Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Mac OS X 10.6.8 Update page
Mac OS X 10.6.8 Update free download for Mac

Mac OS X 10.6.8 Update Reviews10.6.8 v1.1

26 July 2011

Combo v1.1.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Aargl
Aargl
Jul 4 2013
10.6.8 v1.1
5.0
Jul 4 2013
5.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
I'm just wondering: it's been nearly two years now since this update and there's still a lot of people using 10.6, Apple continues to provide updates (actually a whole lot of them, security updates, java, etc.). Well I frankly don't believe Apple will do it, but it would be nice to have a final 10.6.9, for summing all those little updates, for archive's sake. I keep those for every system since 10.4 just in case my old machines need reinstalling, and I would have appreciated the same for 10.4 and 10.5, even if it's rarely needed, but that way I could throw away useless old updates.
papwilly
papwilly
Sep 9 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
2.5
Sep 9 2011
2.5
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
I installed the Supplemental update without installing the Combo Update first because I was getting some kind of error. Now, after restarting my sound doesn't work. Any help?
nospam-5
nospam-5
Jul 26 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
0.0
Jul 26 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
Installing the 10.6.8 V1.1 Combo updater will overwrite Safari 5.1 if you have already installed it, and replace it with 5.0.5 or .6. Just reinstall Safari 5.1, or skip the Combo thing altogether and do the Supplemental update. FYI.
r-owen
r-owen
Jul 26 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
0.0
Jul 26 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
I have repeatedly downloaded the 10.6.8 v1.1 combo update and I can never open the resulting .dmg file. Anyone else having this problem? Anyone have an alternate download link? I tried apple uk, but could not find a suitable link.
Pepper131
Pepper131
Jul 26 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
3.0
Jul 26 2011
3.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
what is the difference in this and the "supplemental"
Drsfg
Drsfg
Jul 26 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
4.0
Jul 26 2011
4.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
I installed this update through Software Update. The size of the file was 1/10th of what is being downloaded here. It was quick without any problems. Some people have stated that the About This Mac window notates the supplemental update. My window still says OS 10.6.8
Holypoly
Holypoly
Jul 26 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
0.0
Jul 26 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
After installing the Combo updater, rebooting wouldn't make it to the logon screen, the MBP 2011 13in just shut down. Replacing the mach_kernel file with the 10.6.7 version from my emergency back-up restored everything to normal. I experienced the same issue after applying the MBP Software Update 1.4 which installed a newer version of the mach kernel, turned out the new Combo updater has the same newer version of that file. You need to make the mach-kernel (to be found at your main volumes root level) visible first before being able to replace it.
bennyboyhead
bennyboyhead
Jul 25 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
4.0
Jul 25 2011
4.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
Upgraded a couple days ago. Only glitch I've seen was with an old Xerox printer driver. Still the rock solid SL I'm used to. Currently working up courage to upgrade my main computer to Lion, which has also worked fairly well so far on my old MacBook. If you're having lots of weird bugs, I highly suggest doing a fresh system install, running software update until everything is curent, and then migrating your user files back from your time machine.
22duke
22duke
Jul 25 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
0.0
Jul 25 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
great to see SL is still supported just in process of migrating back to SL from Lion which is not usable for me and probably one of the worst releases apple had in a long time
ChristopherPrice
ChristopherPrice
Jul 25 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
0.0
Jul 25 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
After updating to 10.6.8 v1.1 Adobe Reader X (10.1.0) fails on Safari, Camino, and Firefox. Reinstalling Reader doesn't fix.
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Jul 25 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
0.0
Jul 25 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
What, are they afraid to call it OSX 10.6.9?? It would be the best named OS of all time. Colbert would have a blast asking if people had '6.9 their computer.
Methers73
Methers73
Jul 25 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
0.0
Jul 25 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
The Mac OS X 10.6.8 Supplemental Update is recommended for all users running Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.8 and resolves issues with: Transferring personal data, settings, and compatible applications from a Mac running Mac OS X Snow Leopard to a new Mac running Mac OS X Lion Certain network printers that pause print jobs immediately and fail to complete System audio that stops working when using HDMI or optical audio out For detailed information on this update, please visit this website: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4561.
Avinator
Avinator
Jul 24 2011
10.6.8
4.0
Jul 24 2011
4.0
Version: 10.6.8
Not sure why everyone has issues with this update. It worksf lawlessly for me. I upgraded to Lion on one of my other drives and came back to Snow.... It;s THAT GOOD ! ;)
Fsckthemembership!
Fsckthemembership!
Jul 23 2011
10.6.8
1.0
Jul 23 2011
1.0
Version: 10.6.8
Safe boot then Combo 10.6.8 and now Safari 5.0.4 is being loaded with Cookies from visited sites and stranger still non-visited sites dispite having Safari set to "never allow" any cookies! Tried updating to Safari 5.1 and it seem worst. Clean install then Combo 10.6.7, Safari 5.0.4 and all is back to normal! Go figure! Surprised that Apple pulled an Adobe or Microsloth with this need to track information…I'm open for payment if they want to negotiate my fees to provide this service! :-) Smell of a hugh security breach, need to force Lion on us or I did something stupid…however, it's reproducible by updating to 10.6.8.
Culture-Of-One
Culture-Of-One
Jul 7 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jul 7 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
The update went through fine for me, but ever since upgrading the locationd process has been going crazy - way too many internet access attempts. Running Little Snitch I can see that it tries (unsuccessfully, I might add) to determine my location every 10 seconds (5 of which is rest and 5 of which is network activity). Last night I accidentally fell asleep with the AirPort still connected, and despite having no applications running and no viruses, managed to rack up 112MB of network activity in 7 hours! I have a usage cap on my service, so I don't want the computer wasting resources this way. Unfortunately I need location services for some of my apps (though they're pretty useless right now because Skyhook keeps reporting my location incorrectly). Anybody else having this problem? Any idea how to fix it?
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Jun 29 2011
10.6.8
0.5
Jun 29 2011
0.5
Version: 10.6.8
STILL NO FIX for smb network connection problems. Performance very poor after this installation. Slow login time. Constantly spinning beachballs when opening files & printing. Since Tiger, every major upgrade of the OS has been a major disappointment. Performance gets worse and worse, while Windows OS products have gotten continually better. I do not recommend installing this update -- it has made my workstation at work almost intolerable.
Ronl
Ronl
Jun 28 2011
10.6.8
0.5
Jun 28 2011
0.5
Version: 10.6.8
WARNING!!! MAJOR problems with this update. Lots of bugs reported on the Apple Forum with people losing data and not even being able to boot their Macs (even new Macs). This is not alarmist mumbo-jumbo... read all of the posts over on the Apple forum BEFORE you decide on installing this. I was not even able to wake my less than a year old 27" iMac from sleep after it had been sleeping for several hours. I'm going back to 10.6.7 (thankfully I have two full backups of 10.6.7) which ran extremely well.
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Jun 26 2011
10.6.8
5.0
Jun 26 2011
5.0
Version: 10.6.8
OK after a few days we found there are indeed some printing issues ("breaks" some drivers) but that's more a matter of vendors being ahead of the curve and updating their drivers. On a positive note, this update resolved an issue with some third party USB drives that were previously causing panic on reboot. Don
Holmemoss
Holmemoss
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
5.0
Jun 24 2011
5.0
Version: 10.6.8
No problems here in the UK with the update though Software Update. I do think it is a bug fix for 10.6.7, though. Very wary of Mac App Store 'enhancement'.
Stein-Grebstad
Stein-Grebstad
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
2.5
Jun 24 2011
2.5
Version: 10.6.8
If you have Xerox DocuColor 242/252/260 printers then do not install 10.6.8 yet. The update will kill printing to these printers. Other Xerox printers are also affected. http://forum.support.xerox.com/t5/Printing/Mac-OS-10-6-8-Update-Problems-with-Fiery-Driver/m-p/5668 https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3137602 The 10.6.8 combo fix doesn´t work for the 242/252260 series either. Apart from this 10.6.8 seems fairly nice. However, printing is still of some importance..
Fvdg
Fvdg
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
5.0
Jun 24 2011
5.0
Version: 10.6.8
It looks like FINALLY the bug with Desktop pictures not sticking on multiple displays, introduced in 10.5m is solved! I'm sure they will re-introduce that bug in 10.7...
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
5.0
Jun 24 2011
5.0
Version: 10.6.8
Uneventful update. Everything working normally.
Steve-R
Steve-R
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 24 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
Part way through the installation, the fans came on full force. Toook upwards of 15 minutes to calm themselves down.
Emile-b
Emile-b
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 24 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
Blue screen after 10.6.8 update (by software update) on my macbook pro. I can't boot and i get no access to the login window ! I see only the apple logo, on go to the blue screen... next the MBP automatically shut down ! This update is really dangerous ! Don't apply it !
Ronl
Ronl
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
0.5
Jun 24 2011
0.5
Version: 10.6.8
Installed 10.6.8 Combo after Safe Booting. No problems.
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
5.0
Jun 24 2011
5.0
Version: 10.6.8
Anyone bleeding? :) After the fiasco that 10.6.7 was, I'm not going wtihin spitting distance of 10.6.8. Hehe...all jokes aside, I'm hoping it's good, since we have to re-unify our image. Don
Pengman
Pengman
Jun 24 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 24 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
D/l the upgrade, now my La Cie 500 gig backup hard drive is read only. Huh?
Jab47
Jab47
Jun 23 2011
10.6.8
5.0
Jun 23 2011
5.0
Version: 10.6.8
No issues here. Everything is working just fine.
Holypoly
Holypoly
Jun 23 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 23 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
An updated version of the mach_kernel file (creation date: June 8, 2011) made my MBP shutdown prematurely after applying the MBP Software Update ver1,4 . Restoring the older mach_kernel (March 6 2011) from back-up made everything normal again. The 10.6.8 Combo Updater also installs the newer mach_kernel at Root level, and again the MBP would shut down during boot, before the login screen. Safe Boot would let me proceed a couple of minutes beyond login, before the mac would shut down without any error message. No clue in the system log (last entry before shutdown was "BUG found in libdispatch" - hm). Again, replacing the mach_kernel file with the older version of which I had kept a copy, cured the problem, and as I am typing this, my MBP has been running without a hitch for almost one hour. Another poster at MU (a_w) had similar problems with his MBP 13 Early 2011 after applying the MBP SW 1.4 updater, again with the new mach_kernel file being the culprit. Hope this can help anybody having skipped the MBP 2011 software update and experiencing premature shutdowns of their new macbook pro after updating to Snowy 10.6.8.
-M-S-
-M-S-
Jun 23 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 23 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
If you use Hands Off! and after installing 10.6.8 your Mac boots into a kernel panic, boot in safe mode and install the just-released version 1.3.1 of Hands Off: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35277/hands-off!
Holypoly
Holypoly
Jun 23 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 23 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
After installing the Combo updater, my MBP 13 Early 2011 would shut down spontaneously during startup, even before log-in. Safe boot made it survive a couple of minutes longer, then it would shut down without a kernel panic. No clue in the system log (last message before shutdown was, however, that a bug was found in libdispatch - hm). Then I remembered a similar problem after installing the MacBook Pro Software Updater 1.4, which amongst a couple of framework updates also updated the mach_kernel file at Root level. Replacing that with the previous mach_kernel file made the premature shutdown issue go away. The 10.6.8 updater again replaced the older mach_kernel with the newer item, I found (using Path Finder). Fortunately I was able to boot from an emergency drive and then replace the mach_kernel with the older version. Voilà - everything runs stable now. This problem seems to be specific to some MBP 13 Early 2011, as another poster here on MU (a_w) encountered a similar issue with his own machine, and again the newer mac_kernel appeared to be the culprit. If anybody needs the old mach_kernel, I would be able to send it to him or her.
Whytoi
Whytoi
Jun 23 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 23 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
No drama upgrade from 10.6.7 using the Combo updater. Smooth.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jun 23 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 23 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
So far so good. Would it have killed Apple to add an AirPlay button to the QuickTime Player like in iOS?! :-( The one think Mac OS X REALLY needs a LOT MORE OF is AirPlay integration!
Gary-box
Gary-box
Jun 23 2011
10.6.8
0.0
Jun 23 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8
"Enhance the Mac App Store to get your Mac ready to upgrade to Mac OS X Lion" Strange .. so App Store needs a update to upgrade SL to Lion? .. a publicity stunt for sure.
maxwelltsai1987
maxwelltsai1987
Jun 12 2011
10.6.7
5.0
Jun 12 2011
5.0
Version: 10.6.7
I like it pretty much. Is this the "Mac Os Update Combo"? I like it pretty much. Not much problems! Does this support 10.6.1 ? Ha, Thats my operating system right now.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Apr 23 2011
10.6.7
2.5
Apr 23 2011
2.5
Version: 10.6.7
I really hope Apple does some amazing things with Lion. What would probably get a bunch of people to switch to Mac at this point from Windows 7 to Lion would have to be something pretty revolutionary and compelling. What's that? Multi-users on same computers. No, not on separate accounts. I want to be able to share my computer with someone else and plug two mice, two keyboard and two monitors at the same time seamlessly. My 2011 MacBook Pro is so powerful that I barely use all its resources, it would be incredible if my Mac via Lion was smart enough to recognize two separate keyboards and mice!
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
Apr 15 2011
10.6.7
0.5
Apr 15 2011
0.5
Version: 10.6.7
I am having lots of problems with 10.6.7, fixing permissions don't solve the problem, downloading 10.6.7 combo to see if it works out, otherwise I will happily back to 10.6.6
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Apr 13 2011
10.6.7
0.0
Apr 13 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.7
Still no AirPlay support in QuickTime Player for all videos. :-( Apple needs to do a complete AirPlay implementation -- system wide!
Rex
Rex
Mar 27 2011
10.6.7
0.5
Mar 27 2011
0.5
Version: 10.6.7
On restart after this upgrade I got the dreaded no entry sign. Had to do a complete reinstall using Time Machine. Lost a couple of images in iPhoto as a result. Steering clear of this until somebody tells me the issue has been sorted
Ozean
Ozean
Mar 26 2011
10.6.7
0.0
Mar 26 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.7
Big Trouble! Updating to 10.6.7 can cause serious problems with OpenType fonts (.otf) such as those delivered along with the Adobe CS. Affected fonts include Myriad Pro, Adobe Garamond Pro, etc. If you make a PDF that includes one of these fonts, the PDF (and the postscript) contains serious errors that cause jumbled and/or missing characters, non-openable PDF files etc. There are at least three threads that discuss this on Apple's support forum, the issue has been reported by MacInTouch users, etc.
Culture-Of-One
Culture-Of-One
Mar 26 2011
10.6.7
0.0
Mar 26 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.7
Updated through Software Update, and it hung my 2010 13" MacBook Pro during the restart cycle! After 15 minutes it was clearly not making any headway, so I finally had no choice but to power down to restart. Not sure if this messed anything up yet, but it's distressing to say the least. So far only noticeable difference from 10.6.6 is it's a little slower all around (start-up, apps, making a WI-FI connection). Perhaps this will improve, but I'm not holding my breath.
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
Mar 26 2011
10.6.7
4.0
Mar 26 2011
4.0
Version: 10.6.7
The update is mostly fine. However, I can't help noticing that since this update, it either takes a while to connect to my wifi network or I have to do it manually. Didn't have this issue before the update.
Epochalypse
Epochalypse
Mar 23 2011
10.6.7
0.0
Mar 23 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.7
Hi all, I purchased a shiny new 2.8 GHz Intel Core I5 27" iMac which came bundled with OS 10.6.3 yesterday. I transferred my old iMac to the new one as per a typical set-up and then applied the auto-update to 10.6.7. Upon attempting restart the machine immediately came up with code on the top left hand side (I wish I had taken a photo) saying that a system could not be found etc. I freaked out and re-installed the system (10.6.3) from the DVD. The machine re-started fine. Has anyone experienced this. What do I do to update - will it happen again? Any ideas.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Mar 22 2011
10.6.7
2.5
Mar 22 2011
2.5
Version: 10.6.7
Just a head's up, the 2011 MacBook Pros have a different updater than what's currently shown here at Macupdate as of this posting. If you have on of these new Mac, either use Software Update or check out the download links here: http://tinyurl.com/4ayasov
Vagator
Vagator
Mar 22 2011
10.6.7
0.0
Mar 22 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.7
Thanks YOXI, you've saved a lot of us a potential hassle. Kind regards, Ron
Yoxi
Yoxi
Mar 22 2011
10.6.7
0.0
Mar 22 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.7
Note: "Mac OS X 10.6.7 Combo Updater" link above is currently to *server* combo updater.
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
Mar 22 2011
10.6.7
2.0
Mar 22 2011
2.0
Version: 10.6.7
Ha Ha! I fooled myself. I always tell my friends and clients to use the Combo update and I tried, but it did not work. Besides the listed updates, there is a special one for the new 2011 MacBooks.
Bill-Davidson
Bill-Davidson
Mar 22 2011
10.6.7
3.0
Mar 22 2011
3.0
Version: 10.6.7
No problem updating 8 core MacPro (2008)
Kobalt
Kobalt
Mar 22 2011
10.6.7
0.5
Mar 22 2011
0.5
Version: 10.6.7
Looks like we're still forced to install the nefarious MacAppStore component. :( Might give it a miss for a while.
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
Mar 22 2011
10.6.7
0.0
Mar 22 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.7
Just updated to 10.6.7... no issues so far... even though I forgot to repair permissions before updating. ~__~