Back to Canadian Keyboard Layout page
Canadian Keyboard Layout free download for Mac

Canadian Keyboard Layout Reviews

1.1
12 January 2004

US keyboard map w/Canadian flag instead of US flag.

Anonymous
04 January 2004

Most helpful

Who Is the author of this thing?! Great idea. I have recently put the Canadian flag skin on my Mozilla browser, and you have just made my desk top Look great. Thank you! This was a long time coming. Great idea. To bad I have to use stars to rate my flag.
Like
Version 1.0

Read 27 Canadian Keyboard Layout User Reviews

Rate this app:

jerrodjian
21 December 2004
the link is no more good ! does anyone know where i can download it ?
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
16 August 2004
This product reliably crashes PassportWallet because the system is unable to pull KCHR data out of it. Most programs do not need to do this but if you find something crashing inexplicably....
Like
Version 1.1
Antsterr
10 August 2004
Well, really cool idea, I used it for a while with no problems except one MAJOR one. Using the Canadian.keylayout does a very very bad thing for Final Cut Pro/Express. Most (if not all) keyboard shortcut that involves the Command Button (Apple button) will crash the program. I've only tested this on one machine, but with more then one user. The result is always the same, use the standard U.S. keyboard layout and all is good. Use this Canadian one and it immediately crashes after any Command button shortcut. If anyone knows of a fix for this please let me know! I really want to use this!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
25 June 2004
Great. I love it. It's not important why I don't want to stare at an American flag all day - what matters is that I don't, and now I have an option! Thank you! Here is a suggestion for v1.2 : Make a UN flag option (I would prefer this over seeing a Canadian flag) www.un.org/depts/dhl/maplib/flag.html
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
29 March 2004
Awesome! You made my day. I was sick of looking at that American flag. This little hack is simple and nothing short of amazing. I love it. Canadian, born, bred, and raised.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
12 January 2004
Thanks for the accents. No more Old Gory.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
12 January 2004
Works like a charm and I needed those accents.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
12 January 2004
Even better now that I can use accented characters and ligatures etc while I put on a dignified patriotic display. Merci Beaucoup, mon ami!!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
12 January 2004
I just knew that this particular piece of software would bring out all the crazies. LOL. I kiss you all!!! Mwah! Mwah! Still, all this talk made me check out the keyboard layouts in Panther and I was amused to see who gets a flag and who doesn't. Thank God for the Cherokee Nation and Hawaiian flags. I don't know how I got along without them. How do the Taiwanese feel when they have to use a Chinese flag? Where's the Puerto Rican flag, dang it? Is it too much to ask for Ebonics, '1337, and Californian "All-Statements-Spoken-With-A-Rising-Pitch-So-They-Sound-Like-Questions?" flags? Sheesh, Apple. Get with the program. How about an Apple flag for when I employ the RDF? And finally, my list (OSX 10.3) already has a Canadian flag in it, which makes me wonder what the difference is. -Mike
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 January 2004
The one that is included is for the french keyboard layout which is different to the english one... keys in different areas etc... so if you use one that shipped with 10.3 with a standard keyboard that isnt french you will press one key and a differnt letter will appear etc...
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
12 January 2004
LOL
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
06 January 2004
Nice, but layout is incomplete, does not include characters when option key is depressed! That includes the "dead key" characters for typing accented characters en français!
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
skaimauve
skaimauve
12 January 2004
Please download the updated version (same link)! I have added the option characters and you can type French letters just as with the standard U.S. keyboard.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 January 2004
Now if only someone could do the same thing for New Zealand I'd be the happiest guy in the world!
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 January 2004
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20030902145623743 outlines how you can use your own flag icon. I tried building a NZ flag but with unsatisfactory results so have settled on the Jolly Rodger instead.
Like
Version 1.0
skaimauve
skaimauve
12 January 2004
Please download the updated version (same link)! I have added the New Zealand flag!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 January 2004
Yea, in all honesty Microsoft is the evil empire, lets all unite as one as Mac users! (I suppose VersionCrapper.com should be considered evil, though its not really an empire...)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 January 2004
Everyone should be proud of where they are from. I said the "wuss" comment to show how it feels to be called "the evil empire." Sorry if I offended anyone. Not really fair, is it? You are right about all human beings being remarkable. Only in free countries can that really be encouraged. But I am proud to be American, and just didn't understand why a Canadian would consider us an evil empire or a war machine. We can have differences without all the hate. But we are Mac users right? At least we have the same good taste;)
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2004
American? Please... we all live in the Americas (canadians, usonians, quebecers, mexicans, brazilians, ...) therefore the name American belongs to all of us -- as European is the continental name of all the citizens of all the european countries.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2004
As an American I completely understand why America is considered An Evil Empire as well as a very well greased War Machine! Are you trying to be ironic or don't you follow current events?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 January 2004
No I am not being "ironic". The fact is the U.S. is at war, and any kind of war sucks. It is just that everyones true colors come out in a crisis situation. It seems like if the U.S. don't do anything people gripe and moan about what we should do, and if we do take any action that shows any aggression it is quickly decided that we are evil. The truth is a lot of people in foreign countries never really liked us to begin with. They think we are fat, senseless spoiled people who don't think about anyone but themselves. That is just another prejudice. We don't have the long history of oppressing and invading like a lot of foreign countries that oppose us do, yet we are accused of it now. Do you really want radical Muslim extremists and people that support that rise to a superpower? Do you think that women should be considered second class citizens? Killed for your personal religious beliefs? The thing is, the US is being targeted for these terrorist attacks, for the very reason we are a superpower, and can stop them. The US is in the way of their beliefs. We stand for the opposite of their beliefs. If we were out of the way, then who would be next? If you are not extreme Muslim fanatic, then you would be next. I am in no way in favor of war. But I would rather have our soldiers fighting, where we have a fighting chance, than fight here, where you have cowards flying planes into buildings. And we can do it alone if we have to.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
05 January 2004
AWESOME!! Very well done, CANADA #1!!!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
I love Canadians! Well, the girls anyway. Funny, I was just looking at the keyboard menu the other day and wondered how many ppl looked at US or other flags foreign to them. I thought this might be useful: http://www.gently.co.za/archives/000004.html
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
I have to revise my comment. Accented letters are unavailable using the option key. Looks like we'll need version 1.1 It's a great idea, though.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Excellent!! Now I have easy access to the Character Palette and Keyboard Layout tools without having to suffer the indignity of another country's flag in my menu bar.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
We don't hate you. As for what we have contributed. You may need to read you history books again. You can start with Alexander Graham Bell - a little invention called the Telephone. I could go on, but the fact remains all humans are remarkable... Lets get over this. This a MAC form and this is a great design - partially why we use Macs in the first place.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Can't use the "option" keys, like the copyright sign, etc. with this. At least, they don't show up in Keyboard Viewer. Nice idea though. I don't hate the united states, but it's nice to have our own flag. Bye the way, we are not a wuss country, either. silly comment.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
You guys need to get rid of your Macs since they also come from "the evil empire". Must be a little insecure like your French brothers. What has Canada or France contributed to the world, compared to "the evil empire?" If we were an evil empire, Canada would have been the first wuss country to fall, followed by France. Reality is if either country was attacked we would be the ones there to save your a$$es. Why do you hate us so?
Like
Version 1.0
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Your attitude in this posting describes with eloquence why the rest of the world should worry... ;-) Your friend from the North Vincent (The French Quebec separatist)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
hahaha. Oh well. Really, unless you're the neocon policymaker at fault, there's no need to take criticism of a gov's foreign policy so personally. I didn't check a box promising "perpetual foreign war and occupation" and I bet you didn't either. Besides, these seem like nice Canadians. They had the restraint not to bring up how "Canadians" kicked American ass in the US invasion of British America in 1812. Ah well. I'm American and have no such restraint. :)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Master of the World : you should also think to reimburse the money the French people gave to you for your independence which Benjamin Franklin took (one year of France state budget in 1776) and he never cared to reimburse (it took 50 years for average worker and banks to recover from that big crash). at this time Indian chef tribed were received as kings in versailles - not killed by the cavalery ! that's why also the US independance was signed in versailles, not in Washington ! you never wonder why ??? Anyhow, they send thousand of guys to defeat the Britishes as Washington was a mediocre soldat and an even worse stratege. And who remember that the Statue of Liberty was originlly "French science illuminating the Orient (no less - oh My God ) and was given by the people of France to this nation (who spend months to decide what they should do with it when it arrived in 1889). And it was great when the yankies came in 1944: finally something back after 2 centuries of screwing up former allies. Never forget that the first war that the young US democarcy declared was.. against ... France in 1779 in Louisiana ("always more") and they were badly defeated as most of the people (the ones who fight, not the ones who decide in Washington) remebered the allies of 3 years before who gve them guns and canons and blood. That was anopther luminous idea from the Washington authorities. And for what concerns Macs, as a professor at Stanford, I can say that more of 75 % of Silicon Valley is running over foreign blood and energy. But governed by nice English-native businessmen of the "purest" tradition. but highly minority. The US government acts exaclty as the Roman Emperors (in many aspects), so the decline will hurt badly. But I don't want it. And let the Quebec has its flag and the Canadians too if they want. that's also a nice markey for coca cola and other delicaties like that ! many kisses--
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2004
we dont hate you. nobody hates you. we hate your imperialistic government. also: i doubt your government and its army could save any large country -- and that goes for any large country who'd try to save yours. secondly: dont mistake invading a weak country (like Irak) for "saving it". irakies did not request your army's invasion of their land -- more since irak seems now to be an free open zone for terrorists, which it seemingly was not before. wanna save? ask your government to respect international treaties and organisations.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2004
As an expatriot citizen (which means that I choose to NOT live in the country of my birth) of the USA, I can not find words sufficient to condemn the government of the USA. Ever since Reagan, who made me nostalgic for that bastard Nixon, things went from bad to worse. I am a baby-boomer who resisted the war in Vietnam, never registered for the draft. That period of the history of the USA made me a lifelong leftist but NOT a communist by any means. Nor am I a "wishy-washy liberal". I find any and all nationalism (be it outright jingoism or just plain old stupid flag-waving) extremely distasteful. To hell with all the flags of the world and the divisions they represent.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
This is so awesome. I was tired of having the evil empire's flag in my menubar.
Like
Version 1.0
Uncle-Bunkie
04 January 2004
Thanks my fellow Canuck. It's so awesome that you did this. I'm tired of feeling like were are in the shadows of the Big War Machine (USA that is). Good work. Nice to see the Canadian flag on my tool bar.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
gawd, how i despise any sort of nationalism... you are all a bunch of troglodytes stuck in a deadend mindset. John Lennon said it best and for all time: "...imagine there's no countries..." (etc)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Since I'm a Quebec separatist, I really would like to have the French Canadian keyboard layout with the Quebec flag. ;-) Vincent
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Since i am a 13,000 year-old person from Mesopotamia, i would appreciate a Sanskrit keyboard layout. Shame on Apple for their anglo-ethnocentricity. I say it is time for a jihad.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 January 2004
Me too ! I would really like a Québec flag.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
04 January 2004
It's sooo great not having the Evil Empire stick its flag on my menubar.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
THANK YOU!!!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
04 January 2004
Who Is the author of this thing?! Great idea. I have recently put the Canadian flag skin on my Mozilla browser, and you have just made my desk top Look great. Thank you! This was a long time coming. Great idea. To bad I have to use stars to rate my flag.
Like
Version 1.0
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 January 2004
if u select only the one keyboard u need in the preferences, u wont have to see any bloody flag
Like
Version 1.0
Mikey666
Mikey666
04 January 2004
The flags are useful if you use several keyboard layouts for ease in writing in several languages.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2004
a simple list -- done with the name of the language in its own writing w/o flags -- would do the same job without being an annoyance to anyone... i've an iPod and i can choose in between many languages without seing any flag
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2004
yellow stars were also used by USSR ;o)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 January 2004
wicked!!!!! I love this application... I love the USA and all but seeing the Canadian is soooooo nice!!!!!!!
Like
Version 1.0