Back to IPNetRouterX page
IPNetRouterX free download for Mac

IPNetRouterX Reviews

1.6c2
19 October 2011

Software firewall security solution.

Morgan Knicely
02 June 2005

Most helpful

This software is a lifesaver for folks that have to administer a network but don't want to spend time sifting through dozens of man pages and web sites to do so. There are plenty of high quality free tools out there to do everything that IPNetRouterX does, but who wants to install and research a bunch of different things when one app has it all? My old gateway/router died suddenly last month, and I was able to install IPNetRouterX on my XServe and get the network up and running in less than 4 hours.
Like (2)
Version 1.1c6

Read 20 IPNetRouterX User Reviews

Rate this app:

Noivad
26 April 2012
Everything IPNetRouterX does can be done in the command line… if you like spending hours doing something that should take minutes that is. With that said, here is my review: I had IPNetRouter back in the OS 9 days and eventually was able to afford a real router that did everything IPNetRouterX does, but that router cost me about 3 times what this software did, not including the additional network interfaces I had to get. Today I need a quick way to test a network setup, and IPNetRouterX came in quite handy. If you have a machine you leave on all the time anyway, IPNetRouterX would be a good solution. I GUI is easier to use than 15 years ago, but it is still pretty complex. Luckily the in program help is extensive and actually useful (unlike most app’s in-app help). IPNetRouterX gives the user full control over their network, and allows one to do complex setups with much less effort than traditional CLIs. It took me (literally) a minute to setup my mac as a gateway between two networks and test software to see if it would work before purchasing anything. In conjunction with IPNetMonitorX, IPNetRouterX gives one a network overview with minimal fuss. I would recommend the package that includes both over individual purchases. If you log into routers and configure them everyday, you do not need this app, but if you don’t (and only occasionally deal with routing, etc.) then give this a try. Given that both are a free trial, you have nothing to lose but time by trying the suite. And in my experience the apps actually save time.
Like (1)
Version 1.6c2
Libertyforall1776
19 October 2011
Release Notes ARE available: http://sustworks.com/site/prod_ipnrx_relnotes.html Oct 18, 2011 - IPNetRouterX 1.6c2 • Fixes for loading NKE and 64-bit structure aligment. August 19, 2011 - IPNetRouterX 1.6c1 • Rebuild NKE as 32/64-bit Universal.
Like
Version 1.6c2
Machub
19 September 2007
Today I had a question regarding dhcp options and got instant answer and help from Peter Sichel. This product helped me a lot in my life as Network Consultant - I absolutely can recommend it !
Like (1)
Version 1.3c9
Craigd
28 December 2006
We've been using IPNetRouterX for a couple of months and have found it great. The developer has been very responsive to any issues we've raised.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
15 November 2005
Ahh, folks am I missing something here. The app is $100 and the upgrade is $50. Let me in on the $40 secret please! Doc
Like
Version 1.1c11
Anonymous
28 September 2005
Don't be paranoid. Yes, this is a commercial application. Yes, it costs $40. But it's worth every penny for the kind of enterprise-worthy power that's provided in an approachable, easy-to-use interface. Those of you that are moaning about the price -- DON'T BUY IT! It's obviously not meant for you. This is a great product, and Sustainable Softworks does not collect personal information -- what's wrong with tracking an IP address to make sure the transaction is cool? Jeez.
Like
Version 1.1c10
Anonymous
27 July 2005
$40 bucks is waaaay too much money. He has none of the associated overhead that comes with commerical software packaging and distribution, etc. which sells at COMP USA, etc, AND this app would NEVER see the shelf at $40.00! Not in a million years. Besides that, I have always wondered why he just has to have our IP EVERYTIME WE DOWNLOAD HIS PROGRAMS!!??! I resent this, especially in light of learning he kinda "keeps tabs on certain of us" To show you the "proof" I would have to "expose" myself - and I am not willing to do that at this time. You can believe it-or you can chose not to. Your call. I know this is good software. But its too expensive for what it is. And I don't buy from someone I don't trust. And I do NOT trust old Peter Sichel here..not on yer life......
Like
Version 1.1c7
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 September 2005
Ummm... So don't buy it? I'll gladly pay the $40 to have the kind of routing power this app provides. Run it on a Blue G3 that you can get for less than $100 and for under $150 you have a truly enterprise-class firewall and router. With a first-class, easy-to-use GUI too!
Like (1)
Version 1.1c10
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 September 2005
Did you know they also watch you from behind your television set? That's why I always wear shades. And my lucky socks. Sheesh! What a ding dong! I have always wondered why he just has to have our IP EVERYTIME WE DOWNLOAD HIS PROGRAMS!!??! That's the spooky scary iNT@-rWWWEB, kid. He could just check his webserver logs to see who's been downloading what directly.
Like (1)
Version 1.1c10
Morgan Knicely
02 June 2005
This software is a lifesaver for folks that have to administer a network but don't want to spend time sifting through dozens of man pages and web sites to do so. There are plenty of high quality free tools out there to do everything that IPNetRouterX does, but who wants to install and research a bunch of different things when one app has it all? My old gateway/router died suddenly last month, and I was able to install IPNetRouterX on my XServe and get the network up and running in less than 4 hours.
Like (2)
Version 1.1c6
Anonymous
02 June 2005
"IPNetRouterX is a powerful router, firewall, and network management utility including NAPT with inbound port mapping, a built-in DHCP Server, AirPort configuration tool, bandwidth accounting, and rate limiting." All of this is free on any GNU/Linux, BSD, etc PC why bother buying crud software when you can get it all for free
Like
Version 1.1c6
Akiacat
18 March 2005
If you got a spare x86 PC standing around, check out M0n0wall. It just owns this IF you got a spare PC. ;)
Like
Version 1.0.5
Anonymous
09 March 2005
interesting product, but where's the remote access? no shell access or webpage intfc as far as i can tell ... ok if you're always sitting in front of the machine its on ... but even a $40 linksys lets me get to it from elsewhere ...
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
04 February 2005
In response to the above two comments: Why would anyone want this over an ACTUAL router? You obviously don't understand that not only is IPNetRouterX an ACTUAL router but it also is a Firewall, an IDS, an IPS, Bandwidth Accountant, Rate Limiter, and so much more! All with an elegant GUI interface to boot! Have you ever configured a Cisco router in an IOS terminal? Well I have, and let me tell you it ain't pretty. For a measly $100 and an old G3 Blue&White that was just gathering dust, I now have a dual redundant load balanced MONSTER that smokes the HARDWARE router I retired. I've had vendors pushing me $2000+ hardware solutions that can't touch this thing! P.S. It's driving a group of companies with 55 internet clients and multiple NAT'd servers so I ain't your typical home user! Could not get a single response? I emailed the programmer with suggestions I had while playing with the demo and within 2 HOURS he had emailed me back with a newer version with the changes incorporated! I hadn't even bought the program yet! Good luck trying to find that kind of response from anyone else anywhere else! Sustainable Softworks...you Rock! Allan Claunch I.T. Southwestern Group of Companies, Inc.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
02 January 2005
Single User $100 per licence! at that price I can get a router on ebay with more feature They have great products but who's going to pay $100 for a routing software while there're bunch of options in the Unix world?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 December 2004
most of the users here seem to be your average home user tight on budget and ideas. Having a dedicated computer as a router allows for much better configuration than what can be found in hardware routers which are usually just DHCP+NAT+port forwarding. with a computer you can monitor traffic, block vast IP lists that can auto update (think peerguardian, privoxy for all computers of the network without a need to install and update individual machines) distribute bandwidth evenly between clients, etc etc...) and numerous other uses stop bashing the product for what it isn't and use it to give it a fair review. I for myself am pleased by its speed (faster than apple built-in) but think it lacks in better bandwidth fixing for clients. Shouls also be able to run as a service.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
03 December 2004
I must echo the sentiment of other reviewers. Why would anyone want this over an ACTUAL router? You can get multiple port routers with 802.11 as well (aka AirPort) that let you configure firewall and other nifty settings. And they cost LESS than Apple's AirPort routers. Consider that you would require a machine to act as the server, loading it up with multiple-port ethernet cards, in order for this software to be useful. Seriously, why would ANYONE want to spend all that money? Just go buy a standard router.
Like
Version 1.0c14
Anonymous
04 November 2004
I tried to contact the developers many times about six months ago and could not get a single response, and that was for a simple volume license agreement. If that is the type of response for sales, I can only imagine how hard it might be to get simple support.
Like
Version 1.0c11
Anonymous
27 October 2004
pointless - just get a real router!
Like
Version 1.0c10
1 answer(s)
Vlad-Didenko
Vlad-Didenko
17 October 2009
Your comment is especially non-helpful for a laptop user on a wireless network in a coffee shop.
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
27 March 2004
$40? I might as well just buy a REAL router that will have DHCP and firewall built-in. It will also have 4 ports and not bog down my computer.
Like
Version 1.0b6
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 September 2004
Simply so right...
Like
Version 1.0c8
Vlad-Didenko
Vlad-Didenko
17 October 2009
Your comment is especially non-helpful for a laptop user on a wireless network in a coffee shop.
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
13 March 2004
This thing is a good example of 'half-a$$ed-ware'. I went through the same problem with sharing the modem connection. It's probably DNS-- make sure you put in the DNS server info that your ISP gives you in your connection's TCP/IP settings. I would seriously recommend VicomSoft's 'Intergate' over this software. The documentation is dated, and horrible.
Like
Version 1.0b4
Anonymous
22 January 2004
So far I have been unable to get this to share my modem connection on my imac with my powerbook g4. I can get my modem to share over the ethernet but not using the airport cards that both have. My lan works well with both wireless and wired. I can only share the modem wired. What is the use of software that says you can do this but will not work. I do hope it is just some stupid config I am missing but networking is what I do. what gives. Better more concise documentation would be real nice. Make it work and I will write you a howto that works and that any person could duplicate. Pete
Like
Version 1.0b2
1 answer(s)
Peter-Sichel
Peter-Sichel
22 January 2004
It's hard to tell why sharing doesn't work for you via AirPort without more information. Can you email me directly? (psichel@sustworks.com) If you haven't already, please try setting both AirPorts to use computer-to-computer mode. I demoed this at Macworld earlier this month.
Like
Version 1.0b2