Back to CopyWrite page
CopyWrite free download for Mac

CopyWrite Reviews

2.296
11 September 2009

Project management tool for writers.

Lord-Lightning
13 March 2007

Most helpful

Can't see a single function here that Scrivener doesn't do better. Much, much better. http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener.html Sorry Bartas. You didn't listen when you had the opportunity. Bye Bye.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.9

Read 76 CopyWrite User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aglee
15 September 2007
I just took a quick look and saw two obvious UI flaws. First, in the dialog for creating a new project, the "Choose..." button opens a file selection panel that doesn't have the "New Folder" button. Second, it wasn't at all obvious how to change the default name of the initial document that was created for me ("New Document 1"). Double-clicking it didn't make the cell editable. Even the Inspector doesn't let me change the name. Isn't that what inspectors are for? Right-clicking a table row and selecting "Rename" is the kind of thing I'd expect from a Windows app. And I don't say this lightly, because I see Bartas is a strictly Mac development shop, and I generally like to support dedicated Mac developers. These may be petty observations in the grand scheme of a great app, but I will say that two silly UI annoyances in the first two minutes made me lose interest in exploring any further.
Like
Version 2.2.9
Lord-Lightning
13 March 2007
Can't see a single function here that Scrivener doesn't do better. Much, much better. http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener.html Sorry Bartas. You didn't listen when you had the opportunity. Bye Bye.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.9
1 answer(s)
Gaijin-de-moscu
Gaijin-de-moscu
10 May 2007
Yep, I did the same: moved away to Scrivener. Copywrite seems to be falling hopelessly behind the active competition. But I'll check out the updates when they come.
Like
Version 2.2.9
Ferruccio-Busoni
14 February 2007
Is there any way to order chapters? Each chapter is a document, and I have labeled them "Chapter I, Chapter II", etc. But since CopyWrite orders them alphabetically, it screw up when I get to "Chapter IX". Is there no way to override this ordering?
Like
Version 2.2.8
1 answer(s)
gryphonent
gryphonent
11 March 2007
Nope, there isn't. I've been asking for this (and other) features since May 2006. Nothing has been done since. I'm seriously contemplating a switch to Scrivener now. It's a shame when good software is left to wilt. Try emailing the developer... maybe you've more luck on your side.
Like
Version 2.2.8
gryphonent
20 January 2007
I liked Copywrite, I really did. However, after reported bugs went unfixed and suggestions were not implemented... not to speak of no update since May 2006, I started looking around... and found Scrivener! It has everything and more that is missing in Copywrite, starting with footnotes, outlines, structures, tables, and image support. Yet it is very simple. Sorry Bartas Technologies, but I've moved on.
Like
Version 2.2.8
anonymous-wombat-96
28 September 2006
I'm trialling copywrite for a single simple reason: Version control. I'm a mac user who uses macs because I want to get things done. I haven't found a version control system of ANY kind that doesn't need tinkering under the hood (bonnet here in australia) to get it working. Copywrite handles versions, it handles the writing, it handles imports and exports. I agree with the base philosophy; I want to write. I don't want to muck around with formatting and that sort of thing. As a creative writer, this product is a boon to my creativity and takes some serious concerns away from me vis-a-vis losing versions and getting confused between them. As soon as I have the money, I'll be buying three licenses: two for me and one for a friend who's a writer.
Like
Version 2.2.8
Cfahey
12 April 2006
I purchased CopyWrite about a week ago, and this rock-solid app makes it very simple to manage my writing projects. I don't normally post reviews of software, but this is that good. The user-interface is perfect for a creative; a simple interface with basic options. It is very easy to link source material, store notes (by document and project), and the versioning and backup features are the perfect answer to my neurotic fears my work might be lost. Because I rarely know where a story is going, the creative workflow once demanded I flip back and forth between finder windows and word processing app. Now I can store and categorize all material in one project file, and simply use a drop down menu to access the material I need. If you are a creative writer who just wants to sit down and write, this is the software to do it. It just stays out of your way, but gives you the peace of mind of project management and backups. Thanks for your great work guys!
Like
Version 2.2.7
Anonymous
12 October 2005
I've been very pleased with CopyWrite's features and ease of use. But here's what really blew me away: I was notified of a free update to my software, which I accepted. After downloading it, apparently because of something wrong on my end, my entire project failed to open. I got a mac error number and no book. Insert vulgarities. I wrote a quasi-hostile "save me" note to the company, and first thing the next business day (problem commenced at night), I had word back, with specific suggestions. The service rep led me along with real-time responses via email until my unique difficulty was resolved, my manuscript saved. I wrote a letter of commendation to the party, for forwarding, and found out I'd been getting hand-holding technical support from the company owner. Try that at Microsoft. :)
Like
Version 2.2.5
Anonymous
08 October 2005
I don't know what gradus has up his butt. I've used CW since its early stages and it has only gotten better with each update. The developer is great with responding to requests and that says a lot about the professionalism and commitment to their product; meaning that some of these interface changes were asked by the consumer. To say that it's a 'confusing mess' is completely absurd. What did you want? One button that asks you what you wanted to do and then have it do it immediately for you? Like gradus mentioned... it does have a full-screen editor. So if you don't like all the palettes, etc. then use the full-screen editor. You answered it yourself. By the way, I do agree that Ulysses is a great app but CW is a great app as well and the cost is nominal for CW; to me it's a no-brainer. And you know what? CW just keeps getting better.
Like
Version 2.2.5
Anonymous
15 August 2005
Hmm. The review posted by "gradus" is a bit harsh. I happen to disagree completely. For one, the current version of CopyWrite is *not* really best suited to technical writing. The developer is aware of this and has assured me that this issue will be addressed in an upcoming version (specifically, the next major version). I know because I asked - I am a technical ghostwriter. Our household consists of two writers (my wife is a novelist). She swears by CopyWrite for creative writing efforts. For another, I disagree with the criticism of the UI itself. Knowing a little something about UI design myself, I have specifically written the authors to compliment them on its elegance. There is a lot of functionality in a very simple design and all of it can be hidden away or brought forth with simple keystrokes at will (their website has some screen shots of the various configurations). I happen to think the notes drawer is the best use of a drawer I've seen in an application yet as it keeps your notes right beside the relevant document. If CopyWrite had footnote support and some sort of illustration-attachment mechanism, I know of five (including myself) technical writers who would purchase it immediately. As for my wife, her recently-published novel was written mostly using this application (she had only discovered it a few months after starting her new novel, she demanded it for her birthday). So yes, I think the previous comments about the interface are pretty harsh. While it's "not quite there" for heavy technical writing, it seems to suit at least one "professional" writer I know just fine. I don't use it personally, so I'll refrain from rating it until the features I'm looking for appear.
Like
Version 2.2.4
Anonymous
14 August 2005
To start on a positive note, you get a lot for your money with this program. It has many nice and interesting features (versioning, a goal meter and a full-screen view that lets you switch between documents, to name my favourite ones). The weak point of this program is not its features but its interface. How any serious writer would be able to concentrate on his work with this confusing mess of palettes, buttons, levers, tabs and drawers is beyond me. The blurb above rightfully says that "any creative process is inherently messy", but the developer seems to have followed this truism too closely when he created the interface. Judged by the comments here, CW seems to have many loyal fans. I don't want to question their rave reviews, but I suppose that this kind of program mainly appeals to technical writers, or to people who equate a crowded, unintuitive interface with professional software. This is definitely not a program for writers who think that playing with ideas and words and plots is more rewarding than fiddling around with clumsily implemented software features. If you want a simple, straightforward program that stays out of your way but gives you all the flexibility you need for composing and rearranging your stuff, you will have to look elsewhere. There are not many options, but you should check out Jer's Novel Writer, a program with a very, um, novel concept and very intriguing ideas about how a "creative writing" program should work. Another option, though a very expensive one, is Ulysses, arguably the most elegant and mature program in this niche. (It was the first to introduce full-screen mode, which says a lot about the inventiveness of its developers.) None of these programs can "help you write better" (quote from the CW ad). No program could. But if you need proof that writers were better off if they still had to use quills and parchment, CopyWrite would be a great piece of evidence.
Like
Version 2.2.4
Anonymous
22 April 2005
Pretty good update. Adds a nice fullscreen text column sizer control I know I requested just a few weeks ago, thanks! Overall, I love this app!
Like
Version 2.2.3
Anonymous
17 April 2005
Interesting how Jer's Novel Writer, a pretty obvious knock-off of CopyWrite that's pretty late to the game, is submitted to MacUpdate the same date as the previous reviewer's post ...
Like
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
17 April 2005
Not at all interesting nor unusual. We monitor all posts to the reviews here at MacUdpate and when we saw the software in question mentioned in a post, we took the initiative to post it. Nothing whatsoever unusual about this, it happens frrequently that someone mentions some software that is not currently listed on MacUpdate, then we post it.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Anonymous
12 April 2005
Well, I drove Copywrite for a tes drive, and it's good, but a little bit slow and buggy. You can try out the (now free) beta version of jer's Novel Wrietr (at http://jerssoftwarehut.com/index.shtml), wich is, IMHO, the best creative software out there.
Like
Version 2.2.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 April 2005
... says Jer, the developer.
Like
Version 2.2.2
spwarf
spwarf
21 April 2005
Huh... no, I posted the Anonymous review!..
Like
Version 2.2.2
Richo
01 March 2005
I've noticed every piece of software which gets developed with care goes through a phase where it gets hammered by some, but they survive because they do get developed with care, as with this one. It's had its glitches and still has occasionally (haven't all programs?) But in layout, intended operation and overall stability it more than justifies the cost to those looking to write creatively. So never mind the bitches, if this is what you need you won't find better in this bracket. The new fullscreen mode is a big plus too.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
24 February 2005
I tried out CopyWrite to work on the outline for my NaNoWriMo entry, and was sufficiently convinced to shell out the shareware fee before NaNoWriMo 2004 started. Considering I've written over 100,000 words using it on a Wallstreet G3, I suspect I've been a crueller user than many. It does exactly what it claims to, and I've very rarely run into problems. To cap that, the support is first class - I know for a fact that a couple of my suggestions made it into 2.1, and I can't recall ever having to wait more than a few hours for a reply to a mail. Even on a Sunday! I moved laptops this week, and my request to have a prior activation deleted took all of an hour, at what must have been before 7 am local time for the developer. Thoroughly recommended for creative writing.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
23 February 2005
Another user suggested my response to the recently-posted rant was 'cranky'. I feel the need to clarify. Readers might note that no matter how good or bad - or downright nasty in some cases - the reviews on this site have been, I have taken in every opinion, good and bad, and have not said a word. They're your opinions and that's what these sites are for. All suggestions, no matter how they're delivered, are always taken to heart (many even make it into the next version). However, when a user first berates and threatens a business owner in e-mail as a first-contact tactic, then immediately posts patently untrue comments about licensing in a public forum, calling for people to sue, no business owner in their right mind would allow such comments to stand without setting the record straight. Fair is fair. Many of you know full well how fast, pleasant, and courteous the technical support from Bartas Technologies has been after a long-standing relationship (and I thank all of you who've written in support or have taken the time simply to thank me for helping them), but this is the first time it's ever become necessary to actually step in and comment on a rather nasty public display. The customer's problem was solved within a few minutes of my seeing the e-mail (after normal business hours, on my personal time, at that) making the rant all of you saw (and the nasty e-mail) rather silly. I apologize to anyone who was offended by this incident and / or by my response and sincerely hope that you will judge the software and the company for yourselves, through your own experience. Again, many thanks to those of you who've shown your support - it has put me quite at ease with the whole ordeal. To anyone with a technical issue, no matter how frustrating, please remember that shareware developers are human beings, not auto-responders. Ask for help by all means (most of us actually LIKE helping people), but don't threaten and curse - at least not right away. ;-) Take this with a grain (or bag) of salt - I just needed to get that off my chest.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
23 February 2005
Each time I choose the Create button in any tab other than "All," the entire program crashes! Crashes! I haven't seen such a sloppy release version of a program since OS 9 days. How could you not catch such a serious bug before this went out the door?!?!? I'm using a completely up-to-date, well-maintained and fairly new Mac, so I don't think it's just me. Also, I don't understand the Zoom implementation in full screen mode. Rather than letting me adjust the zoom on my text as written, the text first appears in the normal font size than gets "transformed" to the zoom size a couple of seconds later. This is very distracting and slows the program down. It also deafeats the whole purpose of full screen mode. I guess I won't be writing in full screen mode much anyway when the program just crashes any time I create a new doc! I'm using the latest version of Panther on an iBook G4, so I'm pretty sure these are bugs in the program and not an issue on my computer. Hope this stuff gets fixed quickly, but the crankiness of the developer (see his response about a customer below--yikes, hope he doesn't talk about me like that!) doesn't make me hopeful.
Like
Version 2.2
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 February 2005
I've never had anything but good customer service from these guys. And 2.2 works perfectly for me, no problems. Maybe you should send a support request and try to get the problem fixed???
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 February 2005
Sounds like a bug to me too - doesn't happen in my install, on either machine.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 February 2005
Hate to be the one to break it to ya but programs have bugs. That (and new features) is the reason for updates. If you think this is bad, you should read the discussion forums at Apple's support site. The most recent disastrous bug was the whole firewire-drive-loses-data thing. The rest are trivial but annoying. My point is, these things happen. Put up with it or turn off your computer.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 March 2005
I'm seeing this bug too, on 10.3.8, on a G4 powerbook. On the plus side, the developers are incredibly responsive and I am confident they're working on it. In the meantime, the program is totally usable with an easy workaround, and there's no need to freak out.
Like
Version 2.2.1
contact-87
23 February 2005
To clear up the misconception posted anonymously about the activation system: The user wrote a very nasty letter demanding his activation be reset, then five minutes later posted his anger here. As stated in the license agreement, your single-user license allows you to activate CopyWrite on up to two computers simultaneously. Activating it on a third computer requires a previously-activated computer to be deactivated. Had the user bothered to wait more than a few minutes for a response from technical support, he would have noticed that his activation limit was immediately reset upon (a very foul-mouthed) request. Moving to another computer is most definitely not a problem. Anonymous poster, I recommend you have a little more patience with technical support than a three minute response time.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
22 February 2005
This looks like an excellent program for creative writing, the full-screen component is particularly good. I have one major complaint - the prorgram runs ridiculously slow. On the G3 Powerbook it is unusable because everytime I go to do something I get the spinning rainbow beachball for a few seconds. Even on the 1GHz G4 with 768MB RAM it is sluggish. These are both after importing a 23000 word story I am working on. Up until now I have always preferred the laptop for my creative writing (one of my main uses for it) but if I want to keep using CopyWrite it looks like I'll have to switch to the desktop.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
22 February 2005
beware! this software requires "activation".this means you have to buy a registration codeand afterwards activate this piece of software afterwards. the latter online. now, as soon as you switch computers - lets say you buy a faster mac and sell your old one - hard luck! copywrite won't work anymore. wrong computer. sue them. now, all legal software will work be it ms-office, beit adobe PS you name it... just the 25 bucks copywrite won't. software requiring "activation" isn't worth a second thought because you alwayshave to rely on the software company. who knows what will happen after bartas' bankrupcy? thats no security for the future!
Like
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 February 2005
i have no intention of harming bartas technology by commenting on the registration procedures. copywrite per se is a good piece of software. what i criticise, mr. developer, is the fact that you have to activate the product after registering. no more, no less. this is not user-friendly because it makes users dependent on outside forces since there is no guarantee that software companies responsible for product activations exist for ever.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 February 2005
Then perhaps you shouldn't have bought it?
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
23 November 2004
I finally made the switch last month. Haven't looked back. I'm using it to organize my novel as I write, and I am delighted. It's a stable, hassle-free writing environment. This product does exactly what it says it does. It is for CREATIVE WRITING. Not formatting. When I'm done writing in CopyWrite, I export to MSWord to format my manuscript for submission. No fuss. No hassle, no weirdness, but a well structured environment for creative writing. Very nice app. A few requests - (1) Version control is awesome. But I would like to be able to add a label and comments to each version of a doc, separately from the comments for the doc itself. (2) It would be hugely beneficial to have the file browser on the left in a drawer, rather than above my document. (3) as a paranoid writer, I'd love it if CopyWrite's internal doc format was xml, meaning something I felt I could recover myself in a crash. But there haven't been any crashes. So, really, these are small things. First Creative Writing application I've trusted since MS Word 5.1 back in 1991. Very happy.
Like
Version 2.1.6
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 November 2004
Some of us really like to have the file browser above the document...
Like
Version 2.1.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 December 2004
And some of us would really like to have the file browser back on the left.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 December 2004
Look at the shape of your screen. See my point? There's room for a file browser and a full-height text document if you put them side by side.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Anonymous
13 October 2004
I'm not a fan of Word at all. Way too much stuff going on gets in the way. I think CopyWrite is promising software. I especially liked saving my characters, places, etc. all as one the project. The notes drawer held all the text I pasted without a problem. The app has a lot of small features that sweeten it, such as status (first version, final, etc.). But there is no thesauras! I rely on Appleworks' thesauras while doing my final edits. I usually do one edit just to review my verb choices and I like to be able to see the alternatives easily. Also, I could not import colored text. For example, I tried to import an email, containing some blue text, and saved it as both plain and rich text It imported as all black. Copying and pasting didn't work either. If this software had both a thesauras and better importing, I would buy it in a heartbeat. Oh, and something funny: the read me file opened in Textedit.
Like
Version 2.1.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 October 2004
I'd recommend reading the description of what the app *does* before commenting publicly on what it doesn't do. It's not for formatting so your formatting is stripped to allow you to concentrate on the text and organization of your project. For me, this works perfectly and exactly as advertised. Also, the readme opened in TextEdit because it is a text file and, since CopyWrite isn't for simple text editing, it doesn't assume control over text files. Finally, only desktop publishing suites like AppleWorks and MS Office have universal dictionaries and thesauri. If every editing app had its own dictionary and thesaurus, you'd have to maintain thirty or forty different ones. This is counter-productive when there are many apps out there that act as system services that give you one thesaurus available from any app.
Like
Version 2.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 April 2005
First: Most paper thesaurus are far better than the ones included in "word processing" applications. You can get one used for a few bucks. Second: You cannot expect ever application to have a thesaurus. In Mac OS X, spell check is a given if they use Cocoa, but unless you have installed a thesaurus service, it is ludicrious to expect every developer to design their own and buy the wordlists from a vendor! Third: You shouldn't be using a thesaurus until you are a good enough writer to not need a thesaurus. :)
Like
Version 2.2.3
Anonymous
24 September 2004
looked promising but it can't deal with footnotes in the main text. Which wipes it out for use on any kind of technical writing where these are essential.
Like
Version 2.1.5
Anonymous
15 September 2004
Comparing this product to TextEdit is rather dimwitted ... Apples and oranges, as it were.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
04 September 2004
Good for writing raw text but lacks the ability to add pictures and tables. I don't ask for Dramatica or AppleWorks, but something in between. I don't thing CopyWrite is better than TextEdit...
Like
Version 2.1.4
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 September 2004
TextEdit doesn't tie files together into a project, nor does it offer global search or replace.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 September 2004
Tables are a formatting feature. CW isn't a formatting program. If you want formatting, use a layout program, if you want to manage your manuscript and concentrate on producing, use CW.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 September 2004
Sometimes I need pictures and tables to concentrate on producing. Maybe Copywrite is too simple for my needs...
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 September 2004
By the way have a look at Dramatica (there is a free demo) you will see what I mean. Dramatica is to bloated but there a some great tools inside. I would like to see these tools in a less bloated application. But Copywrite is too basic for my needs.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 September 2004
Why don't you buy The Writer's DreamKit, then. It's a scaled down version of Dramatica. There's no need to add these options to CW.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
02 September 2004
Great for a writer, but really needs an OPML input.
Like
Version 2.1.4
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 September 2004
Why? It's not for outlining.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 September 2004
Well... I know it’s not an outliner. I make my outlines in Pyramid. But I’d like to insert my outline into CW2, and just continue from there.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
26 August 2004
Desparately needs an OPML input. For many of us, the writing process starts with outlining in NoteBook or OmniOutliner. Would be great if we can input our outlines into CW.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
28 July 2004
FWIW, I LOVE the icon. I think it's one of the best I've seen! AND, I also love the program. The only thing I can think is that whomever delivered the critical diatribe on the icon has something wrong with his or her computer. The "C" in the circle is pure class.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
21 July 2004
Desperately needs a new icon!!! Interface is fantastic, but needs a bit of polish usability/design is brilliant! but man, i hate that icon (I'm sorry!)
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 July 2004
Hehehe ... would you like a tacky, over-done quill pen and ink well instead?
Like
Version 2.1.1
contact-87
08 July 2004
For those who downloaded version 2.1 and experienced a problem starting the application, please accept our apologies. To resolve the issue, simply re-download the disk image.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
08 July 2004
There must be something wrong with this version (2.1.0), the program crashed immediately upon launch. It can't open library: /Library/Frameworks/DisclosableView.framework/Versions/A/DisclosableView because it doesn't exist!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
08 July 2004
The writers below must be talking about some other software, or perhaps have something peculiar with their individual machines/network. This software has been rock solid for me since day one. The developer is responsive. I always pooh-poohed the need for a writer's program until I began writing a serious work myself a couple of months ago. I couldn't go back to Word or anything else now.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
25 May 2004
Did you bother to submit a bug report?
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
24 May 2004
I did. Three different computers, seperate setups and the works. That is why I am so dissapointed with an unusable program. I also have no come across more disgruntled users who have had issues with this program and am currently trying out some of thier suggestions. So far no real luck, I may just end up building something in FileMaker.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
24 May 2004
Sir: I'm not sure if you're even talking about the same software. I've had none of your problems. This software is very reliable and wonderfully useful. I think you should see if the problems you're having occur on another computer.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
24 May 2004
Decently outlined program. It would be very usefull if it worked. However it does not. This program should never have made it to 1.0 and been released as a working (pay for it) program. Bugs are abundant and unfortantly not just superficial, the render the entire program unusable. Just by creating a few documents w/info and deleting one or two your project file is reduced to nothing more than trash. I do think this could be a viable program for writers in terms of organization. I think the cost is a little outrageous even if it worked. I think a return to the drawing board code wise would be a good step as this is one of the more worthless programs out there currently.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
13 May 2004
I wrote a comment 1/8 regarding CW bugging demo users with a nag screen every 15 minutes while trying to use the program. That was not only annoying, but it was unacceptable, as was the response I received from CW's report. I just downloaded CW 2.0.5 and I am happy to report that sometime in the past 5 months, this real nag of a nag screen practice has been done away with. CW no longer has a nag screen pop up every 15 minutes. The nag screen shows up only at the application launch, some features are disabled, and the demo is limited to 5 projects. Now that's a fair policy which encourages purchases once the product is experienced without unnecessary interruptions to the creative process. Thank you Bartas Tech.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
14 April 2004
Bartas nailed it! EXACTLY what a writer needs! Affordable, too!
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
13 April 2004
This is a great program for a professional writer. Especially if you add DEVONthink for storing and organising your reference documents.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
02 April 2004
This is a great program! Developer is quite responsive to queries, even sent me a personal note when he updated the program to fix a bug I'd reported. The only thing missing, which the developer has promised will appear in a future release, is a feature that would allow you to select which documents to include in the program's wordcount/goal window. Otherwise, this program is peerless and flawless.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
26 March 2004
I read earlier (or may be on another site) that someone was upset at how often the software is updated. I have to say, that is the most ludicrous thing I've ever heard of. People complain left and right that Apple takes too long to fix relatively simple problems (and in some cases, they do), yet a small shareware author is criticized for taking advantage of his or her flexibility (due to their small size) by fixing bugs or smoothing out annoying wrinkles within days of their being reported. What in the world is wrong with that? I was one of the people who reported one of the more recently-fixed bugs in CopyWrite. Even though it crashed, it still kept the data safe, but it still crashed at a certain point. The bug was fixed about a week later. Would that ALL software authors responded to issues so quickly and so well! Bravo, Bartas Technologies! Thanks for a wonderful, useful program and even better customer support!
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
16 March 2004
Nice!!! I didn't even realize there WAS a 2.0, much less an update for it! Serves me right for unchecking the 'automatic update' box. I downloaded this one and took it for a spin and imported my old projects. Smooth as silk! I can't believe how far this thing has gone since its 1.0 release. I LOVE THE FILTERING AND VERSION CONTROL! Way to go, guys! I'm clicknig the 'buy' button now! Hear it??
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
04 March 2004
TO THE GUY WHO SAID HE COULD WRITE A BETTER FREEWARE VERSION--- Well? Where is it? 2.0 has arrived and it seems as though it's shut you up. For a review, I have to say the author outdid himself. I'm happily chugging along with my book (technical manual) and updated to 2.0 smoothly. I haven't had a single problem with the software and I don't know how I ever got along without it! It's like Expose ... once you start using it, you could never go back to the old days!
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 March 2004
I'M the guy who raved about it being a small matter to churn out something of the caliber of copywrite. Well version two has come and I must give credit where credit is due - the interface has finally reached a level worthy of being called "shareware". Having said that, I am still going to write a freeware application that has feature parity (plus). "going to" is a vague term... Please wait until I have my new baby (I am writing this on an old windows drone)
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 April 2004
Yeah yeah. ;-) Put your freeware where your mouth is.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 September 2004
Still no freeware version. Hmm, Vaporware 1.0+++ will have to wait, I guess ...
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
02 March 2004
he author is doing a great job with this program-- only hope he keeps it from getting bloated (which I've noticed is the risk of having a great "core" app.). Regarding the comparison with MacJournal, I use both; in a way it's a question of apples and oranges. CopyWrite is aimed at writers, and though it did not precisely fit my working methods, I was readily able to adapt to it. Using CopyWrite in conjunction with Bruno Blondeau's iOrganize and iPasteboard is nirvana (at least for short projects-- haven't tried it yet with a book-length manuscript).
Like
Version 2.0
stickman67
02 March 2004
For those who are commenting on the price, please visit the author's website. He is offering unlimited free use of the software to students and others who only want to use it on projects comprising fewer than five files. So authors who are writing a book of more than five chapters will have to shell out for this, but students, for example, who only use it on one paper at a time, will not have to pay at all. Maybe those who pay the $29.99 are subsidising those who can't afford it (or won't pay!), but I think overall it's a pretty reasonable. Whether it is worth $29.99 is another story. I won't know until I've tried it out. The first paper for my graduate diploma is due in two weeks, so I guess I'll know soon enough!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 March 2004
Cool! There are a lot of nice things added here. Version control and the progress meter are two neat ones. The filter thingie could be useful, though I haven't started really using it yet. It's a lot faster too.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 March 2004
2.0 is really good. Much improvement over the last version. There is only one thing I would suggest: On the notes section on the right hand side. I think it would look a lot better if maybe it would have little titles and then a double click would bring up a window with the full note. It is just very unorganized, i find myself adding - and +'s to make it look somewhat organized and it gets rather tedious. That is the only thing it is missing though. A great piece of software. BUT $30? That is too steep for my poor wanna-be writer's blood, I'll stick to the cheaper organizing apps like Hog Bay Notebook or Omni Outliner or iOrganize until this thing drops in price. For some reason it seems like a lot to pay $10 for a notes section (that being the only difference between this app and the others.) Overall its good, but not so far superior to warrant charging $30.
Like
Version 2.0
Syn252
28 January 2004
So I have been one of the lucky few to help Bartas beta test version 2.0 and I have to say ... HOLY #@@#$ %^^@ %##$%!!!!!!!! Straight from the Author's mouth: "I'm almost embarrassed of version 1.x now..." I totally see why! I can summarize in three words: MUCH, MUCH BETTER. This thing gives you FULL CONTROL over your projects with a lot of nice touches you don't see in ANY of the competition. Naysayers, eat your hearts out. I *KNEW* this app had potential! :-) Sorry to rub it in, but I had to post SOMETHING to let people know that Bartas has something nice up their sleeve!
Like
Version 1.1.9
Anonymous
25 January 2004
Well I happen to think the overwhelmingly positive score this little REALbasic app have gotten so far have proven that it works just fine for many, many people. I think it's a great organizational tool. A recent word with the author has assured me that a lot of new features (including some formatting) are on the way with a new version. The most important for me is spell checking. That's supposed to be on the way too. Although the guy won't tell me specifically how long it'll be, it's "currently in beta". I hope it comes soon!
Like
Version 1.1.9
Quantumpanda
13 January 2004
I've been testing out new versions of CopyWrite as they come out. While certain things are definitely improving, it still is missing two key elements that would make it better than a plain text editor for actually writing. Despite the developer's belief that creative writing does not require formatting, for this program to be usable for generating manuscripts without having to work through the entire text by hand in another app, it needs to be able to generate boldface and italic/underline text. Without that, you have to finish the text, import it into a different editor (such as a word processor), and go through every segment to add that formatting. This is an added step beyond normal proofreading that a professional writer should not have to take. The other issue is a display problem. CopyWrite's writing window does nothing whatsoever to visually distinguish paragraphs (such as an indent or space between), so if you want to be able to see your paragraphs when you write, you have to add an extra return after each one to give the visual break. Again, this makes CopyWrite not suitable for professional writing. If these two issues were addressed, CopyWrite has the potential to become a coveted tool for the professional writer. Ideally, this app would be best suited to become a complete manuscript generation tool, with a no-frills "writing" mode similar to its current operation (with the above issues addressed), and a "manuscript" mode, which would include a spelling checker, a punctuation checker (grammar checkers usually aren't much good for anything beyond that), and the ability to take specific documents from a project and generate a properly formatted manuscript, ready to print or export and submit. Without that, it's just a glorified text editor with a few project-management capabilities.
Like
Version 1.1.9