it in a desktop folder and added it to my startup items. That worked flawlessly. Pity the developer doesn't respond. I tried SteerMouse but am using a MagicMouse and I only need the 'snap to button' function and to pay $20 just for that is a bit too much. Now let's see if the trick works as well after I upgrade to Mavericks. But thanks for the advice so far! And the developer of LazyMouse may have disappeard, I give the software as such overall 4,5 stars.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
20 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
17 February 2014
I tried that trick in Mavericks 10.9.1 and on my iMac it no longer works. :-(
Like
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
25 February 2014
with 10.9.1 it was working for me - wasn't able to register, but it worked. 10.9.2 now did it really die! PLEASE: who knows an adequate alternative?
Like
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
28 February 2014
faszinating! Lazymouse does work! I have no clue, because there is no prefencepen in my system preferences and unfortunately there is always this bugging please register me note. THIS IS AWSOME! actually running OS X 10.9.2 (13C64)
Like
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
28 February 2014
right now lazy muse is in /Incompatible Software/LazyMouse.prefPane right click on lazymouse wherever it is and start the LazyMouseBG file. this is automatically loaded at login (on my system) can you tell me where I can put my lazymouse.reg in that lazy mouse is registered?
Like
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
25 May 2014
lazymouse.reg stays in the userfolder/preferences
Like
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
25 May 2014
put the reg into user/library/preferences/ but it does not work. have I to rename the reg-file "lazymouse.reg"? because lazymouse is not possible to do the job for me and I don't know how to… THX
Like
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
25 May 2014
Name & folder are alright. The Lazy Mouse Pref Pane itself has in Mavericks no options anymore to klick on, that's probably because it looks for a pref pane Access for Assistive Devices, which has changed. Maybe you need to edit the lazymouse.plist at least like this: JW.lazymouse.snapbackCursor 1 Do a restart ... LazyMouse works still perfect here on 10.9.3 with LazyMouseBG.app in Startup Items
Like (1)
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
25 May 2014
in com.oldjewel.lazymouse.plist JW.lazymouse.snapbackCursor was false. Setting to true makes it not work :(
Like
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
25 May 2014
putting a 1 between true or false does not work ether
Like
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
25 May 2014
You also may have to go the Terminal and type: killall cfprefsd Why? Take a look at this: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/19303958/deleting-plist-file-does-not-reset-app-on-mac-os-10-9-mavericks or http://manytricks.com/blog/?p=3049 last response. I start to wonder what I have set, that it works just fine!
Like (1)
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
27 May 2014
don't understand it. After several restarts it is working now. stopped trying, and forgot about and now I see its working… Thanks a lot!
Like
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
01 June 2014
it didn't worked out before I did some of your hints. deleted the com.oldjewel.lazymous.plist file. Made a new login without starting LM. copied the reg file back into preferences. Guess this wasn't the thing that worked. killall cfprefsd did its job! THX
Like
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
28 July 2014
LazyMouse does definitely not work anymore in Yosemite (pb).
Like
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
28 July 2014
Oh NO!
is there really nothing else that can replace it?
haven't found it yet…
:-((
Like
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
29 July 2014
Got it to work.
The workaround is the same, but LazyMouse has to stay in the Library of the Userfolder (PrefPanes).
Like
Apikoros
Apikoros
25 October 2014
Tipp-Flo, how did you get it to work in Yosemite? I'm afraid I don't understand. I'd GREATLY appreciate step-by-step instructions!

Thanks in advance!
Like
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
06 November 2014
For Yosemite users

1. Move »LazyMouse.prefPane« into the »PreferencePanes Folder« in your user account.

2. Show the package contents of »LazyMouse.prefPane«.
Go to »Contents/Resources«, make a alias of »LazyMouseBG.app« and put this where ever you want, best maybe the »applications folder«.

3. Go to »System Preferences > Users & Groups > Login Items« and add your alias.

4. Log out and in again, or double click your alias, »LazyMouseBG.app« should start.

If you get the message:
»LazyMouse cannot run if »Access for Assistive Devices« is turned off in the Universal Access Preference Pane. - Open the Universal Access Preference Pane«
open »System Preferences«, go to »Security & Privacy > Privacy > Accesibility« add you alias.
It may not show up but it should work.

If it doesn’t start, one or two reboot should do it.

Hope this helps
Like (4)
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
18 November 2014
Tipp-Flo: Thanks, it works now again.
Like
livingcrayon
livingcrayon
18 November 2014
THANK YOU Tipp-Flo
Like (1)
Apikoros
Apikoros
18 November 2014
IT WORKS! THank you Tipp-Flo! I'm calling the Vatican and nominating you for sainthood!
Like (1)
Stevehhhhh
31 October 2013
I cannot get this to work with Mavericks (10.9.0). any suggestions as to how to get it to work or as to a substitute would be appreciated.
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Apikoros
Apikoros
28 November 2013
I finally got it to work again in Mavericks as well as it had in Snow Leopard, just by resetting NVRAM— i.e., by doing a restart while simultaneously holding down the Command, Option, P and R keys, and continuing to hold them until the second chime sounds.
Like (1)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
26 October 2013
I tried Shk747's hint. I didn't work. Ay word from the developer to those who paid $10 for this one-trick pony about when it'll be fixed?
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
27 October 2013
What happens if you double-click LazyMouseBG? Look in the Activity Monitor if it's on. It's working fine here on 10.9.
Like (2)
Shk747
09 September 2013
anyone an idea how it works with 10.9 ? (13A538g) help appreciated !
Like
Version 2.5
4 answer(s)
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
23 October 2013
It does not work on my system 10.9. It crashes every time I open it.
Like
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
23 October 2013
Try the hint of Shk747 - put lazymouseBG in your startup item. it’s inside the lazympuse prefpane - make an alias of it and put it in your app folder, or wherever - that makes it easy to put it in the startup items.
Like (1)
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
24 October 2013
oh, it's your own hint … lazy mouse works here (lazymouseBG) - just don't touch the pref pane.
Like
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
27 October 2013
Thanks for the tip, Shk747. I did what u suggested on 2 machines and it does show up in Activity monitor as a running background app. It just doesn't move the cursor anymore.
Like
Shk747
29 March 2013
lazymouse works perfect with 10.8.3 but you need to install "lazymouseBG" via library/perfpanes as a startup item !
Like (1)
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
Nzcanuck
Nzcanuck
04 April 2013
Thanks very much for this tip - works well for me! Much appreciated.
Like
Shk747
Shk747
09 April 2013
sorry forgot: you must look for the CONTENT in library/ prefpanes/ lazy mouse and there you find "lazymouseBG", this must be moved to the startup items.
Like (2)
Lounge-Deluxe
01 October 2012
LazyMouse stopped working properly after upgrading to ML. It simply won't remember any preference entry and the dev doesn't respond to my email or the support form on his website. After SteerMouse LazyMouse is the second mouse software quitting on its user base. Annoying. Can't currently recommend this software.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
5 answer(s)
AI-s
AI-s
26 October 2012
any known alternative?
Like (1)
morino
morino
08 January 2013
The Developer's Site is down.
Like
Apikoros
Apikoros
09 March 2013
I too found it would not work with ML (10.8.2) when I set up my new late 2012 iMac yesterday, but now I have it working. I downloaded it from the developer's site, via the link at the top of this page, reinstalled it, and now all is well. Try reinstalling.
Like
Apikoros
Apikoros
16 March 2013
Sorry, I was mistaken. It's not working properly in 10.8.2 after all. Damn. I wrote to the developer, asking if he was going to update the application, but have received no reply.
Like
Nzcanuck
Nzcanuck
04 April 2013
Can confirm that the solution provided by Shk747 above works for me in 10.8.3. 1) Open System Preferences / UserGroups / User / Login items and leave window open in background 2) Navigate to ~Library/PreferencePanes and select LazyMouse.prefPane, then select 'Show Package Contents', then 'Contents', then 'Resources', then drag 'LazyMouseBG' to the Login items window open in the background. Close the Preference Pane window. The file LazyMouseBG remains in the Resources folder however a link is now created in Login items. Cursor now appears at top left of screen on start-up.
Like
livingcrayon
29 September 2012
does anyone know how to start LazyMouse at login?
Like
Version 2.5
Djefis
05 February 2012
Perfect.
Like
Version 2.5
RichNS
01 January 2012
Don't bother with LazyMouse if you're on Lion. Sometimes the cursor moves like it should, and sometimes (well... often) it doesn't. Which, imo, makes this application useless. I reported this to the developer shortly after the release of Lion, but as this app still hasn't been updated (how hard can it be...) it looks like they don't have any intention to support Lion. It's a shame. I liked LazyMouse before I upgraded to Lion.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Since I installed Lion the LazyMouse in System preferences doesn't except tick for "Whenever a new window appears, snap the cursor to the.."(the ball is spinning all the time). So I can't use this option. Need help.
Like
Version 2.5
Gavin-Cutshall
20 July 2011
One of my favs, but no Lion support. If you can't live without it, wait until the dev. updates.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Old-Jewel-Software
Old-Jewel-Software
21 July 2011
Hi Gavin, I've not encountered any problem with Lion. If you are, please contact me and let me know. afaik, LazyMouse works fine with Lion.
Like
Tryme
17 April 2011
Since one hand is by the keyboard you could just hit return or enter and save yourself $10 and yet another piece of software usurping memory and system resources. Each to their own I suppose.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
18 March 2012
What part of "Lazy" wasn't clear to you?
Like (3)
Jimblue
12 January 2011
LazyMouse is kind of a misnomer really. i would say it’s more smart than it is lazy. and since it works with a trackpad as well as a mouse… SmartSnap is more a name to give you an idea of what it is. but then it would be kinda dumb and silly to mess with an already established name for this app. so… then ULazySillyStupidSmartMouseMotherSnapper, YOU!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
Spike Jones
11 January 2011
There is a rumor that OS X 10.7 will have this by default. You can see this behavior on some Lion demo's.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
4 answer(s)
Jimblue
Jimblue
10 February 2011
very nice to hear indeed. without a doubt this technology should be built into the OS, especially with all the big iMac screens.
Like (1)
Old-Jewel-Software
Old-Jewel-Software
16 May 2011
Hi Spike-James, I'd be curious to know where you've seen this rumor. I can't find a mention of it online, and it doesn't seem to be in any of the walkthroughs available on youtube that I've found.
Like
Old-Jewel-Software
Old-Jewel-Software
01 August 2011
I had to wait until after Lion was released to avoid breaking NDA, but it's plain to see now that Lion doesn't add this feature. LazyMouse is still useful to Lion users.
Like
Jimblue
Jimblue
20 July 2012
Old Jewel Software I agree LazyMouse is still very useful. If i had a big-screened iMac I would consider LazyMouse essential -- I just have small-screened devices currently. Do you know the keyboard shortcut to press when a window pops up and you want to press the button that isn't highlighted? I'm asking you because from the looks of the screenshot of LazyMouse you would know offhand. I think LazyMouse would sell more if it were updated and you added some smart, well-though-out options. maybe like, right-clicking for the highlighted button and left-clicking for the one that's not highlighted. And include it to work with MacBook Trackpads and Magic Trackpads. And keep LazyMouse very focused on just pressing buttons. I visited your website and you have some great ideas and applications. I've been looking for awhile for an app kind of like Clean Slate, but one that just puts everything on your desktop into a dated folder and then puts the dated folder into the downloads folder, or a folder of the user's choice -- and only does that and nothing more.
Like
Wts
09 January 2011
Well, how LAZY can one get! Na, just kidding. I had this when it first came out but some how lost the LAZY mouse when i went iMac intel. Glad Macupdate reviewed this app. For LAZY me it is a great add on.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
Fuhayer
08 January 2011
this is a must tool for mac. it really worth its money. thanks for such app which really saves my time.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Poikkeus
06 January 2011
LazyMouse is the kind of application that's such a natural that it should be part of the OS. iMac screens are getting so huge that finding your way to a dialog box can be a trial. If an action needs to be completed, LazyMouse automatically moves the cursor right to where it needs to be. This probably isn't necessary with a MacBook for iPad, but it would seem to be a natural for the new 27" iMacs. One thing I know: once you start using it, there's no going back.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
Trashie
22 November 2010
It might seem pointless at first but try it you will be surprised how quickly it becomes so you can't live without it...it should be a core feature of OSX actually. 9 times out of 10 if a dialogue box presents and grabs focus I am gonna move the cursor to it anyway.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Sgginc
21 November 2010
This is one of my must have utilities! Saves a lot of scrolling. Highly stable. Developer VERY responsive. Try it … You’ll have to have it!!! Thanks ... Ken
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
Fuhayer
17 May 2010
i am using magic mouse and last week was asking myself why apple does not add a feature to move mouse pointer automatically direct to buttons then today saw this app. currently testing demo version and seems like will buy it soon as the feature after it moves pointer to the default button and then to the previous original position is the perfect option to buy this app. just sometimes it treats bit slower to move default button but it really works :) special thanks to the developer for such app.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Hi Zangief, If you're a person who uses the keyboard all the time, then LazyMouse isn't meant for you. Some folks prefer to use the keyboard, or use both. LazyMouse has been around for many years and I still get people asking for improvements.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
Boni
14 April 2010
you won't believe this but lazymouse makes labeling a new group in addressbook impossible! Took me four months to figure out what was wrong with addressbook. Today, by coincidence i found out lazymouse is the cause! Damn damn damn! Never expected this. Tested it on my other macs with OSX 10.6.2 & 10.6.3. Only confirmation.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Old-Jewel-Software
Old-Jewel-Software
17 May 2010
Hi Boni, LazyMouse 2.2.1 deals with the problem with Address Book, which appears to have happened with Snow Leopard. I'm sorry it took so long to address it.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Djefis
05 October 2009
The sound . . ., it was what I was waiting for!! Great!
Like
Version 2.2
Sgginc
09 July 2009
One of my must have utilities. Once you use it you need it. Saves a lot of needless scrolling. ken
Like (3)
Version 2.1.7
zx
20 May 2009
Super responsive developer...i Love this app.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.6
zx
13 May 2009
LazyMouse doesn't work when trying to Empty the trash while the items in the trash are in use (2nd dialog box)....
Like (1)
Version 2.1.5
Kobalt
17 April 2009
I'd not noticed any bugs in the 2.1.2 release, but am glad they got fixed so quick - just in case. Thanks, Joe.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Kobalt
10 April 2009
Forgot to add my stars in my previous post, so here they are for v2.1.2 and the whole app in general. Excellent update to a great little program I wouldn't be without.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Sgginc
10 April 2009
If you are a mouse user and want to do a lot less scrolling this is for you. Works flawlessly on 10.5.6. Try it ... you'll love it. Thanks ... Ken
Like (3)
Version 2.1.2
Kobalt
02 April 2009
I don't get me wrong, I love LazyMouse, but it looks like it's got a bit lazy of late. More often than not this v2.1 doesn't seem to actually do anything and so I've gone back to v2.0.4 which works fine and jumps to all the right places at the right moment.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 April 2009
Hi Kobalt, I'm sorry for this bug. I've just posted version 2.1.1 which should fix the problem.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Kobalt
Kobalt
03 April 2009
Cheers, dev! I'm going to try it again. :)
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Kobalt
Kobalt
03 April 2009
Happy to report all's good again in LazyMouse world. I am already feeling myself getting lazier by he minute now that the curser jumps to the right spot once again. :)
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Penguirl
30 March 2009
For the life of me, I can't understand paying $10 to do what the Return key does for free, and faster.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Sergesouszero
Sergesouszero
30 March 2009
It's only faster if your hands are already on the keyboard, if you know what I mean.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Easer
Easer
15 April 2009
For me, every program that contributes to reducing my carpal tunnel problems is a blessing. Lazy Mouse is one of those. Over time, all of those extra movements (such as hitting the return key) really do add up.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
Poikkeus
04 December 2007
LazyMouse is a reincarnation of the great (and free) CursorZoom, which was discontinued after Tiger took over a major feature. It's the kind of feature that should be in the Mac OS to start off with: when use the command box, the mouse quickly appears so you don't have to look for it. Ideally, we should be using key shortcuts for this kind of thing, but having the cursor handy is surprisingly useful. Alas, CursorZoom was impressive in that the cursor "zoomed" all the way across the screen to the command box; LazyMouse is somewhat less dramatic or eye-catching. Perhaps some future version will remedy this. That said, the price is low, and for some, the convenience is well worth it.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
zo219
13 September 2007
There's something funny about the way this jerks the background processes around. Paid for it, way back, and it works ... but I tend not to use it. I'm no deveoper (can you tell?) but it doesn't play nice.
Like
Version 2.0.2
4 answer(s)
Old-Jewel-Software
Old-Jewel-Software
29 September 2007
Hi ZO, How do you mean "jerks the background processes around"?
Like
Version 2.0.2
Easer
Easer
04 November 2007
I have to agree with the developer. I've used LazyMouse for years and never had any bizarre behavior, much less seing background processes act weird. This program has always been solid.
Like
Version 2.0.3
zo219
zo219
05 November 2007
Sorry, that wasn't very clear or helpful. I don't know why a given process rises and falls constantly, in CPU usage ... but this one does, and it seems to slow things down. Hard to explain with no tech talk.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Old-Jewel-Software
Old-Jewel-Software
05 November 2007
Generally speaking, LazyMouse has to update its information whenever you switch apps or whenever a new window appears so that it can know if it needs to snap the cursor. Version 2.0.2 was a bit more zealous about constantly polling the state of the current application. That's one of the changes in version 2.0.3. When it's doing work, its CPU usage will rise, but when it's not working (when there are no user interface events that it has to worry about), it should use very little CPU.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Easer
04 August 2007
What surprises me is that people would think this requires a learning curve. Comments like that can dissuade potential new users from trying this. I found the features that LazyMouse provides to be immediately intuitive and obvious. This program is well worth the money.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
clakes
04 August 2007
Happy buyer here. It really saves some time when you come to deal with dialogue boxes. Sadly enough, Windows beats Mac OS on this, offering the feature for free, built into mouse preferences, and you do can opt on it. Switching to Mac some 5 years ago, I was really surprised that Mac OS didn't natively offer such an opportunity as I expected from the best operating system on earth. I wouldn't ever say that it has a steep learning curve, although you do need some time to get used to this behavior. A fairly more annoying "nerves issue" I experience was striking the wrong button compulsively when in a hurry. =) Actually, as I turned to be a keyboard shortcuts freak I must say that using esc, return, enter, spacebar, tab and cmd+D combinations on dialog boxes makes you even more efficient. But that's another story, and anyway I have to use the mouse when browsing the internet... The new "Return cursor to original location after a click" feature added in version 2 is much welcome, squashing the only annoyance one could have catching the grip of the cursor back after the choice. The gradient added in 2.0.1 makes a cute icon even nicer. Works for me.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
kadoish
04 August 2007
Just wanted to say that, indeed, version 2 did generate copious amounts of crash reporting. I was not surprised when I saw v. 2.01 today. Glad to see developer on top of it.
Like
Version 2.0.1
MacUpdateSucks
02 August 2007
Personally, I'm surprised that this is getting such great reviews (not due to any fault of the developer). This is one of the features currently in Vista and it drives me absolutely crazy. I definitely get the notion that this and other features like it are supposed to create greater efficiency by decreasing mouse time, but no matter how many times it happens or how hard I try to make myself consciously aware of the feature I still find myself staring around confused every time my box makes a b-line to another dialog. 1. People don't expect this kind of interaction (whether it's beneficial to them or not). 2. Not everyone wants to pay explicit attention to a dialog or alert immediately. Some may be doing other work elsewhere only to find their concentration yanked back to another area because some alert dialog wants to tell you something of mild importance/relevance to a task you may not be currently attempting to complete. Again, no fault of the developer. The program does exactly what it should do, and does a fairly nice job at that. I'm just surprised, and a bit curious.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Old-Jewel-Software
Old-Jewel-Software
02 August 2007
Hi Jeff, You make a good point in saying that a dialog can pull you from the task you're doing, which is why LazyMouse works on dialogs in the current application. Windows has a different model, but on OS X, there's always a frontmost application, and that is the one that LazyMouse watches for. And of course, in Mac OS most dialogs appear as a direct result of user action, so it's most likely that any dialog LazyMouse responds to is one that you're expecting to appear. Of course, part of the benefit of LazyMouse 2.0 is that it moves the cursor to the default button and then snaps the mouse back to where it was after you've dismissed the dialog, so the distraction is minor. As for your first point that the behavior is unexpected, I offer a choice not a mandate. I assume that if someone has downloaded LazyMouse and used it long enough to decide to pay for it, then they've learned to anticipate its behavior. I think part of the reason this feature annoys Windows users is that they don't get a chance to opt in to it, but it just happens automatically. By going through the process of reading a web page, downloading, installing and then turning on LazyMosue, people know what they're getting into, and thus anticipate it working. Then they begin to expect it, and then they get used to it and then they register.
Like
Version 2.0
MacUpdateSucks
MacUpdateSucks
02 August 2007
All good points, and I'm totally not doubting that there is an audience for this type of application. I'm just surprised that people would be willing to endure the learning curve when it means combating about X many years of unconsciously learned behavior. Again, very nice work, and thanks for the clarification. It's always interesting to hear other's perspectives on interaction methods.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
mac-34
02 August 2007
i simply cannot imagine my mac without the lazy mouse. version 2.0 is awesome and works perfectly. bravo!!!
Like
Version 2.0
Poikkeus
23 July 2007
After the retirement CursorZoom, another program that performed this same task, Lazy Mouse is the only game in town when it comes this extremely useful function. Although one should normally use keyboard shortcuts, this quite addictive. As long as you stay in Safari, it's probably money spent well. But the point is well taken - Firefox isn't covered (yet, at least), and for such a small app, it's little to ask.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Noshortcuts
07 September 2006
I have installed Lazymouse on Mac OS X. There are three reasons I am removing it. 1. It does not work with Firefox and I spend alot of time in Firefox. On windows I have freeware that does work in all environments including Firefox. 2. It does not even work with itself. When the shareware window appears to see if I will register, the pointer does not go to it. 3. I am not sure I would consider paying for it even if it worked well for me.
Like
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Old-Jewel-Software
Old-Jewel-Software
24 September 2006
1. It does not work with Firefox and I spend alot of time in Firefox. On windows I have freeware that does work in all environments including Firefox. This is covered in the Readme. The Firefox team has chosen to use a nonstandard system for displaying dialogs. There's nothing that can be done about this. 2. It does not even work with itself. When the shareware window appears to see if I will register, the pointer does not go to it. Because when the registration window appears, the register button is disabled. No need to snap to a disabled button. 3. I am not sure I would consider paying for it even if it worked well for me Fair enough. Please feel free to contact me about issues like this or read the included documentation.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Sidetracked
20 August 2006
It certain does what it says simply and well. But personally I found $7 a bit much for the one trick, especially since hitting return does the same thing. BUT... I see that it has really helped some people, so I guess it's a 'try it and see if it helps you' sort of app.
Like
Version 1.1.3