Back to Word Browser Plugin page
Word Browser Plugin free download for Mac

Word Browser Plugin Reviews

3.0
30 March 2009

Allows Web browsers to display Word documents.

valentinian
24 February 2009

Most helpful

Unfortunately this plug-in no longer works on Intel machines, since it's not a universal binary. If you google for DocPreview, there is a universal binary Safari plug-in on Intel machines. But it doesn't work for Firefox, only for Safari. Can the developer just recompile this thing as a universal binary? I miss being able to open up Word docs in Firefox.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1

Read 19 Word Browser Plugin User Reviews

Rate this app:

Twizard
11 September 2015
Using iMac 2.5GHz running OS X 10.10.5 and Safari. But am unable to install Word Browser Plugin 3.0. When double clicking on the app installer I get message saying my computer does not meet the requirements for installation then the installer quits.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
dumpty-0-humpty
26 July 2011
64-bit support?
Like
Version 3.0
valentinian
03 June 2009
3.0 works great. The interface is polished & elegant, and it works on Intel now! Thanks for updating the product.
Like
Version 3.0
Gordon142
30 March 2009
Very cool plugin, so it's really a shame that it doesn't seem to work in Firefox…
Like
Version 3.0
valentinian
24 February 2009
Unfortunately this plug-in no longer works on Intel machines, since it's not a universal binary. If you google for DocPreview, there is a universal binary Safari plug-in on Intel machines. But it doesn't work for Firefox, only for Safari. Can the developer just recompile this thing as a universal binary? I miss being able to open up Word docs in Firefox.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Poppyfemme
17 January 2007
I downloaded and installed the plugin according to the readme file. I am still unable to view the word documents on the browser (I've tried both Safari and Firefox). Whenever I click on a doc, it saves the file as it usually does. What am I doing wrong?
Like
Version 2.0.1
Xtal
17 November 2006
come on, still no universal binary?
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
23 November 2005
Still works with latest version of Safari, but when it kicks in you get an OS error. But it still displays fine and everything. Other than that little bug, it's great.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
02 September 2005
Schubert, I love you.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
18 November 2004
Absolutely amazing! Ever since I started using my Powerbook exclusively I've missed this feature of IE/Word on the PC, and now it's back, with a better GUI and quicker to boot! Thanks Schubert!
Like
Version 2.0
UmarOMC
05 January 2004
Wow! This plug-in kicked in when I, actually, mistakenly clicked on a *.doc link... loaded flawlessly- that was 1.0 w/Mozilla 1.7a (01/04 Nightly Build).
Like
Version 1.0.1
Changwei
20 December 2003
This is great! And it's very useful little internet plug-in.
Like
Version 1.0.1
blee
09 December 2003
Thanks again for another great browser plugin works like a charm. You might want to add a feature to the drop down called "Edit in word" for those of us who have Microsoft Word or Edit in their default editor which ever that may be or maybe even a "Save Locally and edit in Word"
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
09 December 2003
Awesome! This has been needed on the Mac-side for a LONG time!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
02 December 2003
Great work, Manfred! I've been missing, and wishing, for something like this for a long time. Simply excellent :) Any chance of adding a "save as .rtf" option in the future?
Like
Version 1.0
Jazzdude
01 December 2003
Great stuff! One thing is missing though: the ability to scroll Word docs (anyone remember Scrollability from OS8.1 days?).
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
01 December 2003
What can I say besides AMAZING. This and PDF Plug-In are the kinds of things that should come standard on machines to make our web browsing simpler. THANX
Like
Version 1.0
Rob Morton
01 December 2003
This will be rather handy for me. Much the same way that the PDF plugin is. Now I still prefer PDF, but many people use Word anyway. Hopefully Apple will improve the Word viewer over time.
Like
Version 1.0
Kovacs
01 December 2003
Thank You Manfred !
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Alex Wuyts
Alex Wuyts
04 September 2004
I'd love to try the word browser plugin version 1.0 but can only find the latest version (2.0) which only works in OS 10.3 Any suggestions to solve this problem? Thanks
Like
Version 2.0