Back to LyX page
LyX free download for Mac

LyX Reviews

2.3.2
11 June 2019

Simplified front end for LaTeX.

Mark-Everitt
09 June 2009

Most helpful

Whilst I'm told this is excellent for writing, it's causing me nothing but trouble. I author scientific papers and I've learnt to use LaTeX normally. Anytime someone can't use LaTeX and can use only LyX it makes collaboration total hell. If you write documents on your own, fair enough, but if you write documents with other people who don't use LyX then raw LaTeX obviously supersedes it! Ultimately it's better to learn LaTeX. It really isn't that difficult.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.3

Read 19 LyX User Reviews

Rate this app:

Iliketrash
13 June 2019
With LyX available I don't know why anyone would want to use any LaTeX coding app.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Ratti
22 September 2015
The version 2.1.4 was released on 30.7.2015
Like
Version 2.1.3
john-1234
29 September 2014
I wrote my entire PhD thesis with this wonderful software and Jabref years ago. The tracking function is good enough for collaboration between my advisor and me. Good job!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Sxreader
25 April 2014
This is a very nice document preparation tool. My main usage case was to typeset notes with lots of math and also prototype journal articles. The disadvantages is that not everyone uses it so if you collaborate with anyone who doesn't use it (usually your boss) you have to switch to latex and also sometimes in order to publish you need to make micro-adjustments, which are usually one command in latex but require a lot of drilling in lyx. But this is understandable as there can be no perfect GUI. For the mac there is also the problem is that it is not retina ready and this does not seem to be a priority for the developers (also understandable since it requires an update of the toolkit and all the bindings and probably that is too complicated). It is still perfectly usable of course, but add this all up and a modern latex editor with live preview seems to be more practical these days. And I say this after using lyx for 10 years. I still recommend it as an educational tool for latex or for the people who are not very demanding with their documents (i.e. they don't need to publish). For whoever wants to use latex for publishing (or for collaboration), there is no way to escape learning it in the end and using lyx will simply delay the inevitable.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.0
Benesch
14 November 2012
The best. 'Nuf said
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
mugsuk
02 July 2012
I cannot convey how awesome this is. I don't have the time to learn TeX, but this has given me all the benefits. I am very proficient with Word, but this is a completely different way to approach word processing / text layout, and much better if you ask me. The learning curve is a touch steep if you are not prepared to read the manuals, but I have become completely comfortable in a matter of days without once checking a manual. I use this with Bibdesk and Preview and am amazed at how organised you academic life can be.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
Wyzo
02 December 2011
I love lyx. Latex made simple.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Iliketrash
15 September 2011
I'm just getting up to speed with LyX after turning up my nose at it a few times over a few years. This time, I am mightily impressed. This is hands down the easiest way to make structured documents and have them typset with the uber-capable LaTeX system. You don't have to learn to code LaTeX but if you know it already, you can always embed it to your heart's content. The first thing you have to get use to is, this isn't Microsoft Word. And that's a good thing. The ability to completely change the look of your document with a couple of mouse clicks is amazing. This is useful for all sorts of reasons, not the least of which is submitting work to different places which require different layouts. The developers have worked hard to make this non-Linyxy, porting it to the Qt framework to give it a fairly Mac-like appearance. (I'm a stickler for Mac-like behavior, and the Qt framework has some annoying behaviors but it's a huge, huge improvement over the X system.) The on-screen appearance is surprisingly WYSIWYG, which is helpful in long writing sessions. But, as the developers like to say, this is What You Get Is What You Mean, or something like that. The payoff comes when you hit Command-R and in a few seconds your default PDF viewer opens with a beautifully-rendered professional-looking page. You can't imagine how much better a true typeset page looks when compared to the usual output from a word processor. And to see it set in the format of your favorite journal is pretty cool. Yes, there is a learning curve, but so is there a learning curve with any program that does non-trivial word processing. The documentation for LyX is unusually good (for an open source project), and the developers are quite responsive.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
Mark-Everitt
09 June 2009
Whilst I'm told this is excellent for writing, it's causing me nothing but trouble. I author scientific papers and I've learnt to use LaTeX normally. Anytime someone can't use LaTeX and can use only LyX it makes collaboration total hell. If you write documents on your own, fair enough, but if you write documents with other people who don't use LyX then raw LaTeX obviously supersedes it! Ultimately it's better to learn LaTeX. It really isn't that difficult.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.3
3 answer(s)
Sampler
Sampler
09 June 2009
I agree that you must learn LaTeX if you write for a journal that has its own document classes and styles. Otherwise, why not use LyX's built-in LaTeX convertor?
Like
Version 1.6.3
Mark-Everitt
Mark-Everitt
09 June 2009
We've tried. It messes up all sorts of things though. In particular when you're passing a paper back and forth. You wind up with all sorts of crazy stuff going on. In plain LaTeX this happens much less and diffs are simpler.
Like
Version 1.6.3
Sampler
Sampler
09 June 2009
Good points. I agree.
Like
Version 1.6.3
Max0913e
30 December 2008
This cool OpenSource Software deserves 5 Stars!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
Ahollen
16 March 2008
LyX (LaTeX) proofs to be a very nice text processor for educational scientists. They do a lot of statistical and qualitative data analysis, wright complex and long documents like theses and books. Compared to programms aiming for office use, LyX is reliable and easy to use. I.e. the integration of BibTex is nicer then EndNote@Word. There are a hand full pitfalls you have to know how to avoid. If LaTeX refuses the text setting into pdf, there are a few possible reasons for this. Best hints: - the error messages will highlight the problematic zone(s) - Use the the "go back" arrows in LyX, until your document is in a workable state.
Like
Version 1.5.4
Foozman
21 March 2006
In many ways better than LyX 1.3x; however, mine crashes every time I quit. This is not really bad, but it's not good either. However, I suggest that everyone who uses LateX or avoids using LaTeX give this a try. I have completely converted from LaTeX to LyX
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Mis-Ebling
04 March 2006
Best peace of software ever! Congratulations to the team... E;-°)))
Like
Version 1.3.7
Chagrins
18 January 2006
Thanks to the Mac developers of this - if it weren't for their hard and excellent work, I'd still be using LyX in X11. Thank goodness!
Like
Version 1.3.7
Jonathan Birge
21 September 2005
I followed every instruction, couldn't get it to fully work under Tiger. Kept giving me errors about missing classes, despite my LaTeX installation being in the standard Fink location. This thing needs some more work. You shouldn't have to run a shell script during a Mac install, anyway.
Like
Version 1.3.6
Anonymous
21 July 2005
1.3.6 works great here. LyX, despite the previous reviewers' aversions to non-'mac-like' programs (because hand-coding is SO mac-like), is easy to use, and produces gorgeous documents. LaTeX for the rest of us. I've been using LyX for papers, letters, and most writing tasks for the past two years without problem. Great work!
Like
Version 1.3.6
Anonymous
20 July 2005
Plain doesn't work - "Missing TeX class". Tried reconfiguring, tried recreating a .lyx directory, reconfigured again. Nothing. This is supposed to be a bug *fix* release.
Like
Version 1.3.6
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 July 2005
Sorry about that -- a goof in the installer script. It's fixed now in a new version of the installer.
Like
Version 1.3.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 July 2005
the binary still doesnt fix the issue. i hope u r talking abt the one on ftp.lyx.org
Like
Version 1.3.6
foozman
24 November 2003
This is a great program for people who use LaTex for things like articles, but want a simple, yet powerful solution (not MS Word) for shorter tech documents. Lacks the customizability of LaTex, but also all the hastle. I am an academic. I use LaTeX for articles, and I use Lyx for homework assignments and exams. There are still some file problems. Don't put a ' ' anywhere in your file path. This is a very UNIXy program. People with UNIX/LaTex experience won't mind this. Others might
Like
Version 1.3.3
aho
24 November 2003
A nice Mac port of the overwhelming LyX-app. Works fine despite of some minor problems (for instance the pull down menues in the open dialog window sometimes open up in the upper left corner). Most serious bug as far as I can see is that in 1.3.3 the highly important reLyX option in the file->import menu does not exist. I hope a fix will be available soon.
Like
Version 1.3.3
2 answer(s)
Ronald Florence
Ronald Florence
25 November 2003
The reLyX import option is available under File -> Import as "Latex".
Like
Version 1.3.3
aho
aho
25 November 2003
That is strange. Yesterday the Latex... option was DEFINITELY NOT there. I had to run reLyX from the terminal. However, now it is there. What a difference a day makes!?? Anyway, thank you, Ron.
Like
Version 1.3.3