Back to OsiriX Lite page
OsiriX Lite free download for Mac

OsiriX Lite Reviews11.0.3

03 July 2020

3D medical image processing software with DICOM/PACS support.

4
ecjb
05 March 2019
Version: 6.5.2

Most helpful

It's a program to review medical imaging - MRI, CT scan, etc. It came on the CD with the images and works as expected. The CD also provides a web page interface to view the images.
(2)

How would you rate OsiriX Lite app?

Read 38 OsiriX Lite User Reviews

2
maiof
01 August 2020
Version: 11.0.3
It was a really nice app. I used the free version during my doctorate but now, i need to review some images to write my papers and i can't access the files. I have no idea what the hell is happening with it. The new version isn't working.
(0)
3
vtica
25 April 2020
Version: 11.0.2
Good, but just for the trial - for a limited period. After that, very expensive.
(0)
4
ecjb
05 March 2019
Version: 6.5.2
It's a program to review medical imaging - MRI, CT scan, etc. It came on the CD with the images and works as expected. The CD also provides a web page interface to view the images.
(2)
lurkingremlin
05 October 2015
Version: 6.5.2
Here's an open source alternative which is 64-bit out of the box - and FREE: http://www.horosproject.org
(0)
5
tjekov37
16 March 2014
Version: 5.8.5
Pleas tell me, where i can download OsiriX ( 2.7.1- 2.7.5)version for MAC OSX 10.4 PPC ? HELP :-(( I need him .
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Jazzyguy
01 December 2013
Version: 5.8.1
Excellent application. Even novices and laymen can view their data.
(1)
Show comment (1)
4
Xenophon
04 January 2013
Version: 5.5.2
This is really a 5-star app for physicians with a Mac. I've been using it since the 2.x days, on OS 9, and love its power and elegance. For the past 5 years or so, I've also paid for the "64-bit" extension to support the developers, even though I have no use for the extended memory management (I only view angiograms, which are not resource-intensive). My major gripe is that its free version stamps all images with a "Not for medical use" watermark, which is truly annoying. This, in effect, forces even light users like myself to upgrade every year to the tune of $150-250. Now that my license has expired, I decided not to renew it for this reason. I believe it's ill-conceived; hence the 4 star rating. Hope Antoine reconsiders this watermark thing.
(4)
Show comment (1)
Donmontalvo
17 December 2012
Version: 5.5.2
I updated this application today and I was presented with an "OsiriX would like access to your contacts". Um....WTF?! Why does this developer want access to my contacts?! Don
(1)
Show comments (2)
5
Jazzyguy
16 December 2012
Version: 5.5.2
Another Great Version of A Great And Useful App!
(2)
5
Multimedia-Pimp
14 November 2012
Version: 5.5.1
This is an incredible piece of free software. I recently had a couple of MRI's and when I found out I could get the scans on disk I was excited to see them. But the disk came with Windoze viewers which were no good. An immediate scan of the web brought me to Osirix. Never had any issues with this program ever. Solid. Many thanks for keeping a free version going.
(1)
Jazzyguy
26 October 2012
Version: 5.5
I like this App. I can see the CDs prepared for my Back Operation and clearly see what the Dr. was discussing with me. Excellent app.
(2)
FTBZ
21 November 2011
Version: 4.0
After an accident, I used this software to visualize the fracture of my knee. Even without medical knowledge, it is very fun ! The iPad/iPhone apps are nice too, It's very fun to impress his friends. But I'm sure the medical staff has a more intelligent use of the software than me.
(2)
Whytoi
21 November 2011
Version: 4.0
Crash galore on startup on my MacBook Pro 13" on 10.7.2. A dialogue box would pop up asking rebuild database or not. Irrespective of which option I choose, it'll crash. Not good at 4.0.
(0)
Show comment (1)
SickTeddyBear
09 October 2011
Version: 3.9.4
Note, the 32-bit open source version is still free. The 64-bit version, and the 64-bit FDA approved version both cost money.
(3)
Lee123
01 May 2011
Version: 3.9.1
A quick primer on this software. When ever you get an MRI or CT scan an a diagnostic center ask them or tell them your doctor wants it on CD as well as being sent over to his/her office. Also you could be honest and tell them you want a copy for personal use, it works most of the time. Anyway, once you have the CD you can pop it into your mac and use this program to see all the cool 3D stuff in your body or that skull shot you have always wanted. Then you can shock the doc or dentist by telling them you have already seen the scan on your personal computer. My dentist could not believe it because he pays a girl full time to decode and transfer MRI data. Crazy fun.
(3)
Psummerill
21 April 2011
Version: 3.9
Installed latest version. Now it crashes on "Updating database model..." and will not open. Any suggestions appreciated.
(0)
4
Vagas
19 January 2011
Version: 3.8.1
Very useful for those who work/study in the medical field. Easy to use and fast.
(1)
5
Rossetantoine
07 December 2010
Version: 3.8.1
It's free!
(0)
Aycandigital
15 August 2009
Version: 3.6b8
In most industry nations the use of software for medical purposes in patients, in diagnosis, therapy or surgery is considered as a Medical device. For example: in terms of classification, OsiriX is a Class II Medical device in the European Union and the USA. aycan Digitalsysteme GmbH offers an FDA-cleared and CE-labeled version of OsiriX as Medical device Class II with support and comprehensive documentation. Differences between the free version of OsiriX:     * FDA clearance and CE Mark (medical device class ll)     * 33% faster DICOM send     * 20% faster DICOM Query Retrieve     * Hotline support - immediate live customer service and support     * Various Training options     * Comprehensive user manual     * Integration in current PACS and RIS     * improved stability     * improved data protection     * configuration support with new updates     * improved workflow when segmenting     * Filmcomposer with WISIWYG functionality aycan Digitalysteme GmbH http://www.aycan.de
(1)
Show comments (3)
5
-M-S-
07 May 2009
Version: 3.5.1
Works great, no complaints. :)
(1)
5
Magosilvan
22 February 2008
Version: 3.0.2
I'm not a physician, but only a cardiopathic and I must say it's always a great emotion for me to look over my angioplastic intervention. Really great! At the hospital they gave me a copy of the CD, but they said it was not possible to see with a normal PC. But they don't know Mac! Thanks to the developer.
(5)
5
Draw
24 August 2007
Version: 3.0a1
Best product for DICOM - mac-like - international version available - free
(2)
4.5
Hangon
09 July 2006
Version: 2.4.1b9
Much better and stable than our Kodak or Fuji PACS clients at work..... too bad big hospitals are afraid of free software.
(2)
5
Fjwelte
13 February 2006
Version: 2.3
Truly amazing software. Works better than our current PACS and it's free. Why aren't all radiologists using Macs???
(3)
5
Anonymous
19 March 2005
Version: 1.6.1
Simply wonderful. Easy 3d browsing... Exellent work!!!
(1)
5
Anonymous
17 February 2005
Version: 1.6
Antoine... simply the best! and... THANX FOR YOUR WORK AND SUPPORT TO MAC-MED COMMUNITY! greetings from Chile
(2)
Anonymous
17 February 2005
Version: 1.6
I am not a doctor and I don't play one on TV. I don't know jack about any of the stuff this app does. I just like looking at the stuff inside people and this app lets me do it without making a mess. Too Cool!
(2)
3.75
Anonymous
16 February 2005
Version: 1.6
This is an awesome and powerful tool for the Radiologist and Technologist. The money you save on software can be used to buy more powerful hardware, giving the end user a better tool for the same money. The rules for Osirix: 1 Don't skimp on memory. DICOM files are large and need room to run. If time is money, load up on memory. 2 Buy the most CPU you can afford. 3 Get a decent Garphics Card. Although Osirix will run on the base cards Apple ships you will be far happier with a 128MB or better card. 4 Get the Jog/Shuttle imput device. Osirix supports it and makes image manipulation easier.
(1)
4.75
Anonymous
09 February 2005
Version: 1.5.2
Unbelievable project! Not only the best free DICOM software, but simply the best, full stop (i.e. better than all the $$$ commercial applications)! Encompasses (1) DICOM viewer (2) DICOM client (3) DICOM router (4) 3D workstation (5) image fusion (6) DICOM CD burner (7) Import/Export to various formats (...). Very dedicated and dynamic development team, responds instantaneously to user input.
(3)
5
Anonymous
30 December 2004
Version: 1.5.2
it is the best DICOM viewer i know, we us it as a means of reference in dayly work (beside the Laser-printed images); this is the kind of application (for viewing DICOM Images that) radiologists and other doctors need - thanks for this great work
(0)
4.75
R Bridges
21 November 2004
Version: 1.5
Nuclear Medicine viewers provide necessary capabilities not seen in standard PACS systems. LUTs are different and MIP and 3-axis viewing are "musts" for nukes. OsiriX provides a new and powerful link for networks having nuc med cameras. The DICOM capabilities are very good. In a world where basic nuke PACS starts at $5000 per each software package for each computer, installing multiple OsiriX systems in a network and throughout a system is very advantageous. Nuclear Medicine desires wider usage and "spreading the word" by installing Nuke PACS at a great price point (Mac and monitor) is a great breaskthrough.
(0)
5
Anonymous
20 August 2004
Version: 1.4
I'm a medical researcher with a neck problem. I asked for my scan data and I have been bringing my powerbook with me to specialist appointments and going through my cervical MRI and CT scans with them in real time whilst looking at the radiologist's reports. I met with the radiologist and neurosurgeon two weeks ago and they were really impressed. This software is better than many of the commercial *nix packages used in the hospital.
(0)
5
Anonymous
04 July 2004
Version: 1.2.1
Better than my hospital's DICOM viewer... and it's free...
(0)
Show comment (1)
4
Anonymous
02 July 2004
Version: 1.2.1
Great DICOM software. Couple of notes: 1) G3 support has been added, but "quits" upon launch on my iBook (800mHz/ 640MB RAM). If it is going to run on any G3 a maxxed out late model iBook should work. 2) MPR is the only weak feature on this program. It is slow on my G5 (1.8/ 1GB RAM) which should have more than enough horsepower to quickly render MPR. The MPR interface does not work well with a mouse and could more closely conform to the "standard" or usual manipulation interface. Finally, the MPR does not allow for preference selection for slice thickness and interval. I'm not trashing Osirix, it does EVERYTHING else very well and could well be sold at professional prices. My view is that until MPR is brought up to the standard of the rest of the package it should be considered a beta.
(0)
4.75
Anonymous
22 June 2004
Version: 1.2
Genious DICOM Software, very easy to use, very stable (on my Ultrasound and Angiography files), very Fast on 400 MHZ Ti-PowerBook. Thank you very much for your extraordinary work !
(0)
4.5
Anonymous
24 April 2004
Version: 1.0
Excellent software, responsive author. I use this for echcardiography images on my powerbook, and at present there is nothing like this for the mac. It can only get better!
(0)
4.75
Anonymous
22 March 2004
Version: 0.11a
It works fine but as cardiologist and an old Osiris userm please add the capability to read Angio Dicom XA studies too! Have a good work, mimmo di girolamo
(0)
4.5
Shawn-Halpin
21 March 2004
Version: 0.11a
This is serious software. It is absolutley the fastest and bestest DICOM viewer I have ever used, and it is only at an alpha stage. I have been using iRad and xRad, but could never get the database to run, but this worked for me right out of the box, receiving and displaying CT and MR images from my scanners with practically zero configuration. OsiriX has the potential to become a standard and indispensible part of my working life. Finally I can use my Mac as a proper workstation! I find it hard to believe it'll stay free forever. Also check out the authors Radiology teaching program Casim@ge.
(0)