Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to MTR page
MTR free download for Mac

MTR Reviews5.3.0.0

16 November 2019

The Mac's oldest and smartest DVD-backup app (was MacTheRipper).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Oliver Jenner
Oliver Jenner
Apr 22 2021
5.3.0.0
0.0
Apr 22 2021
0.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
MTR doesn't work on my macOS High Sierra. It seems that there is a problem with its compatibility. Then, I downloaded the old version 2.6.6, it was not available. Finally, I downloaded Cisdem Video Converter. It helped me decrypt the DVD and backup it on my Mac.
pverro
pverro
Apr 16 2021
5.3.0.0
5.0
Apr 16 2021
5.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
Good software. Do not hesitate to use it. Support is unbelievable. Thank you developper.
love2mtnbike8888
love2mtnbike8888
Apr 5 2021
5.3.0.0
0.0
Apr 5 2021
0.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
I get a message: You do not have permission to open the application “MTR 5”. I changed permission of the folder and the content to allow me to read and write. I still get the same message: 'You do not have permission to open the application “MTR 5”.' Can someone advise me? I have used Mac the Ripper for many years until the update did not allow me to use the older version. Now I am looking to use the newer version. Thank you.
Db2
Db2
Mar 29 2021
5.3.0.0
5.0
Mar 29 2021
5.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
Long time user. Not as easy to use as other programs but MTR capabilities are extensive and deep. Forum is responsive to questions.
twowheelr2-1
twowheelr2-1
Jan 10 2021
5.3.0.0
4.0
Jan 10 2021
4.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
More than 10 years of using MTR. Great program. Help available via the MTR forum. When you run into a problem, somebody will be happy to help
Dhylton
Dhylton
Dec 16 2020
5.3.0.0
5.0
Dec 16 2020
5.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
Another long-time user, going on 14 years as of this writing. Always my go-to, one actual reason to keep a mac instead of dumping it all for linux or bsd ... support from developer and community are both outstanding.
Imacpa2
Imacpa2
Dec 14 2020
5.3.0.0
5.0
Dec 14 2020
5.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
Been using this App since 2005! Always my go to! Excellent support community and the developer is always open to questions, bugs, concerns.
Footsoldr
Footsoldr
Dec 8 2020
5.3.0.0
5.0
Dec 8 2020
5.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
Excellent App. Have used it for over 14 years. Updates are timely and it is well supported.
21alaina
21alaina
May 20 2020
5.3.0.0
5.0
May 20 2020
5.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
I've been using a form of MTR for nearly a decade now. I went through countless apps - both free and paid for - to try to get a topnotch quality for my DVDs that I put onto my computer. Every single other app has had some sort of glitch with it, be it frame rate, or sound sync...I think I've run into every issue with ripping my DVDs (I REALLY don't like watching a moving image jump when I'm trying to enjoy it because of the FR). I prefer to have a hard copy of my DVDs, so I buy them from the store, but want to save them on the computer as a backup, or have a way to watch them on a plane. MTR just gets better and better. I rip from it then I use another app to convert the ripped file (Handbrake, for example) to put into my iTunes, and voila! A lossless quality movie! It is absolutely worth a donation!
alanchar88
alanchar88
Apr 9 2020
5.3.0.0
5.0
Apr 9 2020
5.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
MTR is the best out there for DVD ripping. The UI is a little tricky, but once you get the hang of it, it gets the job done.
dawoodbinnel
dawoodbinnel
Mar 19 2020
5.3.0.0
0.0
Mar 19 2020
0.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
Looking for an app to make backup copies of dvds? Save yourself some time and aggro, just get MTR. First 'donated' to MTR about 5 years ago (maybe farther back, actually) on the advice of a friend. Had to redonate again this year because of the Catalina update. As some have mentioned, the interface seems to have become more complicated, though I have somehow been able to stumble my way through to making copies whenever I need to. And yes, the process of acquiring and licencing the software feels a bit sketchy, but I recommend you make the leap of faith and make the donation, if you need the app. It's a great piece of software.
tmo1138
tmo1138
Nov 29 2019
5.3.0.0
5.0
Nov 29 2019
5.0
Version: 5.3.0.0
I've used this app ever since I bought my first Mac Pro 13 years ago. It has consistently worked and delivered perfect backups every time. The support forum is great. And the community is an outstanding resource for learning the ins and outs of how to make perfect backups of DVDs. Worth every penny.
CV18
CV18
Nov 10 2019
5.2.0.0
5.0
Nov 10 2019
5.0
Version: 5.2.0.0
Been using this app since 2009. I have all the other ripping apps (Mac DVDRipper Pro, RipIt, HandBrake, etc.) but I always use MTR first. It's been upgraded steadily over the years and has gotten better each time. The Developer is very responsive to answer any questions or help with technical difficulties. I know this is my first review but like others have said, I feel thus far, this is the only app worth reviewing.
jtcoen
jtcoen
Nov 5 2019
5.2.0.0
5.0
Nov 5 2019
5.0
Version: 5.2.0.0
Used this app for years. Love it. Does what it says. Continues to improve massively every major revision. Take some effort to figure out the method to get it and install it, but even that continues to improve. Hope you all continue to support his efforts! I will. Continues to be the best app for the task out there.
graemeatkinson1973
graemeatkinson1973
Mar 13 2019
5.2.0.0
0.0
Mar 13 2019
0.0
Version: 5.2.0.0
How exactly do I buy MTR 5. There are instructions for purchasing and the trial downloads won't open.
paulsrandall
paulsrandall
Dec 28 2018
5.2.0.0
5.0
Dec 28 2018
5.0
Version: 5.2.0.0
Had this for years. Simply the best in this type of application.
Macrob
Macrob
Dec 18 2018
5.2.0.0
5.0
Dec 18 2018
5.0
Version: 5.2.0.0
Love this one. Been using it for years now, and have had 100% success, even with the tricky ones.
tmc-llc
tmc-llc
Dec 16 2018
5.2.0.0
5.0
Dec 16 2018
5.0
Version: 5.2.0.0
Outstanding all along, now 5.2.0.0 work silky smooth.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Dec 14 2018
5.2.0.0
0.0
Dec 14 2018
0.0
Version: 5.2.0.0
So many 5-star reviews where THIS app is the only software they've ever reviewed...
hossenie
hossenie
Feb 25 2018
5.1.0.2
5.0
Feb 25 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.0.2
Fantastic Piece Of Kit - Highly Recommended
burkef
burkef
Jan 13 2017
5.1.0.2
0.0
Jan 13 2017
0.0
Version: 5.1.0.2
I always get it to work. Have been using MTR for as long as I can remember.
sebortola
sebortola
Jan 7 2017
5.1.0.2
5.0
Jan 7 2017
5.0
Version: 5.1.0.2
Very good app allowing me to rip ALL my dvds for personnal home server watching...
jcapfer
jcapfer
Nov 8 2016
5.1.0.1
5.0
Nov 8 2016
5.0
Version: 5.1.0.1
Mac The Ripper is a great application and is constantly supported by it's creators and support team. Any question, no matter how inane, is responded to in an informative and, sometimes, very amusing way. I highly recommend this for the tech savvy and, like me, the tech neophytes. The best bar none.
Ygor
Ygor
Nov 5 2016
5.1.0.1
5.0
Nov 5 2016
5.0
Version: 5.1.0.1
One of the best software packages I have worked with. Same for the developer/support folks. The best.
Gregm
Gregm
Nov 3 2016
5.1.0.1
3.0
Nov 3 2016
3.0
Version: 5.1.0.1
MTR has evolved from Mac-like simple to geeky complex (as has the OS). One hekuva powerhouse that can do it all --- once you figure out.

The major problem with the program is the developers paranoid support (?) style demonstrated by "Do not use this download to update your licensed app. Update via the Application Update menu in the app only!"

You can't do that, if you already updated to Sierra--- which is what this update is for (failure to launch/crashing in Sierra). I found the semi-hidden link for the authorized updating download in the authorized forums -- which you can get to once you jump through *the process* hoops of registering.

I am now stuck in a loop of install license - (do it)- continue --install license -(repeat)

I guess the next step will be manually requesting (yet again) a license by providing certifiable copies of previous "donations" and attaching my current license file to yet another different email address and waiting for a response.

I will use my Plan B software meanwhile. Frankly, if I had not already "donated", I would not bother trying to deal with this crazy process.

My 3-star rating is a balance between doing the job (5 star when successfully installed/blessed) and the doing business with the developer process (1 star).
M85
M85
Oct 26 2016
5.0.0.7
0.0
Oct 26 2016
0.0
Version: 5.0.0.7
Seems broken with Sierra
jimfortney
jimfortney
Jun 2 2016
5.0.0.7
5.0
Jun 2 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.7
I love this App
Steve-Middleton
Steve-Middleton
May 13 2016
5.0.0.7
5.0
May 13 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.7
this is the best software I ever used for backing up my DVD collection and it is extensive. Simple to use, works fast and provides just about any advance feature you may need for your use case.
jmusich-1
jmusich-1
Jan 10 2016
5.0.0.7
5.0
Jan 10 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.7
I think I am going to like it. I just upgraded from 4.2.7 so the security hoops to jump through are still not completed. 5 is running and ripping. I need help adjusting to the different iinterface. I m hoping to get my comparative questions answered soon.
Ygor
Ygor
Jan 1 2016
5.0.0.7
5.0
Jan 1 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.7
No better application available anywhere. Loyal user for over 5 years. 'Nuff said.
anonymous-squirrel-4040
anonymous-squirrel-4040
Dec 17 2015
5.0.0.7
5.0
Dec 17 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.7
This is the one. Period. Some find, and in a few cases seem highly offended personally, that the initial setup is overly complicated. It isn't. Pay attention and stick with it. There are obvious reasons for the way this incredible, highly stable software is coded and downloaded that ultimately makes for the strongest (know of no better non-tech term) application of its type. Once you've got it, updates are as simple as with any conventional software and released by the developer as soon as OS or other changes make them necessary. This review was prompted by a disk where DVD Player skipped over two "damaged" sections and two other rippers rejected as completely unreadable. MTR made a flawless copy.
Micho
Micho
Dec 17 2015
5.0.0.7
4.5
Dec 17 2015
4.5
Version: 5.0.0.7
Works fine. Installation process is a little bit complicated but the developer always answered quickly.
deijlgs
deijlgs
Dec 16 2015
5.0.0.7
5.0
Dec 16 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.7
I've used MTR for many years now. Version 5 is unbelievable. It does it all and does it fast. Nothing else compares to it.
Dale-Bernelle
Dale-Bernelle
Dec 11 2015
5.0.0.6
5.0
Dec 11 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.6
I have used this utility for years and never been disappointed... Now MTR 5 tops them all. It is outstanding in every way. Most importantly, it works ALL THE TIME and with a minimum of intervention from the user (like start it and it finishes!). There are also quite a few forum users, ready to help and solve any challenges that do come up. If you want the number one ripping utility, then pass the others up and get the best, MTR 5!
Markoh
Markoh
Dec 10 2015
5.0.0.6
0.0
Dec 10 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.0.6
I’ve been a paid lifetime MTR user for several years; I went lifetime in order to avoid the laborious registration hassle that goes with each paid upgrade. Did this save me from the hassle, upon upgrading? Ohhhh noooo, oh hell no. It sent me to registration hell instead. I keep detailed records of everything, so, I wanted to upgrade to MTR5 I have to log into the website to find out how to do it..... some of the steps, I have to send in an email request and receive instructions back, then I have to reply and attach the authorization file, Easy? cough, cough, I screwed it up and my screwup infuriated the webmasters and I damn near lost my lifetime license, I had to do major damage control to keep from losing my license (massive apologies and groveling). What I did wrong, is that I unzipped the lic file (thinking it would be convenient for them) and I sent it in using gmail instead of Apple Mail. All hell broke lose. 2 violations I was supposed to leave it zipped and do a reply to the email I got, and could only use Apple Mail (even though the reply goes to a gmail account). That's not all, I had to list all my previous PayPal transactions in the format provided with the exact spacing and no mistakes. If I omitted any of the prior PayPal transactions or made a formatting mistake, then I would get nothing back. I had previous upgrade PayPal transactions prior to going lifetime. I would assume that GB audits all that for accuracy before granting the upgrade file. Thats not all. I decided to upgrade to a new Mac. Bad, bad, bad. The license is pinned to the machine, not the user. I had to get permission to move MTR to my new Mac. Fortunately it worked, and, yes I did send in all my previous PayPal transactions in the proper format. Thats not all. I plan to upgrade from System Yosemite to System El Capitan via a clean install without using migration assistant. I'll probably have to get permission and go thru the goat-rope again. Recommendation: there needs to be a full credit computer science course on how to register MTR.
Macinman
Macinman
Nov 25 2015
5.0.0.4
0.0
Nov 25 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.0.4
I too was surprised to see this App still active, The last time I used MTR was version 2.6 when i had a PPC and os x on intel could run PPC code. Since then I have switched to other tools such as MacDVDRipper Pro and MakeMKV as well as Handbrake and other tools.

Considering what this app does i Think it's a reasonable price especially if it's a single developer and this is his means of making a living. I paid $50 for MakeMKV because I have primarily switched to blu-ray for most of my content, or I have content in a streaming Service such as VUDU, or the like.

The Only reason I wouldn't Purchase MTR at this point is, all the tools that I have do what I need, and it's Mac only. Because the Media Server I have is linux based and I use both a Mac and Linux it would be nice to have tools that are cross platform. While I do have os x only apps the apps that are cross platform make it useful e.g. to rip a DVD directly on the linux server to save time transferring the file over the network.

While I haven't officially investigated to see if this already exists or not, The one thing I would buy MTR at this point is, if the developer added a tool to the toolbox to rip TV Shows get the information automatically from the net and configure the files ripped from disc to be in a format a Media solution such as Plex Media Server or Kodi would recognize and the shows would be imported and display correctly. That's my only dvd ripping gripe at this point TV shows are confusing at times to figure out. Some are recorded as 1 big long title, and others are individual titles. Sometimes, it's tough to know which is which.

Either way it's great to see this app alive and there for those who need it :)
eduardo-ma
eduardo-ma
Oct 2 2015
5.0.0.4
5.0
Oct 2 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.4
I use excellent program from version 3.x has saved many times original DVD movies which were in a sorry state, congratulate the developer to implement useful tools in later versions published, thank you very much
Odysseus
Odysseus
Sep 20 2015
5.0.0.4
0.0
Sep 20 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.0.4
I’m confused. The developer apparently has declared "Also note that the "price" of $40 is a suggested amount, and is not strictly required," but on the web site to which he refers, one reads "If your Gift does not correspond to the upgrade table ( i.e you try to short the upgrade Gift ) you will NOT get updated to MTR5 until you correct the omission." So which is it? Or should 4.0 users simply choose the non-update version and then make a donation?
Ibeme
Ibeme
Aug 5 2015
5.0.0.3
0.0
Aug 5 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.0.3
Many years ago I used MTR, but after a while it would only work on older DVDs and then only sporadically; in addition, the speed was so-so at best and the rip quality often mediocre. RipIt and MacDVDRipper consistently do a first rate job with anything that's thrown at them for a much lower price (and both are frequently available at big discounts on a regular basis). MakeMKV is hands down the best route to go for ripping a BluRay on a Mac and is free. If I need to exercise more control over a rip, Handbrake is another excellent, free tool.

At this point, give MTRs previous history of long delays between updates, as well as a several year interval as essentially abandonware, I would need a really compelling reason to make the switch back to MTR, especially with a $40 price tag. How us this price tag justified since there are multiple regularly updated. reliable, and considerably cheaper/free alternates that don't come saddled with ridiculous and complicated licensing issues?

In addition, the developer's website is essentially a portal to a forum rather than a dedicated website that clearly and directly explains what the software is, what it does, and the basics of how to use it. Personally, I might take a chance on this sort of set up if the software could be used on a trial basis or only cost a dollar or two.
walterlwagner
walterlwagner
Aug 2 2015
5.0.0.2
0.0
Aug 2 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.0.2
I'm sure every complaint here about MTR 5's ridiculous licensing process represents many who have been too discouraged to write--or to buy it. UncleBob's cynical, combative answers to this issue are only defending an nonstandard, geeky, roadblock to using an otherwise good application. And note, with all the instructions and rules you have to read through to get the license and be able to use the Forum, it is EASY to miss that your copy will only work on the machine(s) you bought a license for. It's not your license as a user, it's your machine's license. So if you're like me, who uses a laptop alternatively (never at the same time) with a desktop, you have to buy two licenses. I have a lot of apps, none of which does the licensing that way.
irgrip53
irgrip53
Aug 2 2015
5.0.0.2
5.0
Aug 2 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0.2
This is the best most complete app for ripping and saving your valuable DVD's on the world market. Worth every thing it cost. You will get value for money and a great peace of mind.
UncleBob1954
UncleBob1954
Jul 30 2015
5.0.0
5.0
Jul 30 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
Heads up guys, ran MTR this morning and it gave me a new update. Updated to 5.001 with bug fixes for newer disks , and a brand new version of DVDProbe! Dont forget to get the probe update via the app.
Macrob
Macrob
Jul 8 2015
5.0.0
5.0
Jul 8 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
Best Mac ripper ever, I've been using MTR since version 1.0.3 and each one has gotten better and better!
LurkingWithPride
LurkingWithPride
Jun 1 2015
5.0.0
5.0
Jun 1 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
MTR is "serious" software, with corresponding expectations of its users. Simply stated, it's not for people with limited computer skills—nor is it for people who don't want to watch training videos or follow written instructions. For those willing to take the time to learn HOW to use it, though it is a fabulous, powerful tool, with v5 offering the cleanest design it has ever had.
Xandra
Xandra
May 20 2015
5.0.0
0.0
May 20 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.0
The product itself is good, I don't mind the $40. BUT I gave up on the ludicrous licensing hoops that the dev inflicted.. The last time I upgraded*(details below) it insisted I use Apple Mail HUH?! excuse me!! this made me rather edgy (paranoid).Anyway, I was so happy to see MTR appear here, I thought it spelled an end to that nonsense.Reading through some of the comments it seems I was wrong. I'm so dissapointed. BUT: it's no longer necessary to put up with this, there are now very good alternatives. I'm currently very happy with MacDVDRipper The only thing I miss is the ability to kill off UOPs.*(I'd stupidly clicked an upgrade button, which hadn't indicated that it was a paid upgrade and that by installing the upgrade I'd deactivated the old version)
drgeoffx
drgeoffx
May 12 2015
5.0.0
5.0
May 12 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
After some initial teething problems, also largely involving locating the CSSlibs, MTR 5.0.0 is now running smoothly and effectively. Worth every cent of the $40 purchase price. The support team patiently and thoroughly walked me through every step of the process. Many thanks!
zahad
zahad
May 3 2015
5.0.0
5.0
May 3 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
this app is just outstanding... as far the fastest dvd-ripper. simple but efficient! excellent and very quick support by the developer's crew! helpfull, thanks!
loes665
loes665
Apr 21 2015
5.0.0
0.0
Apr 21 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.0
I am on day 2 now of getting this thing to work and yes I am asking for forum help. I am not even talking about using it that might take a week of watching how to video's. Unless you are a computer geek don't go there. I used to use v.1or 2 whichever it was (the free one) all the time. Simple to install and use but this v.5 is a horror. Every time I try to use it, it crashes. So if you are not a computer geek and want something simple don't go there. There must be something else out there.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Mar 29 2015
5.0.0
0.0
Mar 29 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.0
I cannot get the license to work! I've installed it, but the app keeps launching Mail overtime I try to open it. Anyone know how to get it to work? I am getting no response from emails.
benjyhe
benjyhe
Mar 1 2015
5.0.0
5.0
Mar 1 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
I have been using MTR for years although only in the past year did I finally update to the paid versions as the old v3 that still floats around the internet became less and less effective/more failed rips. If you have concerns having used that in the past - leave them at the door. Especially this current v5 is absolutely amazing. This is a must have for digitizing your DVDs so you can get your moneys worth out of them. I haven't had a single DVD fail since updating to version 5 - it is truly and incredible program and well worth the cost/hassle to get it!