Back to YemuZip page
YemuZip free download for Mac

YemuZip Reviews

2.5
15 February 2019

Easy-to-use Zip compression utility.

Pehpsi-3
30 October 2008

Most helpful

Very nice, simple and clean. Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3

Read 32 YemuZip User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
15 February 2019
Release Notes for version 2.5 (which was actually released January 12, 2016): "Updated to use new APIs." -> Note that this YemuZip is free to use. Paying for it supports the developer and removes ads.
Like
Version 2.5
Robio
09 March 2018
All I need is the ability to ZIP without the hidden .DS_store and __MACOSX showing up for the Windows users. This app is small, simple, and does exactly that.

I tried a couple other apps that have this feature, but they're either expensive, bloated, or don't do the job correctly. This one does.
Like
Version 2.4.8
tylmnop
13 July 2017
This is a very easy to use program.
Like
Version 2.4.8
tommytuna
17 April 2017
This is an awesome piece of useful software. I love it. It works, it doesn't demand a lot of attention. I am rating it as a way of thanking the developer. I think I bought it (because I don't see ads) , but if I can't ascertain if I did previously, I'll pay the very low fee, even if it's a 2nd time.
Like
Version 2.4.8
Aretevt
19 January 2017
Super
Like
Version 2.4.8
Mikael-B
27 October 2014
Very useful for staying PC-Compatible without bewildering Windows users with resource files and such. Fast too and I hardly saw the ad that felt relevant too and I hate ads. I might upgrade to the Pay app as it's so nice.
Like
Version 2.4.8
Britwrap
27 January 2013
It works, it's stable, it's inexpensive, it's supported, it's easily attainable and it's mine.........if you need more....buy it yourself and write your own review....it's worth it!
Like (1)
Version 2.4.5
crickett
25 June 2012
i've used Yemu for a few years now: it's still fabulous, reliable, and i've not had any trouble whatsoever in using Yemu. YellowMug provides regular updates and has quite an array of user friendly products. There's currently a special for Yemu on their site, and gosh, it's worth it. The customer support is so refreshing and prompt! Thanks for the well-earned glowing comments for YellowMug! (And i'd suggest going for the token $4.99, but i'd bought the bundle and have actually used each one ~ and never have they required a fee for updates). Give 'em a try - i hope you enjoy their shareware and freeware! Finally - a company that truly supports the MAC platform! Thanks ~ i learned about them from MacUpdate, and fine forum pals like each of you.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.4
Tony-Aguila
04 June 2012
I have been using this for a long time and finally purchased it at the App Store. With this latest version, it appends the file extension twice (….zip.zip). Odd.
Like
Version 2.4.4
DonkeyKong
19 May 2012
This is not free. And I recommend Keka instead.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.4
Robk
17 May 2012
Please note that the FREE version is not really free anymore. It appears to be ad-supported. If you do not want adds, you will need to buy it for $4.99 on the App Store.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.4
freevito
15 May 2012
As a daily user of YellowMug's great EasyCrop app (a massive timesaver!), I'm delighted to have the chance to rave about YemuZip. Recently I had to zip over 80 humongous files (between 1GB and 2GB). OS X's built-in zip compression utility is good, but it's slow and it eats system memory. If you have a lot of really big files to zip, you'll end up with lots of inactive memory (as revealed by Activity Monitor). So, I fired up the free version of YemuZip, which I've used with good results in the past. It did such a superb job that I bought the paid version of YemuZip on purpose...just for the pure selfish pleasure of giving YellowMug my $upport. Oh...and I should mention that YemuZip is very conservative in the amount of system memory it renders inactive after compressing a bunch of files. Thanks, YellowMug, for writing great apps!
Like
Version 2.4.3
Mores
16 April 2012
As stated before, this little proggie will make your ZIP files look like they need to on a PC. It's great. Drop onto Icon in the Doc, give it a name or accept the default and it's done. I use this on a regular basis and it is fantastic!
Like
Version 2.4.3
Amt
02 January 2012
I have a number of clients on PCs who get zip files from me regularly. Once I started using YemuZip it was nice to stop getting those emails asking "What are the extra files? Am I missing something?". Now they just get what they need.
Like
Version 2.4.2
pychap
11 May 2011
Good, simple zip utility for those poor sots that have to work on PC's. The benefit is that most of my clients that I send zipped files (that are on PC's) get confused by the extra files that the Mac OS adds upon archiving. This app keeps the zips clean and easy for them. Thank you.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Felix01
17 March 2011
For compressing and zipping files, I merely select the file, pull down the File menu in Finder, select "Compress (the file) and the Mac OS does the heavy lifting. Now that's pretty simple. Does YemuZip do anything else for me other than costing a shareware fee? For example, does it compress the files any smaller and/or anything else?
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
2 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
29 April 2011
The program is free. Use it, or don't.
Like
Maeric
Maeric
26 January 2012
The Mac OSX compress archive will add extra hidden files that YemuZip doesn't. Although hidden to a Mac user, a PC user will see those files and complain or question why I added those files. I use this program when sending any compressed file to a PC user. And, yes, YemuZip is free.
Like
protagonistic
12 March 2011
If you are tired of programs that try to throw in every feature in the book and are so complicated you have to RTFM to figure out how to use them then this program is for you. It does one thing and it does it very well. And that says it all.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Eodtech
07 March 2011
I can remember the first time I used ARC ( command line input ) on a DOS PC to ZIP a file. Slick as snot on a door handle, I was impressed with the technology of the 1980's. Well YemuZip makes life a lot easier with Mac drag & drop technology to get the same job done - quickly , down and dirty it's a no brainer to make ZIP files, works like a champ. Another GREAT utility from YMS is SizzlingKeys for controlling iTunes. This is functionality that Apple should have included with iTunes from the very beginning ! The ability to control ALL iTunes functions from the Desktop with a variety of keys combinations makes life a lot easier. Period - end of story. Do yourself a favor and buy the Bundle of 9 applications ( ALL are winners in my book ) for $40. Between SnapnDrag and File Chute ( BOTH received 4 Mice ratings from Macworld ) you'll be satisfied with the bundle , plus "PRO" upgrades to 4 of the applications in the bundle! - I also use YemuZip for a drag and drop solution to making ZIP files. I have used a number of screen capture utilities over the years and I keep going back to SnapnDrag ( from YMS ) , for it's simplicity in getting the job done. Works 100% of the time, 3 option choices cover ALL of my needs. I highly recommend SnD for your screen capture needs. I also use a number of other applications from Yellow Mug Software, and they ALL are winners! I am in no way connected with YMS or any of it's employees, I am a 100% satisfied customer. Give their products a test drive, it's not going to cost you any $$$ and I am sure you will be pleasantly .
Like (1)
Version 2.4
themistocles
25 January 2011
I have been using compression utilities since then teenager Raymond Lau first created them on the Mac back in the mid 1980s. YEMU Zip is simple, elegant and extremely fast, even for vey large files (I frequently compress 10 GB or large files). Although some complain about it using a Folder, for me that is perfect, because I almost always compress multiple files. I highly recommend this and also like the fact that they simply don't bug one too badly about paying the tiny $4.95 shareware fee, which I finally got around to doing.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.2
pxforti
22 December 2010
I recently bought a Macbook (I normally use Windows), and was surprised to find that the default Mac ZIP utility includes all of the invisible files from the Mac file system. All of these files are useful to the Finder and Spotlight, but they will create a BIG mess on your web server or create a lot of confusing and useless files for Windows users. What’s more, even if you use the Mac UNIX command-line ZIP, TAR, or GZIP utilities to zip files, the same thing happens: you get the invisible Mac system files. Luckily, there is an inexpensive/free zip tool that fixes this problem: Yemu Zip. Yemu Zip creates clean Linux- or Windows-compatible zip files, and it’s free to try or $4.95 to buy it. I decided to pay the $4.95; if you consider the amount of time it would take to create such a tool, $4.95 is a real deal. When you create a Zip file with Yemu Zip, it asks if you want to create a Windows- or Mac-compatible zip. Creating a zip is simple: just drag a folder or files onto the Yemu Zip icon on the dock and presto: you have a clean zip file.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Stefani
05 September 2009
Why use this program instead of the built in Contextual Menu "Compress"??? I'd glad to pay for this program if it would allow the compression of multiple files individually, but in the preferences there is no this option :-(
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
1 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
30 September 2009
It has a few extra features than the default compressor, but the fact that it still leaves hidden Mac OS X files inside the zip file after compression is rather annoying. I'll stick with BetterZip, despite that it costs money. I just wish BetterZip wasn't such a horribly slow compressor.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Francola
11 November 2008
Perfect for me. Just what I have been waiting for! The new ability to close automatically after zipping, sold it for me. I even sent my $4.95 to remove the ads! ;)
Like
Version 2.2.4
Pehpsi-3
30 October 2008
Very nice, simple and clean. Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
Kaufi
12 November 2007
One-trick pony - which does its trick very well. Stable app with very handy and unobtrusive GUI. Also, very responsive support. Not needed if you only wish to make ZIPs in general, but as soon as you exchange your ZIP files with Windows users it's a great help. I recommend it.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Garlicbreath
15 September 2007
Danger! This program can destroy files without warning! I was cleaning up some archives of font files. Many were .sit and .sitx and I was changing them to .zip so I wouldn't need stuffit. PC-compatible was selected, and I was getting really good compression. It turns out the compression was so good because YemuZip deleted the resource portion (I'm guessing) of the font files, totally destroying them. Luckily I do have backups, but be careful what you do!
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
11 October 2007
Uh, you need to read YemuZip's website. You can choose to include or remove resource forks in the prefs. "The Finder's Archive function makes zip files that contains Mac-specific information that, when extracted on a PC, looks like garbage. YemuZip lets you choose between a PC-compatible format and a Mac format that preserve all the Mac-specific metadata."
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
macupdate-290
25 August 2007
Nice update. I wish it didn't put single items in a folder (zip one file, then expand and you get a folder with the file inside instead of just the file). Other than that, a great utility when dealing with PC users.
Like
Version 2.1
Fredducker
22 April 2007
Hello - The version only runs for X version 10.3.9 (as read from the "read me" file... Still no good stuffing program for 10.2 or 10.1 to be found... shame.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Jdb41
11 February 2007
From the dev site: "The Finder's Archive function makes zip files that contains Mac-specific information that, when extracted on a PC, looks like garbage. YemuZip lets you choose between a PC-compatible format and a Mac format that preserve all the Mac-specific metadata."
Like
Version 2.0.1
Talltree1008
25 October 2006
I have a question, as a newbie to OS X. How is this better than control clicking on a folder or file and creating an archive that way?
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
28 December 2006
Good question. If you have Tiger I don't see any.
Like
Version 2.0
Jdb41
Jdb41
11 February 2007
From the dev site: "The Finder's Archive function makes zip files that contains Mac-specific information that, when extracted on a PC, looks like garbage. YemuZip lets you choose between a PC-compatible format and a Mac format that preserve all the Mac-specific metadata."
Like
Version 2.0.1
Mores
Mores
16 April 2012
If you send that ZIP file to a PC user, he'll get additional files that are invisible on the Mac. For example, the ZIP contains .image1.jpg .image2.jpg image1.jpg image2.jpg You don't actually see the dot files This tends to confuse PC users and they usually click on them and nothing happens, then complain and moan about it and call you names. :)
Like
Anonymous
19 April 2004
this is a really simple nice software. looks good, runs good and is exactly what u need to send compressed files ...
Like
Version 1.2.1
Pedro Gomes da Silva
27 September 2003
It's a plain, simple and easy to use app... as it should be. it doens't seem to have any problem with resource forks and that's good. I need to try it a litle more to see if it can replace my old time favourite (DropTBZ) but i thinks it's going the right way.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Jimthepianoman
Jimthepianoman
22 April 2007
Can anyone email me a copy of DropTBZ? I accidentally trashed mine and the versiontracker link is broken or expired. thx, Jim
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
09 August 2003
It does what it says it will do. Easy drop-and-drag and free (for personal use)! I haven't run into any stability issues using it so far. Very good zip compression utility. Thanks for the software.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Gabe Simpson
Gabe Simpson
24 October 2005
this is the fastest most stable free ZIP app ive used. I was running into issues with my Stuffit after i upgraded to OS 10.4.2 and needed a quick zippit method to backup some personal files. A+ thank you. Gabe
Like
Version 1.2.1