Back to Abyss Web Server page
Abyss Web Server free download for Mac

Abyss Web Server Reviews

2.12.1
26 July 2019

Free personal Web server.

Cenocre
11 October 2008

Most helpful

Been using Abyss for years now in a commercial web hosting environment and it has been PERFECTLY stable. Things that take Apache down are barely a blip for Abyss. We are about move all of our servers from Apache to Abyss. Apache is like Windoze - popular, but hard to figure out why as it is so bloated and awkward. Abyss beats Apache in: Speed Simplicity (in a different universe) Ease of configuration Login and consistency of interface and configuring Speed of setup Tolerance of errors in configuration User choice - can put it on any volume and quickly migrate it to another server Stability Support - quick and generally accurate answers from a single source Cost - Yes, Apache is supposedly free and Abyss costs a little for the , but if you measure cost of the time involved with each product, you will save LOTS of time with Abyss. Abyss is not perfect, but the company Aprelium listens to users and continues to improve the product. There a just a few features that are missing. And, while their documentation covers just about everything and is VERY accessible, it definitely could use some help as it makes far too many assumptions about the user's knowledge. It needs better BASIC explanations as it sometimes states the obvious while missing the not obvious aspects of a feature and the reason for the feature.
Like (4)
Version 2.5

Read 21 Abyss Web Server User Reviews

Rate this app:

Teksestro
21 January 2018
@MacUpdate Admins: the latest version of this software is 2.11.8, released in Dec. 2017. Listing the last release date being in 2014 may make it seem like this is abandon-ware, which it definitely isn't...
Like (1)
Version 2.9.3.6
MacFluent
27 March 2014
I've now used Abyss for around a decade for commercial web hosting on multiple servers and it has probably been the most stable and near bug free piece of software that I have ever used. I can only recall one crash (it actually may have been the fault of the OS) and only one difficult to pin down bug (involved PHP). And now, with the latest version they have added the one essential feature that I have needed - log rotation. All the major features are now there. Abyss is fast, hyper-stable, very low memory and CPU usage, and feature rich and their email support is nearly impeccable. You forget it is there as you only need to access it for adding new virtual hosts. It's also nice to do most of the features of .htaccess files right there in the admin console rather than in hiddn files scattered all over the machine! While the web browser admin interface works well and it easy to figure out (with the ever-present contextual help button), I would like to see some changes in just the look and feel and the ability to do bulk changes. Since it is easy to change the XML config file, I just wrote my own simple admin program in the database Panorama and do bulk changes to hundreds of web sites in just a few seconds. My major wish now is for Aprelium to create a FTP server. Hmmm, it would also be nice to see a very minimalistic CMS. Please?
Like (3)
Version 2.9
Just-Fred
19 June 2013
Like others, I've been using the Abyss web server on a variety of platforms, and simply put: It.Just.Works. My needs are simple: I typically need an intranet web server, and I don't need one that runs around the clock. Of course, when I have needed to run it around the clock, it.just.works. The Linux version is as robust and as stable as the Mac and Windows versions, and it installs as a Linux "service" flawlessly. I know that Aprelium offers a for-pay version, and if my needs were such, I'd willingly pay for it. As it is, the free version is more than excellent, and imagine my surprise when I saw that the company had updated it! I don't know that I need the update, but I'm going to install it. It probably won't (or can't) work any better, but it's nice to be on the current release. Nice job, Aprelium. Your efforts are greatly appreciated! (To Macupdate: The star ratings for some reason won't let me make the "Value" five stars. It is, in my opinion!).
Like (2)
Version 2.9
Cowicide
04 June 2012
Love this server, but disappointed to see that new version 2.8 is still not 64bit on Mac while it is for Linux and Windows.
Like (1)
Version 2.8
DoctorFix
21 January 2012
I've used Abyss on Windows and Mac systems over the years and in both cases it was small, fast, unobtrusive, easy to use, and best of all it just WORKS! The big-boy servers, and their attendant fan-bois, are so clunky and difficult to deal with that I was pulling my hair out just to get simple answers. I didn't want to be a full time server admin just someone who liked to tinker around. And the beauty with Abyss was that I was able to set up and handle multiple domains with ease and on a price point that was ridiculously affordable. Perfect? Nope. But the downsides are small compared to the ease of use.
Like (4)
Version 2.7
Cowicide
21 August 2011
I just realized I've been using this a really long time and I don't remember if I've ever reviewed it here. What can I say. On both Mac and Windows it's solid. I've never had it crash or interfere with anything else on any computer. As a testing server, I've found it better than MAMP and it doesn't download huge amount of crap like MAMP does and they aren't pushy (like the MAMP people are) about getting the paid version. I try out MAMP every now and then, shrug... and go back to Abyss. The interface isn't perfect and there's a lot of areas that are not going to be self-explainatory, but hey, it's a web server. If you don't have any clue about how to run them, you probably shouldn't be opening up your computer/server/whatever to the world anyway. That said, never had a hacking issue with it either, but then again I practice lots of safeguards I won't get into here. Fantastic server. Updated fairly regularly. Works great as a PHP testing server, IMHO, as well. I regretfully have to take off a star for not being 64bit on Mac yet. Been kind of a long time.
Like (4)
Version 2.7
2 answer(s)
Nomad11
Nomad11
03 July 2012
The download is so small because php and mysql (more than 100MB) are not included, you'll have to install it yourself (and find out how to do so). So it seems Abyss is more suitable for geeks while MAMP can also be used by beginners
Like
MacFluent
MacFluent
27 March 2014
@Nomad11 From my experience, Abyss is MUCH better for beginners AND advanced users than any other server. MAMP may be good for a broader installation package. But, will be MUCH harder to deal with when it comes to dealing with problems as it uses Apache, which has downright unacceptable flaws that can take the whole server down for very miniscule errors. First, Abyss won't even blink for nearly all of the problems I've encountered in Apache where the entire server won't boot. Secondly, you only have ONE place to look for problems in Abyss while Apache has many config files and .htaccess file scattered all over as well as many separate modules. Aprelium has separate downloads and VERY simple instructions for addons such as PHP (http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/php.html) and Ruby on Rails, etc. They have also been very good about configuring new PHP packages for different operating systems.
Like
Cenocre
20 March 2009
Update to my previous review. The tech support for Abyss is great!! With the very reasonably priced Pro version, you get priority support. They actually read your questions and give reasonable and quick answers even for complex issues. After wasting years of my life with open source products such as Apache where you search in forum after forum for months only to get numerous stupid and wrong answers especially when dealing with utterly absurd mod_rewrite and, after dealing with the big companies such as Adobe, Epson, Apple, Micro$oft, Comcast, etc where the techs often times know little and deny obvious bugs, dealing with Aprelium is a breath of fresh air. I now recommend dealing mostly with small companies that make great products such as ProVue (makes the great database Panorama), HindSight (photo business software), Aprelium, etc. You often get MUCH better products, better support, and surprisingly longer life products. ProVue made the second piece of software for the Mac and it is still around. Buy small and buy quality as it will save time and money (even over the "free" products). As an added bonus you can often get features added to the products based on your own suggestions!
Like (3)
Version 2.6
Cenocre
11 October 2008
Been using Abyss for years now in a commercial web hosting environment and it has been PERFECTLY stable. Things that take Apache down are barely a blip for Abyss. We are about move all of our servers from Apache to Abyss. Apache is like Windoze - popular, but hard to figure out why as it is so bloated and awkward. Abyss beats Apache in: Speed Simplicity (in a different universe) Ease of configuration Login and consistency of interface and configuring Speed of setup Tolerance of errors in configuration User choice - can put it on any volume and quickly migrate it to another server Stability Support - quick and generally accurate answers from a single source Cost - Yes, Apache is supposedly free and Abyss costs a little for the , but if you measure cost of the time involved with each product, you will save LOTS of time with Abyss. Abyss is not perfect, but the company Aprelium listens to users and continues to improve the product. There a just a few features that are missing. And, while their documentation covers just about everything and is VERY accessible, it definitely could use some help as it makes far too many assumptions about the user's knowledge. It needs better BASIC explanations as it sometimes states the obvious while missing the not obvious aspects of a feature and the reason for the feature.
Like (4)
Version 2.5
Haloce-002
22 September 2008
it beats Apache
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Orion-Mk-V
20 September 2007
Brilliantly simple for during quick servings for clients as a basic test server, and I can't complain about FREE. Very robust non-Apache offering.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Indigoimac
11 January 2007
Excellent as always, Pre-Compiled PHP 5.2 is also appreciated! Easiest to manage and configure server on any platform, though not as robust as Apache, it's still my personal favorite.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Tweakly
01 June 2006
it would help if the included Installation Instructions file had a working url for the instructions...the one included is not even close to a real, working url.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Anonymous
11 July 2005
I was looking for a simple and powerful solution to built an intranet web server. I find it ! Guys, you're rock !!! Thanx for this free and great app. (I put a 3 stars for stability, but maybe in few days i'll change my mind... i use it just for 1 days, but i'm sure it will get a 5... it runs on OSX!)
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 August 2005
Server is running without freeze since 8 weeks now ! FIVE STARS for stability !
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
..
11 March 2005
Amazing
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0.20
Anonymous
14 October 2004
wont let me open the ports needed, i am using a Netgear router. i selected to open ports and then it notifies me that it can't. useless!
Like
Version 1.2.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 October 2004
Have you tried turning off the firewall in OS X?
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 October 2004
Don't blame the software just because you suck at using it.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 March 2005
The application has nothing to do with that. Just allow port 80 on your OS firewall / personal web sharing and then apply forwarding in your router for that port to the internal LAN IP of the hosting machines. Takes 30 secs.
Like
Version 2.0.0.20
Anonymous
05 August 2004
For creating a simple HTTP server, this is a great solution. EASY setup, loads pages fast, and it's free. I'm impressed. If you don't need some advanced features such as mySQL, this is the server for you.
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Aprelium Technologies
Aprelium Technologies
21 June 2005
Abyss Web Server supports any database provided that your scripting language has support for it (see http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/faq.html#A3-2 ). There is also a precompiled PHP package for MacOS X with MySQL support ( http://www.aprelium.com/downloads ). Please read the FAQ pages and the Forum message for more information about the supported features and technologies.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
21 January 2004
Why use it you ask? Because its only 211k - Dig out all your old Macs and get them serving your sites in under 15 minutes. Its rock solid and loads pages super quick. http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/opinions.html Give it a try its Free and you will not look back. Would like to see support for MYSQL or Excel built in.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 January 2004
if all your old Macs can run OS X 10.2 or later, how nice for you. mine sure can't.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
20 January 2004
If they had only put their efforts into making a freeware Apache Configuration utility... Really, they would of had something cool then.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
20 January 2004
Not questioning the merit of this app, but Apache is very easy to learn and to configure. This app has some merit all its own I'm sure, but really, Apcache? Hard to configure?
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Cenocre
Cenocre
11 October 2008
Yes Apache is very awkward and sometimes a royal pain in the butt to configure and operate. What can take hours to do in Apache can be done in minutes in Abyss. And, minor configuration errors that take down an entire server in Apache ONLY affect the part that is misconfigured in Abyss.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
16 January 2004
You would use this instead of Apache because it's so (extremely) much easier to configure.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
11 December 2003
I don't get it. Why would anyone use this instead of Apache which comes with Mac OS X? Please enlighten me.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 January 2004
Re to Confused: because it is really very easy to use and to configure. Apache is very unixish (configuration file based) while Abyss has a nice interface. It is also very stable and doesn't require administrator priviledges to run (while Apache needs them).
Like
Version 1.2.1