Back to Data Backup page
Data Backup free download for Mac

Data Backup Reviews

4.0.3
03 April 2020

Backup data automatically.

Cybernaut
26 August 2017

Most helpful

I had been using Carbon Copy Cloner v4; then saw a good deal for Data Backup 4. I decided to go with DB 4 because of Prosoft's great reputation for data recovery. Unfortunately, I never got DB 4 working reliably for a clone. I have the latest iMac with SSD so hardware is the latest and greatest. Now I'm back to CCC and have upgraded to v5. Definitely a more logical interface than DB 4. No problems with CCC 4 or now with CCC 5.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.0

Read 27 Data Backup User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cybernaut
26 August 2017
I had been using Carbon Copy Cloner v4; then saw a good deal for Data Backup 4. I decided to go with DB 4 because of Prosoft's great reputation for data recovery. Unfortunately, I never got DB 4 working reliably for a clone. I have the latest iMac with SSD so hardware is the latest and greatest. Now I'm back to CCC and have upgraded to v5. Definitely a more logical interface than DB 4. No problems with CCC 4 or now with CCC 5.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.0
Rafaciana
27 December 2014
I have been using Data Backup since version 2.0 and have found it to be absolutely reliable, making clones, synchronizations, and versioned backups to CD's, DVD's, drives, etc. The interface is clean and intuitive, and the documentation is terse, complete and wellI written. I've timed it with Superduper, Ca;rbonCopy Cloner, and ChronoSync and it is at least as fast or faster. These are all excellent apps. and I have used them all. There was a brief problem with Yosemite upgrade, but support was in prompt in replying and the problem was fixed within a few days. I recommend this app without hestiation.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.9
avengery
02 December 2013
Ok i can see most of the reviews are so old , but i only have one thing to say here , this app is reliable .. thats it : )
Like (1)
Version 3.1.7
Macsrock
14 October 2012
I was a user of Data Backup for years; started with version 1. I had problems with its log files not appearing when requested. Here's my recent reply to their last tech support email regarding my problem. It's been nearly 2 months and I've heard nothing. I guess you forgot me; my problem with your software not working as it should must be too small for you to care about. Funny thing. SuperDuper!, a backup product I bought to replace you works great. No mysterious EXECUTOR. No BS. No 2 months of silence from Tech Support (none needed). It just works and does EVERYTHING it says it will do. In fairness, the backups seem to be fine, but if the software doesn't do the simple things like retrieve log files, how can the more important tasks be trusted?
Like
Version 3.1.5
M-Luther
09 August 2011
Why is Data Backup 3.1.1 only a 16MB disc image and this latest 3.1.3 version is a whopping 100.4MB disc image? (The installer package is 14.4MB for v.3.1.1 and 99MB for v.3.1.3.) A lot of changes under the hood?
Like
Version 3.1.3
1 answer(s)
Prosoft-Engineering
Prosoft-Engineering
10 August 2011
Yes, there were changes made under the hood for compatibility with Lion, which does account for the much larger package size.
Like
WiZZardP1
25 January 2010
I used this utility for several years now and it is a trusted utility; one that I rely on for my day to day work. It has been extremely reliable and I have only had two minor issues with "executor" but both of those issues where taken care of by John (Technical Support). Support is excellent, time sensitive, and also very helpful. Can ask for much for than that - a winning combo. A most recommended application.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.1
Gratefulgary
02 December 2009
For me personally, the instructions did not seem to sufficiently explain some of the features and the trouble thereby that results. It took a while to figure out how to create a bootable clone for example. It wasn't clear that it required it's own partition. And to restore the clone elswhere required that the clone be cloned to it's destination to be bootable, not "restored." I also had a problem with not sufficiently understanding what would happen to the rest of the files/folders on my external HD when I performed versioned backups. They disappeared into a double secret area that required a call to tech support. However, the customer service/tech support is excellent, and by the way, not out-sourced. I used them yesterday to resolve the versioned backups issue. John couldn't have been more technically proficient, patient responsive, interactive. It took some time and was a little tedious but the issue was completely resolved and I now know more about how the software works. The functionality of the product is excellent and other than issues directly related to my lack of understanding, Data Backup works as described by Prosoft.
Like
Version 3.1
Kerry-Dawson
21 November 2009
I've used Data Backup without trouble for at least two years without incident until Snow Leopard came out. The introduced 3.1 for Snow Leopard compatibility. It still isn't compatible. In fact, I finally realized the backups were doing strange things like running at odd times, more than it should on the schedule and thus I had no confidence in the backups it was creating. Support has been responsive but they have been telling me this is going to be fixed soon and Snow Leopard came out 3 months ago. The 3.1 still has not been updated with a fix. The last I heard from support is that its going to be fixed soon but I had this odd feeling the developer has gone a missing. This is not cheap software. I decided to get Get Backup 2 which complements Time Machine nicely and works fine with Time Machine. In fact, everything I have worked with Time Machine shortly after it came out. SuperDuper, another excellent backup and cloning software was Snow Leopard compatible almost from the get go. I used to be a Retrospect user before Data Backup and switched to Data Backup as I liked its rotational capability. I tried Retrospect v8 which is Snow Leopard compatible but it really is overkill for my needs. If Data Backup worked like it used to, it would be great. However, it doesn't and I am left with little confidence in their ability to deal with this issue of making their software SL compatible. This is backup software and its used for safety. This is appalling that this program is being marketed on here as Snow Leopard compatible. If you buy it, check your logs if you have it doing scheduled backups or even just manually backup. You'll find the time stamps in he logs make no sense. So how can you trust anything that is backed up if it has to be restored. I'd stay away from this program even if they paid you to take it let alone you paying them. My ratings are based solely on this does not work with Snow Leopard after 3 months and I had to invest in another Backup program which should never have been the case.
Like (2)
Version 3.1
Ericsackett
16 September 2009
Data Backup 3 is very good as a backup and archiving program. It fills in that spot that SuperDuper and Time Machine miss. It suffers a bit in its interface and ease of use, but I've never had a problem with it.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
tvalleau
16 September 2009
I've been using DataBackup for several years now. Contrary to other reviews, I've not had any trouble with it at all. No "internal errors" - nothing. For me (currently on 10.5.8) DataBackup "just works" and I'm delighted with it. I use it in conjunction with Super Duper. I'm a semi-retired Mac programmer, and so I've used it "in both directions" (meaning backup and restore both) and it's been there for m 100% of the time. Neither have I had trouble with the company; they have been quite responsive the few times I've dealt with them.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Sherman-Wilcox
11 September 2009
This application is not compatible with Snow Leopard, won't even launch. Prosoft's website has claimed an upgrade will be released "in the next few days" since the release of Snow Leopard, but there is still no compatible version. This is simply unacceptable for a critical utility such as this.
Like
Version 3.0.5
Sjg70
15 April 2009
This backup software does all that I want (backing up my harddrive, cloning, maintaining a copy of my PDF library on a Flashdrive). I think their support deserves some praise: they recently very efficiently resolved a problem I was having, quickly providing me with very clear, comprehensive information. In fact it is probably the most professional support experience I've had. They obviously want the software to work for you.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.5
Jeff-Nailen
08 December 2008
I've had major problems with Data Backup over two versions: version 2 and the new version 3. I've really wanted to like this app as a highly recommended alternative to Retrospect. But I've had a series of problems over the years including executor problems and 'internal errors' once I finally got past the executor problems. What's worse, when I contacted tech support they just wanted to sell me the upgrade to version 3 rather than help with my problem. I had to be persistent and send more emails before they would actually provide tech support. Bad sign. Like a fool, I went ahead and upgraded to version 3 anyway (hoping it had been improved with the upgrade) after the executor problem had finally been solved by tech support only to encounter 'internal errors' when making routine, albeit extremely slow performing backups with version 3.0.5 (on a system I keep clean and running smoothly by performing routine weekly and monthly maintenance with the best utilities and no hacks). When this happens the backup stops. When you resume the backup after having to quit Data Backup and restarting, it doesn't pick up the backup where it left off, but starts over making it extremely slow. But it never finished a single complete backup due to 'internal errors' that are never explained so there's no way to solve the problem. Needless to say, I no longer use it because it simply doesn't work and tech support is slow and unresponsive. After doing much research including reading Joe Kissell's excellent Take Control eBooks, I now use dedicated apps for dedicated backups: Time Machine + an Apple Time Capsule for automatic hourly archive backups; the excellent SuperDuper for automatic bootable duplicates to an external drive; and CrashPlan Pro and BackJack for automatic offsite backups over the Internet. Once it's all set up as explained in Joe's eBooks it works consistently like a charm with no hassles. That's the way it should be. Don't buy this product; there are better ones out there with better tech support.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.5
Prowl
18 February 2008
Data Backup completely saved my computer. I had recently acquired Data Backup and was still in the trial mode in version 3.0. It was time to upgrade from OSX 10.4 to 10.5. For the first time ever, I made a clone of my entire hard drive prior to the system "upgrade and archive". I had never done this before, because Apple stuff "just works". Well, this time it didn't work. The 10.5 installer crashed, and left behind enough garbage on the disk that I did not have enough space to do another upgrade. My only option was to "erase and install" on a currently un-bootable computer. I did the erase and install, and used the Migration Assistant (Mac) to migrate all the files from the clone back to my computer. Everything was back to working - no data lost. The free trial (by fire, as it turned out) clearly demonstrated the value of the program, and I bought 3.0.4.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
John-Loach
31 January 2008
I own three products now from ProSoft Engineering - Drive Genius, Data Rescue, and Data Backup. All three work exactly as described, with a very professional appearance and great attention to getting the job done. Data Backup is fast. Once you've created the initial backup, the subsequent version backups are fast and accurate. Restoring files from version dates is very easy and quick. Support is excellent, too. Good customer forum, and updates are always worth the investment.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
Espiridion
29 October 2007
As a comment to the previous reviewer, Time Machine is NOT a replacement for this type of software. Regarding Data Backup 3.0.3, when it works it is great. It's not complicated and does what it's supposed to do. In the past I cloned one drive and synchronized another. Unfortunately, there are many bugs while creating and saving -or trying to save- new sets. For example, sometimes after I select the source and destination drives, the summary at the top indicates “”. Other times, after I select a destination drive, a different drive is selected by Data Backup. This is absurd. Finally, when everything seems to work out fine and I decide to save the set, Data Backup quits. It's unusable. I have recommended Drive Genius and Data Rescue II, but this one is pretty bad. Unfortunately the last time I contacted Prosoft I just received the following two messages: “Your comments have been forwarded to a Sales Agent...” “Your question has been forwarded to a Customer Support Specialist...“ I never got a response addressing my actual problem. I may email them regarding this issue, but meanwhile I'm giving Synk another try.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
2 answer(s)
globetrotterdk
globetrotterdk
14 February 2008
Has the version 3.0.4 improved stability and performance compared to version 3.0.3? I am considering purchasing Data Backup.
Like
Version 3.0.4
ravemac.com
ravemac.com
28 July 2008
I have not experienced any better results than this poster. I have had to re-install the application several times to get it to work and customer support is, let's just say 'light.' I really want to like the app, versioned backups are a great idea and it appears to be easy to set up, now if they could make it so...
Like
Version 3.0.5
Mac-Kiwi
23 October 2007
It's obsolete with OSX 10.5. "TimeMachine" is the Future.
Like
Version 3.0.3
Shotgunweddings
22 October 2007
Excellent back up tool! Simple and straight forward. With this tool and SuperDuper (for it's scripting power), I'll be one happy Mac user! Thanks for a great product ProSoft, yet again!
Like
Version 3.0.3
Ingutje
30 July 2007
I've experienced with LaCie silverkeeper and apple backup, but Data Backup 3.0.1 is the first product to create a bootable clone of my harddisk and it did it in a simple way. Thanks a lot!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Zews
12 June 2007
I just got Data Backup 3.0 with my brand new OWC external fire wire hard drive. For the first total back up of my Mac, I created a clone of my HD, so I would have a bootable external HD in case of an internal HD failure. The backup seemed to run just fine. I can open the drive and folders and run apps from there. However, I cannot boot the external drive. And when I try to, the spinning wheel just spins. After about 15 minutes of this, I gave up. The only way, I was able to stop the process, was by cutting the power to the computer. Always a nice way to deal with a computer. I thought I swithced to a Mac, because "Everything just works!" What a cruel joke, that turned out to be. Does anyone have any suggestions for better software than this.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
18 answer(s)
Zews
Zews
12 June 2007
Well, I'm very happy for you :) I on the other hand, seem to have a rather useless program, that does not work as advertised. That does not do what it is supposed to do, which is, create a clone of an internal drive. All I really have is data backup, something I could have done, the way I have done it for many years. I wanted a bootable clone of my drive, which is what I thought I was getting. I clearly didn't get that. I feel, I'm right back where I was in Windows. Trying to figure out which program the culprit is. Is it Data Backup 3.0, is it the OS. Calling tech support of the company that sold me the hard drive has already wasted several hours of my time, without the desired result. Next I will probably be talking to the software publisher's tech support geniuses, and if (when) that doesn't work out, I may end up talking to Apple tech support. And then I will most likely end up in the unending cycle, of "it's not us, it's the hardware", and "it's not us, it's the software.", and "it's not us, it's the OS", etc. Until I am ready to give up on this program and move to the next computing disaster. Everything on the Mac is always advertised and raved about as "it just works". Well, it clearly doesn't just work.
Like
Version 3.0
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
12 June 2007
You wrote: "Does anyone have any suggestions for better software than this." Thus my response to you. SuperDuper!, that works perfectly. You're welcome. Have a nice day.
Like
Version 3.0
Gordon-Bell
Gordon-Bell
13 June 2007
Hi there- Gordon from Prosoft here.. Have you spoken to Prosoft Support? Just wondering.. Making a bootable clone of your main boot drive, onto an external FW drive is the main way people use Data Backup 3, so to hear you're having problems with it is cause for concern on our end... Prosoft support is free by phone or email- cheers, gordon
Like
Version 3.0
Zews
Zews
13 June 2007
I have. I have not received a response yet.
Like
Version 3.0
Gordon-Bell
Gordon-Bell
13 June 2007
Ok, i will find out from support if they've heard recently from anyone with this problem (I'm not sure if you use "Zews" in your email to us and therefore will just check into what open items are still not replied to... Also, you can call me toll free if you'd like at 1-877-477-6763 -- I'm interested in hearing more about it (when the email was sent, etc, so I can try to find out why the response has been so slow). Usually our team replies that same day and it sounds like it's taken a few days.. I just want to see if anything is broken on our end and I appreciate your help ---thanks! gordon
Like
Version 3.0
Gordon-Bell
Gordon-Bell
13 June 2007
I just checked with support and it looks like the only contact we have from you is from today, about 30 minutes ago (two voicemails) as well as two emails to our support form around the same time. Typically we can turn around and get back to folks within the hour. I believe you should hear from one of our support members shortly -- Thanks for your notes and we look forward to working with you in a short bit--- gordon
Like
Version 3.0
Zews
Zews
13 June 2007
That's strange. I did not call. I only sent an email.
Like
Version 3.0
Gordon-Bell
Gordon-Bell
13 June 2007
My mistake.. Someone here mentioned two messages from you and I always think "messages" means Voicemails.. It turns out that person meant the two emails... Nonetheless a tech is replying to you as I type..
Like
Version 3.0
Zews
Zews
13 June 2007
That is still strange, because as far as I know, I only sent one email. I did however receive two identical auto responses.
Like
Version 3.0
Gordon-Bell
Gordon-Bell
15 June 2007
Hi There, I'm wondering how it is going.. I believe you spoke to someone in support...
Like
Version 3.0
Zews
Zews
15 June 2007
It's not going well. Someone called David called and left a message, but I was not available, and won't be until after the weekend. I did not speak with anyone though. I did receive an email also, with suggestions of what i should do to fix things. Start with downloading and installing an update. Change rule settings that are loaded automatically each time, but it seems, that are not supposed to load. And would I please let Prosoft know, if they do load again. Given the rave reviews SuperDuper seems to receive, both here as well as on versiontracker.com, I wanted to try out that program since it is shareware. Unfortunately, I seem to be having trouble with that program also, since it is severly reduced in it's functionality, if you don't have a registered copy. Which of course you must buy. Strange, even Microsoft lets me use Office for a full 30 days. And Apple ditto with a number of their programs.
Like
Version 3.0
Simurgh
Simurgh
20 June 2007
Just because it is an external HD doesn't mean it is bootable. The hardware has to support such functionality as well. You should probably contact the HD manufacturer to make sure that it allows for this.
Like
Version 3.0
Gordon-Bell
Gordon-Bell
20 June 2007
Hello Again Zews, Our support team has tried contacting you a few times since the first set of contact but haven't heard back from you. Please do contact us again as we'd love to help you out, especially since you're attempting something (want to make a bootable clone) that most of our customers do without fail. There may be a few exclusions set in your backup that are causing the backup to not be bootable- Please call or email us when you get a chance--- gordon from prosoft
Like
Version 3.0
Zews
Zews
21 June 2007
That's true. I have been contacted a coupple of times via email by a David. I do appreciate the effort. Having said that, for now I am pretty much fed up with my computer (again). You see, I just switched from Windows, after suffering those indignities for way too many years. Suffice to say, I am a bit fruistrated to say the least, to find out, that this platform has it's own annoyances, and I am just not ready to get back on the phone yet again. Besides, in a couple of days, I am going on vacation for a few seeks with my family. Even though I cannot boot from the external drive, I have backed up my data, so for now that should be enough. Since nobody is going to use the comnputer the next few weeks, I do not have to worry about a crash anyway. Maybe, after I return I will be ready to wrestle with this again.
Like
Version 3.0
Gordon-Bell
Gordon-Bell
21 June 2007
Hi Zews, I can definitely understand the situation, i've been there before and you're totally right, it's good to take a break from it when it gets to that point... I wish you safe travels and should you wish to revisit this when you get back in town, we're here to help.. Sincerely, gordon from prosoft---
Like
Version 3.0
anonymous-tapir-4715
anonymous-tapir-4715
27 June 2007
I could be wrong, but I thought the only firewire drives that would boot were NOT bus powered, but with an external power source. Check it out.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Hugo-and-Luigi
Hugo-and-Luigi
14 September 2007
I think you are right, I think Apple is screwing you. I would switch back to Windows if I were you.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Shotgunweddings
Shotgunweddings
22 October 2007
bongox: You hit the nail on the head. Switch back Zews, and enjoy the virus' and popups! Zews: First off, as usual, like most end users, you fail to mention what your setup , OSX? HD? And did you even both to verify if your primary boot drive is working 100% by using Apple's Disk Utility to repair permissions and verify the drive's integrity???? And what's the bloody partition type on the external? So many factors at work here it's pathetic! You whine about a lack of help but fail to even try to help yourself by being unavailble and give vague details.
Like
Version 3.0.3
stevekline
16 April 2007
Version 3, like version 2, has a tendency to crash when renaming backup sets. It only remembers the default backup sets. Half the time I try to run it manually, I have to re-install. Once the thing is setup, it seems to function properly.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Sherman
29 March 2007
I waited for v.3 and I must say I'm disappointed. The interface (they claim it has been redesigned) is still the old, cramped interface. The areas where you see the source and destination paths cannot be expanded and often are so small that you can't see the entire path (sometimes scroll bars appear when needed, but not always). Functionally, it seems to burn CDs well. But I've had it crash *several* times when trying to select a source or destination, both when backing up and when restoring. Worse, when I tried to do a restore to my desktop, DataBackup changed the permissions on my desktop folder -- everything on the desktop disappeared, and I couldn't create a folder or file on the desktop. I finally figured out that the desktop folder permissions had been set to System; changing it back fixed the problem. But it certainly doesn't give much confidence in a backup program!
Like
Version 3.0
Getsomesauce
14 December 2006
This is some good stuff! Don't pay full price though...you can get it from Other World Computer for about $14 bucks less (I don't work for them, but people should know how to get good software at a better price). Just go to http://www.macsales.com/prosoft and toss it in your basket for a mere $45. I don't know if/when this price will expire. Powerful program! Thank you, Prosoft!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
13 May 2005
I have been using version 2 since it came out. It works well and is simple to configure. I can set it up and let it run. Restoration of previous file versions were easy to recreate by locating the correct file based on date. Any questions I had were quickly answered by their responsive and knowledgable customer service people (thank you Val). In one instance I was able to communicate directly with the software writer. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product (2.0.4). I look forward to using 2.0.5 in Tiger.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
16 October 2004
Never liked this version, especially after 1.2 does the job well enough. This one just makes life more difficult all around. What is worse, it would not accept my 2.0.2 registration.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Jonathan Dale
25 May 2004
I would definitely be wary about upgrading from 1.22 to 2.x since it is a major new release and as some one else has stated, a lot of the functionality and control over that functionality has been lost. There are sever issues with managing saved backups (the only way to modify a saved backup is by creating a new one - duh!) and also it has problems backing up to network shares, such as Samba, since it insists on re-copying many files which have never changed on the source. Version 1.22 was very easy to use and backed up data perfectly; this version has many more updates required before it is even close to being a version 2 upgrade.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
23 March 2004
I bought a site license of version 1.2.2 of Data Backup for our company. This so called version 2.0 is anything but a version 2.0 of the product. It is in fact a brand new product and should have a different name and be version 1.0. When this product was based on Tri-Edre's Tri-Backup (version 1.22) it was good. The interface gave you lots of options. Few of the capabilities in version 1.22 were included in version 2.0. No longer can I control how many versions of a file are saved or for how long an old file will be kept or any of the other fine grained controls that I liked about version 1.22. Also, I don't have any settings for the application itself such as wether I want it to run in administrator mode or not. It can't even do all of the things it claims to do -- i.e. backup to network shares. It has stability problems (kernel panics on 2 machines) and the installer for some reason doesn't always work correctly. On the good side the interface is very simple so just about anyone should be able to use it with very little help.
Like
Version 2.0