Back to Apple Java for Mac OS X 10.5 page
Apple Java for Mac OS X 10.5 free download for Mac

Apple Java for Mac OS X 10.5 Reviews

Update 10
29 June 2011

Java update for Leopard.

Cerebrl
16 June 2009

Most helpful

Nothing like being left behind because I don't have the money to go out and buy a new computer every 3 years. Thanks Apple for making my bleak finances more obvious. I guess my dual 2, PPC G5 will slowly be faded out along with music tapes, common sense and hope for universal health care. Yippee!
Like (10)
Version Update 4

Read 76 Apple Java for Mac OS X 10.5 User Reviews

Rate this app:

SUTOPOAGUS6128
24 July 2014
HOW TO UP DATE MY MAC OS X 10.5
Like
Version Update 10
Aadams77
04 September 2012
Just in case someone out there will be doing a MANUAL update of Apple Java for MacOS X 10.5...this unfortunately is a SEMI-incremental update process, so prior to updating to the most recent Apple Java for Mac OS X 10.5 Update 10, as properly indicated above, one would first need to DL and install the following: Java for Mac OS X 10.5 Update 5 [Released on 09.03.2009] http://web.archive.org/web/20100718113953/http://support.apple.com/kb/DL924? http://support.apple.com/downloads/DL924/en_US/JavaForMacOSX10.5Update5.dmg [NOTE: "WayBackMachine" listing mirror of the info page for Update 5 is provided above as the "official" link is DOWN, but the standalone Apple update DL link below it DOES work.] Hope that helps! ;) -Alan
Like (2)
Version Update 10
Pocka
05 July 2011
I have just updated my Java for Mac )S 10.5 update 10 on my Mac. When I try to log into a java program on my Firefox 5.0 I get a message to "Engage Java". How do I do that????
Like
Version Update 10
1 answer(s)
Tiger65
Tiger65
23 May 2012
someone can tell me please how to update java on my Mac os x 10.5.8 I can find anything on the free downloads about Mac 10.5.8 Thanks
Like
bprentice
30 June 2011
I have Firefox 5.0 installed. This update removed the Java plugin from this browser. How do I re-install the Java plugin? I am currently unable to run any Java applets using Firefox 5.0.
Like
Version Update 10
Mikael-B
15 June 2011
Well, so far I've been able to develop on my Dual 2 G5 with Springsource Tools Suite version 2.6.2 , being the latest without major problems, except some odd behavior in nightly versions of STS. This includes the different Spring frameworks including Spring Roo 1.1.4, Tomcat 6. A bit bewildering is that after I installed this update and run java -version in the terminal I still get build 1.5.0_28-b04-382-9M3326, which is the same I unsurprisingly got with the 10.5_java_base_9m3233 of september 2010. Does this mean Apple just repackaged the betas as a release, I wonder...
Like (1)
Version Update 9
alas!
10 March 2011
Attempted to install this on my MacBook Pro Intel core 2 duo w/OS 10.5.8 but it doesn't then show up on my list of Software Updates, so I'm assuming that update 9 did not, in fact, install successfully. Very puzzling.
Like
Version Update 9
harlock592
28 February 2011
i hope this will run on my mac os x 10.5.8 powerpc g4...
Like (1)
Version Update 8
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
15 June 2011
well, it did, didn't it? I'm running it on my Dual 2.0 G5 right now,
Like
Annabis
31 October 2010
I'm not sure if this is the right place to turn for this, but I'm starting to give up...! Earlier today, I updated iTunes to 10.0.1 and Java 10.5 update 8 on my MacBook. Neither required a restart, but since my iTunes had been behaving slightly strange I restarted anyway. Since then it hasn't started yet. It loads the background picture and the program icons on the bottom of the screen, and when I left it for about an hour, I got the top as well, but only with the 'Finder" written and a couple of the icons on the top right, however not the clock. The mouse is there and can be moved around, but it is just the spinningy colourful icon, and obviously I can't open any programs. As you could guess, I haven't done a backup for about six months and feel even more stupid over this... Is there anything I can do to help my computer back to life? Thanks so much for anyone trying to help me!
Like (1)
Version Update 8
Moog-Modular
21 October 2010
Ever since updating to this Java version, Firefox no longer displays Ebay listings. Safari still works. I can't say it's this Java version, Firefox or Ebay, but as of this update I can't use Firefox for Ebay at all.
Like
Version Update 8
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
15 June 2011
Unless you have some third party software running with Java in FIrefox, this is completely unrelated. Did you unload all add-ons?
Like
Slimeyapple
14 June 2010
I have had the same problem. When I reinstalled the OS it worked normally. At that time I did not know the JAVA update was the culprit -- but when I just updated it again the problem re-occurred. The system now will not start up normally (I have to hold the power button down, wait for the long beep tone, etc.) I am hoping they can patch it, because I don't want to reinstall the apps I had to reinstall after the OS reinstall... HOWEVER -- doing a "repair" type install on the OS did work. ***************************************************** This is from the apple developer site: http://www.apple.com/java/faq/#remove url Q: Can I remove a Java update after I've installed it? A: Java on Mac OS X is updated incrementally through numerous releases. Therefore, the only way to revert to an earlier Java installation is to reinstall the operating system. The same applies for any other Java-related Software Updates or Developer Previews. For this reason, it is strongly recommended that Developer Previews of Java on Mac OS X be installed on non-critical systems.
Like
Version Update 7
In Disk Utility, when I repair permissions I get "Permissions differ on "usr/share/derby", should be drwxr-xr-x , they are lrwxr-xr-x . Repaired "usr/share/derby"." Of course I also get the message about ARDagent and how it can't be repaired, but that is old stuff. Strangely, every time I repair the permissions, I get the "usr/share/derby" message, even though it says it's repaired. But I'm used to a few permissions being off. At least Snow Leopard fixed most of that problem. Otherwise, I have had no noticeable change in speed or function. It has worked for me (so far).
Like
Version Update 6
2 answer(s)
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
23 May 2010
It is not an issue, it is just Apple changed how they do things without changing "repair permissions" system. that "l" means it is actually a link to real file. As repair permissions doesn't know about it, it informs you but (fortunately) it doesn't attempt to "fix" it. I get dozens of those warnings even on recently installed/updated fresh leopard.
Like (1)
Version Update 7
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
23 May 2010
Ilgaz- thank you!
Like (2)
Version Update 7
Macfool
04 December 2009
Update 6 installed via Software Update over 10.5.8 on a Dual G5 without drama with all functions intact.
Like (1)
Version Update 6
Mediavinci
08 September 2009
Hello, computer did not restart after hitting the "Restart" button. I could only see a black screen after applying the update. Waited a couple of minutes ... except black screen ... nothing. Bad. graphically & sincerely, Marc Klein
Like
Version Update 5
Ilgaz
06 September 2009
I think time has come for Oracle/Sun to either take over PPC Java security fixes or send Apple a court order to EXCLUDE Java from PPC machines via software update just like they did to Microsoft in JVM 1.1 ages. 10.4.11 users should disable "java applets" (disable Java in Safari and others) unless Apple ships an update.
Like (1)
Version Update 5
Bousozoku
04 September 2009
So far, it seems like sites using Java applets (part of what changed) seem choppy and slow. YouTube was a mess earlier, though I was under the impression that was mostly Adobe Flash. I'm using Firefox 3.5.2 but I've seen others complain about Safari so apparently, this update was not tested well.
Like
Version Update 5
Dualist
04 September 2009
Progress is soooo uncooool. Bring back the PPC, OS 9, the floppy disk, and the Newton!
Like (1)
Version Update 5
1 answer(s)
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
06 September 2009
Dear super progressed genius Java is not some tiny shareware which Apple can abuse. It is now a product of Oracle which is second largest software company on planet, after MS. They either maintain or remove it. It was decided in US court, Sun vs. Microsoft. Look it up. Also check how much MS had to pay to settle it.
Like (1)
Version Update 5
Macfool
03 September 2009
Update 5 installed via Software Update over 10.5.8 on a Dual G5 without drama with all functions intact.
Like (1)
Version Update 5
Cerebrl
16 June 2009
Nothing like being left behind because I don't have the money to go out and buy a new computer every 3 years. Thanks Apple for making my bleak finances more obvious. I guess my dual 2, PPC G5 will slowly be faded out along with music tapes, common sense and hope for universal health care. Yippee!
Like (10)
Version Update 4
5 answer(s)
Bloodclot
Bloodclot
17 June 2009
I'm in the same boat, my G5 2.5 dual ppc was placed on the obsolete list yesterday. Now I have to miss the snow leopard boat, also won't run the latest java update. SOOOO NOT COOL.
Like (3)
Version Update 4
The-Crow
The-Crow
03 September 2009
I don't know what you guys are talking about. I just ran this Java update on my Quad G5 2.5 GHz PPC PowerMac, and it took it fine. I think it's silly to complain about old architectures losing support. Sure, it's a bummer, but there's nothing wrong with Leopard. That's where my Quad will stay, and it will continue to function just fine for years. Does it bother me that I can't update my Quad with Snow Leopard? Yes. Do I wish Apple had built Snow Leopard to support my Quad? No. Snow Leopard wouldn't be a lean mean machine if it contained all that legacy code. Eventually I'll bite the bullet and buy a new Intel Mac Pro - but for now, everything still runs perfectly fine. I have no complaints, and I thank Apple for creating such a solid computer and OS that it has run without issues for almost 5 years, and shows no signs of stopping.
Like (6)
Version Update 5
Zudo
Zudo
03 September 2009
The only PM G5 that went Vintage is the first model, discontinued 5 years ago, not 3. Since it still works fine you are not forced to buy a new(er) mac until you're ready.
Like (2)
Version Update 5
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
06 December 2009
I don't know about your specifics but if you rely on Java that much, you can install/use Yellow Dog Linux which IBM Java 6 for PPC can be installed. Of course, OS X upgrade to Leopard makes way more sense for 99% of situations.
Like
Version Update 6
Crow
Crow
06 December 2009
Everything becomes obsolete - and computers age faster than anything else. You really can't expect Apple to support legacy architectures after such a significant change, and not to stay competitive. We push Apple to adopt the latest and greatest; people complain if they don't put the most recent Intel chips in their current lineup. I'd like to say that the Intel Macs will ensure compatibility for a much longer run - but who knows? You could buy a new Mac today and in three years there could be a game-changing breakthrough in quantum computing from IBM, and we'll change architectures again. Unlikely - but there's just no guarantees. I can honestly say that my Macs have all had a much longer lifespan than any PC my friends have had. I finally broke down and bought a new Mac Pro to replace my G5. Did I need to? No - actually, I didn't. It still works great after 5 years, and will go on chugging away for years to come. But I started craving the new 64-bit programs being released, and I couldn't help myself. Nothing is forcing you to buy a new Mac. You can still run all of your existing apps, and be just as productive as you were 3 years ago. Similarly, my old car CD player won't play MP3 CDs. But it will still play the audio CDs just fine. Plug your ears, close your eyes, and don't pay attention to the new apps being made for new machines - and you'll be happy. Your Mac still works the same today as it has for years. But don't complain that new software won't run on your old computer...that's just silly. If you want to run the latest and greatest, buy a new machine.
Like
Version Update 6
Philip-Gonia
29 May 2009
I just updated my Intel Dual-Core Mac Mini running OS X 10.5.7 with the Java 10.5 update 3 that I downloaded from the Apple Developer web site. Have the following issues which I thought important to share and which I am still looking for resolution of. 1.) Java not longer runs in either Safari or Fire Fox. 2.) The Default Java version after install is Java 5. (1.5) Not really a problem but when attempting to change via the Java Preferences app, Java remains at this same version. Still looking for help in correcting this installation or backing it out. This is the first time I have ever had problems with a Java installation on the Mac.
Like
Version Update 3
2 answer(s)
Philip-Gonia
Philip-Gonia
29 May 2009
Worked out how to get Java running within Safari. In Java Preferences I selected Run Applets within Java Browser. Java however is still broken within FireFox. Also found this info about Java update 3. [ http://mactip.blogspot.com/2007/11/safari-crash-firefox-crash-applet-crash.html ] Found this very interesting. Looks as though Java 6 on MAC OS X is broken. Oops! [http://lists.apple.com/archives/java-dev/2007/Oct/msg00367.html] What is described here is the same as what I am seeing but after installing on a new installation of MAC OS X "Leopard" (10.5.7) Java 5 is all that will run!
Like (2)
Version Update 3
Leppe
Leppe
16 June 2009
This is what you need to run Java in other browsers then Safari: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/16262/java-embedding-plugin Greets Leppe Here is some info from the project site: The Java Embedding Plugin is a utility that allows other web browsers than Apple's Safari to use the most recent versions of Java on Mac OS X. When used together with an updated version of Mozilla's MRJ Plugin Carbon (included in this distribution), the Java Embedding Plugin's functionality is currently available to recent versions of Firefox, Seamonkey and Camino. But in principle any web browser could use one of the Java Embedding Plugin's two APIs to add support for Java 1.4.2, J2SE 5.0 and (where available) Java SE 6.
Like (1)
Version Update 4
Espiridion
13 February 2009
As a PPC owner, the version of Java that is currently available is just an insult by Apple. Some programs will simply not run on PPC machines, since they require Java 1.6. The current version for PPC machines is 1.5.0_16. I can either buy an Intel-based Mac, or a PC. Considering the cost of Apple hardware, a PC seems like the best alternative for my particular situation. I currently have 2 Macs. I won't buy a 3rd Apple computer and reward Apple's arrogance and/or incompetence. (I get the feeling that this comment won't be popular among fanboys)
Like (5)
Version Update 3
15 answer(s)
Ean
Ean
13 February 2009
If your PPC can run OS X, then feel free to install whatever version of Java you like!
Like
Version Update 3
Germano60
Germano60
13 February 2009
@EAN: maybe you didn't got the point. If you own a PPC with Mac OS X you can not install Java 1.6 simply because this is available only for Intel-based Macs. So, with a PPC you can not install "whatever Java you want", you simply can't install a Java version that you "must" have to run some programs. And that's unfair for owners of PPC-based Macs.
Like (2)
Version Update 3
Werfblau
Werfblau
13 February 2009
@EAN: There‘s no 1.6 for PPC-Macs. Unfortunately it‘s true: More and more Java-Apps require 1.6, so the PPC-Macs are out of the business. Apple's attitude does not only affect the Java-Platform, but also their own products like iLive - some functionality is only available for Intel-Macs! Btw: I'm currently evaluating Linux - there are distributions for PPCs, too.
Like (2)
Version Update 3
Espiridion
Espiridion
13 February 2009
Thanks for the replies and for clarifying my post to EAN. WERFBLAU, I recently installed OpenSUSE http://www.opensuse.org/en/ but removed it after a couple of days. Installation was relatively easy. Yellow Dog was another option I considered. One of the Java programs I'm interested in is not ported to Linux, though. But check them out, they may work for you.
Like
Version Update 3
Miner
Miner
13 February 2009
PPC Linux 9 (at least the most recent Fedora, which is the biggest supported PPC-distro I think) is worse; I cannot get ThinkFree Office installed at all, no matter what I try. Also some java-web apps do not work. For PPC, OS X is still the most versatile, even with these limitations.
Like
Version Update 3
Dragonfist
Dragonfist
13 February 2009
Actually Java 6 isn't even available for all Intel Macs. I'm running a first Generation MBP that has the Core Duo Processor...no 64Bit...no Java 6...problems here you come ;-)
Like
Version Update 3
Joellevin
Joellevin
13 February 2009
Good luck when Snow Leopard comes out...
Like (2)
Version Update 3
D9
D9
13 February 2009
Is anyone here aware of why Apple has not ported Java 1.6 to PPC? Assumptions that it motivates upgrades to Intel Macs or is Apple's apathy towards Java are just that, assumptions. Just like I could assume that it's a severe technical issue with 1.6 working properly with Mac OS X on PPC. /
Like (2)
Version Update 3
star-affinity
star-affinity
13 February 2009
HELMO HASS ”Apple is dead” No, PPC is dead. :P ;) (At least on the Macs for now)
Like (2)
Version Update 3
Werfblau
Werfblau
13 February 2009
ESPIRIDION, I started to evaluate Yellow Dog - it looks nice, but they are even behind Apple for Java. JOELLEVIN: I‘ll not jump into the Snow-Leopard - Apple managed it to get .0 releases at least as buggy as another commercial OS, so I‘ll wait and look on the PPC-Macs. I used to buy Family Licenses. D9: It took Apple more than 2 years to get Java 6 to the Intel Macs... I hope somebody from Apple reads this - the song is no longer "Apple is the best“.
Like (1)
Version Update 3
Veggiedude
Veggiedude
13 February 2009
I do not see why Apple should be faulted for no longer fully supporting PPC 5 years after moving to Intel.
Like (1)
Version Update 3
Espiridion
Espiridion
13 February 2009
VEGGIEDUDE, Apple's Java support also affects Intel users, but for PPC users it is just worse. In addition, Apple typically cares too little about backwards compatibility. This Java situation is just a current example. Recent switchers may not have experienced this yet.
Like
Version Update 3
Germano60
Germano60
13 February 2009
@Veggydude: Apple moved to Intel for the public at the beginning of 2006. We're now in 2009, so it's not 5 years, it's 3 years. When Apple moved from 68K to PPC, the transition took definitely longer. Do you really think that the HUGE Apple's installed base of PPC has fully or almost fully moved to Intel in these last 3 years? I'm not so sure about it. But Apple seems not to care. My iMac G5 is 4 year old now, it's running smoothly and perfectly, I don't see any reason to buy a brand new machine just because Apple decided purposedly on an early shutdown of maintenance for the old platform.
Like (1)
Version Update 3
Mikuro
Mikuro
16 March 2009
Regarding Linux, I think PPC users are excluded from Sun's Java, but IBM offers a JRE for PPC. Installing it is not always easy, but it's doable. I've installed it on PPC Debian with a bit of jumping through hoops. I don't have detailed instructions on hand, but here's a quick tip for anyone searching: changing the name of the file you download to match that of an older version may be necessary. While following instructions I found in various places online, I found that one of the required tools only worked with "known" version numbers (meaning only versions older than the tool's release), even though newer versions were compatible. Changing the file name was the key to getting it to work.
Like
Version Update 3
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
06 September 2009
Each time Apple does pull a trick like this to push people to Intel giving up their currently working setups, they lose another 1000-2000 seat potential enterprise customer since enterprise doesn't allow such childish games. Look at IBM, they promise 40 years old code can run unmodified on their state of the art Z10 mainframe. MS dropped Win 3.1 support (yes, 3!) just a year ago. IMHO Java developers already know what they deal with and Java games, some large ones still come in .exe form, for Windows. Can you blame them for staying away from OS X even while it is Intel?
Like (1)
Version Update 5
Espiridion
16 January 2009
So far two programs refuse to work on my system; Consideo Modeler and Quantrix Modeler. Both seem to require Java 1.6, however the latest Java version for PPC computers is 1.5 and 1.6 is for Intel machines only. The developers seem to be very responsive, but I don't know whether there's much they can do.
Like (2)
Version Update 2
1 answer(s)
Pdd
Pdd
19 June 2009
I had the same issue with Quantrix Modeler and found a solution by modifying the instruction found here: http://www.jetbrains.net/devnet/message/5240115#5240115 In the Terminal type (all on one line): cp /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/MacOS/JavaApplicationStub64 /Applications/Quantrix Modeler.app/Contents/MacOS/JavaApplicationStub Quantrix Modeler now loads!
Like
Version Update 4
Dgeo
25 September 2008
I don't know how Apple does it but they succeeded in what others couldn't do; constrain a seemingly open platform to a single CPU architecture. Maybe it was just strategic movement, maybe they were trying to cut expenses, maybe they had to completely kill PPC because their CPU supplier (Intel) commanded so, maybe it was just programming incompetence. They just look silly to me; JDK1.6 was available in beta for PPC ages ago (both 32bit and 64bit) and x86 Java is universally available in every platform out there (well, almost). I guess if they didn't have to control everything and let Sun do an OSX version things would have been better for all.
Like (2)
Version Update 2
Hofman
24 September 2008
Why don't the Description and Requirement sections agree? One says it's for Intel and PPC, while the other says it's for Intel only. The fact is, the Description has it right. MU, please fix the Requirement.
Like (5)
Version Update 2
1 answer(s)
I(pod)mac
I(pod)mac
25 September 2008
there's nothing to fix: - by one side: "This release of J2SE 5.0 and J2SE 1.4.2 supports all Intel and PowerPC-based Macs. Java SE 6 is available on 64-bit, Intel-based Macs only." (Description); - by other side: "64-bit Intel Mac (Core 2 Duo or Xeon) for Java SE 6" (Requirements). Both the above sentences say the same thing.
Like (5)
Version Update 2
-M-S-
24 September 2008
Nice--only took about 2.5 months to release this after Sun made it available for other platforms. The way Apple is working this whole Java thing is really embarrassing. Java was supposed to be a cornerstone of OS X, it's really a second-class citizen. For those wondering, from what I understand, the reason for the delays between Sun's releases and Apple's OS X release is because Apple's own engineers need to substantially rework and improve the code to make it run at all decently under OS X (and even then the performance isn't up to par with other platforms).
Like (5)
Version Update 2
Anonymous
17 September 2005
This fixed a number of problems I was having when using Safari with the gay.com java chat system. Thank you Apple!
Like (3)
Version
1 answer(s)
RandomTox
RandomTox
14 December 2007
It also introduces important fixes to http://www.allianceformarriage.org/. I am very happy.
Like (4)
Version Release 6
Anonymous
13 September 2005
Everything here works fine, as it did before the update.
Like (2)
Version
John Cluley
13 September 2005
Sorry forgot to say that as usual I have had no troubles after installing this Apple provided and tested update.Keep up the great work Apple.
Like (1)
Version
Anonymous
13 September 2005
Installed with no issues whatever on a 1.5 GHz PowerBook running 10.4.2 No permissions errors found after the install. Also ran DiskWarrior after the install, no errors found. Since OS X 10.1 (if I remember correctly) Apple has done right by me and my Macs regarding whatever Apple update you care to mention.
Like (1)
Version
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 September 2005
Gotta agree. The update process was, as usual, pretty much effortless. I ran Disk Utility afterwards, and absolutely nothing to report.
Like (1)
Peter
26 April 2005
After updating to 10.3.9, java socket "bind"s are failing in one program in particular. I've updated everything and I can't even run this program even if I remove JavaVM.framework. It claims I don't need to update the java. This is a mess, as usual. Anyone know of some solutions?
Like
Version 10.3.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 April 2005
Did you force an update of the prebindings? Open Terminal and enter the following: sudo update_prebinding -root / -force Then hit the 'return' or 'enter' key. I assume you've cleared your caches, 'deep cleaned' them? You've repaired permissions? Run DiskWarrior? Also, you could try removing all your Java receipts (they're in your Receipts folder) to the trash but don't empty the trash, then try the installer. Replace the receipts to the Receipts folder later.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
24 April 2005
If Safari keep crashing when you close it, after this update, check to see if you have IGetter installed...then remove it. This fixed my system.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
23 April 2005
seems every time Apple makes a update they mess something up they should test there programing before releaseing it now they want us to buy Tiger for about $140 ha that's a joke if your going to buy Tiger wait untill they release 10.4.2 or 10.4.3 you know there are going to be security holes in 10.4 and apps will probly have problems for the first few months. but what it comes down to is Appe is just like Microsofe they make claims that htere OS is so great then if there so great why can't they make a simple update that works it's becouse like i said Apple iis just like microsoft they care more about stealing your money for software that always has one problem or another. myself i say Boycott Tiger untill they releast at leas 10.4.2 or 10.4.3 then the OS may be worth running untill then the dummies at apple should spend a little more time looking over there mistakes and trying to make the OS work properly. im sick of then ripping me off for juks that don't work or has a error with many apps. hell if it don't work properly im not paying $140 for it the only reason they can do this is becouse we allow them to so let them keep Tiger untill i see some proof that the OS works with no major errors witch you know there will be a few security updates right away. when you rush development becouse of your Greed it don't make your OS better it just makes people see how quick you are to grab there money and if you need to make updates to a OS use your brain if your going to fix something fix it don't tell me your fixing the OS then cauuse more problems with it thats just plain stupid
Like
Version 10.3.9
7 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 April 2005
To suggest that Apple does not test their releases is more than just plain stupid. Many users had zero trouble with the most recent update (10.3.9). My Mac had no problems with it.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 April 2005
What a logorrhoea.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 April 2005
A fly has more logical reasoning than this guy...and probably better grammar.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 April 2005
you realize, of course, that Apple's .x releases are free, right? How is Apple scamming you if they release updates for free? Buy Tiger, if it doesn't work, update it. And yes, Apple is just like Microsoft, and they are scamming us, but not here, not this way.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 April 2005
This update and the 10.3.9 system update were excellent. Even with the updates, my mac runs perfectly and I cannot remember any crashes, quits or glitches of any kind in since I upgraded to Panther 10.3.3many months ago. emac 1 gz
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 September 2005
It's obvious from the poor sentence structure, plethora of spelling errors and major grammatical errors that you are a fool. Have you given any thought to switching back to Windows?
Like
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 September 2005
this dude has some serious problem, i love tiger, does everything i want. don't like the new itunes but thats another issue... tiger however, rocks.
Like
Anonymous
23 April 2005
This gets a 1 all the way across. It's a problem that never should have happened. Kind of like the iSync update screwing my Epox Bluetooth dongle. Since I'm new to the Mac, it took me a while to realize that you should wait a few days to watch everyone else's install pain before actually installing yourself.
Like
Version 10.3.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 April 2005
So you rate the fix a 1, just because there was a problem in the first place? People like you shouldn't be allowed near computers, or small children. I think you're too used to Microsoft, since they rarely (2 service packs in 4 years...) release anything useful.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Well, after trying EVERYTHING, including installing this update. my system still doesn't work... any ideas???!
Like
Version 10.3.9
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
you've cleared all your caches? you've repaired permissions? you've forced prebindings to update? you've used DiskWarrior to check/repair your directory? you've visited a well-known troubleshooting site for Macintosh users?
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 April 2005
Yep, done all of this...thanks...maybe the web sites will be of some use...
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Does this meen I can make a clean install with 10.3.9 and this Java updater, and not need to install security update 2005-002 again?
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Does anyone have a solution to my problem? Since upgrading to 10.3.9, everytime I go to quit Safari, the application crashes. It will actually pause for a second or two and then crash as it quits. I've already updated with the latest Java. Are there others out there who are experiencing the same thing. Otherwise no other problems. Thanks
Like
Version 10.3.9
3 answer(s)
Reverb
Reverb
22 April 2005
10.3.9 broke PithHelmet and a lot of other apps that modify Safari. If you're using any of those apps, you can either remove them, or see if the developer has a newer version that's compatible with 10.3.9. Otherwise, if you look around www.macfixit.com and their forums, you'll probably find an answer.
Like
Version 10.3.9
cooldude
cooldude
22 April 2005
If you have iGetter installed, you need to turn off the contextual menu element in browser integration. You can keep the watch for url clicks though and that will work. The developer is looking into the problem.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Mine did exactly the same it was Acidsearch that caused the problem, but a new version of it is now available which fixes the problem.
Like
Version 10.3.9
sebs
22 April 2005
well done Apple!! :) This is the way to solve people's problems... Not just indicating what to do , how to do it by yourself! in the same day i posted this issue at macupdate,, the same day Apple's answer was a surprise.. good job
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
22 April 2005
After the update, my computers Java Test score went from 24 seconds, down to 14.32 seconds. Interesting, I was not expecting that to happen.
Like
Version 10.3.9
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
If you use Java a lot, you may need to follow the steps listed in the end of this KB: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=301382
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
after installing the update, my test score showed a slight speed decrease - from 10.34 to 10.98. An inconclusive update.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Java and JavaScript are not the same. The link you posted only tests JavaScript, not Java.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
I ran the JavaScript benchmark with different browsers. Here are the results : Safari 1.3 = 13.05 s (was 13.91 s before the update) Camino 0.8.3 = 20.79 s Firefox 1.0.2 = 28.74 s IE 5.2.3 = 51.67 s iBook G4/1.2GHz/768MB, OS X.3.9
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
22 April 2005
All you people need to calmn the heck down. Its a 200K Java update for Christ's sake. So the guy who was pissed about downloading the 16MB is still on a 2400 baud modem. He has a right to be upset, but not at Apple. You, on the other hand, are one of those Apple fanatics who is convinced that the company can do no wrong. And that's probably cause you smoke reefer. But that is ok too. The point I'm trying to drive here is this: it's Thursday evening and your hanging out on macupdate? arguing in the comments section of a 200K Java Update? Common guys -- even that 13 year old who chimed ironically was the only one to admit he had no idea WTF he was talking about -- it's Miller Time!
Like
Version 10.3.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
You know Beavis, for such a busy guy you sure seem to have a lot of time to post your comments on macupdate.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
22 April 2005
You are making no sense at all. In fixing this Java glitch, Apple hasn't charged you a red cent, now has it? If OSX.4 does come out with bugs, you can bet your all that fixes will be published immediately and that they will be free. Always have been, always will.
Like
Version 10.3.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Thank you! I had 5 or so Kernel Panic after installing 10.3.9, and after this Java Updater everything runs OK. Was I the only one with Kernel Panic problems?
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
22 April 2005
I had that java problem, I read apples tech note and they said to download security update 5-2 again, 16MB. I did and it fixed the problem. Now they come out with a 200k fix?! That's cool. I wonder if this is any indication of how apple will treat us with 10.4, oh you so you installed 10.4 and now nothing will run so btw you have to buy it from us again.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Anonymous
17 April 2005
Okay, I tried to install that Applejack thing, hoping to repair whatever was broken. But that installation failed too! What is wrong with my computer? can anyone help me?
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Jared: "There were errors with installing the software. Please try and install again.". I try to install it over and over (like 42 times!!!) and it still shows the same message. I have a Mac version 10.3.8 running on a mac G3." Maybe because you can't read. You need to update to 10.3.9 FIRST and only then (IF you have java issues) do you install this.
Like
Version 10.3.9
Jared Sisneros
17 April 2005
When I download the package thing,(I'm 13, i don't know much about JAVA). When I start up the installation program, it goes well and all until it just stops when it is close to finishing. "There were errors with installing the software. Please try and install again.". I try to install it over and over (like 42 times!!!) and it still shows the same message. I have a Mac version 10.3.8 running on a mac G3. I want to install the java to play a web game called "Wyvern". (www.cabochon.com), if this info is somewhat relevant to my problem at all. Please help! I need this java to be installed!!!
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
Anonymous
03 January 2005
Works as advertised. No glitches.
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
Anonymous
12 October 2004
Hmm. I'm wondering about things going awol too as the last poster said. Haven't seen anything too untoward yet but I'm a little suspicious. People say this speeds up LimeWire Launch but I could see no difference at all.
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
Anonymous
05 October 2004
I'm fairly unhappy after my update. I don't know if I can blame it on the Java 1.4.2, but after installing, I lost all of my IE bookmarks and my keychain is all screwed up.
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
Anonymous
24 September 2004
Brilliant update my JAVA based chatrooms are now working in realtime instead of waiting upto 10 seconds for my text to appear and the loading times are significantly faster! As always Apple you show me why I've not regretted sticking with the Mac for 15 years!
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
Andy Groves
24 September 2004
Again/Still forget using Oracle Applications on Safari, I'm still stuck with that damn Microjunk software. - Apple, we love you, truely we do, just please give Safari some support for the hard core business applications. However as the other users say, it does everything it claims.
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
Anonymous
24 September 2004
Everything thing went as expected, as always with Apple udates, no problems. BUT I still cannot get access to my NetBank (nordea.dk) using Safari!!! IE, Netscape etc. can do it just not Safari!!!! Flipping annoying! Regards HOOV
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 September 2004
Sorry to hear you encounter problems with your Netbanking service on Safari. I regularly use Netbanking service on Safari and beside their (bank's) updating the server, I almost never have any problem with checking the account/payments.
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 September 2004
Be sure to use the "Report Bugs to Apple" menu item in Safari. I have several times, and they've addressed my concerns.
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
Anonymous
24 September 2004
A problem free installation. Improved Safari performance. Haven't had the chance to check them all but some sites I had trouble with are now working. :o)
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2
DarylF2
24 September 2004
No problems here (even TVGuide.com works reasonably well for me). Performance seems noticeably better, both in web pages that use Java as well as standalone Java applications like ReaderWare and JEdit.
Like
Version 1.4.2 Update2