Back to AuctionSieve page
AuctionSieve free download for Mac

AuctionSieve Reviews

3.0.3
17 June 2019

Filter through eBay auction listings.

Mredrup
15 September 2009

Most helpful

Handy program, but it would be nice to see a modern icon, the current one is really not very attractive.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.8

Read 21 AuctionSieve User Reviews

Rate this app:

RogerKatz
05 June 2016
The current version is 2.7.8
Like
Version 2.7.7
Stefaan-Degryse
14 February 2015
So i have to install Java 6 to make this software work. Java 6 has several bugs and security issues, so no Auction Sieve for me.
Like
Version 2.7.1
6 answer(s)
Hashbang Pty Ltd
Hashbang Pty Ltd
16 February 2015
Hi Stefaan,
The latest version of Java with the most up-to-date security is Java 8 which can be downloaded from here:
https://www.java.com/

After installing that, AuctionSieve should work just fine.
(Let me know if not!)
Like
qb
qb
16 February 2015
@Hashbang - I'm on aMacBook Pro, 10.10.2 and Java 8.31 but I still get the message about needing Jave SE 6 Runtime.

I gather from your message below (just earlier today) that this is suppose to be fine now with newer Java.

As I have not installed Java 6 I have not run the AuctionSieve I cannot confirm the version (suppose to be 2.7.2). However it seems odd the creation and modification dates are both 1-October-2014.

Is the the newest version of AuctionSieve?

thank you
Like
Nevster
Nevster
17 February 2015
Ugh - Java on the Mac is such a dog's breakfast.

One other thing to try is downloading the latest JDK from here:
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html

If that still doesn't work, it's possible that you still need to download that special Java 6 from Apple for some reason. Not ideal. Let me know if the download above sorts it out.
Like
Nevster
Nevster
17 February 2015
Oh and yes, that is the latest version - it's just that I re-used the zip file which had that older creation date - the files inside the zip are the latest
Like
qb
qb
17 February 2015
@Hashbang - very odd: yesterday I downloaded and installed what was suppose to be AuctionSieve 2.7.2 (but as mentioned never could finish launching to confirm version as it wanted Java 6).

This morning - I noticed MacUpdate.app offering me AS 27.2 (from version 2.7.1) so I let it do the install. And BINGO - AS 2.7.2 launches with no complaint about needing Java6.

I know I downloaded and installed 2.7.2 but when back to my backup clone. It ALSO launches and states it is only 2.7.1.

Yesterday when having this problem I Repaired Permissions, Checked the Disk and even restarted and what I "thought" was 2.7.2 still would not open due to the J6 error.

Now it works and I've done nothing different. Oh well.

Thanks for your quick comments / help.
Like (1)
Nevster
Nevster
18 February 2015
Excellent!

If you have any other questions of feature requests, you can post on the forums:
http://www.auctionsieve.com/forums/

And you can vote on current feature requests on Trello:
https://trello.com/b/cg7YsK0X/auctionsieve
Like
WooDMco
25 March 2014
The downloaded file is flagged as damaged (on 10.9.3); I've re-downloaded even from the developer's site and the problem remains.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.7
2 answer(s)
Hashbang Pty Ltd
Hashbang Pty Ltd
25 March 2014
Thanks for the head-up. This is a new security setting in 10.9. As a workaround, you can follow the instructions here : http://apple.stackexchange.com/a/58086/646 Once you've changed that setting, you can run AuctionSieve and then change the setting back and AuctionSieve will continue to run. I need to spend some time figuring out how to sign the app so this doesn't occur in future...
Like
Hashbang Pty Ltd
Hashbang Pty Ltd
07 February 2015
This has now been fixed - the app is signed by my Apple Developer ID
Like
Xenophile
30 August 2012
How is this any different from using eBay's search tools?
Like (1)
Version 2.5.8
1 answer(s)
Hashbang Pty Ltd
Hashbang Pty Ltd
13 October 2013
Depending on your needs, regular eBay search is often quite adequate. However, there are a number of things that AuctionSieve does that regular eBay can't. Most users of AuctionSieve are collectors who are looking for the same kinds of things on a regular basis. For example, old Star Wars action figures. So they want to run the same searches every day or week. AuctionSieve helps in this because it does the following - saves the search criteria, so you can run it again the following day - allows you to specify multiple searches and the results get grouped together - allows you to see all the results in one place, rather than on lots of separate web pages - *lets you filter stuff out* - this is where it's really useful - say I'm not interested in the Yoda figurine, I simply highlight the word yoda, and create a trash word - from that point forward I'll never see any yoda items in my results ever again! There are a whole bunch of filters that can be turned on and off with one click - remembers the results you've already seen and won't display them again when you run your sieve the next day - can store price history and calculates the average price of things
Like (4)
Mextex
29 February 2012
Thanks for this wonderful free app. It really helps me a lot finding the items I am interested in. Definitely worth a pure 5 of 5 stars rating from me...
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
Designg
20 December 2010
Downloaded this, in 'Search term' I typed 'Denon Receiver' and up came 48 results including 'Remote Nitro Car', 'PC keyboard', 'Earphone Headset'. Perhaps in 'Search Term' I should have put 'find' ?? Even if I didn't set it correctly, where did all this stuff come from? I didn't ask for what showed up? Straight in the bin for me.
Like
Version 2.5.5
1 answer(s)
Hashbang Pty Ltd
Hashbang Pty Ltd
13 October 2013
Occasionally eBay make changes and I need to update AuctionSieve to handle them. Current version appears to handle your search terms ok.
Like
G-I-
26 October 2010
Interesting application but "trash words" filter only in titles not in descriptions, so the excluding words must be in the title otherwise the item is still listed.
Like
Version 2.5.0
Mredrup
15 September 2009
Handy program, but it would be nice to see a modern icon, the current one is really not very attractive.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.8
2 answer(s)
Nevster
Nevster
23 May 2010
Finally - a new icon! Professionally designed and everything. Hope you like it!
Like (3)
Version 2.5.0
Mredrup
Mredrup
24 May 2010
New icon looks great, excellent work. thank you.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.0
Tonygoulding
10 March 2006
Looks nice. Only problem I'm having is when trying to VIEW an auction in Safari. I'm using Saft, and instead of the auction appearing, I get the following. file:///Library/InputManagers/Saft/Saft.bundle/Contents/Resources/space.gif I think it's probably a Saft problem, so I'm not attributing the issue to AuctionSieve. However, it is a major pain since Saft is one of those 'can't live without it' apps that I'm not prepared to give up.... Shame.
Like
Version 1.7.8
1 answer(s)
Tonygoulding
Tonygoulding
23 November 2006
You need to uncheck the "Block Ad/Banners" or "Block Pop-Up Windows" in the Safari> menu. This also happens (e.g.) in Google searches if you click on one of the featured links at the top or down the right hand side.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
Anonymous
05 May 2005
Wow - about time this program got an update! This app is so helpful, and it seems to be the only one of its kind. It's not easy to communicate how f$#@%^g frustrating the eBay search pages can be. Your program is a miracle -- I was wondering why nobody had created something useful to deal with eBay's awful site. Everytime you put in a new query, eBay loads up the whole damn page again, taking its sweet time, wasting mine. I pull my hair out on a daily basis going through all the junk on eBay. I love how you can simply download all the listings at once here, then instantly sort (sieve...) through them. I hope this app gets the attention it deserves, so it can keep getting updates and step closer to perfection. I love it. My only gripe -- your icon (or logo... whatever the brown picture is here on MU) is a bit dark and hard to see. At first I thought it was one of those "vistalite" drum kits. The actual program icon is nice though... maybe you're already getting to that...? Eh. Kudos to a truly handy little app! Keep this thing alive!
Like (2)
Version 1.7
Anonymous
17 June 2004
To append my prior question I just read reply by author to similar question below. Author says "Hi, I'm part of the eBay affiliate program - it's how I can afford to give away the program for free and not even display ads within the app. eBay run their affiliate program through commission junction." So that answers my question. Otherwise, appears to be excellent software!
Like (1)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 June 2004
Yes, this means that if you use any ad filtering software like Privoxy, the links will not work. You will have to turn off such filtering software when using auction sieve.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
Anonymous
17 June 2004
Is it just me or did I miss a disclaimer stating that whenever you click on a link to an auction you are first directed (*very* quickly) through some pay-for-performance marketing company's site? http://www.cj.com/qksrv.jsp
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Anonymous
03 May 2004
I love this program, it makes searching eBay auctions so much easier. And the developer is great if you do encounter problems, he's really willing to help. And the new checkbox features for viewing multiple auctions at once is fantastic.
Like
Version 1.3.20
2 answer(s)
Shaun Bourke
Shaun Bourke
14 May 2004
WARNING....THIS IS A DATA MINING PROGRAMME When hasbang.com/ is blocked in your hosts file this is the end result as the programme will not continue without these connections. It makes no difference as to weather you have 'auctionsieve update' turned on or off. AuctionSieve version 1.3.23 java.lang.NoSuchMethodError at hashbang.auctionsieve.SearchGetter.calculateTheURLPrefix(Unknown Source) at hashbang.auctionsieve.AdRetriever.getAds(Unknown Source) at hashbang.auctionsieve.EbayRetrievalPanel$3.run(Unknown Source) at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:496) Use with caution!!
Like
Version 1.3.23
Nevster
Nevster
23 May 2010
It's not doing data mining. getAds is just the function call to get the search results from eBay. Can't recall why I named it that - should be named getItems.
Like
Version 2.5.0
Anonymous
24 March 2004
I have a dial-up connection and really appreciate this app. I can have it get auctions while I do something else, and then go through hundreds of auctions at once. I wish I could figure out where the view command sends the browser to (i.e., it's not directly to eBay). I would like to know this because I use PithHelmet and I'd like to be able to exempt whatever ad site auctionsieve uses. (I hope this makes sense--if not, try running AS with PithH. on and you'll see).
Like
Version 1.3.8
3 answer(s)
Neville Ridley-Smith
Neville Ridley-Smith
25 March 2004
Hi, I'm part of the eBay affiliate program - it's how I can afford to give away the program for free and not even display ads within the app. eBay run their affiliate program through commission junction. Email me if you have any more questions - I'll be glad to answer anything you'd like to know.
Like
Version 1.3.8
Shaun bourke
Shaun bourke
17 April 2004
A couple of months back I ran this app on a windows machine....Win98SE... and the app went to both Hashbang and Sun with NO connection to eBay. I suspect their is data mining going on. On this G4 running 10.1.5 it crashes every time it starts up.
Like
Version 1.3.12
Neville Ridley-Smith
Neville Ridley-Smith
18 April 2004
There's nothing dodgy going on. AuctionSieve contacts auctionsieve.com on startup to check for updates. You can turn it off in the options but it's fairly essential if you want to keep up to date with eBay changes. As for contacting Sun, that's Java checking for updates - you can turn that off as well - more info here : http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.4.2/docs/guide/plugin/developer_guide/control_panel.html#update
Like
Version 1.3.16
Anonymous
16 March 2004
Still not working quite properly. If I search with a sieve and it has only 2 pages of results, then switch to another sieve with 10 pages of results, only 2 pages will show up. I have to figure out which sieve will bring the most results and start with that one first.
Like
Version 1.3.8
Anonymous
27 January 2004
Good basis for an auction tool; responsiveness of the developer is a plus with ebay's constant changes. Feature set good although a dropdown sieve list and draggable links would be nice (value is 5 when for as long as it's free; might change depending on the price and eventual feature set, of course).
Like (1)
Version 1.3.5
Nevster
17 January 2004
If anyone has any problems, please don't hesitate to send me an email. I promise I won't bite! It helps me greatly to improve the product. Also don't hesitate to email for feature requests!
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
17 January 2004
Well, now it's now working very well again. When I download new auctions, it only shows the first 15 items or 1 page, no matter how many pages it downloaded.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Nevster
Nevster
17 January 2004
Hi, can you send an email to me? That way I can try to track down the problem for you. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
17 January 2004
Thanks for the quick fix, it's working great now! The only other thing I would like to see is the "Time frame" option on Sieves that use the eBay search, not just the ones that just use a category for the searches.
Like
Version 1.3
Nevster
17 January 2004
New version 1.3.3 fixes the fairly critical bug whereby search details were not being saved. Also adds support for international eBay sites! Just run AuctionSieve and you'll be notified of the update. If not, select 'Check for updates' from the Tools menu.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
16 January 2004
Nice potential, but also frustrating in that it doesn't seem to remember Sieves that you set up. Nothing worse than setting up all the search options and then having to do it again the next time you want to search. Otherwise, it looks to be pretty cool, a lot faster than searching through the eBay site. And the price is right.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Nevster
Nevster
17 January 2004
Fixed in 1.3.3 - sorry about that!
Like
Version 1.3