Back to More Internet page
More Internet free download for Mac

More Internet Reviews

2.1.0
02 April 2006

Set helper apps for Internet protocols.

sjk
03 March 2011

Most helpful

This update is version 1.2, not 2.10.
Like (2)
Version 2.10

Read 17 More Internet User Reviews

Rate this app:

MD-Kearns
04 March 2011
You link is wrong, we are still downloading v1.2, which DOES NOT work on Intel Macs!
Like
Version 2.1.0
sjk
03 March 2011
This update is version 1.2, not 2.10.
Like (2)
Version 2.10
4 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
04 March 2011
There is no "update". Version 1.2 is from 2006. Someone has screwed up.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
04 March 2011
Yup, you're right. Dec. 2006 comments here are for v1.2.
Like
Nospam1
Nospam1
04 March 2011
Yes, sorry about that. I altered the download address and somehow the version number got changed. Apologies.
Like
-M-S-
-M-S-
04 March 2011
Sorry for the confusion, folks, the developer's info.plist file is full of contradictory version info. e.g. BundleVersion is specified as 123 ShortVersion is specified as 2.1.0 We were working off of the ShortVersion -- this should normally be 1.2, I'm not sure why the developer has it entered as 2.1.0 There is a mention of 1.2 in the info.plist, but rather than being a value that's specified as just "1.2" it's specified as "More Internet version v1.2" which goes against Apple's versioning guidelines. It's important for the version numbers on MU to reflect what version number value an app itself is reporting so MacUpdate Desktop and some of our other tools can properly work.
Like (1)
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Try RCDefaultApp if More Internet is giving you problems.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
23 July 2005
More Internet version 1.1.1 doesn't work with 10.4.2 Tiger. Tried to set 'irc' handler and it doesn't change anything, it might as well not even be there, since it still tries to open in safari which says "Safari can't open “irc://...” because Mac OS X doesn't recognize Internet addresses starting with “irc:”.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
17 February 2005
Doesn't work for me. It says: "There was a problem setting the app as the helper." What problem? What ca I do?
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
12 August 2004
Great! Works like it should, easy clean interface too. Please, only use it if you know what you're doing though. I'm using it on MacOS X 10.3.5, no crashing, unlike previous users reported.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
13 July 2004
Where in sys prefs? Please share with us.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
23 May 2004
Worked great under earlier OS X versions, but under 10.3 it causes System Preferences to crash on my Mac. Which isn't surprising since the developer hasn't updated this app in a long time. I recommend RCDefaultApp instead. It does everything More Internet does (minus the 10.3 crashing), as well as allowing you do explicitly *disable* URL schemes. And its developer is still maintaining it.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Ian.O
22 May 2004
I've installed the Security Update, how do I toggle Help from Chess back to HelpViewer? I (and the Finder) can't find a "HelpViewer" per se.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 May 2004
Help Viewer is in /System/Library/CoreServices/
Like
Version 1.1.1
Kiwigray
21 March 2004
Works well. I hate Apple's seemingly nasty idea of forcing you to use Safari and Mail to tell your System that you don't want to use them, if you know what I mean. Seems they are trying to learn from Microsoft who tried to force you to use IE.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 May 2004
"Comment by kiwigray: Works well. I hate Apple's seemingly nasty idea of forcing you to use Safari and Mail to tell your System that you don't want to use them, if you know what I mean. Seems they are trying to learn from Microsoft who tried to force you to use IE. (3/21/2004, Version: 1.1.1" You can do this in System preferences too.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
27 October 2003
Great, but I wish 'file helpers' was also included in this instead of just for setting protocol helpers.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
23 October 2003
Great app. It allows me to click on FTP links in Safari and use Transmit instead of the Finder (which locks up regularly when connecting to remote servers.)
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
07 October 2003
This is very handy... makes a simple operation simple. Thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
06 October 2003
I second the last review below. The French localization is somewhat highly weird and should be removed from More Internet. Otherwise, great tool, make IE useless! Yahoo!!!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
26 September 2003
Terrible French localization.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
24 September 2003
Cool! Now we can get rid of M$ Internet Exploiter for good! Works like a charm, easy to use, looks good and is free!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
19 September 2003
Simply amazing, internet config is back!
Like
Version 1.1