Back to Safari Prairiefire page
Safari Prairiefire free download for Mac

Safari Prairiefire Reviews

1.9.6.3.561
10 June 2015

Helps retire expired Safari bookmarks.

bikerbob38
03 November 2012

Most helpful

Very disappointed. Think I just wasted my money. It is not terribly well designed, is very slow in Mt. Lion. I wrote once for help and then jogged the author's memory twice, over one month, regarding the fact that I had written for help. He promised to get back ASAP but never did. Save your $ and consider another application.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.1.3.53

Read 15 Safari Prairiefire User Reviews

Rate this app:

paulsrandall
23 November 2013
To add to the other's woes, I can't even get current version 1.9.5 (59) to register. I even purchased a new license thinking that my original purchase was quite old. All I got was the same serial number as I purchased in 2004. So, I would not recommend it at all.
Like
Version 1.9.5.3.59
2 answer(s)
Pedrobal
Pedrobal
01 February 2014
Paul, licenses don't expire so you old one is still valid. Please contact me (the dev) for a refund and instruction on how to apply your registration code to the newer version.
Like
paulsrandall
paulsrandall
02 February 2014
Safari Prairiefire started working for me again recently. Thanks for the reply, but there is no need for a refund. Thanks for continuing to support your application.
Like (1)
paulsrandall
23 November 2013
To add to the other's woes, I can't even get current version 1.9.5 (59) to register. I even purchased a new license thinking that my original purchase was quite old. All I got was the same serial number as I purchased in 2004. So, I would not recommend it at all.
Like
Version 1.9.5.3.59
bikerbob38
03 November 2012
Very disappointed. Think I just wasted my money. It is not terribly well designed, is very slow in Mt. Lion. I wrote once for help and then jogged the author's memory twice, over one month, regarding the fact that I had written for help. He promised to get back ASAP but never did. Save your $ and consider another application.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.1.3.53
ffr
31 October 2012
Running OSX Lion (10.7.5) the "admin password" requirement for deleting duplicate bookmarks does not work. I am logged in as an administrative user AND I have enabled the "root" user, neither my password or the "root" user's password gets me past this authentication. Can't delete on 10.7.x??? something's broken.
Like
Version 1.9.1.3.53
dho
15 October 2012
Installed, SBBOD, deleted.
Like
Version 1.9.1.3.53
zo219
18 November 2011
Bookdog will do this. Easily. Sorry, dev.
Like
Version 1.6.0
1 answer(s)
Pedrobal
Pedrobal
14 March 2012
It does, and costs $22.95. Who's sorry?
Like (4)
BiL-C
11 November 2011
download link is broken on both VT and the developer's site.
Like
Version 1.6.0
PorkPieHat
12 January 2011
The worst icon ever.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
1 answer(s)
Pedrobal
Pedrobal
14 January 2011
Hi, this is Peter Berglund at Balooba Software. I agree, please send us a better one. I we like it, we'll use it.
Like (3)
Anonymous
01 June 2004
Have to agree with TexasSon. The problem IS NOT FIXED. I took the author's word that it was and paid my money, but when I tried to delete my unwanted bookmarks, it froze up. When I eventually opened Safari, all my bookmarks were gone. Thankfully it does make a back up, but I also wasted a couple of hours. 0.9.8 may be a somewhat optimistic name, as it doesn't seem nearly ready to reach the 1.0 status.
Like
Version 0.9.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 June 2004
Thanks for your comment! I am desperate to find anybody with this bug because neither I nor the betatesters can reproduce it since the upgrade to 0.9.8. Can you please email me? The email address is in the ReadMe file. /The developer
Like (1)
Version 0.9.8
Anonymous
23 May 2004
I've lost my bookmarks with every version of this app. I've run the program exactly as suggested. Each time it completes checking my bookmarks list, I select the bookmarks that are no long valid, and attempt to delete them, per the developers instructions. My original bookmarks are saved in my documents folder, just as he said they would, so this is no problem. What IS a problem is the 4 hours wasted running the app, and then being left with all the undesirable bookmarks still in my original bookmarks (saved to documents), because after selecting all the undesirable bookmarks in the check boxes, the program begins to delete them, but freezes, giving me the Apple "watch" - from which I have to force quit the program (after waiting 25 minutes just to give it plenty of time to come out of what looks like a freeze). I love the idea of the app, have paid for it, and I suppose it's no big deal to loose the affordable $6 - but I Do mind losing so much of my time to this program. It is NOT ready for prime time. I know, because I am a tech, who gets paid to trouble shoot program like this all day. And yes, I've tried it on more than one Mac, and trouble shot it to death! I'm not mad at the developer-just frustrated.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Jimw
25 February 2004
...a few bucks on validating bookmarks...a few more on sorting bookmarks in another app... a few more on editing or finding duplicates or enhancing the Safari Menu... maybe a few more on displaying favorites. My advice-spend $25 on a single app with good support that does it all, and for most browsers, including Safari - Try URL Manager Pro.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.4
Anonymous
25 February 2004
Here is a review of this excellent little app: This application does what I should have done myself but somehow never felt like. It listed all my 700 bookmarks (I thought I would have about 150!!!) and scanned them all. Since the bookmarks can be sorted, I decided to sort on error code. I decided to delete all with error #404 which is "Page not found". Safari Prairefire deleted the checked bookmarks in a few seconds. I then deleted some other bookmarks not because they were expired but because I stopped visiting them. Some bookmarks I cannot even remember adding. I now have about 300 bookmarks and Safari feels more snappy. Not sure if that is true but it feels like I have just cleaned up the basement of my house! I cannot say how long it would have taken me to manually scan those bookmarks and go back and delete the expired ones. The best bet is to say that I would never have done it and my list would have kept growing and growing. I recommend the great utility to anyone that has been using Safari for a while or started off by importing old bookmarks from previous browsers. You will be surprised what you find. The application has still room to grow. All bookmarks are presented in a long list. It would be nice to also see how they are sorted in folders, subfolders etc. Not all the time (one list is clearer) but the option would be great. Also, according to the Mac UI guidelines this kind of app should have brushed metal windows (it presents a selectable list). The author has an option for this but the prefs seem to have no effect. Another thing is that it would be good if the app could somehow explain what the site error codes mean. The deletion process was not flawless either. Once when I had selected many bookmarks and deleted them Safari did not seem to recognize the bookmarks.plist file and opened up without any bookmarks. It was not problem as Prairefire saved a backup and all I had to do was to click "Restore" to get the bookmarks back. Overall very easy to use, intuitive interface, a very nice utility with very few glitches and with a functionality that really should be built into Safari.
Like
Version 0.9.4
Anonymous
19 February 2004
You're better off using the FREE BookmarkCheck: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13046
Like
Version 0.9.2
Anonymous
18 February 2004
Application seems to work ok, but the Demo (Light) Mode, is extremely limited. It will only scan 2 URLs. And only the first 2 URLs. I selected 2 other URLs, and it won't scan those. Darn. The ReadMe says it's quite useful in this state, but I disagree, it is, but for only 2 URLs. I would contribute to the project, but I'm not sure if the application works because the first 2 URLs are OK.
Like
Version 0.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 February 2004
The Demo scans 10% of the bookmarks. If you have 560 (like I do) it scans the first 56. -Developer
Like
Version 0.9
adam jackson
18 February 2004
Hey Balloob! Mike Sent me the Chat transcirpt from last night! I wish I could have been a help to the naming of this software. Congrats on the release! I am glad to see your stuff on macupdate. I have already downloaded it.
Like
Version 0.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 February 2004
Hi Adam, yes that discussion was really fun. So many great suggestions, and some not so great:) See you in Panther-baloooba
Like
Version 0.9