Back to OsiriX Lite page
OsiriX Lite free download for Mac

OsiriX Lite Reviews12.0.1

24 March 2021

3D medical image processing software with DICOM/PACS support.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
maiof
maiof
Aug 1 2020
11.0.3
2.0
Aug 1 2020
2.0
Version: 11.0.3
It was a really nice app. I used the free version during my doctorate but now, i need to review some images to write my papers and i can't access the files. I have no idea what the hell is happening with it. The new version isn't working.
vtica
vtica
Apr 25 2020
11.0.2
3.0
Apr 25 2020
3.0
Version: 11.0.2
Good, but just for the trial - for a limited period. After that, very expensive.
ecjb
ecjb
Mar 5 2019
6.5.2
4.0
Mar 5 2019
4.0
Version: 6.5.2
It's a program to review medical imaging - MRI, CT scan, etc. It came on the CD with the images and works as expected. The CD also provides a web page interface to view the images.
lurkingremlin
lurkingremlin
Oct 5 2015
6.5.2
0.0
Oct 5 2015
0.0
Version: 6.5.2
Here's an open source alternative which is 64-bit out of the box - and FREE: http://www.horosproject.org
tjekov37
tjekov37
Mar 16 2014
5.8.5
5.0
Mar 16 2014
5.0
Version: 5.8.5
Pleas tell me, where i can download OsiriX ( 2.7.1- 2.7.5)version for MAC OSX 10.4 PPC ? HELP :-(( I need him .
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Dec 1 2013
5.8.1
5.0
Dec 1 2013
5.0
Version: 5.8.1
Excellent application. Even novices and laymen can view their data.
Xenophon
Xenophon
Jan 4 2013
5.5.2
4.0
Jan 4 2013
4.0
Version: 5.5.2
This is really a 5-star app for physicians with a Mac. I've been using it since the 2.x days, on OS 9, and love its power and elegance. For the past 5 years or so, I've also paid for the "64-bit" extension to support the developers, even though I have no use for the extended memory management (I only view angiograms, which are not resource-intensive). My major gripe is that its free version stamps all images with a "Not for medical use" watermark, which is truly annoying. This, in effect, forces even light users like myself to upgrade every year to the tune of $150-250. Now that my license has expired, I decided not to renew it for this reason. I believe it's ill-conceived; hence the 4 star rating. Hope Antoine reconsiders this watermark thing.
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Dec 17 2012
5.5.2
0.0
Dec 17 2012
0.0
Version: 5.5.2
I updated this application today and I was presented with an "OsiriX would like access to your contacts". Um....WTF?! Why does this developer want access to my contacts?! Don
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Dec 16 2012
5.5.2
5.0
Dec 16 2012
5.0
Version: 5.5.2
Another Great Version of A Great And Useful App!
Multimedia-Pimp
Multimedia-Pimp
Nov 14 2012
5.5.1
5.0
Nov 14 2012
5.0
Version: 5.5.1
This is an incredible piece of free software. I recently had a couple of MRI's and when I found out I could get the scans on disk I was excited to see them. But the disk came with Windoze viewers which were no good. An immediate scan of the web brought me to Osirix. Never had any issues with this program ever. Solid. Many thanks for keeping a free version going.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Oct 26 2012
5.5
5.0
Oct 26 2012
5.0
Version: 5.5
I like this App. I can see the CDs prepared for my Back Operation and clearly see what the Dr. was discussing with me. Excellent app.
FTBZ
FTBZ
Nov 21 2011
4.0
0.0
Nov 21 2011
0.0
Version: 4.0
After an accident, I used this software to visualize the fracture of my knee. Even without medical knowledge, it is very fun ! The iPad/iPhone apps are nice too, It's very fun to impress his friends. But I'm sure the medical staff has a more intelligent use of the software than me.
Whytoi
Whytoi
Nov 21 2011
4.0
0.0
Nov 21 2011
0.0
Version: 4.0
Crash galore on startup on my MacBook Pro 13" on 10.7.2. A dialogue box would pop up asking rebuild database or not. Irrespective of which option I choose, it'll crash. Not good at 4.0.
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Oct 9 2011
3.9.4
0.0
Oct 9 2011
0.0
Version: 3.9.4
Note, the 32-bit open source version is still free. The 64-bit version, and the 64-bit FDA approved version both cost money.
Lee123
Lee123
May 1 2011
3.9.1
0.0
May 1 2011
0.0
Version: 3.9.1
A quick primer on this software. When ever you get an MRI or CT scan an a diagnostic center ask them or tell them your doctor wants it on CD as well as being sent over to his/her office. Also you could be honest and tell them you want a copy for personal use, it works most of the time. Anyway, once you have the CD you can pop it into your mac and use this program to see all the cool 3D stuff in your body or that skull shot you have always wanted. Then you can shock the doc or dentist by telling them you have already seen the scan on your personal computer. My dentist could not believe it because he pays a girl full time to decode and transfer MRI data. Crazy fun.
Psummerill
Psummerill
Apr 21 2011
3.9
0.0
Apr 21 2011
0.0
Version: 3.9
Installed latest version. Now it crashes on "Updating database model..." and will not open. Any suggestions appreciated.
Vagas
Vagas
Jan 19 2011
3.8.1
4.0
Jan 19 2011
4.0
Version: 3.8.1
Very useful for those who work/study in the medical field. Easy to use and fast.
Rossetantoine
Rossetantoine
Dec 7 2010
3.8.1
5.0
Dec 7 2010
5.0
Version: 3.8.1
It's free!
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
May 5 2010
3.7.1
0.0
May 5 2010
0.0
Version: 3.7.1
The comment by AYCANDIGITAL is a self-centered and obsfucating advertisement. The Osirix download page already explains things quite clearly: http://www.osirix-viewer.com/ContributionOsiriX.html "Warning OsiriX, being a free open-source software (FOSS), is not certified as a commercial medical device for primary diagnosis. Hence, there are no FDA/CE-1 certifications. In US and Europe, you can only use OsiriX as a reviewing, research or teaching software, not for primary diagnostic, used in clinical workflow and/or for patient care. For a FDA/CE-1 version and for a use in a medical / clinical environment, please see: http://www.osirix-viewer.com/Partners.html"
Aycandigital
Aycandigital
Aug 15 2009
3.6b8
0.0
Aug 15 2009
0.0
Version: 3.6b8
In most industry nations the use of software for medical purposes in patients, in diagnosis, therapy or surgery is considered as a Medical device. For example: in terms of classification, OsiriX is a Class II Medical device in the European Union and the USA. aycan Digitalsysteme GmbH offers an FDA-cleared and CE-labeled version of OsiriX as Medical device Class II with support and comprehensive documentation. Differences between the free version of OsiriX:     * FDA clearance and CE Mark (medical device class ll)     * 33% faster DICOM send     * 20% faster DICOM Query Retrieve     * Hotline support - immediate live customer service and support     * Various Training options     * Comprehensive user manual     * Integration in current PACS and RIS     * improved stability     * improved data protection     * configuration support with new updates     * improved workflow when segmenting     * Filmcomposer with WISIWYG functionality aycan Digitalysteme GmbH http://www.aycan.de
-M-S-
-M-S-
May 7 2009
3.5.1
5.0
May 7 2009
5.0
Version: 3.5.1
Works great, no complaints. :)
Magosilvan
Magosilvan
Feb 22 2008
3.0.2
5.0
Feb 22 2008
5.0
Version: 3.0.2
I'm not a physician, but only a cardiopathic and I must say it's always a great emotion for me to look over my angioplastic intervention. Really great! At the hospital they gave me a copy of the CD, but they said it was not possible to see with a normal PC. But they don't know Mac! Thanks to the developer.
Draw
Draw
Aug 24 2007
3.0a1
5.0
Aug 24 2007
5.0
Version: 3.0a1
Best product for DICOM - mac-like - international version available - free
Hangon
Hangon
Jul 9 2006
2.4.1b9
4.5
Jul 9 2006
4.5
Version: 2.4.1b9
Much better and stable than our Kodak or Fuji PACS clients at work..... too bad big hospitals are afraid of free software.
Fjwelte
Fjwelte
Feb 13 2006
2.3
5.0
Feb 13 2006
5.0
Version: 2.3
Truly amazing software. Works better than our current PACS and it's free. Why aren't all radiologists using Macs???
Guest
Guest
Mar 19 2005
1.6.1
5.0
Mar 19 2005
5.0
Version: 1.6.1
Simply wonderful. Easy 3d browsing... Exellent work!!!
Guest
Guest
Feb 17 2005
1.6
5.0
Feb 17 2005
5.0
Version: 1.6
Antoine... simply the best! and... THANX FOR YOUR WORK AND SUPPORT TO MAC-MED COMMUNITY! greetings from Chile
Guest
Guest
Feb 17 2005
1.6
5.0
Feb 17 2005
5.0
Version: 1.6
I am not a doctor and I don't play one on TV. I don't know jack about any of the stuff this app does. I just like looking at the stuff inside people and this app lets me do it without making a mess. Too Cool!
Guest
Guest
Feb 16 2005
1.6
5.0
Feb 16 2005
5.0
Version: 1.6
This is an awesome and powerful tool for the Radiologist and Technologist. The money you save on software can be used to buy more powerful hardware, giving the end user a better tool for the same money. The rules for Osirix: 1 Don't skimp on memory. DICOM files are large and need room to run. If time is money, load up on memory. 2 Buy the most CPU you can afford. 3 Get a decent Garphics Card. Although Osirix will run on the base cards Apple ships you will be far happier with a 128MB or better card. 4 Get the Jog/Shuttle imput device. Osirix supports it and makes image manipulation easier.
Guest
Guest
Feb 9 2005
1.5.2
5.0
Feb 9 2005
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
Unbelievable project! Not only the best free DICOM software, but simply the best, full stop (i.e. better than all the $$$ commercial applications)! Encompasses (1) DICOM viewer (2) DICOM client (3) DICOM router (4) 3D workstation (5) image fusion (6) DICOM CD burner (7) Import/Export to various formats (...). Very dedicated and dynamic development team, responds instantaneously to user input.
Guest
Guest
Dec 30 2004
1.5.2
5.0
Dec 30 2004
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
it is the best DICOM viewer i know, we us it as a means of reference in dayly work (beside the Laser-printed images); this is the kind of application (for viewing DICOM Images that) radiologists and other doctors need - thanks for this great work
Guest
Guest
Nov 21 2004
1.5
0.0
Nov 21 2004
0.0
Version: 1.5
Nuclear Medicine viewers provide necessary capabilities not seen in standard PACS systems. LUTs are different and MIP and 3-axis viewing are "musts" for nukes. OsiriX provides a new and powerful link for networks having nuc med cameras. The DICOM capabilities are very good. In a world where basic nuke PACS starts at $5000 per each software package for each computer, installing multiple OsiriX systems in a network and throughout a system is very advantageous. Nuclear Medicine desires wider usage and "spreading the word" by installing Nuke PACS at a great price point (Mac and monitor) is a great breaskthrough.
Guest
Guest
Aug 20 2004
1.4
5.0
Aug 20 2004
5.0
Version: 1.4
I'm a medical researcher with a neck problem. I asked for my scan data and I have been bringing my powerbook with me to specialist appointments and going through my cervical MRI and CT scans with them in real time whilst looking at the radiologist's reports. I met with the radiologist and neurosurgeon two weeks ago and they were really impressed. This software is better than many of the commercial *nix packages used in the hospital.
Guest
Guest
Jul 4 2004
1.2.1
5.0
Jul 4 2004
5.0
Version: 1.2.1
Better than my hospital's DICOM viewer... and it's free...
Guest
Guest
Jul 2 2004
1.2.1
5.0
Jul 2 2004
5.0
Version: 1.2.1
Great DICOM software. Couple of notes: 1) G3 support has been added, but "quits" upon launch on my iBook (800mHz/ 640MB RAM). If it is going to run on any G3 a maxxed out late model iBook should work. 2) MPR is the only weak feature on this program. It is slow on my G5 (1.8/ 1GB RAM) which should have more than enough horsepower to quickly render MPR. The MPR interface does not work well with a mouse and could more closely conform to the "standard" or usual manipulation interface. Finally, the MPR does not allow for preference selection for slice thickness and interval. I'm not trashing Osirix, it does EVERYTHING else very well and could well be sold at professional prices. My view is that until MPR is brought up to the standard of the rest of the package it should be considered a beta.
Guest
Guest
Jun 22 2004
1.2
5.0
Jun 22 2004
5.0
Version: 1.2
Genious DICOM Software, very easy to use, very stable (on my Ultrasound and Angiography files), very Fast on 400 MHZ Ti-PowerBook. Thank you very much for your extraordinary work !
Guest
Guest
Apr 24 2004
1.0
5.0
Apr 24 2004
5.0
Version: 1.0
Excellent software, responsive author. I use this for echcardiography images on my powerbook, and at present there is nothing like this for the mac. It can only get better!
Guest
Guest
Mar 22 2004
0.11a
5.0
Mar 22 2004
5.0
Version: 0.11a
It works fine but as cardiologist and an old Osiris userm please add the capability to read Angio Dicom XA studies too! Have a good work, mimmo di girolamo
Shawn-Halpin
Shawn-Halpin
Mar 21 2004
0.11a
4.5
Mar 21 2004
4.5
Version: 0.11a
This is serious software. It is absolutley the fastest and bestest DICOM viewer I have ever used, and it is only at an alpha stage. I have been using iRad and xRad, but could never get the database to run, but this worked for me right out of the box, receiving and displaying CT and MR images from my scanners with practically zero configuration. OsiriX has the potential to become a standard and indispensible part of my working life. Finally I can use my Mac as a proper workstation! I find it hard to believe it'll stay free forever. Also check out the authors Radiology teaching program Casim@ge.