Back to MacPilot page
MacPilot free download for Mac

MacPilot Reviews

11.0.4
16 October 2019

Enable over 1,200 hidden features in OS X and other apps.

Espiridion
19 January 2014

Most helpful

Interesting. MacUpdate bashes Koingo yet sells software by spammers and unethical companies (e.g., ondesoft, wondershare, etc.) via MUpromo. I'm a customer of both MacUpdate and Koingo. Although both parties have been quite immature, this is NOT about taking sides. It's supposed to be a place to post real reviews of the actual software. With all due respect to Peter and the people who agree with him, what does his 1.5-star review have to do with the actual use of the software? I just checked the "awful and very confusing" licensing: "...we occasionally charge upgrade fees for products. Upgrades are always free if you had purchased a retail copy of the previous version within the past six months. Also, if you own the Software CD or Utility Package Pro, upgrades are free. However, for everyone before the six month cut-off period or those with a promotional copy, a small upgrade fee is required. In the entire history of Koingo Software, we have never charged for a program update more than once in any given year. Also, any upgrade licenses before 2006 have been converted into full licenses. Lastly, any users who purchased our products through special promotions before 2006 have been granted a free lifetime Utility Package Pro, as well as for users who had donated when we had links on our web site..." Based on this, and history, people have been able to purchase a Koingo app and get free updates (not a major upgrade) even if the time period is longer than 6 months. And licenses are valid for both Mac & PC. That aside, on to the application itself. I have Tinker Tool and Tinker Tool System, as well as Cocktail and others. MacPilot gives me a wealth of information and options via a single application. Some of these options overlap with other software, but MacPilot saves me some time by having it all in one place. As Ken420 mentioned below, MacPilot's price is $29.95 (For some reason posting accurate information resulted in frownies to Ken420). At this price it can be expensive if you don't use or need all of MacPilot's features and also if you have alternative applications. I haven't had the need to use the advanced features. I'm sure some people will definitely find those useful. I've rarely contacted Koingo for support, but they've always been great. The only downside has been perhaps their discontinued software, but it hasn't been a big deal. IIRC they had a periodic table of elements back in the days before OS X.
Like (22)
Version 6.0.2

Read 233 MacPilot User Reviews

Rate this app:

BuffaloJohn
06 November 2019
I will not be using MacPilot any longer... developers have become extremely greedy in general. Apple's free OS has caused many devs to believe they now have a license to steal. I've used MacPilot for over a decade. The product has changed little in all those years. I am not picking on this dev alone. Many are doing this yearly upgrade crap. Those are the apps I am replacing or doing without. I have always believed in a clean install for a new OS. I properly utilize iCloud so doing this is now rather painless. It also makes many utilities unnecessary. There are options for MacPilot. Terminal isn't as daunting as you think... any feature offered by MacPilot can be accomplished with very little effort. Backup properly is the only real way to be protected... Goodbye to all Koingo apps for me. Other people can pay for no upgrade upgrades or subscriptions. I changed my email address to a temporary email address and no longer use a single Koingo app. Upgrade policy is as important as the software itself. I will be held hostage by any software. I loved MacPilot at one time. I now consider it a 2 star app. This low rating is due to the high cost of ownership.
Like (1)
Version 11.0.4
DragonMaster
03 November 2019
This is the be all to end all of Mac utilities!!! There's virtually nothing you can't do with it on your Mac! Support without equal. Innovative. You can do things with and to your Mac that Apple never dreamed the user would be able to do!!!
Like
Version 11.0.4
Flavum
16 October 2019
Too many shills and fake reviews to take Koingo or their products seriously. Avoiding this out of principle.
Like (1)
Version 11.0.4
BillyDee203
07 October 2019
Went to upgrade my version 10.5 to version 11 and only presented with the subscription option. Looks like this will be one piece of software I'll be doing without when I perform my next macOS upgrade! I understand that developers need to earn money but I leaned from Adobe about being nickled and dimed to death! Not into the subscription game and avoid any and all software using that model, especially for a piece of software I rarely used. Looks like I'll have to wait until a more viable option to either upgrade or do another purchase comes along!
Like (1)
Version 11.0.3
Tom32547
06 October 2019
Price is out of the park too high.
Like (3)
Version 11.0.3
Benezz
22 July 2019
MacPilot combines everything you've ever imagined were possible with your Mac! I'm still reeling a bit over the price of this one. You don't expect it to do all that it does for that cheap! Finally an app that gives back way more than what you initially paid for it. I'm impressed. Very impressed. Awestruck, even.
Like (1)
Version 10.15
1 answer(s)
Flavum
Flavum
05 November 2019
Fake review
Like
Version 11.0.4
shirleytaylor
26 June 2019
I've heard of being able to modify the way your Mac works with terminal commands and messing around with all that stuff, but I've always been too afraid to try it. For that reason alone, I'm glad I discovered this app! MacPilot is a safe way to screw around and discover things you never even imagined were possible with your Mac. Don't like the modification you just did? Just click the button again. It's honestly that simple.
Like
Version 10.15
I feel like the word "tweak" is an understatement. You can do SO much with this application. More than you can even imagine. I promise you.
Like (1)
Version 10.15
karen2378965
14 June 2019
I feel like I'm never going to need another app for as long as I live. This one does it all. Everything. Even things you wouldn't expect - seriously, it's all here. I can't even express how much I have to recommend MacPilot. Everyone and their dog should own it. Hands down.
Like (1)
Version 10.15
erpatualdia
04 June 2019
MacPilot is the best of its kind that I've used. It gets updated the most frequently, the developer is the most responsive to support and ideas, and it's functionality is just the smoothest I've seen yet. This is a must-have for all you die-hard Mac fans out there, and even those who aren't die-hards. This is just an essential app for everybody. Go for it.
Like
Version 10.15
breathbulopug
02 June 2019
It's like my computer just turned into a Swiss Army Knife! I'll admit I was expecting to be impressed, but I ended up being entirely blown away by the functionality of MacPilot altogether. I'm going to be discovering and re-discovering this one for a while, I'm sure. This app is just spilling over with hidden features for your Mac. Seriously… who knew?
Like
Version 10.15
steelesliopu
30 May 2019
This is an all-in-one app to the power of eighty-four! It does EVERYTHING. I'm absolutely amazed at how much I can customize my Mac with this thing. Who knew there were so many hundreds of hidden features in every Mac out there? It just blows my mind.
Like
Version 10.15
seploodonlifs
28 May 2019
Amazing how much Apple has hidden to streamline the average user experience. MacPilot gives those decisions to you. Now you can hide or show as much or as little as you want. There are basically no limits here! It's like rediscovering your Mac all over again from the top down, which I'm sure many would agree is a truly magical experience.
Like
Version 10.15
tranraropgo
26 May 2019
Some things this app has shown me are things I didn't even know I needed but can't live without now. And it just does so much that I feel like I'm discovering new things about it all the time. Absolutely genius, this one.
Like
Version 10.15
YHC
31 December 2018
1. Very Bad Support (No Response) 2. On their website, they said you can use MacPilot 9 forever without upgrading it to 10, BUT actually you cannot use MacPilot 9 on macOS Mojave (this 9th version will reject you to launch the app on Mojave, so you must use version 10 on Mojave. That means you must pay it again if you are using the newest macOS). Conclusion: If you upgrade macOS to the newest version yearly, you must pay this app yearly. This developer is such a LIAR.
Like
Version 10.15
@timi
03 December 2018
Oh look, three paid reviews.
Like (1)
Version 10.15
thanddeceva
17 October 2018
Perfect for getting some control back over Mojave.
Like
Version 10.13.0
tielodalri
15 October 2018
I miss the older interface, but the new version is way more stable!
Like (2)
Version 10.13.0
teforcoja
14 October 2018
My second must-install app after a fresh install of OS X.
Like (2)
Version 10.13.0
George-Baron
12 October 2018
You advertise a $15.00 cost for today's apps. However when you go to the MacPilot page in Macupdate it's $29.95??????
Like
Version 10.12.0
3 answer(s)
Pcbogert
Pcbogert
14 October 2018
There are apparently a couple of pricing models, including a subscription. I'm not sure I understand the differences, but one of them is $15.
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
14 October 2018
The individual license is $15.00. The higher price is a one-time fee that allows you to get free upgrades for life on that app.
Like (1)
Wts
Wts
14 October 2018
When I went to the " Store " the price was $74.00 .
A very confusing situation since I could not even get a " Store " price of $14.99.
Somewhat disappointing to me because this developer has been around for a long time so why are they are not upfront about their pricing or is it MacUpdate ?

Now I don't know what to do because i do not believe the " free upgrades for life " that has been noted here by PhotoJedi .

Perhaps I may send them an eMail to clarify the pricing .
Like
Michael-Spencer
13 September 2018
I'm surprised by the number of apps that control the startup chime. I was looking for something to ADD a chime to these new systems that don't have one! Any ideas?
Like
Version 10.1.1
DragonMaster
02 July 2018
Easy to use and creates amazing things in your OS that can be reversed instantly if you choose to.
Like (1)
Version 10.1.1
georgecxole
24 April 2018
Amazing app. Really helpful and savvy.
Like (1)
Version 9.1.4
DragonMaster
24 February 2018
Support stinks! Takes months to get a response. On the other hand it works really well. Its system maintance features are very good.
Like (2)
Version 9.1.1
waynem77590
16 February 2018
I was hoping that it would be able to change the system fonts to a larger scale without having to decrease the display resolution
Like
Version 9.1.1
Kendrew
14 February 2018
The only reason I purchased MacPilot 9 (using MacOS 10.13.3) was because Promo MacUpdate listed “Add spacers and stacks to your Dock” among the most popular features. I have a very congested Dock with lots of minuscule apps icons. It would be ideal if I could group similar apps into “stacks” - and then the fewer individual icons in the dock would be therefore of a more suitable size. I could not find any info in Mac Pilot as to how to create stacks - - - unless they are referring to the “auto stack” which is created for “Recent Applications”. I sent a query to Koingo several days ago but have not yet received a response. I find the MacPilot ‘guide’ difficult to absorb - it is certainly not “intuitive” from my point of view. Not happy.
Like (1)
Version 9.1.1
2 answer(s)
Koingo Software, Inc.
Koingo Software, Inc.
16 April 2018
We never advertised beyond the auto-stacks that exist. If you have concerns about how to use the app, please write us. We're always happy to help.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
19 April 2018
That’s true.
It’s Kendrew’s mistake for assuming the app would do something it can’t.

As per Apple:
"A stack is a Dock item that gives you fast access to a folder. When you click a Stack, files and folders within spring from the Dock in a fan or a grid.

OS X starts you off with the Downloads stack. The Downloads stack contains files you download from Safari, Mail, and Messages. You can create as many stacks as you want by dragging folders to the right side of your Dock.

You can learn more about Stacks from OS X Help. From the Finder, click Help and type word Stacks in the search field that appears."

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201955
Like (1)
Eveningclouds
08 August 2017
Software I buy allows me to use it on all my computers, in my case the desktop at work and the laptop portable or at home. This one is one computer only, meaning I'd have to buy two copies to cover my personal uses. Even greedy Adobe lets you use their software at home and at work. I like the software, but the licensing policy doesn't fit the way most people use computers (or it does, and these folks are just squeezing users for as much as they can get). Note: am NOT opposed to paying fair prices. I understand development costs etc.
Like (3)
Version 9.0.9
1 answer(s)
Koingo Software, Inc.
Koingo Software, Inc.
16 April 2018
No. It's single computer or single user. You can install it on multiple computers if you're the only user, or one computer if there are multiple users.
Like (1)
josephjsam111
21 March 2017
new and this works fine thank you
Like
Version 9.0.5
Dougster
19 March 2017
Thank you for reinstating the startup chime mute.
Like (3)
Version 9.0.5
Dougster
15 March 2017
What's happened to the 'mute startup chime' preference? I do not see it listed in 9.0.4
Like (1)
Version 9.0.4
behnamsammak
14 March 2017
Systemtool zum Aktivieren und Deaktivieren versteckter Einstellungen und Features sowie zum Optimieren und Reparieren von Mac-Betriebssystemen; passt darüber hinaus verschiedene Einstellungen an die eigenen Bedürfnisse des Nutzers an, etwa durch Deaktivieren der Menübar oder durch Aktivieren eines Dock-Schutzes, sodass dieses nicht verändert werden kann. Sehr zu empfehlen.
Like
Version 9.0.4
graydereikson
11 March 2017
This is by FAR the best incarnation of MacPilot yet. Version 9 feels like a native OS X app!
Like (1)
Version 9.0.3
sheralyncomby
07 March 2017
Wow. I had no idea so many hidden features were tucked away inside my Mac. The level of customizability that this app reveals is just insane. Whether it's something as simple as putting spacers in my Dock and muting the startup chime or something as obscure as configuring iPhoto to have a certain opacity in its adjustment windows, it's all here… all just one click away. Seriously.
Like (2)
Version 9.0.1
Big Johnson
24 February 2017
I received the following email from Koingo on 2/15/17:
Koingo confirmed its authenticity.

Critical Bug Fix: Immediate Action Required

Due to recent system software updates, the internal automatic updaters inside our products are broken. This bug has been fixed in the latest version of our apps. Please ensure you download the most recent version of the apps that you own from us to ensure you are not missing any critical security fixes. Follow the steps below. For App Store buyers must follow the steps in our FAQ to move to the retail version (for free) first.
Like
Version 8.1
teovela
16 February 2017
What the hell I can't run it! Nothing works(
Like
Version 8.1
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
14 March 2017
macOS 10.12 only for version 9. The website offers older versions of MacPilot for older versions of macOS.
Like
Big Johnson
11 February 2017
"This version has not yet been fully qualified with macOS Sierra, but is now mostly working."

Way to go, Koingo!
Thanks for the "mostly working" software.

Why waste time thoroughly testing your app when you can just let your customers be the guinea pigs?

After all, that’s what the disclaimer in the license is there for, right?
Like (1)
Version 8.1
Big Johnson
15 June 2016
This app has not yet been updated to protect against the Sparkle updater framework vulnerability that was discovered in Jan. 2016. Apps that use a vulnerable version of Sparkle and an unencrypted HTTP channel for server updates are at risk of being hijacked to transmit malicious code to end users.
Like
Version 8.0.6
2 answer(s)
fmprdwg
fmprdwg
07 October 2016
The damn program always seems to be behind the times, still NOT updated to OS X Sierra. Koingo must be sleeping too bad as it has some useful features, but Ver 8.06 is a disappointment !
Like (1)
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
10 October 2016
Other running in macOS Sierra I really don't see anything new in the app that warrants even keeping the app around and taking up space. MacPilot has run it's course and should be retired.
Like (1)
Big Johnson
23 January 2016
Found two more non-working functions:

Finder>Features>Quicklook: Allow text selection.
Startup>Mute startup chime

I'm aware that Quicklook text selection does NOT work in El Capitan, so I was surprised to see the function listed without any sort of notice that this function isn't available in OS X 10.11.
I thought maybe they'd found a way to make it work, but nope - it's useless (like koingo).

Even the very basic muting of the startup chime doesn't work!

Can't Koingo do ANYTHING right? (answer = NO).

OS X 10.11.2 & 10.11.3
Like (3)
Version 8.0.6
Big Johnson
06 January 2016
I installed MacPilot an hour ago and already found a bug. No surprise there since it's Koingo software!

I installed it solely to securely delete a folder since my Path Finder won't do anything requiring a password right now and I USED to prefer MP over Cocktail/Onyx for its many extra functions.

It deleted the folder correctly.
But now it deletes EVERYTHING securely even though the "securely" box is UNchecked for erasing.

I uninstalled MacPilot to see if it would do that from a clean install or if it just got stuck in secure mode after I'd used it.

After re-installing I created an empty folder in my Downloads folder and used MP to erase it, making sure the "Securely" box was UNchecked (which it is by default).
I was asked for my password and then MP displayed a message that read: "Securely Deleting Folder MacPilot test Completed."

I didn't WANT it deleted securely!
Forgive me Koingo, I forgot that you know what the user needs better than the user does, and your software will function accordingly. I'm sure you had a good reason for overwriting an empty folder multiple times.

IDIOTS!

ALL Koingo software should come with a can of bug killer because you're gonna need it!
Like (1)
Version 8.0.6
fwilkinson
02 November 2015
Seems ok got a new Mac and going nuts installing all sorts of things hopefully I don't mess up with these settings
Like (1)
Version 8.0.5
Gary30
14 October 2015
A little perspective seems to be in order: I am a Mac user, consultant and, now retired, a hobbyist going back to the late 80's. In the interest of UI simplification and reducing support costs, I have watched control taken away from ordinary users of OS X with successive updates. Apps such as MacPilot allow experienced users and inveterate tinkerers such as myself to retake control while staying in the graphical UI. Moreover, developers of these utility apps offer warnings and guidance for certain settings that can lead to trouble. As best I can determine, MacPilot offers more tweaks, better organized access to tweaks, and more diligent cautions/warnings than its competitors. Sure, there are free alternatives such as Secrets, CLIX ands others. But as you update your machines, the tweaks offered up for free by these developers may no longer apply, lead to weird problems, etc. as API's are deprecated and the UNIX underpinnings are themselves updated. It is hard to make a living developing free software and even harder to keep it current. So, they can't and don't. Also, there are developers who offer free UI's for selected tweaks as sidelines. But not nearly as many tweaks, and without nearly as much documentation/support as MacPilot. Ya gotta ask yourselves, folks: As you update your copy of OS X, does the ability to continue getting "under the hood" with ease and prudence via a UI have value? Consider that you are getting OS upgrades for free. To me, maybe $15 or so isn't a bad deal. I am not shilling' for Koingo here; I have a downrev version of MacPilot and am using a downrev version of OS X myself. But I don't understand all the bad feelings toward those folks. Maybe haters just gonna hate. I dunno.
Like (3)
Version 8.0.2
1 answer(s)
Fmaxwell
Fmaxwell
21 October 2015
You wrote: "But I don't understand all the bad feelings toward those folks."

Perhaps I can shed some light on it. Back in the late 2013, there was a big, public fight between Koingo SW and MacUpdate regarding copies of MacCleanse 3 and Data Guardian 3 given away for free. A KoingoSW employee, with an @koingosw.com email address, negotiated the deal with MacUpdate, providing registration information for the software for the deal. KoingoSW management later claimed that the person who negotiated the deal did not have the authority to do so.

I shared my views with Koingo SW and MacUpdate about the matter when it happened. In the end, Koingo SW resolved it in a way that was fair to the consumers, taking a financial hit themselves in the process. They took down their page in which they presented 'their side' of the story and put the matter behind them.

So I'd hope that others would give Koingo SW another chance.

Note: I am not now, and never have been, an employee of Koingo or MacUpdate and have had no business dealings with either firm beyond purchasing products at publicly advertised prices..
Like (3)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
09 October 2015
Yet another paid upgrade. Yuck. Glad I got off this train some years ago. No regrets.
Like (3)
Version 8.0.1
frankmclynn
09 October 2015
Paid for a download through MacUpdate Got Version 8 but the access codes(eMail address) will not allow me to register the software version. Tried a number of times and then my account was blocked. This appears to be some kind of SCAM Frank McLynn
Like
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
10 October 2015
Please contact our support team and we'll resolve this immediately.
Like (1)
hwgray
06 October 2015
Surely, this is v8.0b1! "New in Version 8 No commands available Description No feature selected. Please select one for" "Recent Additions" is the same. "Descriptions" read "This feature could use some work. It" "Helps maintain compatibility with older" "Both Pages and Keynote have several" "Automatically save all changes to make" WTF, Koingo! If sentences are left unfinished, who knows what else has likewise been left unfinished? I *love* MacPilot, especially since you changed the icon. (Though they may not matter to other people, icons matter to me. I still miss the Happy Mac at start-up.) I've used MP happily since '04. But, the way that you've half-assed v8 makes me wonder whether it might not be time for me to move on.
Like
Version 8.0
3 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
06 October 2015
Where are you seeing this error? Please elaborate and write into our support team. We're happy to promptly fix all bugs.
Like
hwgray
hwgray
07 October 2015
Koingo, read what I said. I launched MP and found "sentences like these:

"New in Version 8 No commands available Description No feature selected. Please select one for"

"This feature could use some work. It"

"Helps maintain compatibility with older"

"Both Pages and Keynote have several"

"Automatically save all changes to make"

After seeing crap like that, I was afraid to use MP. So, I don't know whether anything other than half-finished sentences is wrong with MH. If you've left sentences unfinished, what else might you have left unfinished? Unfinished sentences are not enough of an error for you? They're enough of an error for me.
Do you get the picture?

And I got my copy of v8 as an official updating from inside v7, not by torrenting it from some pirate site or something.


Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
07 October 2015
@hwgray: While I agree with your frustration and anger regarding these problems, might I suggest you take some screen shots and forward those to the developer for clarification?
Like
BobbyThompsonRocks
06 October 2015
Wow... Pay for a license, 10 days later pay for an upgrade...
Like
Version 8.0
3 answer(s)
BobbyThompsonRocks
BobbyThompsonRocks
06 October 2015
Ironically it appears the bundle I purchased 10 days ago that contained the now outdated license for MacPilot is still for sale right now...

Which makes me wonder would I not need to pay for an upgrade if I had held off buying it for a few days?

Or are people actively buying the bundle today not realizing they are getting the older version???

Considering that bundle was supposed to have ended by now, but was extended, I'd bet the author wasn't expecting anyone buying that bundle to have maid their purchase after the update release.
Like (1)
BobbyThompsonRocks
BobbyThompsonRocks
06 October 2015
Guess I was wrong...

20 minutes ago I was told I would be required to pay, after trying again (after reading their policy) it did go though...

Guess there was a delayed reaction...
Like
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
06 October 2015
No no no. You are not required to pay. Please read our FAQ for information. All buyers within 6 months get FREE upgrades.
Like (1)
lurkingremlin
06 October 2015
Ver 7.1.7 seems to have been pulled by Koingo SW by now - download link at MU yields ver 8.0 which is El Cap only. Checking for updates from within Mac Pilot 7.1.6 reveals this being the newest version. Running Yosey 10.10.5.
Like (1)
Version 7.1.7
4 answer(s)
Harv
Harv
06 October 2015
Many thanks, kind sir!

Were it not for your post, I would have missed the v8.0 update.
Like
lurkingremlin
lurkingremlin
06 October 2015
How did I know that ;)
Like
lurkingremlin
lurkingremlin
07 October 2015
Apparently, MU fixed the link immediately after announcing ver 7.1.7 - QED.
Like
Harv
Harv
07 October 2015
And kudos to the MU gang for so promptly noting/posting the v8.0 update.
Like
Eric•Woehler
18 July 2015
Suggest CLIX as free alternative. Greater range of instructions and tweaks etc. Much greater range of options, greater flexibility and better product. Highly recommended. Five stars for CLIX, zippo, nada, zilch for MacPilot.
Like
Version 7.1.4
1 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
19 July 2015
CLIX also hasn't been updated in 2 years. MacPilot has been around since 2003 and is still being updated and modernized with new features for Mac OS X 10.10, etc.
Like (5)
Big Johnson
13 July 2015
BEWARE!

As with their other product MacCleanse, this has a dangerous bug that lets it removes files it shouldn't .

In the maintenance tab is a feature to remove preference files whose associated apps are no longer installed.
So I ran it and almost every file it wanted to remove are for apps that are currently installed, even though MacPilot says they are "not installed." It did find 2 orphaned files, but the rest - over 50, are still in use.

SCREENSHOT: http://is.gd/lcFD8t

This would have severly crippled my system if I'd let it finish it's "maintenance" (destruction).

Notice in the upper right corner of the screenshot that "skip apple preferences" is checked, yet the results include callservicesd.plist, loginwindow.plist and system_profiler.plist (not shown).

I've used MacPilot because it offers more tweaking features than Onyx.
Appparently a new one they've added in v7 is the ability for MacPilot to delete whatever preferences it wants to.


I've grown to hate Koingo and posted another scathing review on the MacCleanse page about MORE cleaning problems where files were deleted that shouldn't have been.
Koingo's response: "This was an obvious oversight, and we apologize. Please restore from a backup"

Well if you run Maintenance in MacPilot you'd better have a current backup too.
Koingo should be offering free cloud backup with their software, because users will need it!
Like (1)
Version 7.1.1
7 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
13 July 2015
This occurred in MacPilot 7.0.9, I haven't upgraded to 7.1

The Version History page on their website only lists changes for v7.1.2, which isn't even posted on MU, even though it was released on 6/23/15.

Way to go Koingo!
Like
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
19 July 2015
This bug appears to be isolated to your system and I cannot reproduce it. If you contact our support team we're happy to investigate further. We do not frequent these review boards, sorry.
Like (2)
BobbyThompsonRocks
BobbyThompsonRocks
06 October 2015
It wasn't isolated to his system, it happened to me some time back. I used time machine to restore my prefs and avoided that feature like the plague.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
06 October 2015
Thanks for adding that, Torgobob - it's always nice to have validation that what I experienced isn't "isolated to my system."

Typical Koingo - trying to pass off deficiencies in their software as a user's "system bug."

At least with MacCleanse they admitted to an "oversight."

Is that what they call this too? An oversight? A bug that will completely hose your system is just an oversight?

MUCH safer to avoid ALL Koingo software and stick with DEPENDABLE and RELIABLE developers rather than this f'd up company with numerous "oversights" in their software that can cause you a whole lotta grief!
Like
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
06 October 2015
We are ALWAYS happy to fix bugs in the software. Even in v8 I cannot reproduce the bug with the Preferences cleaner. If someone else out there is willing to write into tech support and help us isolate and resolve this issue, I'm happy to personally address it. But, communicating on MU forums does nothing to help solve a problem.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
07 October 2015
For someone who does "not frequent these review boards," you sure responded fast! As in a matter of minutes.

I'm not interested in being your Beta tester and helping you "resolve the issues" with your software." I have better things to do.

I'm only interested in posting an honest review of my experience with TWO of your apps and warning others so they don't experience the same thing, possibly without having a backup handy, as I was fortunate to have.

Why would you be trying to reproduce it in v8 when I said it happened in v7.09? Version 8 came out months after I posted the issue, and it was likely fixed by then, so no wonder you can't reproduce it!
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
07 October 2015
Koingo said: "We are ALWAYS happy to fix bugs in the software"

Well then you should have a very happy company because there are plenty of bugs in your software!
Like
@Koingo: You claim your software license is like other shareware apps, yet the ones you knock in your info above are not like yours at all. Onyx is freeware. So is TinkerTool. Cocktail and TinkerTool System don't have annual subscriptions. They charge every few years when there is a major upgrade, usually when there is a significant change in OS X, as there was for Yosemite. Of course, this has become more frequent as Apple accelerated the OS X development schedule. That said, I guess you made your peace with MacUpdate as they are now working with you to offer a MU discounts again. By the way, if there is upgrade pricing available now, it represents a change in your licensing policies (something you don't own up to – which only aggravates the confusion). Perhaps you actually have been paying attention to the critics. But when I first used Koingo software, no such upgrade prices existed. At the time you were trying to push the annual licensing model. That drew so much flack that apparently you were persuaded to moderate your licensing scheme. Still, you can't blame people for not understanding; your policies were confusing from the get-go and people cannot be faulted for not noticing changes, even changes for the better. Their continuing hostility reflects the residual ill will you earned in the past. It's going to take some time – years, perhaps – for you to rebuild your reputation. Though it may never happen if you don't get over the habit of blowing smoke in our faces. As for the software you compare MacPilot to, it's true they do less than MacPilot. But for many MP will be overkill. Fortunately, people can choose the app that suits their needs. There are others that offer a subset of what MP does, including Deeper, another free app from the developer of Onyx. MacPilot is not better than any of these, it's just different. Do yourself a favor and promote MacPilot without mentioning the competition. It only makes you look devious.
Like
Version 7.1.1
2 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
24 June 2015
Upgrade pricing has ALWAYS been available. Ask any other owners of Koingo. Additionally, we don't charge for anything but major upgrades as you suggest as well. Not sure why you thought otherwise. Subscriptions have ALWAYS been optional as well. This is just a case of misunderstanding how we operate.
Like (2)
Wts
Wts
17 August 2015
Coctail has a lifetime upgrade for FREE even when there is a so called MAJOR upgrades

Like
M-aurizio
19 June 2015
Licensing terms are intolerable.
Like
Version 7.0.9
2 answer(s)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
19 June 2015
The licensing terms are no different than any other shareware developer. Can you please elaborate on what makes them intolerable?
Like (2)
BobbyThompsonRocks
BobbyThompsonRocks
06 October 2015
Like