Back to WhatSize page
WhatSize free download for Mac

WhatSize Reviews

7.3.2
02 December 2019

Find out what files are taking up all your HD space.

Paulo Neto
24 June 2019

Most helpful

I've been using WhatSize since version 5. It's great software to keep up with the usability, performance, and hence the life of your storage devices. I absolutely recommend it !!
Like (1)
Version 7.0.9

Read 118 WhatSize User Reviews

Rate this app:

Paulo Neto
24 June 2019
I've been using WhatSize since version 5. It's great software to keep up with the usability, performance, and hence the life of your storage devices. I absolutely recommend it !!
Like (1)
Version 7.0.9
chili4way
24 June 2019
It's my go-to app for finding out what is using up disk space. Glad it's been updated to work with Mohave!
Like
Version 7.0.9
Mcr
11 June 2019
$30 is, IMO, overpriced for a file/disk size utility. I used to use WhatSize, but then DaisyDisk appeared, which is only $9.99. The graphical display of Daisy Disk, IMO, superior, allows very quick understanding of what is taking up large space, and allows for very fast drill down. Granted Daisy Disk will not find duplicates, and if you prefer the Finder List View presentation of WhatSize, then fine, but is that worth $30.
Like (4)
Version 7.0.8
3 answer(s)
Tommac
Tommac
11 June 2019
No upgrade-path from WhatSize 4/5 (though it was in a bundle, its a full license), so no deal for me.
Like (3)
John-Keogh
John-Keogh
14 June 2019
The upgrade offer on their site worked for my email address: £14.99 for the latest v7.
Like
Kreon
Kreon
24 July 2019
I have to agree. I originally purchased Whatsize 5 as part of an 18-app bundle for $11 total. I really liked it and it was a great value at <$1. (At the time, it was frequently on sale for $6.49.) When version 6 came out, the developer wanted $15 just for the upgrade (while the competition was selling outright for $4.99). The developer did occasionally offer a 50% discount to NEW customers, but never discounted the upgrade price for EXISTING customers. $15 was far too much for just an upgrade (which didn't work all that well for me when I trialed it). The competition was still readily available for $4.99 – and I got it for far less. Again, I'd HAPPILY upgrade to WhatSize 7, if the price were more inline with the competition (say $5-$10), but the developer doesn't even offer upgrade pricing from V5, and there's no way I'm going to pay $30 for it, let alone $15. Sorry.
Like (1)
Eric•Woehler
10 June 2019
Useful utility - have used it extensively in the past, but I can't justify USD$30 (about $48 Australian) for a one-trick pony, no matter how useful. I don't use it near enough to justify that when I use Pixelmator (same price) daily.
Like (2)
Version 7.0.8
Paul-T-Johnson
09 June 2019
This app is incorrectly marked as discontinued. The active web site is here: https://www.whatsizemac.com. The current version is 7.0.8.
Like
Version 6.6.3
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
09 June 2019
Thank you for letting us know about this! We updated the listing to the most recent version
Like
David8613
12 January 2019
Hasn't been updated since 11/27/17. https://www.whatsizemac.com/release-notes/. Does not work with Mojave. Appears to be abandoned software.
Like (1)
Version 6.6.3
1 answer(s)
Fishboy
Fishboy
16 March 2019
Yes, Appears to be dead.
Like
wboweng10
27 February 2018
Clever and useful utility. I occasionally use it, but when I do, it's always fun. The graphic imaging is so cool. It visualizes storage beautifully. No issues to report. It's just fun to use.
Like
Version 6.6.3
cbinckley
04 January 2018
Download link downloads 6.6.2 - developer's site has actual 6.6.3.
Like
Version 6.6.3
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
05 January 2018
This has now been fixed. Just downloaded it and it is indeed 6.6.3.
Like
Turquoise
20 June 2017
Nice app, but sadly not actively developped anymore.
Like
Version 6.5.4
2 answer(s)
Bluelemon9
Bluelemon9
23 July 2017
Since when? They put out as huge upgrade in Jan 2017, so how do you know that they have stopped updating since the? One of the developers answered a comment here in Feb '17 . I am seroously asking this question as I need to upgrade but won't if What Size really isn't being developed anymore....
Like
Turquoise
Turquoise
23 July 2017
Bluelemon9, I purchased this app about two years and half ago, and I haven't seen much improvement and bud fixes until the last big upgrade you mentioned. It is still slow and at times buggy, but I like it and I would probably upgrade in spite of its somehow sluggish performance.
Like
dave-70
02 March 2017
I love this app!
Like
Version 6.5.4
dedasilvio
15 February 2017
Best app ever, i love itt
Like
Version 6.5.4
bryanwhitefly
25 July 2016
It really too slow with el capitan. I think it's too expansive for only measuring of the folders. For example, other softwares for a liitle bigger price have a bundle of functions where you can optimize a mac work. So, my conslusion is 2 stars as the idea is not bad at all but needs some improvements.
Like
Version 6.5.2
1 answer(s)
dedasilvio
dedasilvio
15 February 2017
i think is very helpful for your mac , but you need to see the video how work. I have purchase and work fine in my el capitan. If you need help email me , i am a IT and Developer.
Like
RogerKatz
19 July 2016
The current version is 6.5.2
Like
Version 6.5.1
andrea-gino
04 March 2016
The app has become more and more useless after every new mac os x version. Now with el capitan it takes hours to measure my hard disk. After a measurement is done, hopefully the app doesn't crash (it happens half the times). When I try to remove some big sized file it crashes almost every time. A complete waste of money the last updates.
Like
Version 6.4.3
1 answer(s)
Mike666
Mike666
26 April 2016
I was having similar issues with recent versions. I have a feeling it was due to the changes they made in the database format. I fixed it by removing everything in
/Library/Application Support/WhatSize and
~/Library/Application Support/WhatSize
and removing all com.id-design.whatsize.plist files in ~/Library/Preferences
A pain, yes, but after doing that and reapplying my serials, it works like a champ again.
Like (2)
neartheredrocks
26 June 2015
To "quickly measure the size in bytes of a given folder and all subfolders and files within it" I use the OS X command "Command + I". Why would anybody pay $30 to let a separate application do that (and thus have one more "useless file ... laying around")?
Like (2)
Version 6.2.1
2 answer(s)
tofu-1
tofu-1
01 December 2015
there's a similar app that's far more beautiful and costs less: daisydisk
Like (2)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
27 January 2016
Neartheredrocks,

⌘+I is NOT the same thing!

Yes, you'll get the overall size of all files & subfolders, but you won't get a breakdown of the sizes for each and every one.

Lets say you use ⌘+I on your Home folder and is says its 100 GB.
That doesn't tell you that there's 3 movies taking up 12 Gb, iTunes is using 45 GB, there are several Internet videos - 1.2 GB, .84 GB, .5 GB, 1.7 GB, 2.6 GB, and a 6 GB OS X installer.

All you'll know is that your Home folder is 100 GB, and you'll have to go searching through folders to find out what's taking up so much space.

An app like this can quickly show you where all that space is allocated.

I'm not endorsing this app - I've tried it in the past but don't remember if I liked it. IMO $30 is at least double what this app is worth.

I currently use Disk Map. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/49727/disk-map
Like
Fishboy
06 April 2015
WhatSize is on sale - 50% Off - $14.99 @ MacUpdate Promo
Like (1)
Version 6.1.8
2 answer(s)
ggt667
ggt667
26 September 2016
The price is still madness, how can an application like this be USD 30? USD 5 would be sober pricing. There are open source alternatives too: https://github.com/zz85/space-radar
Like (2)
marcky
marcky
24 January 2017
Sadky, I have to agree with all the others here that this is simply too expensive. I purchased the previous version (twice, in fact), but am not upgrading, due to the upgrade price. Perhaps, if the developer offered his existing customers the same 50% courtesy that he offered to everyone else, I would upgrade, but thus far, upgrade customers have been left out.
Like (1)
Lenwhyte
13 January 2015
This version 6.1.5 appears to have been distributed with debugging enabled. It is unusable as is.
Like
Version 6.1.5
1 answer(s)
Kdeda
Kdeda
16 January 2015
Can you please send me an email to whatsize@id-design.com so we can support this issue.

Being the developer i can reassure you there is no debugging enabled on this version. The 6.1.5 build is proving to actually be very stable and snappy.

My guess is that something else is at play and i would love to figure out what's causing it.
Like (2)
Bousozoku
10 January 2015
After free upgrades and the initial US$4.99 years ago, I found the US$14.99 upgrade a surprise, but the software has always helped me find storage problems in a very direct way. This new version has gone much, much further to show the usage in different ways. I don't see any other utility offering as much as this one does. It stands beside Drive Genius, Data Rescue, and OnyX to keep my machine healthy.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.5
L-P-Bagley
09 January 2015
Excellent software that does the job it is supposed to and is well maintained. The developer is extremely responsive to problems when they occur and quickly responds with solutions.

Yes, hours of programming and continuous maintaining of good software tools should be just given away to those who have no knowledge or appreciation of what it really takes.
(sarcasm mode now OFF)
Like (2)
Version 6.1.4
1 answer(s)
Kdeda
Kdeda
16 January 2015
Thank you.

After close to 10 years of evolving naturally. I made the decision to re-write this app with the goal to bring it up a notch. That was 2 years ago.

This app does not scan the drive every time it runs, it 'remembers' previous work. The new database layer supports FSEvents so that it will 'know' what files did change since the last time it run and thus saving the user an expensive full scan. It will load 2.5milion nodes in 1 second.
The duplicate engine will also 'remember' and scan only newly added files.

It took a bit lot longer than I thought but we are mostly here now with 6.1.5. It will be a great foundation to build more cool features, like finding duplicates across volumes and more.

On the downside, the app will use more memory, especially for large multimilion node file systems, but this is the nature of things. What Apple does not tell you is that 64bit software will use more memory. And because of the data intensive nature of this app we are going to use more memory.

Gone are the days where you could run 30 apps on a NeXT turbocolor all day in 32Megs of ram with no swapping.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
08 January 2015
I'll leave a review because I did purchase the upgrade. Non-devopers opining about what an app is worth, without a clue about how much work goes into developing and supporting it, should be discounted if you're looking for actual information about an app. All they're really saying is that they don't need the app enough to pay what the developer is asking. That would be fine if that's all they were saying. But the low ratings they often give in their reviews are the result of ignorance and spite and are less than useful. I also use DaisyDisk because it's a good tool for finding excessively large files (like sleepimage files) and removing them. But it doesn't offer the kind of detailed information, sorting and filtering functions that WhatSize does. Which is why WhatSize costs more. Admittedly the interface is not as elegant as DaisyDisk, but it's adequate given how much more it can do. WhatSize version 6 is, among other things, much faster than older versions and is qualified for OS X 10.10. It seems obvious to me that a lot of work went into this new version and the results justify the cost. Of course, YMMV.
Like (8)
Version 6.1.4
Eric•Woehler
08 January 2015
This is a useful utility/app but it is a $5 utility/app in my opinion. I have vers 5.3.2 and will be sticking with it. I bought this as part of a package deal and have used it extensively - it is useful and does its job well, but no way is it worth $15 to upgrade. Sorry dev, it's a great app but I believe you will get more sales with a lower-price point for sales/upgrades.
Like (3)
Version 6.1.4
1 answer(s)
Kdeda
Kdeda
16 January 2015
Maybe, but $15 for a piece of software that takes thousands of man hours to build is not that bad imho.
On the other extreme, /usr/bin/du will find your sizes for free and it comes installed with every mac.
Like
mike-evangelist
08 January 2015
Disk Inventory X does the same thing better, for free. It's here - http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/14393/disk-inventory-x
Like (1)
Version 6.1.4
Fishboy
08 January 2015
As a long-time user, I've found WhatSize to be a useful app, but $14.99 just to upgrade to current version? No thanks. There are a few less-expensive alternatives now available.
Like (4)
Version 6.1.4
Jimmysmits
08 January 2015
It's good software. It does what it is supposed to do. It also has a column view. I hate the current trend in moving to the hard to read radial view. The bad news is it is too expensive. Way too expensive. So if you can get this in a bundle or at a reduced price, grab it. But $30 for a new license or $15 for the upgrade is just too much compared to everything else out there. I'm sticking with v 5.x.
Like (3)
Version 6.1.4
jack2001
08 January 2015
ottima app., la migliore del suo genere.. la versione 6.1.4 funziona perfettamente su mavericks
Like
Version 6.1.4
1 answer(s)
Kdeda
Kdeda
16 January 2015
Grazie Salvatore

Una versione localizzata in italiano esce in alcuni giorni.
Like
jack2001
08 January 2015
ottima app., la migliore del suo genere.. la versione 6.1.4 funziona perfettamente su mavericks
Like
Version 6.1.4
Lo17
06 January 2015
I does what it says, and it is useful vs the limited finder capabilities. lSome user leaving a one-star review because of pricing, should stay away. No use for such reviews. If you do not find the price correct, just leave it and look for other alternatives. Working for free and updating for free is not serious anyway. One thing that did not work is measuring Time Machine backups (single folders inside the backup folder), but may be that is not possible.
Like
Version 6.0.8
1 answer(s)
Kdeda
Kdeda
16 January 2015
Measuring a TM volume is something we are thinking of. It will be a cool feature. The main problem is scalability since the TM volumes contain huge numbers of inodes.
But the main issue is that you can't easily edit a TM volume folder. i.e. remove nodes.
Like
jack2001
14 December 2014
ho scaricato whatsize su mavericks ma non funziona
Like
Version 6.0.8
Alessandro82
27 October 2014
in yosetime i have to force quit the app well done developer and thank you for wasting my time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like
Version 6.0.8
3 answer(s)
mikokim
mikokim
04 November 2014
The app is running fine on my end. Does what it says; quits when I tell it to (keyboard or File menu).
Like
Sindbad-The-Seafarer
Sindbad-The-Seafarer
08 January 2015
you can't even write your OS correctly, so no need for sarcasm when also your computer is a mess - here it runs perfectly on Yosemite
Like
Kdeda
Kdeda
16 January 2015
growing pains.
please try 6.1.5
Like
Harv
23 October 2014
Four emails politely asking about upgrade pricing, to wit would my old serial number suffice or would I need to re(purchase); the curiosity of a reply was not forthcoming. The product may be ok, but with such dreadful customer support, my money will find a different home.
Like
Version 6.0.4
1 answer(s)
Harv
Harv
23 October 2014
Please disregard my comments above. A new serial number just arrived from the developer.
Like
Mrtomato
20 October 2014
I suppose the thing to do on MU is to leave a review for one update and change the review if things improve. I feel slightly uncomfortable leaving an app review that I can't revise. As you can see from my comment below, I was looking forward to getting the license issue sorted out so I could use WhatSize. I really liked this app. Even though other apps I use, such as Path Finder can organize folders according to size and perform measurements like WhatSize, WhatSize generally made (and still makes) navigation much clearer. It's much easier to find that rogue ballooning folder! You'll notice I used the past tense in the last paragraph. I'm a little baffled by the changes in V6. I can still see files well, and navigation is still intuitive, but some basic things are gone. The delete icon in the toolbar, for example, or the entire view menu. You can change some icons, BTW, but there is no delete to be found! In fact, the lack of helpful icons gets to be a little annoying. There are magnifying glasses next to the main folders in the sidebar, but no helpful show in Finder icons anywhere else. I'm also finding a few little bugs that could be Yosemite related. I can't add folders to Favorites from WhatSize, I have to drag folders there from the Finder. I can't measure one folder in the favorites sidebar anymore either. If I try to measure one, WhatSize starts measuring my entire HD. I can't say I noticed a cleaner function in the previous version. This version has one, but I'm stumped as to how I supposed to customize it. I used the cache cleaner today and discovered that it has two settings, partial nuke and nuke. Partial means it just clears out everything from the user cache. Nuke wipes out everything. Too bad if you want to spare a few things it picks up in the search! The other cleaner functions appear to be the same. The other strange thing about the cleaner function is that the helpful colorcoding from the browser is gone. Although the interface for basic functions is a bit puzzling, the actual sizing function is excellent. I wish I could tell you why WhatSize makes my filesystem more legible to me than Finder or Path Finder or Fork Lift -- maybe its the pleasant colour coding? -- but it does.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.4
Mrtomato
08 October 2014
So V6 is finally out. Congratulations, dev. My question may be for the developer or it may be for MacUpdate. I bought this as part of the MU promotion last year. The advertising for that promotion stated that the update to V6 would be free: "When you buy WhatSize through MacUpdate Promo today, you'll receive a free upgrade to version 6 when it is released later this year." (http://deals.macupdate.com/deal/14770/11708/whatsize) However, V6 rejects my serial number. Will we receive a separate serial for V6?
Like (2)
Version 6.0.4
4 answer(s)
Maddcow
Maddcow
12 October 2014
I have the same question as I bought WhatSize in the same promotion.
Like (1)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
12 October 2014
FWW Maddcow, I've contacted MacUpdate and the developer so hopefully we'll hear something soon. I'm a bit unhappy about this because the trial version of WhatSize is extremely limited.
Like (1)
Harv
Harv
13 October 2014
I too have the serial number angst. After I hear from the developer re a new serial number, I'll post what I hope, is a favorable review. Of course, should I not hear, the review will be as predicted...
Like
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
14 October 2014
@Maddcow and @Harv - Contact the developer. They'll take care of you.
Like
-rick-v-
08 October 2014
Honestly, I don't know why anyone would buy WhatSize when you can download OmniDiskSweeper for free. And (in my opinion) OmniDiskSweeper looks better, too! One full star for doing what it says it does. Minus 4 stars for charging too much.
Like
Version 6.0.4
4 answer(s)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
08 October 2014
App ratings that are based on the price of the app alone really aren't fair to developers and they aren't really very helpful for prospective buyers. I've not used OmniDiskSweeper so I can't tell you what the differences are and apparently you can't either.

I've used WhatSize for years because it does what other apps do with the least amount of hassle and without eyesore graphics. At this point, I have no real desire to experiment with another similar app and certainly not when I don't know what the risks-benefits might be. I've recommended it to friends and family in the past and will continue to do so because I've never had a bad experience with it.
Like
-rick-v-
-rick-v-
08 October 2014
@ MrTomato--
Of course price factors into the rating of a product. What if, instead of $30, WhatSize costs $200. Even if it did it's job perfectly, wouldn't that price tag factor into the rating?

I happen to think that $30 is way overpriced for this type of utility. Especially when there's free alternatives like OmniDiskSweeper. To your point, I have used both (WhatSize in trial mode), and Omni performs equally as well. But since you're a paid user, by all means continue to use WhatSize.
Like
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
09 October 2014
But your review doesn't just factor in price, it is based solely on price. That is what I said is unfair and unhelpful. Minus 4 stars for charging too much? If it were $200, i wouldn't have tried it at all. At that price, what use would a review be?
Like
Kdeda
Kdeda
16 January 2015
I just downloaded the latest OmniDiskSweeper and we are not on the same league. Sorry.
Yes they write some very slick code and I have bought a few of their apps. Go see how much OmniGraffle Professional does.
Like
cernus
04 April 2014
I read a nice review of the app and I decided to purchase the app on the App Store and that was a mistake. Actually the App Store version is a LIGHT version as it is not possible to run the scan with a sudo (eg like administrator). It is written on the FAQ of the editor but not on the description of the application in the App Store. From FAQ: "...we are not allowed to support any of the features that require Administrator(sudo) privileges such as Measure as Administrator or Find File Duplicates, Move to Trash as Administrator." I sent an email to the editor to see if there is a way to get the FULL version instead but I did not get any response so far... still waiting Mr ID-Design...
Like
Version 5.3.2
2 answer(s)
cernus
cernus
04 April 2014
I have no idea how to change my review but I got an email from the editor with a license key. Now I have the FULL version, the one I was looking for. Thanks!
Like
Kdeda
Kdeda
16 January 2015
I try to honor licenses bought through the app store.
No questions asked.

What I do not understand is why apple is treating the mac app store as if it was an iPhone app store. The domain for software on the mac is way more complex and larger than the iPhone, IMHO.

So apple, let us put daemons and apps that work together, in parallel and interact on app store.
The mac is unix and unix is open, but will a future apple OS prevent me from running sudo find -exec on a terminal window over ssh.
Like
Bruceb7110
14 September 2013
Just purchased rhe promoted app. There appears to be no way to activate the application, because the receipt only states a serial number, but not the "serial name", which activation requires. I'm dismayed MacUpdate hasn't vetted the application. Is this a recent change? There is no information about this on the developer's site, either.
Like
Version 5.3.2
2 answer(s)
solalfr
solalfr
15 September 2013
I have exactly the same issue. I just bought it today and I'm unable to know which "serial name" I could give.
Like
caj54
caj54
22 September 2013
I found this in my MacUpdate Purchase receipt for this app. SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: Your "Serial Name" is simply your first and last name exactly as they appear on your MacUpdate account. If you have any trouble registering WhatSize, please email support@macupdate.com
Like (1)
Ompilf
29 October 2012
I've been searching for (but have't found yet) an app that finds and shows duplicate folders (according to their content) separately. I probably have many folders containing the same files, but I'd like to identify those folders in the first place, instead of going through an endless list of all duplicate files within those folders. For some reason I thought that WhatSize does that job and I purchased it, but I had to find out that it doesn't (if I'm right). Now it seems that singlemizer does exactly that (thanks, James), which I will try. But I was wondering if this option might be available in WhatSize as well soon (or is it and am I blind?), because I actually like the app for the rest of it's features. I'd appreciate a short reply, maybe directly from the developers :) Thanks in advance!
Like (1)
Version 5.3.2
Eltimbo
01 October 2012
Generally, a nice piece of software that is easy to use.
Like
Version 5.3.2
Dejmac
29 August 2012
Great app. Very helpful and very reliable. I use it to improve speed and stability of my MacBook Pro 17".
Like
Version 5.3.1
Joel-H
18 March 2012
This is a great app! Well worth the $13. I have been using OmniDiskSweeper for years, but this is better. It has many more features. Most importantly, the basic features are better too. For example, WhatSize found 1.2 GB of files on my boot drive not shown by ODS. Also, it took ODS 45 seconds to measure by boot drive while WhatSize did it faster than I could look at my watch - less that 2 seconds. Joel
Like (3)
Version 5.2.1
GlendaDyoung
25 November 2011
I find that WhatSize is perfect only for finding large or small files but it is not so good in finding duplicates of files in the disk.
Like
Version 5.1.1
1 answer(s)
Kdeda
Kdeda
10 January 2012
not sure what the "not so good" exactly means. please define the issue more specifically or else we can't do nothing about it. if it is the time consuming part, not much can be done, we HAVE TO crawl the disk and hash each file.
Like (2)
Vkubalkova
21 November 2011
it i a great tool particularly for somebody who is not a professional developer.
Like
Version 5.1.1
CueMac
27 October 2011
I didn't see any benefits of the app. You can do it easily with Terminal.
Like
Version 5.0.6
4 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
18 November 2011
You can do a lot of things with the Terminal, you use an app with a nice GUI because it's faster or easier to do it that way instead. Can you configure the Terminal to show names in color based on file size? Can you quickly drill down to any directory without having to retype cd and ls commands all the time? If you can and that works for you, great. If you want a faster/easier solution and can spare 13 bucks, WhatSize is great.
Like (9)
Kdeda
Kdeda
10 January 2012
Well of course, Terminal gives you access to pretty much anything on Unix. You could use vi to write your theses. You don't even need Finder for that matter. What WS gives you is value added, a view of the file system from a completely different angle.
Like (3)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
13 January 2012
"You can do it easily with Terminal". Are you serious? And you rated the app 2 stars base on this? Thank God there are developers out there making these cool apps like WhatSize so I don't have to be geek and use the Terminal for everything.
Like (4)
Komtom
Komtom
02 June 2012
It's like saying: I don't like Pages or MSWord, I can do it better with a pencil...
Like (3)
Asbjornu
08 September 2011
Very simple to use application that does what it says on the tin and what you expect it to do.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
iPhonePhobia
12 August 2011
It's great tool. I can know the large file withe the colour. I love it !!
Like
Version 5.0.2
Pip-J
06 August 2011
Has much more going for it than assessing sizes. It also provide duplicate cleaning, cleaning out leftover developer files from applications, cleaning out ppc codes, etc. Definitely one of my most reliable and necessary tools. Worth every penny.
Like
Version 10.4.9.11
Vinkri
15 June 2011
Good tool. WhatSize really helps you answer this question: "where did the disk space go?" The pie view is useless (actually, I don't understand how a graphic view could help me with the purpose of uncluttering my hard drive), but everything else is efficient: it analyzes folders or drives. You identify the big folders and then you can clean them. It's not very fast, but hey, that's not the kind of task that's supposed to be lightning quick: it uses some resources! Bonus for me: it finds duplicates. Very efficiently. A good app at a fair price if you've got the need. If you don't, keep your 13 bucks.
Like (1)
Version 4.9.10
1 answer(s)
Whatsizemac
Whatsizemac
23 June 2011
the pie chart was a suggestion many years ago. it also happened to be really hard to program. find dup is probably most usefull.
Like (1)
Philih
02 April 2011
It's a good tool. Runs stable. But it's really really slow. And when i want do delete something somtimes it don't works. You have to be very patient when you use this program.
Like
Version 4.9.8
JonathanG
16 February 2011
I use this frequently. Always filling up my partitions. :-( WhatSize helps me sort it all out. It's pretty fast too.
Like
Version 4.9.8
yabbah
20 January 2011
Totally the best.
Like
Version 4.9.8
R1000m
16 January 2011
WhatSize does its job for the most part, but beware that disk usage is inaccurate when hard links are in use. Other programs in this genre (DaisyDisk) work better in this respect. Overall, solid software but not the top of the class.
Like (1)
Version 4.9.8
1 answer(s)
R1000m
R1000m
16 January 2011
Forgot to mention that the reason I keep WhatSize installed is its "Find Duplicates" function that other programs don't have.
Like (2)