Back to HandBrake page
HandBrake free download for Mac

HandBrake Reviews1.4.2

05 October 2021

Versatile video encoder; convert any source to MPEG-4 and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Septic Monkey
Septic Monkey
Mar 4 2021
1.3.3
5.0
Mar 4 2021
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
Love this app -- it's the tits !!! It's the only app that converts video without producing a pixel-ridden result or black blocks that seem to take up a lot of screen room. It's straight-forward and simple to use. Oh, and let's not forget it's free !!!
OhEssex
OhEssex
Nov 1 2020
1.3.3
4.0
Nov 1 2020
4.0
Version: 1.3.3
Certainly can't complain about the price. Sadly, there have been user interface issues that have plagued this software for years. Adding stuff to the queue is counter-intuitive and the encoding settings doesn't seem to hold between items in the queue. With not all that much effort this software could be really great - if I knew how to program I'd step up...
Rfleisch
Rfleisch
Aug 10 2020
1.3.3
5.0
Aug 10 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
This App does it all when it come to video re-encoding. And It's FREE!
MyronV9060
MyronV9060
Jun 16 2020
1.3.3
5.0
Jun 16 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
Excellent tool. Using it to convert old video files that no longer open under QuickTime to current standard format. Reduces file sizes as well without losing quality.
Ptrix
Ptrix
Jun 15 2020
1.3.3
4.0
Jun 15 2020
4.0
Version: 1.3.3
This has been an absolutely indispensable app, but I do NOT understand why the "Target Size" option was removed in the past. I understand that it was not 100% accurate, but it was certainly very useful and "good enough" for downsizing large media files. I very strongly believe that it should be re-added, and if not into the application, than at least as some kind of optional add-on or extension. Because of this, I've not updated my copy from version 0.9.5 :(
l-studio
l-studio
Jun 15 2020
1.3.3
4.0
Jun 15 2020
4.0
Version: 1.3.3
Excellent aplication
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jun 15 2020
1.3.3
5.0
Jun 15 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.3
√ Mac Essential
GladysR7247
GladysR7247
May 5 2020
1.3.2
5.0
May 5 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
Thanks for update
cmmce
cmmce
Apr 24 2020
1.3.1
5.0
Apr 24 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
Thanks...great resource
asayoungspring
asayoungspring
Apr 11 2020
1.3.1
0.0
Apr 11 2020
0.0
Version: 1.3.1
Handbrake works very well where as I have Toast Titanium and that does not work any more. So Handbreak now holds top spot on my Mac
asayoungspring
asayoungspring
Apr 11 2020
1.3.1
0.0
Apr 11 2020
0.0
Version: 1.3.1
Handbrake works very well where as I have Toast Titanium and that does not work any more. So Handbreak now holds top spot on my Mac
Heretherealan
Heretherealan
Feb 16 2020
1.3.1
5.0
Feb 16 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
easy to use. good
dancingmonkeysphotography
dancingmonkeysphotography
Jan 23 2020
1.3.1
5.0
Jan 23 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
Excellent encoder.
andrelouispaulbessot
andrelouispaulbessot
Jan 10 2020
1.3.1
5.0
Jan 10 2020
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
Excellent aplication, thank you
Macfool
Macfool
Jan 5 2020
1.3.1
3.0
Jan 5 2020
3.0
Version: 1.3.1
This app sells a lot of thermal paste.
jlee5201
jlee5201
Jul 19 2019
1.2.2
5.0
Jul 19 2019
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
Absolutely amazing for cutting, merging, and converting videos between many formats. Highly recommended.
unGraphic
unGraphic
Feb 26 2019
1.2.2
4.5
Feb 26 2019
4.5
Version: 1.2.2
Removing the Advanced Panel was a boneheaded move. I won't be updating past ver. 1.1.2
Bipou
Bipou
Sep 10 2018
1.1.2
3.0
Sep 10 2018
3.0
Version: 1.1.2
Even when version 1.1.2 is installed, it says you need to update it to version 1.1.2…
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Aug 28 2018
1.1.1
5.0
Aug 28 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.1
Very cool software doing complex things with a simple UI.
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
May 15 2018
1.1.0
5.0
May 15 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.0
An amazing and easy to use video transcoder app that just gets the job done. With an abundance of useful features, you will be able to fine-tune your video to your liking. I also enjoy the pop-up messages that HandBrake tells you when encoding a video. They are funny and clever :) Keep up the good work!
pdavidkay
pdavidkay
May 13 2018
1.1.0
5.0
May 13 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.0
It's fantastic as it has always been! Just updating that's all
LKN G-Man
LKN G-Man
Apr 13 2018
1.1.0
0.0
Apr 13 2018
0.0
Version: 1.1.0
Just tried to use the new v1.1.0 release. Unfortunately, it crashes every time I begin to encode. This app's been so wonderful so long, I'm not going to leave any negative ratings. Hopefully, v1.1.1 is just around the corner.
giorgina
giorgina
Feb 16 2018
1.0.7
5.0
Feb 16 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.7
Works great! Thanks
madbunny
madbunny
Feb 12 2018
1.0.7
4.0
Feb 12 2018
4.0
Version: 1.0.7
Useful. Thanks!
gulija-farfara
gulija-farfara
Feb 12 2018
1.0.7
5.0
Feb 12 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.7
So nice App
CrèmeBrulée
CrèmeBrulée
Jan 9 2018
1.0.7
5.0
Jan 9 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.7
Been using this app since before I could crawl. Still the best. Can't believe it's free.
patrickmoore85
patrickmoore85
Sep 9 2017
1.0.7
5.0
Sep 9 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0.7
Hands-down one of the best video converters available for Mac. Loads of features and has a good intuitive user interface.
Mani G. Hamedani
Mani G. Hamedani
Jul 7 2017
1.0.7
4.5
Jul 7 2017
4.5
Version: 1.0.7
I am a big fan and true believer of HandBrake. I have been using it for more than 6 years to convert MKV or WMV movies to mp4 to add them to my iTunes Library or watch them on iPad or Apple TV. It's a very easy-to-use app and provides a lot of options for performing the conversion. It has given me the greatest service during the past 6 years, so as I have never looked for other competent apps.

The only thing that makes it a little cumbersome is that it crops the movie frame in some situations; therefore, I have to go to the Picture Settings section and check the size of the output movie frame and remove the cropping if necessary. This makes it a little awkward when I need to convert a huge batch of MKV files. This is the only reason that I give it a rating value of 4.5.
Also, if HandBrake developers provide a rather new UI to enable doing the conversion in batch, it will become so much better.
Markoh
Markoh
Apr 10 2017
1.0.7
0.0
Apr 10 2017
0.0
Version: 1.0.7
Now at 1.0.7 and still no pass-thru :(
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
Mar 31 2017
1.0.3
5.0
Mar 31 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
Best converter for video formats ever. Beats everything in simplicity and features easily. I even prefer this over Apple's Compressor in most cases.
Markoh
Markoh
Feb 27 2017
1.0.3
0.0
Feb 27 2017
0.0
Version: 1.0.3
Still no pass-thru :(
persecutor
persecutor
Jan 23 2017
1.0.2
5.0
Jan 23 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0.2
One of the big three for archiving my DVD`s and Blu-Ray´s. Works for me because, iTunes and Apple TV never complain about the files.
Bill-601
Bill-601
Jan 18 2017
1.0.1
4.0
Jan 18 2017
4.0
Version: 1.0.1
Congratulations on reaching 1.0 (or 1.0.1, as the case may be)! Unfortunately, I've gone back to using 0.10.5. I use Handbrake primarily to convert recordings from EyeTV to mp4's. The older versions would take the show and episode information directly from the EyeTV file. The new version digs into the contents and takes the cryptic mpeg file name one would see by going into Finder and doing a "view package contents." I'm still giving it four stars just for the many years of great service it's given. Thank you!
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
Jan 5 2017
1.0.1
0.0
Jan 5 2017
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Four out of six DVDs that I tried to rip to my media server failed "silently". I was told it had successfully ripped, but it ripped for example only 1h23min out of 1h52min. Using RipIt to first rip the DVD to my hard disk and then using Handbrake worked fine. Went back to 0.9.9 and the same DVDs rip just fine with Handbrake. Anyone else seeing this?
knappeduivel
knappeduivel
Dec 31 2016
1.0.1
0.0
Dec 31 2016
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Better download directly from https://handbrake.fr or get the infamous MacUpdate malware on your drive.
Jbaret
Jbaret
Dec 30 2016
1.0.1
5.0
Dec 30 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
The 1.0.1 version fixes the "The movie contains an incorrect time value" bug. I'm happy!!!
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Dec 30 2016
1.0.1
5.0
Dec 30 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
Thank you!
NotUsed
NotUsed
Dec 29 2016
1.0.0
5.0
Dec 29 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Congrats on finally hitting 1.0 after.. uhmm... a decade :) And still free! Whooo-hoo! Like the update! Kind of miss the progress bar across the bottom.. but other than that 1.0 is working flawlessly here!
Kenneth1
Kenneth1
Dec 27 2016
1.0.0
3.0
Dec 27 2016
3.0
Version: 1.0.0
Have used Handbrake successfully for many years and thought it was the best. However I tried ripping a Warner Brothers TV series for backup and found that Handbrake can't handle the encryption. First time this has happened to me. Wonder if there's new encryption that Handbrake needs to add to its ammunition.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Dec 27 2016
1.0.0
5.0
Dec 27 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Amazing!
Demolition
Demolition
Dec 27 2016
1.0.0
5.0
Dec 27 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Five stars for this application because it deserves it! (Not just to offset the unwarranted one star review from Lutz-077) HandBrake 1.0.0 brings many enhancements to the Mac version. The updated UI, compatibility improvements, expanded presets, and better error tolerance are very welcome. Anybody who is still using the previous 0.10.x version will notice an immediate increase in usability and responsiveness by switching to 1.0.0.
ChaseLaguna
ChaseLaguna
Dec 27 2016
1.0.0
5.0
Dec 27 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
The best of the best video converter in the world. Thanks for all of your hard work, Handbrake Team!
Amergin
Amergin
Dec 27 2016
1.0.0
5.0
Dec 27 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Open or closed source, free or paid, this is the BEST video encoder out there.
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Dec 27 2016
1.0.0
5.0
Dec 27 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
I can hardly believe that Handbrake made it to version 1. Handbrake is since years the best and most versatile video conversation tool around - and that for free. I would give it 10 stars if that would be possible.
MohnMohn
MohnMohn
Dec 27 2016
1.0.0
5.0
Dec 27 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Great software, has been highly useful over the past years. Congratulations to the 1.0.0 release and kudos to the dev team!
Beamy
Beamy
Dec 26 2016
0.10.5
0.0
Dec 26 2016
0.0
Version: 0.10.5
Handbrake 1.0 has been released. :-)
lenny-lewis82
lenny-lewis82
Nov 30 2016
0.10.5
4.5
Nov 30 2016
4.5
Version: 0.10.5
Love it! It's free) The only problem I have is that my foreign films that are sub-titled, are not recorded that way.
petermoralesdev
petermoralesdev
Nov 23 2016
0.10.5
4.5
Nov 23 2016
4.5
Version: 0.10.5
I like free apps and I like the possibility to convert formats. Thanks!
Tommy-Gun
Tommy-Gun
Nov 6 2016
0.10.5
4.0
Nov 6 2016
4.0
Version: 0.10.5
Advised app to convert simple things to MP4 or MKV. It lacks a lot of features to take it as a serious encoder though. And I will not talk about the GUI. Thats simple and crappy. :)

But for free, you cannot go wrong with. That's for sure.
kamilpypka
kamilpypka
Sep 27 2016
0.10.5
4.0
Sep 27 2016
4.0
Version: 0.10.5
Nice application. Like it.