Back to HimmelBar page
HimmelBar free download for Mac

HimmelBar Reviews

3.0b64
16 October 2008

Launch & quit apps using the menu bar.

Brennanmeister
12 April 2006

Most helpful

I would suggest that you check out XMenu also. Similar in purpose and function to this app.
Like (2)
Version 2.4

Read 34 HimmelBar User Reviews

Rate this app:

With Catalina 64 bit it no longer works.
Like
Version 3.0b64
1 answer(s)
Andrew-K
Andrew-K
11 October 2019
That's true. What does it take to get it updated to 64 bit?
Like
Version 3.0b64
spangledtablet
28 September 2018
sorry about the copy
Like
Version 3.0b64
Xente
09 January 2012
It's useful, clean, simple, and efficient. Makes accessing your apps so much easier. Only reason that I gave it a three for stability is because I've only had it for a day or two, so I can't really say much about stability just yet. No problems so far though
Like
Version 3.0b64
misterjspencer
21 August 2011
I think this is a great idea, but it no longer works in Lion, and does not display all folders in a given directory.
Like
Version 3.0b64
Lev
01 October 2008
Sorry, but that's nonsense; LaunchBar doesn't use either the desktop or the menubar. It activates IN the menubar with a keystroke, or you can cmd-tab to it in the list of running apps if you like. In other words, it runs just as it always has.
Like (1)
Version 3.0b
1 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
01 October 2008
Oops. That was meant to be a reply to X9 below.
Like
Version 3.0b
Jani333
16 August 2007
Ist ein super Programm, ich finde ihn sehr gut.
Like
Version 2.4.3
Simichavel
04 December 2006
I recommend comparing with the simple and elegant Namely and the powerful Quicksilver, both activated by keystroke shortcuts and both likewise freeware.
Like
Version 2.4.3
1 answer(s)
xati-ba
xati-ba
04 March 2011
Albert as well
Like
Bolobar
25 July 2006
The ability to close all open applications makes this little gem a winner.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
Brennanmeister
12 April 2006
I would suggest that you check out XMenu also. Similar in purpose and function to this app.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
X9
01 April 2006
This is badass! Since Dock Extender is no more, I've been looking for another kind of launcher that's simple, clean, and mean. This is it. Butler is too convoluted and Launchbar is useless as it uses the desktop and not the menu bar anymore. Kudos to the dev! Best of all, it's free. Pretty customizable and leaves a small footprint.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Untitled
Untitled
25 July 2006
Butler can be put on the menubar too... Thou I think butler is slower than HimmelBar, on the other hand Butler have a very nice search function which I miss from HimmelBar
Like
Version 2.4.2
Anonymous
04 August 2005
awesome app. this version is buggier than the last few though. it keeps on crashing a few hours into startup.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 August 2005
Please contact the developer with more info if you encounter troubles with HimmelBar. I'll try to help you.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
20 July 2005
Every Mac should have this installed. Apple should buy this app and include it in OS X. Can't live with out it!
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Anonymous
02 June 2005
How do I install the english version as shown in the example, mine does install something in norwegian or such. does anybody know?
Like
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 June 2005
HimmelBar is like most Mac OS X application, it contains localized strings for several languages. If you system runs in a language that HimmelBar supports, you'll have HimmelBar's interface in the same language. Otherwise look at your International Preferences Pane and see what is the languages order for your system. If an application doesn't know about your system language, it will use the next available in this list. Please contact the developer if you still encounter problems.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
28 April 2005
Good, but check out XMenu also, by DEVONtechnologies.
Like
Version 2.2
ACB
28 April 2005
This small app does exactly what it should. Here's my two cents: Cent #1: A simple search feature built into the drop-down menu. Cent #2: Ability to create an unlimited number of custom folders. I do like the way that you don't have to go through each app's folder to get to it. I also like the 'deep search' and regular search ability. Thanks for making this free! ACB
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
14 March 2005
good, but i prefer MoofMenu..
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 March 2005
moof is shareware. shareware=poop
Like
Version 2.1
Derekpunsalan
16 February 2005
i just started using this app today. works like it's supposed to. i often find myself navigating through numerous apps in the finder to find what im looking for. this app beats dropping the apps folder into the dock. i configured himmelbar to list a few important apps that i access but don't want to be sitting in the dock when not being used. the only recommendation i have is to allow an easier method of creating more optional folders to organize apps. i.e. a folder for dvd burning apps, communicaiton apps, ect. it just crashed on me while i was typing this up so stability is something ill follow closely.
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 February 2005
HimmelBar should not crash (obviously!), so if you encounter the problem again, please send the crash log to the developer. You can go to the HimmelBar web site to find out how to contact me. Thank you.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
18 January 2005
love this app. but after update 2.0 it doesn't work. the icon is there but nothing happens when klicking... got a tibook with 10.3.7
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 January 2005
If you encounter issues with latest release, try downloading it again. If the problem still occurs, please contact the developer from HimmelBar's web site.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
14 January 2005
Wonderful little application ! this is the application I was sarching for Good work.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
11 December 2004
It would take 1 minute to program Butler to do the same thing, or am I missing something here? With all the positive reviews on here, I'm wondering...
Like
Version 2.0b2
2 answer(s)
qwerasdf
qwerasdf
14 January 2005
And it takes 20 seconds to download and install this. What's your point here?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 January 2005
I'm wondering too. Whay's your point?! I have used this nifty little app since it was first released and I simply can't live without it. Great work!!!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
10 October 2004
Does its job well but wish it didn't have to index the HD each time it starts up.
Like
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 November 2004
It doesn't index the HD, just the registered locations where applications reside. This is the only way to have quick and always up-to-date menus... and thank you for trying Himmelbar!
Like
Version 1.4.3
Anonymous
07 August 2004
Very nice app. works almost without any problem. Why does this app list some applications two times? example print services, is it a listing bug of apple? .. sometimes it quits on a g4 733 os 10.3.4
Like
Version 1.4.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 August 2004
Since Mac OS X 10.3 the Print Center is listed twice. It Seems to be a bug. If you have other applications with the same behavior, please go to http://softbend.free.fr/himmelbar to find out how to contact the developer. Obviously I want to eliminate all bugs from HimmelBar!
Like
Version 1.4.2
Peter-Maurer
Peter-Maurer
17 January 2005
It's not a bug -- it's a symlink, AFAIK. They do this quite frequently for backwards compatibility reasons.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
02 August 2004
as Leonadro da Vinci said once "Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." but he also said: "Every now and then go away, have a little relaxation, for when you come back to your work your judgment will be surer. Go some distance away because then the work appears smaller and more of it can be taken in at a glance and a lack of harmony and proportion is more readily seen." good job guys.
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 October 2004
Oh yes. That Leonadro was a great one.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Anonymous
01 March 2004
On some configuration, the application may quit some seconds after the installer finishes. In such case you'll have to manually restart the application after the installation process. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
07 February 2004
It's a very nice small app, but unfortunately it does tend to use up too much memory and CPU, compared to its size and functions. Especially when updating preferences, it does hang for a few seconds. I've tried other similar apps, a nice one with lots of features (more than you'll need probably) is Another Launcher. But honestly, in the end you're better off with the system Dock, IMHO. Put folders and aliases in there, and you can browse anything without having to go to the Finder. The Dock uses the least memory/CPU of them all. You can't disable it, so you might as well get used to it and exploit it, instead of looking for alternatives. At least in my experience, that's the best solution.
Like
Version 1.2.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 February 2004
A note about memory usage: HimmelBar caches applications data (such as icons), because if it did not use cache it would be slower to display menus. But HimmelBar doesn't retain these information, therefore it will always release memory upon system's memory manager requests under low memory conditions. A note about CPU usage: HimmelBar is completely idle when not used, and almost idle when you browse its menus.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 August 2004
Use the AliasMenu man!!!!Is the thing what i find for my Mac.Work better than the others,and believe!I try ALL the things to do that,the AliasMenu show the icons of what you want there in a good size and the memory....i dont see nothing wrong.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 November 2004
this alis menu make alot of make users get cried
Like
Version 1.4.3
Anonymous
25 January 2004
It's a very useful utility, just what I was looking for. I used to ctrl-click an application folder in the Dock to get my apps but this was slow and ugly.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
09 January 2004
cool, but created a glitch with all my browser windows; forms (such as a google search window) would not allow me to type a "space" between words...
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
09 January 2004
Very stable and useful. Himmelbar, Fire, Desktops Manager, and MenuMeters are my must-have utilities for OS X. Free software rocks!
Like
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
24 January 2004
I agree. It is easy to setup and use, stable, has regular updates, and seems to offer good support. I have a complex system with many apps. I tried to use Another Launcher as a test but after launch it crashed each time during setup. Never had such problems with this. I also liked Rocket Launcher, but I like this better.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Changwei
20 December 2003
It's a very useful application. I just love it. Thanks!!
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
02 December 2003
Did a nice job finding my apps. I have been looking for something like this that is free and works well, I found it. There is one thing, I would like to be able to move it around in the menu bar.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
02 November 2003
Great little app. But it doesnt list all the apps. in the "Applications folder" in my user folder only a few from each sub-folder.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 November 2003
HimmelBar scans only the first two levels of each search location. To have HimmelBar scanning all subfolders, enable Deep Search in the Preferences for the location(s) you want to scan recursively. If you already enabled this setting, please contact the developer (check out the web site for details). Thank you!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
21 October 2003
Kind of like a 'Lite' version of Another Launcher.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Anonymous
20 October 2003
I like this little piece of software. Very nice! However I would like the ability to add another folder. Only my main apps are in the apps folder, not all my fun little stupid ones.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Anonymous
20 October 2003
Right idea but the Alias Menu approach is better IMHO i.e.; use folders/aliases in Application Support and let the user build the menu structure as they see fit. HimmelBar is small and fast, but ultimately too restrictive.
Like
Version 1.0b2