Back to GIMP page
GIMP free download for Mac

GIMP Reviews

30 July 2021

Powerful, free image editing application; now a native Mac app.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
samuel_h
samuel_h
May 7 2021
2.10.22
0.0
May 7 2021
0.0
Version: 2.10.22
This app brings me back to 2013 when I did my first steps in photo editing. Glad I found it again, will definitely give it a try years later although it may be a brought ride, judging from comments
anonymous-bee-5423
anonymous-bee-5423
Sep 2 2020
2.10.14
1.0
Sep 2 2020
1.0
Version: 2.10.14
This is the worst programm i've ever used in my life. Never will I recommend this idiotic piece of shit to anyone in this universe. Please remove this pile of garbage from the internet!
helloweekendvice
helloweekendvice
Aug 21 2020
2.10.14
1.0
Aug 21 2020
1.0
Version: 2.10.14
just get photoshop. this absolutely sucks.
featherpeacock2
featherpeacock2
May 5 2020
2.10.14
0.0
May 5 2020
0.0
Version: 2.10.14
when will the update be available
arprevatte65
arprevatte65
Apr 27 2020
2.10.14
2.0
Apr 27 2020
2.0
Version: 2.10.14
This review is for 2. 10. 14. This photo editor is like a person with a darker complicated personality. You can figure out how to interact with them but you never know if they will go along with what you. want to do. This program is always doing weird and odd sh*t. Slow and always complaining and whining about having to do basic crap like crop and save a file. It continually pops up messages about how it can't save or it can't do a requested job. It lies about its pixels. To work this program is like being in a relationship with a bipolar person.
fcarenza560
fcarenza560
Mar 27 2020
2.10.14
2.0
Mar 27 2020
2.0
Version: 2.10.14
Tremendous problems opening Raw images created by Sony Cameras.
Aapple
Aapple
Mar 5 2020
2.10.18
0.0
Mar 5 2020
0.0
Version: 2.10.18
Note that 2.10.18 is not yet available for download. The link here takes you to 2.10.14.
judgebath2000
judgebath2000
Jan 22 2020
2.10.14
5.0
Jan 22 2020
5.0
Version: 2.10.14
I have just downloaded The Gimp. I have not had time to try it yet, but I do have project that I think that will do the job well. I have a photo of a very close relative that died 32 years ago. This photo was the last photo ever taken of him. Unfortunately, the photo was left on a windowsill and the sun has bleached out much of the colour. I do have other photos of him from which I can get an accurate colour match of his skin tone. I’ll keep you informed on the progress I make. Any tips or ideas please let me know.
ric5456857
ric5456857
Jan 2 2020
2.10.14
5.0
Jan 2 2020
5.0
Version: 2.10.14
I have been sick and haven’t had much chance too tack a good look at it. I have lots of raw photos to look at . Ty
ibjp2004
ibjp2004
Nov 19 2019
2.10.14
0.0
Nov 19 2019
0.0
Version: 2.10.14
New at this...what version of GIMP for Mac El Capitain? How do I get BIMP plugins to work for watermarks & batch manipulation?
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Nov 3 2019
2.10.14
5.0
Nov 3 2019
5.0
Version: 2.10.14
Digital Artist? Good, get this app you will love it!
jlee5201
jlee5201
Jul 19 2019
2.10.12
5.0
Jul 19 2019
5.0
Version: 2.10.12
My image editor of choice for over five years. It doesn't get much better for free.
Mcr
Mcr
Jun 25 2019
2.10.12
5.0
Jun 25 2019
5.0
Version: 2.10.12
Found this great site with excellent tutorials and tips on using GIMP and Photoshop. https://howtogimp.com/ I like GIMP, but I wouldn't call it 'intuitive', especially for newcomers. This site helped me a lot. I use GraphicConverter 90% of the time, GIMP when I have to, like when sharing with other GIMP for Windows users, or need to load Photoshop files.
Mcr
Mcr
Jun 25 2019
2.10.12
5.0
Jun 25 2019
5.0
Version: 2.10.12
MACUPDATE: The link to the developer on this page is mislabeled, it reads 'GIMP On OS X'. The link is correct. The label should read 'GIMP.ORG'. "GIMP On OS X' was a separate project of GIMP, headed by an independent developer with the avatar 'Lisanet', who created custom builds of GIMP from the official gimp.org release. These custom GIMP On OS X builds had additional features and some mods in the menu structure to make easier for users who used Photoshop. The GIMP On OS X project is deprecated, and hasn't been updated since Jan 2017. This label is left over from the time when Macupdate actually had two landing pages for GIMP, one for the GIMP.org build and one for the builds by 'lisanet' for the GIMP On OS X project. Here's the link to the deprecated project to validate what I'm saying: https://sourceforge.net/projects/gimponosx/ it even says on there 'Superseded by the official Gimp release: http://www.gimp.org'
Dorkypants
Dorkypants
Jun 19 2019
2.10.12
0.0
Jun 19 2019
0.0
Version: 2.10.12
2.10.12 on Mojave quits upon launch (without even a startup banner window). I tried both the torrent download and the direct download with the same results. My copy of 2.10.10 still works fine
Slurp
Slurp
Jun 17 2019
2.10.12
3.0
Jun 17 2019
3.0
Version: 2.10.12
Might the System Requirements be wrong? Shouldn't they be from OS X 10 . 10 and higher?. Because OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) doesn't accept this one.
richlun25
richlun25
Apr 10 2019
2.10.10
1.0
Apr 10 2019
1.0
Version: 2.10.10
uninstalled german version
anthonyjones7513
anthonyjones7513
Nov 27 2018
2.10.8
5.0
Nov 27 2018
5.0
Version: 2.10.8
Completely love the app, I just updated
Mcr
Mcr
Nov 12 2018
2.10.8
5.0
Nov 12 2018
5.0
Version: 2.10.8
Initial release of GIMP 2.10.8 on Nov 9 crashed on earlier versions of macOS (10.9, 10.10, 10.11) at startup. THIS HAS BEEN FIXED as of Nov 11. A new build is available named 'gimp-2.10.8-x86_64-1.dmg' (153,989,156 bytes).

The original build that crashed is named 'gimp-2.10.8-x86_64.dmg' without the '-1' suffix. Not sure when or if MacUpdate will recognize or pull the newer build, as both are still 2.10.8. Also, note that 'About GIMP' from menu will report same 2.10.8 version number for either build, so don't go by that. If you don't or can't get the newer build with the '-1' suffix from MacUpdate, go direct here and download:
https://www.gimp.org/downloads/

PS, 5-stars for the excellent work by developers once this was reported, to fix the problem in a little over 24 hours. Problem was due to Apple making it more difficult with each release of macOS to maintain compatibility with older versions of OSX/macOS when using newer xcode and other developer tools. Developer had to revert to older Xcode to make it work, plus some fancy reconfigurations, and he posted an article with technical details that might help other developers running into same issues maintaining compatibility with older macOSes. The article is here:
https://smallhacks.wordpress.com/2018/11/11/how-to-support-old-osx-version-with-a-recent-xcode/
Mcr
Mcr
Nov 9 2018
2.10.8
5.0
Nov 9 2018
5.0
Version: 2.10.8
2.10.8 crashes on startup on El Capitan. already reported by others on Github. Follow the bug report for updates here: https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/issues/2466
forkskane
forkskane
Jun 23 2018
2.8.22
1.0
Jun 23 2018
1.0
Version: 2.8.22
For reasons best known to GIMP - jpg became an unknown file type:- "Opening '/Volumes/ALICE/DCIM/717_2306/IMG_1189'failed: Unknown file type" Unfortunately the message seems copy paste proof. I MAY change my mind IF a reinstall works.
Pete B.
Pete B.
Aug 7 2017
2.8.22
5.0
Aug 7 2017
5.0
Version: 2.8.22
Wonderful!
Ali-Egypt
Ali-Egypt
May 18 2017
2.8.22
3.0
May 18 2017
3.0
Version: 2.8.22
GIMP is a very good free image editor. it lacks a good GUI though. But seeing the trend of hackers compromising popular open source apps (see the latest Handbrake and Transmission hacks - https://objective-see.com/blog/blog_0x1D.html) this is also a huge target.
WisdomL0RD
WisdomL0RD
Mar 26 2017
2.8.20
3.5
Mar 26 2017
3.5
Version: 2.8.20
Very good free image editor. But the dreadful/awful GUI is making it hard to use imo. It is very powerful though. But if you want my 2cnt, you absolutely need to take a look at Affinity Photo ! Not free but very cheap and imo a must have buy if you are serious about photo/image editing.
jan_de_smet
jan_de_smet
Feb 11 2017
2.8.20
5.0
Feb 11 2017
5.0
Version: 2.8.20
Fantastic free image editor. Difficult to learn though.
Tommy-Gun
Tommy-Gun
Nov 6 2016
2.8.16
5.0
Nov 6 2016
5.0
Version: 2.8.16
Steep learning curve but very powerful image editor. I wish the GUI gets some huge overhaul soon. That would render many similar apps useless. Free it is and great it is. Very highly recommended.
samuelzooh
samuelzooh
Jan 9 2016
2.8.16
5.0
Jan 9 2016
5.0
Version: 2.8.16
Free great app!
Mcr
Mcr
Dec 16 2015
2.8.14p2
5.0
Dec 16 2015
5.0
Version: 2.8.14p2
Note there are actually two different builds available for Mac. This page points to the build by Simone Karin Lehmann at http://gimp.lisanet.de/ which hosts only Mac builds. There is another Mac build at the main gimp.org site by Sven Claussner. Gimp.org is the primary site for the project and hosts Mac, Windows and Unix builds. The gimp.org build according to description is basic build straight from core code with no add ons. The lisanet.de build includes some add ons and some "changes' which I have searched high and low on both sites and yet to find a definitive explanation what those changes are. I started to do a menu by menu comparison between the two but it was too much work. My experience is that the stock build on gimp.org (the one that is NOT pointed to on this page) is more stable but YMMV. The stock build runs unchanged on Snow Leopard and higher including El Cap. The lisanet.de build (the one this page) comes in various builds that support different OS X from Tiger on up. I'm not sure what to read into the fact that the same stock build can run on Snow leopard and higher, whereas the lisanet.de builds with the "changes" has to have custom builds for each version of OS X, and if that explains in any way why the stock build is more stable (for me). By stable versus unstable, I mean this. The build at gimp.org rarely crashes (running on Yosemite and El Cap). The build at lisanet.de (the one on this page) will almost always crash after a certain amount of time of use, sometimes as short as 10 minutes, sometimes maybe an hour, but almost every time. Again, YMMV. I'm just reporting my experience. Obviously if you use the add ons, lisanet.de is the only choice. I suspect the basic build at gimp.org is 32-bit only, it is nearly 90 MB smaller than the lisanet.de build. On the same machine, the gimp.org build also feels to run a bit faster and more responsive on the menu and toolbars. Last, as of this date, both Mac builds are on 2.8.14. On the Windows side, earlier this week, 2.8.16 was released with a lot of bug fixes. Hopefully we will see 2.8.16 ported to Mac soon. To be perfectly honest, neither Mac build runs as fast or stable as the Windows build running in a virtual machine on the same machine. Many times, if I know I'm going to be using it for a long stretch, I find I'm more productive firing up the Windows version of GIMP virtualized using Fusion or Parallels.
scoutpaget
scoutpaget
Nov 15 2015
2.8.14p2
4.0
Nov 15 2015
4.0
Version: 2.8.14p2
GIMP is great. It took me a bit more time to figure out than most apps do, but the more I learn the more impressed I've become. GIMP has a lot of features that you would find on the incredibly expensive Photoshop. My only problem is that I've not figured out how to, or if I can, add plug-ins, brushes, and textures to GIMP. So far though, as an imaging editor you can't find any better freeware than this. As noted by shakeyusa, there are three very useful tutorials available in PDF format for those who might need some pointers: http://www.gimp2tutorials.info/downloads.htm
xmw93692
xmw93692
Aug 27 2015
2.8.14p1
4.0
Aug 27 2015
4.0
Version: 2.8.14p1
Good image editor. Resembles Photoshop but it is too complicated for average user.
fridafroh
fridafroh
Jun 26 2015
2.8.14p1
4.0
Jun 26 2015
4.0
Version: 2.8.14p1
The GUI doesn't integrate well with OS X, but once you get used to it, it's a great image editor.
Geekkkker
Geekkkker
Apr 7 2015
2.8.14p1
5.0
Apr 7 2015
5.0
Version: 2.8.14p1
Very good photo editor
Shallowp
Shallowp
Dec 26 2014
2.8.14p1
3.5
Dec 26 2014
3.5
Version: 2.8.14p1
Awful GUI but fully loaded with tons of features similar as PhotoShop. Workflow is comparable with PhotoShop too which is a great thing if you ever want to step up to Adobes expensive image tool. For free nothing beats this.
shakeyusa
shakeyusa
Oct 27 2014
2.8.14p1
4.5
Oct 27 2014
4.5
Version: 2.8.14p1
GIMP is an outstanding program. The latest version 2.8 does not crash. If GIMP appears to be overwhelming maybe you need quick and easy tutorials in Pdf format. These tuts enable you to master GIMP 2.8 in a very short period of time. Download how to master: the Toolbox; Make your Photos Pop; and all about Layers. Three separate Pdf books all free plus photos to work on if needed. Get them here: http://www.gimp2tutorials.info/downloads.htm
Foulger
Foulger
Sep 17 2014
2.8.14
0.0
Sep 17 2014
0.0
Version: 2.8.14
With appearance being such a seller these days, I believe that a carefully thought out icon for Gimp would raise its profile. Its a serious application with a price thats hard to beat but it does have an icon thats attractive to a 7 year old.
RosaStollings
RosaStollings
Sep 16 2014
2.8.14
3.5
Sep 16 2014
3.5
Version: 2.8.14
Overall its very good for those who need a quick fix or have no experience of photoshop. The problem is once I try to export into png it complains that it cannot save the file.
David-Evian
David-Evian
Sep 15 2014
2.8.14
0.0
Sep 15 2014
0.0
Version: 2.8.14
Some fellow said if people donated 10 dollars to Gimp it would be a game changer. I think that's a nice idea but I'm not sure I agree. If you look at the history of FOSS, it's all damn ugly crud that's been developed with ancient clunky GUI libraries for winux users. LIke all FOSS, there's no innovation in GIMP, it's just reproducing what commercial software does to 'prove a point'. And that goal is never going to produce anything that's enjoyable, or even particularly productive to use. That said, I disliked Adobe's move to a subscription format, so if someone comes along with a meaningful competitor that's good. But the app Pixelmator (sp?) is looking a lot stronger than GIMP ever will.
ianrid
ianrid
Sep 14 2014
2.8.14
0.0
Sep 14 2014
0.0
Version: 2.8.14
Had to Force Quit. Have now Trashed it.
applehelpwriter
applehelpwriter
Sep 14 2014
2.8.14
5.0
Sep 14 2014
5.0
Version: 2.8.14
Always had a soft spot for this software, and even now I still find somethings easier and more intuitive than the same operations in Photoshop. This release runs very fast and smooth on the latest release of Yosemite. Love the way they've updated it to run natively on the mac and yet not lost that distinctive Gimp thought. Without the X windows environment slowing it down, it seems much faster. Kudos to all those involved in producing this great bit of software. If you've never used it before, google Gimp tutorials and you'll come across a whole community of generous folks out there with fantastic tutorials ("tuts") all offered up for free, just like the programme itself. You couldn't really ask for more.
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
May 5 2014
2.8.10p2
0.0
May 5 2014
0.0
Version: 2.8.10p2
For larger files, terribly slow screen refresh excludes this program from its professional applications. That's what worked graphic programs 10 years ago, when there was no support for GPU.
StevensPeter
StevensPeter
Apr 30 2014
2.8.10
4.0
Apr 30 2014
4.0
Version: 2.8.10
I a big fan of Pixelmator and still like it very much. But the latest versions of GIMP are pretty good. The GUI is much improved and blends more into OSX. Though the learning curve is a bit steep compared to Pixelmator it is incredible powerful and has much more to offer. Very powerful free image editing app for sure.
Cgc
Cgc
Feb 2 2014
2.8.10
1.0
Feb 2 2014
1.0
Version: 2.8.10
WTF? OSX 10.9 or higher?
Thombar
Thombar
Dec 15 2013
2.8.10
5.0
Dec 15 2013
5.0
Version: 2.8.10
How can you complain about a free program that actually works and competes with the big boy, "Photoshop". Would recommend this to any body taking pictures that wants to do "darkroom" work on them. It does have a learning curve but there are some great (free) instructions as well as a couple of paid ones. I'm using a paid one now that I really am learning how to work the software.
Apeman
Apeman
Dec 2 2013
2.8.10
5.0
Dec 2 2013
5.0
Version: 2.8.10
I've been using GIMP since 1.2 and it is now my go to editor. It is rock solid, it doesn't eat up resources, and teamed up with the various free plugins, it is a powerful tool for photo editing. Like any other photo editor there is a learning curve. Stick with it and you will be glad you did.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Dec 1 2013
2.8.10
5.0
Dec 1 2013
5.0
Version: 2.8.10
I reiterate the greatness of this app just like OSX-FTW said it is a great app.
OSX-FTW!
OSX-FTW!
Nov 22 2013
2.8.8
5.0
Nov 22 2013
5.0
Version: 2.8.8
I've said it before, and I'll say it again... If just half of the people who give Adobe all of their money and know have to pay monthly to upgrade would just donate $10 to the development of The Gimp it could really be a game changer. I love the Gimp and have for a long time. Now, native on OS X and maturing nicely. This is such a great gift to the Mac community. Thank you, so much!
umaromc
umaromc
Jun 1 2013
2.8.4
0.0
Jun 1 2013
0.0
Version: 2.8.4
the lisanet (read; BETTER, NATIVE) build has been updated, 05/15/2013! Follow link under MU-provided "Related Links" http://gimp.lisanet.de/Website/Download.html
Stef-Vandenabele
Stef-Vandenabele
May 9 2013
2.8.4
4.0
May 9 2013
4.0
Version: 2.8.4
This is by far the best free image editor you can get your hands on. I still prefer Pixelmator for the nicer GUI but in general both are very good. For me simple: If you have some cash, buy Pixelmator. Else use this.
Steepleton
Steepleton
May 9 2013
2.8.4
0.0
May 9 2013
0.0
Version: 2.8.4
this an extremely powerful photoshop alternative that has never gotten the respect it was due. with photoshop moving to a rental only model, perhaps it's time has arrived
Stephen-Fry
Stephen-Fry
Mar 31 2013
2.8.4
4.0
Mar 31 2013
4.0
Version: 2.8.4
I like GIMP. Its the poor mans Photoshop. Incredible powerful and has a similar workflow compared to PS. But still, I kinda hate the GUI. Maybe because it is a crossplatform application this is inevitable but for me it isn't working nice. Also, on my iMac and MBP, it crashes sometimes when using layers/filters. Seems to be random and hard to see why it is happening. Anyhow, Pixelmator has less features but just works nicer and has a real OS X look. Its not free but cheap enough to try out imo. I recommend trying out both and see what works for you.