Back to MTR page
MTR free download for Mac

MTR Reviews

5.2.0.0
15 December 2018

The Mac's oldest and smartest DVD-backup app (was MacTheRipper).

Thecause
30 August 2008

Most helpful

MacTheRipper claims to be 'free' but to get the full and best mactheripper 3.0 you need to donate. So shouldn't 2.6.6 be called a demo? Additionally, the latest donationware version on the 3.0 version 'phones home' every time you use it. So it is very possible that personal information of yours *may* be broadcast across the internet, which could also identify you as an MacTheRipper user. Doesn't it seem ironic that the developer of an app used to help circumvent movie protections is implementing an anti-piracy scheme for his own-software? Where did this project go wrong? What ever happened to open source being open source? (MTR is dependent upon the open-sourced GPL libdvdread and libdvdcss libraries.) Great software core, terrible chains tied to it and bad exploitation of open source resources.
Like (16)
Version 2.6.6

Read 447 MTR User Reviews

Rate this app:

graemeatkinson1973
13 March 2019
How exactly do I buy MTR 5. There are instructions for purchasing and the trial downloads won't open.
Like
Version 5.2.0.0
paulsrandall
28 December 2018
Had this for years. Simply the best in this type of application.
Like
Version 5.2.0.0
Macrob
18 December 2018
Love this one. Been using it for years now, and have had 100% success, even with the tricky ones.
Like
Version 5.2.0.0
tmc-llc
16 December 2018
Outstanding all along, now 5.2.0.0 work silky smooth.
Like
Version 5.2.0.0
JamesHarrisPhoto
14 December 2018
So many 5-star reviews where THIS app is the only software they've ever reviewed...
Like (3)
Version 5.2.0.0
3 answer(s)
tmo1138
tmo1138
16 December 2018
Because most of the time it's not worth the effort to write a review for MacUpdate..

However for MTR.. it's totally with it.

MTR is top-notch written by one of the last independent DVD backup software writing devs on the planet.
Like
qb
qb
16 December 2018
I fully agree with tmo1138. I don't write many reviews (more than one) but MTR and its development / testing group are great.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
16 December 2018
I tried MTR years ago when it was free, and it was a nice app. I have MacDVD Ripper now, but because of my usage and needs have changed , I primarily use MakeMKV now. Mainly because I don't really back up movies like people would use MTR for. I usually just rip the movie for streaming. Plus I've moved to blu-ray now, and MakeMKV is the best tool for that.
Like
hossenie
25 February 2018
Fantastic Piece Of Kit - Highly Recommended
Like (1)
Version 5.1.0.2
1 answer(s)
sebortola
sebortola
03 March 2018

Bonjour, ce loigiciel est-il encore aussi performant qu'avant ? Je m'en servais beaucoup auparavant mais, ayant changé de Mac, je dois à nouveau payer pour l'installer. Or, je constate que la communauté des utilisateurs est bien moins active qu'auparavant. Est-ce par désintérêt pour ce logiciel ? Peut-être trouve-t-on aujourd'hui un meilleur logiciel et gratuit ? Merci de votre attention, Sébastien

401/5000
Hi, is this software still as good as before? I used a lot before but having changed Mac, I have to pay to install it again. However, I see that the user community is much less active than before. Is it by disinterest for this software? Maybe we find today a better and free software? Thank you for your attention, Sébastien
Like
burkef
13 January 2017
I always get it to work. Have been using MTR for as long as I can remember.
Like
Version 5.1.0.2
sebortola
07 January 2017
Very good app allowing me to rip ALL my dvds for personnal home server watching...
Like
Version 5.1.0.2
1 answer(s)
sebortola
sebortola
03 March 2018
Hi, is this software still as good as before? I used a lot before but having changed Mac, I have to pay to install it again. However, I see that the user community is much less active than before. Is it by disinterest for this software? Maybe we find today a better and free software? Thank you for your attention, Sébastien
Like
jcapfer
08 November 2016
Mac The Ripper is a great application and is constantly supported by it's creators and support team. Any question, no matter how inane, is responded to in an informative and, sometimes, very amusing way. I highly recommend this for the tech savvy and, like me, the tech neophytes. The best bar none.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.0.1
Ygor
05 November 2016
One of the best software packages I have worked with. Same for the developer/support folks. The best.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.0.1
Gregm
03 November 2016
MTR has evolved from Mac-like simple to geeky complex (as has the OS). One hekuva powerhouse that can do it all --- once you figure out.

The major problem with the program is the developers paranoid support (?) style demonstrated by "Do not use this download to update your licensed app. Update via the Application Update menu in the app only!"

You can't do that, if you already updated to Sierra--- which is what this update is for (failure to launch/crashing in Sierra). I found the semi-hidden link for the authorized updating download in the authorized forums -- which you can get to once you jump through *the process* hoops of registering.

I am now stuck in a loop of install license - (do it)- continue --install license -(repeat)

I guess the next step will be manually requesting (yet again) a license by providing certifiable copies of previous "donations" and attaching my current license file to yet another different email address and waiting for a response.

I will use my Plan B software meanwhile. Frankly, if I had not already "donated", I would not bother trying to deal with this crazy process.

My 3-star rating is a balance between doing the job (5 star when successfully installed/blessed) and the doing business with the developer process (1 star).
Like (4)
Version 5.1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Cortig
Cortig
14 December 2018
I eventually reached the same conclusion. The software works great (though the UI is a bit complicated), but the licensing scheme is a nightmare to deal with. The forums were also… a too bit aggressive for my taste. MDRP can do the same thing without all the hassle so I switched.
Like (2)
M85
26 October 2016
Seems broken with Sierra
Like (3)
Version 5.0.0.7
jimfortney
02 June 2016
I love this App
Like
Version 5.0.0.7
Steve-Middleton
13 May 2016
this is the best software I ever used for backing up my DVD collection and it is extensive. Simple to use, works fast and provides just about any advance feature you may need for your use case.
Like
Version 5.0.0.7
jmusich-1
10 January 2016
I think I am going to like it. I just upgraded from 4.2.7 so the security hoops to jump through are still not completed. 5 is running and ripping. I need help adjusting to the different iinterface. I m hoping to get my comparative questions answered soon.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0.7
Ygor
01 January 2016
No better application available anywhere. Loyal user for over 5 years. 'Nuff said.
Like
Version 5.0.0.7
anonymous-squirrel-4040
17 December 2015
This is the one. Period. Some find, and in a few cases seem highly offended personally, that the initial setup is overly complicated. It isn't. Pay attention and stick with it. There are obvious reasons for the way this incredible, highly stable software is coded and downloaded that ultimately makes for the strongest (know of no better non-tech term) application of its type. Once you've got it, updates are as simple as with any conventional software and released by the developer as soon as OS or other changes make them necessary. This review was prompted by a disk where DVD Player skipped over two "damaged" sections and two other rippers rejected as completely unreadable. MTR made a flawless copy.
Like
Version 5.0.0.7
Micho
17 December 2015
Works fine. Installation process is a little bit complicated but the developer always answered quickly.
Like
Version 5.0.0.7
deijlgs
16 December 2015
I've used MTR for many years now. Version 5 is unbelievable. It does it all and does it fast. Nothing else compares to it.
Like
Version 5.0.0.7
Dale-Bernelle
11 December 2015
I have used this utility for years and never been disappointed... Now MTR 5 tops them all. It is outstanding in every way. Most importantly, it works ALL THE TIME and with a minimum of intervention from the user (like start it and it finishes!). There are also quite a few forum users, ready to help and solve any challenges that do come up. If you want the number one ripping utility, then pass the others up and get the best, MTR 5!
Like
Version 5.0.0.6
Markoh
10 December 2015
I’ve been a paid lifetime MTR user for several years; I went lifetime in order to avoid the laborious registration hassle that goes with each paid upgrade. Did this save me from the hassle, upon upgrading? Ohhhh noooo, oh hell no. It sent me to registration hell instead. I keep detailed records of everything, so, I wanted to upgrade to MTR5 I have to log into the website to find out how to do it..... some of the steps, I have to send in an email request and receive instructions back, then I have to reply and attach the authorization file, Easy? cough, cough, I screwed it up and my screwup infuriated the webmasters and I damn near lost my lifetime license, I had to do major damage control to keep from losing my license (massive apologies and groveling). What I did wrong, is that I unzipped the lic file (thinking it would be convenient for them) and I sent it in using gmail instead of Apple Mail. All hell broke lose. 2 violations I was supposed to leave it zipped and do a reply to the email I got, and could only use Apple Mail (even though the reply goes to a gmail account). That's not all, I had to list all my previous PayPal transactions in the format provided with the exact spacing and no mistakes. If I omitted any of the prior PayPal transactions or made a formatting mistake, then I would get nothing back. I had previous upgrade PayPal transactions prior to going lifetime. I would assume that GB audits all that for accuracy before granting the upgrade file. Thats not all. I decided to upgrade to a new Mac. Bad, bad, bad. The license is pinned to the machine, not the user. I had to get permission to move MTR to my new Mac. Fortunately it worked, and, yes I did send in all my previous PayPal transactions in the proper format. Thats not all. I plan to upgrade from System Yosemite to System El Capitan via a clean install without using migration assistant. I'll probably have to get permission and go thru the goat-rope again. Recommendation: there needs to be a full credit computer science course on how to register MTR.
Like (4)
Version 5.0.0.6
1 answer(s)
emteaarr
emteaarr
16 December 2015
Interesting read. I have to say that I am not aware of any of this. The forum web masters handle most communication , I just issue the license once I get data that can be verified.

From what you have posted ( and yes I do know you as a user ) I can't see how sending from gmail and not apple mail would be any problem.

You can contact me directly from within the app to resolve this please , i need to make sure this does not happen again.
Like (2)
Macinman
25 November 2015
I too was surprised to see this App still active, The last time I used MTR was version 2.6 when i had a PPC and os x on intel could run PPC code. Since then I have switched to other tools such as MacDVDRipper Pro and MakeMKV as well as Handbrake and other tools.

Considering what this app does i Think it's a reasonable price especially if it's a single developer and this is his means of making a living. I paid $50 for MakeMKV because I have primarily switched to blu-ray for most of my content, or I have content in a streaming Service such as VUDU, or the like.

The Only reason I wouldn't Purchase MTR at this point is, all the tools that I have do what I need, and it's Mac only. Because the Media Server I have is linux based and I use both a Mac and Linux it would be nice to have tools that are cross platform. While I do have os x only apps the apps that are cross platform make it useful e.g. to rip a DVD directly on the linux server to save time transferring the file over the network.

While I haven't officially investigated to see if this already exists or not, The one thing I would buy MTR at this point is, if the developer added a tool to the toolbox to rip TV Shows get the information automatically from the net and configure the files ripped from disc to be in a format a Media solution such as Plex Media Server or Kodi would recognize and the shows would be imported and display correctly. That's my only dvd ripping gripe at this point TV shows are confusing at times to figure out. Some are recorded as 1 big long title, and others are individual titles. Sometimes, it's tough to know which is which.

Either way it's great to see this app alive and there for those who need it :)
Like
Version 5.0.0.4
3 answer(s)
emteaarr
emteaarr
26 November 2015
Thanks for the comments! Good to see some ideas being sent our way. Can you be a bit more specific in the format you need to TV shows etc?

Thanks!
Like
Macinman
Macinman
26 November 2015
Well, the format can differ between the solutions people use. A source for each would be to check out the media center pages and HowTos e.g. for Plex, Kodi, etc. For me personally, I use a few different formats depending on the source

Above I had mentioned that For all new content, I either buy blu-ray or, in a streaming service. For the discs, I typically run MakeMKV on either because it's the fastest way to get a full quality copy of the movie to put on the streaming server. (in my case Plex)

Typically a universally accepted format for TV shows is to have them in a folder with the name of the show then sub-folders with the season number e.g. season 1, season 2, etc. For file names I find a name like 01 episode name .MKV or .mp4 works For example I ripped Spider-Man the new animated Series a while back to put on the server and my layout is as follows:

Folder name: Spider-Man The New Animated Series
Subfolder name: Season 1
01 Episode1 name.mkv
02 Episode 2 name.mkv

Other people may choose another format I hope these examples give you a better idea. Also, It would be nice for a program such as MTR or any of the others to do both DVD and blu-ray in one. MakeMKV is good at this but it doesn't really have any editing options or it doesn't give an option to make a full disc image etc. So while all the programs are well done, there isn't one app that does everything in one.

For Making an iso image of a blu-ray I typically use Aurora Blu-ray copy.

The reason for this is some discs will not play nice with Make MKV and it fails due to either copy protection on the disc, or disc defects. Ripping to ISO then grabbing the content is a good and usually reliable work around for this.

Again, I hope this helps and will also in the future serve someone else who has similar needs and interests in managing their media collection :) Have a great day!
Like
emteaarr
emteaarr
27 November 2015
Thanks for the detailed reply. If I'm not mistaken I think we have some of that covered already.

The app features a "Batch Title Mode". This mode can read multiple disks if you have multiple drives , and allows you to add the titles you need for each disk , in order of playback ( ep1 ep 2 etc ) to a batch title window. Oce done , you can choose the output format ( mkv is supported ) audio and subtitle selection is supported , as well as requant if needed. Most important is the title series rename window , This allows you to set the series name , Series Index , and Series chapter. It works from the top down , so by selecting the first episode be it 1 , 2 or 10 etc , you can select the starting index and it will rename and number accordingly. When you extract your out put will be in the universal NAME-SXXEXX.xxx format. I have been using this on XBMC ( now KODI ) for quite a long time. The scrapers have no issues with it.

Hope this helps,
Like
eduardo-ma
02 October 2015
I use excellent program from version 3.x has saved many times original DVD movies which were in a sorry state, congratulate the developer to implement useful tools in later versions published, thank you very much
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0.4
Odysseus
20 September 2015
I’m confused. The developer apparently has declared "Also note that the "price" of $40 is a suggested amount, and is not strictly required," but on the web site to which he refers, one reads "If your Gift does not correspond to the upgrade table ( i.e you try to short the upgrade Gift ) you will NOT get updated to MTR5 until you correct the omission." So which is it? Or should 4.0 users simply choose the non-update version and then make a donation?
Like (2)
Version 5.0.0.4
3 answer(s)
emteaarr
emteaarr
20 September 2015
Hi , and thank you for your message.

In answer to your question.
The update table refers only to 4.2 and onwards, those update costs are fixed.
Every body else is treated as a new user .

Thanks.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
20 September 2015
So for new users, $40 is a suggested amount, and *any* donation above $x (what is X?) will be accepted?
Like (1)
emteaarr
emteaarr
20 September 2015
As there is a upgrade path , the minimum amount must be , logically, above the highest upgrade path…

Thanks.
Like (1)
Ibeme
05 August 2015
Many years ago I used MTR, but after a while it would only work on older DVDs and then only sporadically; in addition, the speed was so-so at best and the rip quality often mediocre. RipIt and MacDVDRipper consistently do a first rate job with anything that's thrown at them for a much lower price (and both are frequently available at big discounts on a regular basis). MakeMKV is hands down the best route to go for ripping a BluRay on a Mac and is free. If I need to exercise more control over a rip, Handbrake is another excellent, free tool.

At this point, give MTRs previous history of long delays between updates, as well as a several year interval as essentially abandonware, I would need a really compelling reason to make the switch back to MTR, especially with a $40 price tag. How us this price tag justified since there are multiple regularly updated. reliable, and considerably cheaper/free alternates that don't come saddled with ridiculous and complicated licensing issues?

In addition, the developer's website is essentially a portal to a forum rather than a dedicated website that clearly and directly explains what the software is, what it does, and the basics of how to use it. Personally, I might take a chance on this sort of set up if the software could be used on a trial basis or only cost a dollar or two.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.0.3
1 answer(s)
emteaarr
emteaarr
06 August 2015
thank you for your comments:

MTR was never abandon ware , as discussed by other users further down the page.

MTR is different to the other apps mentioned: It is not a one click ripper , but more of a tool chest , providing multiple tools to achieve the end result.
This does not tie you down to waiting for updates when the application fails , nor waiting for a custom 'rip recipe' to be made available on the internet.

The website is a forum , and always has been. It has a guest area that provides update notes , and app information for all casuals browsers.

Lastly , you clearly say "many years ago I used MTR'.
Thanks have changed a lot since then :)

Thank you.

Like (1)
walterlwagner
02 August 2015
I'm sure every complaint here about MTR 5's ridiculous licensing process represents many who have been too discouraged to write--or to buy it. UncleBob's cynical, combative answers to this issue are only defending an nonstandard, geeky, roadblock to using an otherwise good application. And note, with all the instructions and rules you have to read through to get the license and be able to use the Forum, it is EASY to miss that your copy will only work on the machine(s) you bought a license for. It's not your license as a user, it's your machine's license. So if you're like me, who uses a laptop alternatively (never at the same time) with a desktop, you have to buy two licenses. I have a lot of apps, none of which does the licensing that way.
Like (10)
Version 5.0.0.2
1 answer(s)
emteaarr
emteaarr
04 August 2015
Thank you for your constructive comments.
Whilst you may think that every complaint here only represents a small fraction of the users who complain about the licensing system used here , the opposite can also be said.

The positive comments received here only reflect a fraction of the overall picture.

It is very true that people are more likely to post only when they have a complaint, and not when they are satisfied. That is the nature of people.

I read with interest your comment above regarding the locked license system , and how it is easy to miss that information. To clarify , that information is clearly provided in the User Agreement that is sent BEFORE you decide to purchase.

Sure , that is not for everybody , but nor is this application with its levels of complexity. It is complex not because of design , but due to necessity.
Backing up your legally owned content is being made much harder now , and it is far better to provide a toolbox of routines to use , thus not limiting you down to one method.

As for not having any applications that license the product this way , I can assure you , This application is not the first , nor will it be the last.

Lastly , UncleBob. I am sorry , but I fail to see how this user can influence , distort or offend anybody in his replies. He has simply answered question posted by others , and when he can not , he attempts to redirect the poster to me.

It is all clear for people to read below.
Thanks again.
Like (1)
irgrip53
02 August 2015
This is the best most complete app for ripping and saving your valuable DVD's on the world market. Worth every thing it cost. You will get value for money and a great peace of mind.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0.2
4 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
20 September 2015
I donated quite a bit back before version 5 (even in Swiss Francs like they wanted), sent receipts, and never got a license. So that is you're opinion. "Worth everthing it cost me?" LOL! Hardly. It's not just the money, but all the time I wasted that I'll never get back.
Like (2)
emteaarr
emteaarr
27 September 2015
My records indicate that a license was sent to you. I will check with the Admin to see what is your status.

You can contact me directly via the application to chase this up.
I do note that I have not had any followup from you directly to me , or via the forum. I can not know if your mail did not arrive unless Im notified.
Like
emteaarr
emteaarr
29 September 2015
The admin have informed me that they find no record of you on the forum. Please contact me directly via the forum to get your upgrade to version 5.
Like
emteaarr
emteaarr
03 October 2015
As normal , a complaint , but when asked to follow up with me, silence is the only answer. Puts a whole doubt on the validity of the message in the first place.
Like
UncleBob1954
30 July 2015
Heads up guys, ran MTR this morning and it gave me a new update. Updated to 5.001 with bug fixes for newer disks , and a brand new version of DVDProbe! Dont forget to get the probe update via the app.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
Macrob
08 July 2015
Best Mac ripper ever, I've been using MTR since version 1.0.3 and each one has gotten better and better!
Like (2)
Version 5.0.0
LurkingWithPride
01 June 2015
MTR is "serious" software, with corresponding expectations of its users. Simply stated, it's not for people with limited computer skills—nor is it for people who don't want to watch training videos or follow written instructions. For those willing to take the time to learn HOW to use it, though it is a fabulous, powerful tool, with v5 offering the cleanest design it has ever had.
Like (4)
Version 5.0.0
1 answer(s)
Strider72
Strider72
09 July 2015
Thank you; this is a useful review. I'm techie enough that I no doubt *could* use this, but I don't really like complicated interfaces for what should be straightforward matters. This is probably perfect for some, but not for me.
Like (3)
Xandra
20 May 2015
The product itself is good, I don't mind the $40. BUT I gave up on the ludicrous licensing hoops that the dev inflicted.. The last time I upgraded*(details below) it insisted I use Apple Mail HUH?! excuse me!! this made me rather edgy (paranoid).Anyway, I was so happy to see MTR appear here, I thought it spelled an end to that nonsense.Reading through some of the comments it seems I was wrong. I'm so dissapointed. BUT: it's no longer necessary to put up with this, there are now very good alternatives. I'm currently very happy with MacDVDRipper The only thing I miss is the ability to kill off UOPs.*(I'd stupidly clicked an upgrade button, which hadn't indicated that it was a paid upgrade and that by installing the upgrade I'd deactivated the old version)
Like (6)
Version 5.0.0
3 answer(s)
UncleBob1954
UncleBob1954
09 June 2015
Nice advert for MacDVDRipperPro.

And , last but not least , its not the developers fault you dont read. All updates during MTR 4's life were clearly written at the top of the update info if they were paid for. Thats how I got it, thats how everybody got it. If you pressed the update button without reading the BOLD TEXT , thats your problem , not the devs.

As for using a pre formatted license request in a built in application , ( Apple Mail ) that is hardly being paranoid. It's common sense that if you need to use an email client to request a license , then you should code to use the one that is installed by default.

Lastly , where are these so called comments about licensing issues your talking about…?
Like (2)
Strider72
Strider72
09 July 2015
When does a developer ever "need" to use an email program for upgrades?

Even if they do, it makes more sense to use whatever the user's email program is than insisting on a particular program. This to me suggests dodgy programming and really discourages me from trying (or buying ) MTR.
Like (5)
UncleBob1954
UncleBob1954
14 July 2015
@Strider72:

MTR is not using email for upgrades , it uses it to generate a pre-formated license request , and yes , it does use the default app that the user uses , not always Apple Mail.
Updates are handled via auto update with Sparkle.
Like
drgeoffx
12 May 2015
After some initial teething problems, also largely involving locating the CSSlibs, MTR 5.0.0 is now running smoothly and effectively. Worth every cent of the $40 purchase price. The support team patiently and thoroughly walked me through every step of the process. Many thanks!
Like (2)
Version 5.0.0
zahad
03 May 2015
this app is just outstanding... as far the fastest dvd-ripper. simple but efficient! excellent and very quick support by the developer's crew! helpfull, thanks!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
loes665
21 April 2015
I am on day 2 now of getting this thing to work and yes I am asking for forum help. I am not even talking about using it that might take a week of watching how to video's. Unless you are a computer geek don't go there. I used to use v.1or 2 whichever it was (the free one) all the time. Simple to install and use but this v.5 is a horror. Every time I try to use it, it crashes. So if you are not a computer geek and want something simple don't go there. There must be something else out there.
Like (5)
Version 5.0.0
3 answer(s)
UncleBob1954
UncleBob1954
01 May 2015
Did you install the CSSlibs from the forum? If your trying to backup a protected disk , you need to install them as per the installation information.

Did you contact the developer about your issues? you can contact him directly via the application help menu. In my experience , he always replies and sorts out your issues.

`Do yourself a favour , if your a new user to 5 , contact the developer , dont bother with the forum until you have cleared the registration there..
He will assist you.

As for the user guides , what is your problem? they are done in a clear and concise manner dealing with every aspect of the application. They start with basic operation and dive down into the finer technical information later in the series , and they do NOT take a week to watch!
Like (1)
loes665
loes665
01 May 2015
There was a problem installing the CSSlibs, they kept giving me the wrong info to input but all is working now, /usr/local/lib did not work./usr/local does. At least in my case.
Like
UncleBob1954
UncleBob1954
01 May 2015
Thars very strange as the standard info IS to install the library to /usr/local/lib and the default installer places it there automatically.

I will contact the developer for you if you like and let him know this , or better still message him and let him know.

And as it is working , it might be nice of you to consider changing the rating if you think it deserves it.
UB
Like (1)
ben-marko
29 March 2015
I cannot get the license to work! I've installed it, but the app keeps launching Mail overtime I try to open it. Anyone know how to get it to work? I am getting no response from emails.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.0
2 answer(s)
UncleBob1954
UncleBob1954
07 April 2015
Hi,
If the license fails , it is normally for one of two reasons.
The license got corrupted during transfer to your email address.
The license was corrupted on your mac during unzipping.
The license failed because the hardware that requested it was changed.

In all of these cases , and it has happened to me , I simply requested a new license by using the pre-formatted email that you have mentioned.

The developer has always taken care of this, especially if you are within the periods laid out on the forum, or are clearly a new user with an issue.

Send that email in to get the replacement , it will go right to the developer who will sort it out for you.
Like
UncleBob1954
UncleBob1954
01 May 2015
did you ever contact the developer to get this resolved?
I have passed on this info to him , but as yet , I do not see a resolution here.
Like
benjyhe
01 March 2015
I have been using MTR for years although only in the past year did I finally update to the paid versions as the old v3 that still floats around the internet became less and less effective/more failed rips. If you have concerns having used that in the past - leave them at the door. Especially this current v5 is absolutely amazing. This is a must have for digitizing your DVDs so you can get your moneys worth out of them. I haven't had a single DVD fail since updating to version 5 - it is truly and incredible program and well worth the cost/hassle to get it!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
eye-oftiger1982
18 February 2015
Very stable, well polished app. Been using it since version 2.6.6.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
parisontour
21 January 2015
I have used MTR since version 2 and there is no substitute. There are plenty of other Mac apps that claim to work and fail. MTR 5 is working great on some very difficult discs. Yes, getting MTR takes a round about path, but you will be absolutely satisfied with the results. Follow the video guides and it becomes second nature. The work that has gone in to MTR 5 is definitely worth the price of admission!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
Mjolnir
12 January 2015
Bar none, the FINEST Mac ripper out there! Great app, and even better support! An awesome set of forums for ANY question that you could possibly think to ask. If you've got this one, you don't need ANYTHING else.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
SkipRas
11 January 2015
Excellent product, the best I have ever used for this.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
MrZarniwoop
10 January 2015
After jumping through a couple of hoops to get your license, you'll find it's the best DVD backup utility for any platform. It's simple, straightforward, and can rip DVDs that other programs choke on. I recently upgraded from 4.3 to 5.0 and glad to see it never stopped being actively supported after all these years.
Like
Version 5.0.0
tmo1138
09 January 2015
There is simply nothing better for DVD backup than MTR. I've been a user of this since versions 3.x and 4.x and there is nothing more powerful and more flexible that MTR. Worth every penny.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
jreffner
09 January 2015
This is the best. I've tried them all. The payment process is a bit difficult, but if you are organized and keep all of your information (I keep it in 1Password), then it is not too bad. For best results with the latest discs, be sure to check the forums. Someone always figures out how to rip it and posts the info there. It really is the best and well worth the money!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0
catesandrew
09 January 2015
I'm a lifetime member and have not regretted the purchase one bit. That's a steep price to pay but over the years I have seen the application continually worked on, refined, improved and never turned to vaporware. Highly, highly, highly recommend it. I had previously tried the rest, and there's a lot of them, and none come even close. Forget about using the cracked versions roaming on the internet, those won't get you anywhere either, get this application, free up your time, enjoy yourself, cheers!
Like (2)
Version 5.0.0
Jimmysmits
08 January 2015
I've used MTR in the past and while it does work well, everything else about it is a nightmare. Paying for it is a hassle with a convoluted process. Upgrading each version was a huge pain as well. I see that MTR is unfortunately sticking with the ugly "dark mode" interface.
Like (4)
Version 5.0.0
ric0ric
08 January 2015
Still the fastidious and complex approach to upgrading. Far too much hassle so it's off to use any of the many low cost or free alternatives. Unless you enjoy the almost arcane approach taken by this 'team' avoid it.
Like (6)
Version 5.0.0
1 answer(s)
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
08 January 2015
This app is a one-man show. The developer has been ripped off so many times by pirates (which is a clear indication this app is really good at what it does) he has locked down the product pretty well. The update/upgrade process is not complex if you can follow simple instructions. You download the app, send the developer the suggested donation, launch the app and request a license that is locked to your machine. The process is quite simple and usually takes less than 24hrs. What’s complex about that?

Since the developer is in Europe and the laws regarding archiving protected DVDs you own are different there the developer has chosen not to include the libdvdcss framework, but that library is freely available from multiple sources.
Like (2)
Nzeus
07 January 2015
MTR5, my favourite ripper. I have owned many of the rippers noted by other folks, but this is the best. It offers simple rips as the others all do, but also offers solutions to the most difficult and problematic DVDs that the others baulk at. The developer is active in upgrading his software over many years, this is a mature product, now on public release here I see. The very active MTR5 Forum offers support to individual users on any related matter, and advice on backing up individual specific DVDs. The best I've used.
Like (7)
Version 5.0.0
2 answer(s)
kinku2002
kinku2002
20 September 2015
This app is less useful than it used to be-on top of it, the developer lost my paid donation/application and i had to jump through hoops. Then i noted that i never got any notification of updates. What a headache.
Like
emteaarr
emteaarr
06 October 2015
No , the developer did not loose your payment information. He asked you to provide a copy to verify that you were the original person who paid for it.
What you have and what he has are compared.
In you case you were coming from an older version , so checking your entitlement was nessessary. As for updates , since version 4 , the app informs you via sparkle , with a manual "check for updates" button in the app itself if the user so requires. Update information is always posted on the forum as well.
That is three verified methods for checking for an update.
Like
GeogProf
07 January 2015
Who uses DVDs anymore? And for $40? Ha, ha.
Like (6)
Version 5.0.0
1 answer(s)
ChrisDaemon
ChrisDaemon
08 January 2015
There was a time when DVDs were very popular, and like totally expansive and stuff. And people used to buy them, you know, a lot.

So, you sink a good chunk of money into what could easily be 100+ DVDs of movies, maybe a few dozen TV Shows. Those discs still exist, and it kinda make sense to ask the question: Can I get all my movies onto this iThingy here?

Specialized tools are few and far between, with MTR being actually a decent product (the task it performs, which it usually does well). MDRP used to cost more, but it does less things than MTR. MakeMKV is free-ish, does things differently, but you can essentially make back-ups of your movies.
Other programs may work, but I tried them, and I always use one of the above tools. A good, specialized tool, that perhaps not everyone will use. There's still a lot of programming that goes into this. Time that is spent to figure out how to access/copy a DVD... if you'd care, you'd know that's not an easy task.

You may not have a use for it, but others will; especially those with a large DVD collection who want their content on the iPad or iPhone without having to reinvest hundreds of dollars in DRM'd versions of movies they already own.
Like (5)
Spudboy
07 January 2015
Never thought MTR would come out from the depths of the internet. About 5 years late but oh well. Sure it was great back in the day (probably still decent) but times move on. I switched to Mac DVDRipper Pro and then iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe which I consider the best app for this purpose (you won't find it listed on Macupdate since Warren Mills hates iSkysoft). And to all the newbies of this product have fun paying for it and paying for updates.
Like (4)
Version 5.0.0
2 answer(s)
Cortig
Cortig
08 January 2015
Just so you know, it hasn't been 5 years… Version 4 was available and updated on a regular basis. I believe version 4.3 was released last November.
Like (1)
tmo1138
tmo1138
10 January 2015
ISkySoft and Aimersoft Video Converter Ultimate are the same product. And neither of them are up to the task of DVD ripping that MTR does.
Like
lkrupp215
07 January 2015
I have been using MTR 5.0.0 since its release. Archiving of DVDs for personal use has become a no-brainer with the release of version 5. In conjunction with the use of other software to convert the ripped DVD to formats for iOS and Apple TV MTR 5 makes creating a movie library simple. I own both MTR 5 and MDRP and in my opinion MTR 5 is the superior product by far. Yes, I am a dedicated fanboy of MTR in general and have been using the product for many years through version 3, 4, and now 5.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.0