Back to GIMP page
GIMP free download for Mac

GIMP Reviews

2.10.12
18 June 2019

Powerful, free image editing application; now a native Mac app.

OSX-FTW!
22 November 2013

Most helpful

I've said it before, and I'll say it again... If just half of the people who give Adobe all of their money and know have to pay monthly to upgrade would just donate $10 to the development of The Gimp it could really be a game changer. I love the Gimp and have for a long time. Now, native on OS X and maturing nicely. This is such a great gift to the Mac community. Thank you, so much!
Like (21)
Version 2.8.8

Read 200 GIMP User Reviews

Rate this app:

jlee5201
19 July 2019
My image editor of choice for over five years. It doesn't get much better for free.
Like
Version 2.10.12
Mcr
25 June 2019
Found this great site with excellent tutorials and tips on using GIMP and Photoshop. https://howtogimp.com/ I like GIMP, but I wouldn't call it 'intuitive', especially for newcomers. This site helped me a lot. I use GraphicConverter 90% of the time, GIMP when I have to, like when sharing with other GIMP for Windows users, or need to load Photoshop files.
Like
Version 2.10.12
Mcr
25 June 2019
MACUPDATE: The link to the developer on this page is mislabeled, it reads 'GIMP On OS X'. The link is correct. The label should read 'GIMP.ORG'. "GIMP On OS X' was a separate project of GIMP, headed by an independent developer with the avatar 'Lisanet', who created custom builds of GIMP from the official gimp.org release. These custom GIMP On OS X builds had additional features and some mods in the menu structure to make easier for users who used Photoshop. The GIMP On OS X project is deprecated, and hasn't been updated since Jan 2017. This label is left over from the time when Macupdate actually had two landing pages for GIMP, one for the GIMP.org build and one for the builds by 'lisanet' for the GIMP On OS X project. Here's the link to the deprecated project to validate what I'm saying: https://sourceforge.net/projects/gimponosx/ it even says on there 'Superseded by the official Gimp release: http://www.gimp.org'
Like
Version 2.10.12
Dorkypants
19 June 2019
2.10.12 on Mojave quits upon launch (without even a startup banner window). I tried both the torrent download and the direct download with the same results. My copy of 2.10.10 still works fine
Like
Version 2.10.12
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
25 June 2019
I had no problems running 2.10.12 on Mojave 10.14.5 on multiple Macs, as well as in a virtual machine.
Like
Slurp
17 June 2019
Might the System Requirements be wrong? Shouldn't they be from OS X 10 . 10 and higher?. Because OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) doesn't accept this one.
Like
Version 2.10.12
4 answer(s)
brandon_1
brandon_1
17 June 2019
Thank you for letting us know about this issue.
Requirements have been changed according to this page:
https://www.gimp.org/downloads/
Like
Slurp
Slurp
17 June 2019
Brandon, thank you for your reaction. I'm still uncertain if this version is ment for OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) and above, or OS X 10.10 and above. Because via your link the version is still ment for Mavericks and above.It is not a disaster: version 2.10.10 still works fine on my Mavericks!
Like (1)
brandon_1
brandon_1
17 June 2019
Please accept my apologies for the confusion!
We post information only from official sources.
In this case we just announced the System Requirements from developer's web-site (OS X 10.9 or later).
Like
Mcr
Mcr
25 June 2019
@Slurp, I have no problem running GIMP 2.10.12 on Mavericks 10.9.5. If you previously had, or still have an older version of GIMP still installed on the Mac you are trying to run 2.10.12 on, you may want remove it, and remove the preferences files.
Like
richlun25
10 April 2019
uninstalled german version
Like
Version 2.10.10
1 answer(s)
WetNet
WetNet
17 June 2019
because? . . .
Like (1)
anthonyjones7513
27 November 2018
Completely love the app, I just updated
Like
Version 2.10.8
Mcr
12 November 2018
Initial release of GIMP 2.10.8 on Nov 9 crashed on earlier versions of macOS (10.9, 10.10, 10.11) at startup. THIS HAS BEEN FIXED as of Nov 11. A new build is available named 'gimp-2.10.8-x86_64-1.dmg' (153,989,156 bytes).

The original build that crashed is named 'gimp-2.10.8-x86_64.dmg' without the '-1' suffix. Not sure when or if MacUpdate will recognize or pull the newer build, as both are still 2.10.8. Also, note that 'About GIMP' from menu will report same 2.10.8 version number for either build, so don't go by that. If you don't or can't get the newer build with the '-1' suffix from MacUpdate, go direct here and download:
https://www.gimp.org/downloads/

PS, 5-stars for the excellent work by developers once this was reported, to fix the problem in a little over 24 hours. Problem was due to Apple making it more difficult with each release of macOS to maintain compatibility with older versions of OSX/macOS when using newer xcode and other developer tools. Developer had to revert to older Xcode to make it work, plus some fancy reconfigurations, and he posted an article with technical details that might help other developers running into same issues maintaining compatibility with older macOSes. The article is here:
https://smallhacks.wordpress.com/2018/11/11/how-to-support-old-osx-version-with-a-recent-xcode/
Like (1)
Version 2.10.8
2 answer(s)
iurii
iurii
12 November 2018
Hi, thank you very much for pointed out to us on this. Already changed
Like
Mcr
Mcr
17 November 2018
MU editors
another bug fix build has been released 'gimp-2.10.8-x86_64-2.dmg'
it has '-2' , 'dash two' in the file name.
Like
Mcr
09 November 2018
2.10.8 crashes on startup on El Capitan. already reported by others on Github. Follow the bug report for updates here: https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/issues/2466
Like (1)
Version 2.10.8
2 answer(s)
Demolition
Demolition
09 November 2018
Initial start of 2.10..8 on Yosemite (10.10.5) crashes with the same error. Subsequent starts hang on the "Initialization" splash page.

Unfortunately, trying to revert back to 2.10.6 also results in a hang on the "Initialization" splash page. Removal of two items (~/Library/Application Support/ GIMP and ~/Library/Saved Application State/org.gimp.gimp-2.10 .savedState) was required before 2.10.6 would run again. (Note: Some of my presets were lost.)
Like (1)
Mcr
Mcr
10 November 2018
I updated the bug report to note that it also crashes on Yosemite and attached the full bug report generated by macOS. Launches okay on Sierra and High Sierra. I know in latest xcode there are some deprecated functions that only work now in Sierra or higher, suspect the gimp developers were not aware and compiled using one of these new calls that dont exist in pre Sierra macOS.
Like (1)
forkskane
23 June 2018
For reasons best known to GIMP - jpg became an unknown file type:- "Opening '/Volumes/ALICE/DCIM/717_2306/IMG_1189'failed: Unknown file type" Unfortunately the message seems copy paste proof. I MAY change my mind IF a reinstall works.
Like
Version 2.8.22
Pete B.
07 August 2017
Wonderful!
Like
Version 2.8.22
Ali-Egypt
18 May 2017
GIMP is a very good free image editor. it lacks a good GUI though. But seeing the trend of hackers compromising popular open source apps (see the latest Handbrake and Transmission hacks - https://objective-see.com/blog/blog_0x1D.html) this is also a huge target.
Like
Version 2.8.22
WisdomL0RD
26 March 2017
Very good free image editor. But the dreadful/awful GUI is making it hard to use imo. It is very powerful though. But if you want my 2cnt, you absolutely need to take a look at Affinity Photo ! Not free but very cheap and imo a must have buy if you are serious about photo/image editing.
Like
Version 2.8.20
1 answer(s)
evilinstone
evilinstone
13 May 2017
Agree. Affinity Photo hundred times better
Like
jan_de_smet
11 February 2017
Fantastic free image editor. Difficult to learn though.
Like
Version 2.8.20
Tommy-Gun
06 November 2016
Steep learning curve but very powerful image editor. I wish the GUI gets some huge overhaul soon. That would render many similar apps useless. Free it is and great it is. Very highly recommended.
Like
Version 2.8.16
samuelzooh
09 January 2016
Free great app!
Like
Version 2.8.16
Mcr
16 December 2015
Note there are actually two different builds available for Mac. This page points to the build by Simone Karin Lehmann at http://gimp.lisanet.de/ which hosts only Mac builds. There is another Mac build at the main gimp.org site by Sven Claussner. Gimp.org is the primary site for the project and hosts Mac, Windows and Unix builds. The gimp.org build according to description is basic build straight from core code with no add ons. The lisanet.de build includes some add ons and some "changes' which I have searched high and low on both sites and yet to find a definitive explanation what those changes are. I started to do a menu by menu comparison between the two but it was too much work. My experience is that the stock build on gimp.org (the one that is NOT pointed to on this page) is more stable but YMMV. The stock build runs unchanged on Snow Leopard and higher including El Cap. The lisanet.de build (the one this page) comes in various builds that support different OS X from Tiger on up. I'm not sure what to read into the fact that the same stock build can run on Snow leopard and higher, whereas the lisanet.de builds with the "changes" has to have custom builds for each version of OS X, and if that explains in any way why the stock build is more stable (for me). By stable versus unstable, I mean this. The build at gimp.org rarely crashes (running on Yosemite and El Cap). The build at lisanet.de (the one on this page) will almost always crash after a certain amount of time of use, sometimes as short as 10 minutes, sometimes maybe an hour, but almost every time. Again, YMMV. I'm just reporting my experience. Obviously if you use the add ons, lisanet.de is the only choice. I suspect the basic build at gimp.org is 32-bit only, it is nearly 90 MB smaller than the lisanet.de build. On the same machine, the gimp.org build also feels to run a bit faster and more responsive on the menu and toolbars. Last, as of this date, both Mac builds are on 2.8.14. On the Windows side, earlier this week, 2.8.16 was released with a lot of bug fixes. Hopefully we will see 2.8.16 ported to Mac soon. To be perfectly honest, neither Mac build runs as fast or stable as the Windows build running in a virtual machine on the same machine. Many times, if I know I'm going to be using it for a long stretch, I find I'm more productive firing up the Windows version of GIMP virtualized using Fusion or Parallels.
Like (5)
Version 2.8.14p2
2 answer(s)
wamccorm777
wamccorm777
15 February 2016
I'm not as informed in all this as most of you are. What I need to know is step by step how to download a safe version of Gimp. I don't need the latest or greatest version or add ons etc, just a solid photo editor. On a previous computer (windows) I downloaded GIMP and was just getting a little familiarity with it when it crashed. How can I download a safe version that will not get corrupted later with any wrappers or such?

Thanks
WA
Like
Mcr
Mcr
15 February 2016
@wamccorm777
go to
http://gimp.lisanet.de/Website/Download.html
Select the appropriate build for your version of OS X, in other words, there is a build for Mavericks, Yosemite and El Capitan. Another build for Lion and Mountain Lion, and so on.

or go to https://www.gimp.org/downloads/
the mac download there runs on any version of OS X from 10.6 (Snow Leopard) and higher.

BOTH of these two sites are legit and safe.
Like
scoutpaget
15 November 2015
GIMP is great. It took me a bit more time to figure out than most apps do, but the more I learn the more impressed I've become. GIMP has a lot of features that you would find on the incredibly expensive Photoshop. My only problem is that I've not figured out how to, or if I can, add plug-ins, brushes, and textures to GIMP. So far though, as an imaging editor you can't find any better freeware than this. As noted by shakeyusa, there are three very useful tutorials available in PDF format for those who might need some pointers: http://www.gimp2tutorials.info/downloads.htm
Like (1)
Version 2.8.14p2
xmw93692
27 August 2015
Good image editor. Resembles Photoshop but it is too complicated for average user.
Like (4)
Version 2.8.14p1
fridafroh
26 June 2015
The GUI doesn't integrate well with OS X, but once you get used to it, it's a great image editor.
Like (4)
Version 2.8.14p1
Geekkkker
07 April 2015
Very good photo editor
Like (5)
Version 2.8.14p1
Shallowp
26 December 2014
Awful GUI but fully loaded with tons of features similar as PhotoShop. Workflow is comparable with PhotoShop too which is a great thing if you ever want to step up to Adobes expensive image tool. For free nothing beats this.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.14p1
shakeyusa
27 October 2014
GIMP is an outstanding program. The latest version 2.8 does not crash. If GIMP appears to be overwhelming maybe you need quick and easy tutorials in Pdf format. These tuts enable you to master GIMP 2.8 in a very short period of time. Download how to master: the Toolbox; Make your Photos Pop; and all about Layers. Three separate Pdf books all free plus photos to work on if needed. Get them here: http://www.gimp2tutorials.info/downloads.htm
Like (6)
Version 2.8.14p1
2 answer(s)
superdave-is-awesome
superdave-is-awesome
16 January 2015
Thank you for the tutorial link. Very much appreciated.
I've been using Gimp for a while now, but only for basic stuff because I didn't know how to do use the more intricate features.
I'm sure this will help.
Thank you once again.
Like (1)
Johny2016
Johny2016
22 May 2015
Thank you. I didn't know that site. Very useful!
Like
Foulger
17 September 2014
With appearance being such a seller these days, I believe that a carefully thought out icon for Gimp would raise its profile. Its a serious application with a price thats hard to beat but it does have an icon thats attractive to a 7 year old.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.14
1 answer(s)
Strider72
Strider72
12 September 2015
It's not the icon. It's the Interface.
Like
RosaStollings
16 September 2014
Overall its very good for those who need a quick fix or have no experience of photoshop. The problem is once I try to export into png it complains that it cannot save the file.
Like
Version 2.8.14
David-Evian
15 September 2014
Some fellow said if people donated 10 dollars to Gimp it would be a game changer. I think that's a nice idea but I'm not sure I agree. If you look at the history of FOSS, it's all damn ugly crud that's been developed with ancient clunky GUI libraries for winux users. LIke all FOSS, there's no innovation in GIMP, it's just reproducing what commercial software does to 'prove a point'. And that goal is never going to produce anything that's enjoyable, or even particularly productive to use. That said, I disliked Adobe's move to a subscription format, so if someone comes along with a meaningful competitor that's good. But the app Pixelmator (sp?) is looking a lot stronger than GIMP ever will.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.14
1 answer(s)
Strider72
Strider72
12 September 2015
Often, but not always. Firefox revolutionized web browsers and forced Microsoft to up its game.
Like
ianrid
14 September 2014
Had to Force Quit. Have now Trashed it.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.14
1 answer(s)
darkwing52
darkwing52
15 September 2014
If I trashed every program I had to force quit, I wouldn't have any programs, or operating systems.
Like (2)
applehelpwriter
14 September 2014
Always had a soft spot for this software, and even now I still find somethings easier and more intuitive than the same operations in Photoshop. This release runs very fast and smooth on the latest release of Yosemite. Love the way they've updated it to run natively on the mac and yet not lost that distinctive Gimp thought. Without the X windows environment slowing it down, it seems much faster. Kudos to all those involved in producing this great bit of software. If you've never used it before, google Gimp tutorials and you'll come across a whole community of generous folks out there with fantastic tutorials ("tuts") all offered up for free, just like the programme itself. You couldn't really ask for more.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.14
badbadger
05 May 2014
For larger files, terribly slow screen refresh excludes this program from its professional applications. That's what worked graphic programs 10 years ago, when there was no support for GPU.
Like (4)
Version 2.8.10p2
2 answer(s)
OSX-FTW!
OSX-FTW!
06 May 2014
Define "larger files" and what your hardware is.
Like
badbadger
badbadger
06 May 2014
Just compare the speed of any moving object on the layer. Between Gimp and such Pixelmator (or Photoshop). The difference is visible right away, because those programs use graphics card support. (in my case ATI Radeon HD). Large file: eg 2500x3500 pix (ie A4 at 300 dpi)
Like (2)
StevensPeter
30 April 2014
I a big fan of Pixelmator and still like it very much. But the latest versions of GIMP are pretty good. The GUI is much improved and blends more into OSX. Though the learning curve is a bit steep compared to Pixelmator it is incredible powerful and has much more to offer. Very powerful free image editing app for sure.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.10
Cgc
02 February 2014
WTF? OSX 10.9 or higher?
Like (3)
Version 2.8.10
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
12 February 2014
Proceed to the following link to find a GIMP 2.8.10 build for OS X 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8. http://gimp.lisanet.de/Website/Download.html Disregard the 'Download Older Version' link on this MacUpdate Page as that points to GIMP 2.8.0 It should be noted that there are different compiled versions of GIMP available from different folks. This MacUpdate page points to the lisanet.de site. I prefer the ones at lisanet.de compiled by Simone Karin Lehmann, but there is also a DIFFERENT Mac build of GIMP 2.8.10 available at http://ftp.gimp.org/pub/gimp/v2.8/osx/gimp-2.8.10-dmg-1.dmg by Clayton Walker. If you want to ensure compatibility with pre-10.9, use the builds at lisanet.de. www.gimp.org has download links to both builders, as well as links for Windows and Unix builds. It can be confusing, all the different builds of GIMP, different versions of GIMP, for different versions of OS X. Stick to lisanet.de as it tends to have the latest version of GIMP, while still maintaining different builds for older versions of OS X.
Like (6)
Thombar
15 December 2013
How can you complain about a free program that actually works and competes with the big boy, "Photoshop". Would recommend this to any body taking pictures that wants to do "darkroom" work on them. It does have a learning curve but there are some great (free) instructions as well as a couple of paid ones. I'm using a paid one now that I really am learning how to work the software.
Like (3)
Version 2.8.10
Apeman
02 December 2013
I've been using GIMP since 1.2 and it is now my go to editor. It is rock solid, it doesn't eat up resources, and teamed up with the various free plugins, it is a powerful tool for photo editing. Like any other photo editor there is a learning curve. Stick with it and you will be glad you did.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.10
Jazzyguy
01 December 2013
I reiterate the greatness of this app just like OSX-FTW said it is a great app.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.10
OSX-FTW!
22 November 2013
I've said it before, and I'll say it again... If just half of the people who give Adobe all of their money and know have to pay monthly to upgrade would just donate $10 to the development of The Gimp it could really be a game changer. I love the Gimp and have for a long time. Now, native on OS X and maturing nicely. This is such a great gift to the Mac community. Thank you, so much!
Like (21)
Version 2.8.8
4 answer(s)
MuchMac
MuchMac
23 November 2013
Yes, a great gift to the Mac community (and others). Thank you developers!
Like (4)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
24 November 2013
If it did a fraction of what Photoshop does, than maybe. But it doesn't. But it's not bad either, and has come a long way. For many people it's all you need.
Like (5)
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
01 December 2013
Sorry, the only reason the GIMP gets the praise it does is people are desperate for an alternative. Whenever I use the GIMP, I'm simply appalled by how non-Mac-like, and in some cases Mac hostile, the user interface is. It's easy to call the Gimp "Mac-native and maturing" but also easy to find apps that are far better Mac citizens, like Pixelmator or Acorn. Those may not be free, but a small price is probably worth paying if you really want to encourage true Mac user interfaces.
Like (6)
Mcr
Mcr
12 February 2014
@Neutralzone The term 'Mac-native' I believe is being used to reflect the fact that older versions of GIMP were ported over and required X11 on the Mac; it isn't necessarily referring to the GUI. With GIMP 2.8.x, the Mac version is built using Cocoa and no longer requires X11. You are correct, the GUI isn't Mac like at all, but that isn't necessarily a detriment. It depends on your needs. If you work in a mixed environment (Windows, Unix, MAc), the fact that you have a very powerful program that you and your co-workers and clients can use on all platforms that uses the same interface and commands, and doesn't require retraining for each platform, is a HUGE advantage. I can move seamlessly from my Windows 8 PC to my Mac, to my Ubuntu virtual machine, and use GIMP virtually identically without a second thought as to how to use a feature or where it's located in the menu, and exchange files back and forth. Again, it's the same trade off and argument when using things like OpenOffice or Libre I also like Pixelmator, but it isn't available on Windows, and I can't support two graphics programs and with incompatible native file formats. I'm not an Adobe basher either; it fills a market niche, I don't have an issue with it, but I can't afford licenses for all the folks that need Photoshop, so those that really need it, have licenses, for the rest of us, or occassional use, GIMP works, and the FREE aspect is just gravy.
Like (2)
umaromc
01 June 2013
the lisanet (read; BETTER, NATIVE) build has been updated, 05/15/2013! Follow link under MU-provided "Related Links" http://gimp.lisanet.de/Website/Download.html
Like (2)
Version 2.8.4
Stef-Vandenabele
09 May 2013
This is by far the best free image editor you can get your hands on. I still prefer Pixelmator for the nicer GUI but in general both are very good. For me simple: If you have some cash, buy Pixelmator. Else use this.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.4
1 answer(s)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
01 December 2013
If you are using a Mac, then you have the cash. The GUI is all important in Mac software. A dog GUI makes an app frustrating like using Windows.
Like (1)
Steepleton
09 May 2013
this an extremely powerful photoshop alternative that has never gotten the respect it was due. with photoshop moving to a rental only model, perhaps it's time has arrived
Like (2)
Version 2.8.4
Stephen-Fry
31 March 2013
I like GIMP. Its the poor mans Photoshop. Incredible powerful and has a similar workflow compared to PS. But still, I kinda hate the GUI. Maybe because it is a crossplatform application this is inevitable but for me it isn't working nice. Also, on my iMac and MBP, it crashes sometimes when using layers/filters. Seems to be random and hard to see why it is happening. Anyhow, Pixelmator has less features but just works nicer and has a real OS X look. Its not free but cheap enough to try out imo. I recommend trying out both and see what works for you.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.4
Apeman
23 March 2013
This version brings G'MIC back, but seems to puke on iPhoto. If you want to use GIMP as the default editor, you have to remember to close GIMP first. It also resets the monitor. I'd wait for a bug fix before DL'ing. The app. I've contacted the developer about the issues, though I forgot to mention the resetting of the monitor. I've been using GiMP since 1.2, and except for a stint with PS7, GiMP has been my editor of choice.
Like
Version 2.8.4
2 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
17 May 2013
How about providing the version number that you're referring to, which has some bugs, in order to make your comment useful?
Like
Apeman
Apeman
27 June 2013
Oops Sorry. It was the first build of 2.8.4. The update to 2.8.4 p2 fixed the problems.
Like
IH8BNL8
27 February 2013
I believe GIMP is really powerful and performs with quality, but it just does not resonate with me. I remember using my Dad's Photoshop way before the Creative Suite and it was so intuitive. I was probably only fifteen years old or so, too. So, my rating for Ease of Use is a bit low, because Photoshop is definitely is a standard with which we can judge GIMP. After all, Photoshop is being taught in high school! Why doesn't the GIMP team just model the program's layout after the standard (more than just the filters menu)? As far as value and features, GIMP is the best free alternative to professional software. I would rather save my money for Photoshop and avoid the hassle of learning GIMP. Sometimes I just want a quick blank screen to paint on, and the "Paintbrush" app does fine. Does anyone know if and how you can easily create a marching ants border in GIMP? hehe, That would be awesome. I thought my friend used GIMP to do something like that ten years ago
Like (1)
Version 2.8.4
UnconventionalT
14 February 2013
Seems like some people are confused about what OSX versions these GIMP builds SPECIFICALLY function with. 10.6.8 and up, however the computer MUST be 64 bit.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.4
3 answer(s)
UnconventionalT
UnconventionalT
14 February 2013
Also, if you're having issues please please PLEASE file bug reports.
Like (2)
Bruceb7110
Bruceb7110
16 March 2013
Just installed the latest GIMP for OS X 10.6.8, 2.8.4-no-python, which is Mac OS X native, and added the terminal mv line suggested by the developers. It loads much faster, but I've lost my access to the help menu, including the online help menu (downloaded one doesn't install). The message reads, "Could not open 'http://docs.gimp.org/2.8/en/gimp-help.xml' for reading: Operation not supported "Perhaps you are missing GIO backends and need to install GVFS?" The only workaround I have found is to paste http://docs.gimp.org/2.8/en/, which brings up HTML files you must click through -- and this manifestation is the same as the context-sensitive help. Very tedious.
Like
Eridani
Eridani
05 April 2013
The 32 bit option is listed on developers site for 10.6.8
Like (1)
Djdawson
14 February 2013
I tried The GIMP a few years ago and thought it was OK, but just OK, so when I saw a new Mac-native version I figured it was time to try it again. I was prepared for the first launch to be a little slow, but I was not prepared for the entire user interface to be so sluggish that it's essentially unusable, even on small photos. I downloaded the previous version which uses XQuartz and it's night and day faster (and actually at least as nice an interface). I still prefer Photoshop for image editing, but for a cheap/free solution I'd stick to the previous version until the GIMP team figures out the Mac native interface a little better.
Like (3)
Version 2.8.4
1 answer(s)
Dualie
Dualie
22 February 2013
Wow I'm having a totally different experience. I find this new version amazing snappy and responsive on my iMac. I also tried the X-11 version years ago, and I must say I hated it, but I'm loving this. It's so responsive it may very well become my new image editor.
Like (3)
Cgc
14 February 2013
I Use GIMP in Linux but GIMP for OSX just sits on the Dock and bounces forever. Something's wrong...
Like
Version 2.8.4
2 answer(s)
BillHicks
BillHicks
14 February 2013
Here is what Gimp says to do: Please note that with this release, we have moved GIMP's per-user data from "~/Library" to "~/Library/Application Support". If you had installed GIMP 2.8.2 before, please open a terminal and enter the following command, so GIMP 2.8.4 will pick up your data from the right location: mv ~/Library/GIMP ~/Library/Application\ Support
Like
Cgc
Cgc
14 February 2013
I have never installed GIMP in OSX but since my initial problems I went to the GIMP site and downloaded version 2.8.2 and it works like a champ.
Like (3)
Dp-G4-450guy
14 February 2013
Well, you can get GIMP 2.8.2 for Snow Leopard at: http://gimp.lisanet.de/Website/Download.html It would be very very very helpful if a GIMP developer could simply supply the system requirements here so everyone would be sure and not waste time d/l and installing.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.4
umaromc
14 February 2013
Note on the "Core" change from their site: Please note that with this release, we have moved GIMP's per-user data from "~/Library" to "~/Library/Application Support". If you had installed GIMP 2.8.2 before, please open a terminal and enter the following command, so GIMP 2.8.4 will pick up your data from the right location: mv ~/Library/GIMP ~/Library/Application\ Support
Like
Version 2.8.4
3 answer(s)
Mr-Spock
Mr-Spock
14 February 2013
mv ~/Library/GIMP ~/Library/Application\ Support The Backslash is important
Like
Mr-Spock
Mr-Spock
14 February 2013
The comment doesn't show Backslash it seems. You have to insert it right before the Space preceding the word "Support"
Like
UnconventionalT
UnconventionalT
15 February 2013
Note that this really only applies to any brushes you might have stored there, and your default settings. If you don't copy them... well... they'll stay there forever and never be used. Also, GIMP will just create ~/Library/Application Support/GIMP if it doesn't exist in the first place.
Like
OSX-FTW!
14 February 2013
Really maturing quickly now! It just gets better and better. Pretty stoked, I am. Why anyone would pay for lesser software is beyond me. I do encourage people to donate to GImp development though. It's such a great resource.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.4
Sherlockbones
13 February 2013
Fails to launch, the eternal bouncing icon in the dock appears and force quit reveals that the application is not responding.. Free is nice, but working is better. Probably just some minor tweak needed. Running 10.6.8
Like
Version 2.8.4
5 answer(s)
anonymous-squirrel-4040
anonymous-squirrel-4040
13 February 2013
MacUpdate lists system requirement as 10.6.8 but developer's site says 10.8 is necessary for 2.8.4. Note the Download Older Version above includes 10.6.8 (it should have also included 10.7).
Like (1)
mag01
mag01
13 February 2013
Davidpabian: where have you got the 10.8 requirement from? I was the one proposing the 2.8.4 update and also updated the min. requirements to 10.6 and that was based on the requirements declared in the gimp 2.8.4 dmg as I couldn't find anything at gimp.org
Like (1)
anonymous-squirrel-4040
anonymous-squirrel-4040
13 February 2013
Sorry, my mistake - been on too many sites today. It wasn't the developer's site but at Softpedia - http://mac.softpedia.com/get/DTP-Prepress/Gimpapp.shtml where it states 10.8 or later.
Like
bbw7
bbw7
13 February 2013
Yes, @Davidpabian, where did you find mention of the 10.8 requirement? I looked for it on the dev's site to no avail. No system requirements provided. This is my biggest gripe with developers these days; they can't be bothered to put in a three word statement regarding system requirements, i.e.: "OS 10.x required". To Gimp's developers'/community's credit, they do provide a user's manual -- in variety of languages -- online.
Like
OSX-FTW!
OSX-FTW!
14 February 2013
First launch is slow with a lot of icon bouncing. However, subsequent launches are normal and even faster than before. You just gave up to easily! ;-) Mac OS 10.6.8
Like (1)
Masterminter
13 February 2013
A very powerful image editor but I just do not like the work flow. Its just too complex sometimes. I still prefer Pixelmator.
Like
Version 2.8.4
UnconventionalT
26 January 2013
Hey all. Just a quick status update, quite a few things have been fixed in GIMP and gtk regarding osx support. In no particular order: Tablet pressure support is now officially included in gtk for osx, so I don't have to ship builds with patches anymore. Plugin windows (and other non-GIMP windows) no longer open behind the main GIMP window. You can now change the language inside of GIMPs preferences. GIMP now uses osx's built-in screenshot functions. (Patch from Simone Karin Lehmann) We've moved GIMPs directory to "~/Library/Application Support" as opposed to "~/.gimp-2.8/"
Like (2)
Version 2.8.2p4
1 answer(s)
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
14 February 2013
please provide the system requirements on GIMP's site and here for v2.8.4 - very frustrating
Like