Back to CPU Speed Accelerator page
CPU Speed Accelerator free download for Mac

CPU Speed Accelerator Reviews

8.1
19 March 2018

Increase the CPU allocated to your foreground applications.

8oo8
21 May 2007

Most helpful

This developer's got about 30 different apps for sale, all pretty simple and most of them essentially the same as others available elsewhere for free or for far, far less than the 15 Euros, or $20 that he charges for all of them. Some of his software is of very little, or no practical use. All of his software are horribly overpriced. I truly think that he's just simply incapable of coming up with anything both unique and useful, so he largely capitalizes on other's ideas, which he then markets to the unsophisticated and unwary. I think that he's essentially interested in making a fast buck(or Euro), and doesn't have the talent for or interest in creating innovative software; he hasn't a clue of what "craftsmanship" means in software creation. Quite frankly, I have nothing but CONTEMPT for him. There are any number of talented software developers out there who put their hearts and souls into creating and developing just one piece of work, but a piece of work that is both beautifully conceived and designed and, indeed, are true works of art. Creations that are unique, eminently useful and a pleasure to use. AlphaOmegaSoftware needs to sit at their feet and learn from them. AlphaOmegaSoftware....the first and last word in MEDIOCRITY.
Like (24)
Version 3.9

Read 103 CPU Speed Accelerator User Reviews

Rate this app:

doomups
24 January 2018
You may follow the step by step guide to download your needed Russian Accelerator video at http://www.allavsoft.com/how-to/download-russian-accelerator-videos.html
Like
Version 8.0
ylluminate
13 November 2016
How does this interact with App Tamer when it is in use?
Like
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
07 December 2017
I see no reason to use both simultaneously and would recommend against it.

They're both designed to perform the same function and I don't see any reason why there would be an improvement by running one on top of the other. Choose one and let it do its job.

One is $15 and rated 4 stars.
The other is more than twice the price and rated 1.5 stars.
Your choice, but it looks like an easy decision to me.
Like
WordWeaver
30 March 2015
As others have noted below, the name of this app is a very deceptive -- and no doubt intentional -- misnomer. The fact is that no app can really speed up your computer's processors any faster than they were designed to function by their manufacturer. Let's not confuse renicing -- prioritizing CPU processing power on one particular app -- with really speeding up your machine. $40.00 for this deceptive nonsense? I think not!
Like
Version 7.0
kinku2002
31 December 2014
it takes less time to type RENICE into terminal than it does to use this. utter crap
Like
Version 7.0
tjekov37
30 December 2014
$41 !!!! REALY ?!!! This is a joke . Are YOU Crazy !!!!!!!!!!!
Like
Version 7.0
Dana-Sutton
29 December 2014
If the object of the exercise is to maximize the developer's income, then I strongly suspect that selling a lot of copies for $00.99 would be a lot more profitable than selling next to no copies for $41.00. You would think that anybody with the brains needed to create software would be able to figure out simple facts of life like that, but there are a handful of developers who entirely fail to Get The Point. That's why some developers will be eating a fine steak tonight while others are down in their parents' basement dining on Alpo.
Like (3)
Version 7.0
3 answer(s)
Mac5
Mac5
29 December 2014
I'm pleased to see that there are others who view these so called apple developers as nothing more than con artists looking to take money of Mac users and offering a piece of crap for a few cents.. but with enough people buying this rubbish it very soon amounts to a nice tidy sum of money.
Like
Maulrat
Maulrat
30 December 2014
right when I saw the title of the software, CPU Speed Accelerator, the name "AlphaOmega" immediately came to mind ... and sure enough once I clicked it is them .... I don't understand how or why this 'company" is still around but MacUpdate is not helping matters by continuing to give them free advertising via proxy by upgrades ... this company is the dirtiest of the dirt, the lowest of the lows, and they seem to be still sharking the waters looking for new unsuspecting victims for roughly 15+ years now ... shame on both AO and MU for letting this nonsense continue on
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
30 November 2016
Yeah, and those stupid car companies would sell a lot more for $100 than they do for 30k.

You would think that anybody with the brains to manufacture vehicles would be able to figure out simple facts of life like that, but all the manufacturers entirely fail to get the point.

I know I’d buy more than one if they were a lot cheaper. Their loss!
Now they aren’t getting my 2,3,4 hundred dollars.

It’s their own fault they’ll be dining on Alpo instead of steak - greedy bastards always trying to make a profit!

Dana, you had no right to leave a REVIEW for something you never used just because you don’t like the price, and neither did the other morons who did the same.
Learn how to use the dropdown and choose COMMENT next time!

The developer DOES have the right to list their software for whatever price they see fit, even if others don’t like it.
Like (2)
jchristie07
29 December 2014
$40.84 for simply running a Terminal command.... and the developer as the audacity to complain about Apple's fee to sell their app in the Mac App Store! What a joke... also, this does nothing to your CPU. It simply tells OS X which process to give full priority to. OS X already handles this intelligently and automatically for you.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Arkham6
Arkham6
30 December 2014
You said all that I came here to say.
Like
RavenNevermore
29 December 2014
"CPU Speed Accelerator will help you increase the power of your Ma," My Ma doesn't need more power! Seriously though, this does not accelerate the speed of your CPU.
Like (2)
Version 7.0
jack2001
24 September 2014
saranno vere le critiche che sono state fatte, ma finalmente ho trovato un'app che mi tiene bassa la percentuale di cpu usata
Like
Version 6.4
Arkham6
30 May 2014
A renice front-end for 40$? Wow, I cannot skip this out fast enough.
Like (2)
Version 6.4
umaromc
29 May 2014
http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20030618073032368 Check out Mac OS X's built-in 'renice' command instead, for free.
Like (3)
Version 6.4
GeogProf
29 May 2014
Utter crap from a talentless, greedy, deceitful developer. This does NOT increase your CPU speed, it just gives top priority to whichever app is in the foreground. Snake oil dreck.
Like (8)
Version 6.4
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
29 May 2014
Sounds like it's just running the renice command.
Like (2)
GeogProf
29 May 2014
Utter crap from a talentless, greedy, deceitful developer. This does NOT increase your CPU speed, it just gives top priority to whichever app is in the foreground. Snake oil dreck.
Like (3)
Version 6.4
tjekov37
10 January 2014
Guys, Why my registration data not worked with v 6, only with v5x ? This is incorrect from Your side :-( Or for update the program you wont pay again ? This conditions is never have in your web site !
Like
Version 6.2
zo219
14 July 2013
Way overpriced = low ratings and sales. Some devs never learn.
Like (2)
Version 6.2
Tanner1294
11 April 2013
This is definitely just a prioritizer but it's also the best one there is. The biggest reason I use it is on my PowerBook G4 which struggles doing the OS X leopard animations such as when using Exposé, this app eliminates those animation stutters. Other than that no it doesn't do much so 40 bucks it IS NOT WORTH IT.
Like
Version 6.2
Thomas-Svendsen
15 December 2012
You don't have to be a professional to know how things just wont work
Like (3)
Version 6.2.0.0.0
VictorPrijker
17 October 2012
It's bloatware, of course, but, this time, I like the "Apple not being respectful" comment.
Like
Version 6.2.0.0.0
Mac-Mail
16 October 2012
Advertised as 3MB file but it's a 6.1 MB download and the actual app is 19.6 MB ?????
Like
Version 6.1.0.0.0
Sherlockbones
14 October 2012
I wish to point out what's been pointed out before. The screenshot shows a PowerPC CPU. The System Requirements on the other hand specify Intel. What's wrong with this picture? Caveat Emptor!
Like (3)
Version 6.1.0.0.0
2 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
14 October 2012
We'd happily update the screenshot, but that's the only one that the developers seem to include on their site.
Like (2)
Sherlockbones
Sherlockbones
14 October 2012
MacUpdate-Warren I understand. This isn't a criticism of MacUpdate. My point has more to do with the information the developer is putting out 'verbally' versus that which is represented pictorially. ;) It's all about him using truth in advertising. He's marketing this as an intel ready CPU accelerator. At best it's a gui for renice that based on what people that have actually are willing to use this isn't nearly as useful. If he has time to roll out 'updates' he should surely have a few seconds to snap a new screenshot of this application running on an Intel machine. Of course that's just my opinion, based on my years of working with developers of commercial applications. Somehow they always made sure they kept screenshots current to the hardware the applications were meant to run on on their product pages.
Like (1)
Surfspirit
18 September 2012
Call What it is!! This is a process prioritize!! This DOES NOT in any way make the CPU faster! Charging 39$ for this!?!!???!!! This is a SCAM!
Like (7)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
3 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
14 October 2012
That's AlphaOmega Software for you.
Like (5)
Sherlockbones
Sherlockbones
14 October 2012
If people believe this accelerates their CPU I'm going to start marketing DayDoubler® it's for people that find that 24 hours in a day simply isn't enough to get all the things they want or need to get done... done. Yes sir, with DayDoubler® you can feel like you've spent 48 hours awake in just 24!
Like (3)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
29 May 2014
@Sherlockbones, remember RAMDoubler and SpeedDoubler? Only they actually worked!
Like (2)
Dirty-Hairy
16 April 2012
I agree with ipoopstore. What a bunch of losers and trolls with the ignorant comments and reviews. I couldn't even begin to guess how many tools are front-ends for Terminal commands. But no one is whining like spoiled children about them. I read a comment recently that sums up the losers and their hate. "People pay for conveniences like valet parking and hair cuts. They could have parked their own car and slapped a bowl on their head to cut their hair to avoid paying the fees/tips. The same logic applies to Terminal and Mac tools. You can do it yourself or you can pay for the convenience of a tool to do it for you. The choices are up to each person. And I doubt the trolls can comprehend the fact there will always be a market for conveniences or the simple fact that there are Mac users with handicaps. My aunt can hardly type in her own name because her hands are too arthritic and the pain is excruciating. She wears a holstered sidearm with a hair trigger and I'd bet she'd shoot any troll between the eyes telling her to use Terminal instead of software that does the same." Too bad his aunt couldn't find the retards that gave this a bad rep for their own ignorance.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
14 October 2012
Before you wrote all this, did you notice that this software is called "CPU Speed Accelerator"? I'd LOVE to hear what else you think it might imply.
Like (6)
iPoopStore
15 April 2012
I don't what all the hoopla from the trolls below is all about. Seriously kiddies, get a life or go whack it to some porno. This app does what it is intended to do, and that is to give the front most app full focus. No scam here geniuses. Who care's it's a GUI front-end for a Terminal command. How many Mac tools are not? LOL I do have one complaint. The price of this tool is far too much. It should be competitive with App Tamer. 5 stars for everything but 1 star for value.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
5 answer(s)
iPoopStore
iPoopStore
15 April 2012
Damn auto-correct swiped a word above.LOL "I don't know" what all the hoopla
Like (2)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
15 April 2012
Would you please share that Terminal command? Thanks.
Like (3)
umaromc
umaromc
15 April 2012
Lvdoc, open Activity Monitor and note the Process ID (PID) number for the app you want the CPU to give attention to. By default all processes have the same 0 (zero) level priority. Open terminal and type; sudo renice -20 ProcessIDHere -20 is the highest priority a program can be given. You'll also be prompted for your administrator password because of the Super User DO (sudo) command (just like this app wouldn't work otherwise). This app is akin to the free Speed Freak; http://home.comcast.net/~jeff.ulicny/software/utils.html Unfortunately that hasn't been updated in awhile, but its free and does the same thing.
Like (2)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
15 April 2012
Thanks. Actually, I use SpeedFreak, but as you've noted, it hasn't been updated. It still works in Lion, but it requires finding access to the Keychain Scripting bundle that's in the "Scripting Additions" folder. I used the one I had in Snow Leopard, and I found another one in a google search. But that's kind of a hassle, and I don't know how all will work in Mountain Lion. I'm not sure I'd want to do the Terminal command for every single application. Any chance there's a universal command that automatically makes the frontmost application the fastest/priority?
Like
hwgray
hwgray
13 October 2012
"It's free and does the same thing." But, it's also a gigantic pain in the ass. Not forty-dollars'-worth of pain, though.
Like (1)
Ishanb
14 April 2012
All this does is prioritize CPU cycles to the foreground app. So, for example, if you render something in Photoshop, and then decide to check your mail with your app of choice, Photoshop will slow down drastically and increase your rendering times accordingly. If you only run one app at a time (+Finder), you'll make the Finder sluggish. This is a scam, folks, and it's easy enough to accomplish the same thing using the Terminal app, part of the Mac OS.
Like (6)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
Rjmorita
14 April 2012
A whopping $39 for this? I hope you're joking. Sorry but I'll pass. I tried it on my Mac Mini with Lion 10.7.3 and the program won't even run.
Like (7)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
gryphonent
14 April 2012
Snake Oil... I'd be surprised if this makes it into the AppStore. And $39??? Come on...
Like (8)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
15 April 2012
Its AlphaOmega Software... what should we expect?
Like (2)
MetroMrX
14 April 2012
Crap-ware is the correct phrase to use.
Like (6)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
Bdkennedy1
14 April 2012
If this weren't posted on this site I would have thought it was a joke. Unfortunately some schmuck will hand over their money.
Like (6)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
Sherlockbones
14 April 2012
I'm still laughing at the screenshot of it running on a PPC mac. Seriously. If you're going to try to get people to pay for this and you say it's been updated for Lion you'd think the screenshot would show it running on relatively current hardware
Like (6)
Version 6.0.0.0.0
Aargl
02 September 2010
:-D I had a good laugh reading all the posts here! Looks like the dev has a lot of enemies! :-D Well, I'm afraid I must disagree with the gentlemen that wrote before me: I may have a strange computer but it works for me! Not with every app (VLC is stuttering, so in fact, an exclude list of apps wouldn't be a bad idea), not a 200% acceleration. Indeed, you can't even talk of acceleration, but using it with my Digidesign ProTools - that was stopping playing probably because of a conflict with some background app - made it play flawlessly. I compared it with Renicer and the result, in my ProTools business as in Apple's Activity Monitor is clear: Renicer wasn't doing antything while CPU Speed did.
Like (4)
Version 5.2.-2147483648d-2147483648
Thomas1977
10 February 2010
This is a joke, right? The dev for has read the book 'How to rip off people without doing anything'. Shame on you
Like (11)
Version 5.1.-2147483648
Maulrat
08 February 2010
Its from AlphaOmega ... does anymore need to be said?
Like (9)
Version 5.1.-2147483648
26cab40
08 February 2010
A rip off. Charging this much for slapping a badly written front end on somebody else's work is a disgrace. AlphaOmega software are a disgrace.
Like (9)
Version 5.1.-2147483648
Section8
09 November 2009
frontend for renice. DO NOT BUY THIS PROGRAM.
Like (13)
Version 5.0
Bs0d
11 July 2009
Do not ever pay for this. Useless, unsafe, unpractical, well overpriced. That about sums it up. Quite honestly, it's like having one more item in the menu bar, that's pretty much just sitting there -- doing nothing at all. As noted before by another user, this developer only has useless software that he makes ppl pay ridiculous prices for.
Like (7)
Version 4.4
O5220803
27 June 2009
No Thanks!
Like (6)
Version 4.4
Mr-lon
18 May 2009
HAR..HAR..HAR
Like (5)
Version 4.4
ultratiem
18 May 2009
OS X allocates CPU usage based on need. Other than actually upgrading your physical processor, there is no way to bleed out more performance from your current chip, despite what the developer will have you believe. Moreover, asking price for an unproven and theoretically useless app is bordering on criminal. Nothing to see here folks... ok maybe you can take note of a developer without any skill, wanting to line their pockets... with your hard earned cash. If you feel like burning money, donate it to a worthy cause instead.
Like (15)
Version 4.4
Plasterpyrus
18 May 2009
Dude! if you are going to say something is free than make it free! The fifth column ask for type of license and the sixth ask for price. So when you put free then that means your asking price is Zero, Nada, get it. Then maybe people might not be so critical of your overpriced software!
Like (8)
Version 4.4
Thus-spake-z
17 May 2009
Greek localization for Version 4.4, whoopee! Let's break out the retsina and all drink a toast to the developer for this brilliant move. A new localization in itself warrants a new posting here on Macupdate?. I mean, there's no update to CPU Speed Accelerator other than Greek localization, huh? Way to go, developer. You've already established a bad reputation for yourself here at MacUpdate. But you really want to dig a deeper hole for yourself, right. You've long demonstrated a propensity for shooting yourself in the foot, haven't you? Well, pour me another glass and I'll have another serving of spanakopita, please. Let's all get up and dance at news of this new localization. (Pretty slimy of you, AlphaOmega, if ya really want to know)
Like (19)
Version 4.4
Captain-Nemo
17 May 2009
Tiens donc ! Chiotasso est allé se faire voir chez les Grecs !
Like (5)
Version 4.4
Jan13
13 February 2008
::: JUNK :::
Like (7)
Version 3.9
8oo8
21 May 2007
This developer's got about 30 different apps for sale, all pretty simple and most of them essentially the same as others available elsewhere for free or for far, far less than the 15 Euros, or $20 that he charges for all of them. Some of his software is of very little, or no practical use. All of his software are horribly overpriced. I truly think that he's just simply incapable of coming up with anything both unique and useful, so he largely capitalizes on other's ideas, which he then markets to the unsophisticated and unwary. I think that he's essentially interested in making a fast buck(or Euro), and doesn't have the talent for or interest in creating innovative software; he hasn't a clue of what "craftsmanship" means in software creation. Quite frankly, I have nothing but CONTEMPT for him. There are any number of talented software developers out there who put their hearts and souls into creating and developing just one piece of work, but a piece of work that is both beautifully conceived and designed and, indeed, are true works of art. Creations that are unique, eminently useful and a pleasure to use. AlphaOmegaSoftware needs to sit at their feet and learn from them. AlphaOmegaSoftware....the first and last word in MEDIOCRITY.
Like (24)
Version 3.9
1 answer(s)
Easer
Easer
08 February 2010
Don't sugar-coat it; what do you REALLY think? (Sorry, couldn't resist.)
Like (1)
Version 5.1.-2147483648
New-User
21 May 2007
Just a front-end for the built-in UNIX renice command. There are other, free, GUI front ends that do the same thing. No point in paying for something that's included with your OS already. Not to mention that it only "increases" the front application's performance by decreasing the performance of the rest of the OS.
Like (8)
Version 3.9
Ironman
20 May 2007
It is VERY BAD to change the processes priorities !!! Don't use it without saving all your opened documents before. Besides the fact there are free alternatives ... It is even worse as a developper to add "renicing" functions inside their programs to boost it instead of taking time to optimize it. slowest = most secure
Like (5)
Version 3.9
I would think that the developer would be able to release a single release with all of the languages instead of constantly releasing new "versions" updates of software, and the only things different are one additional language added. It seems like cheating the system and cheatings users. It's not a real version update at all!
Like (9)
Version 3.9
1 answer(s)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
20 May 2007
Yes, but every time you put out a new "version" you get another round of free publicity here and on VersionTracker (maybe it was Limewire that pioneered this strategy?)
Like (2)
Version 3.9
Blueshead
20 December 2006
I would sooner date my ex girlfriend who hates my guts and throws things at me, then use this.. :)
Like (4)
Version 3.3
Flash1296
18 December 2006
Lousy excuse for an appl' A mere gromtend, poorly implemented, for the UNIX "renice" command.
Like (4)
Version 3.2
Anonymous
17 November 2005
Crapissimo.. makes my system unstable.
Like (4)
Version 2.11
Anonymous
20 August 2005
SpeedFreak WORKS better and is FREE. Has more cool options too...
Like (1)
Version 2.10