Back to RCDefaultApp page
RCDefaultApp free download for Mac

RCDefaultApp Reviews

2.1
20 September 2009

Easily change the default application for opening file types.

anonymous-magpie-3853
27 November 2009

Most helpful

Great App! Transmission has recently added Magnet link support into the latest nightlies, and there is no way(that I know of) to change the default app (from Vuze to Transmission). this app makes it super easy!
Like (3)
Version 2.1

Read 48 RCDefaultApp User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sheppy
26 September 2019
Unfortunately, RCDefaultApp no longer works starting in Catalina, since it's not notarized and whatnot. Now looking for a replacement. :(
Like
Version 2.1
Jerry-T
15 March 2019
For osx >= 10.12, https://github.com/Lord-Kamina/SwiftDefaultApps
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
05 April 2019
Thanks Jerry-T, and for the latest compiled version: https://github.com/Lord-Kamina/SwiftDefaultApps/releases/
Like (1)
Psychiatry
02 April 2018
This is a great System Preference Pane which allows you to select the default app for many files types. Unfortunately, it was last updated to version 2.1 on September 2009. That is EIGHT YEARS AGO. Hopefully it will continue to work with the next MacOS 10.14 due September 2018. This version only allows 64-bit apps to work. 32-bit apps will no longer run. The developer listed this app as a 32/64-bit Universal app. So cross your fingers.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
17 September 2018
Execute the command `file ~/Library/PreferencePanes/RCDefaultApp.prefPane/Contents/MacOS/RCDefaultApp`, and it clearly says "Mach-O universal binary with 3 architectures: [x86_64:Mach-O 64-bit bundle x86_64] [ppc:Mach-O bundle ppc]", i.e. PPC, Intel 32, and Intel 64, so it should be future-proof in terms of macOS compatibility. @MacUpdate: you should add "Intel 64" to the platform.
Like (1)
Dana_Nau
10 May 2017
Despite all the changes to OS X since 2009, RCDefaultApp still works fine, and still provides useful functionality. I don't need to use it often - but when do need it, I'm very glad it's there.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
sreenath-s
26 November 2016
Excellent !
Like
Version 2.1
Jgj
15 September 2016
Unfortunately this wonderful tool, which worked beautifully all the way up through El Capitan, doesn't work at all on Sierra (Golden Master). It has to do with old-style garbage collection. If you try using the `lstool` binary buried inside at the CLI, you'll see that Sierra won't even let it run. `lstool` is what does all the work, IIRC. Of all the things that I'm losing because of Sierra breakage, this is the most painful.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Dana_Nau
Dana_Nau
10 May 2017
That's puzzling, because it still is working for me with Sierra 10.12.4. A few minutes ago, I used it to tell OS X which app to use to open OPML files.
Like
anonymous-gull-3260
14 January 2016
Sophos reports that the 2.1 update contains "Adware or PUA InstallCore" and blocks the install.
Like
Version 2.1
anonymous-gull-3260
14 January 2016
Sophos reports that the 2.1 update contains "Adware or PUA InstallCore" and blocks the install.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
neeklamy
neeklamy
11 February 2016
No need to be so fearful, James!

Sophos Home antivirus is simply saying that this may contain a PUA.

From Sophos, “Potentially Unwanted Applications, also called “PUAs”, are programs that may not be malicious but that you might not want on your computer…”

I uploaded the RCDefaultApp.prefpane to VirusTotal’s scanner, which then checked the included files against 54 different virus scanners, nothing found, you can see the results here: https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/78de47d0782cde0e9a1afd35821539a6ecbefde7992ab2e6fbea42570883a43c/analysis/1455189353/

I’ve used RCDefaultApp in the past and have just now reinstalled and used it again. From my limited use I can say there’s nothing to be concerned about regarding this preference pane.

It’s amazing too that whilst this hasn’t been updated in over 6 years, it runs perfectly on the latest OS X.
Like (1)
Krioni
08 July 2015
This has been a useful utility for a long time. Glad it still works. Oh, and if you get worried about the included "DoNothing.app" security warning, there's an easy fix. Go to (either your user or the top-level Library, depending on whether you chose All Users or just This User when installing): /Library/PreferencePanes/RCDefaultApp.app Right-click on it and choose Show Package Contents, then go into Contents/Resources/DoNothing.app. Right-click on that to choose Open - that will ask you to confirm that it is OK to be opened. Here's an explanation of what it is for, from the FAQ, in case you missed it: "As mentioned in the README, "disabling" an entry actually assigns it to a dummy application contained within RCDefaultApp.prefPane called DoNothing.app. This application will launch for a few seconds in the background, and then exit. This is done because LaunchServices does not allow an entry to be truly disabled."
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Håkan-Björk
03 January 2015
Love this little helper! I've been using it since forever and I'm still waiting for it to fail even the slightest…
Like
Version 2.1
ylluminate
04 July 2014
Exceptionally useful. I still find myself using it in 10.9.4 regularly.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Joseph-Farrugia
23 April 2014
download seems no longer available :-) Anyone can upload or send me the app please?
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
DovTodd
DovTodd
03 June 2014
I downloaded this on June 3, 2014, had no problem. Download worked just fine.
Like
E-M-9727
19 November 2013
For more years than I can remember -and I won't even count how many OSs- this wonderful little gem still works! I mean... it's late 2013... am runnin' 10.8.3 Mountain Lion... and it still works!! Further, the Apple method via "Get Info" just doesn't always work (had the same trouble users below had) which makes this tool invaluable.
Like
Version 2.1
BlackMacX
22 September 2012
This little gem has worked for years and has helped me easily change default applications for extensions, et al., quickly and painlessly. From OS X 10.2 to 10.7, it worked without issue. But with MacOSX ML, it seems to have broken, I suspect it's related to GateKeeper potentially (just a hunch). I would love if the application could be updated for continued use; but sofar, though it installs, I can't change default applications with anymore. I have emailed the developer and asked if RCDefaultApp will be updated to work with ML; I hope; but understand if it isn't. A great application though nonetheless for anyone using OS X 10.2-10.7.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
DOCa-Cola
DOCa-Cola
10 January 2013
So far i had no trouble with ML, RCDefaultApp still works fine for me.
Like (1)
Livinglife
23 February 2012
Excellent app! The only way I know to change URLs like “tel”.
Like
Version 2.1
Jam-Master-Gee
28 August 2011
Just downloaded and installed to get control over which program was opening .flv files. Mission accomplished. Provides great control over what applications open what files. Easy interface. Good work.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
anonymous-magpie-3853
27 November 2009
Great App! Transmission has recently added Magnet link support into the latest nightlies, and there is no way(that I know of) to change the default app (from Vuze to Transmission). this app makes it super easy!
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Espiridion
20 September 2009
I recently had some issues with the default application for segmented files. I remembered RCDefaultApp and installed the older 2.0.1 and my problem was solved. It's great to see this update. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 2.1
St00pid-M0nk3y
14 June 2009
OS X now does this by default via the Command + I info window and Change All function.
Like
Version 2.0.1
4 answer(s)
John-Sawyer-CJS
John-Sawyer-CJS
17 June 2009
Come on. RCDefaultApp does a lot more than that.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.1
Easer
Easer
20 September 2009
I've also found that, despite trying to set these preferences using Apple's Finder, sometimes apps still open in other programs (e.g., MW Word seems to love to take over). But with RCD, my choices stay steady. Oh, and thanks for the update!
Like (1)
Version 2.1
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
17 February 2010
I know it does a lot more and I still use the program every day. I just didn't realize the option was there... lol. Was a new discovery to me. I wish they'd support the app though. =\ Hasn't been updated in an eternity.
Like
Version 2.1
Easer
Easer
17 February 2010
See my post below. I've found the Finder to be inconsistent in this regard. That's why I eventually opted to use RCDefaultApp.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Splunk23
19 October 2007
anybody figure out how to get nntp urls to map to google groups in the default web browser?
Like
Version 2.0.1
Bob-tm
31 January 2007
Hmmm.... in theory this would be a nice app. Changing default app in Finder for MP3s changes this for almost all MP3 files, but some files are still given the iTunes icon and starts iTunes when clicked. Unfortunately, this application crashed with no error after selecting VLC as default app for MP3.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Alex-Kadis
21 January 2007
Works great, does exactly as advertised and you can't beat the price!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Cintra
09 January 2007
I was going mad with iTunes opening every mp3 file I converted, and not being able to find where this action could be changed. Then I came across a post in discussions advising use of RCDefaultapp.. This is a 'must have' for those who want a bit more control.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Yuletide
28 November 2006
Beautiful! Does just what it says, and gracefully... and its free!!!
Like
Version 2.0.1
St00pid-M0nk3y
27 September 2006
This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks! Very helpful. I was getting tired of having the wrong default app for certain files and having to individually change each file's default app.
Like
Version 2.0
Jjabba
07 August 2006
Small and easy to use. Apple should really buy this panel to include in the next OS X release. GREAT work!
Like
Version 2.0
Mfuhrer
28 March 2006
Great utility. Interface is clean and understandable. This should be a standard preference panel on Mac OS X!
Like
Version 2.0
Xmrocks
27 February 2006
Works like a charm! Highly useful, easy to use, and free! Couldn't ask for more and would highly recommend (as I've done often on the Apple Discussions) :-)
Like
Version 1.3
Roadtripdk
13 February 2006
I am using OS X 10.4.4 and turned to RCDefaultApp (1.3) so that I could map News, RSS, ATOM, etc. to RSSOwl. Unfortunately, the preference still insists on using Safari, even after I have saved my changes :-(
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
04 November 2005
Fantastic! I've been searching a long time for an app like this. Like many others have said: why the heck isn't this part of OS X?
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
30 August 2005
'Q: How do I uninstall RCDefaultApp? Drag RCDefaultApp.prefPane to the trash. Any changed LaunchServices settings remain changed.' ...so which settings got changed by RCDefaultApp by 'default'? It's not ideal, having things changed that may not work right again as a result of the app.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
30 August 2005
after a while using it, it seems to have a few issues with Tiger. All of a sudden, iTunes has started to change the file type of every song it plays to Quicktime Movie. This is a problem. Nothing else was installed or changed and the mp3 and mpg3 file types had iTunes as their 'default' app. Safari will not hand off the ftp handler to Interarchy, perhaps because I had Interarchy installed first, but that's a problem. It worked fine before, and the handler is set properly in RCDefaultApp. I'll uninstall it for now and see if things clear up.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
30 August 2005
works fine in 10.4.2, hoping it doesn't interfere with anything Apple does in an upcoming update.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
23 August 2005
Perfect! Thanks! Now can someone please explain why this pref. pane is not part of the OS? In System 8.5 there was an Internet Preferences Control Panel... Did Steve got mad at it?
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
17 May 2005
Works perfectly in Tiger. It's a "must have" utility/prefpane. Thanks! :)
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
16 May 2005
Assolutamente da avere!!!
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
19 December 2004
Thank you!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
10 December 2004
I've tried this little gem. Very nice! It's a great time-saver. Thanks to the author for this great, free app.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Ronan1
09 December 2004
Really neat. Does what it says on the label.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
05 November 2004
Excellent app especially for fixing those pesky programs that want to hijack your documents. I have Acrobat 6.0, and it wants to open all my .pdf's by default. But it's a slow program, and I only need it occasionally. With this preference pane, I can set it so that all .pdf's open in Preview. Then, if I need to open something in Acrobat, I can just ctrl-click it.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
05 June 2004
Excellent! Should have been provided by Apple. Have now uninstalled MoreInternet & ParanoidAndroid. Thanks to all you guys who find & fix before us 'average' Mac users ever get hit.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
26 May 2004
RCDefault works just fine for me, also.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
23 May 2004
Works as advertised, doesn't crash System Preferences like MoreInternet does. Well done.
Like
Version 1.1
Junpei
20 May 2004
Why didn't I know about this thing sooner? Amazing! I've been wanting something just like this.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
19 May 2004
Excellent, easy to use, and free. I came across it on a discussion of the new help:// exploit. RCDefault App allowed me to quickly and easily disable help:// URLs. See http://bronosky.com/pub/AppleScript.htm for a harmless example of the help:// exploit.
Like
Version 1.1
H Thomas
19 May 2004
Absolutely fabulous application. My "open with" drop down list is looking goood!!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
04 April 2004
This is an *excellent* little app. I don't know how i managed to live without for so long. :o)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
03 April 2004
Perfect!!! Exactly what i have wanted for ages on Mac OS X. Many thanks to the developper.
Like
Version 1.0