Back to Soundflower page
Soundflower free download for Mac

Soundflower Reviews

2.0b2
21 July 2017

Allows applications to pass audio to other applications (beta).

Mikael-B
05 October 2018

Most helpful

@Macupdate, The 2.0b2 was released in 2014, not 2017. At least this is the case on Github. There might be other people than Matt Ingalls that have shared their own compilations, but the link here is for the "official". Github version.

There are no new additions to the master source code since 2017 either except for the ReadMe. Please correct the date or link to a binary from 2017.
Like (3)
Version 2.0b2

Read 57 Soundflower User Reviews

Rate this app:

kerhysreilly
17 December 2019
So I have successfully downloaded this on my macbook following the helpful restart comment on here but for some reason it won't download on my mac where i needed it in the first place! If anyone could help it would be super appreciated :) I've ran uninstall script and restarted but nothing :(
Like
Version 2.0b2
Mikael-B
05 October 2018
@Macupdate, The 2.0b2 was released in 2014, not 2017. At least this is the case on Github. There might be other people than Matt Ingalls that have shared their own compilations, but the link here is for the "official". Github version.

There are no new additions to the master source code since 2017 either except for the ReadMe. Please correct the date or link to a binary from 2017.
Like (3)
Version 2.0b2
2 answer(s)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
07 October 2018
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback. It`s the same version as on Github. We listed this application at 2017
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
08 October 2018
So we can't look to Macupdate for correct release date info? That's good to know.

Obviously I meant that "There are no new additions to the master source code since 2014".
Like (1)
jollytimes16
07 December 2017
new iMac 10.13.1

"Installation encountered an error" and Fails.

go to privacy (where i have Already allowed apps from "anywhere")
and it says that "some system software was blocked from loading"...
no specifics as to who/where - just an "allow" button which, when
clicked, makes no difference. retry, same identical sequence.

i then tried a "signed" version of the app... some exact result.

WHAT GIVES?? ANY HELP APPRECIATED! -bob
Like
Version 2.0b2
1 answer(s)
silas-7
silas-7
08 August 2019
You might laugh. But I encountered the same problem. I just restarted my computer after the installation failed, then installed it right away and it worked. I also ran the Uninstall Script (which is recommended in the Read Me file) before rebooting my computer. Maybe this works for you too
Like
thedieters
13 August 2017
I just tried to download Soundflower. Followed all install instruction. I got a message that said the install was successful. Then nothing. I could not locate the app anywhere.
Like
Version 2.0b2
1 answer(s)
droscar
droscar
26 November 2017
There is no app. It's a system extension that adds a new sound input/output device to the Sound pane in System Preferences. Also, you have to restart to load the new extension.

Instructions for uninstalling Soundflower are at the developer's GitHub page.
Like (1)
mau-others
30 July 2017
Great little piece of code. Extremely useful ! I like it !
Like (2)
Version 2.0b2
Joseluismen
11 April 2016
This program has happened through several developers: Cycling '74, Rogue Amoeba and now Matt Ingalls. Matt project is <https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower> and the ultimate beta version is on <https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower/releases/tag/2.0b2>. This is a signed version for Yosemite/Mavericks and El Capitan.

And Rogue Amoeba now this creating a new app named loopback of payment, very similar to Soundflower, but created program from zero for the new operating systems.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.6
naicke
16 November 2015
Achtung, wenn man die Version 1.6.6 herunterlädt dann bekommt man kein Soundflower Plugin sondern Malware. Macupdate macht das jetzt auch so wie chip.de. die neuesete Version bekommt ihr hier: https://soundflower.googlecode.com/files/Soundflower-1.6.6b.dmg
Like (2)
Version 1.6.6
djmattm2002
05 November 2015
I'll be blunt and honest, which is going to sound negative to most. It works good.....when it's not crackling, popping, or buzzing like an MRI machine. If I'm recording a video via Quicktime...it works fine for 2-5 minutes. After that it starts spazzing out. After 2-3 years with it, I've given up trying to figure out what exactly the cause of the problem is and the solution. This is the fastest mac pro that can possibly be built, and as far as software...well its simply a soundflower issue, nothing else on this machine does that shit when the audio is routed normally. If the pops, crackling and that seriously annoying buzzing that threatens to blow out my eardrums would stop I'd give it a higher rating.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.6
1 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
01 January 2016
So glad I was able to help you guys!

@mt34688: I missed your post a few months back. My Soundflowerbed.app is located here: /Applications/Soundflower/Soundflowerbed.app. Not sure if it was installed with the version I found or if I had it before that?
Like
Steve K
17 September 2015
So 1.6.6 and 1.6.7 don't work with the El Capitan GM, probably because how it deals with kexts and it's new Rootless security feature. I spent a half hour rummaging around the internet looking for a compiled version that works and I found it. The installer is "Soundflower-2.0b2.dmg" and can be downloaded from GitHub at the link below. I hope this helps somebody. https://github.com/mattingalls/Soundflower/releases Under the subhead Downloads - "Soundflower-2.0b2.dmg"
Like (4)
Version 1.6.6
8 answer(s)
Keithbcor
Keithbcor
02 October 2015
Thanks for posting the link! I just upgraded to El Capitan and needed to do some recording via Soundflower. I might have found the installer eventually but you saved me the time and effort of looking for it. And yes, it works just fine. Thanks again!
Like (1)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
06 October 2015
Many many thx!
You made my day!!!
Can't live without Soundflower... there is nothing that comes close...
Works super'b on 10.11
I use it with my Presonus Studio Live...
Like (1)
frblack
frblack
28 October 2015
You made my month Mudflapper! Thank you for sharing. I've been hunting for a soundflower solution for El Capitan for a while and you just solved my problem. Wish I had found you sooner. Really appreciate you sharing the info.
Like (1)
mondet4u
mondet4u
29 October 2015
It wont work on my 10.11.1 with Monosnap, any help?

Thank you.
Like
mt34688
mt34688
31 October 2015
Thanks for providing this link. I was able to get Soundflower installed successfully. However I can't find the Soundflowerbed app to monitor the sound. I think it used to just reside in the applications directory. Does anyone know how to find it and get it working? Thank you!
Like (1)
kittyladyjoker
kittyladyjoker
02 December 2015
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like (2)
darrynvanwinkle
darrynvanwinkle
01 January 2016
made an account just to say thanks.
Like (2)
photosbylu
photosbylu
08 March 2016
I've tried the update & SoundFlower still isn't showing up in my output options. any suggestions?
Like
Libertyforall1776
27 June 2015
1.6.7 is the latest: https://github.com/RogueAmoeba/Soundflower/releases
Like
Version 1.6.6
1 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
16 September 2015
I'm not a dev but I know just enough to screw things up. I tried to build 1.6.7 with Terminal as instructed at GitHub but the build fails, every time. :(
Like
kayentn
20 June 2015
I tried several times to install on my new Mac, but didn't complete properly. Sound output shows it's not there, and there is no uninstaller in the folder. I'm new to the Mac and am feeling pretty concerned after reading Bowlerboy's warning (below) from a year ago about installing on Maverick. My mac came installed with Maverick and I upgraded to Yosemite. Can someone please help me get this installed correctly, or get it removed correctly? Any recommendations for alternative software to include computer's audio when I'm recording a Quicktime screencast of a video? Thanks
Like
Version 1.6.6
AlbertF9652
12 June 2015
Version 1.6.6 (as well as 1.6.5) installed on MacPro6,1 - but failed to record using Quicktime Player per online instructions (OS 10.10.3). Both links in readme file are inactive so assume this software not being maintained anymore? Uninstaller script easily removes which was convenient. Used to use WiretapPro, but don't use enough to pay for the upgrade to Wiretap Studio.
Like
Version 1.6.6
sendtheo
28 January 2015
Soundflower neatly captures all sounds of my computer, except iReal Pro (Band in a Box-like program). Strange... What could be the cause?
Like
Version 1.6.6
tbluhp
03 December 2014
How do you remove this driver?
Like
Version 1.6.6
1 answer(s)
stefets
stefets
08 December 2014
In the .dmg with Soundflower.pkg there is an "Uninstall Soundflower.scpt" …
Like (3)
Madmacmad
10 November 2014
works fine under Yosemite :-) I have a Presonus SL 16/4/2 AI connected via Firewire.... It works like under Mavericks... no issues so far...! I tried all other and non of them let me switch to specific channels on my Persons. My Computer Playback need sent to channel 17/18 to my Presonus... Non of the other Audi Switcher here let me do this exept Soundflower. So if you are a Dev plz download the Source and compile SoundFlower with the new Xcode! That will help to solve most issues other have...
Like (2)
Version 1.6.6
dummyD5893
24 June 2014
I have Soundflower 1.6.6 on Mavericks 10.9.3 and it works fine.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.6
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
28 July 2014
Define "fine". For me it doesn't work under Mavericks, period
Like
Francky76
26 May 2014
SoundFlower is really a useful app, allowing to re-route sound from one application to another, thus allowing you to record any audio played on your computer. I was about to use it to record a VOIP phone conversation. Too bad it's not compatible with Maverick. I hope the dev will find the time to fix the issue Best regards and thanks no matter what, for the great app !!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.6
bowlerboy-jmb
15 May 2014
Avoid installing SoundFlower if you are using Mavericks. SoundFlower version 1.6.6 beta is not compatible with Mavericks. I just went through three (3) days of my MacPro suddenly crashing and automatically restarting more than a dozen time due to this culprit. It is an extension (kext) that gets loaded into your System's Library folder. Every Panic Report that I sent to Apple pointed out that SunFlower's extension was the cause, but it took a long phone call with a smart Senior Level tech support at Apple to read the Panic Reports I sent her and interpret what they meant. She said that there are several Apple discussions identifying SoundFlower as the culprit for crashes in Mavericks. I did not read them, but I take her word for it. To eliminate SoundFlower, or as she put, "nuke it from orbit," use these commands in Terminal, one after the other, then Restart your Mac: sudo kextunload /System/Library/Extensions/Soundflower.kext sudo rm -r /System/Library/Extensions/Soundflower.kext I have had SnapZ Pro installed on my systems for years without problems, but I believe that the version 1.6.6 beta version of SoundFlower, which I recently downloaded and installed as an "upgrade" caused havoc in my Mac Pro due to its inability to play nice in Mavericks. A separate File Buddy search for "SoundFlower" reveals that the application, its receipt files, its .plist files, and its fellow travelers still reside on my hard drive. So, I will have to remove all traces of the application and its cousins independently of running the SUDO commands, which are the only way to eradicate the extension that will plague you to death from the system's memory.
Like (4)
Version 1.6.6
1 answer(s)
hwgray
hwgray
12 January 2015
I'm using v1.6.6b with OS X v10.10.2 and my only problem is that the default state of Soundflower is OFF (NONE) and I have to remember to reset it to ON. I'm much more upset about WireTap Anywhere. I paid big bucks for that and it's been unusable for years. When freeware stops working, it may be annoying, but, so what? You definitely got what you paid for!
Like
WesP1925
24 April 2014
The certificate for Soundflower has NOT been REVOKED. It EXPIRED. There's a big difference. If you don't understand what the big difference is, you probably shouldn't be allowed around computers. Or cars, small children, or other dangerous objects.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.6
Steven-Goodheart
25 February 2014
FYI: With Mavericks, my kernal_task starting using 1.2 GB of memory with Soundflower installed. I did a lot of searching and a number of reliable troubleshooting sites said that Soundflower had found to be a culprit. When when I removed the Soundflower .kext file, my kernal_task immediately dropped to down to 487 MB. I think AudioHijack Pro, or Audacity, might have originally installed it. Just FYI, if you find your kernal_task mysteriously large, and you have Soundflower installed...it could be the culprit...
Like (1)
Version 1.6.6
1 answer(s)
jh02472
jh02472
06 April 2014
Pardon my ignorance, but how did you find out that the kernal was large? My system has slowed down and I have been blaming Mavericks itself, but perhaps SF is causing my system some problems.
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
25 December 2013
Version 1.6.5 is specific to OS X 10.6.+ The alternative versions section of this listing should include this link as well. Information on the homesite is also incorrect as well for the most recent version of SoundFlower usable on 10.6.+
Like
Version 1.6.6
1 answer(s)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
25 December 2013
In other words, go to the https://code.google.com/p/soundflower/downloads/list and download a version appropriate for OSX pre 10.7.+
Like (1)
anonymous-dingo-653
25 December 2013
The homesite for this software is incorrect. See the following instead.... http://cycling74.com/products/
Like (2)
Version 1.6.6
Unblocktheplanet
23 November 2013
Hmmm. I just installed Audio Hijack Pro because the volume on my MBP is so pitiful. See here: http://www.macyourself.com/2010/03/03/maximum-volume-still-too-quiet-make-macbook-speakers-louder/. This instructs the user to use Soundflower from inside Audio Hijack but I can't figger out how to do it. Help? Bottom line: Will Soundflower work on 10.9 or not?
Like
Version 1.6.6
2 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
09 December 2013
The project is looking pretty dead these days, anyone want to help them out? ;) https://github.com/Cycling74/Soundflower/wiki
Like (1)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
25 December 2013
When you are still working at installing some software, you are not really in a position to rate it. In the "review" interface, please choose "comment" instead to talk to others here.
Like
Philaphan
17 February 2013
Changed my review.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.5
Philaphan
18 January 2013
I am running OSX 10.8.2 on a MacMini and cannot install SF 1.6.5. When I try to open the DMG, I get a message that this DMG cannot be opened and should be dismounted.
Like
Version 1.6.5
3 answer(s)
Philaphan
Philaphan
21 January 2013
After visiting the developer's website, I figured out that 1.6.5 is not supported by OSX 10.8, and that I'd have to use version 1.6.6 beta. I downloaded and installed that file, and it works OK. I would now revise my rating.
Like (1)
bbw7
bbw7
17 February 2013
So why not give it some love with a new, higher rating, to cancel out your prior, UNFOUNDED initial rating? And I hope you have learned to look at the fine print before going on a vendetta against some software. Generally speaking, OS 10.5 stuff doesn't necessarily work on OS 10.8 or even 10.7. Some significant system changes were made going from 10.6 to 10.7.
Like (2)
Philaphan
Philaphan
17 February 2013
I changed my review, bbw7. It is good software, but the advisement about which version to use with which operating system ought to be upfront, and not in the fine print. It still says that version. 1.6.5 works with OSX10.5.8 and later.
Like (1)
Cgc
04 January 2013
Good but I ran into problems where my sound output would be redirected to an output that doesn't exist effectively muting my Mac until I go into the prefs and change the sound output. Really annoying so I uninstalled Soundflower and it's still redirecting my sound output to Soundflower which mutes it again. How do I uninstall Soundflower?
Like
Version 1.6.5
1 answer(s)
Cgc
Cgc
04 January 2013
I redownloaded SF and say it had an uninstgaller so let's see if it fixes my problem.
Like
Bdkennedy1
17 December 2012
I'm using 1.6.6b on 10.8.2 and it doesn't work. I can hear clicking when I open up Quicktime and my other audio program but no sound is being passed through.
Like
Version 1.6.5
Paul-Mullins
29 October 2012
It's now the end of October and the developer has issued updates that DO work on Mountain Lion (well they did for me using Audacity to record). Not sure if this is the latest version, I got mine from Google... but it works perfectly (a life saver while waiting for WireTap Studio to get an update)
Like (1)
Version 1.6.5
1 answer(s)
Paul-Mullins
Paul-Mullins
29 October 2012
Just to clarify I'm using v1.6.6
Like (1)
Bob Jacobson
19 October 2012
I note both in these Comments and in the Apple Forums that there is no sure way to uninstall Soundflower from the Sound pane in System Preferences if you no longer have the application. This is unacceptable. The developer should post a solution on its website.
Like
Version 1.6.5
1 answer(s)
Bob Jacobson
Bob Jacobson
19 October 2012
I downloaded the current .dmg and used the Uninstall script. It worked on my older version of Soundflower. It's now gone. Thank you.
Like
seba-szwarc
27 September 2012
I am not sure which update it was but after some 1.5 I think Soundflowerbed stopped to work. If I redirect all audio output to soundflower I still can hear sound no matter what setting will be set in Soundflowerbed. If any dev is here present I can make screencast
Like
Version 1.6.5
Cattus-Thraex
07 August 2012
This version cannot be installed in ML, previous version Soundflower-1.6.2.1 yes, that one works.
Like
Version 1.6.5
6 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
07 August 2012
Hi Cattus, I added version 1.6.6 beta to our listing which is suppose to support ML.
Like (2)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
07 August 2012
With all respect for your work: I think it is a totally uninspired idea to post a new version, which is NOT compatible with ML, whereas the older version IS compatible!
Like
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
07 August 2012
I'm with MacUpdate, not the developer of Soundflower. You may want to reach out to the developer here http://cycling74.com/company/ to share your thoughts.
Like (2)
Mike-Ryan
Mike-Ryan
08 August 2012
MacUpdate Ryan - I'm sorry but YOU GUYS are promoting this update on your website. If it doesn't work with ML then you should note that up front or not promote it. I get so tired of MacUpdate acting as though they have no responsibility in these situations. Check these things out BEFORE you offer them and provide the necessary information needed to your client base.
Like
Sanchai
Sanchai
08 August 2012
When I tried to install both 1.6.5 and 1.6.6beta in Mountain Lion (MBP-retina), it end up with error: The installation failed: The installer encountered an error that cause the installation to fail. Contact the software manufacturer nfor assistance Help please
Like
hwgray
hwgray
01 October 2012
What planet are *you* from, Mike? MacUpdate provides a "service"! It does *not* promote! Especially *not* an app provided by the developer at *no* cost! I use 1.6.6b with OS X v10.8.2 with absolutely no problems.
Like (1)
oklair1
31 July 2012
Version 1.6.5 is now available
Like
Version 1.6.2.1
7evfen
31 July 2012
As a run through for Native Instruments Maschine, it's the way to go!
Like
Version 1.6.2.1
Rubaiyat
24 July 2012
The downloaded version is not v1.6.2.1 only 1.6.2
Like
Version 1.6.2.1
Julianvelez
09 July 2012
I FOUND A SOLUTION!!!! Open Terminal, then paste in this sudo kextutil /System/Library/Extensions/Soundflower.kext type in your password and have a nice day! If it still doesn't work, then uninstall it, then download the newest version and repast the code into terminal and type in your password. Best regards, Julian Velez
Like
Version 1.6.2.1
Tachy0n
13 May 2012
I wish they would just say on their website if it is compatible with Lion.
Like
Version 1.6.2.1
Libertyforall1776
19 March 2012
I'm having trouble getting this to work with a standalone flash player in VMWare on Win XP -- anyone have success capturing internal audio from VMWare? TIA
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2.1
Durandal
09 February 2012
Version 1.6.2 is out: https://code.google.com/p/soundflower/ Changelog: https://github.com/tap/Soundflower/wiki/Change-Log
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Libertyforall1776
24 September 2011
1.5.3 is coming... http://code.google.com/p/soundflower/wiki/ChangeLog
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Please add AirPlay support -- so I can better leverage my iOS Apple TV! Thanks!
Like (4)
Version 1.5.2
Jdan
22 December 2010
Excellent program. I use it in combination with RaopX (http://www.hersson.net/projects/raopx). You may have to check the Audio Setup, though (via Soundflowerbed - included in the program). You must use 44,100,O hz. Then you change the system preferences - Sound (both Input and Output) to Soundflower (2ch). 0pen the Terminal and type RaopX. Seconds later you can listen to your favourite music on e.g. Grooveshark on your stereo (via Airport).
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Polocanada
27 October 2010
If you can't open the application, cant see icons, just folder or nothing, or you can't see uninstall scipt etc or if you can;t install it... in your applications folder - it's possibly because of broken permissions either in the application folder or in the folder where SOundflower is installed.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Billy-The-Biker
25 October 2009
I couldn't figure out how to use Soundflower to play audio to my remote speakers so I tried to uninstall it with the script provided. It seems to have disappeared from my Apps folder, but Soundflower is still listed in Input and Output in my System Preferences/Sounds. How do I get rid of them?
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
2 answer(s)
Andrew-Scott
Andrew-Scott
15 January 2010
No solution: I'm seeing the same thing.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Jdan
Jdan
22 December 2010
Restart
Like
davinder-khabra
02 September 2009
Just a caution on installation, don't have any apps using audio/video open. I had iChat open and the installer for soundflower hanged, as soon as I closed iChat the installation completed.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
davinder-khabra
01 September 2009
Supposedly v1.5 for snow leopard will be released here http://code.google.com/p/soundflower/
Like (2)
Version 1.4.3
Kfkernel
26 February 2009
I downloaded (twice) and each time did the install as usual. Everything seemed normal, but no application is produced. When I search for "Soundflower" I get only the many files that are in the downloaded folder. I am using a PPC with OSX 10.5.6.
Like
Version 1.3.1
3 answer(s)
Mangorory
Mangorory
19 June 2009
Ditto.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Neil-M
Neil-M
21 August 2009
Have you looked in Utilities Folder > Audio MIDI Setup? Under the Audio Devices tab, you should find Soundflower listed. Default Input: Default Output
Like (3)
Version 1.4.3
Arvidtp
Arvidtp
21 August 2009
yeah - it installs a virtual audio device, not an app. Soundflowerbed is an app that provides some control over the virtual audio device.
Like
Version 1.4.3
New-User
20 December 2008
There's a newer version at the official Soundflower homepage: http://code.google.com/p/soundflower/
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
Evaristomaster
20 June 2008
i dont found the soundflowerbed app
Like
Version 1.3.1
Ms2k
29 April 2008
so how do i uninstall this (Soundflower 1.3.1)? according to the description here: "Soundflower includes an uninstaller." and the Sunflower package itself says: "From an account with administrator privileges, double-click on the Uninstall_Soundflower.command file." but i don't see that anywhere in what i downloaded. tnx in advance
Like
Version 1.3.1
2 answer(s)
Devnevyn
Devnevyn
14 May 2008
Remove /System/Library/Extensions/Soundflower.kext and reboot. Sorry, I'll add the uninstaller in the next release. My apologies for missing that. (I'm the one who makes the 1.3.x releases)
Like
Version 1.3.1
Ms2k
Ms2k
20 May 2008
thanks for getting back. i ended up dloading v. 1.2.1 which had the uninstaller and ran the script. seems to have worked fine. take care
Like
Version 1.3.1
Olipower
04 February 2007
version 1.2 been running fine on my iMac G5... Using it with Audio Hijack Pro...
Like
Version 1.2