Back to dcgui-qt page
dcgui-qt free download for Mac

dcgui-qt Reviews

0.2.19
12 September 2003

Direct Connect client.

Anonymous
06 September 2003

Most helpful

Is this a joke??...Does not even start up...Mac OS X 10.2.6
Like
Version 0.2.18

Read 37 dcgui-qt User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anonymous
03 October 2005
For anyone wondering why when you try to download something from someone it comes up with "not connected to required hub" it seems that it has to do with a TTH root. Look at the Search page. If you see the name of the hub next to the item you have decided to download, then you will be able to just double click on it there and download it. If you see the letters "TTH:" followed by a scramble of numbers, you'll have to click back into the main hub window, find the user in the user list, go to "browse user files" and find the file in there. I've looked for almost a year to find some sort of upgrade so that a TTH root can be recognised, but it seems that it does not exist. We just have to put up with what we've got. It's not a bad program. Tolerable, but still inconvenient.
Like
Version 0.2.19
funnellpd
05 May 2005
The interface is a bit arachaic (you can Aquafy it in the preferences by the way) and it definitely has its quirks, but once it is configured it is the stablest and most powerful to use DC client I've found on the Mac.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
21 February 2005
Would like to try DCGUI-QT but it will no download. It would be nice to have it fixed, please.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Stefania Motta
04 February 2005
I whished to try this application, but the link to download the dmg version do not work... please fix this problem I'm really curious to try it! Stefania
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
19 December 2004
I think it´s the "BEST" DC client for Mac. I used many clients on PC and all the clients on a PC are the Mac. "dcgui" has ervything I wished!!!! Try it, and you will love it. Believe me. You have so many setups, you won´t believe it.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
25 November 2004
perhaps these are the working links http://www.dark-hill.co.uk/dcgui/OSX/OSX-Native/ http://www.dark-hill.co.uk/dcgui/OSX/
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
08 November 2004
Best Client for OS X. Though the interface is a bit difficult to handle, but it has so many setting possibilities which makes your client to join any hub you want, for example the TAG switch. Many hub requires this option. Good software. Mac rules: Zoltan from Hungary
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
18 July 2004
I've been using it for almost a year, and I may say it really does it's job very well. Just need to get used to it. Hoping for the update of this version to released.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
13 July 2004
For Mac version only This program has to be one of the few unwanted necessities for Macintosh file sharing. The interface is the poorest I've seen or used in any environment, and is akin to working wth Windows 3.1 without the pretty graphics. The menu bars and window bars look like a rudamentary gui interface from 1988. The navigation through hubs and user sharelists is difficult to learn and, in parts, counterintuitive. Buttons for almost any task are nonexistant, so if you do not have a two button mouse, it adds a world of hurt. Alas, there is no other real program for DCing on a mac. The Neo Modus version is simply banned from almost all hubs, as it does not transmit a 'tag' file. So this 'open heart surgery with a worn out baseball bat' of a program is what is left. I must say, though, that it does what it does very well. It has rarely crapped out on me, and it seems to have no problems with connections. Even the preferences are rather extensive, making it rather easy to customize almost all aspects of the application. Again, if you know what you are doing. In all, this program feels as though they found out their beta version worked just fine and stopped before any final release, though if you want a stable file sharing program for direct connect, it does it's job.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
25 June 2004
Go to the developers' website. They have done a lot of work to improve dcgui and the version 3.2 isn't bad. It is better than Direct Connect 1.1.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
01 June 2004
Possibly the most badly designed piece of software every created, and an excellent example of what happens when software developers don't understand even the most fundamental principles of interface design.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
27 May 2004
This application is for the most tedious geeks only. It is, without a doubt, the worst UI I've seen so far this year. Incomprehensible, buggy, ugly, insulting, and abusive. If you really MUST be part of the Direct Connect community and your time is not worth much to you then I'm told lots of things are possible with this app. But anyone over the age of 20 or with a life will probably find this a lot more effort than it could possibly be worth. To paraphrase Red Green... you need a license to drive a car, but they'll sell a programming environment to any idiot.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
11 May 2004
I would like to use this application but am having troubles searching. I know you need to install X11 and Fink but are not certain how and what to do. Can anyone please shed some light on this. Thanks
Like
Version 0.2.19
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 May 2004
never occurred to you to check the developer's website? http://dcgui.berlios.de/forum/index.php
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
05 May 2004
many things to say...but first, it's a great app for mac dc hubbers all the prefs are in it and you never get kicked for stupid reasons like "show your tag"!! Two things, it's veryvery long to launch and for me it seems to have problems to make good uploads rates... Anyway, it's a great app...
Like
Version 0.2.19
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 May 2004
I would like to use this application but am having troubles searching. I know you need to install X11 and Fink but are not certain how and what to do. Can anyone please shed some light on this. Thanks Carl
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
14 April 2004
Dcgui have a problem connecting to users, using latest version of dc++ (401?or 407?) , through the search list, but you can browse user list on hab user list. For a bettre stability of dcgui try to use different skins(settings/dcgui...) With aqua skin had a crash every hour, but with win skin work perfect
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
10 April 2004
The app is amazing and has a ton of features. Does anyone know why everytime I try to download something I get an alert "Not connected to the required hub"? And yes, I am connected to the hub with the user I am trying to download from. I haven't been able to download at all yet. p.s. I do know how to use Direct Connect. This is an problem I have never come across.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
10 March 2004
Ignore the previous poster's negative comments. Obviously he hasn't explored this app properly before complaining about the issues he faces. This is the best Direct Connect app for Mac OS X. Period. It supports multiple sources and resume. It's true the interface doesn't look very appealing, but it's very functional, and easy to use once you get the hang of it.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
26 February 2004
How do I use this? I unpacked the program, but when I launch it, it just quits without saying anything. Usually things work. I can't find any helpfile anywhere either. That really sucks.
Like
Version 0.2.19
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 March 2004
Ignore the previous poster's negative comments. Obviously he hasn't explored this app properly before complaining about the issues he faces. This is the best Direct Connect app for Mac OS X. Period. It supports multiple sources and resume. It's true the interface doesn't look very appealing, but it's very functional, and easy to use once you get the hang of it.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
16 February 2004
This program is the best DC client for Mac OS X. Yes, at first it is an afront to a mac user's eyes. Yes, it is complicated and sometimes difficult to use, but that is because it has so many features. Remember this is a FREE open source program. they are not going to waste their time making it look just right for macs. My tip, give it time and go explore and figure it out for yourself.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
10 January 2004
This is an excellent DC client, despite immature claims to the contrary that follow below. I use the most current version, whereas at the moment MacUpdate appears to be linking to an older version (albeit only a few days older, but still older). While not perfect, this DC client has tons more features than the one provided by Neo-Modus. I use it daily, and the author should be commended for a job well done.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
07 January 2004
DCgui is ABSOLUTE CRAP! Lame, ugly interface... almost impossible to use... no help options... a complete mess! An insult to self-respecting mac users everywhere! And then there's the negative side.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
03 January 2004
use the QT version of dcgui
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
07 December 2003
Didn't start up on it's own -- I had to move a file from the .app folder to my /usr/lib folder. Then when it starts up I find that the interface is awful. If I wanted to use a windows app, I would buy a PC, or use a PC app that worked well. Some windows don't move, I cannot view anyone's file list (after successfully connecting to a hub that I know works with neoModus), and all the error messages are in broken English. Maybe some of these problems are caused by me using OS 10.3, but the overall design of something that is supposed to be an alternative GUI to neoModus's app is awful.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
08 November 2003
Just great!! No need to use that somewhat crappy neo-modus client anymore.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
07 November 2003
A great DC client! Check out the website for later versions or working versions.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
14 September 2003
Crap!..wont start...no versions will...am i doing something wrong or what?
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
13 September 2003
I got the same thing with the app not starting up, because of the missing 'libdl.0.dylib'. After searching my harddisk, it turned out I did have the "libdl.0.dylib" , only it was in /sw/bin/ ( I've got Fink installed, experimented with it a long time ago, no idea why/how I got this particular lib) so for me simply copying this file to /usr/bin/ made dcgui run! So if you don't happen to have the 'libdl.0.dylib' file, you probably can download it somewhere, and just place it in /usr/lib/ (root access required) ofcourse not so handy the developer didn't include this in the installer.
Like
Version 0.2.19
Mayhem
12 September 2003
While the old 0.2.17 did work, neither this one (0.2.19) nor the previous (0.2.18) does. App begins to launch, then disappears from the dock two seconds later. Checking the Console reveals the following: dyld: /Users/mayhem/Desktop/dcgui.app/Contents/MacOS/dcgui can't open library: /usr/lib/libdl.0.dylib (No such file or directory, errno = 2) Obviously the code has been linked against something I do not have installed, but how am I supposed to know what when there is absolutely zero documentation accompanying the software? This is sort of what I have come to expect from open-source though...
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
12 September 2003
I still can't get this to launch
Like
Version 0.2.19
Anonymous
10 September 2003
The program works great. I'm grateful for such an excellent app for DC. Keep Up the Great Work!
Like
Version 0.2.18
Anonymous
10 September 2003
someone said that you have to have qt installed to run this. That is NOT true. I waited until it ran on OSX WITHOUT dependancies on any external installations before listing it. Feel free to ask for help on the website forum. -memento
Like
Version 0.2.18
Anonymous
08 September 2003
not bad... ram hungry though and the interface is just gray and black, like to see the interface become more mac os x adaptive, finds good amount of files, preety fasy downloads if you multi-download. Good job keep up the good work.
Like
Version 0.2.18
Anonymous
07 September 2003
The new version works without installing other software, but is quite slow. The multi-hub search is very nice though. The interface is quite crappy and ugly. This software begs for a native interface.
Like
Version 0.2.18
Anonymous
06 September 2003
Don't give a review and a rating unless you actually used the software to some extent. Don't give it 1 star because of your ignorance.
Like
Version 0.2.18
Anonymous
06 September 2003
Here a working copy: http://www.dark-hill.co.uk/dcgui/OSX/OSX-Native/dcgui.app.sit.gz
Like
Version 0.2.18
Anonymous
06 September 2003
This application won't run unless you install qt on your system. Unless you know what that is, you're better off not trying.
Like
Version 0.2.18
Anonymous
06 September 2003
Is this a joke??...Does not even start up...Mac OS X 10.2.6
Like
Version 0.2.18