Back to Xcode page
Xcode free download for Mac

Xcode Reviews

11.4
26 March 2020

Integrated development environment (IDE) for OS X.

piquadratpi2
23 September 2019

Most helpful

Many improvements and updates to the newest versions. A great application!
Like (1)
Version 11.0

Read 79 Xcode User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aapple
26 March 2020
Version 11.4 is only for 10.15+ (Catalina)
Like
Version 11.4
anastasiiatorbunova
11 February 2020
Press download button and nothing happen. How can I download it?
Like
Version 11.3.1
martinezmferchito95
25 January 2020
where is the link?
Like
Version 11.3.1
ocean442
15 November 2019
Xcode's tab/window/file logic is rather weird, if you compare it to other IDEs, but once you get used to it (or around it...), writing apps is a breeze.
Like
Version 11.2.1
piquadratpi2
23 September 2019
Many improvements and updates to the newest versions. A great application!
Like (1)
Version 11.0
anonymous-boar-3802
17 April 2019
Can't update it. macOS Mojave Version 10.14.4
Like
Version 10.2
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
18 April 2019
There have been net delays, but I was able to update. √
Like
anonymous-boar-3802
anonymous-boar-3802
18 April 2019
Thanks. Works now.
Like
Phoenixdownunder
27 March 2019
Xcode 10.2 doesn't run in Mac OS High Sierra. Crap service Apple.
Like (1)
Version 10.2
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
18 April 2019
Verified. And: “Xcode 10.2.1 requires a Mac running macOS 10.14.3 or later.”
Like
dr-mahmoud010
15 January 2019
Very useful
Like
Version 10.1
evilinstone
19 September 2018
Rebase. Diff highlighting and many other improvement.
Like
Version 10.0
brantscales
13 February 2018
very intuitive to use
Like
Version 9.2
Dear Apple, thanks for not waiting for 10.11.5 to secure devs on OSX and provide git 2.7.4 now.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.1
OhEssex
21 March 2016
Four Point Eight Seven Giga Bytes... There's no way to incrementally update this thing?
Like (3)
Version 7.3
2 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
22 March 2016
This can be considered an "incremental" update when compared with ~10.5GB for the full Xcode.app, albeit a hefty one. Any 7.3.x updates would likely be smaller.
Like
Kobalt
Kobalt
04 May 2016
@ sjk

v7.3.1 at 3.8gig is indeed smaller than 4.87 gig for v7.3.0, but not by a lot. There must be a couple of tons of changes even in this sub-incremental update.
Like
Aster0id
23 September 2015
iOS必备开发工具, 官方IDE. 不需要解释
Like (2)
Version 7.0
vipicon
07 April 2015
No Xcode, no iOS App!
Like (2)
Version 6.2
sketchdesigner
07 April 2015
What should i say? If you develop app for app, you use xcode.
Like (6)
Version 6.2
Geekkkker
07 April 2015
It is my arm! I can't fight without it!
Like (5)
Version 6.2
1 answer(s)
sketchdesigner
sketchdesigner
07 April 2015
Yes!
Like (3)
Brian Kendig
24 October 2013
Is there any way to upgrade Xcode 5.0 to 5.0.1 without re-downloading the whole thing?
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
2 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
11 April 2014
The 5.0.1 update size from App Store is under 200MB, not the full 2.18GB listed here. It's ~130MB or ~170MB; whichever the iMovie 10.0.3 update isn't.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
11 April 2014
The 5.1.1 update …, that is.
Like (1)
Myjsm
20 September 2013
Error in requirements, Xcode now needs Mountain Lion version 10.8.4, not Lion.
Like (1)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
20 September 2013
Thanks for pointing that out, Myjsm. I've corrected the requirements for the listing.
Like (1)
sjk
18 September 2013
I'm currently unable to download Command Line Tools using a free developer AppleID that successfully downloaded pre-5.0 versions.
Like (2)
Version 5.0
3 answer(s)
Sam-A-Oregon
Sam-A-Oregon
18 September 2013
I'm also having that same issue. Drat.
Like (2)
sjk
sjk
19 September 2013
Try it again, Sam-A. :) After posting here I checked developer.apple.com/downloads and neither Xcode 5 or Command Line Tools were listed, but both are there now and I've successfully downloaded/installed CLT directly from Xcode 5.
Like
Sam-A-Oregon
Sam-A-Oregon
19 September 2013
Thanks sjk. I downloaded it from the site and all went OK.
Like
SickTeddyBear
27 May 2013
FYI for anyone looking to obtain Xcode 4.2 for Snow Leopard, but you don't have a paid developer account: http://macintouch.com/readerreports/development/index.html#d26may2013
Like (3)
Version 4.6.2
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
23 October 2013
That URL has been updated to: http://www.macintouch.com/readerreports/development/topic4535.html#d26may2013
Like (4)
Macinman
01 February 2013
Hey all, I'm having a strange error, with installing xcode documentation. I have Xcode 4.6 and when i click to install documentation sets i'll get the error unable to expand documentation doc set, for whatever doc set it is. I can't seem to resolve this, or find a manual way of installing to get around this. Could some one shed some light please? Google hasn't been much help here either. Currently i'm repairing disk permissions to see if there is an issue there, as far as an issue such as disk i/o errors, my hard drive doesn't report any problems with any of the tools i've used to test for damage.
Like
Version 4.6
Awado
29 January 2013
Just a minor hint: I had a lot of crashes with a small project. Turned off "Auto layout" and the crashes went away. At a first glance it seemed as if the project file was corrupt, but it wasn't.
Like
Version 4.6
manleyPower
29 January 2013
I can't understand all the negative reviews. Have you ever used Eclipse or AppCode? Those are really ugly Apps and while Eclipse or VisualStudio might have some more features, XCode is way easier to use and to learn. Those who have adopted to any of the PC IDEs will always hate XCode, but for those who are new to programming, I can tell you: There is no easier IDE than XCode. You will find your way very quickly. After all, for me XCode rarely crashes (since 4.5) and I use it full time each day.
Like (3)
Version 4.6
2 answer(s)
Gobra
Gobra
30 January 2013
Negative reviews are from people like me, who have faced huge problems with the XCode in terms of reliability. I have used lots of IDEs during my career, but I have never been so unsure in the tool I use. XCode3 was much weaker, looked worse an so on, but at least I didn't have that terrible experience with the bugs, crashes and freezes as I had with XCode4. The latest builds are getting better, but they still do have various issues even with basic functionality... And I just can't understand it. It's been 2+ years since the first beta, the IDE is supported by the riches IT company in the world... And they still can't make this damn syntax highlight and code completion working 100% of time?
Like (2)
manleyPower
manleyPower
10 February 2013
@Gobra OK, I see your point. You're especially right in that Apple really has the resources to do better.
Like
Uniquepito
29 January 2013
- Code completion heuristics are more accurate, and use an optimized default data set. - New compiler warnings help identify potential bugs when using ARC and weak references. And I say: Finally!!!
Like (2)
Version 4.6
1 answer(s)
Uniquepito
Uniquepito
29 January 2013
Also, Ive forgotten to mention: Debugger can inspect elements within NSArray or NSDictionary objects.
Like
Macinman
03 November 2012
Hey guys, I've been able to update xcode on lion regularly until 4.5.2. I only have one apple ID which is itunes icloud and mac app store. I have xcode 4.5.1 installed on lion 10.7.5 and the app store doesn't show xcode 4.5.2 as an available update. When I go to the purchases section xcode shows that it needs to be updated, however when I click, the app store thinks xcode was purchased on a different account, and refuses to update. Is there a fix for this, so i don't have to do the whole download again from scratch? thanks.
Like
Version 4.5.2
rkey77
20 September 2012
Sweet IDE (S - Integrated Developer Environment) funny thing: most of the things I thought Xcode does wrong was my own misunderstanding. for example, thinking that code-completion could work when I'm not in the right context (forgot a bracket or whatever). Haha ! As Xcode may change over time - like technology does (and hopefully the human mind too) - you have to change with it. If you can't do that you end up in complaining instead of flowing with it. It has changed so many times I can't count it! No problem, just give me a heads-up (please). Of course I don't have zig millions of source code to maintain.
Like (5)
Version 4.5
Gobra
29 August 2012
Worst IDE ever. Really. Since the update to the XCode 4 (forced, to be honestly), I'm not coding my apps, I'm FIGHTING. Everyday I'm fighting with all the issue this crapy IDE has: with the syntax highlight being turned off occasionally, with the autocomplete disappearing, with the crashes, crashes and crashes everywhere, with the UI being changed a little bit with every freaking update, that are actually issued twice a month. I have to force myself to work, every single day - just because I HATE this damn XCode. I never had that much bad emotions with XCode3, although it was pretty weak as IDE comparing to, let's say, Visual Studio. Damn, and there is no alternative, actually!
Like (3)
Version 4.4.1
2 answer(s)
Ikir
Ikir
02 November 2012
Nice joke :)
Like (3)
Gobra
Gobra
02 November 2012
Lkir, Yeah, the nicest one. In 2012 the syntax highlight still works from time to time, Interface editor is much weaker than the old one from Borland IDEs on 90's and there is still no normal integration between debugger and the IDE - to check out the variable I still have to use console and gdb commands. Yep. Funny.
Like
Snowlprd
07 August 2012
New command-line tools are also available at https://developer.apple.com/downloads/
Like (1)
Version 4.4.1
MacBunny
23 July 2012
The code editor is horrible, just horrible! I've migrated to AppCode.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.3
the-skippy
09 May 2012
UI is really complex compared to Xcode 3. You can configure it to not do the more stupid things, but it should be by default. It doesn't feel like an Apple app, more like something that has not really been thought about properly. The interface builder is much better though.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.2
DevTools-Inc-
22 March 2012
Still no GCC > v4.2.1, such as GCC v4.7. Apple seems to prefer clang.llvm.org (see OS X 10.8).
Like
Version 4.3.2
3 answer(s)
Psychos
Psychos
22 March 2012
Note that the current GCC 4.2.1 isn't even GNU GCC anymore, it's the llvm-gcc frontend, with the same LLVM backend that clang uses (not sure how long ago this became default): $ gcc --version i686-apple-darwin11-llvm-gcc-4.2 (GCC) 4.2.1 (Based on Apple Inc. build 5658) (LLVM build 2336.9.00) If you want the "real" GCC you need to build from code even with 4.2. I haven't noticed any real issues with llvm-gcc, though.
Like
Psychos
Psychos
22 March 2012
Oops, it looks like Apple does still include GNU GCC, hidden away: $ /usr/bin/i686-apple-darwin11-gcc-4.2.1 --version i686-apple-darwin11-gcc-4.2.1 (GCC) 4.2.1 (Apple Inc. build 5666) (dot 3) This isn't even a listed option in Xcode anymore, just llvm-gcc (default) or clang (listed as "Apple LLVM compiler".) You can pick "other", but that's entered by bundle id and I don't feel like figuring out if one even exists for GNU GCC. :)
Like
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
23 March 2012
If you need advanced features like C++11 (formally known as C++0X), Apple did provide these in llvm-gcc. Though it's not enabled by default; you'll need to turn it on in the project properties.
Like
Psychos
08 March 2012
More buggy update fun...just when I thought 4.3.1 had cleanly updated, I noticed that the *documentation* for the iOS 5.1 SDK didn't install, with an error icon instead. (It gives me an "access denied for download" error if I retry.) The rest of my components and documentation updated fine after entering my login info... This isn't even the SDK (that's included in the base update), but just the documentation for it! Guess I'll try installing that package again in a day or two and see if it works then. I bet someone at Apple just screwed up the permissions on their servers, since it's a new package and not just an update.
Like
Version 4.3.1
SickTeddyBear
19 February 2012
OK, let's see now: 1. Xcode 4.3 can co-exist with previous versions of Xcode. I suggest that you do NOT uninstall the old version, until major issues have been resolved with this one. 2. Xcode 4.3 does NOT have to live in the /Applications directory. You can place it anywhere. You can put it in a separate directory along with all the optional downloadable utilities. There is no need to clutter your /Applications directory. 3. Xcode 4.3 does not have to be downloaded from the Mac App Store. You can also download it using a free developer account from connect.apple.com . 4. It is recommended that you install the commandline tools using the separate installer available from connect.apple.com, rather than from within the Xcode program. 5. After you've installed the commandline tools and decided where you want to place Xcode 4.3, run the following command in terminal to insure that the proper path is set (change the path accordingly if you've installed it somewhere else): sudo xcode-select -switch /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer Check to make sure the path is set correctly by running this command: xcode-select -print-path && xcodebuild -version The output should look like this: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer Xcode 4.3 Build version 4E109
Like (3)
Version 4.3
6 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
20 February 2012
. > 4. It is recommended that you install the commandline tools using the separate installer available from connect.apple.com, rather than from within the Xcode program. Where's that recommended? > 5. … run the following command in terminal to insure that the proper path is set (change the path accordingly if you've installed it somewhere else): > sudo xcode-select -switch /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer The xcode-switch script appends /Contents/Developer to the pathname so it's not required there.
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
08 March 2012
I saw some early reports on different forums that people installing the commandline tools from within Xcode were having issues, but those went away when they used the standalone installer. I've witnessed a situation in which an earlier version of the xcode-select script will not automatically append /Contents/Developer, which is why I listed the full path explicitly.
Like (1)
Psychos
Psychos
08 March 2012
Useful tips. I ran into the path issue with Homebrew myself, and discovered it was because xcode-select still thought my path was "/Developer". I couldn't update the command line tools from within Xcode with 4.3 (had to install the package manually), but this seems to be fixed with 4.3.1; I checked /usr/bin after updating 4.3.1's command line tools and those did update properly.
Like
sjk
sjk
08 March 2012
Thanks for the explanation, Negritude. I'd only been able to update pre-4.3 Command Line Tools with 4.3 on my MBP. Now it works with 4.3.1 on my other two systems after this change: - Adds installation of command-line tools to the Downloads preference pane
 Downloading newer documentation worked okay, except for iOS 5.1 Library being finicky about the dev account login (like what you mentioned in another comment, Psychos). After that I manually deleted older and unwanted docs from ~/Library/Developer/Shared/Documentation/DocSets to regain some space.
Like
Psychos
Psychos
22 March 2012
...and 4.3.2 seems to have broken in-app updating of command line tools, again. Updated Xcode, then got a "You don't have access to download Command Line Tools" message. (Other components updated fine in-app.) Went to developer.apple.com with the same account, and Command Line Tools (Late Mar 2012) downloaded and installed fine, and now shows up as updated within Xcode.
Like
sjk
sjk
22 March 2012
Only issue I had updating Command Line Tools from Xcode 4.3.2 was being prompted to reenter developer account info on one system. CLT and doc updates were more troublesome with 4.3.1, including deleting/resaving dev acct info stored in the keychain a few times.
Like
Ocd
17 February 2012
Have the people at Apple's Xcode group all had lobotomies?? Why didn't they package all the developer tools and utilities with the update to v4.3 ?? Instead, you now have to use the the ever-so lame App Store to update Xcode, and then you have to go to the developer site, login and individually download and install all the updated tools and utilities. What were they thinking?? Where's the logic here? Argh!
Like (3)
Version 4.3
2 answer(s)
Ocd
Ocd
17 February 2012
Ok - that was an unnecessary rant, sorry... i take it back (yea, i know , it's all ready out there) The updated app is actually great... more integrated, faster, uses less memory and it's more stable (for me at least) and it co-exists with 4.2 - thanks Apple.
Like
sjk
sjk
17 February 2012
As explained in my reply to Psychos, I was unexpectedly able to install (update, actually) Command Line Tools from Preferences > Downloads on one of my three systems. Makes me wonder if the intention is for other optional packages to eventually show up there so the installation and updating can be managed within Xcode.
Like
Libertyforall1776
17 February 2012
Well how stupid is that? The App Store was "supposed to make our lives easier", yet the updates tab does not even reflect this update in the App Store! Fail IMHO!
Like (2)
Version 4.3
2 answer(s)
Endymion0000
Endymion0000
17 February 2012
The first bullet on this page's What's New deals with that and why.
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
17 February 2012
Actually now Xcode is an app, and not an installer. So from now on it will be updated via the App Store, instead of downloading an installer, and having to install that, as it has been. So next time you will see the update via the App Store.
Like
SickTeddyBear
16 February 2012
Has anyone tested whether the new Xcode works OK with package managers such as MacPorts, Fink, Pkgsrc, Homebrew, Prefix, etc?
Like (1)
Version 4.3
2 answer(s)
paperut
paperut
17 February 2012
It seems to me that everything works fine with macports. I do not use Fink, Homebrew, etc.
Like
Psychos
Psychos
17 February 2012
Works with Homebrew. Looking into that led me to discover that Apple also released a STANDALONE development kit at the same time, "Command Line Tools for Xcode." (Based on this guy's repackaging: http://kennethreitz.com/xcode-gcc-and-homebrew.html) Only a 172MB download, no GUI tools or iOS stuff included. Homebrew specifically supports building with just that installed, now! So for folks who just want a dev environment Homebrew/MacPorts/Fink/whatever, this looks like a great alternative. You do need to download it from developer.apple.com though, since it's not on the App Store.
Like
Psychos
16 February 2012
Well, Xcode 4.3 is certainly a nice step as far as the packaging and update process go. The new self-contained Xcode.app is 1.6GB now; the old /Developer folder it moved to the trash was 7.2GB! This is because they don't force as many components on you...components for backwards compatibility, etc, are now optional installs. I'm not sure I like all my dev tools/documentation/etc living in /Applications though, but I'll take it over the old method, especially with delta updates supposedly enabled now.
Like (2)
Version 4.3
5 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
16 February 2012
I'm not sure how best to handle command line tools, etc. that moved from /Developer to under /Applications/Xcode.app being newer than what's installed under /usr, etc. Didn't pre-4.3 Xcode updates keep some of that stuff in sync automatically? Seems like that'll now be a manual process after most Xcode app updates, by downloading and installing the optional Command Line Tools for Xcode package. Command Line Tools is listed as Installed under Xcode > Preferences > Downloads > Components and clicking "Check and Install Now" displays "No updates available" so that only handles what's bundled with the app.
Like (1)
Psychos
Psychos
16 February 2012
Hmm, looking at my backup, it looks like my CURRENT set of /usr/bin stuff came from my last Xcode install! So, essentially, it seems like the old tools weren't uninstalled at all. (They might have been on the system initially, though, and just updated by Xcode along the way...but still.) So yeah, now Xcode.app has its own set of those tools now, which it doesn't populate into /usr/bin anymore it seems. Definitely annoying, and seems like a bug since that's likely to break things over time as versions drift, even if nothing breaks right away. I guess you could always add "/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/usr/bin" to the start of your $PATH for now...
Like
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
17 February 2012
Funny, I installed 4.3 and it did NOT move the old /Developer folder to the trash. Fail again. :(
Like
Endymion0000
Endymion0000
17 February 2012
It asks you. Perhaps you chose otherwise.
Like
sjk
sjk
17 February 2012
. > So, essentially, it seems like the old tools weren't uninstalled at all. During the first launch of 4.3, the Remove Older Xcode Tools dialog only offered to trash /Developer and /Applications/Install Xcode.app. Apparently any other older Xcode-related stuff was left untouched, including leaving orphaned app references in Launchpad's Developer folder when /Developer was trashed. > So yeah, now Xcode.app has its own set of those tools now, which it doesn't populate into /usr/bin anymore it seems. For some reason, Command Line Tools wasn't listed under Xcode > Preferences > Downloads > Components right after installing 4.3 on my older MBP (like it had been earlier on my MBA and mini). But after clicking "Check and Install Now" it showed up with an Install button. Surprisingly, clicking that prompted for developer account info (which I entered) and then proceeded to download and install the same stuff as in the standalone Command Line Tools for Xcode package. So, I was able to update CLT from Preferences > Downloads on the MBP but not on the MBA and mini. The 4.3 migration process can be quirky. > I guess you could always add "/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/usr/bin" to the start of your $PATH for now... That wouldn't handle scripts, etc. with dependencies on files in /usr/bin, etc. Components of the development environment, possibly with varying versions, that exist under Xcode, traditional UNIX, and other locations can be a source of confusion and unintended results.
Like
SickTeddyBear
01 December 2011
A reminder: You can usually find the latest version of Xcode available for standard download, two weeks after it's made available via the MAS. Just go to connect.apple.com and login (you may need to create a FREE developer account first). Then search for "Xcode 4". Note that this is only for Lion. Access to Xcode 4 for Snow Leopard requires a PAID developer account.
Like
Version 4.2.1
sjk
19 November 2011
@macguitar tweeted (https://twitter.com/#!/macguitar/status/137696542994862080): ProTip: Update to Xcode 4.2.1 or your App Store binaries will likely get rejected with an "Invalid Binary" error *after* you submit.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Xplicit
18 November 2011
Not only is the updating process via AppStore total rubbish but the memory leaks in Interface Builder are unpleasant and embarrassing.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.1
1 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
19 November 2011
Oh, I forgot, the Documentation Browser is terribly slow.
Like
Phoenixdownunder
17 November 2011
This AppStore update process is just rubbish. 18Gb for a few bug fixes. Also is the updating process stops downloading for some reason, AppStore Update restarts at the beginning!!! Apple, this is rubbish.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.1
Psychos
17 November 2011
Ugh, a 1.8GB download for a few bugfixes. What ever happened to delta updates, Apple? The App Store still doesn't display this under "Updates" for me, so I had to click install from the download list. I don't mind a large download when it's a real update, but this is a bug fix!
Like (1)
Version 4.2.1
3 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
17 November 2011
It didn't show up as an update for me either until I clicked on the Update button, then it showed up.
Like
Psychos
Psychos
17 November 2011
Not even then...hit refresh a couple times on the "Updates" page. Note that you still need to go run "Install Xcode.app" that this puts in /Applications to finish the update, even though the App Store app says "Installed." (Then delete the installer if you don't want it wasting almost 2GB!)
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
17 November 2011
Good point about having to run the updater!
Like (1)
Cgc
04 November 2011
I bought XCode 4 for $5 when it was released and used it in OSX 10.6 but after I reinstalled 10.6 and Apple updated XCode to 4.2 I can't DL it. I'm told it's 10.7 only...WTF Apple?
Like (1)
Version 4.2
6 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
09 November 2011
Xcode 4.2 for Lion can be downloaded with a FREE developer account. Xcode 4.2 for Lion will not install on Snow Leopard. Xcode 4.2 for Lion is the only version available in the Mac App Store. Xcode 4.2 for Snow Leopard requires that you have a PAID developer account. Xcode 4.2 for Snow Leopard can NOT be downloaded or updated from the Mac App Store. You can also do some searching on the net for this file (you'll have to figure out the rest for yourself): xcode_4.2_and_ios_5_sdk_for_snow_leopard.dmg
Like
Cgc
Cgc
12 November 2011
Funny, because I bought XCode 4 from the AppStore for $4.99 and it worked perfectly on Snow Leopard...no worries I found a way to redownlaod it and I'm good. It'd be nice if this were a little more obvious how/where to get your files (typically if I bought the uninstall an AppStore app I can click the install button but for XCode I had to go to previous purchases and reinstall from there.). I don't like that Apple used 10.6.x users to beta test their (now) 10.7-only XCode while charging us money to do so...then dump us.
Like (2)
myschizobuddy-1
myschizobuddy-1
17 November 2011
@cgc Apple was totally wrong in using you as guinea pigs, They were wrong to automatically deduct $4.99 from your credit card without you knowing and installing it on your computer without your consent and forced you to use Xcode 4 kicking and screaming. Oh wait.......
Like (1)
Scottyo
Scottyo
17 November 2011
Cgc replied on 12 Nov 2011 <
Like
Scottyo
Scottyo
17 November 2011
(Sorry, MacUpdate nuked my previous response) Cgc replied on 12 Nov 2011 Funny, because I bought XCode 4 from the AppStore for $4.99 and it worked perfectly on Snow Leopard...no worries I found a way to redownlaod it and I'm good. cgc, what rev of Xcode are you currently on in 10.6, and, if it's higher than 4.0.2, how did you get there. I bought Xcode for 10.6 from the App Store for $4.99, and can only (legitimately) get to 4.0.2. I don't have a paid developer account, only the free one.
Like
Cgc
Cgc
17 November 2011
@Myschizobuddy I do feel a bit used...no problem paying but I think that includes more than a month of updates before being left in the cold.
Like
Psychos
13 October 2011
Doesn't show up in "Updates" in the App Store yet, even though it shows up under "Purchased." I'd just download it from its regular page, but there are several reports of installation problems on the App Store comments, making me hesitant to update yet.
Like
Version 4.2
1 answer(s)
Sanjinko
Sanjinko
17 October 2011
Downloaded installer (cca 1,9 GB), installation went smoothly :)
Like
SickTeddyBear
07 October 2011
FYI, if you don't want to use the app store to download Xcode, you can once again do it the old fashioned way by going to: https://developer.apple.com/downloads/ Then logging in with your Apple ID and password. Just search do a search for "Xcode 4.1" and you're good to go.
Like (2)
Version 4.1.1
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
09 November 2011
Version 4.2 is now available for direct download using the same link. Just search for "Xcode 4.2".
Like
Alamak
05 August 2011
OS X Lion and Xcode 4 are great, i.m.o. - But how can I stop a download I've already started in the AppStore? - I appreciate the fact that Xcode is free again, but I do not like to be forced to use the AppStore for updates like this.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1
1 answer(s)
Wikno
Wikno
06 August 2011
I believe there's a pause button, just like in the iTunes store. you have to go to the "Purchases" window in the App Store. There you can manage your apps updates/installs (if you switch machines/reinstall the os, etc.).
Like
Hauslendale
05 August 2011
Are you kidding me, another 3GB (APP STORE) download just for an update. This is getting out of control. After 26 years of use, I will say Apple you are starting to suck!!! This crapy (APP STORE) plus the release of the crapy Lion OS X 10.7. When will you get your sh** together. It all feels cheap and bloated....
Like (6)
Version 4.1.1
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
05 August 2011
Lion is great. What don't you like about Lion? It has cool new features and runs faster and smoother than Snow Leopard did on my iMac. Nothing cheap and bloated about it.
Like (4)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
05 August 2011
It's not an update for people that already have Xcode installed. It fixed an issue with the installer.
Like (2)
SickTeddyBear
28 July 2011
FYI, for those "crazy" developers still wishing to support PowerPC: Installing Xcode 3.2.6 in Mac OS X Lion (10.7) http://catacombae.blogspot.com/2011/07/installing-xcode-326-in-mac-os-x-lion.html
Like (4)
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
07 August 2011
Restoring PPC, SDK 10.4/10.5 and GCC 4.0 Support to Xcode4 Apps: http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20110318050811544
Like (2)
Tom-bovo
22 July 2011
I don't like being forced to use the app store.
Like (6)
Version 4.1
georgeclift
20 July 2011
Just noticed 4.1 is out, and it's free...
Like
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
20 July 2011
iOS Simulator? Was that in 4.0, too?
Like