Back to FontCard page
FontCard free download for Mac

FontCard Reviews

1.5.1b4
21 July 2008

Modifies font menus and fonts panel to display font previews.

Maclover1-1
12 February 2010

Most helpful

I wish Apple would talk to people who REALLY use fonts and make something like this INTEGRATED in the system.. because font management somehow was never really approached professionally by Apple as far as I am concerned (which is why ATM existed, FontReserve, Suitcase, FontAgent etc etc).. and considering most graphic designers use Macs it would be nice to return the favor... To a level it could even be said that Graphic designers (and musicians) allowed Apple to become what it is today... and fontcard is dead .. and I hate positively hate my never-ending font menus without it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like (3)
Version 1.5.1b4

Read 62 FontCard User Reviews

Rate this app:

Penguirl
30 April 2010
Uhm what's with Unsanity's file url? It looks like it was chosen by a pubescent boy.
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
Maclover1-1
12 February 2010
I wish Apple would talk to people who REALLY use fonts and make something like this INTEGRATED in the system.. because font management somehow was never really approached professionally by Apple as far as I am concerned (which is why ATM existed, FontReserve, Suitcase, FontAgent etc etc).. and considering most graphic designers use Macs it would be nice to return the favor... To a level it could even be said that Graphic designers (and musicians) allowed Apple to become what it is today... and fontcard is dead .. and I hate positively hate my never-ending font menus without it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like (3)
Version 1.5.1b4
Maclover1-1
15 October 2009
I dont' get companies who do not upgrade their product... that has go to be the worst commercial non-move. Who wants to buy something that keeps lagging way behind one's OS...
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1b4
Maclover1-1
25 July 2009
Please make Fontcard Daemon Intel !
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1b4
nowheredense
24 July 2008
For those who believe that Unsanity does not respond to inquiries, I suggest that you read the announcement in the yellow box at the top of their blog page that has existed for months now: http://www.unsanity.org/archives/betas/enthusiastic_trepidation.php I own FontCard, FruitMenu, Menu Master, and WindowShade. All of their betas have worked well with Leopard on multiple Mac's.
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
db
21 July 2008
I beg to differ with the naysayers ... WindowShade, FruitMenu and MenuMaster have been working flawlessly for me since I stumbled on them last January while poking around the Unsanity site. Read the blog (!), grab the betas, give 'em a whirl and THEN comment on the current state of affairs please. I'm currently running 10.5.4 on two MacBook Pros with no issues whatever in these past 7 months or so. http://unsanity.org/ http://www.unsanity.com/products/compatibility
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
1 answer(s)
Raddle
Raddle
24 July 2008
I agree. Windowshade working perfectly for me, and has been for months.
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
Dana-Sutton
20 July 2008
I have to agree that it's a shame UnSanity seems to have crashed and burned. Based on my experience with some of their other offerings, I'm not going to install any more of their betas. By the time their complete line of products finally runs stable under Leopard, Snow Leopard will probably have been released!
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
Makai
20 July 2008
Same here, under 10.5.4. Still not available on their website. Kind of funny... Looking from the file dates, I'd say this version has been put together in early April. And they still don't have it on their site. I wonder if the release to Macupdate had not been intended. Probably they alredy do have a working version of WindowShade... maybe since long, just as long as the working FontCard...
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
2 answer(s)
rwebber
rwebber
20 July 2008
WindowShade 4.2b1 works on my PowerBook G4 1.67MHz with Leopard 10.5.4. It has been out for months.
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
Makai
Makai
21 July 2008
Well, thank you for bothering to share your experiences. So I gave it another whirl, and indeed this time it works for me (under 10.5.4; last time I tried I was running 10.5.2). I still have some issues with the Minimize-in-place feature but I think I should better post these findings on the WindowsShade product page. I am saying this just because mentioning any issues is simply meant to compare experiences with other users, not to denounce the company and their products. Same time I must say I have restrained from bringing up those issues with Unsanity. I felt insecure whether they would find any feedback helpful at all at this point where they feel they are are wrestling with Leopard.
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
Finally it seems that FonCard is working quite good on my MacBook with Leopard. Hope to see the final one as well as WindowShade.
Like
Version 1.5.1b4
Ronfez007
11 July 2008
I think it's safe to say that Unsanity is no-more. Kiss such great products as Windowshade, FontCard and ShapeShifter Goodbye. Hopefully some other software developer will come in and run with Unsanity's product ideas. Only this time hopefully, it will be a company that appreciates its customers in a way that Unsanity did not. If anyone could list some alternatives to WindowShade and Fontcard, MightyMouse I think all former Unsanity users would appreciate it. R.I.P. Unsanity.
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
Ronfez007
07 May 2008
I'm smelling TOAST again... One crummy beta release (that doesn't work) after, what... ten months of Leopard being in the public's hands??? What a bummer. I've pretty much given up on Unsanity. Which is unfortunate, because, I really did like WindowShade and FontCard. Stick a fork in them folks - they are done and done'r.
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
RunHomeSlow
20 March 2008
Seems to work at home on a iMac G5/2.1 PPC, not tested long enough but no crash... can't use fontcard at the job with iMac Core Duo G5/2.1 make QuarkXpress 7.31 Crash with a single click.
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
Ffass
03 March 2008
It causes Mail's Help Menu to hang when selected.
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
gryphonent
26 February 2008
Nice to see Unsanity return to life... but is there any app that doesn't crash under Leopard with the new haxies installed?
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
Raddle
26 February 2008
FYI, is crashing FontExplorer 1.2.3 on my Intel... but nice to see some signs of life!
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
Fvdg
26 February 2008
Could not resist trying it: simply does not work on other languages except English...
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
Fvdg
26 February 2008
Installs APE... again... trouble ahead!
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
1 answer(s)
Feh-App-Store
Feh-App-Store
28 February 2008
um, when has it not?
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
rustyphillips
26 February 2008
So much for Unsanity being TOAST! Way to go guys! We have missed you for way too long and so far, so good with all of the apps I have downloaded.
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
26 February 2008
5 stars? Could please backup your review with examples of why it deserves 5 stars?
Like
Version 1.5.1b1
Ronfez007
11 February 2008
Unfortunately, Unsanity is toast. Stick a fork in them they are done. Let's see, it's been close to 5 months with no updates for any of their software. Not a one. What a joke. Way to show respect for your customers. If they cared, or were working on new releases, they'd be keeping us up-to-date on their blog page... which of course, they are not doing. So, my only conclusion is that they have thrown in the towel. Sorry folks, it's time to face reality.
Like
Version 1.5
gryphonent
28 January 2008
All of Unsanity's products are not compatible with Leopard. Since the release of Leopard there has been NO communication as to if and when their apps are being updated. The website is out of date and the last blog entry on it stems from November 2007. Obviously, nobody at Unsanity cares about customer support... which is a shame, because I for one have strongly supported this company and registered almost every single one of their products.
Like
Version 1.5
Corpsecorps
06 June 2007
_ Still not working with the font menus in Camino's "Advanced" font settings. .
Like
Version 1.5
Corpsecorps
21 February 2007
_ Using 1.4 on a Mac Pro. FontCard's menus are not compatible with either the Camino Browser or GraphicConverter. FontCard can present problems with CS2 also, as mentioned.
Like
Version 1.4
Angelos
19 January 2007
Since FontCard uses "Unmatched Fonts" its very annoying to select a font in Adobe CS2 products. Now I have two different font menues to select a font: unmatched fonts and other fonts. Not useful anymore. Trashed it.
Like
Version 1.4
JamesHarrisPhoto
05 April 2006
I'm having a problem with 1.3.2 that happens in several programs. Font styles in submenus cannot be chosen, it only defaults to the main listed font in the main menu. If I'm using ITC Berkeley, and I want to choose the italic version, it won't accept the change and keeps the regular version. The font set is complete, but FontCard won't allow the style change. I have no problems with You Control: Fonts, but I like the fact the FontCard works in the app's own font menu and not a separate one. I've contacted Unsanity twice in the last month via their email tech support and have yet to hear a word. Terrible support!
Like
Version 1.3.2
keno
25 November 2005
Installed on one machine 10.3.9 perfectly. Doesn't work identical other-like it's not installed. Loved Action WSYSIWYG. Any way to: 1) reorder and/or rename the fonts? 2) show all fonts from Suitcase X1 without the sub menus? 3) create alternates via MultipleMaster fonts
Like
Version 1.3.2
Larry DeBolt
24 September 2005
When using Photoshop Elements 3 with Tiger 10.4.2, not all my fonts will show up in Photoshop Elements 3. All is fine when I disengage Font Card.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Fvdg
14 June 2005
Fontcard, or maybe just APE, crashes Photoshop so hard that it leads to a kernel panic! Even excluding Fontcard or APE does not help. Removing Fontcard/APE: everything is fine. Bug can be repeated.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Bob_weiner
26 May 2005
The latest version of Fontcard fixes an annoying issue where subsequent visits to the pull-down Font menus in Photoshop would cause a noticeable lag. So, I am once again a happy camper. Thanks for the fix, Unsanity!
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
25 March 2005
What a pleasure seeing fonts like in OS 9 when using Adobe's Type Reunion, or Impossible Software's TypeTamer! The grouping of PostScript fonts is well worth the small user fee!
Like
Version 1.2.4
zoom77
02 March 2005
After about 2 hours of working in InDesign CS this thing crashes InDesign about once every 10 minutes. It's very frustrating. Time to uninstall it. I'm also using Master Juggler for font management.
Like
Version 1.2.4
RSoldin
31 December 2004
I started using this a couple months ago and love it. Nice to have good looking font menus again. With the combination of FontAgent and FontCard, my book production is back to normal. I had a small problem with it a few weeks ago but a quick reply from their support and it was fixed.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
28 December 2004
I want a haxie that will crash OSX on startup and make me 'troubleshoot my extensions' just like the old days
Like
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 May 2005
Never had a problem with haxies, all the way back to Jaguar. Try doing common disk maintenance on a regular basis and maybe your problems will go away.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Morgan Knicely
19 December 2004
An excellent product, I've been using it from the first version before it could handle carbon applications. I just checked it out in MS Word and InDesign CS to see if the prior comments were correct... no crashes. If you do find an app that has trouble with it, the PreferencePane provides an easy way to disable it for that app. This is a superb example of the groundbreaking work that Unsanity has been doing for OSX.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
18 November 2004
Version 1.2.2 crashes Appleworks 6.24 and IndesignCS. On the latter, a Force Quit is needed to get out of InDesignCS. I won't bother trying it with anything else.
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 December 2004
Most likely because one of the fonts it attempts to scan is defective. Try opening FontBook, then preview each font - one of them will most likely make FontBook crash too. That'll be the culprit.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
17 November 2004
My faith in Unsanity is restored! This latest version fixes the bug that prevented FontCard from showing ALL you fonts in graphics apps. Works with Suitcase X1, not sure about FontBook. And there is a bit of a speed increase. My only wish is that it worked with font collections from Suitcase and not just FontBook.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
17 November 2004
Price, value, and features are all way beyond the seventeen dollars for this app.
Like
Version 1.2.2
will-mardis
26 October 2004
Sorry, but it still crashes Word (X) and FreeHand 10. Didn't see any reason to pursue further after that. I will say Haxie's tech Support has been superb in the past, and I expect they will be able to solve this problem. However, it's crashing Word and FreeHand in such a way to not even a crashlog is generated.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 October 2004
Did you read the Read Me file as its states the following, among others: Known Issues - If an application has it's own WYSIWYG menu (Word, AppleWorks) the option must be turned off for FontCard to work. Most applications allow you to turn this off in their preferences. This version works very well for me in Word and is much faster than previous versions.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
14 October 2004
Great haxie, but they have to work on it. FreeHand now doesn't crash, but some fonts are not shown using FC and other fonts are not working properly. Only disabling the haxie solves these problems. I wish it would work as good as Adobe Type Reunion anytime...
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
04 October 2004
If you have any probs that you can't solve yourself, turn to their support. They provided me with most persistent and most instructional tech support I've ever experienced in 15 years of computing, and after all they solved the problem. Glad I bought this!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
04 October 2004
If you have any probs that you can't solve yourself, turn to their support. They provided me with most persistent and most instructional tech support I've ever experienced in 15 years of computing, and after all they solved the problem. Glad I bought this!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
21 September 2004
Jep! Works when deleting plists in 10.3.5. So far it`s faster then before and no more crashes in Freehand (!!!). Hmm. and i think it´s faster than You-Fonts! As always good, work!
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
21 September 2004
The speed improvement in 1.1 makes the difference between FontCard being usable and unusable to me... it's terrific, even works OK in BBEdit 6.5 when it used to take ages to display the font menu. And support for Cocoa apps doesn't hurt either.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
21 September 2004
I had a small problem with version 1.1. not being enabled, but after deleting the .plist files and relaunching this version works perfect under 10.3.5. Much faster and reliable so far.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
21 September 2004
well, works with cocoa now, and is way faster. woot.
Like
Version 1.1
Rodrigo
04 June 2004
I was very disappointed with this product. I purchased it to get fonts grouped by family in Freehand. At first it worked correctly. But soon, as I started working the program conflicted with freehand which quits all the time with Fontcard installed. They still have to work a lot on this haxie, for now it still looks more like a hoaxie to me.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Bigcity141
17 February 2004
Although not horrible, speed is an issue. What is driving me crazy is the reminder to pay for it every other time I choose a font. However, at least I can see the fonts in their own typeface, and grouped! And the people at Extensis said this couldn't be done! OSX is finally catching up with ATM and Type Reunion. joy.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Mark-G-Davis
12 February 2004
I don't know about the person who said that it worked great with Studio MX and Freehand because when I bring up either of these the fonts in the menu are all grayed out and cannot select any font. I still don't think that this is ready for prime time. I have tried with and without Suitcase, with and without Font Book to no avail. The same thing each time. Any ideas anyone?
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
11 February 2004
Waiting for cocoa version, still very happy with the latest. Pretty cool stuff.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
11 February 2004
Works very nicely in most apps -- including FreeHand MX and Suitcase X1. Unfortunately, it still behaves very strangly with non-CS versions of Adobe apps (probably due to their in-built font grouping menu structure). Aside from that though, it's always nice to have fonts grouped and viewable.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Anonymous
26 January 2004
Very nice in FreeHand, works perfectly.
Like
Version 1.0.2