Back to DOT-TUNES page
DOT-TUNES free download for Mac

DOT-TUNES Reviews

4.3.0.8
10 July 2011

Share iTunes music tracks via a browser.

Darukaru
31 August 2007

Most helpful

Give away a crippled app for free, then sell "plugins" ($20 a pop, $40 for a bundle) to restore functionality to it? Interesting business model, to be sure.
Like (4)
Version 4.0

Read 48 DOT-TUNES User Reviews

Rate this app:

Ttmn
20 November 2010
I wish I read earlier review before I purchased two plug-ins from them last week and spent $60. Not cool to disappear but leave your business online, not answer emails from people who payed you money for product that you claim you support.
Like (4)
Version 4.2.0.41
David-Perez
07 November 2009
Anyone know what happened to Jeff and Dot Tunes? After a year off, I recently started using the program again (and I spent something like $80 on plug-ins over the years). However, cannot get it to work with Snow Leopard and the iPhone 3GS. The QuickTime playback doesn't work, whether on the iPhone or even on servers computer, hence it's useless/broke. I'm just wondering why Dot-Tunes hasn't responded to my e-mail from last week, the on-line live help is down, the forums/blog seemingly have been taken down. Did they go out of business?
Like (3)
Version 4.2.0.41
Landi
21 April 2009
Works very fine .
Like
Version 4.2.0.41
Cerebrl
13 September 2008
I have not had much time to play with the software, but I must say that the customer support is fast and nice. I had a problem with my activation key (actually it was my fault), but they reset it for me anyways, and replied within 24 hours. And, it was over a weekend! [Cerebrl]
Like (1)
Version 4.2.0.41
Tekl
05 September 2008
I can't test this App as it doesn't see my Library. The list is completely empty. Maybe it doesn't like a moved music library.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Jeff-Ayling
Jeff-Ayling
13 September 2008
Heya TEKL, You may like to try this latest build - the import issue will certainly be fixed. Cheers Jeff
Like
Version 4.2.0.41
Jeff-Ayling
10 July 2008
Hi all, This version of DOT.TUNES has been released to coincide with the release of the iPhone 3G. This build contains support for the new DOT.iPHONE Version 2.0 Plugin which can stream an entire playlist, to your iPhone or iPod Touch, one track after the other - without having to click to play each track! Enjoy :-) Jeff
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1.3
Rtcruz1
28 December 2007
I can't get this app to work.. and I'm just trying to access iTunes on my G4 on my internal network... I haven't even tried accessing it using the external IP.. The program locks up.. I have not been able to successfully listen to a song, or watch a video yet..
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0.70
1 answer(s)
Jeffers
Jeffers
13 January 2008
Hi there, Has DOT.TUNES imported your iTunes data yet? At what stage does it hang? Please drop us an email at team@dottunes.net and we'd love to help. Cheers Jeff
Like
Version 4.0.0.70
E^2
27 November 2007
I am not willing to tollerate, that dot.tunes redirects me from MY machine to THEIR webspace, if I access dot.tunes via my iPod touch. Giving away the basic app for free does not in any way entitle the developpers to implement such a "feature".
Like (2)
Version 4.0.0.70
1 answer(s)
Jeffers
Jeffers
13 January 2008
heya, The reason you are directed back to DOT.TUNES is that you need to install the DOT.TOUCH Plugin so that the iPod Touch interface will appear. We are not redirecting you to our site for any other reason than so that you can grab the plugin and access your music on your Touch. Cheers Jeff
Like
Version 4.0.0.70
Jeffers
19 September 2007
We have received many emails regarding the iPod Touch. We have almost completed development and should have the DOT.TOUCH Plugin available very soon. By the way - download today and receive the DOT.ARTWORK Plugin FREE. Cheers Jeff
Like
Version 4.0.0.67
Darukaru
31 August 2007
Give away a crippled app for free, then sell "plugins" ($20 a pop, $40 for a bundle) to restore functionality to it? Interesting business model, to be sure.
Like (4)
Version 4.0
Sm
31 August 2007
Forget it! The plug-in-policy is the reason why I will switch to mytunesrss.
Like (3)
Version 4.0
Jeffers
31 August 2007
Hi all - to save any confusion :-) DOT.TUNES Version 4 FREE - is Universal Binary!! Enjoy :-) Jeff
Like
Version 4.0
Texinick
30 July 2007
Hi, I've just been comparing a few products that do similar things. I specifically want access to my iTunes library from my PSP. I love the idea of DT giving me options to play the music on the PSP or offering remote control, this is the definite advantage over the remote-only CoverBuddy. But the problem with both of them is they are PPC only. Why, oh why are people still releasing PPC only programs? Is there a Universal Binary version of DT coming? I'd buy it now if there was.
Like
Version 3.0.44
1 answer(s)
Jeff-Ayling
Jeff-Ayling
22 August 2007
Good News - Universal Binary is only days away :-)
Like (1)
Version 3.0.44
Absolute-Zero
26 November 2006
I originally posted this as a reply to Buyer Beware, but I felt that it was more apporpriately posted here. Whoever this dude is, he really needs to take a chill pill (or get a life). I did some research too, and this application has been around for a minute, but it was only when the current version was released that I got on it, as did a whole bunch of people that I recommended. I'm not a technical person (per se), but I do know a good application when I use it, and Dottunes is just such an application. Whatever your criticism of the alleged "phony" reviews, the fact of the matter is that it works well. I have been able to get my media easily. I have been able to share my library's contents with users that I identify easily. I have been able to explain what it does to others, who have had similar experiences when they downloaded it and used it. Before I used the application, I went to their website and I checked out the testimonials offered by the different users. While this is strictly self-serving (as any website is), it did show me the breadth and width of the application, and the various worlds from which their users came from. I have dealt with Jeff and he seems like a good person, who really believes in his application, and his users. I count myself fortunate to have come across it at all, and "player haters" like Buyer Beware, need to be disregarded for the simple fact that dude didn't even run the program. It's one thing to say that the reviews are inflated, but something entirely different to make that same statement without having tested the applicaiton at all. Buyer Beware stay in your lane and get a life. (11/26/2006, Version: 3.0)
Like
Version 3.0
Roofus
26 November 2006
Hey Jeff, don't give that guy's BS comments a second thought. He obviously has no use for your app otherwise he would be equally as happy as your existing clients. Here are the facts: 1) DOT.TUNES Rocks!! 2) It does what it says it will do and much more!! 3) You will never find better app support than that of the DOT.TUNES team!! 4) Try the app, contact Jeff if you need support and you will not be disappointed!! Don't get caught up in a war with this goose Jeff. Keep up the good work.
Like
Version 3.0
Jeff-Ayling
26 November 2006
A comment was just added below and I have written to MacUpdate to ask that it be removed as I suspect that it has been written by a competitor. Here is a copy of the letter I sent: I wonder if you could help. I just noticed that an appalling comment has been added to our main DOT.TUNES page which I think is outrageous and completely unfair. I am wondering if it could please be removed as I am suspecting that it may be the comment from a competitor. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/14689 Firstly the Lil' Snitch comments: DOT.TUNES does not phone home to pass serial numbers or user details back to our server - it simply makes an external connection to retrieve its external ip address as an app can not discover its external ip address without a prod from outside the local network. The user needs to know their external ip address to give to their friends, this is a basic request from users and has been part of DT for years without any concerns ever being expressed. The comments regarding the app design will not benefit the user and everyone who has seen the new app has congratulated us on the amazing new look/feel/logo and web and app interface. To suggest we be added to the developer blacklist is just crazy. We work full time on DOT.TUNES and we are responsible and ethical at all times. We are based in Sydney Australia and through a simple IP check it should be easy to see that the comments on the DT page were certainly not added by us. Our IP Address is xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx. When I received your email containing the special promo url I emailed all existing DT customers and asked if they could help us by emailing everyone they know to tell then about our 50% MacUpdate promo and ask them to click that link, download the demo, add any comments and purchase through MacUpdate if they like the app. That's how those comments came to appear and I would doubt that any of the IP addresses were even from Australia let alone from us. We have a loyal customer base who value our pleasant manner and awesome customer service, when we put out the word to help us out I guess they jumped in to assist us - quite the opposite from what we deserve according to this users comments. Again the user has not assisted MacUpdate customers and admits it by saying "I have not addressed what the software actually does" Finally the user goes on to make a list on our page of other sharing apps. Hey I don't mind a user mentioning another app but to make a list containing links just isn't right. So finally, I ask that you please consider removing this comment. If it can be done before this promo is finished that would be great as I'm sure it is reducing the number of sales. Thanks very much Jeff Ayling
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Snowlprd
Snowlprd
26 November 2006
Jeff: I can assure you that the message below was not written by a competitor, and your repeated accusations to that effect do you no credit. Just because somebody posts something you don't agree with does not warrant you accusing them of being a competitor, which is something you have done here again and again. I'm just a guy, and as I said originally, I have no vested interest. I never claimed to know what data is being passed back and forth -- only that the "License connection error" message seemed to indicate that the app is phoning home. If it's not phoning home, as you claim, why does it say "License connection error?" I disagree that the comments regarding the app's user interface do not benefit other MacUpdate readers. If other people have congratulated you on the new look and feel, then great! More power to you. I still stand by those comments. Regarding the reviews... If what you say is true, then clearly my suspicions were misplaced, and I apologize most sincerely. While I have no way of verifying the source of the reviews, I'm sure that MacUpdate can do so and will act accordingly. But honestly, Jeff... Why would you object to me listing open source alternatives? You say it "just isn't right," but offer no reasons. It's not like I listed a bunch of commercial products, right? I just thought people might want to know about some of the other options out there. If they feel that your product is the best one for their needs, they'll thank me kindly for my input and buy Dot.Tunes anyway, right? Again, I apologize if I cast aspersions that were not accurate. But to ask that the comment be removed, in my opinion, is out of line.
Like
Version 3.0
Jeff-Ayling
Jeff-Ayling
26 November 2006
The reason that I would like this comment removed is that the comments and ratings in no way reflect the use, functionality, features, ease of use, value or stability of the application. You gave DOT.TUNES the following ratings: Features: 1 star - yet there are no iTunes web server apps on the market with a feature set which comes close to those found in DOT.TUNES. Based on the actual feature set found in the app anything less than 4 or 5 stars would be inacurate and misleading. Ease of Use: 1 star - yet you can publish your entire iTunes library in just a couple of clicks with no technical knowledge required. To provide an acurate rating for Ease of Use would easily lead to a 4 or 5 star rating as the app could not be easier to use Value: 1 star - yet the app can be purchased for $15 during the 30 day free trial and $30 after that. Plus we work on this one app full time, just look at the number of new releases to see that there has been a consistent stream of upgrades over the past few years. Also, our policy of users paying for major version number updates has never been enforced and we provide free serial numbers to every existing customer even on new major releases. An accurate rating for Value would surely have to be 3 to 5 stars Stability: 1 star - is just so misleading and is one of the reasons why I suspected you as a competitor. I mean did the app crash for you? Surely it must have crashed to give stability a 1 star rating. The only reason not to give stability a 4 or 5 star rating is if you experienced crashes which I'm sure is not the case. All up where as your combined ratings should have generated a 4 or 5 star rating you chose on 1 star all round due to what exactly, capital letters in the app name, the app choosing to help the user by reaching outside their network to tell the user their external ip address, because the standard buttons "look odd and out of place", oh and the use of caps and OSX in the app name, the suspicians of self promotion which are simply untrue oh and because you "just get a feeling in your gut". I should note that the MacUpdate ratings are optional so to specifically set each of them to a 1 is intentially misleading and I will make sure that MacUpdate consider removing the post.
Like
Version 3.0
Snowlprd
25 November 2006
I highly suggest avoiding this software. I shall provide as much evidence as I can. First: this software phones home. When blocked by Lil' Snitch, we get a nice "License connection error..." message, which at least is straightforward about the fact that Dot.Tunes failed in its attempt to phone home. Would it have been as straightforward if it had been able to successfully contact the mother ship? Somehow I doubt it, which I feel is a violation of the user's privacy. Yes, this version (3.0) finally introduces the ability to turn off the version update checks, but what about the license connection checking? It doesn't appear that can be turned off, and unless it fails, it appears that it is conducted surreptitiously and without the user's knowledge. If you decide to block DT from phoning home, be prepared for a lot of cryptic "Error retrieving IP Address: 64" messages. Very annoying. I'm not normally pre-disposed to a particular development environment; whether it's Cocoa, Carbon, or even AppleScript Studio, I don't care what was used to create the app as long as it's a good mix of form and function. Unfortunately, DT's RealBasic underpinnings show through in visually unappealing ways. Buttons look odd and out of place, scroll bars sometimes stop working entirely... It's just plain messy. The following point may trivial to some people, but it's a particular pet peeve of mine: the menu bar lists the app as "DOT-TUNES (OSX)". There are several things wrong here. First, why the all-caps? It's ugly and unnecessary. Why DOT-TUNES and not DOT.TUNES as used on the developer's web site? Some consistency would really be a welcome change. But my main beef with this is the inclusion of (OSX) in the menu bar. "Oh really? I'm using the Mac version? GET OUTTA HERE! I could have sworn I was using an Amiga, but thanks for setting me straight." Seriously: what is the point of reminding Mac users that they are using the Mac version of the DT application? Like we couldn't have figured that out by ourselves? And finally, if you're going to write the name of the operating system in the title for some bizarre reason, at least get it right. There's a space in there: it's "OS X" -- not "OSX" -- and it looks absurd and unprofessional when you get it wrong. By far my biggest complaint has nothing to with the software itself, but the way it's being promoted. Yes, that's right -- I'm calling shenanigans on the eleven shill reviews below this one. Seriously, take a look and then ask yourself the following questions: Why is it that there are only two positive reviews posted this entire year until November 21, when all of a sudden eleven rabidly enthusiastic reviews are posted in the span of a few days? Might this have to do with the fact that 3.0 was just about to be released, and somebody (cough, cough) wanted to push the less-than-favorable reviews further down the page and have them replaced with glowing reviews instead? Click on the author links to the left of each of these eleven reviews, and you'll find that not one of them has posted a review of any other product on MacUpdate. It sure looks an awful lot like somebody created a bunch of new accounts and used each one to post at least one five-star review of DT. The reviews even sound eerily similar to one another. Honestly, I think MacUpdate should investigate further and consider adding Jeff (guy behind Dot.Tunes) to the Developer Blacklist. Even in the absence of all of the above, you know how sometimes you just get a feeling in your gut? Like something just ain't right? That's the impression this software -- and the way it is being promoted -- leaves behind. Feel free to reach your own conclusions -- I'm just trying to save folks some time. :) Before I leave you to make up your own minds, please consider this: I have not addressed what the software actually does, because I was too disgusted to even get that far. I have no vested interest in the success of DT or, for that matter, any other software product. I am simply a concerned citizen that believes these issues should be brought to light. One final thought: I'm sure that there are many fine commercial music-serving tools out there besides Dot.Tunes, but if you're looking for similar tools that are free and open source, there are many great ones out there. To get you started, please take a look at the following projects: Jinzora Subsonic Jajuk Ampache MusicPD
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Absolute-Zero
Absolute-Zero
26 November 2006
Whoever this dude is, he really needs to take a chill pill (or get a life). I did some research too, and this application has been around for a minute, but it was only when the current version was released that I got on it, as did a whole bunch of people that I recommended. I'm not a technical person (per se), but I do know a good application when I use it, and Dottunes is just such an application. Whatever your criticism of the alleged "phony" reviews, the fact of the matter is that it works well. I have been able to get my media easily. I have been able to share my library's contents with users that I identify easily. I have been able to explain what it does to others, who have had similar experiences when they downloaded it and used it. Before I used the application, I went to their website and I checked out the testimonials offered by the different users. While this is strictly self-serving (as any website is), it did show me the breadth and width of the application, and the various worlds from which their users came from. I have dealt with Jeff and he seems like a good person, who really believes in his application, and his users. I count myself fortunate to have come across it at all, and "player haters" like Buyer Beware, need to be disregarded for the simple fact that dude didn't even run the program. It's one thing to say that the reviews are inflated, but something entirely different to make that same statement without having tested the applicaiton at all. Buyer Beware stay in your lane and get a life.
Like
Version 3.0
Oj-Lima
25 November 2006
I'm a DJ and a web-developer and I'm always looking for media solutions. DOT-TUNES is a useful way to share and stream audio. No need to bog down your FTP while you're waiting for your DJ homies to download files. It's an excellent way to access your music library no matter where you are on the globe.
Like
Version 3.0
Absolute-Zero
25 November 2006
Running my own production company has been made a whole lot easier since me and my crew started using Dottunes. We have become really good at getting jobs and turning around projects quickly. It has probably kept the lights on a lot longer than they would have been without Dottunes. I use Dottunes to send projects out to my clients, and this has really helped me to show them my capabilities, beyond production. And since I started using it, I have been able to do so many more jobs than before. Its well worth the 15 bucks.
Like
Version 3.0
Dadafz
25 November 2006
Love this software. Been using for a few months to run as a media server for my clients websites. Using an old G4 lying around our office running on DSL, I now have a dedicated server that runs all of our clients music files for their sites using DT's built in flash player. If we need to add new music to someone's site or myspace page, we just drag new songs into a playlist in iTunes. Dottunes also makes it so easy to access my personal music collection when I'm on the road. I've even got full mp3s downloaded to my Treo using the rss link and feeding it into a podcast program. New music to listen to from my own collection whenever I want it. Best wishes to Dottunes to keep up the good work!
Like
Version 3.0b3
Digital-Professor
25 November 2006
Dottunes helped me land a major deal almost as soon as I started using it. I gave a seminar about collaborative networks and network theory, where I used Dottunes to graphically represent the links, nodes and hubs on the internet. I also used dottunes to demonstrate how to utilize these various nodes to offer content in succinct and secure manner. Many of the professionals assembled for the presentation requested consultation on the use and application of Dottunes in their respetive fields, and I was able to show them how robust Dottunes was, not only for media files, by virtually any type of file. I am a professor in IT, and I have not come across many applications that are as well thought through and executed as Dottunes. Dottunes is now crucial to my infrastructure and I regularly recommend it to my colleagues, students and clients.
Like
Version 3.0b3
Thunderclap
25 November 2006
I just converted from vinyl to digital, and DT saved me from having to lose my records because I couldn't bring my entire library of over 20000 songs with me when I gigged. Now when I smash my ipod with records, I can still get at my real stash from anywhere!
Like
Version 3.0b3
Handler
25 November 2006
I manage music producers. The days of submitting music on a cd or through a zip file are history. Dot Tunes has made my work life easier by enabling me to share music with clients quickly and efficiently. I appreciate this application for the effective tool it has clearly become for my business. For $15 bucks, I feel like I got a serious deal.
Like
Version 3.0b3
Dgtlsnpr
25 November 2006
I utilize Dot.Tunes to give my clients access to the projects in development. Dot.Tunes gives me a forum for my production teams to submit materials, pick up projects, and keeps everyone in the creative loop connected the the product as it develops. Dot.Tunes has increased my productivity because I am now able to receive multiple opportunities, respond to them quickly with substantial assets, and get feedback from my clients instantaneously. It is easy to use, easy to set up, and simple to monitor and share. A colleague of mine introduced me to the application when we were working on remixes for one of our clients. When I got the app, I have a few issues setting up my ports, and the developer was helpful and got me up and running. So not only is the application serious, but the support is really excellent.
Like
Version 3.0b3
Afronomical
25 November 2006
Can I just say that Dot-Tunes is long overdue... Especially if you have friends with gigantic music libraries and you want to tap into them! As a nightclub entrepreneur this software has allowed me to create endless hours of playlists without having to bother my boy for access to his library via his home computer. Not to mention that my own computer doesn't even have the capability to hold the amount of music necessary to provide my clientele with hours of music, on a nightly basis, without repeating a song for months! Best part is I can access his library from ANY computer. Did I say that Dot-Tunes is LONG overdue?.... Get it. Use it. Love it.... Free your tunes baby : )
Like
Version 3.0b3
Metrodon
24 November 2006
As a musical composer/engineer I was turned on to Dot-Tunes through a client. For me the concept of presenting projects to perspective clients is a no brainer. Time is essential and most of all the simplicity of the program allows some of the artists whom I work with who are not always technically savvy inform of no issues. I definitely recommend this program for music lovers in any arena. Dot-Tunes just keeps the ball rolling!
Like
Version 3.0b3
Oluaxs
24 November 2006
a very handy app
Like
Version 3.0b3
Dgtlsnpr
22 November 2006
I got turned on to Dot.Tunes from a colleague of mine, and downloaded it a couple of months ago. I am extremely pleased with the results. I have been able to share my media files with my clients, who have been impressed with the ease of use of the application and its overall functionality. I have been able to remotely access my library of over 7000 tracks with ease, even through my Treo! I have also created accounts for clients with permissions with even greater ease, and in just a few clicks. Dot.Tunes is a must for anyone with a good stash of music (or any media for that matter), that they can't realistically travel around with. Dot.Tunes has my hearty endorsement. Five stars.
Like
Version 3.0b3
Piukam
13 November 2006
When I first downloaded Dot-Tunes, I had a few problems getting it to work. I sent the author (Jeff) email, and he promptly responded for me to contact him through AIM, which I did. Within a few minutes, he was able to determine what I needed to do. Dot-Tunes was up and running perfectly. Then about a week ago, Dot-Tunes "mysteriously" stopped working from any outside computer. I could access it using the internal IP, but not from an external one. Once again, I contacted Jeff tonight using AIM. He spent well over an hour helping me, even remotely logging in, going over my router settings, etc. He tracked down the problem (my router settings were the problem, not Dot-Tunes). I am once again up and running. I've used lots of software over the years, and talked with many authors for tech support. But Jeff took more time and was more patient and interested in solving my problem than any author has ever been. Jeff is actively working on Dot-Tunes and adding user requests. In the short month since I paid for the software, I've already seen additions and improvements in the program. Thanks again, Jeff. Great software. Perfect support. A+
Like
Version 3.0b2
Jeff-Ayling
27 September 2006
Threedee, thanks for your comments. Version 3 contains hundreds of hours of coding, improvements and new features. For example, there is now a built-in Flash Player allowing you to publish your iTunes tracks on your web space or myspace pages - this is a HOT feature. This is a beta and yes there are a few small issues such as a couple of css and javascript errors on some browsers - Safari for example is fine and we are working on messages in other browsers. We'll have all of these fixed for the official non beta release. Thanks again for your feedback. Cheers Jeff
Like
Version 3.0b1
Threedee912
26 September 2006
This is a RealBasic app. When you show Package Contents, there is a 'rbframework' item, as well as other RB files. I'm NOT saying that RB apps are bad (unlike what some other people say). This one seems to actually be pretty good. But, in the web interface, there seems to be alot of problems. I keep getting a bunch of CSS and javascript text inside the frames instead of whatever is supposed to be in there. I don't think I'm the problem, as i've tested this with Camino, Firefox, Safari, and even iCab! Accessing it from my windows box also causes the same problem, and installing it on my other mac also has the same problem.
Like
Version 3.0b1
Scottybuckets
20 July 2006
I seem to have a problem with loading the XML. It crashes every single time it reaches about 6,000 songs. I've tried it on 2 different Macs (MacBook Pro and a G5) with the same exact results. Any suggestions?
Like
Version 2.4
Dansgil
19 March 2006
This is an amazing piece of software. You can password protect you library to prevent unwanted users from accessing it - this is really useful. Also, the ability to use it as a remote to control your library locally is great. I can use my WiFi enabled PDA to control my library from anywhere. Wonderful!!!!!! The only feature I would like added is to be able to remotely watch videos in your library. Great Job!!!!
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
24 November 2005
wow. its even getting better and better and better. impressive work, guys. excellent job you do!
Like
Version 1.3a7
josh
23 November 2005
Great software -even better developer. I downloaded this software to use as a way to conroll a "jukebox" server in our office of 3 people. we each wanted to be able to controll itunes on the server without having to leave our desks. This seemed to do the trick. however, after I got it all set up I realized that a couple of key features that my office desired were missing. I emailed the developer and within 24 hours he had published a new version which included the features I needed. Talk about service. EXCELLLENT.
Like
Version 1.3a6
Jeff-Ayling
13 November 2005
Hi Scooter, thanks for your feedback. The lastest release of DOT-TUNES for OSX and Windows contains a FREE DOT-TUNES Client Application. With the new Client app you can now download a single track, an entire playlist, an entire artist, and entire album OR .... drum roll ... every track in iTunes, with a single click :-) You can simply click [Apple D] at any time to download every track listed in the main menu. This means that you can select [Apple T] which will reveal every published track - this could be every track in iTunes if they have all been published - then [Apple D] to download them all. Enjoy :-) Jeff
Like
Version 1.3a4
Anonymous
12 November 2005
I've just seen Rawsheets' review, and I find myself wondering if he's talking about the same application I first became aware of about a week ago when I noticed Dot Tunes as the featured download on the Apple site. I was particularly intrugued because it offered the ability for me to access the iTunes tracks on my home computer from my office computer via the Internet. "A bad solution to a non-existent problem"? I don't think so. From the moment I fired up the client application on my office computer, it ran like a dream from start to finish. And fast! It took just nine seconds to access the data from the 8,679 tracks on my home computer and build it into a playlist with basically the same functionality as iTunes. I've evaluated a lot of software in my time, and as far as stability, utility and functionality are concerned, I can't fault it. Top marks guys.
Like
Version 1.3a3
Jeff-Ayling
12 November 2005
The only part of the review which I believe is genuine and honest is the final comment, "Don't waste your time" where he describes whether or not you should read his review :-) Ok, I'll only be replying to a few of the comments made by rawsweets as his aggressive and over-critical manner is not something I want to get involved in. Firstly DOT-TUNES is sooo much more than BrowserTunes which is an app for remotely controlling iTunes. Sure you can do that with DOT-TUNES but you can also download the music from over the net via a web browser or with the free DOT-TUNES Client software which is included in the download. Rawsweets claims that "their app is really intended for site owners who want to make their media available to the wider web community" - this is simply not the case. In fact with thousands of users around the world, I don't know of a single user who is using it as rawsweets describes. Bands use DOT-TUNES to share their work in progress tracks with others in their band - and I'm talking about large bands like the Human League in the UK. Many people like a department head at Apple who I've just been iChatting with use DOT-TUNES to listen to their home music while at work. We are professional musicians with 718 advertisements currently on radio and television and we created DOT-TUNES so we can share our work in progress tracks between our studios and it works perfectly for that use as well. We were forced to add the window which asks people to locate their xml file because many users have this file located on remote hard drives. Some users even have multiple xml files for different iTunes setups and if rawsweets was on our development team then he would force you to use only the file he can find - not the one you want - that's why he has the time to write such a long critical review rather than building software of his own. "Now they want me to look through my THOUSANDS of songs and choose which to make available" - this is simply untrue and makes this review a complete waste of time for MacUpdate readers to worry about - it also makes me think that rawsweets may be a developer with a competitive product. At no time does DOT-TUNES want you to look through thousands of songs to choose which to make available!!! Period. What Rawsweets would have said if he was being honest is that DOT-TUNES then allows you to choose the artists, albums or playlists which you would like to make available. The user is presented with a window showing all artists, albums and playlists which you can publish - why because that is what our users have asked for. It also allows musicians to publish only the tracks which they own and have created themselves so as not to publish copyright material which they are not allowed to publish. You can also, click a 'select all' box which rawsweets felt you didn't need to know about - this will publish everything in iTunes by clicking a single button :-) And then to criticize the use of tables on our web site :-) this is getting funny now and time for me to sign off. I'm surprised he was happy to write this long criticism on MacUpdate which also uses tables.
Like
Version 1.3a3
1 answer(s)
George Thayer
George Thayer
13 November 2005
I read where you're using Cot as a pro musician. I guess this is more a question then a comment. I want to know where or what I can do to be a part of music sharing? I'd like to have music published or used by musicians. More for the opportunity to share my music then to earn from it although making money is always nice. I'm retired due to lipomeningocele from pulblic ed. as a former band director/principal. I'm not longer capable of playing extended gigs as I use to, but would still like to contribute. I think I offer a huge resourse of ability in music writing and creativity.
Like
Version 1.3a4
Anonymous
11 November 2005
Slow, clunky, unintuitive. That about sums up this piece of winblowz-ware. The worst of it is that their software is a bad solution to a non-existent problem. If you want people to download your files, you make the file available on your site, period... Who in their right mind, would present audio within a proprietary framework that doesn't go with anyone's site? The developer's biggest problems stem from poor positioning. While every Mac user would love jukebox enabling software (like browserTunes *free*), these guys come along and try to be that, while their app is really intended for site owners who want to make their media available to the wider web community... (read: been there done that). Okay - quick review right? I'm immediately greeted with a beautiful splash screen (promising so far). I'm then told that the prog needs me to tell it where my itunes xml file is... Come again? This is a mac program, you're supposed to do that. But it doesn't even try to find it and then ask me for help - it's lazy ass Winblowz prograamming at it's best. "Hey, we know you're not a computer geek, but help us find this file and we'll do the rest for ya!" "Easy" is a relative term with this developer. They must be use custom scripts to open their browsers, instead of double-clicking. Anywhoe - I do that for them, and then I'm waiting forever for the thing process an XML file... Funny, iTunes does take this long? (Oh, and it crashed, making me do that all over again.) Now they want me to look through my THOUSANDS of songs and choose which to make available; this is where the program's identity crisis occurs. I'm looking for a jukebox, but I've obviously downloaded a file management application. Okay - I'm tired, enough it stinks. The idea is bad enough, but the implementation can't even help with disguising that. These guys aren't up to snuff - a fact highlighted by their website's using tables for it's layout - probably made with Dreamweaver or Fireworks. Users: Don't waste your time. Developers: Don't toot your own horn too much - we're mac users and we know mac apps.
Like
Version 1.3a3
Jeff-Ayling
10 November 2005
Hi there, DOT-TUNES is just like any other web server. It runs on a specified port on whatever ip address is available. Many of our customers use a Dynamic IP routing service such as: http://www.dyndns.com/ http://www.no-ip.com/ We are very happy to walk you through the steps to get this working if you wish. Just visit http://www.dottunes.net and send us a message with your iChat or GoogleTalk details and we'll contact you and help out. Cheers Jeff
Like
Version 1.3a3
Anonymous
09 November 2005
How do you handle dynamic IPs?
Like
Version 1.3a3
Anonymous
21 September 2005
HOLY CRAP is that ever ugly!
Like
Version 1.1p
Jeff-Ayling
16 September 2005
There are huge differences between using Apache as described by Hunter Horseman and using DOT-TUNES. For example Using Apache will not provide you with any track info. You would not see album or artist info, genre, track length or size. You could not search for tracks using Hunters suggestion. Artists and albums would not be sorted and easily browsed via a drop down menu nor would html files be created containing navigation menus and sorted tables displaying tracks for easy use. Then there is searching, logging, multiple passwords for each user, selecting which tracks are published .... I could go on. Please check out DOT-TUNES for yourself and make up your own mind. Enjoy :-)
Like
Version 1.1f
Kariudo
13 September 2005
Dont bother for $29 bucks, apache is free, and already installed on your mac. So if you want to share your songs over http, just point it at your music root directory and enable directory listing for the directory, you can even password secure it with a simple .htaccess file.
Like
Version 1.1f
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 September 2005
How?
Like
Version 1.1p
Anonymous
12 September 2004
I like this Applicaton very much, but how much does it cost?
Like
Version 1.0b12
Wolverine83
10 May 2004
Works fine, except for two bugs i found. 1. No scandinavian characters pass through, and when you add support for that, don't forget iceland, iceland gets left out alot 2. When searching I can only search for one word, like "Bob Dylan" finds nothing, but "Dylan" finds tons. P.S. I paid for it, so I hope this will be fixed soon
Like
Version 1.0b10
Lordlothar250
05 May 2004
Really really nice app!!! get that tiny yet useful application and start sharing your homemade garageband sound ;)!
Like
Version 1.0b10
Jeff-Ayling
12 April 2004
Hi all, Please send all beta comments to team@dotpod.net Enjoy :-) Jeff DOT-POD/DOT-TUNES
Like
Version 0.1b
1 answer(s)
Lordlothar250
Lordlothar250
05 May 2004
Really really nice app!!! get that tiny yet useful application and start sharing your homemade garageband sound ;)!
Like
Version 1.0b10