Back to DVDRemaster page
DVDRemaster free download for Mac

DVDRemaster Reviews

8.0.3
14 December 2012

Duplicate, burn or convert DVD movies to iPod, iPhone or Apple TV.

Steve-Wisotsky
15 June 2009

Most helpful

I've had DVD Remaster since the promo in 2008. After getting the new version of DVD Remaster Pro in the latest promo, I emailed Metakine about gifting my original copy (version 4.x). Without hesitation they emailed the new registration info for my daughter. I replied with a thank you and asked them if they could send me the link to download the 4.x disk image. Was I surprised when I got an email back with the following: "I sent you a license for DVDRemaster 5.x Pro so she can just download the latest version from our website" How many companies would do that? A great gesture from a great company (and great software). Thank you Metakine!
Like (16)
Version 5.1.3

Read 156 DVDRemaster User Reviews

Rate this app:

Robk
01 December 2019
Here is an update. On my Mac running High Sierra, DVDRemaster Pro v7.2 (App Store Version) and DVDRemaster v8.0.3 (Download version) appear to run just fine. But when I first run DVDRemaster v8.0.3, I always get this message "Do you want the application “h264daemon” to accept incoming network connections?". Click Allow and all will be fine or change your Firewall settings accordingly. It is a pity that the program is no longer being developed. There really is not a good alternative for Mac users who want to compress DVD's.
Like
Version 8.0.3
jeteacher2002
22 February 2019
Can anybody help me and advice me as to how I may retrieve my Licence Key code for my DVDremaster which I purchased quite sometime ago. Unfortunately I had a lot of problems with my Mac El Capitan and since then I have lost so many folders and files including all of my Licence key codes for lots of software products which I had bought in the past. Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much.
Like
Version 8.0.3
2 answer(s)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
22 February 2019
Hi
Did you try to contact Developer dvdremaster@metakine.com ?
Like
jeteacher2002
jeteacher2002
23 February 2019
Hello iurii,
Thank you so much for your kind reply, I really appreciate it. Actually I have tried to contact the actual developer through every possible website address that I could find but I think they are probably no longer in business, which a great shame as I really loved this product. It is the only product that I know about that can actually copy a movie with excellent picture quality results just by copying the movie from a TS Video File. Most other similar products on the market are only able to copy a movie from a DVD or an original copy of the DVD movie. If you do know of any other software that is able to copy a movie just from the TS Video file, then please be so kind as to let me know. Thanks again my friend.
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
19 July 2017
I'm using the latest version of Sierra, and this app still works flawlessly, I will continue to use it until it no longer works. Yes, some of the technology has been incorporated into Mac DVDRipper Pro (MDRP), but the vast array of editable compression features has not. I still use this for compressing a dual-layer DVD into a single layer.
Like
Version 8.0.3
1 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
31 January 2018
7.0.2 (licensed user) does not work on El Capitan. Opens but crashes while ripping.
Like
Solo68
12 November 2015
Does anyone know if version 8.0.3 works on El Capitan?
Like
Version 8.0.3
5 answer(s)
Solo68
Solo68
14 November 2015
In case anyone else is wondering this, 8.0.3 does work on El Capitan.
Like (2)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
19 July 2017
Yes, it works on El Capitan and Sierra.
Like
Uncoy
Uncoy
31 January 2018
8.0.3 works on El Capitan (WillianCMP copy). My original copy of 7.0.2 does not work on El Capitan as noted above. I don't have a 7.2 to try (the last version of v7 might work).
Like
8enoit
8enoit
03 January 2019
7.2 does not work on High Sierra.
Like
Robk
Robk
01 December 2019
DVDRemaster Pro 7.2 (App Store Version) still works on my Mac Running High Sierra.
Like
Version 8.0.3
bryanc-villegas
18 November 2014
Oh, my god! It has been merged! Can't believe in it!
Like (2)
Version 8.0.3
2 answer(s)
WillianCMP
WillianCMP
28 May 2015
I really feel sorry for this application have been discontinued :( I also know that download it's still available but predicting that soon possibly he will no longer be available, I will provide a link for posterity. If someday the official link becomes offline have this always online:

https://cl.ly/bByI/DVDRemaster_8.0.3.7z
Like (3)
Uncoy
Uncoy
31 January 2018
Thanks for that link. Working.
Like
jprokos
18 February 2014
I had licenses for both software titles before they merged.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.3
SickTeddyBear
18 November 2013
Here's the official final word from the Metakine web site: "DVDRemaster has been acquired by DVDSuki Software and is no longer for sale. Parts of it will be integrated into Mac DVDRipper Pro." That means that DVDRemaster is no longer going to be a standalone product. That sucks. I always found DVDRemaster to be the best alternative to the recently problem plagued DVD2OneX. Oh well, life goes on.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.3
3 answer(s)
MuchMac
MuchMac
06 December 2013
DVDRemaster was/is my go-to application for high quality subtitles when I can't get good subtitles (= CC) with Handbrake. I hope all of the subtitle capabilities makes it into a future version of MDRP (which I also own). FWIW, I have had zero issues running DVDRemaster on Mavericks; found Metakine support to be responsive and helpful via email Q&A when I had questions.
Like
Mar6473
Mar6473
04 January 2014
I've upgraded DVD Remaster through 4 versions I think. What a drag. Companies should sell a lifetime license where you could get your money back if they close down. I'd pay extra upfront for something like this.
Like
M-Luther
M-Luther
17 February 2014
@ Mar6473 - You do realize Metakine had expenses related to the development and support of the DVD Remaster software over the years, right? How do you expect Metakine (or ANY software developer, for that matter) to refund every penny you and every other user paid into the product over the years?
Like (4)
jreffner
25 October 2013
This app is no longer listed on Metakine's site. Is it discontinued? It was the best at what it di, but just like the last person to post, there were problems with versions 7 & 8 that were never resolved. I suppose thats because they knew it was going to be abandoned. Sad, this was a very easy and flexible transcoder. I especially loved the ability to do hard or soft subtitles.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.3
2 answer(s)
Andrew-Scott
Andrew-Scott
26 October 2013
Metakine's website says: "Where is DVDRemaster? DVDRemaster has been sold to the company making Mac DVDRipper Pro. If you purchased DVDRemaster from us and need support, please contact us by email." I own a copy of MDRP and I still choose to use DVDRemaster because of the control it gives over subtitles, etc.. But doesn't work under Mavericks. I've emailed them and hope for a response soon.
Like (1)
jreffner
jreffner
26 October 2013
Andrew-Scott, Thanks for the info. I hope it is going to live on. It is a great app.
Like
Fightingcat
27 April 2013
I spend a lot of time to this app. Since version 4 I used it and was happy with it until the point who I bought an Apple TV. For the latest Update from version 7 to 8 I waste my money (again). What's happen? Near the (silent) end of version 7 I was starting a conversation with the support around coding my videos with Dolby Sourround 5.1 for my Apple TV. My problem is, that if I coding a video with a dolby digital 5.1 track, it takes a lot of time on my Apple TV (3. Gen) to load and start the movie. My hope was was, that I can found a solution with metakine to let coding my videos correctly, place them in iTunes and select them from my Apple TV with a quick playback after selecting the movie. I also give them the tip, that a coding with Dolby Sourround 5.1 will work perfectly when I using the free HandBrake application, who's Open Source. The developer promised me, to look at this problem to fix it with a future update, but they don't. A few months later, they deliver version 8 and at this point I was knowing, that I never will got a fix for my "5.1" problem in version 7, so I decide to buy version 8 to. I'm still waiting for a fix of that and I'm not the only one. Also you need to know, that DVDRemaster is not able to rip DVDs who are copy protected. With version 7 they also delicver the tool "FairMount" who was for free. This tool using the source of the VLC Media Player to mount each DVD as an image to safe it on the Hard Drive of your mac. With Version 8 they announced, that metakine has sold the app to Mac DVDRipper Pro. Since them you are not longer able to download FairMount for free. So if you want to safe a DRM protected DVD, you need Mac DVDRipper Pro or RipIt, who are booth shareware to. Booth applications can convert movies to an iOS format to btw. Well... You have not so much settings as on DVDRemaster. The only good thing of this application is, that it looks nice and easy and it works good with subtitles. But you can do the most with the Open Source Application HandBrake to. This Softare came with different predefinied settings to for different devices and you are also able to edit each config and safe them for later, when you want. Only the Subtilte thing is sadly not the best on HandBrake. With this deal you didn't safe realy much money (and there where be much better deals in the past for this software). It's an to expensive application for that what you can do with it. And be warned, that you must pay for each big update 9,99 US Dollar. And don't trust the low version numbers. The next version can berelased soon... Version 4 was relased in 2008 Version 5 was relased on Feb. 2009 version 6 was relased on Dec. 2009 Version 7 was relased on Feb. 2011 Version 8 was relased on Jul. 2012 My tip: If you just want to safe a DVD on your HD and search for a simple solution to convert it for you iOS devices, spend your money to Mac DVDRipper Pro or RipIt. They also came with a quick and good solution to convert a video. If you want to have a better control on the final coding for other decives, give HandBrake a try, who's for free. The price for this application is overpriced.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.3
Metamatician
21 April 2013
I have the latest version of RipIt already. Does DVDRemaster do anything significantly different that that app? Or is it just a competitor and they basically do the same thing... rip from DVDs and transcode to various video/audio formats? Thanks!
Like
Version 8.0.3
GeogProf
14 December 2012
DVDRemaster 8.0.4 cranks up the CPU to 77% on my Late-2006 2.16 GHz Core2Duo iMac with 2 GB of RAM running Mac OS 10.6.8, and to 35% on my Mid-2012 2.9 GHz Core i7 MacBook Pro with 8 GB of RAM running Mac OS 10.8.2. The CPU remains cranked up until I finally have to close the app. Anyone else having this problem?
Like (1)
Version 8.0.3
GeogProf
24 July 2012
Though this MacUpdate page says DVDRemaster Pro, v. 8.0.1 no longer says ‘Pro' anywhere, nor is that word to be found on the developer’s website anymore. What gives?
Like (2)
Version 8.0.1
4 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
01 August 2012
Yup, like I already mentioned in a reply to Balzercomp.
Like (1)
-M-S-
-M-S-
01 August 2012
The name was simply changed with 8.0 and "Pro" was dropped. There is no Pro/non-Pro version, it's just one version. I have updated the name of the MacUpdate listing, thanks for pointing it out.
Like
sjk
sjk
01 August 2012
Thanks for the listing update, Misha.
Like (1)
Cgc
Cgc
17 August 2012
Seems like every app adds "pro" to it. Kind of an annoying trend as they aren't professional level apps, just good.
Like (2)
Fightingcat
20 July 2012
I using this applications since a long time for now and buy the upgrades several times. The god thing is, that this software is very easy to use. You have an little all rounder who can rip DVDs (you need FairMount if the DVD is protected and VLC 1.X), converting the movies in different formats (Quicktime Movie, iPod/iPhone, iPad, Apple TV and more) or export single files from the DVD with only less clicks. So you will make nothing wrong if you search for an simple solution to safe your DVD's on the Mac. That's are the good things. The bad part is the very long time who this app need to convert a movie. I have no idea why this happen, because HandBrake doing it quit faster and it's for free. On my core 2 duo a full DVD copy who's safed on my HD needs around 40 minutes, on DVDRemaster I need to wait over one hour for an final result. This can happen because of some video-settings, not sure but I'm very happy to with the results of HandBrake. The other negative thing is the support for the Apple TV in combination with Dolby Surround (AC3 Passthrough). I have made a lot of different testings with the latest version of DVD Remaster Pro 7 and now with 8 to, but it's ever the same result. If I'm choosing the Dolby track and a non-coding for that track, the Apple TV 3 will need a lot of time to start the movie (around 6 minutes). This is unacceptable for me. I try the same stuff with HandBrake and on this app it works absolutely perfect. My movie has a stereo and dolby channel after the export and the movie starts immediately on the Apple TV. I explain this problem in several mails to the developer and he collect all my informations, but he can't say me anything about the status or future plans. Now they deliver an update of DVD Remaster 8 and in the change log is still nothing around the bad coding around AC3 Passtrought. This makes me a bit angry.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
1 answer(s)
camlf
camlf
30 December 2012
I have the same issue regarding the AC3 passthrough. Since movies from the iTunes store have both AAC and AC3 sound tracks and play perfectly, a simple inspection should provide enough clue to fix this.
Like
Fariborz
18 July 2012
DVDRemaster 8 is not yet available on Mac Store. How can users who bought it from the store upgrade to the latest version? Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
6 answer(s)
Abisinthe
Abisinthe
18 July 2012
It's only available from the Metakine's store from their website at the moment from what I can see, I assume they will update the description above when it's available in the MAS to include now available in the Mac Store.
Like
Fariborz
Fariborz
18 July 2012
Hello Megan Cooke and thank you very much for your advice. All the best.
Like
Balzercomp
Balzercomp
20 July 2012
There's no upgrade through the MAS. Metakine provided DVDRemaster 8 as a new application and removed DVDRemaster 7. This way they can avoid the MAS rule of free updates. Like MeggyC wrote, to update your version, you have to switch form the MAS-version to the version that one cane download from the Metakine site.
Like (1)
Fariborz
Fariborz
20 July 2012
Hello Balzercomp and thank you for your reply. I had imagined that it would be this way because it's not the first time I experience such a problem thanks to policy changing of some Mac developers. Sometimes this issue is the other way round i.e. developers decide to sell exclusively on Mac Store and no longer support their products in the traditional way. There have always been cons and pros for such behaviors. Some users consider it an offense that Apple charges developers exorbitant fees to sell their products on their site and attack indiscriminately all users who dare to buy on Mac Store (just see the negative smiley I got for daring to ask a simple question on Mac Store). Others just agree that this policy keeps their products always up-to-date without further hustle and bustle and therefore buy only on Mac Store. I don't know who's right or wrong here and don't support any particular group. What I know best is that such conflicts always end against the innocent end users like us and add another headache to our already troublesome daily life! Thanks again for your kind reply and cheers.
Like (2)
sjk
sjk
20 July 2012
@Balzercomp: > Metakine provided DVDRemaster 8 as a new application and removed DVDRemaster 7. And there's only one v8, with the "Pro" features but without that name suffix; separate Pro/non-Pro versions are gone. I sent MacUpdate an update request last week to remove "Pro" from the product listing here.
Like
Bontfaen
Bontfaen
01 August 2012
It's available now for a specially reduced price on the AppStore for a limited period. Mike
Like (1)
Stike
16 July 2012
Does it also convert Blu-ray streams or images?
Like
Version 8.0
Scrivens
15 July 2012
Just a heads up - Fairmount is no longer shipped with DVDRemaster, so keep your old copy.
Like (5)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Katbel
Katbel
15 July 2012
I found that on 6/26/2012. Fairmount has been acquired by DVDSuki Software and has been merged into Mac DVDRipper Pro.
Like (4)
SickTeddyBear
14 July 2012
Thank you, Metakine! My upgrade from 7.2 to 8.0 was free, with no hassle! :-)
Like
Version 8.0
uniquemhg
17 March 2012
I've spent over two hours trying to make Fairmount work and detect VLC media player 32 bit. Nothing doing. Support material seriously lacking.
Like (2)
Version 7.2
1 answer(s)
arnaud-
arnaud-
21 March 2012
I wrote them and I received a reply almost immediatly. You have to download VLC 1. Here is the link that they sent me: http://download.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/1.1.11/macosx/ It works like a charm!
Like (2)
Mebear
10 January 2012
I have had this application a long time and have gone thru a number of upgrade cycles. The app has consistently gotten better. It is very easy to use and it has always done what I needed easily - the key is easily. Keep up the good work.
Like (1)
Version 7.2
SickTeddyBear
26 December 2011
I found this interesting tidbit of info on the developer's web site: "The two recompression modules distributed with DVDRemaster are developed and released under the GNU General Public License. This means that their source code is available." http://metakine.com/products/dvdremaster/developers.html
Like (1)
Version 7.1.4
smtips
13 November 2011
I thought I'd give this a try (again) because I have a stubborn dvd. As in the past, I am stunned at the lack of quality output with this app. Not only does it not save a file as an MP4 when I select it, saves it as .m4v, but the quality is horrible. Artifacting all over the video. I cannot recommend this. You should compare MPEG Streamclip and VisualHub (VH has been discontinued for a long time but still works fine)to this, you too will be amazed at the awful output this does.
Like (1)
Version 7.1.3
4 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
03 December 2011
mp4 and m4v are just containers. the format in either case is x264/mpeg-4.
Like (1)
Haibara
Haibara
04 December 2011
.m4v *is* .mp4 - it's just a naming convention used to show what's in the .mp4 container (.m4v is a video file, .m4a is an audio-only file, .m4p is a protected stream, etc.)
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
05 December 2011
Differences between M4V and MP4 are mentioned here: M4V - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M4v
Like
Robotank
Robotank
11 December 2011
The main reason to use the M4V extension for basic video conversion sans DRM, like DVDRemaster provides, is that QuickTime/iTunes will only recognize certain features, like AC-3 audio and chapter markers, in a file with the M4V extension.
Like (3)
Mikebenda
09 October 2011
I've been trying out the demo and it seems like a great application. It runs quickly, without hiccups, and seems to accept any DVD I give it. The presets are also a good thing. The only thing that's stopping me from buying it is the price. The developer is asking, twice the price of Ripit, which is an excellent app and does the same thing. I just need something to put get of my DVDs onto my iPad so that I can watch them during flights. At a $25 price point I'd buy this in a second.
Like (3)
Version 7.1.2
1 answer(s)
Sir-Sixty-Nine
Sir-Sixty-Nine
30 November 2011
why r u talking like linux lovers dude? yeah its quick ugly stupid dirty N there is 1000000 softs better then this stupid soft.tac car booboo
Like
Rinkus
15 September 2011
A MUSTHAVE!
Like (1)
Version 7.1.2
Afcgbbob
15 September 2011
Although DVDRP is a very good item for converting in using and implementing I have yet to see any program out there that can do what VisualHub can do. VH is the swiss army of video converters. It can switch any type of video format into another and is so simple to use that you can figure it out on your own. I have tested so many video converters over the years and I have found all of them to be average due to limited amount of material you can put on them, too complex to use, or just does not produce that quality that VH does. How many Video Converters can put on a single sided disc up to 9+ hours plus in Dolby 2.0, control the amplitude in the sound and a rich variety of controls for the video. For the latter section I did have to refer to the manual. I am not knocking DVDRP it is good but, it just does not match VH in ability. Sadly the guy wrote VH gave on at version 1.3.5 and there is no way to buy it or even find a serial number for it. But, he did leave the source code to open to anyone who wanted to try to carry on the project. I guess you would call this a combination review and commentary. I use VH 1.3.4 where through hard work through Google I found a password to it and have used it for years now. I can put up to 12 shows of V on one disk which is an entire season. There may be a little in quality but, it is better than 2 shows to a disk box set. I just wish someone would look at the source code and see if they could carry on with VH because if the original programmer di he would of had a truly commercial software that he could have sold for $69.99 - $100. I have reviewed Mac sw for over 25 years and I know a winner when I see one and in my years I have yet to be wrong. End of Line... PS: For those that might be curious about my tag at the end of most of my comments, that was how I would end my articles that I wrote for different mags and ezines like atpm.com
Like (1)
Version 7.1.2
1 answer(s)
Lolita
Lolita
07 January 2012
Afcgbbob, you’re comparing apples and oranges. VisualHub does not have DVDRemaster Pro’s main capability, which is to ripping a retail DVD (with the help of Fairmount), removing all the content you don’t want (subtitles, extras, director’s commentaries, extra audio tracks, whatever), and then re-compressing it into a new DVD that virtually any standalone player can handle. DVDRemaster can also perform more mundane A/V tasks, like extracting video and audio elementary streams and subtitles (though there are freeware apps that do so equally well or better, like MKVtools, MP4tools, AVItools, MKVtoolnix, iMkvExtract, File Juicer, the great MPEG Streamclip, the overpriced DVDxDV Pro, and the delusionally overpriced Cinematize). And as you said, DVDRemaster can export vids from retail DVDs to other formats. But I doubt that a lot people use it that way because there are many freeware and shareware apps that can produce results that are of equal or better quality. Nevertheless, as far as I know, there are no apps that can do what I described in the 1st paragraph above.
Like (1)
blotterg
01 August 2011
Love this app, though I wish it were compatible with more....
Like (1)
Version 7.1.0
madeforipod
23 June 2011
When it comes to ripping and remastering you can rely on DVDRemaster but for exporting I wouldn't recommend it. I tried every single export option and I must say that the picture quality is very bad, especially if there is a rapid movement in the scene. In order to get a decent quality I first had to export the movie as a .mov and that convert it with Handbrake to m4v. On top of that you must now that you CAN'T have the subtitles the way they are in the DVD. DVDRemaster has a feature called Soft-Subtitles, which turns subtitle images into text by running optical character recognition algorithms. This is a good feature, because in iTunes when you open the movie you can select multiple subtitles and you are not forced to burn the subtitle. But Soft-Subtitles only works for english, because when it comes to other languages such as german or french, it does not recognize the special characters and converts them to silly letters, which makes it very difficult to read. So overall it is a good app for ripping and remastering but for exporting to other formats (such as m4v, mov, mp4 or for your iDevices) or adding subtitles other that english it won't satisfy you.
Like (3)
Version 7.0.4
1 answer(s)
Makira
Makira
10 July 2011
Soft-subtitles are optional, you can use burned-in subtitles in the advanced settings. As for quality, it really depends on the preset you used.
Like (1)
Macrobert
17 June 2011
I got an e-mail from Metakine today saying that only this weekend, until June 19, 2011, I can transfer my license of DVDRemaster 7.0 to the Mac App Store for $4.99 (or € 3.99 in my case, for European users). Though I did feel a bit compelled (as in: why should I pay for this since I already have a license for DVDRemaster Pro), a sense of urgency , brought on by, as the email states, the "limited time opportunity" to "transfer my license" to the MAS, made me decide to do so (also because I will be too busy this weekend to contact Metakine and ask them about this hurry to transfer in this way the license to the MAS on such short notice, even with the incentive of 90% off the price.) After downloading from the MAS and restarting, I now have version 7.0.3 (!), where before I had 7.0.4. As mentioned, I already had a license for DVDRemaster Pro. After restarting, there now is no mention of a license or my name, as licensee. Maybe because from now on it is being handled by the Mac App Store? Anyway, I am wondering when I will be able to again update (via the MAS) to V 7.0.4 again...
Like (2)
Version 7.0.4
1 answer(s)
Makira
Makira
10 July 2011
Apple is taking an abnormal amount of time to review 7.0.4. Unfortunately, Apple is giving absolutely no information as to what is going on.. as usual.
Like
Walruscp
17 June 2011
You can buy this on the MAS for $5 this weekend (June 17-19). Nice if you want to transfer your license, upgrade, or purchase for the first time.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.4
pauljpimentel
21 May 2011
awesome customer support
Like (2)
Version 7.0.3
1 answer(s)
Winstonsmith
Winstonsmith
27 July 2011
How about a product review? 4 1/2 stars for customer support - does that mean you needed a lot of support?
Like
Paolo-Paulsen1
18 April 2011
I was searching for some software to save my DVD collection on my Macbook just to have the possibility to watch a movie when I am not home. I tried quite a few apps just like handbrake and mactheripper and stuff like that. Finally, I came across Mac DVD Ripper, which only copies the content to hdd but doesn't shrink it. They recommend DVDRemaster Pro for Mac so I tried the trial and I have to say, that (at least) ripping and shrinking is done very easily with just a few clicks. It's that easy: insert DVD. Select what you want (either the complete DVD, just the main title or convert it for your portable devices). DVDRemaster scans the DVD and you can set the options (i.e. the specific quality, audio, subtitles, single or double layer and so on). Then you set the place where to save or burn to and that's it. Simply press Start and everything is up to your hdd/recordable. And I have to say it's quite fast and without any worries. It just works. And if you have copy protected media, there's this tiny little tool called Fairmount which uses your VLC Player to decrypt it on the fly. So that's what I call a program. It's just your perfect companion. And it won't let you down.
Like (3)
Version 7.0.2
pgray
18 March 2011
Absolutely fabulous, but... I'd love to see more pre-set workflows built into the Application. Such as a one-click option that would copy the video_ts folder to your hard drive, re-encode video according to your settings, and finally delete the copied video_ts folder. Not surprisingly, encoding a DVD from your hard drive takes significantly less time than running off the disc itself. And yet each step needs to be done manually currently?
Like (3)
Version 7.0.1
Robk
17 March 2011
I recently upgraded from DVDRemaster Pro v7.0.0 to 7.0.1. AFter the upgrade, DVDRemaster Pro failed to launch. It would just keep on bouncing on the Dock and it would turn on Video Mirroring. Dragging any Window was VERY slow. I had to FORCE QUIT DVDRemaster Pro. Then I had to restart my laptop in order to turn off video mirroring. I trashed the DVDRemaster Pro app and the plist file. Then I reinstalled v7.0.1. Same problem. I then reinstalled the older version 7.0.0. Now DVDRemaster Pro is working again. If you are having problems, you may want to go back to version 7. P.S. I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.6 on a 2010 Macbook Pro.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
JoSchu
14 March 2011
The new feature to include multiple audio and subtitles tracks is absolutely great. The subtitles can be included soft so you can turn them on/off and choose between them. With the fix in 7.0.1 subtitles will be shown perfectly on apple TV. It's not only a breeze to convert a DVD including multiple audio and subtitle tracks. I also do not know any other software which includes subtitles soft (Handbrake can do it, if you have the subtitles as files, it will not extract them from DVD).
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
Jimblue
13 March 2011
now this is what i call a nice update.
Like (4)
Version 7.0.1
Reel-mac
07 March 2011
This software is very easy to use and I it seems rock-solid. It does everything it claims to do, but I wish I could do two things more: 1) Override the "MY_NEW_DVD" destination folder. Even when I custom-name a VIDEO_TS folder, DVDRemaster will still sometimes name everything "MY_NEW_DVD," which makes the batch export feature useless in some cases (because everything is named the same). 2) Export and/or Remaster selected chapters. For instance, if I want to export only chapters 3 and 10 from a training DVD and have them merged into one single VIDEO_TS. These aren't criticisms, because I like the software and it works well, but just suggestions based on my personal use.
Like (4)
Version 7.0.0
0advena0
15 February 2011
I've had DVDremasterPro for ages. It's a stable & solid piece of software & only requires minimal monkeying around to get things set up perfectly. I'm nearly positive it has never crashed on me and the one time I had to talk to the devs they were quick and responsive. Highly recommended.
Like (3)
Version 7.0.0
Monzterdk
12 February 2011
this app seems like a good investment ! but i have a question ! i use a 8core (hyper-threaded)64bit CPU does this program make use of the 64bit cpu's like Handbrake is able to I.E. when i am converting this option is alpha & Omega... The rest looks like a must have !! ..../ Monzterdk
Like (2)
Version 7.0.0
Tpromix
10 February 2011
yearly updates, best features, FAST, gorgeous and reliable...! is there more?
Like (1)
Version 7.0.0
Lotsofjoy
09 February 2011
I've been a mac user since day 1 (seriously... for all you old timers, my first mac was a Lisa. You youngin's can google it! LOL). I love this software. I've tried Handbrake, I used to own DVD Copy (before it went belly up), and I've tried a bunch of others that were so bad I don't even remember what they were called. DVD Remaster is the most comprehensive and user friendly of them all. I know it's not free, but I'd rather have something this through and easy to use. I've been on board since version 4 and I'll be buying upgrades for as long as they let me!
Like (1)
Version 7.0.0
Gwofl
08 February 2011
Ce qu'il y a de bien avec DVDRemaster, c'est l'ensemble. Le logiciel est formidable, une référence absolue en la matière, à la fois qualitativement et "ergonomiquement" ; le staff est vraiment génial, et n'hésite pas à vous apporter des réponses rapides et personnelles, concrètes, efficaces, à la hauteur d'un grand service clientèle. Bref, si le logiciel peu devenir un peu cher notamment lorsque se surviennent les rares MàJ payantes, la qualité et le suivi personnel sont au rendez-vous : quoiqu'il arrive vous ne regretterez pas votre achat ! Bravo Metakine !
Like (2)
Version 7.0.0
Snow440
08 February 2011
This is for sure the best software I've ever used to backup my DVD's into my MBP and Iphone 4, (I use RipIt application to "rip" them all). Also the customer service is absolutely fast.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.0
Walruscp
05 February 2011
Great application that works as advertised. That said, I am not sure the new features being offered alone are worth the price of a paid upgrade for most users. Personally, I expect more for a new version jump and don't see any reason to pay for an upgrade from 6 to 7.
Like (8)
Version 7.0.0
9 answer(s)
Colossus9
Colossus9
05 February 2011
I, agree. I just bought a license this past June. I don't see that much of an improvement to justify a paid upgrade for this app. It's a great app and it's a welcomed addition to my tool box.
Like (5)
Doppelbock
Doppelbock
06 February 2011
Yup, totally agree. I've upgraded twice already from previous version without much hesitation but when I saw this one my reaction was "again already?" and "for these minor trivial features?" So for me....not this time.
Like (5)
Nomad11
Nomad11
06 February 2011
Same for me as well. I paid for the last upgrade in the end of october. It's in my view too early for another paid upgrade with rather "minor trivial features"
Like (3)
Abrasif
Abrasif
07 February 2011
Just to clarify, the last paid update was 14 months ago and DVDRemaster 7.x includes the top 3 most requested features. If you are not interested in the new features in DVDRemaster 7.x you are free to continue using DVDRemaster 6.x but make sure to email us the features you would like to see in the subsequent versions.
Like (2)
Colossus9
Colossus9
07 February 2011
We appreciate your response. But, the latest upgrade for version 6 was 6.4 and that was provided last October. I'm not trying to depreciate this application and Metakine. In my opinion jumping from 6.4 to 7 for $9.95 when the latest upgrade was offered in October 2010. Only those that bought a license in November 2010 (a month after the latest upgrade) are eligible for a free upgrade.
Like (4)
Abrasif
Abrasif
07 February 2011
@Colussus9 Updates within a major version (e.g. 6.3 to 6.4) are always free. So DVDRemaster 6.4 was a free update for 6.x customers. As I said, the last paid update (i.e 5.3 to 6.0) was ~14 months ago.
Like (1)
Walruscp
Walruscp
07 February 2011
"Just to clarify, the last paid update was 14 months ago and DVDRemaster 7.x includes the top 3 most requested features." Yes and I have noticed Metakine is wedded to a 12-14 month paid upgrade cycle. While these 3 new features may have been highly requested, in and of themselves they are not such powerful features (imho) to warrant a full version update. Personally, this looks like it should be version 6.5. Obviously I am not alone in my opinion. The difference between version 5 and 6, for example, was large enough that I was happy to pay the upgrade fee. Not so much this time around., and I am afraid any bug fixes that may or may not be necessary in 2011 will be lost to me as a result.
Like (5)
Staloysius777
Staloysius777
07 February 2011
I use DVDRemaster quite often and it's only gotten better with age, just like good wine. It's reliable, inexpensive and well maintained. Thank you Etienne Clement and MetaKine!! --Allen
Like (1)
Craig42a
Craig42a
12 February 2011
Have to agree with the group. I choked when I got an email it had just been upgraded and I would have to fork over more money if I wanted to keep it up to date. It's a good question whether these new features are that substantial or not. Well, maybe substantial to some people, but from what I gather not the majority all that much. You guys do have fair upgrade pricing, so Kudos to you. Just wish I saw more new features in this one. (BTW, Version 5 to 6 was 6.99 and version 6 to 7 is 9.95). However, if version 7 is faster than version 6, then this makes it well worth the upgrade price. I would say that's the number one feature request among the populace—speed. And the number one area where this needs improvement in the conversion to other video formats. I have been disappointed with every developer so far in regards to the speed of video conversion, but this is also due to a technical limitation, I'm sure. Someone needs to figure this out.
Like (2)
lrowan
04 February 2011
DVDRemaster is an absolutely imprescindible app for all people that have to manage video files. In tems of reducing the size of an DVD9 file to an DVD5 one it's simply the better, no doubt. Fast as no other app is. But there's many other features. In this moment I don't know if there is a trial version, but if it is so, you must to test it. I have used it for years and I'm very satisfied and it is each time better.
Like (4)
Version 7.0.0
1 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
04 February 2011
It's so amazing that you made up a word to describe it! :-O
Like (7)
fr0z3ng33k
03 February 2011
I use Ripit and Handbrake along with this app. If a movie wont copy with one product I use the other, but these three which I call the tri"fect-a" are incredible! A must buy!!!
Like (4)
Version 6.4.0
2 answer(s)
Zunga
Zunga
04 February 2011
Same thing here, except that I use MacDVDRipperPro, not Handbrake. It works even better then RipIt, and has become my first choice for ripping discs; then it comes DVDRemaster Pro: a must have if you burn your backups on 4.7GB discs, not so much if you store them on a media player (no need to compress them, in that case... the latest hard disks are really huge).
Like (3)
Ibeme
Ibeme
04 February 2011
Have to agree here--about it ripping a DVD when other software won't/can't. In addition, it does a great job converting movies for the iPad/iPhone/iPod Touch if you don't want to mess with Handbrake (though it's not a replacement for Handbrake),
Like (3)
BruceInHawaii
06 January 2011
This is a great product that is easy to use. I use it to take videos that I've ripped and reformat them so they can be added to iTunes. I had a tech question and the tech support is outstanding.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.0
DjPadz
02 January 2011
This is a great application for converting DVDs for use with iTunes. It has that perfect balance between ease-of-use, and advanced features for those who are so inclined. Updates are frequent, and the author is very responsive to support emails. The fact that it's bundled with FairMount makes it that much more convenient. Don't shy away from it because of the price; there are other products out there that do what DVDRemaster does, but they lack the polish and ease-of-use, not to mention the level of support from the developer!
Like (1)
Version 6.4.0
Juraj-kuban
14 December 2010
Stable version with frequent updates, nice feature is multilingual support for media files. Missing possibility to pause converting, the offer of settings not so easy, also more parameters to set up should be welcome, also conversion one format to another - all in one apps.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.0
Mrmkirsch
04 October 2010
I rely on this program exclusively to convert DVD content to movie files for viewing via Apple TV. For a long time I used the included FreeMount software, but after coming into possession of iRip via a promo package, I now use iRip to image DVDs and then use DVD Remaster Pro to do the actual conversion. One think I like but was not aware of until recently is the ability to specify the actual filename for the output file, and to include other information such as the year of the movie, the genre, and "comments" which, when imported into iTunes, show up on the TV screen in the Apple TV Movies menu. Definitely worth owning this application!
Like (5)
Version 6.3.4
anonymous-mule-4061
24 September 2010
Very nice program. Easy to use: 5 minutes with the Help menu was enough to grasp the essentials, and get up and running. Decently fast (which is adjustable according to quality desired), and I really like that it doesn't eat up the CPU like similar programs I've used. Just a few of the nice features are: the ability to do a full remaster, or copy only the main movie, or any particular part of a disc; remove the UOPs (User Operation Prohibited flags); compress dual-layer down to a single layer; and the ability to choose the blank DVD before the encoding so that it is all one step. Many other features to explore. Like that they put out Fairmount, too, which was nice.
Like (4)
Version 6.3.4
mday108
18 May 2010
I have been using DVDRemaster since version 4 and I have been consistently satisfied since the beginning. Originally, it was my inability to be able to figure out Handbrake that caused me to find this gem. DVDRemaster is easier to configure, plus it does so much more AND...the developer has made it really easy to understand what to do and how to do it. My work often requires my going out into rural areas and sharing A/V information with people. There's a tremendous lack of security in the areas where I go and so it's not safe to take a laptop. DVDRemaster effectively and painlessly enables me to convert certain DVD material so that I can take it with me on my iPod Touch which enables me to get my work done without inviting assault or robbery. This application may be simple to use but it's really comprehensive in terms of all that it can do. In light of this, even though certain functions in DVDRemaster are invaluable for my work right now...I don't yet use all that it can help me with and so I look forward to using many other parts of it as my life changes over the next few years. Customer Service/ Tech Support is also excellent and genuine.
Like (7)
Version 6.3.1
2 answer(s)
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
18 July 2010
Comparisons with Handbrake don't make sense. They have entirely different purposes. Handbrake is solely for converting DVD or other video to MP4/M4v or MKV, where this remasters a DVD for burning.
Like (1)
Version 6.3.3
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
17 August 2010
I was aware that DVDRemaster is able to transcode. I was thinking mostly about the fact that Handbrake is NOT for DVD manipulation, which is fairly central to this (the name and all). I like both apps for different purposes. I've not seen anything to match the quality of transcodes via Handbrake.
Like
Version 6.3.4