Back to Soundflower page
Soundflower free download for Mac

Soundflower Reviews

21 July 2017

Allows applications to pass audio to other applications (beta).

How would you rate Soundflower?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
christinev594
christinev594
Mar 23 2021
2.0b2
0.0
Mar 23 2021
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
It's still usable in 2021?
Ari-Tj
Ari-Tj
Dec 17 2020
2.0b2
5.0
Dec 17 2020
5.0
Version: 2.0b2
It enables me to select specific input source and output target for my Mac.
Atalantia
Atalantia
Aug 6 2020
2.0b2
1.0
Aug 6 2020
1.0
Version: 2.0b2
I prefer BlackHole. Simply because Rogue Amoeba don't have there's paws involved. The software they produce are close to viruses,
david-169
david-169
Jun 12 2020
2.0b2
0.0
Jun 12 2020
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
it is important to take note of the following, "Soundflower is free, open-source, and runs on Mac Intel and PPC computers." It does not work on iOS devices or laptops. If you have upgraded to iOS seek other options. I am looking for an iOS solution for Catalina 10.15.4. If you have found something as an alternative please share. Much Thanks !
Marba
Marba
Jun 7 2020
2.0b2
0.0
Jun 7 2020
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
I am puzzled at the Pros & Cons as it contains conflicting statements. Pros = “Ease of use” vs Cons = “Obtuse interface” & “Difficult to setup”
tchayatorn
tchayatorn
May 12 2020
2.0b2
0.0
May 12 2020
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
I've already installed Soundflower on my Mac, it should have Soundflower icon appear on the icon bar but my screen don't have. Then I've checked install app in Finder>Application, there is no Soundflower app too. But I found Soundflower item in Sound icon (System Preference > Sound). Did I finish the installation or I have to do something else?
marcwkohler
marcwkohler
Apr 29 2020
2.0b2
0.0
Apr 29 2020
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
Hi: I downloaded Soundflower, so I could transcribe videos that I have on youtube through Google Docs. I set up the Google Docs to rereads typing, and turned the video on, and nothing happened. Any suggestions?
matteolombardi
matteolombardi
Apr 8 2020
2.0b2
0.0
Apr 8 2020
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
trying to install it on Mac OS Catalina, but I guess it does not work for it no? thanks!
kerhysreilly
kerhysreilly
Dec 17 2019
2.0b2
0.0
Dec 17 2019
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
So I have successfully downloaded this on my macbook following the helpful restart comment on here but for some reason it won't download on my mac where i needed it in the first place! If anyone could help it would be super appreciated :) I've ran uninstall script and restarted but nothing :(
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Oct 5 2018
2.0b2
0.0
Oct 5 2018
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
@Macupdate, The 2.0b2 was released in 2014, not 2017. At least this is the case on Github. There might be other people than Matt Ingalls that have shared their own compilations, but the link here is for the "official". Github version.

There are no new additions to the master source code since 2017 either except for the ReadMe. Please correct the date or link to a binary from 2017.
jollytimes16
jollytimes16
Dec 7 2017
2.0b2
0.0
Dec 7 2017
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
new iMac 10.13.1

"Installation encountered an error" and Fails.

go to privacy (where i have Already allowed apps from "anywhere")
and it says that "some system software was blocked from loading"...
no specifics as to who/where - just an "allow" button which, when
clicked, makes no difference. retry, same identical sequence.

i then tried a "signed" version of the app... some exact result.

WHAT GIVES?? ANY HELP APPRECIATED! -bob
thedieters
thedieters
Aug 13 2017
2.0b2
0.0
Aug 13 2017
0.0
Version: 2.0b2
I just tried to download Soundflower. Followed all install instruction. I got a message that said the install was successful. Then nothing. I could not locate the app anywhere.
mau-others
mau-others
Jul 30 2017
2.0b2
5.0
Jul 30 2017
5.0
Version: 2.0b2
Great little piece of code. Extremely useful ! I like it !
Joseluismen
Joseluismen
Apr 11 2016
1.6.6
0.0
Apr 11 2016
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
This program has happened through several developers: Cycling '74, Rogue Amoeba and now Matt Ingalls. Matt project is <https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower> and the ultimate beta version is on <https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower/releases/tag/2.0b2>. This is a signed version for Yosemite/Mavericks and El Capitan.

And Rogue Amoeba now this creating a new app named loopback of payment, very similar to Soundflower, but created program from zero for the new operating systems.
naicke
naicke
Nov 16 2015
1.6.6
5.0
Nov 16 2015
5.0
Version: 1.6.6
Achtung, wenn man die Version 1.6.6 herunterlädt dann bekommt man kein Soundflower Plugin sondern Malware. Macupdate macht das jetzt auch so wie chip.de. die neuesete Version bekommt ihr hier: https://soundflower.googlecode.com/files/Soundflower-1.6.6b.dmg
djmattm2002
djmattm2002
Nov 5 2015
1.6.6
2.5
Nov 5 2015
2.5
Version: 1.6.6
I'll be blunt and honest, which is going to sound negative to most. It works good.....when it's not crackling, popping, or buzzing like an MRI machine. If I'm recording a video via Quicktime...it works fine for 2-5 minutes. After that it starts spazzing out. After 2-3 years with it, I've given up trying to figure out what exactly the cause of the problem is and the solution. This is the fastest mac pro that can possibly be built, and as far as software...well its simply a soundflower issue, nothing else on this machine does that shit when the audio is routed normally. If the pops, crackling and that seriously annoying buzzing that threatens to blow out my eardrums would stop I'd give it a higher rating.
Steve K
Steve K
Sep 17 2015
1.6.6
0.0
Sep 17 2015
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
So 1.6.6 and 1.6.7 don't work with the El Capitan GM, probably because how it deals with kexts and it's new Rootless security feature. I spent a half hour rummaging around the internet looking for a compiled version that works and I found it. The installer is "Soundflower-2.0b2.dmg" and can be downloaded from GitHub at the link below. I hope this helps somebody. https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower/releases Under the subhead Downloads - "Soundflower-2.0b2.dmg"
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jun 27 2015
1.6.6
0.0
Jun 27 2015
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
1.6.7 is the latest: https://github.com/RogueAmoeba/Soundflower/releases
kayentn
kayentn
Jun 20 2015
1.6.6
1.0
Jun 20 2015
1.0
Version: 1.6.6
I tried several times to install on my new Mac, but didn't complete properly. Sound output shows it's not there, and there is no uninstaller in the folder. I'm new to the Mac and am feeling pretty concerned after reading Bowlerboy's warning (below) from a year ago about installing on Maverick. My mac came installed with Maverick and I upgraded to Yosemite. Can someone please help me get this installed correctly, or get it removed correctly? Any recommendations for alternative software to include computer's audio when I'm recording a Quicktime screencast of a video? Thanks
AlbertF9652
AlbertF9652
Jun 12 2015
1.6.6
1.0
Jun 12 2015
1.0
Version: 1.6.6
Version 1.6.6 (as well as 1.6.5) installed on MacPro6,1 - but failed to record using Quicktime Player per online instructions (OS 10.10.3). Both links in readme file are inactive so assume this software not being maintained anymore? Uninstaller script easily removes which was convenient. Used to use WiretapPro, but don't use enough to pay for the upgrade to Wiretap Studio.
sendtheo
sendtheo
Jan 28 2015
1.6.6
4.0
Jan 28 2015
4.0
Version: 1.6.6
Soundflower neatly captures all sounds of my computer, except iReal Pro (Band in a Box-like program). Strange... What could be the cause?
tbluhp
tbluhp
Dec 3 2014
1.6.6
1.0
Dec 3 2014
1.0
Version: 1.6.6
How do you remove this driver?
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
Nov 10 2014
1.6.6
5.0
Nov 10 2014
5.0
Version: 1.6.6
works fine under Yosemite :-) I have a Presonus SL 16/4/2 AI connected via Firewire.... It works like under Mavericks... no issues so far...! I tried all other and non of them let me switch to specific channels on my Persons. My Computer Playback need sent to channel 17/18 to my Presonus... Non of the other Audi Switcher here let me do this exept Soundflower. So if you are a Dev plz download the Source and compile SoundFlower with the new Xcode! That will help to solve most issues other have...
dummyD5893
dummyD5893
Jun 24 2014
1.6.6
5.0
Jun 24 2014
5.0
Version: 1.6.6
I have Soundflower 1.6.6 on Mavericks 10.9.3 and it works fine.
Francky76
Francky76
May 26 2014
1.6.6
0.0
May 26 2014
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
SoundFlower is really a useful app, allowing to re-route sound from one application to another, thus allowing you to record any audio played on your computer. I was about to use it to record a VOIP phone conversation. Too bad it's not compatible with Maverick. I hope the dev will find the time to fix the issue Best regards and thanks no matter what, for the great app !!
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
May 15 2014
1.6.6
0.0
May 15 2014
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
Avoid installing SoundFlower if you are using Mavericks. SoundFlower version 1.6.6 beta is not compatible with Mavericks. I just went through three (3) days of my MacPro suddenly crashing and automatically restarting more than a dozen time due to this culprit. It is an extension (kext) that gets loaded into your System's Library folder. Every Panic Report that I sent to Apple pointed out that SunFlower's extension was the cause, but it took a long phone call with a smart Senior Level tech support at Apple to read the Panic Reports I sent her and interpret what they meant. She said that there are several Apple discussions identifying SoundFlower as the culprit for crashes in Mavericks. I did not read them, but I take her word for it. To eliminate SoundFlower, or as she put, "nuke it from orbit," use these commands in Terminal, one after the other, then Restart your Mac: sudo kextunload /System/Library/Extensions/Soundflower.kext sudo rm -r /System/Library/Extensions/Soundflower.kext I have had SnapZ Pro installed on my systems for years without problems, but I believe that the version 1.6.6 beta version of SoundFlower, which I recently downloaded and installed as an "upgrade" caused havoc in my Mac Pro due to its inability to play nice in Mavericks. A separate File Buddy search for "SoundFlower" reveals that the application, its receipt files, its .plist files, and its fellow travelers still reside on my hard drive. So, I will have to remove all traces of the application and its cousins independently of running the SUDO commands, which are the only way to eradicate the extension that will plague you to death from the system's memory.
WesP1925
WesP1925
Apr 24 2014
1.6.6
0.0
Apr 24 2014
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
The certificate for Soundflower has NOT been REVOKED. It EXPIRED. There's a big difference. If you don't understand what the big difference is, you probably shouldn't be allowed around computers. Or cars, small children, or other dangerous objects.
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
Feb 25 2014
1.6.6
0.0
Feb 25 2014
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
FYI: With Mavericks, my kernal_task starting using 1.2 GB of memory with Soundflower installed. I did a lot of searching and a number of reliable troubleshooting sites said that Soundflower had found to be a culprit. When when I removed the Soundflower .kext file, my kernal_task immediately dropped to down to 487 MB. I think AudioHijack Pro, or Audacity, might have originally installed it. Just FYI, if you find your kernal_task mysteriously large, and you have Soundflower installed...it could be the culprit...
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
Dec 25 2013
1.6.6
0.0
Dec 25 2013
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
Version 1.6.5 is specific to OS X 10.6.+ The alternative versions section of this listing should include this link as well. Information on the homesite is also incorrect as well for the most recent version of SoundFlower usable on 10.6.+
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
Dec 25 2013
1.6.6
0.0
Dec 25 2013
0.0
Version: 1.6.6
The homesite for this software is incorrect. See the following instead.... http://cycling74.com/products/
Unblocktheplanet
Unblocktheplanet
Nov 23 2013
1.6.6
2.5
Nov 23 2013
2.5
Version: 1.6.6
Hmmm. I just installed Audio Hijack Pro because the volume on my MBP is so pitiful. See here: http://www.macyourself.com/2010/03/03/maximum-volume-still-too-quiet-make-macbook-speakers-louder/. This instructs the user to use Soundflower from inside Audio Hijack but I can't figger out how to do it. Help? Bottom line: Will Soundflower work on 10.9 or not?
Philaphan
Philaphan
Feb 17 2013
1.6.5
5.0
Feb 17 2013
5.0
Version: 1.6.5
Changed my review.
Philaphan
Philaphan
Jan 18 2013
1.6.5
5.0
Jan 18 2013
5.0
Version: 1.6.5
I am running OSX 10.8.2 on a MacMini and cannot install SF 1.6.5. When I try to open the DMG, I get a message that this DMG cannot be opened and should be dismounted.
Cgc
Cgc
Jan 4 2013
1.6.5
3.0
Jan 4 2013
3.0
Version: 1.6.5
Good but I ran into problems where my sound output would be redirected to an output that doesn't exist effectively muting my Mac until I go into the prefs and change the sound output. Really annoying so I uninstalled Soundflower and it's still redirecting my sound output to Soundflower which mutes it again. How do I uninstall Soundflower?
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
Dec 17 2012
1.6.5
0.0
Dec 17 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.5
I'm using 1.6.6b on 10.8.2 and it doesn't work. I can hear clicking when I open up Quicktime and my other audio program but no sound is being passed through.
Paul-Mullins
Paul-Mullins
Oct 29 2012
1.6.5
4.0
Oct 29 2012
4.0
Version: 1.6.5
It's now the end of October and the developer has issued updates that DO work on Mountain Lion (well they did for me using Audacity to record). Not sure if this is the latest version, I got mine from Google... but it works perfectly (a life saver while waiting for WireTap Studio to get an update)
Bob Jacobson
Bob Jacobson
Oct 19 2012
1.6.5
0.0
Oct 19 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.5
I note both in these Comments and in the Apple Forums that there is no sure way to uninstall Soundflower from the Sound pane in System Preferences if you no longer have the application. This is unacceptable. The developer should post a solution on its website.
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
Sep 27 2012
1.6.5
0.0
Sep 27 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.5
I am not sure which update it was but after some 1.5 I think Soundflowerbed stopped to work. If I redirect all audio output to soundflower I still can hear sound no matter what setting will be set in Soundflowerbed. If any dev is here present I can make screencast
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
Aug 7 2012
1.6.5
0.0
Aug 7 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.5
This version cannot be installed in ML, previous version Soundflower-1.6.2.1 yes, that one works.
oklair1
oklair1
Jul 31 2012
1.6.2.1
0.0
Jul 31 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.2.1
Version 1.6.5 is now available
7evfen
7evfen
Jul 31 2012
1.6.2.1
3.5
Jul 31 2012
3.5
Version: 1.6.2.1
As a run through for Native Instruments Maschine, it's the way to go!
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
Jul 24 2012
1.6.2.1
0.0
Jul 24 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.2.1
The downloaded version is not v1.6.2.1 only 1.6.2
Julianvelez
Julianvelez
Jul 9 2012
1.6.2.1
0.0
Jul 9 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.2.1
I FOUND A SOLUTION!!!! Open Terminal, then paste in this sudo kextutil /System/Library/Extensions/Soundflower.kext type in your password and have a nice day! If it still doesn't work, then uninstall it, then download the newest version and repast the code into terminal and type in your password. Best regards, Julian Velez
Tachy0n
Tachy0n
May 13 2012
1.6.2.1
0.0
May 13 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.2.1
I wish they would just say on their website if it is compatible with Lion.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Mar 19 2012
1.6.2.1
0.0
Mar 19 2012
0.0
Version: 1.6.2.1
I'm having trouble getting this to work with a standalone flash player in VMWare on Win XP -- anyone have success capturing internal audio from VMWare? TIA
Durandal
Durandal
Feb 9 2012
1.5.2
4.5
Feb 9 2012
4.5
Version: 1.5.2
Version 1.6.2 is out: https://code.google.com/p/soundflower/ Changelog: https://github.com/tap/Soundflower/wiki/Change-Log
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Sep 24 2011
1.5.2
0.0
Sep 24 2011
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
1.5.3 is coming... http://code.google.com/p/soundflower/wiki/ChangeLog
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
May 7 2011
1.5.2
0.0
May 7 2011
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
Please add AirPlay support -- so I can better leverage my iOS Apple TV! Thanks!
Jdan
Jdan
Dec 22 2010
1.5.2
5.0
Dec 22 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
Excellent program. I use it in combination with RaopX (http://www.hersson.net/projects/raopx). You may have to check the Audio Setup, though (via Soundflowerbed - included in the program). You must use 44,100,O hz. Then you change the system preferences - Sound (both Input and Output) to Soundflower (2ch). 0pen the Terminal and type RaopX. Seconds later you can listen to your favourite music on e.g. Grooveshark on your stereo (via Airport).
Guest
Guest
Oct 27 2010
1.5.1
0.0
Oct 27 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
If you can't open the application, cant see icons, just folder or nothing, or you can't see uninstall scipt etc or if you can;t install it... in your applications folder - it's possibly because of broken permissions either in the application folder or in the folder where SOundflower is installed.