Back to RSSOwl page
RSSOwl free download for Mac

RSSOwl Reviews

2.2.1
01 January 2014

Java newsreader for RSS feeds.

Roadtripdk
13 February 2006

Most helpful

I am using OS X 10.4.4. I can't map RSSOwl as default app for News, RSS, ATOM, etc. Unfortunately, the preference still insists on using Safari, even after I have saved my changes :-(
Like (1)
Version 1.2

Read 22 RSSOwl User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jazzyguy
26 October 2013
I got it to work in Mavericks,It is still great .
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Jazzyguy
23 October 2013
It doesn't working Mavericks OS
Like (1)
Version 2.2
SickTeddyBear
27 July 2013
FYI: RSSOwl has a long-standing Uniform Resource Identifier (URI) bug, so it can't be set as the default RSS reading app under OS X. This is a verified bug, and RCDefaultApp can't fix it.
Like
Version 2.2
kingjj
11 January 2013
The bast RSS reader I've found for my Mini, which doesn't seem to run any OS beyond 10.4. RSSOwl imported all of my feeds from Google without a hitch, and has ample viewing/organization options. Give the choice between native and Java, I would certauinly choose native. But in this instance, I didn't seem to have a choice. Which is fine, as RSSOwl works wonderfully. Java or otherwise.
Like
Version 2.1.6
Jazzyguy
09 December 2012
I've used RSS OWL in the past with many OS's from Mac. This one is the best of all. Nice tutorial. Great Gui and it puts my feeds from Google Reader correctly. This is an outstanding RSS Reader.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
Bezierboy
21 May 2011
If you are having trouble with version 2.06 being crashy, try the nightly builds of 2.10 at http://rssowl.pluginbuilder.org/latest/ Note: I don't recommend the use of nightlies (i.e. Alpha) software unless you HAVE to. Sure wish 2.10 would hit Beta soon though. I keep upgrading the nightlies: some fix bugs, some crash on launch.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Roadtripdk
13 February 2006
I am using OS X 10.4.4. I can't map RSSOwl as default app for News, RSS, ATOM, etc. Unfortunately, the preference still insists on using Safari, even after I have saved my changes :-(
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Frank-H-Wu
02 January 2006
I've used NewsFire, Vienna, NetNewsWire and Opera's RSS feature, in that order of frequency. I just discovered RSSOwl. It works very well, but it has one flaw (unless I just haven't figured it out), which is it doesn't seem to save the feeds. When you close the program or go offline, only the feeds you've opened retain their content. I'm not sure why that is, but it's the only problem with what otherwise is an elegant, speedy, and quite capable program.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
08 November 2005
Having reviewed more than 40 RSS-related apps one year ago () , I find the progress in RSSOwl definitely impressive. Indeed it is now, for me, in the 'top three', along with the (paying, oldest, exhaustive) NetNewsWire and the (open-source) Vienna. Out of these three only RSSOwl is multiplatform, which means a lot as concerns future growth and stability (plus you can "get the same on your PC at work"). Really, really worth a try if you are ambitious as concerns RSS.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 November 2005
In the previous comment I tried, but failed, to add the url of my (very old) review. After all, I'm not dissatisfied that it doesn't appear, like an undue advertisement. FWIW, I'll retry to put it herebelow, in this relatively buried comment-to-a-comment: http://sainct.ouvaton.org/uniwakka/RSSforMac (if it doesn't appear above, there is nothing I can do :-)
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
19 July 2005
I think the zip is fine but the developer posted the source code not the java binary!
Like
Version 1.1.3
Ilgaz
26 March 2005
I still have no clue why on earth we have to download a zip file, expand it while we ALL have (unlike wins) Java WebStart installed. Nothing like trolling,flaming. I really want to know. This one, loads of others are amazingly progressed, advanced programs. So its clear developer(s) know how to code, but why send everyone to some hideous zip file? If it was single click, many people , e.g. not computer literate could test the application I mean.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
25 February 2005
This is a nice application. No "typical java" about it. The user interface is clean and it does the job nicely.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
19 December 2004
I'm a pretty experienced RSS user. I've tried almost all of them and Owl is growing on me. The one feature that is indespensible for me, because I have over 100 feeds I like to read regularly, is to be able to order them (move them around; from top to bottom, etc.)in the favorites section, so I don't have to keep hunting for the next one I want to read. If the developer would add that feature, I would use this app much more. Keep up the good work. JB
Like
Version 1.0
Benjamin Pasero
08 October 2004
Hi again, just wanted to comment, that I am currently developing RSSOwl on a Mac to improve things on there. Expect some interface improvements for upcoming RSSOwl version 1.0. Ben
Like
Version 0.9b
Benjamin Pasero
23 September 2004
Hi, I must admit that I am not familiar with Mac, but what I got out is, that is's extremly difficult to please Mac users with Software. Guys, this is Open Source, you dont have to pay for it. Instead of complaining about the "horrible" interface (which is not typical Java, its SWT which makes a difference), why not participate on the project site at Sourceforge? Feel free to write any suggestions and improvements in the public forums. You dont even have to register, post anonymous: http://sourceforge.net/forum/?group_id=86683 Ben
Like
Version 0.9b
Anonymous
22 September 2004
Horrible interface. Typical Java. This sort of junk may be the norm on other Operating Systems, but it is simply NOT acceptable on MacOS X. If you want a good RSS reader check out NewsFire right here at MacUpdate.com
Like
Version 0.9b
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 March 2005
NewsFire costs $20. If you don't like Java, pick among many great and free Mac-looking RSS/Atom newsreaders. Right here at MU.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
21 September 2004
Seems OK. For a Java app. Is there any reason why a Mac user would want this over NetNewsWire (Lite)? Can't find any.
Like
Version 0.9b
Benjamin Pasero
08 July 2004
Commenting the feedback about "Porn" links being in RSSOwl: This is not true. The preset sample newsfeeds are carefully selected and not including such content. But as RSSOwl uses a normal web-browser as internal browser which may be used as such, users might get in contact with criminal content in the same way they do when using any other browser to surf the web. As a final note, RSSOwl is not responsible for the content that is displayed. Read the GPL Terms and Conditions for more information. Project Leader - RSSOwl Dev. Team
Like
Version 0.8b
20 May 2004
I have just downloaded RSSOwl for a try. In the news list under the developers grouping are links to kiddie porn. These are pre-subscribed from the developer. This is quite simply, unacceptable. I hope this pimpware will be pulled.
Like
Version 0.73b
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 September 2004
You are flat out lying. Did you even TRY the software? Hopefully the administrators will remove your post.
Like
Version 0.9b
Benjamin Pasero
19 September 2003
Hi, just wanted to note, that RSSOwl comes with an application bundle since version 0.62b. So there is no need to compile RSSOwl from the sourcecode and its very easy to run! Best regards, Ben
Like
Version 0.62b
Benjamin Pasero
03 September 2003
Hi, you are absolutley right and I want to excuse for that. I will release the upcoming version 0.61b for Mac and Linux too, containing the associated SWT librarys. Unfortunately I am not able to test RSSOwl on Mac or Linux (just running win) but I am already searching for porters. Best regards Benjamin Pasero RSSOwl Development
Like
Version 0.6b
Anonymous
02 September 2003
Geez what a joke, it doesn't even come with the necesary GUI libraries to run on OS X. If you are going to go to the effort of posting your software on a Mac download page you should at least include the necessary files to run your software!
Like
Version 0.6b