Back to xScope page
xScope free download for Mac

xScope Reviews

4.4
18 August 2019

Onscreen graphic measurement tools.

Most helpful

Iconfactory today released version 2.5 which fixes all problems described in my previous review. Raised my rating from 3 to 5 stars. Re-bought it via the Mac AppStore to get the upcoming version 3.0 for free.
Like (4)
Version 2.5

Read 37 xScope User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
20 October 2018
There's an issue in OS 10.9 where the prefs won't display. (v4.3 was ok)
Like
Version 4.3.3
Uncoy
03 June 2018
On the other hand, between xScope with its "cool" techy interface and Art Director's Toolkit, I've always preferred the latter. Unfortunately I own xScope in a current version while ADT pricing and upgrade policy have always been pretty dodgy. So I'm pretty happy someone is offering a competitively priced alternative. xScope does turn up on promotions, including at Macupdate, which is why I mentioned pricing positively. Retail is too much, unless you really like techy interfaces.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.1
Veryvito
23 March 2017
Pricy, but better than you think it is... I've been looking for alternatives to this for years now, but finally bit the bullet and purchased xScope. NO regrets -- and now that I know I'll keep it around, I find I use it much more than I actually thought I would. The Guides and Dimensions panels save SOOOO much time when laying out UI components. My only gripe is the annoyance of its always-present Dock and Task Switcher icons. I prefer system-wide utilities to sit quietly in the background until I conjure them via keyboard shortcut or menubar icon; otherwise, it's yet another thing competing for my attention on a developer's already-crowded Dock . Not sure why IconFactory developers insist that this is "the only way to do it," when Apple clearly documents how to make menubar-based applications that don't require the Dock icon (a la Annotate/Glui, for instance).
Like (1)
Version 4.3
1 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
03 June 2018
I actually like that xScope is an application and not monkeying around in my menu items. My review will be just above yours (originally just planned a comment).
Like
Detlevski
01 December 2016
"Will Email when discounted"
Like
Version 4.3
Big Map Idea
02 April 2016
Great program but kind of a memory hog. Haven't touched it in a few hours and it's sitting on over 500Mb.
Like (1)
Version 4.2
Bento de Espinosa
01 April 2016
Really excellent! A must have.
Like
Version 4.2
22duke
24 April 2015
it looks good, but $AU64 you got to be joking
Like (3)
Version 4.1.3
2 answer(s)
kat-attack
kat-attack
15 May 2015
I agree it has a hefty price tag, especially with our AU dollar adding 25% markup.

Looks like a practical toolset which you could get a lot of use out of. If doing a lot of design...
Like
OhEssex
OhEssex
23 May 2016
Agreed - came here looking for something like this app but turned right away when I saw the price tag...
Like
Echoz
14 November 2014
Note the site still has v4 download, but MacUpdate has v4.1
Like
Version 4.1
Geopick
10 July 2014
There is no upgrade path for App Store owners. I purchased version 3.6.3 from the App Store and also have a version 2 license from IconFactory. The IconFactory website will not accept the version 2 license number. The App Store and website price for version 4 is $49.99 whereas the web site upgrade is $24.99. Of course, I have received no responses from IconFactory support. So, I'm stuck at version 3.
Like
Version
2 answer(s)
Ifwebmaster
Ifwebmaster
14 July 2014
We respond to *all* support emails within 48 hours. If we haven't responded that's most likely because we never received it. Try again by emailing me directly at webmaster@iconfactory.com. For the record, there is an upgrade path from 3 to 4 from the MAS to IF version. I'll give you more info when you write, thanks.
Like
OhEssex
OhEssex
23 May 2016
Sorry - replied to the wrong thread but I can't delete my post. It demands I now type something...
Like
Rochade
27 June 2014
Is there any difference between the MAS and non-MAS version?
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Ifwebmaster
Ifwebmaster
27 June 2014
There are a few differences, yes. They are outlined here - http://support.iconfactory.com/kb/xscope/differences-between-xscope-on-the-mac-app-store-and-iconfactory-website
Like
SickTeddyBear
27 June 2014
FYI, the upgrade price is $24.99 for a limited time. It's also $24.99 in the MAS right now. They don't say how long either will last.
Like
Version 4.0
Colin-☕
03 May 2014
xScope allows me to more easily create web pages that are pixel-accurate to the designer's intentions. This is one of those tools that seems so simple, but is remarkably useful because it has been implemented with such care. It works exactly as I need it to, without getting in the way of my work flow.
Like
Version 3.6.3
Bento de Espinosa
20 February 2014
I use it a lot for developing websites and other things!
Like
Version 3.6.3
Philosopherdog
28 October 2013
Good application, but still no retina support. Retina has been out over a year. Otherwise it's a pretty nice application. Pretty much the only app of its kind on the platform. Most of the other options are not maintained and/or broken.
Like
Version 3.6.2
Sachi
11 December 2012
>> Create a new guide or frame by holding down the Option key while dragging the item Thank you very much for this one, it's so natural and easier to work with guide now.
Like
Version 3.5.2
Jazzyguy
17 October 2012
Excellent in every way.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.1
asimo
17 October 2012
The best application of its kind
Like
Version 3.5.1
asimo
17 October 2012
The best application of its kind.
Like
Version 3.5.1
Huhaa
28 June 2012
Love it!
Like
Version 3.2.2
mjasinski
19 August 2011
Version 2.5.1 crashes on launch (even after reinstallation) on Lion (10.7)
Like
Version 2.5.1
2 answer(s)
Janusz-Bossy
Janusz-Bossy
02 September 2011
If xScope keeps crashing on you check out PixFit - http://pixf.it. It's got a nice set of features that xScope provides and is a lot cheaper. You can combine it with ColorSnapper to have a perfect combo of measuring tool and a color picker for far less than xScope's price.
Like (1)
mjasinski
mjasinski
02 September 2011
My xScope works fine now. The crashes were caused by another application (AirFoil's Instant On component). Rogue Amoeba fixed this bug a few days ago.
Like
fleischner
14 July 2011
Newest version quits on launch for me, even after deleting prefs and cache. 10.5.8 on PPC.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
4 answer(s)
The Iconfactory
The Iconfactory
14 July 2011
Yep, found the problem and will be fixed in 2.5.1. Workaround for now is to go back to 2.2.2 until the update is out. Sorry.
Like (1)
fleischner
fleischner
14 July 2011
Yep, already did that -- thanks.
Like
Ifwebmaster
Ifwebmaster
18 August 2011
Version 2.2.3 for Leopard is now available via the xScope homepage. This is the last update there will be for Leopard but fixes the crashes - http://iconfactory.com/software/xscope
Like (1)
fleischner
fleischner
18 August 2011
Yep, 2.2.3 works fine -- thanks!
Like (1)
Iconfactory today released version 2.5 which fixes all problems described in my previous review. Raised my rating from 3 to 5 stars. Re-bought it via the Mac AppStore to get the upcoming version 3.0 for free.
Like (4)
Version 2.5
No update since 2009. Sent a mail to the support, because the current version does not work on OS X Lion. No answer in 2 months. Purchased both xScope 1.x and 2.x. Now very disappointed and can't find an adequate alternative. Used this app every day.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.2
2 answer(s)
Janusz-Bossy
Janusz-Bossy
29 August 2011
Please take a look at PixFit - http://pixf.it Works like a charm on Snow Leopard and Lion.
Like (2)
MaximilianGoetzfried
MaximilianGoetzfried
30 August 2011
Thanks for pointing me to PixFit. Great app. It's now part of my daily workflow. I use it in combination with xScope.
Like (2)
Hugenerd
05 March 2010
if you are a web developer using a mac xScope should be right next to Firebug as totally essential tools. Every single tool is useful and well-thought-out. highly recommended to anyone who wrangles pixels for a living.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
hced
10 January 2010
This has been my favorite screen measuring app ever since it first came out. Highly useful (and usable) for web design and what not. I like the status bar implementation which makes it stay out of way and yet be there when you need it.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
Abelle
21 December 2009
Essential, very good software, thank you.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
Maclover1-1
07 August 2009
I can't believe I waited so long to buy this !!!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Bill-Clinton
04 April 2008
This version (2.1) still has a bug where the menu command Create Horizontal Guide or its equivalent, Shift-Command-H, does nothing. I reported this during 2.1 beta testing but they've released it anyway, with the bug. This product seems like something that someone hires contract programmers for from time to time--just guessing. And yes, what were they smoking to set the price this high.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Ifwebmaster
Ifwebmaster
05 April 2008
Shift-Command-H to create a horizontal guide works as designed. If you're having problems with command keys, check for conflicts with other apps you might have installed or email us so we can help you solve the problem. Thank you. IF Webmaster
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Stormchild
03 April 2008
A handy little tool, but way overpriced. I would gladly pay $12.95 for this, but no more. I really only use a couple of the features, so it's just not worth it for me.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Corpsecorps
02 February 2008
I really like this little gizmo, but YEOW, that's way outa the gizmo price range! .
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Justinnorman
03 July 2006
After trying the xScope demo, I found it to be useful enough to purchase. Too often I've found myself trying to center a graphic in the middle of a document by eyeballing it, since I don't have a grid or ruler available in every application I use. xScope works incredibly well as a universal ruler, magnifier and more (although I don't use much other than the ruler and magnifier). Even just for the ruler tool, xScope has proved to be worth its meager price for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Anonymous
26 October 2005
Latest version has lots of weird behavior with OS X Tiger 10.4.2. The program has a problem with hiding (apple-H) when crosshair / magnifier / ruler is on The crosshair/ruler function has inaccurate/different coordinates by 1px, extremely annoying. (Happens when vertical ruler is extended and crosshair center is ruler 0) All this worked in Panther mailed them this report two times, no response altrough the GUI is good, the idea is good this is not quality software for now.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
30 November 2004
love it but would love it more if i could have it run iconless (dock+menu)... as i use hotkeys for all of them and would love to capture back my dock from yet another icon.... thanks!
Like
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 May 2005
The help file for xScope 1.1 gives you instructions on how to configure the application to run without a Dock icon
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 July 2005
don't forget to move xscope out window and replace it in the applications window to hide icon into the Dock.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
28 September 2004
If you're a graphic designer on the mac than it's a very, very usefull app. Looks nice and easy to work with for a low price.
Like
Version 1.0.1
gubdeb
14 November 2003
What am awesome product! The design of this is exceptional... and I know within days I'll wonder how I ever managed to work without it! Stunning!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
14 November 2003
Very, very handy. Packs a bunch of functions from a group of applications I already have, but puts them all into one package with a very slick, well designed interface. Be sure to turn on "menu bar icons" in the preferences. Sweet shortcuts. :)
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
14 November 2003
xScope is beautifully designed, intelligently implemented, fairly priced, and undoubtedly useful to anyone who works with graphics on a Mac. For a 1.0 release, this easily earns five stars from me, but what's a review without a wish list? - Consolidate the windows. xScope creates about 20 hidden windows, some of which are quite large (2000x2000 !). This results in the app taking up about 46MB of real RAM and means that I can't leave it open all the time. Try creating your windows as needed, not all at once, and no larger than my screen. - A cool thing for programmers would be to add a "Copy as NSColor declaration" to the Loupe menu which would copy text to the pasteboard based on the focused pixel. e.g. - [NSColor colorWithCalibratedRed:0.94 green:0.80 blue:0.48 alpha:1.0] Anyway, what a great addition to the Mac designer's toolbox. Thanks guys!
Like
Version 1.0