Back to MATLAB page
MATLAB free download for Mac

MATLAB Reviews

9.6
24 May 2019

High-level language and development environment.

An-onymous
20 October 2009

Most helpful

The "Free demo" is only for registered users. Other people have to fill a detailed request. Then they are told that "A MathWorks representative will contact you to discuss your needs and provide access to trial software." I know what I need : a free demo not a discussant about my needs !
Like (5)
Version 7.8

Read 20 MATLAB User Reviews

Rate this app:

Nontroppo
05 October 2014
Huge update! The new graphics system is *finally* here after years of development, and it is a significant improvement in almost all ways. The object-oriented classdef mechanism got a huge boost too, as updating objects occurs "live". And *finally* the bugs with retina displays have been fixed. Github integration is cool. Lots of other nice changes in the toolboxes too, like statistics. As klunky as this language and environment can be, Matlab is still the best programming/analysis tool for fields like Neuroscientific research (Python is very slowly catching up...)
Like
Version 8.4 R2014b
Nontroppo
07 September 2013
Well us Mac users have finally got clipboard vector graphics support in this release (nevertheless it is years after Windows supported this)!!! But they have made a huge regression in that 2013b is now not compatible with the retina MBP HiDPI mode, the whole UI and fonts are blurry, apparently this is because they stopped using Apple's Java and now bundle their own JRE -- what a mess!!!
Like
Version 8.2 R2013b
1 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
08 March 2014
...And this is still broken in 2014a -- according to Matlab support the latest version of Java fixes this, and you can force ML to use the installed Java rather than its own bundled Java, but there is another bug with misplaced cursor position that is even worse depending on which monospaced font you use. Amazingly poor for such expensive software...
Like
Iliketrash
06 September 2013
MATLAB is a crappy language designed for crappy programmers.
Like (2)
Version 8.2 R2013b
2 answer(s)
World28
World28
18 September 2013
What a crappy comment !
Like (1)
Felix01
Felix01
17 October 2015
Yep, 'crappy' comment from a 'crappy' contributor. I'm not aware of a single tech university where freshmen aren't expected to be proficient in MATLAB use. May not be everything everyone might want but it's light years ahead of anything else.
Like
OhEssex
12 September 2012
The version released today is actually R2012b, not R2012a.
Like
Version 8.0
J-michael-pinc
02 March 2012
I found that for the average student, a very useful (and free) alternative is SciLab. It's feature rich, it's language is almost identical to MatLab, it's toolboxes are open source as is the program itself and it has a fairly robust community supporting it. I haven't used it professionally, but I would suspect it measures up quite nicely to MatLab in that respect as well, and it has enough similarities that making a transition to MatLab would be quick and painless.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
13 August 2013
Octave is another similar, free alternative
Like (1)
melager
04 October 2011
good program, but way too expensive for students ...
Like
Version 2.1
Karenbindash
23 October 2010
The basic price of MATLAB is not unreasonable for a professional product, though some items which should in my opinion be included, are only available with the addition of toolboxes, which can cost more than the basic MATLAB. There is even a toolbox for curve fitting. A professional user could easily need to spend $15,000 to get all the toolboxes they need. Often one toolbox requires several others to be installed too. The price rockets up. The symbolic toolbox for MATLAB, adds symbolic capabilities, but it is clear this was not developed initially for MATLAB, but was sold as another product, and the company than acquired by Mathworks. It does not feel very nicely integrated into MATLAB, and although I have access to it, I soon gave up and use Mathematica when I want symbolic maths, as Mathematica is much stronger at symbolics. For numerical work, this is an industry standard and well worth learning to use well. But there are alternatives someone should consider 1) Octave is a free Clone. It is not 100% MATLAB compatible, but is quite close. However, from a students point of view, I'd rather learn MATLAB as that's what employers want. But if money is tight, Octave is a very viable alternative. 2) Sage - open source, and free, but too buggy. I would not trust any result from Sage. 3) Mathematica - more expensive, but more complete, but not as easy to use as MATLAB. There is a "home edition" of this too, which is excellent value for money if you want it for hobby use. 4) Maple - Like Mathematica, this is better at symbolics than MATLAB with the symbolic maths toolbox. But I feel Mathematica is better than Maple, so I don't really consider Maple worth bothering with. 5) R - for statistics this can't be beaten, and is free too.
Like (3)
Version 7.11
Clauclau
21 October 2009
Can you believe it, you've already finished C, think you can do Matlab?
Like
Version 7.9
An-onymous
20 October 2009
The "Free demo" is only for registered users. Other people have to fill a detailed request. Then they are told that "A MathWorks representative will contact you to discuss your needs and provide access to trial software." I know what I need : a free demo not a discussant about my needs !
Like (5)
Version 7.8
Xplicit
07 March 2009
On this webiste under price (start page, price column) it says free, but the download link directs to Mathworks' website where they state that it's only a 15-day trial for free. And when you try to look up the price there's a login required. What the ...? I just wanted to know how much it is. Download of the trial also requires a login.
Like (4)
Version 7.8
Taoeffect
06 March 2009
This software isn't for people looking for a shiny Cocoa-application. It's for people looking for a top-of-the-line mathematical and computational tool. I've yet to come across any software that can compare with Matlab in this regard, it's amazing. Its language is very easy to work with, well designed. People with limited programming experience should be able to pick it up easily. The built-in documentation is top class as well. I've compared it with Mathematica's documentation, and it blows it away. It's easy to search, comprehensive, and the examples work. Matlab makes it painfully easy to manipulate and visualize data, and run various experiments. Its full capabilities are rarely tapped, as it can even integrate with various other languages. If you're looking for a product that makes it easy to do hard things, look no further.
Like (2)
Version 7.8
welch@cs-unc-edu
09 October 2008
Among other things, R2008b makes Matlab an OS X package, so it looks like a "real" OS X application. "Value" (rating) is hard for me to judge because my university has a site license. While there are things to complain about, I for one am very pleased to have it on the Mac, and working quite well (albeit a little clunkily) for my needs.
Like
Version 7.7
Mark-Everitt
08 October 2008
Another suggestion is Octave. It's extremely close to Matlab (especially since version 3) and all the code I have written now runs in both. The best part is that it's free!
Like
Version 7.7
Mbhockey
01 March 2007
When is this going to be native? X Window is horribly slow.
Like (1)
Version 7.4
Jt42b
02 September 2006
If you are unhappy with Matlab or just looking for something simpler you may want to check out MathPad It's not really on the same scale as Matlab but it's free. It provides a language with array constructs and includes simple visualization. I find it surprisingly powerful and have used it for tasks that others have used Matlab for.
Like
Version 7.3
Anonymous
07 March 2005
A company that sells a thousands dollars software with recurring fees should offer a product with thousands dollars quality, speed and user interface design, which obviously Mathworks isn't. Patching an X windows program to make it run poorly on the Mac platform is unacceptable. Open source developers do a better job for almost no money.
Like
Version 7.0.4
Anonymous
28 December 2004
It is impossible to register to their site so I can download a trial. No matter what I do, it says I'm inputting wrong information. Programs that don't have easy access to their trial version (or try to spam your inbox with junk email by making you register your email address before you can download) automatically get 1-stars from me. That kind of thing just tells me that the authors are not interested in letting me peacefully try out the product, what they are interested in is collecting my contact information so they can send me crap I didn't ask for.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
2 answer(s)
Ingo
Ingo
08 March 2005
I second that. I actually tried to purchase the student version of the product but ran into diverse problems with their web shop. First it should cost 70$, then suddendly 99$. In the end I could not fill in my adress correctly because there wasn't enough space, just two lines with IIRC 50 characters (sorry, things are a bit different here in Spain) Then I asked mathworks for help and their only response was sending me some parts of the student version licence text. Figure that. So, better have a look at octave (e.g via fink).
Like
Version 7.0.4
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
08 September 2006
Ditto. I entered all the requested information on their website. What was the response at the end? That there is no demo version students may try out.
Like
Version 7.3
Anonymous
22 September 2004
I have been using MatLab 6.5 with 10.3.5. I would say that MatLab 7 is actually quite an improvement. 6.5 used to crash from time to time. 7.0 is actually wonderfully stable and actually faster in my opinion. The graphical interface is much improved. I am glad that I moved to 7
Like
Version 7.0.1
Anonymous
21 September 2004
I've been using MATLAB 6.5 for Linux. I like the technical aspects of it, but the interface implemented with Java is pretty primity, slow, and looking urgly. On Mac OS X 10.2, I just heard that it's even more terrible. The installation is complicated and the graphical user interface is pretty bad. Now I'm about to purchase MATLAB 7 for Mac OS X 10.3 Panther. I can only hope that they improved the graphical user interface.
Like
Version 7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 November 2004
I wouldn't expect much from matlab 7. My experience on linux is that matlab 7 is even more buggy than matlab 6.5, is much slower and has a lot of annoying features.
Like
Version 7.0.1
natalia
03 October 2003
i have a problem whit th function dicominfo in the version 6.5 i can't read the header of this images ,only i can to show the image ... is there a solution for this prolem in this version?
Like
Version 6.5.1