Back to Quicksilver page
Quicksilver free download for Mac

Quicksilver Reviews

1.6.0
13 March 2019

Application launcher and much more.

Kzx72
23 January 2009

Most helpful

Latest build: http://code.google.com/p/blacktree-alchemy/downloads/list
Like (14)
Version 1.0b54

Read 356 Quicksilver User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
21 June 2018
Version 1.5.9 is out, dated March 12, 2018.

I use Quicksilver all day, every day and am grateful for its existence. However, it has some consistent, long-term problems that the developers willfully ignore. Here are a few:

• The auto update process runs to what appears to be completion, then it FAILs, forcing the user to manually download the latest version, Quit running Quicksilver, then manually install the app and run it.

• If there are plugin updates available, the list window isn't smart enough to allow scrolling within the space provided by your desktop. Instead, it can run off the bottom of the desktop, making it impossible to see all the updates or click the button at the bottom to install them.

• The version Changes web page hasn't been titled. If you want to save it, you have to manually name it from 'Untitled'.

• It often provides geeky, obscure notification messages that are entirely useless. For example, "Unable to locate 1Password logins Please set the 1Password 3rd party integration file'..." means what? Good luck ungeeking the lingo..

I've also found it dangerous to update to the latest version, creating what is for me the unique situation of avoiding updates. When I do update, I save a copy of the currently working version first in order to be able to restore it if the new version of Quicksilver manages to break something, which it notoriously has in the past.

General conclusion: Great software with long term incoherent, geek inflicted quirks. As such, I'd never recommend it to Granny. Therefore, I knock off 2 stars in the score. Ungeeking it would earn it 5 stars.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.8
3 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
12 March 2019
Interesting: Exactly one year later, Quicksilver is updated at long bloody last to v1.6.0. If this version stops the crash Crash CRASH on macOS Mojave, I will be singing their praises again. Here goes! . . .
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
12 March 2019
...Never mind. v1.6.0 is from September 2018, and is the version that crash Crash CRASHES on Mojave. I'm moving back to v1.5.8 (since v1.5.9 also spontaneously combusts). Bleh.
Like
dboc
dboc
05 May 2019
Do you have a link to the GitHub Issue for the crash you are seeing? Briefly searched open issues for crash + mojave and was unable to find anything:
https://github.com/quicksilver/Quicksilver/issues?utf8=%E2%9C%93&q=is%3Aissue+is%3Aopen+crash+mojave
Like (1)
JLMiladet
09 January 2018
Formidable !
Like (2)
Version 1.5.7
Derekcurrie
26 March 2017
v1.5.3 is out today
Like
Version 1.5.2
the hooks
30 January 2017
Good app, free and nice but I don't see any considerable differences from the Spotlight option on a Mac. I suppose, it will be helpful if you have huge amount of apps, folders and files which are not in a good order, then Quicksilver is a great decision.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
mugsuk
mugsuk
07 May 2017
this indicates that you are using Quicksilver as a launcher only - there is a MASSIVE difference between what Quicksilver and Spotlight do. Quicksilver is infinitely more than a launcher
Like (2)
kscmint
23 June 2016
This is an app that I must have. It provides much more than what Spotlight has. A bit confusing at first when trying to configure for more advanced operations but excellent nevertheless.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
Derekcurrie
21 June 2016
The current version is 1.4.2, which is what downloads. As ever, if your installed version of Quicksilver is working, either DON'T update it, or backup the current version first just in case the new version throws bugs at you and you need to revert back again.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
mugsuk
20 May 2016
1.4.1 is available on their website - still the best Mac app ever
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
fukurokujo
09 November 2015
works but without the main developer who went to google, its development could just as well have ended
Like
Version 1.3.1
Derekcurrie
05 August 2015
As usual: BEWARE updating Quicksilver. Every single time I've updated Quicksilver on my systems, it has CHOKED. I end up going back to the only version that I've ever found to reliably work for my setup: v1.1.3. Sadly, going back a version in Quicksilver can means your triggers are all screwed up with little "?" marks next to the, meaning you have to literally set them up from scratch all over again. And yes, if you complain to the project team, they'll get all defensive and denial mode on you. So don't bother. Just use the version that works. If you see a newer version, DO NOT UPGRADE until you've tested it out on some other test volume. Don't screw up your working Quicksilver setup for the sake of yet-another buggy update. And no, I won't honor rants in opposition to what I've said above. I've been through this damnable ritual too many times to bother going into flame warz over it. Just be glad if you figured out how to set up Quicksilver and have it working for you. What's wrong with version 1.3.0? It's activity simply drops dead without any notice or warning. Nothing programmed in it works any more. You have to reboot the thing and hope it now works again. Or better yet, go back to the version of Quicksilver that wasn't buggy for you. It's great that its free! But you get what you pay for. Headaches are not worth paying for.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.0
mugsuk
13 July 2015
been using this for close to 10yrs - first app I install whenever I update the OS; can do almost anything, and I find myself adding it to different workflows all the time.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Big Johnson
26 June 2015
Hey Patrick, how about adding some screenshots (or video) showing how this sucker actually works? Alfred and LaunchBar have them, but I can't even get a glimpse of Quicksilver's functionality or GUI.
Like
Version 1.2.2
3 answer(s)
Johninsapporo
Johninsapporo
04 August 2015
It's free software. If you dig around the internet you'll find lots of sites that will help work it out. YouTube has a few; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UQ8KMvvq3E
Like (2)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
05 August 2015
Alfred and Launchbar are both paid products, QS is free and open source, so why expect the same marketing resources. QS is incredibly well known, and has *heavily* influenced Alfred and others.

If you check the blog you'll see lots of examples of QS and its flexible elegant workflow: http://blog.qsapp.com
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
05 August 2015
You're trying to tell me it takes a lot of "resources" to post even a single screenshot? LMAO!

That's just a negligent or lazy developer.
Like (1)
FreeWizard
18 June 2015
Using QS since 10.5, now on 10.10. Great in many ways: first of its kind; super extendable; completely open sourced; maintained by capable developers.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
Eveningclouds
20 March 2015
Running Mavericks. Lots of crashes for me, and takes up quite a bit of RAM acc to Activity Monitor. Works fast enough but I find the interface a bit confusing, and so lean that I have trouble learning what to do. Stability is the biggest issue so far.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Nontroppo
27 October 2014
Lovely new version, lots of small but helpful improvements (remember the plugins all get updated with new features too which doesn't show in the main QS changelog). Still the most elegant and flexible power launcher for OS X...
Like
Version 1.2.0
Reddog99
24 October 2014
Trigger quit working for me after the 10.10 upgrade. Re-install didn't help...
Like
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Reddog99
Reddog99
28 October 2014
Looks like v1.2 fixed my problem...
Like
kingofleon86
23 March 2014
The version for snow is awesome
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
Sleek
05 November 2013
Quicksilver was once My favorite Application and it did the job but now since I found Alfred few years ago i just use Alfred Application just for about everything including shutdown,Restart, Sleep< Launching Apps, search all.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
Penguirl
27 October 2013
I made a concerted effort to use Quicksilver but it just doesn't work for the way I think, and I don't care to change to suit it. In my mind the shortcut for Address Book would be "ab" but Quicksilver wants "ad" and it took a LOT of repetition to get it to understand my shortcuts and some of them it would not learn no matter how many times I repeated it. Probably a great app if it works the way you think, but if you're like me you might want to try something else.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.2
2 answer(s)
Anotheruser
Anotheruser
10 January 2014
key command to bring up QS; type "add" (since you know that works); type tab; type "a" (should bring up "Assign Abbreviation"; type tab; type abbreviation you want ("ab"); type return.
Like (3)
wizbang-fl
wizbang-fl
13 April 2014
I went to Alfred for my launcher (free on app store)
Like (1)
wickedsp1d3r
09 October 2013
I love this app. It would just need a much better calculator implementation.
Like
Version 1.1.2
bobbyloveslions
26 September 2013
I've loved QS forever... But there's no reason this application should take up 200mb-1.8GB of memory. There is an issue. I hate to say it but QS... I love you but... I'm afraid it's time to break up. We've been together for so long but I just cant do it any more. It's not you. It's me. And to be honest... I've fell in love with another. Alfred 2.0. It's free... Has more features and is very stable. I suggest everyone who's having issues with QS give it a try.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
05 October 2013
I've never seen QS using so much memory, but if you can reproduce this, perhaps you can send the developers that information. I doubt Alfred has more features than Quicksilver, though workflows in V2+ are starting to get close!
Like (1)
Bright
21 September 2013
This app was always the first app that I would install on any new computer that I've ever owned.... Over the past year or so I've notice that my iMac would start acting so slow and unresponsive that I would have to restart it. I never knew what the issue was until finally I notices in my iStat Menu Bar that QS was taking up a ton of memory but as the computer got more and more unresponsive... the QS memory usage would climb. At one point before it became absolutely unresponsive, the memory usage was up to 1.8 GB! It just keeps climbing and climbing right before my eyes. That issue is on my iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3, OS X 10.8.4. Since then I have a new Retina MBP that I've installed it on... I haven't seen the memory hog issue but the latest version is not stable. It constantly becomes unresponsive and I will have to hunt down the application and double click on it to open it again even though it's already open. That's the only way I can have it respond. I've put the icon in the menu bar and that helps but either way... shouldn't be happening. I don't know what the dev changed to cause these issue but please revert back. This app used to be the best in the business and I would have gladly paid for it.... if it worked properly. Hope if is fixed soon.
Like
Version 1.1.0
Tachy0n
16 September 2013
on my old 10.6.8 mac, it crashes upon launch. from the log: Dyld Error Message: Symbol not found: _OBJC_CLASS_$_NSTableCellView Referenced from: /Volumes/Quicksilver/Quicksilver.app/Contents/MacOS/../Frameworks/QSCore.framework/Versions/A/QSCore Expected in: /System/Library/Frameworks/AppKit.framework/Versions/C/AppKit in /Volumes/Quicksilver/Quicksilver.app/Contents/MacOS/../Frameworks/QSCore.framework/Versions/A/QSCore 1.0 worked fine. I wonder if this means we're moving towards 10.7 Lion minimum?
Like
Version 1.1.0
Jgj
13 September 2013
Just installed 1.1.0. No brokenness so far, but then again, I only use this as an application launcher. One really annoying thing that's brand-new to 1.1.0: The font size that gets displayed in the list of possibilities that appears when you start typing... got bigger. Why oh why? BTW, I'm not seeing any of the memory-hog issues that some other "launching-only" users are seeing. My guess is that those users haven't gone through the preferences and turned off a bunch of stuff. I disabled as many actions and catalog items as I could while still letting it launch apps. If you leave it as it comes from the factory, I think it catalogs nearly your entire file system. If only Namely.app hadn't been abandoned...
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Jgj
Jgj
13 September 2013
Correction, I see that at least someone tried that. You have to disable more than just plugins. And just because one only *uses* the app-launching capabilities, doesn't mean that's all that's active. Also, you don't need the part that searches for every app on the system. Turn that off and just use the one that points at /Applications. If there are other places you keep apps, manually point QS there.
Like
barzus
22 June 2013
I used to use this all the time just as a app launcher. But after a recent update it eats up all my memory after a while and I have to kill it. I've seen others complain about this and the developers say it's expected behavior cause it's just caching stuff in memory. I call a big load of BS on that. I have every plugin disabled and only used the app finder. There's no possible reason it should need 500 MB to cache the locations of less than 100 apps.
Like
Version 1.0.0
2 answer(s)
Bright
Bright
09 September 2013
I agree... there is issues with memory usage. My computer was running super slow yesterday and I noticed that QS was pushing over 800MB on memory!! Really?? I only use this a launcher as well. It needs fixed ASAP!
Like
bobbyloveslions
bobbyloveslions
26 September 2013
You should try Alfred 2.0. It's free and super stable. Great app.
Like
misterjspencer
22 April 2013
I used to love this utility. But having downloaded 1.00 it won't install... admin password and then nothing.
Like
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
MisterE
MisterE
14 September 2013
you know the install is drag & drop... right?
Like
Londonskater
27 March 2013
Well, I'll be damned, Quicksilver at 1.0 A great program, the most indispensible program in years. Thanks for all the hard work.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.0
Mdognrdog
26 March 2013
Way back when, Quicksilver was the darling of the Mac cognoscenti. When Alcor went to Google to work on Quick Search Box for Mac, development slowed to a crawl for a while. The team of developers that's been working the project for the last few years has made QS faster, more robust, and fuller-featured. At its core, QS is a way of grabbing at ideas with snippets of words. First, you think of your sentence's subject: the words might be the name of a file, or a bookmarked URL, or an iTunes track, or an entry in Contacts. Then, you search through QS's list of Actions (your verbs) that you can apply to the subject. Some Actions provide you with a third phase, an object (like, what file do you want to attach to an email, maybe). Being able to string together commands with this sort of rudimentary syntax is extraordinarily powerful, and doesn't require that the user memorize a lot of hotkeys. (This is also good because a lot of good hotkeys are already taken.) For this reason, I strongly prefer QS to Launchbar, which also can do a lot of things, but which requires that I, in turn, remember all the keystrokes that I've assigned to those things. If you WANT hotkeys, the sentences you write can be assigned Trigger, and you can treat QS like Launchbar. Also, it is free. There's no reason not to download it, install it, and give it a try. It won't stop working after 30 days; it won't ever nag you to send a donation to anybody. You can just leave all that power sitting around, waiting to be set loose. It's great to finally be using a major release after eight years of using betas.
Like (11)
Version 1.0.0
M85
26 March 2013
Went hunting because Spotlight was frequently locking up my computer as it indexed files. I tried removing some folders from Spotlight's indexing sweep, but it was still a problem. Tried a few apps, but Quicksilver's been the best and then some.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0
clakes
26 March 2013
*jawdrop* woot? Woke up this morning, Quicksilver's got to 1 ?! Seriously? Wow. I'll be frightened as by a black divination for the rest of the day! =D Kidding apart, I'm going to give it a further clean chance in order to celebrate this special day, after I've dropped it for Alfred1 a few months ago... I hope it'll stop hanging as it used to do on my book. *shrugs* Cheers, Blacktree!
Like
Version 1.0.0
3 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
26 March 2013
Other developers took over from Blacktree years ago, here's an interview with the two main developers: http://blog.qsapp.com/post/46268470658/quicksilver-an-interview-with-the-developers.
Like (1)
clakes
clakes
26 March 2013
Whoops... My bad. Thank you for the interesting link and for making me notice that, Robby! Hilariously enough, I've been running v1 for some hours now, and I can say it's being pretty darn spiffy... Excellent job! Back to QS again? Probably, yes. =)
Like
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
26 March 2013
You're welcome. :) Cool, it looks like I am also back to using Quicksilver.
Like
Timbuk2
26 March 2013
There's Alfred, there's LaunchBar and then there's Quicksilver. All of them are really good, but I fell in love with Quicksilver the first time I used it and I've remained faithful to it, which I have never had reason to regret. To the developers of it: A big and humble bow to you!! I don't know how you do it, but QS keeps getting better and better. QS is so good I think Apple should ship it with the OS. Blacktree, you truly rock!!!
Like (4)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
26 March 2013
Other developers took over from Blacktree years ago, here's an interview with the two main developers: http://blog.qsapp.com/post/46268470658/quicksilver-an-interview-with-the-developers.
Like
Julian-Kingman
24 January 2013
Because of this app, I switched from PC to Mac. It has changed the way I use a computer, completely. No longer do I fumble through folders, or even have to remember where a file was. I just type "ctr+space" and type a few letters and WHAMO! there's my file. You can also drag and drop into and out of quicksilver. For instance, I'll bring up quicksilver, type 'pho' and photoshop appears. I drag an image onto it, and the image opens in photoshop! There's no end to what you can do, though, this just scratches the surface.
Like (2)
Version 71
Kornichon
19 January 2013
I tried many different launchers over the years, but I always come back to Quicksilver. It's free and extremely powerful. A big thank you to the new development team!
Like
Version 71
Nontroppo
17 January 2013
Here is the blog post describing B71 in more detail: http://blog.qsapp.com/post/35966004492/quicksilver-delivers
Like (1)
Version 71
Jazzyguy
17 January 2013
This app is a very good launcher but it also does a lot of things with its Plugins which are excellent. I have to give it 5 stars.
Like (3)
Version 71
Nontroppo
16 January 2013
ß71 build 3942 is the final release of ß71 and is now available for general download. A great changelog, lots of improvements, fixes and low-level plumbing work to make future QS versions even better!!! A massive thank you to the volunteer developers who are working incredibly hard on this...
Like (1)
Version 71
bbw7
02 January 2013
The MU download link doesn't work for the Beta 71 version. Looks like Beta 70 is actually the latest version, according to developer's site -- and is available there
Like (1)
Version 71
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
02 January 2013
Thanks for pointing this out bbw7. After a bit of digging, it looks like B71 is now only available via an update from within Quicksilver itself. I've updated our release notes with a link detailing how to ensure you're getting the latest beta builds :)
Like
bbw7
bbw7
03 January 2013
Thank you for the info, Ryan. However, just updating mine from within Quicksilver only brought it up to B70. I'm running OS 10.6.8.
Like
Kidsdoc
08 December 2012
Seriously, this software has been in beta for years!!! Is there ever going to be an official release? Or is calling it beta software a way for the developer to avoid liability in case something bad happens to your system?
Like (1)
Version 71
1 answer(s)
Mdognrdog
Mdognrdog
09 December 2012
The developer wouldn't be liable anyway. They're calling it beta because they don't feel like it's finished. However, it's been perfectly usable for the last dozen or so releases. Beta or not, it's still the most important software on my Mac. It's the one "pry it out of my cold, dead fingers" software package on the machine.
Like (4)
Jazzyguy
07 December 2012
Excellent!!!!
Like (4)
Version 71
Nontroppo
07 December 2012
Current beta is ß71, and the changelog is impressive: http://qsapp.com/changelog.php
Like (1)
Version 70
4 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
07 December 2012
Thanks for the heads up Nontroppo, I've updated our listing. That is a pretty impressive changelog, I might just have to give it another go :) Any reports on if it works better under ML?
Like (1)
Chadcn
Chadcn
07 December 2012
Ryan...been using it since day one with ML (Lion before that) and haven't come across any issues.
Like (1)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
08 December 2012
Working flawlessly here on 10.8.2. ß71 now supporting notification centre (NC) is a clear ML improvement, though I prefer to still use Growl and use Bark to route into NC...
Like (1)
Mdognrdog
Mdognrdog
09 December 2012
There won't be many more beta releases. 1.0 is soon to come. It works great under ML.
Like (1)
Jgj
28 September 2012
In fact QS is at beta70 now. However, beta70 introduced the following bug: QS no longer picks up applications that are inside a folder whose name starts with a dot. For example /applications/.outoftheway/foo.app will not be picked up. Beta 69 does not have this problem. There, upon launching the QS input window, typing 'foo' would yield 'foo.app'. Yes, I know this is not "the" place for bug reports. But it is absurd to require a github membership just to report a bug, which is what you find by going to qsapp.com. Therefore I report it here.
Like (3)
Version 69
2 answer(s)
Janichsan
Janichsan
07 December 2012
The question whether this is a bug or intentional. Folders/documents with a name starting with a period are usually intentionally hidden for a good reason from the user in UNIX-like systems.
Like (2)
sjk
sjk
07 December 2012
I hope it's intentional, Janichsan. If apps are in hidden folders, for whatever reason, it doesn't make sense to me for QS (et.al.) to find them there. Otherwise it seems to contradict the intuitive purpose of hidden folder usage, at least at the OS X GUI level. If anything, I'd prefer a "search hidden folders" option to override the current/new default behavior instead of reverting it.
Like
Barreltone
21 July 2012
Just love QS. It's a terrific way to work on the Mac.
Like (2)
Version 69
Jazzyguy
21 July 2012
Very Fine Launcher. Excellent in design and easy house,
Like (3)
Version 69
Metropical
21 July 2012
I'm so glad that development of QS has been picked up again. It is capable of a lot more than I use it for, but I'm happy with the launcher and clipboard aspects of it and it's stability in 10.6. I've introduced many people to QS. The ones that get it, dig it as well. The ones that don't, have a lovely slow & cluttered desktop. The new developers are extremely responsive to problems, even idiot ones. Think they're getting rich or have nothing else to do with their time.?
Like (4)
Version 69
Philosopherdog
21 July 2012
Thanx for bringing this legendary app back to life. QS is better than ever with these brilliant new coders. Luckily for the rest of us it was made open source and there are generous and talented coders willing and able to clean up the mess that this app was left in by its author.
Like (3)
Version 69
wickedsp1d3r
05 July 2012
Still some bugs here and there, but nevertheless the best app launcher in my opinion. And thanks to QS, I don't need to turn on Spotlight anymore.
Like
Version 68
El-Duderino
16 May 2012
OK, so I tried to download yet another version of this thing to see whether the fundamental bug that occurs when you try to add a custom source in the catalog at full folder depth had been fixed. Whether one would neither see the rainbow ball of doom once an attempt at indexing such a remote volume is tried, nor the perennial console error entry of "UKDirectoryEnumerator::nextObjectFullPath - MacOS Error ID = -42" Nope. But at least QS has the spacebar QuickLook implementation now! (Nah, only joking. It doesn't.) Have gripes about Launchbar too (which near everyone seems to love) but at least its indexing system seems to kind of function.
Like
Version 68
2 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
16 May 2012
So why not, in the time it took to write your comment here, post to the bug tracker; this is an open source project with developers giving their time freely, and corner-case bugs like yours get fixed quicker with helpful input from users... https://github.com/quicksilver/Quicksilver/issues
Like
Pjrobertson
Pjrobertson
17 May 2012
As Nontroppo has said, please create a bug report at https://github.com/quicksilver/Quicksilver/issues Just to further clarify your statement about Quickslook and Quicksilver - you can quick look any file or URL (soon to be Mail messages) using either ⌘Y, ⌘⌥Y (fullscreen) or using the spacebar if you set it in the Command preferences. Hope this helps
Like (1)
Jgj
26 April 2012
I like QS a lot. But Beta67 introduced, inadvertently of course, something terrible. When you hit Cmd-Q to quit, instead of quitting you get a bezel that says "Hold Cmd-Q to quit". But, if you follow the instructions to "Hold" Cmd-Q for just a tiny fraction of a second too long, then you end up quitting your other open apps in sequence until you realize what's going on and lift up your fingers. It is very difficult to time this properly. It's potentially destructive, depending on which other app you accidentally quit. It's also extremely irritating, not only that now I have to concentrate on timing, but that I even have to take any extra step whatsoever after the first Cmd-Q. No, it does not suffice to use the mouse to quit QS. The whole point of QS is not needing the mouse for things. QS crew, I beg of thee to either get rid of this "feature", or provide a preference to disable it, or something to keep the held Cmd-Q from transferring to the next app after QS quits. (I know this is not the bug report forum, but I can't seem to find how to report bugs without signing up for Yet Another Account Somewhere).
Like
Version 67
2 answer(s)
Pjrobertson
Pjrobertson
27 April 2012
Thanks Jgj for expressing your opinion. If you have problems with Quicksilver then please get in touch with us via the official means ( see http://qsapp.com/support.php ) You can disable this dialogue - there is already a preference to disable it. See http://qsapp.com/wiki/Hidden_Defaults Thanks!
Like (1)
philostein
philostein
16 May 2012
To add to what Pjrobertson said, ⌘Q doesn't have to be held down. Letting go of Q and tapping it again while the dialog is present will quit QS without accidentally quitting other apps. Also, ⌘⌃Q will relaunch QS without a dialog. I didn't like this change at first, but it's grown on me. :) @LoveQuicksilver
Like (1)
Incorvia
18 April 2012
I'm a user who lingered on the fence about buying Alfred's PowerPack or not. I found pro's and con's to each. I felt I liked Quicksilver's three panel approach better than Alfred's actions. I loved Alfred's speed and felt customizing it was a bit easier. But then there was the whole $20 thing for Alfred's PowerPack which I would need. Then version 67 came out and wow, it is so much faster than previous versions of Quicksilver. I didn't realize how important this was to me and I no longer find myself wishing I had Alfred. Quicksilver is an amazing piece of software, these new devs are crushing it (in a good way) with new features and speedy development. I'm giving it a 4.5 stars because I still think there's room for simplifying / improving the menu system but all in all I highly recommend!
Like (1)
Version 67
Bigboysdad
31 March 2012
I've always loved quicksilver but now it insists on notifying you every five minutes in the front most window what its indexing which makes it unusable.
Like
Version 66
5 answer(s)
Pjrobertson
Pjrobertson
31 March 2012
If you go into the Preferences pane and click "extras" you can disable the "show task viewer automatically" option which should stop the window popping up showing you what is being indexed.
Like
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
01 April 2012
Thanks for the response. The problem is, despite uninstalling and reinstalling, QS keeps behaving in this way despite the "show task viewer automatically" box not being ticked. I don’t think its my system, as permissons, caches, disk directory an preferences are well maintained. I’m not too bothered as I have Launchbar and appreciate that the dedicated QS devs will continue to work through issues like this. It’s my preferred choice over Alfred, for sure.
Like
Pjrobertson
Pjrobertson
01 April 2012
Please feel free to create an issue at https://github.com/quicksilver/Quicksilver/issues and we will work on fixing this. We've not heard of this problem before, so any info you can give us will help us fix it!
Like
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
06 April 2012
Please disregard my comments above - I’m delighted to say it was not Quicksilver that was causing the issue. It was completely my fault as I didn’t RTFM on another app I had installed. I hope I didn't put anyone off with my review - Quicksilver is as essential, reliable and well supported as ever!
Like (3)
Pjrobertson
Pjrobertson
06 April 2012
We're glad you got it sorted, thanks for your support!
Like (2)
Mdognrdog
25 March 2012
I've already reviewed Quicksilver here before, but I'm coming back to it. This latest (b66) adds the ability to pop up a Quick Look window for any file (or URL) you enter. This makes it SO much easier to find things, it's just ridiculous (after all, don't almost all of us have a bunch of files with very similar names, where we'd like to figure out which one's which? Regardless of where they are in our directory structures?) It's simply a bad-ass piece of software. Not perfect, but bad-ass for sure. Oh, and they give it away. So at least TRY Quicksilver for a couple weeks before you BUY a "launcher" program. None of QS's "competitors" offer anything like the power of Quicksilver.
Like (5)
Version 66