Back to TimeNet page
TimeNet free download for Mac

TimeNet Reviews

5.0
24 January 2020

Track your work, create beautiful invoices, and run powerful reports.

akrasia7
28 March 2015

Most helpful

I don't often do reviews, but I felt compelled to create an account just so I could make a comment on how happy I am with the TimeNet software and their customer service. First, the upgrade from 3 to 4 is great! New UI, new features, and everything works a treat. I'm a PhD student with lots of different jobs (i.e. proofreading), so TimeNet really helps me keep on top of jobs and invoicing. I sent an email with a few feature requests (i.e. the ability to have more than 2 decimal places), and Perry emailed back the same day saying that they'd add them in the next update...and they have! I've been pleasantly surprised at how willing they are to make changes to make their customers' experience with the software easier and more productive. I shopped around for ages and had trials of other software (i.e. On The Job), but I know I definitely made the right choice. There are so many more hidden gems that TimeNet can do, I'm so glad I chose it. Hats off to you, AppleSource!
Like (3)
Version 4.0.1

Read 34 TimeNet User Reviews

Rate this app:

akrasia7
28 March 2015
I don't often do reviews, but I felt compelled to create an account just so I could make a comment on how happy I am with the TimeNet software and their customer service. First, the upgrade from 3 to 4 is great! New UI, new features, and everything works a treat. I'm a PhD student with lots of different jobs (i.e. proofreading), so TimeNet really helps me keep on top of jobs and invoicing. I sent an email with a few feature requests (i.e. the ability to have more than 2 decimal places), and Perry emailed back the same day saying that they'd add them in the next update...and they have! I've been pleasantly surprised at how willing they are to make changes to make their customers' experience with the software easier and more productive. I shopped around for ages and had trials of other software (i.e. On The Job), but I know I definitely made the right choice. There are so many more hidden gems that TimeNet can do, I'm so glad I chose it. Hats off to you, AppleSource!
Like (3)
Version 4.0.1
Jeff-H-
09 August 2010
I have been using TimeNet software for years now and its always worked well for me. Is there any way to make this work on a network? In other words I have two computers in my office that I work from, is there anyway to have a common TimeNet folder that can be accessed, added-to, and backed-up across a network? This would also be very helpful as I plan to add another employee that will be working on said network. Thanks in advance...
Like (1)
Version 3.9.28
3 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
09 August 2010
Never mind...you can! Read it in the manual.
Like
Version 3.9.28
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
12 September 2011
Just another update... Great program until you update to a newer Mac. If you "backup" from TimeNet you can't later import this info back in...WTF? Totally hosed on all my data!!! Shame lack of this feature!!! Are you insane? Very mad right now!
Like
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
01 October 2012
BTW, I was mistaken about importing my backed up data. My fault! I was able to and all is well! Great software!
Like
Jrf
15 November 2009
This is the first time I've written a review for a piece of software - TimeNet keeps my billing, timekeeping and invoicing organized - and the support is amazingly responsive. Simple to use - and when you have a problem the developer is graciously helpful.
Like (1)
Version 3.9.23
Designhaley
16 January 2009
I love this software. you can look around at all the others, but in the end trust me you will want this one. It does everything+looks and runs great, and best of all it's so easy to use. Support is really great too, several emailed questions were all replied to within a few minutes and the company seems very friendly!! It does everything, it's incredibly easy to use, the support is great, the price is low. This product is unbelievable, I don't know where I would be without TimeNet! :o)
Like (1)
Version 3.9.20
Stevenhall
14 August 2008
I'm rarely moved to write a review; and usually when I am it's because a product is exceptional. This is the first time I've ever been moved to write a review simply to point out how bad something is, and have even gone to the trouble of setting up a username just for the purpose. After forking out a considerable amount of money for this software I hit rocky ground very early on when it came to using it. With the date format set to UK (DD/MM/YYYY), it simply won't let me choose the correct year first time around! It always plumps for 0008 if I set any date other than today. Worse than this, there is no way to correct it by typing the year in the relevant field (which I could perhaps just about live with); rather, I have to cycle through the years to get to the current one - so correcting the year for every task is a two thousand click procedure! The product is therefore unusable. I have logged this bug with AppleSource and despite chasing have had no reply. Am considering what course of action I can take to get my money back. Never been so annoyed by a piece of software before.
Like (3)
Version 3.9.15
Lastobelus
15 December 2007
Well this one took me less than two minutes to discard. Made a couple tasks, selected one, started timer. Tried to switch tasks. I have to go up to the timer button, pause it, go back to the tasks, select one, then start the timer again?!? Pitch!
Like (1)
Version 3.9.13
2 answer(s)
Whit-g
Whit-g
26 June 2008
And that was worth giving an otherwise decent application ONE star? I don't think TimeNet is for me (I'm currently evaluating invoice/billing managers), but it's clearly worth more than that. If you haven't given it enough of a chance to make a fair evaluation, post a comment, not a rating.
Like (2)
Version 3.9.14
akrasia7
akrasia7
28 March 2015
All this has changed now. TimeNet 4 runs really smoothly! I haven't had a problem with the timers yet.
Like
Paige
02 October 2007
I just want to thank Perry for his time in helping me with a small glitch in my dowload program. I was a little frustrated at first...but with his help and patience, he figured out what my issue was and solved it in a timely manner. I'm so happy I choose this software than any other billing program. It's nice to actually have someone directly help you rather than sitting on a telephone for hours and not getting anything accomplished. Perry felt horrible about the time it took to repair the problem. The problem came up on a friday and he worked on it til the evening and over the weekend....when I wouldn't even expect to. I am refreshed to know that when I have a question about this product...someone will be there ASAP to help me solve it. Thanks Perry!!!! Paige
Like (1)
Version 3.9.13
Stevelg
30 September 2007
I'd also like to comment on Timenet, re the interaction between musi's comments and aljuk. To aljuk, obviously musi is not the developer, as I too know the developer spent some time relocating (as was mentioned on Applesource's forums if you'd checked it out), leading to a drop in updates (as musi noted in his reply to your post). Despite your cynicism, could musi have been a happy customer? I don't know, but it seems more likely than your interpretation of them as the developer. With respect, what are your comments worth, when they are obviously incorrect, and therefore nothing more than uninformed opinion? So why vent then here as fact? I can say to those considering using this software, don't listen to the silly opinions of others. Try the software for yourself. And decide for yourself. Its a simple step to check out the forums, and see how often or not issues are addressed. As for me, I have used TimeNet for a number of years, and have found it to be well supported (except for the time of relocation already mentioned, when support lagged). It works well for me. But its up to you to assess if it works well for YOU and your situation.
Like
Version 3.9.13
onamac
30 September 2007
Oh, and no, I'm not associated with that company, just observing. If I like a software enough to post about it, it will usually be an overall good review, as I do believe in giving credit where credit is due. I did try demos of the other apps, and this one was nice. So was MacBusiness, but this one was a little quicker and I liked the interface better. But I do believe everyone's experiences are subjective and won't necessarily reflect my own (e.g. many people had problems with certain OS versions yet I did not). So like you, I read all reviews with a grain of salt, and also bear in mind that many may be written by someone who's 13. Not that there is anything wrong with being young of course, but I wouldn't expect their focus of what is important, and assessments/take on things to be the same as my own. So yes, I agree with you about being skeptical about reviews. For the most part though, I find reviews helpful and I'm glad they are available.
Like
Version 3.9.13
Squareone
07 September 2007
Time is money when you're running a small business. TimeNet is the best! Easy to learn. Fun to use. Brilliant!
Like (1)
Version 3.9.11
Applesource
16 August 2007
Our website is back up. Sorry for the inconvenience!! =(
Like
Version 3.9.9
talazem-2
15 August 2007
Just d/l'ed 3.9.9. Looks quite nice, except for a fatal flaw: after entering a task or item, and then reopening it, it changes the date by itself. To add to the matter, the website is currently down due to bandwidth limit excess. Like I said -- it does look quite good, but I don't see how to trust a time-task app that changes the dates of its entries, or whose help or forums can't be reached.
Like
Version 3.9.9
Aljuk
15 August 2007
"There was a time where the developer had been in transition as he was relocating..." Really MUSI? And how would you know? The problem with so many of these "reviews" is that one never really knows who's writing them. Personally I would put money on the last two having been written by the developer as a crude attempt to bolster his somewhat tainted image. This is the same company who promote Master Of My Domain, a bug-infested piece of non-functional s/w for which they are still taking money, not offering refunds, backup, or any customer service whatsoever. Tread with caution.
Like
Version 3.9.9
1 answer(s)
onamac
onamac
30 September 2007
The developer referenced his relocation on the Applesource (Timenet) forum-that's how I knew. Back then there were many people worried on that forum that Timenet had been abandoned because there was no activity for a while with the software AND the forum, when it had once been very active. It seems that the guy is back on track now because there have been many recent updates. I've used the software for nearly 2 years and it's a good one, and the new updates are addressing some glitches it had.
Like
Version 3.9.13
onamac
10 August 2007
I bought this product well over a year ago and use it every day. When I was deciding which program to buy, I demoed this against iBiz, Time Slice, Billings, MacBusiness, and iRatchet; and although those programs were well done and had some feature I did like, I ultimately chose TimeNet to purchase, because I loved the way it handled a transaction from start to finish. I could enter a new transaction and be totally finished with it in less than a half a minute. It also has the Manager so I could see at a glance who still owed me money, and when that person paid me, I could easily mark it paid. Other programs do not offer the ability to see the client synopsis list; only the projects are shown, etc. The other thing I loved about it is that invoices could be changed long after the fact... even after having been archived, which is necessary for my business since some clients end up adding to or getting a discount afterwards, so it is very flexible that way. Other programs "lock it in" and once it is invoiced, it can't be changed, or even deleted. I like a flexible program that stays fluid at all times for the way I choose to work, and TimeNet does. Others make me have to delete a transaction, start over, etc. In reponse to the bad review, I would hate for anyone to be turned off by this user's experience. It certainly has not been the case for me. I had no problem with the demo either. There was a time where the developer had been in transition as he was relocating, so there seemed a period where TimeNet did not get its customarily prompt updates (so people probably got nervous); but he did continue to develop it. I've emailed the developer a couple times with questions, and he responded promptly and courteously. He is very open to suggestions for upcoming versions. I had made one suggestion and it was in a new version the next day. Without a doubt, I still know I made the right choice. TimeNet is a fantastic program and is a hands-down winner!
Like
Version 3.9.5
Dihakz
07 August 2007
I've made a HUGE mistake sending any money to this "company". The software is very shoddy (not just this product, but also Master of my Domain -- do not buy either) and the support is completely lacking. 1. Trial version will show you nothing, encouraging you to buy before you've had the chance to adequately decide if it is worth it. 2. Serial number takes about a WEEK to arrive. 3. Support emails will mostly go ignored, deny you have any sort of problem (even if it is crashing consistently). 4. Any attempts to resolve, including, but not limited to, requesting a refund will similarly go ignored. Customer service is about as good as the quality of programming and technical support: NIL! Unfortunately, I really have thrown my money away. I'm left with a piece of garbage that will not run, and a hole in my bank account where my money once was. I tried to resolve the dispute with PayPal and with the developer. A refund is not given, nor were my issues even addressed. I really hope that this will help someone out there before they decide to drop any money on it. One more thing: I think they're a scam. The trial version is so badly limited, that you feel almost required to buy, just to TRY it. Once you buy, it takes eons to receive a serial number. Only then do you discover that it crashes incessantly making it completely unusable. Support is a joke. Learn from my mistake!!
Like
Version 3.9
Carhart
04 June 2007
Oops... I forgot to add a rating, so here it is!
Like
Version 3.6.6
Carhart
04 June 2007
I have been impressed with TimeNet since I began using the software almost 2 years ago. In that time, I have checked out some of the other Macintosh billing software out there (iBiz, iRatchet, Studiometry, & Billings) and none of them could touch TimeNet! I love it!!!
Like
Version 3.6.6
montypolechic
21 December 2006
Universal Binary is just what I needed. I love your software more every day. But hey! You removed the cute startup sound. I was used to hearing that every morning while I sipped my coffee. :-p Keep it up!
Like
Version 3.5.1
Hal2007
11 January 2006
Hmmm, sounds ridiculous, but this otherwise classy app has severe problems to remember my charges. My default currency is € (Euro). I enter 40 €/HR in preferences > charges and start to work. Next time I open the job sheet, the sum is re-calculated. A quick look at the prefs shows my hourly rate now at 40.000 €/HR. Quite a fine rate, BTW, but that's not what I expected this app to do: changing the rates at random and by own will. Sorry, unusable for me yet.
Like
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Aljuk
Aljuk
09 July 2007
Did you make a typo? 40.000 €/HR is the same as 40 €/HR...
Like
Version 3.8
Aname
06 December 2005
I have some questions to either the developer or any users who might now: - Does this program support world's most logic date format, YYYY-MM-DD ? - When using TimeNext in Networking mode, do I have to -manually- mount a network disc each time I want to sync my employee's TimeNet data with mine, or is there some way I can set up a permanent network route (á la 'one-click-sync')? - Does it have, or will it support in the futire, iCal interoperability? The benefits of being able to use it with iCal are enormeous. The functions of TimeNet seems very concise and hands-on, so I'm curious to know about these things before I decide which of the available billing apps I should buy.
Like
Version 3.3
Anonymous
20 November 2005
Mac billing software all looks the same. I'm not a fan of the one window everything clustered together interface. I also need the ability to create invoice templates. iRatchet has lots of features, and the developer is a very nice, responsive guy. Unfortunately, there are too many bugs and the interface is extremely cluttered. iBiz is.. well we won't go there. DO NOT buy iBiz. What else is there? TimeCache, Project Timer.. those apps are a joke. There is one that I've seen, a shining star in a plethora of otherwise dimly lit space debris. Most features, cleanest interface, best support (BLOWN away by their support alone). Which app is that? It's the one you're looking at right now. Download it, try it, fall in love, and buy it. I promise you'll never look back.
Like
Version 3.2.9
Anonymous
19 November 2005
I run a small freelance business over here in the UK,and over the last year have downloaded everything that I thought could help me keep track of my clients, projects and associated info. Everything I tried seemed to suffer from software 'bloat', they were difficult to pick up and run with straight away, and most had a steep learning curve. I don't have the time to learn any new curves as I'm always out working, as we all are. All I wanted was an app that I could flop down in front of each evening, and spend the minimum time necessary to keep on top of my workdays. Timenet Pro is it. I downloaded it, and within 5 minutes I'd entered my clients, the rates I charge, and all ancillary info. After 15 minutes use, and one question to the developer,(answered 5 minutes later!) I bought the app and haven't looked back. Slick, easy to use, intuitive, looks good (especially the invoices it produces), and by far the best piece of business software I have ever downloaded.Try it, this is seriously good software.
Like
Version 3.2.9
Anonymous
02 November 2005
damn!! this is perfect. . .what a breath of fresh aire after using all other silly billing programs out there!!
Like
Version 3.1.5
Anonymous
30 October 2005
I've been using iBiz for a number of months. If iBiz has one feature that really shines, its the ability to make your head spin. Inaccuracies with billing, bugs with disappearing clients and data, a horribly out-of-shape interface, and off-the-wall organization make me GLAD to leave this one in the dust. After months of searching for a time and billing app, I finally found the right one. Let me first start by saying that TimeNet has the best user interface I have ever seen in any program of this genre. It's self-explanatory, clean, and deceptively simple. My biggest complain with this software in the past was the inability to edit your invoice templates. With this latest release, the developers have fixed that issue and really done a great job of making the templates clean and easy to modify. I've yet to find a bug, or even a minor annoyance, really. I've grown accustom to having to put up with things, so it's a refreshing change to have everything just work. It has all the features I want, right there, no bugs, it's fast, and it's elegant. TimeNet isn't perfect, because perfection is an unattainable goal. However, I sincerely believe that this is as close to perfect as I've ever, or will ever, see in any time and billing program. You should check this out right now. I don't think you'll be sorry.
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
25 October 2005
Great work! Once again, the guys at Applesource churn out yet another amazing piece of software. Complimented by its smooth interface and brilliant ease-of-use, TimeNet 3.0 is, as the developers so eloquently put it, "undeniably Mac."
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
25 October 2005
was looking at this app a few weeks ago and this update caught my eye. the developer is friendly and very responsive and the new version stands to create some serious waves in this market. i think we have a new top dog.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
20 July 2005
Tried this out for a good couple of hours and have a few comments. The interface is nice although a little quirky (such adding clients via the preferences?!) but the output and reporting is most unsatisfactory. The invoices look terrible (and as a programme touted at Graphic Designers, amongst others, a nice looking invoice is as important as your work). The reporting features both on screen and within the actual invoice are hopeless. There is no actual invoice date, only the dates you started and finished the work (which frankly who cares); no indication in the list of unpaid invoices how overdue they might be; and although this may not bother anyone else, I tried entering all the invoices for this tax year only to find it creates aa hidden invoice date based on the date you generated the invoice so I had to reset the sytem date for each invoice, otherwise it cannot calculate late payment interest. As much time developing the reporting and output aspects of this app as was spent honing the interface would result in a neat and very useable application. As it stands... hmmmm...
Like
Version 2.9
Anonymous
28 April 2005
TimeNet works well enough, but it is over-priced for what you get. Anyone running a business will (or should) already have a proper accounting app that will do your invoicing. That way your books are all linked (e.g. invoices/receiveables/tax payable) and tracking your finances is a lot easier. For tracking time on projects or files, my suggestion is OfficeTime (http://www.officetime.net). It is half the price of TimeNet and offers just as slick an interface for tracking time and disbursement expenses.
Like
Version 2.9
Anonymous
11 September 2004
I tried the other three. see first posting, but came back to this one. It need some improvements and an invoice editor so you can change it into your own language. But that seems to be comming up. Not bad at all.
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
11 June 2004
Sorry, but, from what I've seen, there are at least three apps like this which do the same thing for about one fourth the price! iWork, MyTime, TimeBandit...
Like
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Perry Fjellman
Perry Fjellman
12 June 2004
TimeNet offers much more than these other programs, in a much neater and simpler package. The cost difference is negligible, and "you get what you pay for". Ask any of our hundreds of satisfied users.
Like
Version 2.4
Jory
26 May 2004
After reading the reviews here, I decided to try it out. However, as soon as the app creates its Data folder, it becomes intensely unstable. In fact, I couldn't get past the shareware nag at the program start. It keeps crashing to the desktop. I thought I'd take a look at the prefs files it created and was shocked to see that they were: 1) stored in the application's folder 2) flat file databases (not XML) The app, for the few seconds I got to see it, looks nice, but has some drawbacks to its interface design: 1) Pulling directly from the Apple Address Book is great, but doing it from a pop-up menu is useless. The app should let you type the name and fill in with its best guess as to the existing entry. 2) When adding a new billing category ($/hr), it took me several tries to figure out how to type in a number, as the field would replace what I typed with it's original guess, since it put the "/hr" in the field while I was typing. 3) When adding a new billing category, it should allow you to type the name of the category right away, without further mousing or clicking. If you have a large number of categories, having to click "+", then double-click the category name, then select the template text before entering the name, is a lot of unnecessary work! All-in-all, I think this program has some nice ideas, but needs refinement.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Applesource
Applesource
26 May 2004
The crashing bug has been fixed. It was due to an Address Book error in Apple's core access routine that we were using. We've since removed Address Book integration until the bug is sorted out, and we can refine how it is integrated, as per your comments.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
19 May 2004
I found this to be the best time management app for contractors/consultants I've found so far for the Mac. Would like a bit more flexibility with generating invoices, but otherwise it is a very solid app with a good featureset.
Like
Version 1.95
Anonymous
10 May 2004
Whilst promising, I got a NilObjectException whilst the timer was running the background, one when I tried to generate an invoice, and one when I tried to save a project. Then, it might be my system.
Like
Version 1.95
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 July 2004
You used the word "whilst" twice in one sentence. You should be flogged. Once is way bad enough. Michael
Like
Version 2.5.1
Anonymous
20 March 2004
TimeNet is definitely the best choice I've seen for invoicing on MacOS X. It's so simple to use and so powerful. After using it for three days, I saw how it could and would benefit my business. I'm a consultant, and having the timer running on my computer is an awesome way to actually show people that they really ARE paying for my services! I bought 4 copies for my company and got a nice discount. AppleSource is top-notch in my book.
Like
Version 1.9