Back to SuperDuper! page
SuperDuper! free download for Mac

SuperDuper! Reviews

07 February 2020

Advanced disk cloning/recovery utility.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
dalea
dalea
Sep 27 2021
3.3.1
0.0
Sep 27 2021
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
Fast, helpful tech support. How many stars can I give? Five ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️? Happy customer since 2006
rafaciana-2
rafaciana-2
Sep 12 2021
3.3.1
0.0
Sep 12 2021
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
Support is exceptional! Very easy to use, reliable. I have been using SuperDuper for many years and have had no problems whatsoever. However, I recently used a new external drive to make a bootable version, but made an error in setting up to make a bootable clone. I erroneously used a "Smart Update" instead of "back up all files" type of backup, so booting up in that setup didn't work. I didn't find information in searching but I received a reply email from SuperDuper support within a few hours with clear instructions that worked! Yes, this works in Catalina.
thomaperc
thomaperc
Aug 5 2021
3.3.1
0.0
Aug 5 2021
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
Is this app compatible with 1.6 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5?
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
Jun 25 2021
3.3.1
1.0
Jun 25 2021
1.0
Version: 3.3.1
DOES NOT WORK ON BIG SUR !
joelbleblanc
joelbleblanc
Jun 12 2021
3.3.1
0.0
Jun 12 2021
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
Doesn't back up folder or drive... The owner of the software refused to give a refund, what a shady practice and way to treat their customer. BEWARE!!!!
Bill-601
Bill-601
May 31 2021
3.3.1
0.0
May 31 2021
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
I've used SuperDuper! many times for many years to make backups and to upgrade to larger hard drives in my Macs. It's simple and reliable. I am currently looking at upgrading my Late 2013 MacBook Pro running High Sierra from a 512G SSD to a 1TB SSD. Is there any reason I couldn't use SuperDuper! to clone from the 512 to the 1TB and then just swap the drives? I've done that in the past with other versions of OSX, but with High Sierra using a different file format, I wasn't sure.
trinineverette
trinineverette
May 25 2021
3.3.1
4.0
May 25 2021
4.0
Version: 3.3.1
I am not good at computers, and it was one of the first program I've tried to copy disks with and worked perfectly for me! The only thing I don't like much is that it works with internal drives only.
gabrielhubert
gabrielhubert
Apr 14 2021
3.3.1
3.0
Apr 14 2021
3.0
Version: 3.3.1
I'm sure the software performs what it claims to honourably. It cannot however access data on unmounted drives which may be the context some people find themselves downloading it in (trying to clone a drive that isn't mounting, for example, possibly coming from this Apple page: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/251385405?answerId=252694435022#252694435022)
jmaguire1951
jmaguire1951
Jan 17 2021
3.3.1
0.0
Jan 17 2021
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
Don't waste your money. Not usable with Big Sur and not a word when to expect an update. It was great until they dropped the ball.
wmbrainiac
wmbrainiac
Dec 14 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Dec 14 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
The software is manageable even for a tech-helpless old man and the customer service is nothing short of amazing.
mneu43
mneu43
Dec 4 2020
3.3.1
0.0
Dec 4 2020
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
I mast tel you thank you very very moch ,the super duper is incredibal it realy helpt me to solv the problem i had ,i recomend it
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Nov 25 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Nov 25 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
While one could argue that Time Machine makes 3-rd party cloning solutions somewhat redundant, there's positives and negatives to each. SuperDuper! has always been very reliable, and has been offering both incremental and full backups / bootable copies, scheduling and other features, while retaining a straightforward, uncomplicated user interface for well over 10 years. It has its advantages and disadvantages, compared to Time Machine, but in terms of reliability, it's as reliable a backup and cloning solution as Time Machine. If you don't care for smart / incremental backups and other useful features, you're welcome to use the app without a registration for as long as you will: it will do the job as a basic cloning solution with or without a license, but a license acquisition will pay itself through the addition of said (very handy) features, referred above. The Shirt Pocket upgrade policy is among the very best there is. Unlike many a developer, Dave doesn't look for ways to charge for version upgrades: the license key procured 10+ years ago, is as valid for the latest version as it was at the time of purchase some 10 years ago. Customer support is top notch, too. There's also the nostalgia element, that I imagine is - of subjective value and won't do much to most: I tried SuperDuper! first, after researching Mac OS X cloning solutions and reading a number of raving reviews in the process back in early 2000's (somewhere between 2005 to 2007). It was acclaimed to be the best cloning utility back then, edging the likes of the Carbon Copy Cloner and others on accuracy and reliability. The app was launched onto the market in the early days of Mac OS X itself - many apps have come and gone, but SuperDuper! is among the handful still going strong today. Those nostalgic days of late Steve Jobs' keynotes, of Apple struggles to stay afloat, the days when barely one in 15 computer users owned a Mac…
Donsherman
Donsherman
Nov 14 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Nov 14 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
What we are buying with SuperDuper! is peace-of-mind. I have been using it for at least ten years, enjoying prompt personal support response from the developer himself. I pound my iMac pretty hard; many different models over the years, collating and editing metadata on more than 34,562 of favorite songs in my Music library and 25,694 continuously changing images in Apple Photos. Additionally, I have been entrusted with over $200,000 in edited client images, collected over a decade. No telephone mazes with long delays from inarticulate uninformed amateurs. Remarkably, Dave responds in person. SuperDuper! is truly Super, providing steady reliability and security for my 3 TB of precious data.
Donsherman
Donsherman
Nov 14 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Nov 14 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
I have been using SuperDuper! for at least ten years. What we're buying from this developer is peace of mind. With frequent free updates and unbelievably prompt support response. I pound my iMac pretty hard collating and correcting data for more than 30,000 songs in my Music library, 26,000 images in Photos (continuous additions and edits daily), and having run $200,000 worth of mail order business, all with precious files entrusted to me by worldwide clients, all from one Mac (several replacements over 30-years). My 3 TB of data must be secure, and it is, thanks to SuperDuper! from Shirt Pocket and Dave's diligent timely updates and always-available personal support. No telephone mazes, no uninformed unintelligible amateurs responding late and inaccurately. SuperDuper! is indeed super, a genuine underpriced, vital part of my computer life and security.
Mark Hennon
Mark Hennon
Nov 14 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Nov 14 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
Great software. Try the free version and read the manual. Buy three 1TB external drives for backups, password and rotate them, storing one off-site. Your data is your digital life, don't lose it.
Jgavs
Jgavs
Nov 9 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Nov 9 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
I have been using Superduper for ten plus years now. I have quite a few older macs. Many are retired. Most of my current macs are from 2012 and 2011. Steve Jobs last years. I have been able to keep them running well and am able to do cloning backups and smart backups and keep my work safe. I do mostly audio and video work and end up with a lot of hard drives and SSDs. I am upgrading my older macs to Mojave before Big Sur comes out and it is great to have Superduper to keep the process smooth. No problems over the last decade.
ofree3993
ofree3993
Oct 11 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Oct 11 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
love it its free it makes bootable disks. It made my bootable disk dream come true! So thanks for the good software. :)
zorzeus32
zorzeus32
Sep 12 2020
3.3.1
1.0
Sep 12 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.1
Horrible! DO NOT PURCHASE. Does not work on my Mac and when I asks for a refund all I received was patronizing emails. I will be reporting this product and company to the BBB for not only the lack of customer satisfaction but also the harassment that followed my distress.
Dave-Creek
Dave-Creek
Jun 20 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Jun 20 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
SUPERIOR tech support. Near-instant response.
lbphotographics
lbphotographics
Jun 9 2020
3.3.1
0.0
Jun 9 2020
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
Just added 2 new drives to my Mac Pro and downloaded SuperDuper to install on one. I went through the motions but kept getting an error message so I filed a report. Within about half an hour or so, maybe less I received a reply, try this link. I tried it and everything worked perfectly. It's a pity some customer services aren't as good and as helpful as SuperDuper's.
dvh
dvh
Jun 5 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Jun 5 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
A "head's up" that the most recent Catalina update 10.15.5 apparently has an Apple "bug" that breaks SuperDuper's ability to create a new bootable volume. This bug also affected Carbon Copy Cloner. The current version 3.3.1 will appear to run normally but the new back-up volume created will not boot. If you update a back-up bootable volume created in earlier versions of Catalina (10.15.4 and earlier) that will still boot normally. The developer is working on a fix. Read the developers blog at: https://www.shirt-pocket.com/blog/
sciman-1
sciman-1
Apr 11 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Apr 11 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
SuperDuper is great software, and the support is incredible. Recently my 2009 iMac drive gave out, and thank heavens I could get a new one and in a couple of clicks be back in business. I'd been a little anxious about the steps involved, wrote to Dave a support request and had a complete and helpful response in less than ten minutes. But then I decided to have an old 17" mac book pro rehabilitated since I don't want to lose my 32 bit software moving up to date on my main mac. Well, the service folks who replaced the battery and new keyboard for a reasonable price had somehow deleterd half of my files. I had a 6 month old backup and tried to replace the drive contents and got an error. Another quick email to Dave and in another ten minutes he sent me a link to download a modified version of the software and again, I was back in business with a restored clone on that dervice. I couldn't be more pleased with the software or the service. Hooray for Dave!
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Apr 2 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Apr 2 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
Has been one of those stalwart pieces of software that withstands the test of time. I used this for disaster recovery (DR) and Continuity of Operations (CoOp) on www.army.mil to implement hot fail over to DR sites. Servers constantly made multiple copies of themselves and monitored each other so if one went down, another would fire right up and take over like a good soldier. We achieved 99.996 uptime for www.army.mil thanks to SuperDuper! and some creative programming.
iWare
iWare
Mar 19 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Mar 19 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
This is one of the best backup tools you will find for Mac OS X.
hibrid
hibrid
Mar 14 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Mar 14 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
Truly Super Duper so is the support. I just registered it.
fjz350
fjz350
Mar 14 2020
3.3.1
1.0
Mar 14 2020
1.0
Version: 3.3.1
The program ran for 18 hours before stopping with an error. After multiple failed attempts, I am deleting the application.
trevorkilbeych
trevorkilbeych
Mar 13 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Mar 13 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
Super simple to use to clone my hard drive
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Mar 2 2020
3.3.1
5.0
Mar 2 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
Still the very best adjunct to Time Machine. Use both and it would be near impossible to lose anything. Support remains excellent. I regard it as the best backup alternative or adjunct to Time Machine to be hAd.
iksretep
iksretep
Feb 17 2020
3.3.1
4.0
Feb 17 2020
4.0
Version: 3.3.1
Great cloning features, recently had my MacBook Pro in for a screen/logic board replacement ... I secure erased my storage, but restoring all of it was just so time consuming that I looked for a clone solution. Time Machine restored things nicely, but all apps and most of my iCloud and other settings needed adjusting making the TM backup a little bit confusing. Now that I have a clone backup of my MacBook Pros' storage - I am wondering if there are clear instructions on how to proceed to restore the cloned drive back onto my built in storage in macOS Catalina should I need to wipe clean my storage again.
meihei
meihei
Feb 7 2020
3.3.1
0.0
Feb 7 2020
0.0
Version: 3.3.1
hi, I tried to uninstall superduper by dragging it to the trash, however it still shows up in the menus when I right click on a folder as run superduper settings. how do I get rid of this?
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 5 2020
3.3
5.0
Feb 5 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3
Please all perspective users of SuperDuper ignore the negativity from the previous reviews! This is one fantastic app! The support is superb. If you have an issue and address it in an intelligent friendly manner it will get taken care of promptly. The Developer is extremely responsive and friendly. If you want a great backup to either replace Time Machine or an adjunct to it SuperDuper is the ticket!!!
MattSD
MattSD
Jan 8 2020
3.3
5.0
Jan 8 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3
This software has been instrumental in every hard drive upgrade (cloning the smaller drive to the larger replacement drive) and computer replacement (cloning the internal hard drive of the computer being replaced). It's faster and more reliable than trying to drag and drop gigabytes of data. Purchasing the software unlocks some smart, time-saving functionality, especially if you're dealing with large amounts of data.
juhaarje
juhaarje
Jan 4 2020
3.3
5.0
Jan 4 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3
Super!
stevegarmanpsyd
stevegarmanpsyd
Nov 30 2019
3.3
5.0
Nov 30 2019
5.0
Version: 3.3
I have been using SuperDuper for many years and have been happy with its simplicity and reliability as a backup. When I logged in last week to make a routine backup, the app notified me of an update. When I downloaded the update, I found that I could not encrypt my external backup drive. I emailed Shirt Pocket and quickly got a reply from Dave. It took us several email exchanges but we were eventually able to fix the problem. What I am most impressed by is how quickly someone from this company responded to my problem, in the evening and going into a holiday, no less. He replied to my emails almost always within minutes, and he stuck in there until we finally solved it. A great product is one thing, but great support puts this product over the top! Keep up the amazing work!
k2sg73
k2sg73
Nov 29 2019
3.3
0.0
Nov 29 2019
0.0
Version: 3.3
Has SuperDuper been updated to work with Catalina???
ocean442
ocean442
Nov 6 2019
3.2.5
5.0
Nov 6 2019
5.0
Version: 3.2.5
SuperDuper has been a reliable backup tool for over a decade. Has never failed me!
coit540
coit540
May 7 2019
3.2.4
5.0
May 7 2019
5.0
Version: 3.2.4
The software is great! I have used it to make flawless backups for years. And they are bootable. Last year I got a one of those Russian encrypt your computer and not decrypt it unless you pay a fee. I simply re-booted to the previous day backup created with SuperDuper, reformatted my main drive, copied the SuperDuper drive back and rebooted. Voila, a completely restored, piracy-software-free main drive. The technical support is outstanding! I haven't had many issues, but the author has responded within 24 hours and solved the problem in every instance. This really is great sofware. BTW: Let me say for the record that I am not related or associated with the company at all.
JABR
JABR
Nov 24 2018
3.2.4
5.0
Nov 24 2018
5.0
Version: 3.2.4
I've been using SuperDuper! since I got myself started on the Mac OS X, back in 2008: it has been an excellent, top tier application. All my OS X start up disk I've been backing them up with SuperDuper!., great work from the developer.
RJC.NJNYC
RJC.NJNYC
Nov 15 2018
3.2.4
0.0
Nov 15 2018
0.0
Version: 3.2.4
v3.2.4, Options, at least Shut Down Computer when finished now not working
Max-G
Max-G
Oct 29 2018
3.2.3
0.0
Oct 29 2018
0.0
Version: 3.2.3
Nice all these new features. But what the heck are they? They are not in the manual, not on the site and not in the forum. Searched for example for 'Smart Wake' to no avail. And where can I find all those improvements of the user experience? App looks exactly the same as years ago...
pasetta
pasetta
Oct 6 2018
3.2
5.0
Oct 6 2018
5.0
Version: 3.2
This software has saved me twice. Superduper has the BEST SUPPORT of any product that I've used in my 30 years of computer use. Excellent is an insult to what they do. Buy this software and protect yourself.
Pepper131
Pepper131
Sep 26 2018
3.2
4.0
Sep 26 2018
4.0
Version: 3.2
Ok, it’s a stupid question. I just purchased a new Mac book pre, it has 4 isbc(?) two on each side, what can I plug in to back up, that’s small and reliable. Only need maybe 240 gigs to back up. Do those thumb drives work? Which one?
Fishboy
Fishboy
Sep 25 2018
3.2
5.0
Sep 25 2018
5.0
Version: 3.2
A Solid Five Stars ★★★★★ The best and most reliable back up solution for Mac. I strongly suggest downloading directly from developers site.
Mrball
Mrball
Jun 5 2018
3.1.7
4.5
Jun 5 2018
4.5
Version: 3.1.7
Great program. version 3.1.7 incredibly slow
Moogan
Moogan
May 5 2018
3.1.6
5.0
May 5 2018
5.0
Version: 3.1.6
Reliable and easy to use. Having used this for many years it works effectively and is straightforward in operation. Developer seems fair with no costly yearly upgrade pricing as well.
mzulgis
mzulgis
May 3 2018
3.1.4
5.0
May 3 2018
5.0
Version: 3.1.4
Excellent, reliable app, combining ease of use with rock solid scheduled backups and a flawless cloning function to boot. Simply can't go wrong with SuperDuper! Highly recommended and far better than anything else out there.
Max-G
Max-G
Apr 26 2018
3.1.4
0.0
Apr 26 2018
0.0
Version: 3.1.4
Great app, use it for many years now. However, with the latest version(s) it is not possible to backup to consecutive external disks without restarting the app. If not restarted, SD gives a reading error after a couple of minutes.
Robgor
Robgor
Apr 7 2018
3.1.4
5.0
Apr 7 2018
5.0
Version: 3.1.4
If I could leave a higher rating I surely would. I've been using SuperDuper for well over a decade to make regular bootable clones of my Mac. Along with off-site backup routines, SuperDuper has provided peace of mind to have a bootable clone at the ready in case disaster strikes. I never needed it to restore a drive... until now. After an OS update mysteriously bricked my system, I had to reformat and restore from the SuperDuper backup. The restore process went flawlessly, restoring my Mac to its original state before the errant update, bringing a happy ending to an otherwise frustrating and stressful ordeal. I was in touch with the developer of Shirt Pocket, who provided quick and incredible support. I cannot speak more highly of this amazing and essential app. Get it today and rest easy.
Yazarim
Yazarim
Mar 20 2018
3.1.4
0.0
Mar 20 2018
0.0
Version: 3.1.4
72 hours (and it has not finished yet, I think it will reach the 90) to clone my startup disk to a new external. 400 Gigas, but… Is it normal? I have been happily using the application for years and years, but do not remember anything similar
propersoft
propersoft
Mar 17 2018
3.1.4
5.0
Mar 17 2018
5.0
Version: 3.1.4
great app to move data between drives