Back to Adobe Creative Cloud page
Adobe Creative Cloud free download for Mac

Adobe Creative Cloud Reviews

4.9.0.519
19 July 2019

Access Adobe apps from the cloud with a monthly fee.

CrazedLeper
23 March 2014

Most helpful

Rent software? Can't possibly be good--for me. Where is the middle finger key?
Like (22)
Version 2.5.0.367

Read 91 Adobe Creative Cloud User Reviews

Rate this app:

skybaisne
16 September 2019
This is the most evil software I've ever seen that is not, strictly speaking, malware. It's spyware, bloatware, and adware. Spyware? On launch, it connects to about 40 hosts, including analytics company New Relic. Bloatware? Installing it downloads about 460 MB per computer. Adobe Application Manager, Adobe Creative Cloud, Adobe Creative Cloud Experience, and Adobe Sync (all in /Applications/Utilities) together take up 448 MB. This might be foregivable if the Mac had no good package installer, but Apple provides a quite decent package utility. But it's worse. Almost every time I launch Creative Cloud Desktop, it tells me an update is available, and all updates seem to be mandatory, so that's another 460 MB or so per computer. It puts updating my software on Adobe's schedule, not mine. When a new update is released, I selfishly wait a while to let others do the beta testing. That's especially true for Creative Cloud Desktop, which in the past had a bug that randomly deleted files. So say a new version of Photoshop is released. I wait a while, then launch Creative Cloud Desktop to update Photoshop. But I discover that Creative Cloud Desktop has just been updated, so I wait a while before risking downloading it. By then, Photoshop has been updated again and I'm back to the beginning. It's even worse. I wanted to uninstall an old version of Photoshop to free up some badly needed space. I ran Uninstall Adobe Photoshop CC 2017 and Creative Cloud Desktop launched! Of course with a mandatory update. I had to install new software to free up space. I might have been out in the field, with no Internet access, desperately needing space, and unable to uninstall an old version of Photoshop. Adware? Every time I launch Creative Cloud Desktop (when there's not a mandatory update), it's telling me about some wonderful new Adobe software or service of absolutely no interest to me. What I really want is just to download three packages (Photoshop, Bridge, Camera Raw), then use the Mac package utility to install them on all my computers. I download once on my schedule and install on my schedule. Creative Cloud Desktop launches automatically after installation or an update. If it contained any malware, the malware has already run. I want to install a package, scan the installed application for malware, and only then launch it. Finally, I have to log in to Creative Cloud Desktop, meaning I have to trust it to transport my credentials securely. If I don't trust Apple's TLS implementation in Safari, I can use a different browser, including an open source browser. With Adobe I have no choice. If I were younger and not hopelessly trapped in the Photoshop ecosystem, I'd be seriously looking at alternatives like GIMP, Skylum Luminar, or Capture One.
Like
Version 4.9.0.519
Eric•Woehler
12 May 2019
The hate is based on the fact that once they have you and your files, you are locked into Adobe's parasitic bleeding - and what a surprise, the fees doubled overnight last week. Pay up or lose your work. Parasitic work practice - may be good for bottom line but not for thinking users, especially when Pixelmator (USD$30) offers features of Photoshop and Illustrator .
Like (1)
Version 4.8.1.442
4 answer(s)
bdikkat
bdikkat
13 May 2019
My fees didn't double overnight. They're the same. Don't know where you got that from. Not sure what you mean by 'locked in' either. All my files on on my machine. I'm not going to lose anything even if Adobe goes tits up, which it isn't.
Like
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
13 May 2019
lol
it's all over the web!! - try https://9to5mac.com/2019/05/02/adobe-creative-cloud-price-hike/ as starting point
as for locked in - try not paying your monthly fee and see how long you can access your files!
Like (2)
bdikkat
bdikkat
13 May 2019
Well I wasn't aware of the increase for new users it's true, though as 9to5mac.com states, the increase may have been a test, and anyway you can still get the photography plan for the old price using the link they provide. But I can always access my files - they're on my Mac, and backed up, so I don't know what you mean by that. Perhaps you mean the cloud storage, which I don't use. But I do use and love Photoshop and Lightroom Classic. I agree they shouldn't increase their price, even though I love the apps. Pixelmator et al are good but they don't come near Lightroom imo.
Like
bdikkat
bdikkat
13 May 2019
... and it doesn't affect existing users :)
Like
bdikkat
11 February 2019
Simply cannot understand the hate. Adobe CC is brilliant.
Like (1)
Version 4.8.0.421
arimatheia-otto
11 February 2019
This app needs the dark mode option.
Like
Version 4.8.0.421
incrzr
24 October 2018
Superbad
Like
Version 4.7.0.400
Bigboysdad
28 January 2017
Truly the worst program. I don't wish ill upon anyone (even in these dark times) but the person/ people responsible for this program need to be fired. It's just appalling, awful, no responsibility is taken by the people who've taken your subscription money when the program fails (and I guarantee you it will/ does). This program stops you working.
Like (3)
Version 3.9.1.335
Dana-Sutton
31 October 2016
Adobe CSS is a textbook case of what happens when one corporation enjoys a monopoly on a product or service in a capitalist economy. There's only one known cure for the kind of crap many people have mentioned below -- they are in urgent need of competition to keep them honest and force t hem to put out quality products. I am amazed that other developers haven't responded to the challenge of putting out software that can compete with such CSS components as Dreamweaver. If they did a decent job this would surely prove immensely profitable since there are very many of us who would walk away from Adobe products in a heartbeat, given the chance.
Like (7)
Version 3.9.1.335
1 answer(s)
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
03 April 2017
Dreamweaver has more competition than almost anything Adobe does other than Photoshop.
Like
Kaz219
04 July 2016
This the software that gets stuck or crashes the most on my Mac (OSX 10.11.5). It used to be Microsoft Office but Adobe beat them by far. To be fair, Microsoft made progress and the Office for Mac 2016 is more reliable. After a few days without rebooting my computer, Creative cloud won't detect Lightroom and Photoshop installed on my computer until I reboot my Mac. I rarely reboot my computer (only when updates require it actually). I can kill Creative Cloud, restart it, kill everything containing “adobe” in its name in the activity monitor, it doesn't help, I need to reboot. And so far (one year) I had to uninstall/reinstall completely two times already, because even the reboot didn't help. I can't believe Adobe produce this kind of crap. Oh, and I changed computer in the middle of this delightful year with Creative Cloud: I didn't restore from Time Machine, I set the new mac up from scratch, so I am certain this issue is not related to my Mac: indeed, it is still happening on the new Mac.
Like (5)
Version 3.7.0.272
mhasman
13 June 2016
Direct URL to 3.7.0.272 update download anyone? Please
Like
Version 3.7.0.272
Wunderhorn
20 April 2016
To me (I have been working with Adobe products since 1994) it seems that Adobe has changed their focus from producing software for creatives to become a data harvester. Nowadays the applications perform an uncomfortable amount of undocumented and suspicious server calls not only at the start of an application but also intermittently. Adobe refuses to disclose what information is being extracted from the user's computer (Red flag!). In case of Photoshop there haven not been many useful improvements in years. Old bugs and inconveniences prevail and do I need to mention that organizing brushes into folders has been a long standing request which would be exactly how much effort to do for one of the biggest software companies out there...? Instead users are being milked monthly, and all focus seems to go into binding them as close as possible to the Adobe dungeon. It is sad to see that once an exciting ally to professional creatives has now turned into something... that feels almost hostile. I am excited to see competition rising slowly and hopefully take over the industry standard some day.
Like (7)
Version 3.6.0.248
cjred
14 April 2016
best design suite ever... but please Adobe fix ALL the inconsistencies in all the apps UI. And please for a subscriber can we get at least 100gb for creative cloud files huh???
Like
Version 3.6.0.248
Bigboysdad
19 March 2016
Just not working at the moment. Perennial spinning ball when it comes to updating Apps (perhaps it's most important task?). I would view having any working versions of LR & PS as an achievement in itself - but you won't have up to date copies with the Creative Could Desktop app.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.1.209
Jessicajazz
21 November 2015
As Lauren Bacall might say, "Reel it in, boys. Your greed is showing."
Like (1)
Version 2.3.0.151
WetNet
28 July 2015
Goodbye Adobe. . . HELLO Affinity!!!
Like (2)
Version 2.2.0.129
WetNet
28 July 2015
Goodbye Adobe. . . HELLO Affinity!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.0.129
WordWeaver
14 June 2015
I upgraded from Adobe CS5 to Adobe CS6 right when this whole greedy subscription nonsense began, and I don't regret it one bit. I will continue to use CS6 until Apple upgrades make it impossible to use. At that point, I will choose an alternative app -- possibly Pixelmator -- to replace CS6.

I understand that large corporations and companies are happy with Adobe's subscription model. However, as has been stated many times here, there are many of us who are not corporate giants. Neither do we own large businesses or even small shops.

We are quite often single individuals who simply want the best tools for designing our websites. We have very limited budgets, and perhaps -- like myself -- live on a fixed monthly income. We cannot afford to be dishing out $600 annually to Adobe. Neither do we feel the need to update our software every year.

The fact that Adobe's apps stop working -- and from what I have read, all personal work is lost and becomes inaccessible -- upon terminating a subscription, makes this subscription model all the more sour and undesirable.

It is people like us who Adobe has pretty much abandoned now, because all they care about is Big Money. They need to remember their roots from a few decades ago. They need to be reminded that it was people like me and you who gave them their start, and that they wouldn't even be where they are at today if it wasn't for us scraping together enough money to purchase their expensive products.

This money-driven world is for the birds, and may the birds poop on Adobe's products. After CS6, I am done with them, after 22 years of using their products!
Like (9)
Version 2.1.0.108
1 answer(s)
David-Stone
David-Stone
15 June 2015
Hi, I partially agree.
If you use InDesign, Premier or to a certain extent Illustrator then YES - stop subscribing and loose access to work you have created.
If you spend your days in Photoshop, the file format is a documented and controlled by Adobe and they publish it. Thats why there are so many apps that open PSD files.
That's not the case for the apps I mentioned where there are no published format specs.
Whilst I personally don't like the idea of software rental, the one nice thing to come out is Adobe are no longer doing the big software upgrade pitch every 18 months. They are incrementally refining and adding features every few months that you simply get - with all the fanfare.
Look at the sate of MS Office - their upgrades are so driven by "new features" every release it is a bloated piece of ...
Anyway, if you work alone, stick on CS6 - it started to use the GPU in Photoshop and Premier for certain tasks and works fine.
Like
cvdesign-1
08 October 2014
I recommended my company move to the subscription service a year ago. This week when I upgraded one machine to the latest versions of CC 2014, all my main apps opened but documents were "frozen" - four hours of phone calls later and two hours of setting up a new profile on my machine, I will never again recommend this subscription service. First they said it was caused by deleting the older CC versions, then they changed their minds and said it was a known font issue, then they changed their minds again and said it was the profile of my machine. So the only solution was to create another profile which was extremely disruptive and I had no use of my machine the whole day. Their version of "support" (first level and supervisors was a joke). I had no problems before installing upgrades, now everything is a mess.
Like (5)
Version 1.8.0.447
Pik80
03 June 2014
With Apple's recent big push into cloud services in Yosemite one has to wonder what to make of 3rd party developers like Adobe coming out with their own offerings. When an OS manufacture like Apple comes out with a cloud solution it seems like a logical natural step. 3rd party developers simply tap into the storage provided by the OS so they only deal with one service. Why should I have one service for Adobe products and then another for all other software developers?
Like
Version 1.6.0.393
Igor-Freiberger
30 May 2014
Creative Cloud and Creative Cloud desktop app are different things. This is an update to the desktop app, a small utility to install Adobe apps, access Behance, use the CC virtual disk and enable TypeKit fonts. In its initial releases, CC app was a nightmare, but Adobe solved all the issues and now it is working quite well. In other hand, for me Creative Cloud rent is much cheaper than perpetual licenses as Adobe unified prices for Americas. After a dubious start, Adobe keeped the word and released several updates during the first year –especially for Photoshop, InDesign and Muse. Integration was improved and corrections were usually quick. Behance pro account, TypeKit, BC hosting and the CC disk are nice additions, although not decisive. TypeKit is surely the weaker point of the bundle. The fonts are limited in a number of ways for both desktop and web usage. If one need to rely on a certain font, it still better to fully license it. BC hosting offers five sites, but with the more basic plan. It would be better to have a choice on this –say, one full hosting with e-coomerce or five baic ones.
Like
Version 1.6.0.393
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
31 May 2014
True the initial release was horrendous... I hope they fix the app especially when you switch spaces it becomes obtrusive AND UI consistency on all CC apps. Yah and the CC rent is quite cheaper anyway i only pay when you REALLY need to use it.
Like
ToddL1632
30 May 2014
The TypeKit that comes with Adobe Creative Cloud is a joke. It contains virtually none of the fonts contained in the Adobe Font Folio. An Adobe representative tried to persuade us to go with TypeKit over Font Folio, but failed to realize that fonts like Helvetica Neue LT Std (the most popular font family) is not included in TypeKit. There are many fonts for web use in TypeKit, but for correct font licensing for print the TypeKit is a very poor product.
Like (5)
Version 1.6.0.393
1 answer(s)
Gianluca70
Gianluca70
01 June 2014
I'm with you, and I don't really understand why that Adobe representative tried to compare Typekit with FF. Btw Adobe Font Folio cost is a LOT higher than Creative Cloud annual subscription.
Like
ToddL1632
30 May 2014
Creative Cloud is almost certainly the worst version of the Adobe Creative Suite software to date. It took our IT department months to configure firewalls and rules to simply get the product to install correctly. Adobe has now abandoned professional graphic artists who use tools for print production on a daily basis. The Creative Cloud caters to people who want to use this software at home on a rental basis. We use this stuff EVERY DAY, and deploy software to over 40 workstations. The Creative Cloud for Teams solution is horrible to administer and deploy. Give me a volume license any day over this poorly thought out rental product.
Like (7)
Version 1.6.0.393
3 answer(s)
Gianluca70
Gianluca70
01 June 2014
No need to configure firewall if you don't want to. Check this page or ask Adobe about deployment of updates that don't require internet connection: http://www.adobe.com/devnet/creativesuite/enterprisedeployment.html
Like
Tim27
Tim27
01 June 2014
I agree with you. However, If you had that much trouble I am not sure why you'd want to even continue using it? If I spent even one week trying to configure software at my company I'd either be fired for not knowing what I'm doing or they would simply say to keep using the old version because we can't have you spending that much time just installing software. CS6 still works fine.
Like
Gianluca70
Gianluca70
01 June 2014
Yes I understand. I've spent a lot of time in the past with Creative Suites that sometimes loose registration or patches that didn't want to install. As always big companies like Adobe care much more of big customers, forgetting the rest.
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
30 May 2014
The money I make each month from graphic design and photography easily pays for $29 I spend for CC. There was no way my firm was going to budget for all these apps individually, so getting the video editing and creation products was a nice bonus. The rental model is not for everyone however, but in my case it was the best solution. And having access to a lot of the Adobe type library is cool.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.0.393
2 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
30 May 2014
Adobe's log-in issue last month caused many users to loose access to their fonts as well as the ability to run their apps. I fail to see how this could be "the best solution".
Like (3)
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
30 May 2014
Enjoy the "promo" price... soon you will be paying $70/month, with no guarantee that the cost will be raised again on Adobe's whim.
Like (4)
Mikebenda
30 May 2014
From "What's New": You can now install older versions of Adobe products straight from Creative Cloud Desktop. These are installed side-by-side with existing versions. Can I sign up for a month, download CS6, then cancel my subscription and continue using it, or will the older versions stop working when I discontinue my subscription?
Like (2)
Version 1.6.0.393
2 answer(s)
Revco
Revco
30 May 2014
I think it'd be safe to say the CS6 software would stop working. Probably because CS6 was the first subscription based release of creative suite.
Like
Igor-Freiberger
Igor-Freiberger
30 May 2014
Of course they will stop working. Otherwise, everybody could purchase a $2,500+ bundle for just $50. What this CC app introduce is a smoother way to install CS6 applications. Until now, you need to manually access a special page after login.
Like
twinturbine
30 May 2014
Apart from the fact that you can rack up a bill larger than the total cost of ownership of previous versions after a relatively short time, there are severe privacy implications. How much data will CC ACTUALLY collect on you and your usage of this product? If you're on the road (e.g., photographer, business trip) and unable to get online, how usable will this product be? If anything this new cloud based system will encourage piracy as people make a crack for this easily downloadable product for those who find this cloud based systems offensively intrusive, expensive and a constraint to their work. As for me, as soon as CS6 is outdated I'll be looking for alternatives and it won't be cloud based or from Adobe that is now blacklisted from our company.
Like (13)
Version 1.6.0.393
CrazedLeper
23 March 2014
Rent software? Can't possibly be good--for me. Where is the middle finger key?
Like (22)
Version 2.5.0.367
-rick-v-
22 March 2014
I suspect I’ll be in small minority when I say this, but… For us, Creative Cloud has been great. I totally get how this is a terrible move from the perspective of the small shop that doesn’t need to upgrade every year. But for me, it means not having to argue the justification for upgrades (and hope the budget gets approved) every year, or track serial numbers (a tedious job that must be meticulously maintained). And Creative Cloud for Teams has brought a godsend for license management— someone leave? Simply remove their email address. Someone needs Photoshop? Simply add their email to the Teams page. Like I said, I see how independent contractors and small shops would hate this. I get that. But not all of us think so.
Like (8)
Version 2.5.0.367
11 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
23 March 2014
Unfortunately there haven't been very many good Adobe updates over the last couple of years so having a steady stream of cash going out for mediocrity is what makes CC outrageous. This is true whether you are a small business or a large one. It makes no difference. There are other ways to get around serial numbers besides resorting to subscription. I can buy graphic apps through the MAS without needing to rely on serial numbers. I just bought Sketch, iDraw, and Pixelmator all without having to record a single serial number. I don't know if you are in anyway associated with Adobe but none of your arguments hold any water at all if you really stop to think about it.
Like (7)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
24 March 2014
Pixelmator is $29.99, and it gives you modern day (read: leverages OS X technologies) alternative to Photoshop and Illustrator. http://pixelmator.com Best of all, no Adobe tax. ;)
Like (5)
Pik80
Pik80
25 March 2014
@Donmontalvo A lot of people are getting impatient that Adobe doesn't take advantage of OS X technology as well as new Mac hardware. There is a blogger who keeps asking Adobe about when their software will be optimized for the Mac Pro but he hasn't got much of a response back from them. http://www.thepromacblog.com/the-silence-is-deafening/
Like (4)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
25 March 2014
Adobe is the McDonalds of the software industry. Except that they're expensive. The "we hire cheap third party slave labor" position is about the same. They "lock you in" and then hit you with regular fees...as many of their staff brag about being involved in "revenue healthy" Creative Whatever.
Like (3)
-rick-v-
-rick-v-
27 March 2014
I work for a large global company. And like most large companies, Macs make up a relatively small percentage of total computers. Yet, our workflow necessitates working across platforms (Windows and Mac), as well as frequently exchanging source files with clients directly. Sometimes the project may mandate Premiere, even though our in-house guys prefer Final Cut (as per client requirement). Same goes for Photoshop, InDesign, Flash, and so on. So suggesting we could do a drop-in replacement with a few low-cost Mac-only alternatives is a joke. And suggesting that because I gave it a high mark means I must work for Adobe is a joke. I appreciate, and even encourage, the move away from Adobe products. Personally, I don’t even install Flash on my computer. But as I said in my original statement; Adobe makes it trivially easy to manage large numbers of users. Frankly, I wish all software management was this easy. I stand by my original rating.
Like (2)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
27 March 2014
@_rick_v_ If you work for a large company, you should not be using Creative Cloud Teams, instead you should be using Creative Cloud Enterprise. The former is per user activation, the former does not require activation. This thread isn't about how to manage Creative Cloud, right license for the right job would be the answer there. This is about Adobe moving to a subscription model that at the end of the day makes Adobe more money (read: "revenue healthy") and locks users into a perpetucal subscription scam license model. Adobe is the 800 pound gorilla, and Pixelmator is already eating into their (very high) profits. Adobe is going to milk users dry while they can.
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
27 March 2014
@_rick_v_ "And suggesting that because I gave it a high mark means I must work for Adobe is a joke." ...which I never said. Let's review my original statement again shall we? "I DON'T KNOW if you are in anyway ASSOCIATED with Adobe..." Notice I used the words "associated with adobe". This might mean that you are a non employee who holds a lot of stock in the company (a completely reasonable thing to assert since a lot of people are buying Adobe stock with the move to CC) or associated might mean that you are in the educational field and financially benefit from users being on the latest version so that you have more people to teach to. Although most PCs run Windows there is still a sizable number of Mac users in creative fields. It's not like Windows PCs have the same 90% marketshare they have in other industries. Also if you consider the iPad a Mac (as it is quickly becoming more like) then Apple's marketshare in the business world is improving dramatically. Also people are not just moving away from Adobe due low costs many people are moving to the competition since some of the Adobe products are falling behind. For an example compare the recently discontinued Fireworks to new heavy weights like Sketch. Why should we have to spend a premium for, in some ways, out dated tech?
Like
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
27 March 2014
Pixelmator mimics most of the functionality of Photoshop and Illustrator. It toggles between the two functions. It leverages the most modern OS X technologies. It's fast. It's stable. And it costs $29 (one time cost), where Adobe costs $49/month forever. Adobe is going to milk everyone as much as it can, as they've already begun their downward spiral.
Like (2)
Gianluca70
Gianluca70
01 June 2014
I see no point in software comparison as this is page is about CC package and not single app like Photoshop, Illustrator or After Effects. Every one should decide which software is the best choice for him. If one is outdated, slow or whatever move to another. For a company that want to have all the updates CC is really cheap. Compare this to other subscriptions prices (like for 3D apps). For a company or a freelance that upgrade every 1-2 version CC is quite the same price if you grab a promo. Mayor difference is that CC "forces" you to pay, when with the old Suite/Product solution you decide when to upgrade (pay).
Like
Pik80
Pik80
03 June 2014
@Gianluca70 I have compared the pricing to other software and found that many competitors not only offer cheaper prices but at times they offer vastly superior products as well. For an example Sketch is vastly better then Fireworks/Photoshop at web design and yet only costs a scant $80.
Like
Gianluca70
Gianluca70
04 June 2014
@Pik80, CC is a package of tools. You can use all of them or not, but you will pay the same amount. This is how it works this business model. You pay for a lot of tools that you probably never use. So if you require just 1-2 tools maybe is better to find a replacement from competitors as it will be cheaper. But when you have a workflow of 4-5 apps the compatibility and the interaction of Adobe apps is quite interesting at this price. To me CC is a LOT cheaper than buying a similar set of tools from competitors or the old Creative Suites.
Like
Fringewood
19 June 2013
Yawn.... Adobe has seen the last of my money.
Like (12)
Version 1.0
RavenNevermore
19 June 2013
I see Adobe replaced the Application Manager with Creative Cloud on my Mac yesterday, and decided to have it as a startup item. I can understand one line of reasoning that their apps are expensive, and this way you get all the updates and upgrades to new versions. But I have no interest in renting software that's going to stop working when I decide not to keep paying them money every month. Not everyone needs to upgrade to the newest versions after all. Looks like Microsoft decided to copy Adobe. Hopefully this is not the way of the future.
Like (10)
Version 1.0
7 answer(s)
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
22 March 2014
Unfortunately, it IS the future. You should start warming-up to the idea, because all large(r) developers are going to switch to it. It's not greed, it's survival. It's unfortunate that we find ourselves in this position, but in some respects it's our own fault.
Like (4)
Tim27
Tim27
23 March 2014
@James-D, this is why smaller developers will inherit the future of software. They are more responsive to customer requests, the are better at solving problems, they create better performing software in general. Take a look at Pixelmator and compare to Photoshop. Case in point.
Like (5)
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
30 May 2014
Plus smaller developers don't have the huge overhead of a large workforce, expensive offices, and shareholders that demand increased profits every quarter.
Like (2)
Gianluca70
Gianluca70
01 June 2014
I'm with James-D. It's the (actual vision of the) future. Autodesk is following Adobe too. It's a business model that works, until sales data will say otherwise.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
01 June 2014
@Gianluca70, while it might be the business model these companies are moving to, they are doing it through coercion. It's not being offered as an option. You have no choice, and that's just wrong. And subscriptions are also being seen with music streaming, and it's the same deal; keep paying every month or lose what you paid for. If it's any indication on the public's reaction, lots of people don't like the subscription software or music idea, and look how many people are cutting the cord on Cable TV. I did this myself. Rather than pay Comcast $200 a month for Triple play, I now just have Verizon internet ($45), by Roku and Netflix ($8) and just use my iPhone as my main phone phone. But Photoshop, et al, was never intended for the general public anyway. This is probably better for corporations, but not so good for freelancers. And I'm afraid that many people will pirate the apps they want or continue using pre CC versions.
Like (1)
Gianluca70
Gianluca70
01 June 2014
@RavenNevermore When someone is a standard can easily change the standard. Not forever, just for a while. Like you said it happened many times and in different markets. I think that even a freelance that makes money with a tool should think about buying it. CC cost is very low compared to old Creative Suites so you can start a business without needing to spend a lot of money. Maybe one day CC will be free for home user. Who knows.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
02 June 2014
@Gianluca70, if you are a freelancer, and you plan on using the whole suite, or several apps, then it's worth it. But it's $50 a month. That's $600 a year. That's about how much Photoshop used to cost. Then CS6 went up to $949.95. Adobe is not doing this because they are loosing sales to pirating, it's because they are pricing their software out of reach for many people. People pirate software they can't afford. So it's a sticky situation, the software is expensive, and renting it is cheaper. Except for the fact that you get free updates, eventually you will have paid more than it cost for the whole creative suite. Eventually they will price themselves out of existence. On a brighter side, I see they are offering Photoshop for $9.95 a month now. When people start seeing that Gimp is now pretty close featurewise to Photoshop, I'm sure some will decide to go that route! ;)
Like
cubanpete
19 June 2013
CC also means Cash Cow
Like (8)
Version 1.0
BobDavey3378
19 June 2013
I need more than one app like Photoshop but not the rest of the crap which is the only other option. In the US the monthly cost is $49.99, in the UK £46.88 & in France €61.49. At the current exchange rate using the US price as a base UK should be £31.90 & France €37.28 give or take. The concept is fine but the pricing & structure will force a lot of small business to either not upgrade or as I suspect find a way around it unless they stop ripping us off, especially in Europe.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
Rondfranks
18 June 2013
I'm going to miss using Photoshop and Illustrator at home after CS6 stops working. It's an ugly situation, and I'm afraid other software manufacturers and going to jump on the greed bandwagon also. Especially if Adobe is able to pull it off. It's not too hard to do when you have little competition to worry about.
Like (8)
Version 1.0
erenbeskardes
18 June 2013
You are done Adobe. I will not pay you monthly rent for every program. You do not respect your users anymore.
Like (14)
Version 1.0
Cowicide
18 June 2013
Like most other longtime Adobe customers, I am sickened by Adobe's greed with their Creative Cloud subscription model. The petition against it is over 30,000 so far... https://www.change.org/petitions/adobe-systems-incorporated-eliminate-the-mandatory-creative-cloud-subscription-model
Like (13)
Version 1.0
Iturtle
18 June 2013
greedy. bloated. bugs never fixed. support below zero. updates always far to expensive. and now forced updates. I feel like a factory farming animal. like a cow to be milked for what it's worth. I had enough. bye bye greedobe!
Like (13)
Version 1.0
I think MacUpdate should no longer include AdobeCC in normal software update feeds. I also think that there should be a special category for rental/subscription types of programs. You have Commercial, Demo, Shareware, Free. CC no longer fits any of those categories. It would only be reasonable to expect a class for SUBSCRIPTION FEE REQUIRED - That ceases to be functional if you choose to leave the subscription. To me, that does not really seem like useful software.
Like (13)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Jack-Foster-Mancilla
Jack-Foster-Mancilla
18 June 2013
I forgot to mention that the tag next to the name, and price, says "Buy" … It should say, "Monthly Rental Fee"
Like (7)
-M-S-
06 May 2013
Hmmm no more Creative Suite... pretty huge news: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2013/05/06/adobe_kills_creative_suite_for_cloud/
Like
Version 6
As Dr Evil said to Frau Farbissima after their unplanned intimacy, "It got weird, didn't it?" I started up Photoshop and wasn't sure if my graphics card had exploded or my computer had been taken over by some new virus. And a black interface. For Photoshop. Why? Of course. Because of Aperture. Oh, geez Louise. 5.5 was purring and I went and did this. To myself. Time to get some sleep and then de-install. It'll take forever, but what is time? The Universe is vast. Life is eternal. Adobe, your take on "art" in graphical interface is astonishingly vapid and banal. Even "style" eludes you. Perhaps you should just go for "functionality". And installers that work. And apps that don't weight a metric ton. Back to 5.5 for me. Thinking about 6? Think about using that money to get your teeth cleaned, or a trip to Hawaii. I'm just sayin'...
Like (1)
Version 6
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
19 June 2013
:)
Like
themesser
31 May 2012
I LOVE ADOBE, without them, I would be stuck with Apple Motion/FCP (which are just crap for home video papas) or still working on Combustion. After Effects/Premiere are the ultimate tools for motion graphic designers, integrating flawlessly with photoshop/illustrator. Of course, there are some things missing, there are always extra features I would want to see in AE, but for the price, Creative Suite is an incredible toolbox for photographers, videographers and designers. Some says "it does not integrate with the 3-fingers page turn effect on my trackpad" or "does not use Lion (should say iPad) full set of features), well, i'll say it is a good thing; no professional want its workspace turned into a gadget
Like (1)
Version 6
Caproberts
29 May 2012
Updates now only directly from Adobe and they offer subscriptions at the same price for users since CS3, make me disappointed to upgrade regularly. Price is again almost twice what it is in the US for Australia yet no difference in Language. Besides the general problems, the 64 bit versions feel quicker, a lot of effort has gone yet again to make the apps look differently, changing the interphase, WHY??? Yet other little things that would make our everyday live easier have not made it into this version, even after suggesting and asking for them repeatedly. Wonder if they read the feedback emails and which lists? All I wanted is a modifier key to automatically switch between align to election and align to canvas. Like pressing command and clicking on the centre button aligns object to the canvas, while clicking without holding down a key or maybe hold down option or shift and align to selection. Apparently this is very difficult to do. This would speed my work flow up much more than content aware patches or other fancy things.
Like
Version 6
Ocd
25 May 2012
Does anyone else think that the new CS6 graphics, icons and splash screen design is the ugliest ever? The garish colors!? The dumb splash screen graphics!? What were they thinking? Were Adobe's art directors and designers on crack and acid at the same time?
Like (1)
Version 6
2 answer(s)
incrzr
incrzr
25 May 2012
I'm more annoyed by CS6 not working with Spaces/Mission Control. I mean they just don't stay in their assigned space.
Like (2)
Caproberts
Caproberts
29 May 2012
Agree, the icon are extremely ugly as well, look a bit like they were designed for a funeral parlour. But what can we do, they'll change them gain in a year...
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
07 May 2012
So far, I like the new versions of the suite. There are no big things that jump out at you (at least so far in my short time with the demos), but everything has a fresher look and feel, especially applications like Dreamweaver, which feels more like an Adobe program.
Like (3)
Version 6
I can not review C6 because I can not buy it. Except for a very few feature additions and upgrades, my CS5.5 remains at C3 level in almost all respects. To critique Adobe's "suites" would be like re-writing "Moby Dick." I just don't have the time. I own The Creative Suite Master Collection. I would advise anyone who decides to do a reinstall - to fix issues - to consider the effects of reinstallation. Firstly, it's many hours of your life. Secondly, it'll double the amount of CRUFT (unused junk files) thrown into every corner of your Mac. And anyone who thinks that using the Creative Suite Cleaner Tool between installs will help: be warned. It just makes matters worse and seems to increase the number of files. Also, reinstallation usually produces twice the number of system errors. Unlike regular terrestrial software, Adobe seems to want to number each file, so when a reinstall occurs, xxx.bom becomes xxx2.bom. Advice for those whose work-flow does not rely on these ridiculously gargantuan software collections: install ONLY the tools you will absolutely need. Uninstalling a version of Flash Pro that you won't use later will leave many megabytes of files behind, and the erasure of ONE of those files may make Dreamweaver unusable. Use a tool like Devon Tech's free 'Easy Find' to look at the collateral damage after a so-called "uninstall". Advice for those who've had enough: when it becomes possible, reinstall Lion (or your favorite OS) using a clean install. Adobe obviously believes that Mac users are such a 'niche' market that we'll just go away. Well... come to think of it, yes we will.
Like (4)
Version 6
3 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
24 April 2012
Gee, I don't know about that. There were some very nice tools introduced in Photoshop since CS3 that I use on a constant basis. There were also some very nice refinements to Illustrator, and InDesign, and DreamWeaver has gotten to be more like an Adobe Mac product. Acrobat got dumber, as far as the interface. I've been using the beta version of Photoshop CS 6, and I like it a lot. I like the Adobe collections are a good deal for the money compared to what they cost separately.
Like (4)
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
28 February 2013
Davidravenmoon - I went and did it. I have 6. It doesn't impress me yet, but I have it installed so I'll give it a shot, based on your knowledge and opinion. Maybe I need a bigger monitor. I'm at 27" now... Thanks for the positive feedback on this app-cluster. Tomorrow, things may look different. Dreamweaver still looks awfully weird to me. Is there a way to lighten it up a bit? It has that PC #999 look to it.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
28 February 2013
Jazzica, I'm on a 24" iMac, so I can't help with the monitor situation! I guess I shut off palettes I don't use. It hasn't been a problem so far. I don't think you can lighten up Dreamweaver. I don't see a setting for that. You change it in Photoshop, but I like the new dark interface there. You can turn the "application frame" off. I actually leave it on in DW, but I turn if off in Photoshop. Go figure. I've never been a Dreamweaver fan, and I still have GoLive 9 on my Mac. But I make myself use DW, and this version seems less sucky than the last few. But the whole application is so 1999 Windows. Anyway, hope you find aspects of it that you like. :)
Like
Kobalt
23 April 2012
Yes, a post about the pricing. I can find no prices on the Australian Adobe website with the exception of the monthly membership price which is some AUS$13 higher than the price listed on the US site, depsite the AUS$ being valued higher than the US$ at the moment. I wonder what little extras we'll get for the extra dollars here in the land of OZ? I bet the full product pricing will be exorbitantly higher as well as per usual. I can only scratch my head in amazement at Adobe's continuing price gauging pricing policy.
Like (5)
Version 6
1 answer(s)
Caproberts
Caproberts
29 May 2012
Agree, they always exude it with phrases like, smaller market, exchange rate is official median, etc. Only it has been 1:1 for quite a while now and the whole smaller market would make sense if they had to produce a special version for it, like versions in German, Spanish, French etc.
Like (1)
ososX
23 November 2011
I HATE ADOBE ! Just purchased the CS5.5 (as my CANVAS is obsolete on Lion). After entering the code I received with the "product", got a note saying that "this serial number is not valid for this product". ADOBE is the WORST company ever ... I wish they'll cease.
Like (7)
Version 5.5
D9
26 January 2011
Just a word about upgrades... Adobe has a very terrible policy and an even worse implementation of information on their upgrade policy for any Adobe graphics/web products!! As we found out the hard way, Adobe will not allow you to upgrade your previous (in this case) Illustrator software if it was part of the Creative Suite bundle; no upgrading individual CS components from a previous suite. So regardless of the fact that you have a folder on your computer that is named Adobe Illustrator CSx with a program inside named Adobe Illustrator CSx that when opened presents a splash screen stating Adobe Illustrator CSx, you cannot upgrade to Illustrator CS5. In addition, other than a small link at the bottom of the product page leading you to an upgrade eligibility "tool" page (which in turn gives a rather ambiguous answer), nothing on the page or in the store page informs you of what is or is not required to upgrade other than a copy of "Adobe Illustrator CS4, CS3 or CS2"...of which I indeed have. This is a ludicrous money-grabbing policy that has pretty much cemented our department and company (on my strong advice) to stay away from upgrades for Adobe software. Remember when Quark did this crap...and remember what happened to Quark?! (FYI...I'd rather read a Russian newspaper than watch a Flash ad!)
Like (6)
Version 5
incrzr
10 May 2010
WTF? CS5 and Spaces are STILL NOT working properly togehter!
Like (3)
Version 5
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
13 May 2010
You've got to be kidding me! This is the third version of Creative since Leopard came out! Did they at least get quicklook to work by now? 99% of the non Adobe programs I have in my machine support these two technologies. This is really making me mad.
Like (1)
Version 5
Tony-Aguila
04 May 2010
First impressions. I mainly work with the three design apps, InDesign, Illustrator, and Photoshop. I have not tried out the other applications except for Bridge. Of the three, only InDesign would work properly. Illustrator consistently crashes when you quit so none of the settings are preserved. Photoshop behaves pretty much the same way but instead of crashing, it gives an error message, "Could not save Preferences because the file is locked or you do not have the necessary access privileges..." I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Illustrator and Photoshop with the same result afterwards. This is installed on a MacPro3,1 running Snow Leopard 10.6.3. No problems to date running CS4. Acrobat Pro was also damaged by the installation so I had to uninstall and reinstall it from the CS4 installer disk. So the only program that I have been able to spend some time with was InDesign. There are several nifty features, e.g., the span/split columns feature, a much improved control palette, and better transformation and control of placed images. From the standpoint of a designer/printer, would the $600 upgrade cost from CS4 be worth it? Probably not. I had no choice because the majority of my work is from designers who work with different versions of the Creative Suite products. By the way, InDesign CS5 no longer exports to INX format (CS3-compatible). It only does IDML which can be read in CS4 or better.
Like (1)
Version 5
Phaleron
01 May 2010
Does anyone know if the 20-installation limit Adobe introduced in their previous version continues to be the case in CS5? I know this is difficult to tell from reading the licence, since it was never documented in the EULA or disclosed elsewhere, but any "inside info" at this point would be appreciated, given that it is the sole reason I am not upgrading.
Like (1)
Version 5
1 answer(s)
Phaleron
Phaleron
02 May 2010
I just found out the Adobe activation/deactivation limit policy (which I erroneously called "Installation limit") has been removed as of January 2010 See: http://blogs.adobe.com/OOBE/2010/01/removing_deactivation_limit.html This includes previous versions CS3/4. This is great news as it brings - in my opinion - an end to an unfair and secretive policy against those clients which actually want to buy their licences.
Like (1)
Version 5
Digiscapers
01 May 2010
I used to swear by Macromedia's versions and was even loyal after Adobe came along. I stuck around until CS3 was released and it because apparent that Adobe just did not value Mac Users. What a horrible time it was... as the software developer was cashing in big time I was constantly of my freezing and crashing while trying to be productive for my client base. Let's be honest here, We all thought CS4 would bring some nice improvements to the mac versions because of how bad CS3 was... but we are burned again. I believe adobe sees the issue we all have here with their price cuts for CS5 but it's still $2K. I am still feeling shady about all the time I lost with the DW freeze-ups (on a top of the line mac pro) from this version, at my hourly rate I could have bought a subscription all the way through CS9. Hear me and consider this, YOU are only as good as your tools, to be the best you will want to find alternatives to Adobe wherever you can, this is not (or should not be) the standard any longer, at least until Adobe actually starts using the software themselves to see what we are going through with the quality they slew out to us.
Like (8)
Version 5
Rubaiyat
01 May 2010
Adobe's installations/updates have always been all over the place. The lack of even a hint of common sense or user insight is just "Adobe". Decades of pleading cujoling, imploring etc have done nothing for me. Good luck in trying to get them to listen. PS. Less bugs would be nice as well, but marketing doesn't seem to think that amounts to a feature.
Like (4)
Version 5