Back to ChitChat X page
ChitChat X free download for Mac

ChitChat X Reviews

1.2.2
18 October 2005

Yahoo! chat client.

Anonymous
28 January 2004

Most helpful

GostCoder, you rock dude. I have been using this for about 2 years now, and he ALWAYS keeps the program up-to-date. I HATED going to OSX, for many different reasons, but having Gost port this to OSX, made it easier in it's own small way. Thanks again, Gost, and don't give up your work on this like you say on your site, keep hanging in there, 'cause you rock. Many Thanks. -A fan
Like
Version 1.0

Read 29 ChitChat X User Reviews

Rate this app:

Hungadunga
11 February 2006
firefox 1.5.0.1 works with yahoo chat
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
19 October 2005
From what I understand from another coder, the comment about the old codec being used is correct. I would suggest to the "just takes a codec" person is that you download the open souce and have at it. We will all wait for your addition. With that said, that GC for the FREE software and updates!
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
10 June 2005
Looking better (and more stable) with each update!
Like
Version 1.2b2
Anonymous
10 June 2005
its not as simple as "just a codec" with yahoo. the codec that yahoo uses for its voice chat is based on an old one by microsoft that was outdated even when yahoo decided to use it. there has never been nor will there probably ever be a mac equivalent unless someone reverse engineers it. that could take a very long time. i too would love voice chat for yahoo, but until then we have iChat, Skype, and others to use.
Like
Version 1.2b2
Anonymous
10 June 2005
Still no voice chat. You'd think after being in development for YEARS, this Ghost Coder would put the single most requested feature into chit chat. Come on, all you need is a freakin' codec, guys!!
Like
Version 1.2b2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 June 2005
I really doubt it's THAT easy. After all, if it were, ALL the chat apps for IM networks that support voice chats would have implemented it a -long- time ago.
Like
Version 1.2b2
Anonymous
01 June 2005
June 1, login screen just cycles through saying it is connected to the 4 chat servers but application never launches.
Like
Version 1.2b1
Anonymous
13 April 2005
It's working again as of April 12 2005 at 18:17, PST I was down earlier today. Silly Yahoo... hopefully it was just a maintenance thing and not a sign of more serious unreliability as tends to be the case.
Like
Version 1.2b1
Anonymous
12 April 2005
I'm having the same problem; can't connect on any of the 4 chat servers... is this another case of Yahoo! blocking access to third party clients?
Like
Version 1.2b1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 April 2005
Wow that's strange, I'm getting the same thing today, yet I was using it just last night, and it worked fine! Weird...hope it's fixed soon.
Like
Version 1.2b1
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 April 2005
Looks like it's working again. Whew!
Like
Version 1.2b1
joey
12 April 2005
For some reason chitchat wont connect to yahoo on any listed servers, any solution to that?
Like
Version 1.2b1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 April 2005
I, too, cannot seem to connect today - 4/12/05 - Gost, did Yahoo block us or something?
Like
Version 1.2b1
Anonymous
12 March 2005
Why does scrolling in the chat portion of the window consume 100% of my CPU time and STILL manages to move at about 3 fps?
Like
Version 1.2b1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 March 2005
Scrolling is rather smooth on my 1Ghz G4, but it could certainly stand to be optimized. I'll look into it. Thanks
Like
Version 1.2b1
Anonymous
05 December 2004
Vast improvement over the last build. Starts up a lot faster and, so far, no crashes.
Like
Version 1.1.3b
Anonymous
03 December 2004
So far I have no problems with ChitChat X. Kind of a cool app. Saves you a trip on not having to go to yahoo.com, chat etc...Cool.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Anonymous
17 October 2004
i like it alot much better than charla
Like
Version 1.1.2b
i_parham
06 September 2004
Ok, I have tried this one out, and I get the following: Yahoo! Error You could not be authenticated. Please make sure you have typed in the ID and password correctly What gives, says this all of the time on 3 messenger accounts. When i use Charla, I get in without no problems
Like
Version 1.1.2
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 September 2004
What a surprise. The developer, somebody named gostcoder, loves to complain and slam everyone else's app yet his apps are, well, hmm...how to say it? Bug infested? Yes, I believe that is the appropriate designation.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 September 2004
Odd, works fine here. Usually, lack of authentication when you're using the proper info means you have a chat ban. But as you say you can get in with Charla, I'm confused as to what the problem might be. At least you can get in with Charla, so it's not all bad.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
"without no problems" Does that mean you have nothing but problems using Charla?
Like
Version 1.1.3
lisa
lisa
17 December 2004
ok i have a mac os and i can not get on the yahoo chat at all (im on aol) it comes up blank Can anyone help me??? I use to be able to but not any more thanks
Like
Version 1.1.3b
Anonymous
06 September 2004
OS9 version is sloooooooow as Christmas. OS9 Version 1.0 of this is much faster than 1.1 and 1.1.2. Must be the RealBasic curse striking again. Back to the drawing board with this one.
Like
Version 1.1.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 September 2004
This release is for MacOS X 10.3, not MacOS 9. Please, when you post a review, post it to the relevant product page.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 September 2004
X version is slow as RealBasic syrup as well, now that you ask.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
06 September 2004
All I want is them here smilies!
Like
Version 1.1.2
Louise
26 July 2004
i 'am getting error chitchat x.nib file not found please help me wht to do
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 July 2004
You must be joking. ChitChat does not contain or access NIB files. What version of the macos are you on?
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
13 June 2004
ChitChat X looks good, as there is no other Yahoo Chat client that I know of. I happily downloaded and installed it. However, I was unable to log on even once. I always get the error message "You could not be authenticated. Please make sure that your user name and ..." So far ChitChat X has been a total disappointment for me. Is there anything that I am missing?
Like
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 June 2004
You're not missing anything. Just check your password and user name as it says. If you're absolutely sure you're typing them right, then I can't image what's wrong.
Like
Version 1.1
28 June 2004
i have had this exact same problem with 1.1 and, i believe, some previous versions. i have tried several different user ids and passwords that work fine in yahoo messenger and (until its own recent problems, charla) but have had no luck logging in.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 September 2004
Have you tried command-option-esc yet?
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
04 June 2004
The download link was wrong, it has since been corrected. Thank you
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
27 May 2004
This is not an OS X application - it launches Classic Mode, and I really don't care to have Classic running.
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 May 2004
The download link was wrong, it has since been corrected. Thank you
Like
Version 1.1
Ravi
21 April 2004
i Love Chit Chat X Very Very much.. the best Yahoo chatroom for Mac OS 9/X, but chit chat need improvements like Video & Voice like windows user have. thatz all need to make Chit Chat X great yahoo chatroom app For Mac Good work. keep it up,
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
27 February 2004
I really like ChitChat so far. The only drawback that I can see is the lack of a video option. Very stable compared to using Charla and regular yahoo rooms.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 March 2004
You can use Yahoo Messenger ( http://messenger.yahoo.com/ ) to view webcams. There are no plans currently to support cam viewing within ChitChat. Thank you
Like
Version 1.0
Sir-osis-of-liver2002
13 February 2004
I cannont use some names, while other ID's log right in...is there a limit to the number of characters you can have in your ID? Otherwise, works fine.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 February 2004
Actually no, I still get that problem. It nevers open a chat window just keeps connecting to different servers for more than 10 minutes.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
MacAddict
MacAddict
29 September 2004
yes.. i get this same error..... it cycles through 1 or 2 yahoo servers, then says joining chat, then crashes to the desktop..... is there something I am missing here? Chitchat used to work on my machine... Running OSX 10.1.3 here..... and the most recent version of Chitchat.... is there a terminal to track the errors? do they get written to a log file? I can't find any if so....
Like
Version 1.1.2b
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 September 2004
ok ok ok... i just fixed my problems..... it seems as though a preference file went bad on me, so by deleting all of the old chitchat files, this new one now works.... Thanks gostcoder... i dunno why i didnt try this earlier.... Rock on!
Like
Version 1.1.2b
Anonymous
03 February 2004
Yahoo's chat servers were down from part of 1-31-2004 to part of 2-1-2004. The problem that Anonymous refers to, is no longer the case. ChitChat can connect to and log-in to chat as of 2-2-2004 Thank you
Like
Version 1.0
Robsherman
01 February 2004
Does not connect to the yahoo servers. Continues to rotate through all servers without connecting. It states that you are connected but it never opens a chat window.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
01 February 2004
Doesn't connect... and there are 2 Help menus...
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 January 2004
Excellent program, but it quites when you log out. System: PB G4 550GHz, 10.2.8
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
28 January 2004
GostCoder, you rock dude. I have been using this for about 2 years now, and he ALWAYS keeps the program up-to-date. I HATED going to OSX, for many different reasons, but having Gost port this to OSX, made it easier in it's own small way. Thanks again, Gost, and don't give up your work on this like you say on your site, keep hanging in there, 'cause you rock. Many Thanks. -A fan
Like
Version 1.0