Back to RapidWeaver page
RapidWeaver free download for Mac

RapidWeaver Reviews

8.3
02 September 2019

Create template-based websites rapidly.

ChrisPolus
30 April 2011

Most helpful

I worked in web business for some years so my review does probably not reflect the opinion of people who casually work on their own website. I think RapidWeaver is a solid application that lets you build simple web pages. But many of the designs included with the app look quite dated. All the nice and clean designs you know from today's modern websites come from 3rd party developers who charge you extra for it. Same goes for the structure of pages that you can build in RapidWeaver. The website says you can easily build stunning websites, but the included page templates (the structure of a page as in: first a heading, then a text, then again a heading, then an image) you can use are very very basic. Unless you can code HTML, you won't be able to create those stunning sites in my opinion. If you're a creative, try to include a movie gallery. If you click a movie on your page, it opens an ugly popup, which again feels very dated in times of lightbox, shadowbox and other nice bread and butter features. If you want to create modern web pages you have buy 3rd party plugins. These plugins are in fact capable of letting you create modern looking and stunning websites with lightboxes and all sorts of fancy JavaScript or HTML5 effects WITHOUT you having to code anything. But RapidWeaver comes with almost none of these plugins bundled. You have to buy and buy and buy additional plugins to get there. In my opinion, the built-in page templates should really be redesigned for a more modern look and feel and at least half a dozen plugins users have to pay for should be included in the default package. At this stage, RapidWeaver is a great platform for 3rd party developers who like to sell plugins to leverage the default product to a serious level. But I don't know why RealMac hasn't licensed a few plugins such as Stacks (and a few Stacks plugins for that matter) and incorporated this into their default product. Without the additional Stacks plugin, you're stuck with very rigid and boring page templates. Only Stacks gives you the freedom to place objects where you like them without HTML programming. You can also see this by the sheer amount of plugins for Stacks (not for native RapidWeaver). There are looooads of cool plugins that build on top of Stacks. As this is a 3rd party plugin, it DOES feel like an add-on. It could be incorporated so much nicer into the main product. Overall I think RapidWeaver is an OK product, but if you want to REALLY create modern looking websites, you have to add at least the same amount of money for plugins and designs that you spent for RapidWeaver itself. At least.
Like (22)
Version 5.1

Read 273 RapidWeaver User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bluebird
28 January 2019
Rapidweaver just keeps getting better with each update. Those who are negative here are obviously not enjoying the added benefit of using Stacks with Foundation or Foundry. These magical additions are critical to getting serious development from Rapidweaver. They cost extra, but WELL worth the SMALL investment to easily achieve amazing sites. Purchasing extra Stacks to achieve a particular feature is just common sense. No web authoring app can provide everything out of the box to suit your desires. With Stacks you can add almost anything spectacular to complete a dazzling site. Rapidweaver with Stacks and Foundation or Foundry is the way to go.
Like (1)
Version 8.1.1
Zx81
06 December 2018
OMG, I have to pay...again! This is insane!
Like (4)
Version 8.0.3
iamdavid
05 December 2018
Rapidweaver 8.1 was issued 3. weeks ago. What is wrong with this site? Nearly everything on it is one or more versions behind.
Like (3)
Version 8.0.3
1 answer(s)
tvalleau
tvalleau
05 December 2018
Nope. 8.1 is still in beta testing
Like
mzulgis
15 April 2018
I was considering this product, but reading comments here that so many additional plugins/addons need to be purchased to get it working right put me off. I'll keep looking until I find something fairly priced which doesn't have all these hidden costs. Considering either Sandvox or Everweb, not sure which produces the best looking sites. I already have Everweb so I can upgrade to the latest version, but if Sandvox is better maybe I'll go for that.
Like (2)
Version 7.5.5
1 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
05 December 2018
Just purchase foundation or foundry and with stacks and you are set. Our site has no templates and hundreds of pages really fast with reuse footers and navigation stuff the rest is free form. I can make pages very quickly. The Foundry or foundation come with all that is needed. If you need something more specialised the is always some plugins available.
Like (1)
tognans
28 December 2017
Purchased to replace an iWEB. Boy Scout Site as we needed to migrate to Sierra and iWeb is not compatible (would not work on ours) Although I could have wished for an easier and more intuitive interface, the videos quickly gave me what I needed to replace a multi paged and detailed website entirely in a few hours. The new site is ALMOST exactly what we wanted and we haven't even begun to learn RapidWeaver. Once we learn more I believe we will be able to manipulate the spaces more precisely and be even more happy with the product. Right now, Very pleased to replace the iWeb site so easily.
Like
Version 7.5.5
misterjspencer
04 December 2017
I used Rapidweaver for many years, then came paid upgrades, plugin creators out of business and I realised I had been had...here was an app purporting to create websites with ease that actually I needed more paid plugins and a decent paid theme to create a reasonable site. Is that really the future of simple website building. so I tried Sandvox, and a weight was lifted from my shoulders.
Like (8)
Version 7.5.4
1 answer(s)
Harry Flashman
Harry Flashman
14 December 2017
I've used Rapidweaver for a few years now and it does allow me to produce a good looking website, after spending big on themes, stacks and plugins, but site building takes forever due to serious performance issues when using Stacks, which is why I've started using Blocs and expect to dump Rapidweaver entirely before long.

In addition to the slow speeds, Rapidweaver also has never-ending problems in areas like FTP, so the $$ cost of ownership with Rapidweaver is annoying, but the enduring bugs and loss of time make it untenable.
Like (1)
Quest4sanity
15 November 2017
Since version 3, Rapidweaver has allowed me to manage several websites for years, updating their designs to integrate stores, add responsiveness and keep things modern with out having to delve heavily into code (though you can if you want). It's an indispensable tool for my business. Rapidweaver is one of the apps that keeps me a Mac user. I can't recommend it, or the community of developers surrounding it enough.
Like
Version 7.5.2
john-348
05 November 2017
I've used RapidWeaver since ver. 5 and I have to admit changing from Adobe DreamWeaver was very positive. I have upgraded to version 6 and now 7 I must admit that a lot of addons are unnecessary, but you decide for yourself what to download/use - my favorite is TotalCMS I've just bought a brand new iMac and there have been challenges to install Addons, but I found out that I could find hidden files by way of Forklift and by the way copy Addons from the old to the new one - very simple and fast.
Like (1)
Version 7.5.2
Scott-C-H-
04 September 2017
I wouldn't use it even if they gave me a license for free. Out of date approach.

If you just want something up and running with the least amount of hassles and don't want to learn to code, wordpress.com, squarespace.com, wix.com, etc. any hosted solutions are much easier, quicker, and more powerful than Rapidweaver. Your site could be up and running before you can finish paying for Rapidweaver and get a license, free of charge with some options.

If you want a custom website, there is no way around learning HTML and CSS. It's just a markup language. It's not that hard to learn, and you will have the level of flexibility and ability to create something that Rapidweaver will never be able to achieve.

Save your $99 and look elsewhere.
Like (5)
Version 7.4.1
Ptk3
07 June 2017
Seems like RapidWeaver is not next-gen app anymore, but seems to be old-gen app, nor its design neither its business model. There are LOT of solutions to make good looking websites without paying for a lot of plugins just to make it work. LOT of CMS do the job MUCH BETTER for free and if you don't like Wordpress, try Concrete5 which is WYSIWYG and FrontEnd… and as CMS, easy to update, even from your phone! Even try WIX, or the unkown web builder of your webhoster… But if you like better an app on your mac, there are also MANY apps MUCH BETTER designed, with lot of better possibilities to built and enhance your site (though RW need a paid plugin for… everything), and with better code, much understandable and maintainable… by you, with a learning curve equal that the one to learn RW: try Pinegrow for half the price of RW naked (which need much more money to be just functional), of Flux for the same price, but both are MUCH POWERFULL than RW, Boy, Girl, Man, Women, Trans, QUIT this app that costed so much money to recover the freedom of web site development with the standard of webdesign, and spread the word: this app sucks your money the old fashion way, and stucks you to the past… Or better, if you have time: take a course of HTML and CSS at Udemy of OpenClassrooms (for free), and discover the pleasure of coding with tools like Sublime Text, Atom or Brackets. I really use to love RW years ago, but enough is enough; this app takes you away from what the web is now…
Like (12)
Version 7.4.1
Kihoalu
10 March 2017
Scott C - partially in respone to your Feb 1, 2017 comment:

Vers 7.3 seems pretty good, but that’s based upon not being able
to pinpoint the exact source of a litany of problems I encounter. Overall, the idea is good.

To do what I am trying to do with some of the add-ons -- would take expert knowledge to handle in straight code. That said, its far from painless much of the time if you are trying to get the tool to match your vision, vs simply accepting canned effects & being impressed.

I’ve spent way too much to find out even the best add-ons are generally not simple. I find that every time I fix a thing, or more likely - have one thing fixed --> two others break.

I’ve poured hundreds into a tool that I can’t seem to get & keep humming.

The biggest irritation is that most sales pitches for RW (maybe mostly its add-ons) have no solid subject in the sentences; they’re all freakin’ STACKS of adjectives!

Either people would need to be doing something basic & standard (making RW a disproportional investment at full price), alternately I concur with your conclusion that it requires a lot of coding knowledge to do anything special & custom.

Oe can get on the bus & ride. But one also needs to know when the hell to get off it.
Like (3)
Version 7.3
1 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
28 March 2017
forget most of the templates I have found it faster to use foundry and its full set and any other stacks which work with stacks 3 and create you own. I can be tailored to your own style very rapidly and fully stable for all platforms. I recreated one of our sites from scratch into a new site in a day all the footer and headers are partial snippets which you just drop on each page as you go.
V7 3.2.1 is ver stable and quite quick compared to the older versions
Like
Kihoalu
24 January 2017
Purely my opinion & after some frustration, so take that into consideration:

Rapidweaver has some interesting features & you can construct a basic site quickly. The developer is helpful & responsive.

It is a tool for professional, or semi-pro (unpaid hobbyist) developers, imo. Dilettantes can manage to create a basic site well enough. (An involved test drive is warranted).

That said, RW has a few quirks. While the core product is good, it seems to be a framework in which a lot of people sell additional bells & whistles. Some of those that I've seen are excellent. Those can add up if you dive into them & not all work equally well together.

Experiences with add-ons can color general feelings about Rapidweaver itself. If you have a good experience there - great. If not -- well you won't be as happy with RW.

Sorting through similar competing add-ons can be baffling at first. Some of these 3rd party tools are very well documented, others, not so much. Keep in mind these are 3rd party tools. Some of the tool modules may be server-side only. Or look at MAMP as another way to save projects locally, after installing your usual server-side software on your computer.

If you plan on building sites without any hint of coding on your own, make sure you mock-up a representative version of your final site to thoroughly test in a demo copy. Figure out how you feel about the Edit/Preview mode flipping, or keep a browser open to see your outcome.

First & foremost, consider buying a product called "Stacks" immediately, an add-on that helps create drag & drop placement. (Not to be confused with small features in the application which are also referred to as "stacks" lowercase). That can be a near essential add-on, although there are other options, too. There are 3rd party CMS tools available, same as one might find in Wordpress.

Complicated sites are perhaps not AS easy to generate in every case.
If you find a theme that is precisely what you want without much tweaking, that is great & prices vary, though most run abt $30. Beyond finding a canned theme, you may have to make adjustments to text color, etc & save that out as a custom theme variant.

There are a lot of questions to ask & answer if you step into this cold.
Like (3)
Version 7.2.2
2 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
25 January 2017
There are several other alternatives to Rapidweaver, and your choice will even be more if you have even the basic understanding of how HTML/CSS/Bootstrap works. Sure, some learning is involved, but it's not *that* hard, and any website tools will require some understanding anyway.
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
25 January 2017
Instead of agonizing over Rapidweaver and alike, I suggest the following:

Watch these “Code in 5” videos and learn the bare minimum basics in just 15 minutes:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4K4QhIAfGKY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3T4BsrBISnI
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yalxT0PEx8c

Then, purchase one of the premium Bootstrap templates at https://wrapbootstrap.com/ (some of them come with hundreds of templates for just $18), swap contents and images to suit your needs and viola! You have a professional-looking website that won’t be affected by some indie developers doing stupid things with their web builder app. No need to worry about Rapidweaver bugs, and no need to pay for upgrade, either. And you can use any text editor you like to edit the site.

If you can’t be bothered to learn at least this much, you probably won’t end up with a useful and decent-looking website no matter what tool you use. You should probably hire someone who knows how to code in that case.
Like (2)
Scott-C-H-
24 January 2017
SaaS such as Squarespace and Weebly are better if you want a quick-and-easy website builder. If you want more, there is absolutely no way around learning HTML/CSS, which is NOT that hard to learn. HTML and CSS have become somewhat of a rubber dragon at this point. Learning a piece of software like Rapidweaver is just as extensive as learning HTML/CSS, or arguably MORE complicated. Also, the biggest irony of "no code necessary" tools such as Rapidweaver is that you *do* need to know HTML/CSS coding if you want to do more than what default settings give you and get the most out of the tools. You might as well just code yourself at that point.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.2
5 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
24 January 2017
One needs to define what a “simple” site is. Not an easy thing to assess if the buyer is less than a code monkey or has NOT built a few sites in the past.

Its NOT the defunct Apple product, iWeb, if that is anyone’s point of reference. It can do a bit more, but not as painlessly.

I think you can use it to build sites “no-code-necessary” but you may have to adjust the image in your mind to something your purchase level allows. It has its frustrations. In a lot of cases though, you are correct, imo.

STACKS (add-on purchase) allows for double-sized images in order to view on Retina display computers in a finer way. Not all the tools do so & that can lead to frustrations. It sure did to me.

It would be aggravating to use RW without the cottage industry of add-ons. More than likely, most people are not going to JUST buy RW if they want to create a robust, so you need to consider that in your cost basis if you are merely constructing your own site & not developing for other people.

I suppose the same pluses & minuses apply to Wordpress.
Like (1)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
26 January 2017
The simplest website builders are basically, simple. Limited: The AOL of webpages.

Not familair with the specific product you mention. I’m kind of invested in RW right now. I’m not sure that I would be, if I knew then, what I know now. I’ve bought several extras & some were my poor choices. (It makes no sense to buy multiple CMS products, for example). Others were quite nice.

Reviews make more sense for someone shopping around & your Bootstrap may make sense fo a look. But this review space is about RW, not a pitch for competing products, except in some small comparison & suggesting alternatives to test drive.

HTML and CSS aren’t at all hard, but some people are visual & prefer to design visually instead of having to become proficient in coding the page first.

If one learns the coding, but doesn’t work with it alot, its easy to get rusty & introduce needless frustration.

RW isn't hard either, though I’d say entrance is harder than it has to be. They don’t introduce the metaphor as painlessly as it could be & there is a lot of concentration on the selling of 3rd party devices; extensions, themes & “add-ons.” Many are very nice, but its easy to get caught up.

I’ve found that its not easy ferreting out what features a product has until you’ve made expensive choices. Some really nice feature doesn’t always find its way into the next one.
Like (2)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
26 January 2017
The problem is that WYSIWYG web builders such as Rapidweaver give potential users a false presupposition that websites are like print materials. It is not how website design works, and the result is years of many companies trying and ultimately failing. Macaw is the latest example of that. After a massive industry-wide hype, it took them only like two years before they abandoned.

Even that, it’s still understandable that visual thinkers are drawn to visually-oriented web design applications such as Rapidweaver. But, in my experience with Rapidweaver, learning all the quirks of Rapidweaver and its vast choice of plug-ins is, in fact, more complicated than the HTML and CSS languages Rapidweaver is ostensibly designed to simplify.

Besides, hand-coding web designers design visually. They just don’t expect visual tools like Rapidweaver to give them the kind of design freedom they need and generate production-quality markup code. That's why even "visual website builders" ultimately demand that you know HTML/CSS. The irony is that those who could code HTML/CSS by hand are the one who could get the most out of Rapidweaver if they chose to use it because they could see how Rapidweaver abstracts HTML/CSS coding in GUI.

I *am* indeed a visual thinker, believe it or not, and I had invested in Rapidweaver for a few years myself before I finally bit the bullet and learned HTML/CSS. What an eye-opening experience. I couldn’t ditch Rapidweaver and other WYSIWYG tools fast enough despite the monetary and time investment I’ve made in the past. Having that experience, plus having more SaaS choices that work better now, I can not “un-recommend” Rapidweaver enough.
Like (2)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
01 February 2017
Sorry Scott,
I can’t seem to wind on in direct response to your answer to me on 1/26. I concur with a lot of what you said in that post. However, not everyone is going to dive headlong into coding html/css. They will look for a shortcut.

For my part, I can slog thru HTML, but not CSS. My objective is to put my site up, but not learn how to build a computer or make pencils first.

I must admit I’m sort of justifying my insane expenditures in RW & peripherally software & still find it troublesome to make them work well beyond a really simpl, unadorned site.

Also, I’m trying to do for the next person what I wish someone would have done for me, rather than quibble with other users.

I think someone considering building their own site ought really spend time looking at options very hard. Design the rudiments of the page you want on paper first to have some sense of what they would like to see & what questions to ask.

In fact, I am a little dismayed to see the type of description some 3rd party RW add-on/plug-in vendors provide both on the RW gallery & even on their own sales pages.

If they can’t tell me precisely what their product does & why I should care - I have to suspect they aren’t too sure either.
Like (2)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
02 February 2017
Kihoalu, I think we are both trying to do the same kind of favor as you rightfully described. I wish someone else told me what I know now before being succumbed into trying to make Rapidweaver work right.

I don’t think there is anything wrong with wanting to get something up and running without having to learn a lot. I’m just saying there is no way around *some* learning past a certain threshold, and at that point, it's better to learn HTML/CSS than learning how to make Rapidweaver work right. Even for the purpose of getting something up and running quickly and without learning to code, I strongly believe that other options are more suitable for that purpose. Squarespace, Weebly, WordPress.com, Tumblr, etc. are all better solutions for those who want such shortcut. They will keep you within a certain limitation without custom codes, but they will give you a decent basic site without making you a coder.
Like (1)
Mindplay
05 January 2017
Ridiculously overpriced and honestly somewhat anacronystic. This company tries hard selling their products so bad by the way, they launch it, profit a little bit and then kill it... such a pattern for them, although RW is the only one exception to this rule. But I'm not going to support a company like that anymore unless they prove it differently in the future. All in all, there are tons of free, more elegant and more powerful ways to ship a blog these days, I see no point in RW.
Like (2)
Version 7.2.2
Michael-Sebrecht
24 December 2016
All versions above 5.x up to 7.x is unstable and pita to use. Luckily Rapidweaver received more competition to create stunning websites without learning to code. I recommend taking a look at Blocs. A truly amazing tool that can create awesome website with just some mouse clicks. imo much better and more important stable to use.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.1
Yazarim
25 October 2016
Simply ridiculous. They are releasing a new update everyday. Here it says 7.1.6, but it was yesterday: today it is 7.1.7 and tomorrow it will probably be 7.1.8. And it goes on crashing…
Like
Version 7.1.6
2 answer(s)
Harry Flashman
Harry Flashman
30 October 2016
The only thing fast about Rapidweaver nowadays are the updates. The endless wait switching from edit to preview with the silly messages is ridiculous. I've been using Rapidweaver for years, but I'm thinking of switching to Blocs.
Like (1)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
07 November 2016
If you realize that a new OS version was just released in Sierra, it is to be expected that an app like RW will require tweaking to work flawlessly. Bug fixes are not a serious problem unless the bug itself has you stymied.
Like (2)
Andy49
06 October 2016
7.04 and 7.1 both crashing on Sierra AFTER you make changes to your site and try to save them. What a waste of time!
Like
Version 7.0.4
Yazarim
29 September 2016
I have used RW for 8 years, starting with vers. 4. Every new version has had its problems before becoming perfectly functional, but this version 7 (704 and beta 7.1) on Sierra is simply a DISASTER. Only thing it can do is CRASH. I can not export Site, can not update it, can not do anything. Waste time, leave my Web Site not updated and nothing else. Sent I do not know how many reports to developers: no answer, nothing. Unbelievable (not to say shameful). Unfortunately it is not possible to rate LESS THAN ZERO
Like (1)
Version 7.0.4
retoga
04 September 2016
I have to correct my first review At the end, the support was able to help me. Apart from the initial problem with the upload, version 7 is the best that RealMac has ever released. They have great features like portable documents, Overhauled FTP Engine, FTP Path Browser, Built-in Web Server, SEO Health Check Banner Images, Portable Documents, Multiple Publishing Locations!!!. Local Publishing Project Backup: RapidWeaver can optionally create a ZIP file of your project, and upload it to your server when publishing. The file is added to a “secret” location on your server, meaning that while it is downloadable by anyone who knows the cryptic web address, it’s tricky to guess that web address. User-selectable Addons Folder. This is really a great release. I'm glad I bought the new version
Like (1)
Version 7.0.4
Leftcoastguy
12 July 2016
I'm trying to like RapidWeaver 7, however, the documentation is seriously getting in the way. Yeah, I know you're saying, "I never read the docs." Given that this product deals with web site creation in its own very unique way, you have to at least refer to the docs. That's where the trouble begins. For example, they frequently talk about a feature without identifying where it is in the interface. They mention the "Addons Manager" in several places without explaining how to get to it. It's maddening and a huge waste of time trying to click button after button, or open screen after screen, just to figure out where something is located. Tonight, I looked all over the place trying to find info on the new "Portable Document" feature. There's nothing in the docs. There's nothing in the online Help. Eventually, I found a video on the web site that explains it, but come on, I shouldn't have to be Sherlock Holmes to use this product.

It gets worse. The developers also refer to the same feature with two different names. A "Portable Document" is the same as a "Project File" (At least I think it is. Of course, the docs don't clarify these things.).

The tutorial videos have problems, too. The "5-minute website" video looks great, but the reason it takes only 5 minutes is that they skip steps. It begins with them showing that you can drag text from a file in the Finder directly into a RapidWeaver page. WRONG. You can only drag and drop a text clipping into a RapidWeaver page. Dragging in any other type of file won't work. You either have to create a text clipping from it or you have to copy and paste. Once again, I had to go through trial and error to figure that out. The video continues showing them dragging a photo into the page. Of course, the photo they use is perfectly sized and they don't tell you how to resize an image within the program. I had to figure that out, as well. It's simple, once I learned how to do it, but again, I shouldn't have to be Sherlock Holmes. The "5-minute website" eventually took about an hour.

But wait, there's more! The default theme (otherwise known as a template) often automatically removes return characters in any text you put in it. That means that when you preview it to see how it will look on the web, you can't tell where the paragraphs begin or end. Once again, I looked all over the place for an answer. The only way I found to fix that was to change templates.

If I decide to spend several more days trying to learn how to do basic things, I may eventually like RapidWeaver. Unless I suddenly develop endless patience, I'm quickly getting to the point of sending RapidWeaver on its merry way to the Trash.
Like (3)
Version 7.0.4
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
24 January 2017
Realmac, the maker has some tutorial videos available, though you need to buy monthly access to them. The cost is a modest $10/month, I believe, but it is off-putting to realize that you are paying for things they should be telling you in a comprehensive manual, once you’ve bought the software.

The tutorials are of varying quality. Some are a bit long & the presenter may ramble a tad in the process. You may be more tolerant than I - it can get on my nerves. Don’t see that as a slam, however. They are after all, extras.

The manual is a good start & easy read, but needs work to be a sufficiently useful document. Presenting the concept overview of the application could be cleaner.

There are helpful & knowledgeable users on the forum, but as forums usually go - response varies & building a site can happen in fits & starts. You better have time on your hands.

That said: Scrutinize the competition carefully. Some are like Freeway Express, a stripped down version of their Freeway PRO which is not free.

Current version I’m seeing is 7.2.2.
Like
Harry Flashman
09 July 2016
Rapidweaver 6 was slow as hell with endless spinning ball and horribly slow page previews. Rapidweaver 7 is worse and now taking up to 30 seconds every time you switch page. It seems this is because Rapidweaver is not multicore enabled and must be the last app on OS X not to be multicore enabled.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.4
higherterrain-com
07 July 2016
Still waiting for them to get the bugs out of it. They want a 100 clams but I hate buying software that is still buggy as hell.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.3
retoga
24 June 2016
I have upload problems with Rapidweaver 7.0.2. After writing to the support on 15th Juin I had to wait 5 days. Then they told me to do all the trouble shooting things. I explained them, that I did try everything and that I have the same settings for uploading in Rapidweaver 6 and in Transmit and that this settings are working. On the 22 of Juin the support did tell me that they are aware of an bug with the publishing engine in RapidWeaver 7. They would release an update, they told me. 9 Days after my first Mail to the support I am still waiting for a solution. This Realmac support is really bad. I thought that this time they would have learned from the disastrous launch of Rapidweaver 6. Really bad is, that one have to wait up to five days for a response from the support team and then they can not help and leave you alone with your problem.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.2
Centrovela
10 June 2016
With version 7 we have finally a stable and reliable release . Few changes on the surface, but many improvements in ease of use, speed and stability (what I expected for years!)
Like (2)
Version 7.0.2
Harry Flashman
09 June 2016
IS RW7 better than RW6. In a word yes, but most of the differences are largely cosmetic and related to the interface. There is very little new that helps me to build a better website, despite a big rise in the upgrade cost compared to RW6. Overall I like it and use it a lot but the FTP is still buggy as hell and that was supposed to be the big selling point of RW7. I think it's worth adding that Rapidweaver is only as good as the plugins and stacks you are using and they all cost extra money. I was seriously tempted to buy Blocs and may well do so in future if they ever offer a sale.
Like (2)
Version 7.0.2
Jonathan-Spencer
09 June 2016
Rapidweaver 7 is a solid upgrade to version 6 and well worth the upgrade price if you regularly design websites. You can create some pretty amazing designs if you buy the add-ons like Stacks 3 (essential buy) and say a template less framework like Foundation (Joe Workmans version of the Foundation framework) then there are the 1000 or so stacks/plug-ins/themes. I have loved using Rapidweaver and have even made commercial sites with it but don't expect to become an expert in a day it isn't iWeb! Buy it, invest some time watching the tutorial videos and visiting the online help forums and you will be rewarded with stunning websites that a design agency would be envious of!
Like (2)
Version 7.0.2
2 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
09 June 2016
Three reviews written, each one on RW, 2 five stars and one 4.5 stars.
How nice!
Like
Jonathan-Spencer
Jonathan-Spencer
09 June 2016
It was for versions 5,6 and 7 that I added a review. There does seem to be lots of people who review this software who don't know which end of a mouse to hold and leave scathing reviews. It is a steep learning curve but building websites isn't always that easy. I do wish Apple hadn't given up on amateur website designers but they did and the void was never really filled. Sorry for leaving a review on a new version of software that I use every day. I will refrain from having an opinion from now on.
Like (1)
Macbookpro
08 June 2016
7.0.2 is out.
Like
Version 7.0.1
Maclover1-1
03 June 2016
I use this to make tutorials for my clients and find it very practical for that.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
Bluebird
25 May 2016
Last summer we needed to rebuild a 150 page static website into a responsive site. We looked at ALL the options because our beloved software was just not suited to making the job simple. We settled on RapidWeaver. At the time version 6 had just been released and Stacks had been updated to version 3. Stacks 3 along with the Foundation free form framework from Joe Workman made building a responsive beautiful website magic and fun. Anyone talking down this software and the people surrounding its support is something I can't understand AT ALL. This is the answer for making great websites very quickly and maintaining them with the greatest of ease. Version 7 is just awesome and packed with the most desired features. Don’t listen to the negative reviews of this app. It’s amazing. Do your homework and investigate Rapidweaver 7, Stacks 3 and Joe Workmans Foundation suite of theme and stacks. It’s a very small investment to make websites GREAT.
Like (2)
Version 7.0
2 answer(s)
Haliomaster
Haliomaster
25 May 2016
I guess you never tried Blocs. :-) Blocs is the only WYSIWYG who created awesome modern websites. Of course just my opinion. :)
In the past I also used Rapidweaver but Blocs is so much better.
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
26 May 2016
@Bluebird: I totally agree. I use RW6 and love it, and I'll be upgrading to version 7 in the next few days. Yes, there are alternatives, but everybody is different. Some people get religious about their choice that isn't RW, and then populate these forums making nasty comments. If you choose something different, then so be it. Go off and use it. I happen to love the way RW works, so if you can't live with that, well then have a tough life.
Like (1)
bin104
24 May 2016
I am a long time RW user since Ver.3. I had been using RW 5 for a long long time. I paid for RW6 upgrade right away when it's released just to support them. But I had to wait for my essential plugins were updated for RW6 so long. I finally switched to RW last fall (2015) then it's already the time for RW7? I seriously think that this could be a Ver. 6.5 just because I don't feel Ver. 6 was matured enough. Do I have to worry about the compatibilities for all of my plugins and themes and the cost for upgrading them all? Realmac Software could have asked half the price for the 0.5 version upgrade if they needed little more money to continue developing. I would be hugely disappointed if they stop fixing the bugs on Ver.6. At least they should release a solid Ver 6.5 before they stop the maintenance, I hope.
Like (6)
Version 7.0
2 answer(s)
Macmuser
Macmuser
09 July 2016
I too upgraded to v6 as soon as it came out. But it was incredibly buggy and felt more like beta software than the real thing. I also couldn't see any real gains compared with RW5. When RW7 was released I decided to ignore it for the time being as RW6 has become stable. Are there any real improvements? Faster FTP is unnecessary for most people in these days of cable and fibre broadband.
Like
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
07 November 2016
Current is Version 7. The price is ok for a decent product.

The plug-ins tend to be 3rd party businesses & therefore RW does not control the schedule on those. There are some great ones, but it can add up quickly.

Biggest problem is getting a sense of what they do & how to use them without test driving each one in depth, as there is more sales pitch than elucidation. Further - rating competing ones & knowing where the mesh or overlap is problematic.

If you buy & are not a CSS or html wiz, you can manage but the platform is predicated on buying plig-ins & themes designed to assist you.

Also the 2 pane modes can involve a lot of flipping from edit mode to preview to see how your final work will appear.
Like
Macintosh-Sauce
24 May 2016
LOL Last night I had to download the latest version of RW 6 to re-install it. Just as I was doing that RW 7 was released. Downloaded it and tried it out. Upgraded this morning after trying RW 7 out some more. Much better than RW 6 IMHO. Keep up the great work! Been a RW user since RW 1. :)
Like (1)
Version 7.0
Rochade
24 May 2016
Wow, version 7 is solid stable and adds many long awaited (small but vital) features. Brilliant! I don't think I have to mention that RW is still the most easy to use web tool for the novice and pro alike.
Like (1)
Version 7.0
refresh-me
24 May 2016
Best :)
Like (1)
Version 7.0
Alvin-H
24 May 2016
too much problem on v6, and they came with v7 with paid upgrade. it's quite pricey for me... it's time to jump ship now
Like (4)
Version 7.0
HalsteadBrad
02 March 2016
Another nice little update to fix more bugs. Very happy with the site building ability, stability and publishing capabilities of this app. Dan, Ben, Nik and the whole crew do an excellent job of providing support as required and making this product all that it can be. Add to the basic RapidWeaver install Stacks by YourHead Software & stacks/plugins/themes by 3rd party developers and this thing ROCKS!!! Couldn't recommend it more!
Like (1)
Version 6.3.8
HalsteadBrad
17 December 2015
I came to RapidWeaver from Dreamweaver (Macromedia Days) and to be honest, it may not offer all the same edibility and customizability of Dreamweaver it is a Darned good program, the developers are constantly listening to feedback from customers and fixing things as they happen. Every piece of software has bugs, doesn't matter how much you beta test, how much to fix things, some people are never happy. I, on the other hand, am truly thankful for RapidWeaver and find it has a slight learning curve but once you learn some of the ins and outs with plugins, themes and stacks it becomes VERY versatile and almost unlimited in what you can do with it. The community is active, helpful and there is a lot of developer support there as well. I give it a 5 star rating because I enjoy using this software very very much!. Thank you Realmac for developing and continuing to improve this product!
Like (1)
Version 6.3.7
Sperling
05 December 2015
RW is crap - seriously - it causes me headache, the DEVs are bunch of ignorants. Once you have a problem, you can describe it, reproduce on another machine, clearly shows where the culprit lies (missing - not generated file) - they're unable to help. First they are first pretending interest, then silence follows and at the very end - they claims - they can't reproduce - you're sending your data there, but it's also useless. However! Thank you developers ! I got much powerful and cheaper tool!! There are many not alternatives, but actually much better solutions! Thank you guys!!! (without you - I'd never try anything else probably).
Like (3)
Version 6.3.6
2 answer(s)
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
07 December 2015
@Sperling:
Hi, may I know your more powerful Solution?
- without beeing a Code Wizard. I don't want to learn coding. I can read it to understand the context - but that's about it. That's why I used RW 4.
I also have version 5, but had never time to upgrade my sites. So, as my Stacks plug-ins (and probably others) are outdated, I need to invest lot of resources to get stated again. This would be a perfect time to Switch.

They only point that I found unsatiesfinging in RW was the support (speak options) for the blog part of it.
Like
Iturtle
Iturtle
17 December 2015
+1! I am still on rw5 and the mess with rw6 (actually also the switch from rw4 to rw5) made me switch to wordpress in combination with one of the very powerful versatile themes like "theme x" or "divi". I am happy now for the first time in years! they even banned me from their forums a while ago because I kept mentioning the problems I am having with 6. that is how they solve their problems... bye bye realmac ;)
Like
bowlerboy-jmb
25 November 2015
I like RapidWeaver, I really do. But I don't like version 6. In fact, I don't use even version 6; it has demonstrated a history of having too many problems. I don't think that it is be ready for prime time, as the litany of complaints at the Realmac Software forum testifies. Many customers are unhappy with version 6; few professional web masters are able to put their confidence in version 6, when their businesses depend on it. That's sad, but true. Regrettably, the program was released way before it was thoroughly tested and found to be free of major errors. Even now, the release notes show fixes to errors that don't occur in version 5, which begs the question of how the program was coded and "upgraded." For instance, one of the "What's New" changes / updates to version 6.36 is: "Fixes a problem where dragging sidebar items between documents could cause RapidWeaver to crash". I find that both interesting and appalling, since, in version 5, I don't recall the program ever crashing when I copied a page from one website project to another. Maybe version 6 was rebuilt from scratch so that code which had worked earlier in version 5 was no longer usable in version 6. I don't really care. What I do care about is reliability, and version 6 has proved to be so flaky in so many ways that I would advise caution in implementing it. I am not saying you should not buy and use RapidWeaver. On the contrary, you should. It has been offered in many bundles at a great discount for many months, so you should get it. Someday, when version 6 seems stable enough and reliable enough to use, I may actually migrate from version 5 to version. But not yet. Not when it still reveals bugs that should never be showing up in a upgrade at all, since they did not exist before. As for the built-in function in both version 5 and version 6, I recommend avoiding it completely. Use a third-party FTP application like Transmit, ForkLift, or Interarchy, or you'll be sorry. More details are at the RealMac Software forum.
Like (3)
Version 6.3.6
smoss
14 September 2015
I have been using this for years. I am a business owner and need things that I can micromanage until I get so behind I actually hire someone to do the job. But as for something that i am constantly changing like the website or my software for the business I need something scalable, affordable and beautiful. This is it for website design!!!! I have done others and this is by far the cheapest you can do. I actually buy my templates from professionals who actually know how to work it!! I buy stacks and so on. The amount of stuff you can get for pennies on the dollar is amazing. Makes my site look great and my customers are always telling me how they actually liked my online presence better than the others in my field. I love it. and contemplated trying others but the network and resources are unparalleled in a world of PC's (slowly dying like an old dinosaur.)
Like (1)
Version 6.3.4
Jonathan-Spencer
24 August 2015
Fantastic software but make sure you buy the Stacks 3 add-on that makes drag and drop editing possible and opens up a world of hundreds of free and paid for stacks that can do anything from image editing to blog creation to online store creation to pretty much anything you can imagine. Another add-on that is worth the money is Joe Workmans Foundation theme stacks that turn Rapidweaver into more than a template based system into being able to create pretty much any layout you want. It's a steep learning curve but well worth it. Don't listen to the wringers who bout it from the App Store, that's not Rapidweavers fault it's an Apple fault, they don't even sell the latest version through the App Store anymore due to this.
Like (1)
Version 6.3.2
Sgginc
27 June 2015
I've been using RW for over a year. There are plenty of inconsistencies: Some stacks work in some themes/browsers and not others. The preview within RW is different than the published site. Sites look different in different browsers. Browser font and page zoom settings affect the formatting of the site. If you design the site to look good in Chrome it is messed up in Safari. The fancier the site the bigger the messes. All in all I keep the site simple. This might just be me. I am surely far from an expert. Thanks ... Ken
Like (2)
Version 6.2.1
Centrovela
03 June 2015
After 6 months of "tuning", now RW6 (6.2) is usable, without problems, in all its functions. (It would have been nice if it had been so from the beginning).
Like (1)
Version 6.2
2 answer(s)
Iturtle
Iturtle
02 July 2015
still not as good as version 5, though. features are even missing. gui is worse.
Like (2)
Centrovela
Centrovela
03 July 2015
@Iturtle: do not agree. I was one of the first to criticize Realmac for the fact of always going out with new versions not working and full of bugs. But I must say that the current version of RW (6.2.3) works and I find it much faster and functional than the version 5.
Like (1)
Jonathan-Spencer
30 April 2015
I was gutted when Apple stopped developing iWeb so ended up moving to Rapidweaver 5 then version 6 as soon as it was released. With Rapidweaver you can build amazingly professional sites with all manner of options. It does cost though, as a minimum you need Stacks which makes layout much easier and then the additional stacks add every conceivable effect or utility you would ever need on a modern website. You can then start to spend money on themes which are templates for the basic design of the pages but add lots of added extras which often make them well worth the $30 or so they cost. All in all Rapidweaver isn't perfect but it sure is expandable and makes some of the best looking websites out there. The latest versions are perfectly stable and have few bugs, they are also constantly fixing the bugs as they are found.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.1
Derekcurrie
19 April 2015
RapidWeaver v6.1.1 is available and addresses some problems introduced in v6.1. Here is the direct download link for v6.1.1 I was sent by Realmac via their email alert: http://realmacsoftware.us10.list-manage1.com/track/click?u=f9ec56ff98591a96e630ebccc&id=00567cd6a2&e=7ae9cb3135 Quoting Realmac's alert message: "Important update to RapidWeaver 6.1 available now. . . . "Since the launch of RapidWeaver 6.1 earlier this week we’ve discovered that some customers are running into problems updating to and launching RapidWeaver 6.1. "To fix issue for you as quickly as possible, we’ve launched RapidWeaver 6.1.1. In order to update to RapidWeaver 6.1.1 you’ll need to download it in full from the link below (note: the button below takes you straight to the ZIP download). [See the link I provided above. - DC] "If you’ve run into issues with the RapidWeaver 6.1 update, we’re incredibly sorry for the inconvenience - the issue is one with the software update mechanism in 6.0.9 and we’ve been working tirelessly to get this update out to fix things. . . . "Thanks for your patience - and for using RapidWeaver 6. If you’ve got any questions for the Realmac team, just hit “Reply” - we’re here to help! "— Team Realmac"
Like
Version 6.1
Zx81
16 April 2015
Please, be careful ; upgrade from 6.09 to 6.1 does not seem to work and starts strange behavior from the app. See here : http://forums.realmacsoftware.com/discussion/86419/unable-to-update I'll wait until this is fixed.
Like
Version 6.1
2 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
18 April 2015
Problem seems to be solved now. Customers have been sent a link to download a working version.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
19 April 2015
I provided the link to v6.1.1 above as well as the alert sent out by Realmac.
Like
Reelstuff
17 February 2015
I have owned every single version of this software, version 5 included, but to be honest, I have never used them beyond just having a quick look, I have tried to use it, but it just does not seem to be intuitive, its not friendly at all, plus you have to get themes, plugins, (stacks) what ever, I use a text editor to code in, I also use the command line, I do like some GUI apps, own a ton of GUIs but over all I think it must be really hard to build a business model in this way, this is what happens when you try to dummy proof a product, you make it undesirable for the rest of us, So, just for the record, I am a paid, user, from versions 1-5 but no more...
Like (1)
Version 6.0.6
2 answer(s)
Macmentor
Macmentor
06 March 2015
I am a retired teacher and my new "project" is getting a senior club organized and operational. I have set up a website for the club and am trying to improve it almost daily. The club is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit tax-exempt charity serving the senior citizens of Chino Hills, CA. If you are not going to use RW any longer, would you consider donating any themes or stacks you may have purchased to our club? Donations to our club are tax deductible per the IRS. Thanks for considering helping us out. You can email me at Brett@chinohills55plusclub.org
Like (1)
Memphisbird
Memphisbird
27 May 2015
@Reelstuff, same here. The sites I have created in RW probably would have taken me 1/3 of the time in any number of other applications. I ended up doing so much hand coding that I finally asked myself why I was bothering, and I just went to Espresso. So many things to add on just to make it "user friendly," and all that changing and previewing, changing and previewing. It was actually torture, and like you, I have owned it since version 1. I gave up on it about a year ago, redid the sites in Espresso (and other things since), and haven't looked back. It might be "user friendly"for some people, but not for me.

@Macmentor, I'm going to email you, because you are welcome to any all my Rapidweaver themes, add-ons, etc.
Like
Hendricx
16 February 2015
I really love RW .. RW5 that is. RW6 'looks' better but it is many cases incredible unreliable. It crashes often, even if you do not use plugins, it has a long standing 6.0 to 6.0.6 bug that does not save your changes unless you first switch to another page and back, uploading to your server does not always upload everything completely, uses way more memory compared to RW5, .. After 6 updates this is still not fixed. I would gladly give it 5 stars again but RW6 doesn't come even close to 3 stars. Pity.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.6
Macbookpro
01 February 2015
Version 6.0.6 is out. In app, check for updates. Weird issue with update...did not complete and had to delete version in Applications folder and re-download from site. http://realmacsoftware.com/rapidweaver
Like
Version 6.0.5
tvalleau
27 January 2015
Wow! I Just read the reviews here and by my own experience, I think these folks must be from an alternate universe. I've been using RW for years. It has _never_ crashed for me. The code it produces passes all the HTML validity tests. The product has been strong, and has served me extremely well. Yes, you will want to spend more money on third-party plugins and add-ons, and that can add up. But contrary to the negative opinions here, my experience has been 100% positive.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
2 answer(s)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
28 January 2015
Agree. If you look closer at some of the "members" leaving that info (joined recently, no downloads) then it looks more like a competitor left negative reviews. Maybe MacUpdate should look into this.
Like (1)
Reelstuff
Reelstuff
17 February 2015
Well I have been a paid user since version 1, so I am not new and I am not a competitor, Glad it works for you but its way behind the times, bet they can't even use node.js in the software yet.
Like
Albertkinng
13 January 2015
I need to be honest. I was a Freeway user back in the 90s and then start growing with Espresso and then I saw Rapidweaver. I've been using it so much I think I'm addict to it. I bought Macaw thinking I will be doing more professional web development but at the end of the day I always deliver my clients with websites made in Rapidweaver. Today I have Rapidweaver with Stacks and the Foundation Package from Joe Workman. Basically all the compatible stacks and my sites are beautiful. Samples here: Http://mimegaradio.com Http://yakoradio.com In other words, Rapidweaver is a professional tool, not an iWeb alternative, and the Html and css files now are very well implemented inside the develpment process, better than ever. for every complicated task I use Espresso.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.4
1 answer(s)
Harry Flashman
Harry Flashman
20 January 2015
I think some of the negative feedback here may be excessive. Rapidweaver 6 has definitely had some unfortunate bugs that shouldn't be there but nevertheless I find it a huge improvement over Freeway Pro that I used before.

I have recently purchased Foundation but I haven't had time yet to really experiment. Did you find it difficult to learn? I've had trouble with some basic things like organising the header menu as I would like but I'm looking at this and thinking I could turn it into a business at some point.
Like (1)