Back to WhatSize page
WhatSize free download for Mac

WhatSize Reviews

21 September 2021

Find out what files are taking up all your HD space.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Mmmac-Man
Mmmac-Man
Jun 11 2020
7.4.3
0.0
Jun 11 2020
0.0
Version: 7.4.3
I discovered this when it was freeware and loved it. The developer was prolific and generous. When he sold WhatSize and it became payware, I backed off until I saw a plea from the new guy about how rough it was for him, his wife and new baby to make it on the income from WhatSize, so I bought a license. I've used Daisy Disk since it came on the scene so don't know what's up with WhatSize except it doesn't do anything it didn't do when it was Peter's freeware. Freeware to $30 a pop. No, thank you.
Paulo Neto
Paulo Neto
Jun 24 2019
7.0.9
5.0
Jun 24 2019
5.0
Version: 7.0.9
I've been using WhatSize since version 5. It's great software to keep up with the usability, performance, and hence the life of your storage devices. I absolutely recommend it !!
chili4way
chili4way
Jun 24 2019
7.0.9
5.0
Jun 24 2019
5.0
Version: 7.0.9
It's my go-to app for finding out what is using up disk space. Glad it's been updated to work with Mohave!
Mcr
Mcr
Jun 11 2019
7.0.8
0.0
Jun 11 2019
0.0
Version: 7.0.8
$30 is, IMO, overpriced for a file/disk size utility. I used to use WhatSize, but then DaisyDisk appeared, which is only $9.99. The graphical display of Daisy Disk, IMO, superior, allows very quick understanding of what is taking up large space, and allows for very fast drill down. Granted Daisy Disk will not find duplicates, and if you prefer the Finder List View presentation of WhatSize, then fine, but is that worth $30.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jun 10 2019
7.0.8
3.5
Jun 10 2019
3.5
Version: 7.0.8
Useful utility - have used it extensively in the past, but I can't justify USD$30 (about $48 Australian) for a one-trick pony, no matter how useful. I don't use it near enough to justify that when I use Pixelmator (same price) daily.
Paul-T-Johnson
Paul-T-Johnson
Jun 9 2019
6.6.3
0.0
Jun 9 2019
0.0
Version: 6.6.3
This app is incorrectly marked as discontinued. The active web site is here: https://www.whatsizemac.com. The current version is 7.0.8.
David8613
David8613
Jan 12 2019
6.6.3
1.0
Jan 12 2019
1.0
Version: 6.6.3
Hasn't been updated since 11/27/17. https://www.whatsizemac.com/release-notes/. Does not work with Mojave. Appears to be abandoned software.
wboweng10
wboweng10
Feb 27 2018
6.6.3
5.0
Feb 27 2018
5.0
Version: 6.6.3
Clever and useful utility. I occasionally use it, but when I do, it's always fun. The graphic imaging is so cool. It visualizes storage beautifully. No issues to report. It's just fun to use.
cbinckley
cbinckley
Jan 4 2018
6.6.3
4.0
Jan 4 2018
4.0
Version: 6.6.3
Download link downloads 6.6.2 - developer's site has actual 6.6.3.
Turquoise
Turquoise
Jun 20 2017
6.5.4
0.0
Jun 20 2017
0.0
Version: 6.5.4
Nice app, but sadly not actively developped anymore.
dave-70
dave-70
Mar 2 2017
6.5.4
5.0
Mar 2 2017
5.0
Version: 6.5.4
I love this app!
dedasilvio
dedasilvio
Feb 15 2017
6.5.4
5.0
Feb 15 2017
5.0
Version: 6.5.4
Best app ever, i love itt
bryanwhitefly
bryanwhitefly
Jul 25 2016
6.5.2
2.0
Jul 25 2016
2.0
Version: 6.5.2
It really too slow with el capitan. I think it's too expansive for only measuring of the folders. For example, other softwares for a liitle bigger price have a bundle of functions where you can optimize a mac work. So, my conslusion is 2 stars as the idea is not bad at all but needs some improvements.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jul 19 2016
6.5.1
0.0
Jul 19 2016
0.0
Version: 6.5.1
The current version is 6.5.2
andrea-gino
andrea-gino
Mar 4 2016
6.4.3
1.0
Mar 4 2016
1.0
Version: 6.4.3
The app has become more and more useless after every new mac os x version. Now with el capitan it takes hours to measure my hard disk. After a measurement is done, hopefully the app doesn't crash (it happens half the times). When I try to remove some big sized file it crashes almost every time. A complete waste of money the last updates.
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Jun 26 2015
6.2.1
0.0
Jun 26 2015
0.0
Version: 6.2.1
To "quickly measure the size in bytes of a given folder and all subfolders and files within it" I use the OS X command "Command + I". Why would anybody pay $30 to let a separate application do that (and thus have one more "useless file ... laying around")?
Fishboy
Fishboy
Apr 6 2015
6.1.8
0.0
Apr 6 2015
0.0
Version: 6.1.8
WhatSize is on sale - 50% Off - $14.99 @ MacUpdate Promo
Lenwhyte
Lenwhyte
Jan 13 2015
6.1.5
0.5
Jan 13 2015
0.5
Version: 6.1.5
This version 6.1.5 appears to have been distributed with debugging enabled. It is unusable as is.
Bousozoku
Bousozoku
Jan 10 2015
6.1.5
5.0
Jan 10 2015
5.0
Version: 6.1.5
After free upgrades and the initial US$4.99 years ago, I found the US$14.99 upgrade a surprise, but the software has always helped me find storage problems in a very direct way. This new version has gone much, much further to show the usage in different ways. I don't see any other utility offering as much as this one does. It stands beside Drive Genius, Data Rescue, and OnyX to keep my machine healthy.
L-P-Bagley
L-P-Bagley
Jan 9 2015
6.1.4
5.0
Jan 9 2015
5.0
Version: 6.1.4
Excellent software that does the job it is supposed to and is well maintained. The developer is extremely responsive to problems when they occur and quickly responds with solutions.

Yes, hours of programming and continuous maintaining of good software tools should be just given away to those who have no knowledge or appreciation of what it really takes.
(sarcasm mode now OFF)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Jan 8 2015
6.1.4
4.0
Jan 8 2015
4.0
Version: 6.1.4
I'll leave a review because I did purchase the upgrade. Non-devopers opining about what an app is worth, without a clue about how much work goes into developing and supporting it, should be discounted if you're looking for actual information about an app. All they're really saying is that they don't need the app enough to pay what the developer is asking. That would be fine if that's all they were saying. But the low ratings they often give in their reviews are the result of ignorance and spite and are less than useful. I also use DaisyDisk because it's a good tool for finding excessively large files (like sleepimage files) and removing them. But it doesn't offer the kind of detailed information, sorting and filtering functions that WhatSize does. Which is why WhatSize costs more. Admittedly the interface is not as elegant as DaisyDisk, but it's adequate given how much more it can do. WhatSize version 6 is, among other things, much faster than older versions and is qualified for OS X 10.10. It seems obvious to me that a lot of work went into this new version and the results justify the cost. Of course, YMMV.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jan 8 2015
6.1.4
3.5
Jan 8 2015
3.5
Version: 6.1.4
This is a useful utility/app but it is a $5 utility/app in my opinion. I have vers 5.3.2 and will be sticking with it. I bought this as part of a package deal and have used it extensively - it is useful and does its job well, but no way is it worth $15 to upgrade. Sorry dev, it's a great app but I believe you will get more sales with a lower-price point for sales/upgrades.
mike-evangelist
mike-evangelist
Jan 8 2015
6.1.4
0.0
Jan 8 2015
0.0
Version: 6.1.4
Disk Inventory X does the same thing better, for free. It's here - http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/14393/disk-inventory-x
Fishboy
Fishboy
Jan 8 2015
6.1.4
0.0
Jan 8 2015
0.0
Version: 6.1.4
As a long-time user, I've found WhatSize to be a useful app, but $14.99 just to upgrade to current version? No thanks. There are a few less-expensive alternatives now available.
Jimmysmits
Jimmysmits
Jan 8 2015
6.1.4
3.0
Jan 8 2015
3.0
Version: 6.1.4
It's good software. It does what it is supposed to do. It also has a column view. I hate the current trend in moving to the hard to read radial view. The bad news is it is too expensive. Way too expensive. So if you can get this in a bundle or at a reduced price, grab it. But $30 for a new license or $15 for the upgrade is just too much compared to everything else out there. I'm sticking with v 5.x.
jack2001
jack2001
Jan 8 2015
6.1.4
5.0
Jan 8 2015
5.0
Version: 6.1.4
ottima app., la migliore del suo genere.. la versione 6.1.4 funziona perfettamente su mavericks
jack2001
jack2001
Jan 8 2015
6.1.4
5.0
Jan 8 2015
5.0
Version: 6.1.4
ottima app., la migliore del suo genere.. la versione 6.1.4 funziona perfettamente su mavericks
Lo17
Lo17
Jan 6 2015
6.0.8
4.0
Jan 6 2015
4.0
Version: 6.0.8
I does what it says, and it is useful vs the limited finder capabilities. lSome user leaving a one-star review because of pricing, should stay away. No use for such reviews. If you do not find the price correct, just leave it and look for other alternatives. Working for free and updating for free is not serious anyway. One thing that did not work is measuring Time Machine backups (single folders inside the backup folder), but may be that is not possible.
jack2001
jack2001
Dec 14 2014
6.0.8
5.0
Dec 14 2014
5.0
Version: 6.0.8
ho scaricato whatsize su mavericks ma non funziona
Alessandro82
Alessandro82
Oct 27 2014
6.0.8
0.5
Oct 27 2014
0.5
Version: 6.0.8
in yosetime i have to force quit the app well done developer and thank you for wasting my time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Harv
Harv
Oct 23 2014
6.0.4
1.0
Oct 23 2014
1.0
Version: 6.0.4
Four emails politely asking about upgrade pricing, to wit would my old serial number suffice or would I need to re(purchase); the curiosity of a reply was not forthcoming. The product may be ok, but with such dreadful customer support, my money will find a different home.
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
Oct 20 2014
6.0.4
3.0
Oct 20 2014
3.0
Version: 6.0.4
I suppose the thing to do on MU is to leave a review for one update and change the review if things improve. I feel slightly uncomfortable leaving an app review that I can't revise. As you can see from my comment below, I was looking forward to getting the license issue sorted out so I could use WhatSize. I really liked this app. Even though other apps I use, such as Path Finder can organize folders according to size and perform measurements like WhatSize, WhatSize generally made (and still makes) navigation much clearer. It's much easier to find that rogue ballooning folder! You'll notice I used the past tense in the last paragraph. I'm a little baffled by the changes in V6. I can still see files well, and navigation is still intuitive, but some basic things are gone. The delete icon in the toolbar, for example, or the entire view menu. You can change some icons, BTW, but there is no delete to be found! In fact, the lack of helpful icons gets to be a little annoying. There are magnifying glasses next to the main folders in the sidebar, but no helpful show in Finder icons anywhere else. I'm also finding a few little bugs that could be Yosemite related. I can't add folders to Favorites from WhatSize, I have to drag folders there from the Finder. I can't measure one folder in the favorites sidebar anymore either. If I try to measure one, WhatSize starts measuring my entire HD. I can't say I noticed a cleaner function in the previous version. This version has one, but I'm stumped as to how I supposed to customize it. I used the cache cleaner today and discovered that it has two settings, partial nuke and nuke. Partial means it just clears out everything from the user cache. Nuke wipes out everything. Too bad if you want to spare a few things it picks up in the search! The other cleaner functions appear to be the same. The other strange thing about the cleaner function is that the helpful colorcoding from the browser is gone. Although the interface for basic functions is a bit puzzling, the actual sizing function is excellent. I wish I could tell you why WhatSize makes my filesystem more legible to me than Finder or Path Finder or Fork Lift -- maybe its the pleasant colour coding? -- but it does.
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
Oct 8 2014
6.0.4
3.0
Oct 8 2014
3.0
Version: 6.0.4
So V6 is finally out. Congratulations, dev. My question may be for the developer or it may be for MacUpdate. I bought this as part of the MU promotion last year. The advertising for that promotion stated that the update to V6 would be free: "When you buy WhatSize through MacUpdate Promo today, you'll receive a free upgrade to version 6 when it is released later this year." (http://deals.macupdate.com/deal/14770/11708/whatsize) However, V6 rejects my serial number. Will we receive a separate serial for V6?
-rick-v-
-rick-v-
Oct 8 2014
6.0.4
1.0
Oct 8 2014
1.0
Version: 6.0.4
Honestly, I don't know why anyone would buy WhatSize when you can download OmniDiskSweeper for free. And (in my opinion) OmniDiskSweeper looks better, too! One full star for doing what it says it does. Minus 4 stars for charging too much.
cernus
cernus
Apr 4 2014
5.3.2
2.0
Apr 4 2014
2.0
Version: 5.3.2
I read a nice review of the app and I decided to purchase the app on the App Store and that was a mistake. Actually the App Store version is a LIGHT version as it is not possible to run the scan with a sudo (eg like administrator). It is written on the FAQ of the editor but not on the description of the application in the App Store. From FAQ: "...we are not allowed to support any of the features that require Administrator(sudo) privileges such as Measure as Administrator or Find File Duplicates, Move to Trash as Administrator." I sent an email to the editor to see if there is a way to get the FULL version instead but I did not get any response so far... still waiting Mr ID-Design...
Bruceb7110
Bruceb7110
Sep 14 2013
5.3.2
0.5
Sep 14 2013
0.5
Version: 5.3.2
Just purchased rhe promoted app. There appears to be no way to activate the application, because the receipt only states a serial number, but not the "serial name", which activation requires. I'm dismayed MacUpdate hasn't vetted the application. Is this a recent change? There is no information about this on the developer's site, either.
Ompilf
Ompilf
Oct 29 2012
5.3.2
0.0
Oct 29 2012
0.0
Version: 5.3.2
I've been searching for (but have't found yet) an app that finds and shows duplicate folders (according to their content) separately. I probably have many folders containing the same files, but I'd like to identify those folders in the first place, instead of going through an endless list of all duplicate files within those folders. For some reason I thought that WhatSize does that job and I purchased it, but I had to find out that it doesn't (if I'm right). Now it seems that singlemizer does exactly that (thanks, James), which I will try. But I was wondering if this option might be available in WhatSize as well soon (or is it and am I blind?), because I actually like the app for the rest of it's features. I'd appreciate a short reply, maybe directly from the developers :) Thanks in advance!
Eltimbo
Eltimbo
Oct 1 2012
5.3.2
4.0
Oct 1 2012
4.0
Version: 5.3.2
Generally, a nice piece of software that is easy to use.
Dejmac
Dejmac
Aug 29 2012
5.3.1
4.5
Aug 29 2012
4.5
Version: 5.3.1
Great app. Very helpful and very reliable. I use it to improve speed and stability of my MacBook Pro 17".
Joel-H
Joel-H
Mar 18 2012
5.2.1
5.0
Mar 18 2012
5.0
Version: 5.2.1
This is a great app! Well worth the $13. I have been using OmniDiskSweeper for years, but this is better. It has many more features. Most importantly, the basic features are better too. For example, WhatSize found 1.2 GB of files on my boot drive not shown by ODS. Also, it took ODS 45 seconds to measure by boot drive while WhatSize did it faster than I could look at my watch - less that 2 seconds. Joel
GlendaDyoung
GlendaDyoung
Nov 25 2011
5.1.1
4.0
Nov 25 2011
4.0
Version: 5.1.1
I find that WhatSize is perfect only for finding large or small files but it is not so good in finding duplicates of files in the disk.
Vkubalkova
Vkubalkova
Nov 21 2011
5.1.1
5.0
Nov 21 2011
5.0
Version: 5.1.1
it i a great tool particularly for somebody who is not a professional developer.
CueMac
CueMac
Oct 27 2011
5.0.6
2.0
Oct 27 2011
2.0
Version: 5.0.6
I didn't see any benefits of the app. You can do it easily with Terminal.
Asbjornu
Asbjornu
Sep 8 2011
5.0.2
4.0
Sep 8 2011
4.0
Version: 5.0.2
Very simple to use application that does what it says on the tin and what you expect it to do.
iPhonePhobia
iPhonePhobia
Aug 12 2011
5.0.2
5.0
Aug 12 2011
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
It's great tool. I can know the large file withe the colour. I love it !!
Pip-J
Pip-J
Aug 6 2011
10.4.9.11
4.0
Aug 6 2011
4.0
Version: 10.4.9.11
Has much more going for it than assessing sizes. It also provide duplicate cleaning, cleaning out leftover developer files from applications, cleaning out ppc codes, etc. Definitely one of my most reliable and necessary tools. Worth every penny.
Vinkri
Vinkri
Jun 15 2011
4.9.10
4.0
Jun 15 2011
4.0
Version: 4.9.10
Good tool. WhatSize really helps you answer this question: "where did the disk space go?" The pie view is useless (actually, I don't understand how a graphic view could help me with the purpose of uncluttering my hard drive), but everything else is efficient: it analyzes folders or drives. You identify the big folders and then you can clean them. It's not very fast, but hey, that's not the kind of task that's supposed to be lightning quick: it uses some resources! Bonus for me: it finds duplicates. Very efficiently. A good app at a fair price if you've got the need. If you don't, keep your 13 bucks.
Philih
Philih
Apr 2 2011
4.9.8
3.0
Apr 2 2011
3.0
Version: 4.9.8
It's a good tool. Runs stable. But it's really really slow. And when i want do delete something somtimes it don't works. You have to be very patient when you use this program.
JonathanG
JonathanG
Feb 16 2011
4.9.8
4.0
Feb 16 2011
4.0
Version: 4.9.8
I use this frequently. Always filling up my partitions. :-( WhatSize helps me sort it all out. It's pretty fast too.
yabbah
yabbah
Jan 20 2011
4.9.8
5.0
Jan 20 2011
5.0
Version: 4.9.8
Totally the best.