Back to MacPilot page
MacPilot free download for Mac

MacPilot Reviews

23 February 2021

Enable over 1,200 hidden features in OS X and other apps.

How would you rate MacPilot?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Hldwizard
Hldwizard
Feb 13 2021
12.0.7
3.0
Feb 13 2021
3.0
Version: 12.0.7
Nice to have a graphical all in one place tool, but most recent update is not backwards compatible. Wasted time uninstalling and finding the old one. Have to remember this when I move to latest OS.
vallee-blanche
vallee-blanche
Dec 17 2020
12.0.4
2.0
Dec 17 2020
2.0
Version: 12.0.4
Many of these tweaks do not work as expected on MACOX BIG SUR,
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
Nov 18 2020
12.0
0.0
Nov 18 2020
0.0
Version: 12.0
MacPilot 12 launched prematurely! It works only on macOS 11 Big Sur, which was launched seven weeks later. Don't install it if you are on macOS 10.15 Catalina or earlier.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 23 2020
12.0
4.0
Sep 23 2020
4.0
Version: 12.0
Koingo is going to subscriptions. - -> "USD $1.33 PER MONTH (BILLED ANNUALLY)" for MacPilot 12.x. - -> Also: v12.x is ONLY for macOS 11, Big Sur. (Use v11 for older macOS...).
Vitalii@macupdate.com
Vitalii@macupdate.com
Apr 21 2020
11.1.3
0.0
Apr 21 2020
0.0
Version: 11.1.3
The previously listed price was incorrect. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Aldomiguel
Aldomiguel
Jan 4 2020
11.0.6
0.0
Jan 4 2020
0.0
Version: 11.0.6
They have lost their minds.
1920 Riverside
1920 Riverside
Dec 31 2019
11.0.5
1.0
Dec 31 2019
1.0
Version: 11.0.5
I have their softwares, use them several time. It’s not that good but also not that bad. Especially MacPilot, it is doing simple things that can be done using Mac it self. By the way, talking about the dev, I am sorry, bad side is they upgrade their apps too quickly. Baseline is, I think, they sell apps through bundle and promotion, then they upgrade everything. User must pay. OK, Pay. No Pay, no working softwares. That’s ain’t good for business.
iMacWare
iMacWare
Dec 23 2019
11.0.5
5.0
Dec 23 2019
5.0
Version: 11.0.5
Wow. This is amazing
Mac5
Mac5
Dec 23 2019
11.0.5
3.0
Dec 23 2019
3.0
Version: 11.0.5
Ridiculous price.. Greed is killing so many of these developers.. and they don't see it..
Fariborz
Fariborz
Nov 23 2019
11.0.4
0.0
Nov 23 2019
0.0
Version: 11.0.4
Is this price ($99.00) real?!! Could someone please comment on this?!
BuffaloJohn
BuffaloJohn
Nov 6 2019
11.0.4
2.0
Nov 6 2019
2.0
Version: 11.0.4
I will not be using MacPilot any longer... developers have become extremely greedy in general. Apple's free OS has caused many devs to believe they now have a license to steal. I've used MacPilot for over a decade. The product has changed little in all those years. I am not picking on this dev alone. Many are doing this yearly upgrade crap. Those are the apps I am replacing or doing without. I have always believed in a clean install for a new OS. I properly utilize iCloud so doing this is now rather painless. It also makes many utilities unnecessary. There are options for MacPilot. Terminal isn't as daunting as you think... any feature offered by MacPilot can be accomplished with very little effort. Backup properly is the only real way to be protected... Goodbye to all Koingo apps for me. Other people can pay for no upgrade upgrades or subscriptions. I changed my email address to a temporary email address and no longer use a single Koingo app. Upgrade policy is as important as the software itself. I will be held hostage by any software. I loved MacPilot at one time. I now consider it a 2 star app. This low rating is due to the high cost of ownership.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Nov 3 2019
11.0.4
5.0
Nov 3 2019
5.0
Version: 11.0.4
This is the be all to end all of Mac utilities!!! There's virtually nothing you can't do with it on your Mac! Support without equal. Innovative. You can do things with and to your Mac that Apple never dreamed the user would be able to do!!!
Flavum
Flavum
Oct 16 2019
11.0.4
0.0
Oct 16 2019
0.0
Version: 11.0.4
Too many shills and fake reviews to take Koingo or their products seriously. Avoiding this out of principle.
BillyDee203
BillyDee203
Oct 7 2019
11.0.3
2.0
Oct 7 2019
2.0
Version: 11.0.3
Went to upgrade my version 10.5 to version 11 and only presented with the subscription option. Looks like this will be one piece of software I'll be doing without when I perform my next macOS upgrade! I understand that developers need to earn money but I leaned from Adobe about being nickled and dimed to death! Not into the subscription game and avoid any and all software using that model, especially for a piece of software I rarely used. Looks like I'll have to wait until a more viable option to either upgrade or do another purchase comes along!
Tom32547
Tom32547
Oct 6 2019
11.0.3
3.0
Oct 6 2019
3.0
Version: 11.0.3
Price is out of the park too high.
Benezz
Benezz
Jul 22 2019
10.15
5.0
Jul 22 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
MacPilot combines everything you've ever imagined were possible with your Mac! I'm still reeling a bit over the price of this one. You don't expect it to do all that it does for that cheap! Finally an app that gives back way more than what you initially paid for it. I'm impressed. Very impressed. Awestruck, even.
shirleytaylor
shirleytaylor
Jun 26 2019
10.15
5.0
Jun 26 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
I've heard of being able to modify the way your Mac works with terminal commands and messing around with all that stuff, but I've always been too afraid to try it. For that reason alone, I'm glad I discovered this app! MacPilot is a safe way to screw around and discover things you never even imagined were possible with your Mac. Don't like the modification you just did? Just click the button again. It's honestly that simple.
helengonzaleszx34szrfgbv
helengonzaleszx34szrfgbv
Jun 24 2019
10.15
5.0
Jun 24 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
I feel like the word "tweak" is an understatement. You can do SO much with this application. More than you can even imagine. I promise you.
karen2378965
karen2378965
Jun 14 2019
10.15
5.0
Jun 14 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
I feel like I'm never going to need another app for as long as I live. This one does it all. Everything. Even things you wouldn't expect - seriously, it's all here. I can't even express how much I have to recommend MacPilot. Everyone and their dog should own it. Hands down.
erpatualdia
erpatualdia
Jun 4 2019
10.15
5.0
Jun 4 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
MacPilot is the best of its kind that I've used. It gets updated the most frequently, the developer is the most responsive to support and ideas, and it's functionality is just the smoothest I've seen yet. This is a must-have for all you die-hard Mac fans out there, and even those who aren't die-hards. This is just an essential app for everybody. Go for it.
breathbulopug
breathbulopug
Jun 2 2019
10.15
5.0
Jun 2 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
It's like my computer just turned into a Swiss Army Knife! I'll admit I was expecting to be impressed, but I ended up being entirely blown away by the functionality of MacPilot altogether. I'm going to be discovering and re-discovering this one for a while, I'm sure. This app is just spilling over with hidden features for your Mac. Seriously… who knew?
steelesliopu
steelesliopu
May 30 2019
10.15
5.0
May 30 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
This is an all-in-one app to the power of eighty-four! It does EVERYTHING. I'm absolutely amazed at how much I can customize my Mac with this thing. Who knew there were so many hundreds of hidden features in every Mac out there? It just blows my mind.
seploodonlifs
seploodonlifs
May 28 2019
10.15
5.0
May 28 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
Amazing how much Apple has hidden to streamline the average user experience. MacPilot gives those decisions to you. Now you can hide or show as much or as little as you want. There are basically no limits here! It's like rediscovering your Mac all over again from the top down, which I'm sure many would agree is a truly magical experience.
tranraropgo
tranraropgo
May 26 2019
10.15
5.0
May 26 2019
5.0
Version: 10.15
Some things this app has shown me are things I didn't even know I needed but can't live without now. And it just does so much that I feel like I'm discovering new things about it all the time. Absolutely genius, this one.
YHC
YHC
Dec 31 2018
10.15
0.5
Dec 31 2018
0.5
Version: 10.15
1. Very Bad Support (No Response) 2. On their website, they said you can use MacPilot 9 forever without upgrading it to 10, BUT actually you cannot use MacPilot 9 on macOS Mojave (this 9th version will reject you to launch the app on Mojave, so you must use version 10 on Mojave. That means you must pay it again if you are using the newest macOS). Conclusion: If you upgrade macOS to the newest version yearly, you must pay this app yearly. This developer is such a LIAR.
waryuser
waryuser
Dec 3 2018
10.15
0.5
Dec 3 2018
0.5
Version: 10.15
Oh look, three paid reviews.
thanddeceva
thanddeceva
Oct 17 2018
10.13.0
5.0
Oct 17 2018
5.0
Version: 10.13.0
Perfect for getting some control back over Mojave.
tielodalri
tielodalri
Oct 15 2018
10.13.0
4.5
Oct 15 2018
4.5
Version: 10.13.0
I miss the older interface, but the new version is way more stable!
teforcoja
teforcoja
Oct 14 2018
10.13.0
5.0
Oct 14 2018
5.0
Version: 10.13.0
My second must-install app after a fresh install of OS X.
George-Baron
George-Baron
Oct 12 2018
10.12.0
0.0
Oct 12 2018
0.0
Version: 10.12.0
You advertise a $15.00 cost for today's apps. However when you go to the MacPilot page in Macupdate it's $29.95??????
Michael-Spencer
Michael-Spencer
Sep 13 2018
10.1.1
0.0
Sep 13 2018
0.0
Version: 10.1.1
I'm surprised by the number of apps that control the startup chime. I was looking for something to ADD a chime to these new systems that don't have one! Any ideas?
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Jul 2 2018
10.1.1
5.0
Jul 2 2018
5.0
Version: 10.1.1
Easy to use and creates amazing things in your OS that can be reversed instantly if you choose to.
georgecxole
georgecxole
Apr 24 2018
9.1.4
4.0
Apr 24 2018
4.0
Version: 9.1.4
Amazing app. Really helpful and savvy.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 24 2018
9.1.1
5.0
Feb 24 2018
5.0
Version: 9.1.1
Support stinks! Takes months to get a response. On the other hand it works really well. Its system maintance features are very good.
waynem77590
waynem77590
Feb 16 2018
9.1.1
0.0
Feb 16 2018
0.0
Version: 9.1.1
I was hoping that it would be able to change the system fonts to a larger scale without having to decrease the display resolution
Kendrew
Kendrew
Feb 14 2018
9.1.1
1.5
Feb 14 2018
1.5
Version: 9.1.1
The only reason I purchased MacPilot 9 (using MacOS 10.13.3) was because Promo MacUpdate listed “Add spacers and stacks to your Dock” among the most popular features. I have a very congested Dock with lots of minuscule apps icons. It would be ideal if I could group similar apps into “stacks” - and then the fewer individual icons in the dock would be therefore of a more suitable size. I could not find any info in Mac Pilot as to how to create stacks - - - unless they are referring to the “auto stack” which is created for “Recent Applications”. I sent a query to Koingo several days ago but have not yet received a response. I find the MacPilot ‘guide’ difficult to absorb - it is certainly not “intuitive” from my point of view. Not happy.
Eveningclouds
Eveningclouds
Aug 8 2017
9.0.9
0.0
Aug 8 2017
0.0
Version: 9.0.9
Software I buy allows me to use it on all my computers, in my case the desktop at work and the laptop portable or at home. This one is one computer only, meaning I'd have to buy two copies to cover my personal uses. Even greedy Adobe lets you use their software at home and at work. I like the software, but the licensing policy doesn't fit the way most people use computers (or it does, and these folks are just squeezing users for as much as they can get). Note: am NOT opposed to paying fair prices. I understand development costs etc.
josephjsam111
josephjsam111
Mar 21 2017
9.0.5
5.0
Mar 21 2017
5.0
Version: 9.0.5
new and this works fine thank you
Dougster
Dougster
Mar 19 2017
9.0.5
0.0
Mar 19 2017
0.0
Version: 9.0.5
Thank you for reinstating the startup chime mute.
Dougster
Dougster
Mar 15 2017
9.0.4
0.0
Mar 15 2017
0.0
Version: 9.0.4
What's happened to the 'mute startup chime' preference? I do not see it listed in 9.0.4
behnamsammak
behnamsammak
Mar 14 2017
9.0.4
4.5
Mar 14 2017
4.5
Version: 9.0.4
Systemtool zum Aktivieren und Deaktivieren versteckter Einstellungen und Features sowie zum Optimieren und Reparieren von Mac-Betriebssystemen; passt darüber hinaus verschiedene Einstellungen an die eigenen Bedürfnisse des Nutzers an, etwa durch Deaktivieren der Menübar oder durch Aktivieren eines Dock-Schutzes, sodass dieses nicht verändert werden kann. Sehr zu empfehlen.
graydereikson
graydereikson
Mar 11 2017
9.0.3
5.0
Mar 11 2017
5.0
Version: 9.0.3
This is by FAR the best incarnation of MacPilot yet. Version 9 feels like a native OS X app!
sheralyncomby
sheralyncomby
Mar 7 2017
9.0.1
5.0
Mar 7 2017
5.0
Version: 9.0.1
Wow. I had no idea so many hidden features were tucked away inside my Mac. The level of customizability that this app reveals is just insane. Whether it's something as simple as putting spacers in my Dock and muting the startup chime or something as obscure as configuring iPhoto to have a certain opacity in its adjustment windows, it's all here… all just one click away. Seriously.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Feb 24 2017
8.1
2.0
Feb 24 2017
2.0
Version: 8.1
I received the following email from Koingo on 2/15/17:
Koingo confirmed its authenticity.

Critical Bug Fix: Immediate Action Required

Due to recent system software updates, the internal automatic updaters inside our products are broken. This bug has been fixed in the latest version of our apps. Please ensure you download the most recent version of the apps that you own from us to ensure you are not missing any critical security fixes. Follow the steps below. For App Store buyers must follow the steps in our FAQ to move to the retail version (for free) first.
teovela
teovela
Feb 16 2017
8.1
0.5
Feb 16 2017
0.5
Version: 8.1
What the hell I can't run it! Nothing works(
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Feb 11 2017
8.1
2.0
Feb 11 2017
2.0
Version: 8.1
"This version has not yet been fully qualified with macOS Sierra, but is now mostly working."

Way to go, Koingo!
Thanks for the "mostly working" software.

Why waste time thoroughly testing your app when you can just let your customers be the guinea pigs?

After all, that’s what the disclaimer in the license is there for, right?
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jun 15 2016
8.0.6
2.0
Jun 15 2016
2.0
Version: 8.0.6
This app has not yet been updated to protect against the Sparkle updater framework vulnerability that was discovered in Jan. 2016. Apps that use a vulnerable version of Sparkle and an unencrypted HTTP channel for server updates are at risk of being hijacked to transmit malicious code to end users.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jan 23 2016
8.0.6
2.0
Jan 23 2016
2.0
Version: 8.0.6
Found two more non-working functions:

Finder>Features>Quicklook: Allow text selection.
Startup>Mute startup chime

I'm aware that Quicklook text selection does NOT work in El Capitan, so I was surprised to see the function listed without any sort of notice that this function isn't available in OS X 10.11.
I thought maybe they'd found a way to make it work, but nope - it's useless (like koingo).

Even the very basic muting of the startup chime doesn't work!

Can't Koingo do ANYTHING right? (answer = NO).

OS X 10.11.2 & 10.11.3
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jan 6 2016
8.0.6
2.0
Jan 6 2016
2.0
Version: 8.0.6
I installed MacPilot an hour ago and already found a bug. No surprise there since it's Koingo software!

I installed it solely to securely delete a folder since my Path Finder won't do anything requiring a password right now and I USED to prefer MP over Cocktail/Onyx for its many extra functions.

It deleted the folder correctly.
But now it deletes EVERYTHING securely even though the "securely" box is UNchecked for erasing.

I uninstalled MacPilot to see if it would do that from a clean install or if it just got stuck in secure mode after I'd used it.

After re-installing I created an empty folder in my Downloads folder and used MP to erase it, making sure the "Securely" box was UNchecked (which it is by default).
I was asked for my password and then MP displayed a message that read: "Securely Deleting Folder MacPilot test Completed."

I didn't WANT it deleted securely!
Forgive me Koingo, I forgot that you know what the user needs better than the user does, and your software will function accordingly. I'm sure you had a good reason for overwriting an empty folder multiple times.

IDIOTS!

ALL Koingo software should come with a can of bug killer because you're gonna need it!
fwilkinson
fwilkinson
Nov 2 2015
8.0.5
3.0
Nov 2 2015
3.0
Version: 8.0.5
Seems ok got a new Mac and going nuts installing all sorts of things hopefully I don't mess up with these settings