Back to Chopper page
Chopper free download for Mac

Chopper Reviews

1.2.6
29 December 2010

Side-scrolling helicopter game.

Calle
02 December 2007

Most helpful

A rather simple game but very, very well made. Gameplay and graphic has always been outstanding and Chopper was the only app I truly missed after switching to Intel. In v1.1 though, graphics is almost too good and too detailed. I find it difficult to see enemies and civilians - actually the missions in where visibility is best are the night missions. Also, the four new levels does not really pop up among my favourite ones. I'd wish for a little differences in the design of the enemies - the more detailed they get, the more they look like clones of each other instead of individuals. Still, Chopper is a fabulous game. If Chopper had been shareware before, I'd have paid already a long time ago.
Like (1)
Version 1.1

Read 33 Chopper User Reviews

Rate this app:

Roro01
15 January 2011
Thanks for making it free!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
rcd
14 January 2011
Selecting 'options' and then checking the 'skip cave levels' box and then clicking the 'ok' button causes everything to hang. Clicking anywhere on the 'preferences' background causes the 'ok' button to turn blue again. Reclicking the 'ok' button causes chopper to terminate.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Islandmacman
29 December 2010
Nice game - brings back memories of Choplifter. Great work!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
Djefis
29 December 2010
A show!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
Khannibal
29 December 2010
Really cool game, well done, easy to control and use, and now it's free. Every Mac user should give it a try. Clooney would say : Chopper, what else ?
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
Powershaker
10 August 2010
Chopper is a nice little game. I beat the freeware version, then bought the shareware version and beat it, too. The game is addictive, because you always want to see the next level. However, after you beat it, the thrill is over. Before you beat the game, you always have a desire to see how much farther you can get. Still, I'm not upset I paid $10 for the shareware version of Chopper. I figured it was only fair to the programmers since I'd beaten the freeware version. I might as well buy the shareware version with extra levels, right? All in all, it's a nice little and a cheap thrill ride. Hooray for Chopper!
Like
Version 1.2.4
Eric00
01 September 2009
I bought this game several months ago and it's still bloody addictive. At the 'hard' level I'm still trying to get past the mad scientist's bunker (okay, I'm not a good gamer), and I would love to see a cheat-- well, maybe not precisely a cheat-- that lets me "save game" at the level I'm on. This would make it less arcade-like, of course, but when I get a phone call or a colleague walks in and I have to shut down the game (and can't simply pause it) I hate to start all over again. Okay, just whining. But it's a lot of fun and well worth $10.
Like
Version 1.2.4
dajonel
11 December 2007
Oh, not that I use them, but some of the "cheats" don't work anymore. They include: - Slow motion - Skip a level The only one that work is the "FPS", but I don't think I need that. What is it anyway? All I know of FPS is "feet per second", "frames per second", etc. Why would I need to know how fast I'm going, and how is that cheating?
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Zedonline
Zedonline
03 April 2008
Two reasons... one, cheats are usually meant for the developer to test the game, not the player. Two, the developer test bits will include useful bits of information for the developer, like frames per second. By making them all 'cheats', they are a small simple piece of code in the app that the developer doesn't suddenly have to maintain.
Like
Version 1.2.1
dajonel
dajonel
03 April 2008
Okay... I still wonder why this turned shareware, though. Chopper 1.0.4 was almost as good as this.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
dajonel
11 December 2007
Why is it suddenly shareware? 1.0.4 was nearly as good and it was freeware! I wish it was still free, because now after I updated, it's giving me a limit of the numbers of more days I can play it. Great game, but soon I won't be able to play it. Oh, by the way, it's graphics are good, but the "crashes", people dying, and buildings falling down aren't realistic.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Calle
02 December 2007
A rather simple game but very, very well made. Gameplay and graphic has always been outstanding and Chopper was the only app I truly missed after switching to Intel. In v1.1 though, graphics is almost too good and too detailed. I find it difficult to see enemies and civilians - actually the missions in where visibility is best are the night missions. Also, the four new levels does not really pop up among my favourite ones. I'd wish for a little differences in the design of the enemies - the more detailed they get, the more they look like clones of each other instead of individuals. Still, Chopper is a fabulous game. If Chopper had been shareware before, I'd have paid already a long time ago.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Z-Man
30 November 2007
Super nice job! Any chance you might be interested in doin' a "Rescue Raiders" type game? Please...
Like
Version 1.1
Shotgunweddings
20 May 2007
Armor Alley it's not, but none the less equally as good! No problems with 10.4.9 and a MacIntel. Keep up the great work at Majic Jungle Software!
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
19 July 2005
Great game but could you not use cmd-e for end game but esc. And for fullscreen use the same key for both leaving and entering fullscreen. Sometimes I pause the game and go out off full screen then when I come back to the game I have to press a different key. Once I tried to leave the game using cmd-f and it fired a rocket into a building.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
16 May 2005
The light effect from the plane is incredible
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
02 May 2005
Based on the old arcade game "Choplifter" from '83, reminds me good things. Very nice software !
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Graphics, Music, sounds and gameplay: everything is polished and nice to look at. For a freeware, it kicks ass. It reminds me Silkworm or even older, Defender. It has a lot of fun, and the difficulty level increases in a smart way, adding new challenges without making it too hard. Excellent !
Like
Version 1.0.3
Jay`
04 April 2005
I have played Chopper on my brothers Powerbook and i loved it! i want to know if you can get a windows version of it? Please contact me at jay@lblueplanet.com if you have an answer. Cheers, Jay
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
17 March 2005
Awesome. Good music, good side scrolling graphics, action packed.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
10 February 2005
This game is awsome!! I still haven't figured out how to drop bombs yet. LOL I really love this game, and I am addicted forever more!
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
10 December 2004
This game is great and lots of fun. However it always crashes since I updated to 10.3.6. I reinstalled and it still won't launch. It gets to the Windowed screen for startup and then crashes. Any ideas from anyone? Hopefully an updated will come soon.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
18 October 2004
I'm addicted to this baby. I love it. I love it. I love it. PLUS it's free. It's the BOMB, download it and see. You'll get hooked. LOL, I love droppn' bombs on those rocket-firen' terrorists. Funny stuff, dude.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
16 October 2004
Thanks for all of your kind comments. I'm currently working on Chopper2, a 3D version of Chopper. It's still a while off, perhaps even a year or so. In the mean time, if you encounter text problems, install the font "arial" and it should appear. Cheats are as follows: '`' key to enable cheat mode, then 'k' for slow motion, 'j' to show FPS, '=' to skip a level, though this can sometimes cause a crash. enjoy! David
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 February 2005
Need help with dropping bombs. And all other weapons besides the shot gun thingy.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
09 September 2004
Any cheats? Nice game.
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 October 2004
Thanks for all of your kind comments. I'm currently working on Chopper2, a 3D version of Chopper. It's still a while off, perhaps even a year or so. In the mean time, if you encounter text problems, install the font "arial" and it should appear. Cheats are as follows: '`' key to enable cheat mode, then 'k' for slow motion, 'j' to show FPS, '=' to skip a level, though this can sometimes cause a crash. enjoy! David
Like
Version 1.0.3
Best Game Ever. Period. never played a better game
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
26 April 2004
Excellent fun. Even my 5yr old daughter plays it, really good for her hand eye co-ordination. We play it together and get to about level 15. Highly recommend.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
12 April 2004
Great game. Lots of fun. And retro too! I've noticed tho' that it won't play if in any sub-folders (Apps>GamesÆ'>ActionGamesÆ'>ChopperÆ') in your Apps folder. It will play if in a 'Games' folder in your User folder (User>GamesÆ'>ChopperÆ'), or 'loose' in the 'Apps' folder (Apps>ChopperÆ').
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
11 March 2004
It is a great game. High-action, low memory game. I would definitlry download if I were you.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
16 February 2004
This is a great game. Although getting a little hard after level 5.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
05 February 2004
ahhh the memories. Great little freebie. Excellent graphics for the price. Definitly recommend. Ditto to the other reviewer's comment about remaking the good-ole games we grew up with. Hope the developer continues tweakin it, possibly expanding it beyond its original idea.
Like
Version 1.0.3
William Ruzek
31 January 2004
This game provided much play back value. It is a side-scrolling games, but with more action then you think. You control a chopper(note the purpose of the name) which has to rescue people trapped in situations. Graphic are good for the size of the game. Controls are easy then first expected. The time limit on the rescues is bother some at times. Enemys are good but could use more varity. Over all the game is worth its skin.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
30 January 2004
Text does not render in-game (e.g. anything on the blue gradient background which I assume says something about the level, high scores), both windowed and any fullscreen res. Tested on 10.2.3.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Deker
28 January 2004
I originally found out about this game from the pick-o-the-week feature at www.macosxhints.com and decided to give it a try since I vaguely remembered the Chopper game of the olden days. Plus it is free, which makes it a lot easier to download. :) To sum it up, this is a really fun and addictive game and a fantastic remake! If you haven't played or don't remember the old Chopper game, the object is to pilot a helicopter through a level filled with enemies to rescue civilians which are scattered throughout the city. The enemies consist of bazooka men, tanks, jets, etc. You have to avoid their fire as well as keep them from killing the civilians before you can rescue them. You aren't defenseless however... You have at your disposal a machinegun with unlimited ammo which is good for the bazooka men, as well as missiles and bombs which can be used for tanks and jets. Ammo for the bombs and missiles are scattered throughout some levels, usually giving you enough ammo to easily take out all of the enemies. When you have eliminated the enemies in an area you can land your helicopter next to a civilian, and they will run into your helicopter for safety and transportation. You can then continue picking up passengers until your capacity of 6 is full, and drop them off at your base. If your helicopter explodes while you have a civilian inside, that civilian will die, which hurts your score. If over half of the civilians on the level are in your chopper when it explodes, you lose and will have to start the level over. But if only one or two die in the crash, you will return to the beginning of the level to try and rescue the remaining civilians, however you will lose a life. The level is finished when you rescue all of the live civilians and return them to base. Killing enemies provides bonus points, but you are not required to kill them. If you lose all of your lives, the game is over and you return to the home screen. There are no saves or continues, so you have to beat the game all the way through in one sitting, old school style. Graphics The graphics are surprisingly good for a freeware game. It is a 2d scroller, but it uses a combination of 2d sprites and 3d models to give a great sense of depth and speed as you progress through the levels. The explosions are big and realistic looking, the animation is smooth, and it's simple enough to run on an older G4 or G3 system. There are night missions, rain missions, snow missions, etc. to always keep the terrain varied and interesting. Controls The controls for Chopper are as follows: Arrow keys - Movement (up down left right) Space - Fire machine gun S - Rotate chopper 180 degrees D - Drop Bomb F - Fire Missile P - Pause I found the controls to be well laid out and very responsive. You can rest your left hand in the "home row" position, like you would when typing, and control the whole game without moving your hands around. There is no lag at all in any of the controls, and it's easy to make fast dodges and maneuvers when avoiding enemy fire. Sound The sound effects are fairly generic, but are used sparingly enough that they don't get boring or repetitive. The music is varied and upbeat, and provides a nice little soundtrack to the game. Stability The game crashed on me a couple of times, but I was having other apps crashing at that time also on my Powerbook, so I think it was my machine rather than the game. I also played it on my eMac and it was rock solid on that machine. Overall Overall this is a great little freeware game, and is a great way to spend a lunchbreak. It's easy to get into, but challenging enough to warrant quite a bit of practice even to beat the game on the easy skill level. It's definitely worth a download, even if it's just for nostalgia reasons. I hope to see a lot more old games remade with this quality in the future.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Nikjust
28 January 2004
Impressive ! Gameplay is great (though controls are not that ergonomic - and not customizable, by the way). Graphics are really impressive for a free game. Sound is good and music of very good quality. All in all, one of my best free game downloads !
Like
Version 1.0.3