PhotoReviewer
Your rating: Now say why...

(2) 3.875

Review, sort, and rename incoming digital photos.   Shareware ($15.00)
Add to my Watch List
Email me when discounted
PhotoReviewer is a photo management app that helps you to sort through your incoming photos from your digital camera (including raw images!).

Quickly view your photos and choose which ones are "keepers", sort them into different folders, view histograms, rename them sequentially, and more. PhotoReviewer belongs between your digital camera and iPhoto, weeding and sorting your photos before iPhoto gets bogged down by them. It also makes a great slideshow app!
What's New
Version 2.2.2:
  • Now compatible with OS X 10.6 to 10.8
  • Now a 64-bit app for improved speed and stability
  • Improved histograms, with a percentage of pixels over/underexposed
  • Added tinting of over/underexposed areas in the image viewed
  • Added movable horizontal/vertical rules to check for level horizons and straight buildings
  • Downscaled of review images is added, for a smaller memory footprint and faster review
  • Side-by-side comparison of up to 36 images now supported
  • Miscellaneous minor bug fixes and UI cleanup
Version 2.2.2:
  • Now compatible with OS X 10.6 to 10.8
  • Now a 64-bit app for improved speed and stability
  • Improved histograms, with a percentage of pixels over/underexposed
  • Added tinting of over/underexposed areas in the image viewed
  • Added movable horizontal/vertical rules to check for level horizons and straight buildings
  • Downscaled of review images is added, more...
Requirements
  • Intel, 64-bit processor
  • OS X 10.6 or later



MacUpdate - PhotoReviewer




  • ViewIt
    +1

  • Photo Wrangler
    +1

  • Sorterox
    +1

  • JamesJr
    +1
PhotoReviewer User Discussion (Write a Review)
ver. 2.x:
(2)
Your rating: Now say why...
Overall:
(4)

sort: smiles | time
burypromote

+8
Northern Steve commented on 23 Feb 2013
This is a nice app, which I tried out for a few days and then paid up my $15. Since then it has started to crash with irritating frequency. I use Snow Leopard.

The developer is a one-man [or apparently at this time a "no-man" operation] who offers no user support. Frustrating, but then I should have noticed the old posting dates on the positive reviews.

Still, it's a nice product when it works. There would be room for a little tidying-up and smoothing out of the workflow, but if the developer ever gets back to work and solves the stability issue I'd give it 4 or even 4 1/2 stars even without any further development.

$15 would seem reasonable for a product that works properly, but for now I'm not sure how to separate "value" from "overall rating", so both get 2 1/2 stars.
[Version 2.1]

1 Reply

burypromote
+1

+2
Stick Software (developer) replied on 24 Sep 2013
Hi Northern Steve. Sorry for the lapse, but I was finishing up a PhD, which left me with no time for other stuff. PhotoReviewer has now been updated, and it should be stable on 10.6 through 10.8 (and hopefully 10.9 too). I'd very much appreciate it if you revised your rating of the app, as you suggest that you would if the stability issue were resolved. Thanks!
burypromote
+1

+5
relux commented on 10 Jan 2008
Great software, unfortunately it is very much broken in Leopard. Has major issues with memory and taking over the entire machine...

Hopefully the developer will get around to fixing this.
[Version 2.1]

1 Reply

burypromote
+1

+2
Stick Software (developer) replied on 24 Sep 2013
The developer is here to say: it has been fixed. Those memory problems should be history.
burypromote

+268
gryphonent commented on 09 Jan 2008
Seems to have gone the way of the Dodo.
[Version 2.1]

1 Reply

burypromote

+2
Stick Software (developer) replied on 24 Sep 2013
It's back!
burypromote

sparkwatson reviewed on 27 Aug 2006
This program is exactly what I needed.
I think Photo Reviewer and iPhoto Library ought to get together and sell as a bundle for those users who are constantly pushing the boundaries of iPhoto.

I've set it up so that when I plug my camera in, Photo Reviewer is the first to act.

I take on average 7-8 thousand photos a year. Previously this was quite a challenge for iPhoto -- now on a first pass I pare off about 50-60% of those with Photo Reviewer. It's fast, efficient and well thought-out for a first-react on photos.

It could be better, however. This is what I'd love from this tool.

1) a separate split-screen window of your Approved and Vetoed photos (small thumbnails) that accrues w/ each vote so you can see what you're doing. The ability to drag/drop between those screens would be uber cool.

2) an 'undo' function on votes. Would be much easier than going to find the photo you've just allotted to the trash pile (though this isn't too hard).

3) Statistics! I love knowing 1) how much space I'm saving w/ each veto 2) what number in any given role I've vetoed (percentages, etc)

4) Photo Reviewer has this cool feature where you can ' copy a thumbnail of a photo to the clipboard'. Great idea. However I'd like to see this taken farther with an 'email this photo' button. A lot of times I look at the photos in photo reviewer and then don't look at them again after they're imported into iphoto for a while (month? year?) and so I like to have impulse-reaction on photos.

5) Some handling of video files (taken w/ still camera) would be useful.

All in all, great software. Purchased this and iPhoto Library in a weekend and feel like I'm finally getting a handle on my iphoto library.
[Version 2.0]


burypromote

+73

Andrew-Scott reviewed on 18 Feb 2006
PhotoReviewer seems to do it's job very well. It's fast, easy to use and flexible for sorting through the piles of images that come so easily from digital cameras.

One thing I wish it would do is read the EXIF rotation information that way Photoshop and other programmes do.

My other wish is for a Universal Binary version. I'm keen to buy a shareware image sorter and PhotoReviewer (US$10) is my favourite ahead of Xee (free) and Photo Wrangler (US$15). Xee is very fast too but doesn't let you sort images into different folders as far as I can see. Photo Wrangler is great at sorting but seems very slow. PhotoReviewer seems like the best of the bunch to me but I'm not sure if it's still being updated.
[Version 1.4]

1 Reply

burypromote

+73
Andrew-Scott replied on 18 Feb 2006
Correction to my previous post: Xee does indeed afford image sorting (moving or copying) but I can't see how to use keyboard shortcuts to select a destination and move a file to it in one action, something PhotoReviewer does by default.
burypromote


Anonymous reviewed on 26 Sep 2004
I've used PhotoReviewer for a couple of weeks now. I typically capture several hundred (200 - 600) raw image files from my Canon 1Ds or Canon 10D. Although I "process" the images in the commercial software program Capture 1 DSLR from Phase One, I do my initial edits ("approved" or "vetoed") in PhotoReviewer. It is designed to do just one thing well: edit your photos by moving the files from the capture folder to either an "Approved" folder or a "Vetoed" folder.

PhotoReviewer is much faster at viewing the images and moving them to an approved or vetoed folder than either Capture 1 or Photoshop (using the file browser). If you have hundreds of image files to edit after every shoot, this program does just that very quickly and very well.

The program lets you allocate as much memory as you may need to pre-load the images so that as you move through the queue each image loads instantly. This pre-load is done in the background and works fairly fast.

When I use PhotoReviewer, I am mowing through raw camera files of 6 to 11 MB. If I am editing quickly, then I can "hit the pre-load buffer" and I must wait for the next image to load (when working with JPEGs, I cannot reach the end of the file buffer). When more memory is allocated, it takes even longer to hit the buffer, if at all. Using a 17" PowerBook with 2GB RAM, I allocated 1GB to PhotoReviewer for quickest editing. Make sure you understand the preferences well before you change any of the settings.

PhotoReviewer lets you rotate images, then move them from the current capture folder to either an "Approved" folder of your choice or a "Vetoed" folder of your choice. That's all it does, and it does it very well.

It's been the best $10 I've spent in software all year.
[Version 1.3]


There are currently no troubleshooting comments. If you are experiencing a problem with this app, please post a comment.


-7

Fmj35 rated on 18 Dec 2013

[Version 2.2.2]


Downloads:8,655
Version Downloads:215
Type:Utilities : File Management
License:Shareware
Date:20 Nov 2013
Platform:Intel 64 / OS X
Price: $15.00
Overall (Version 2.x):
Features:
Ease of Use:
Value:
Stability:
Displaying 1-6 of 6
Displaying 1-1 of 1
-
-
-
Please login or create a new
MacUpdate Member account
to use this feature
Watch Lists are available to
MacUpdate Desktop Members
Upgrade Now
Install with MacUpdate Desktop.
Save time moving files & cleaning
up space wasting archives.
PhotoReviewer is a photo management app that helps you to sort through your incoming photos from your digital camera (including raw images!).

Quickly view your photos and choose which ones are "keepers", sort them into different folders, view histograms, rename them sequentially, and more. PhotoReviewer belongs between your digital camera and iPhoto, weeding and sorting your photos before iPhoto gets bogged down by them. It also makes a great slideshow app!


- -