Back to Studiometry page
Studiometry free download for Mac

Studiometry Reviews

15.0
11 December 2018

Keep track of every aspect of your clients, projects, and invoices.

Prlab
07 September 2010

Most helpful

Yeah, right. As if a "humble freelancer" can afford $200.
Like (5)
Version 8.0

Read 73 Studiometry User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tim27
20 November 2017
Interesting that this software is still around. The number of comments here has been 0 for the last few years, so I imagine the number of users is going down instead of up. Makes sense, as this software is fairly expensive compared to other better solutions (Redbooth, etc). The UI also still looks dated. And you have to sign up for their cloud service to do any kind of syncing.
Like
Version 14.0.1
1 answer(s)
Oranged Software
Oranged Software
11 December 2018
Hey Tim,

You don't need to sign up for the Cloud to sync, you can do that using your own private server if you'd like. Also the number of comments here has gone down because download sites like this seem to have fallen out of popularity. Studiometry is still running strong and being actively developed.
Like
Mar6473
12 April 2014
I wonder why it hasn't been updated for retina displays. It looks pretty bad.
Like
Version 11.1.2
1 answer(s)
mikokim
mikokim
23 January 2015
Yes it does - especially on an iMac 27 Retina. It's very powerful, and it was the best replacement I could find for iBiz after the developers abandoned it— but it certainly lacks in the look and feel department; it's also not the most intuitive piece of software — not Mac like at all (all around).
Like
Mextex
31 January 2014
Just installed the Trial version and it look great. Unfortunately it is limited the US, as the currency used is only $. No chance to change it to €. The app I need is already on my mac but I can't use it...so frustrating. Hope the developer will add other currencies soon.....
Like
Version 11.1
1 answer(s)
Mextex
Mextex
04 February 2014
OK, I was totally wrong. Forget everything I mentioned in my previous comment, except that I really like Studiometry. However, I must have been blind, this app supports multiple currencies of course... I think that at the end of the trial period I am going to buy it. So far I am satisfied...
Like (1)
volcanic
10 October 2012
To sum it up, value for money, a solid range of features and sweet options to make those reports and invoices the best damn looking bills anyone will ever see! Way back in 2006 I chose Studiometry to run the small ad agency I was in charge of. I looked at a few competitors others I knew were using, but the annual running costs were just unjustifiable. The initial outlay for Studiometry is solid value, and the upgrades down the track are super affordable, but having said that if you don't want to upgrade and skip a version, it all works just fine until you do decide to. We needed a project management and estimate/invoicing solution and I found the trial of Studiometry to be a breeze, and within a short time I had purchased a copy for the staff at the agency. Each version upgrade since then has been a big leap. 6 years later I still highly recommend this software to freelancers and small studios and agencies alike. The customer support is brilliant (I have had some queries answered literally in minutes!) but otherwise the ticketing feedback process is easy to use. Another thing I love about this is you can also make feature requests and work with the developers in improvements for all users.
Like (4)
Version 10.0
2 answer(s)
Gabp
Gabp
24 October 2012
I've already bought Studiometry but haven't upgraded yet. I'm currently using the now painfully-unsupported Billings app (it's been useful, but in no way does it offer the features I'm looking for anymore). Seeing you've been using it for close to 6 years, I was wondering if you ever took the time to look at SaaS solutions like Freshbooks. Do you feel like the network components like approvable estimates and automatic late fees are hindering Studiometry? Have you ever tought about making the switch and, more importantly, if you decided to stay with Studiometry, what made you choose it over others? This isn't a review as much as a question, but most invoicing apps reviews are outdated and I'd be curious to have a recent point of view. Thanks for sharing your toughts!
Like
volcanic
volcanic
29 October 2012
Hey Gabp, look I only know Studiometry, and prior to that we did a heck of a lots of manual stuff (invoicing from excel says it all!). Certainly for the price point I don't believe it can be beat, it has a lot of features I don't even use yet, but the core stuff I need is searchable data across the client base. It's pretty much like this for me 1. Create Client 2. Create Project attached to Client 3. Then just go from there for example 3a. Time your work on said project 3b. Enter manual costs and project info 3c. Create Estimate (Quote) to sent to Client 4. Invoice client 5. Track overdue invoices 6. Enter payments (can be done as whole invoice payment or you can manually eneter partial payments and allocate them to an invoice) 7. Once job invoice is paid close it off. Hope that helps cheers volcanic
Like (2)
twigfig
10 October 2012
We've been using Studiometry for a solid year now; just updated to v10. We have a small graphic design studio in which 3 of us need to communicate clearly with one another at every stage of the way, both financially, in job tracking/status and with updates/details of the job. When searching for a project management software I was overwhelmed by the choice out there. Most were either crazy costly and required we purchase an ongoing online webservice (with ongoing monthly fees), or they were intended for huge software production companies with all sorts of features that did not apply to us. (Not that you couldn't use Studiometry for such complex teams.) Setting up our business in Studiometry, like any in-depth application, took a little while to get used to. But we weren't looking for a dumbed down solution aimed at the LCD (lowest common denominator) user, we wanted something that would grow with our learning curve, being as complex as we needed it to be. That Studiometry delivered on. Setting up the project management was a bit tricky for us. But in our case, there was a factor that must be considered in our learning curve (and anyone's assessment). We, as a team, weren't versed in working with a project management software. If we had come to the program with the foundation of flow charts, gantt world and such we would have sailed through our initial setup pains. But this was our own lacking, not Studiometry. Basically, we depend 100% on running our business through Studiometry now. It runs excellent reports--so much so that we can extract and review exactly the info that we wish to extract. We can check our profitability, our current job statuses, how much we've earned, how much is owed to us, etc, etc. We've become a smarter business because of Studiometry and I would recommend it in a heartbeat. Any lackings that we've found have only been within ourselves, not the program! It's overflowing with as many features as you'd ever need. Just take the time to learn the basics, both of the program and your own skills as a business person. The price is easily a fraction of what the ongoing web based PM run and if you set it up with a server you can get the same anywhere-anytime accessibility. The phone/itouch app is great, too. As a graphic designer I'd like to see a sexier interface, but it's not atrocious by any means. And I'll take substance over flash any day.
Like (5)
Version 10.0
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
12 August 2014
Excellent review that convinced me to not get Studiometry, even though it seems to be a useful application.
Like
Next-Wave
19 September 2012
With every new version- Studiometry keeps getting more useful. We've seen requests for changes integrated into the program- and finally- quickbooks integration. We've recently been growing and have had to train new employees how to use it- and have been surprised at how quickly they picked it up. The program has also become super stable- and even synching issues seem to be a thing of the past. If it wasn't for Studiometry- we'd never have been able to grow and manage as many projects as we have in house now.
Like (1)
Version 10.0
Tony2u
02 February 2012
Studiometry is feature rich but customer support was minus zero. I was ready to plop $4,000 for the server edition. But when we had major issues with it we got a response ten days later. I am running a business. I cannot wait that long for support. I would rather pay 10-20k to have a web based CRM solution written for my company.
Like (5)
Version 9.0.4
7 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
05 September 2012
That's really good to know. I was about to recommend it to some customers of ours that wanted to move away from QuickBooks/Intuit, but this is a showstopper for them with their experience levels.
Like (1)
Oranged Software
Oranged Software
16 September 2012
First off, I'd like to say sorry to Tony for the delay with their support inquiries during their trial. We did have a delay one of the times responding to Tony's company as we were very backed up at that time with many inquiries, and we're a smaller company so we respond much quicker via email and support tickets as opposed to over the phone. We are usually very fast at responding to support questions (almost always same-day), so if anyone has a question or needs any help with our software, please feel free to contact us at support.oranged.net and see our support response time.
Like
kpublik
kpublik
12 October 2012
It's interesting, or perhaps telling, that it took Oranged over 7 months to reply to Tony2u's comment. Maybe they were prompted by ylluminate's comment, but even so, it was 10 days after that. I would like to hear more from people about their experience with support from Oranged Software. It doesn't look great so far.
Like (1)
Oranged Software
Oranged Software
15 October 2012
@kpublik We don't always monitor the review sites for support inquiries. If you need anything or have any questions please feel free to contact us at support.oranged.net
Like
kpublik
kpublik
15 October 2012
@Oranged. Thanks for the note, though it seems that it would be slightly disingenuous to say that you have to monitor this particular site. I'm pretty sure you receive e-mail notifications about comments made here. Regardless, I hope that if I invest in your product, your main support channel delivers reasonable replies to queries and requests for assistance.
Like
gotow
gotow
18 July 2013
@kpublik I'm a developer and have had the same problems that Oranged has had with these reviews. Developers don't get any sort of notification when someone posts something here, so it won't be seen until we happen to read through the reviews. It's very frustrating for those of us that really try to provide good support - if you (or anyone else) has issues with someone's software, please contact the developer through their support channel(s), not here.
Like (4)
Lostboss
Lostboss
16 September 2013
Ant time I have had an issue with Studiometry I have lodged a support ticket and received an answer within 24 hours, often sooner.
Like (1)
Next-Wave
21 September 2011
We've been users since version 1 or 2 (it's been a long time). Since version 8 shipped, we've had almost zero problems- plus, it keeps getting better. The latest upgrade really starts to make this software invaluable- the ability to integrate with Apple Mail has us moving away from Thunderbird- and makes Studiometry into a CRM system. Yes, the price has gone up over the years- but, I can say that if it weren't for Studiometry, we'd probably not be in business still- it's an invaluable tool for any business that works on a project basis and has to manage many clients all at once. We're still learning the feature set in 9.0.1, but it's a really great revision. The only reason I don't rate it a 5.0 is that the interface is getting pretty busy- with all the features added, some things aren't as intuitive as they could be.
Like (1)
Version 9.0.1
ratz2
16 September 2011
Awesome application! If you are running a Graphic Design Studio, Photography, Web Design Studio, Freelancer or really most any business this software is Awesome for project/client tracking and planning! Also for invoicing and keeping track of everything including files.
Like (1)
Version 9.0
C42D
14 September 2011
This program pays for itself if you run a real business. I have multiple employees and we work both in the office and at home sometimes. The ability to track hours any time, any place is crucial to running a profitable design studio. Its so easy to keep track of open jobs and expanses with this program. I really only use it for time tracking because I use quickbooks for invoicing, but I am sure it is solid in that respect too. Unlike some other reviews I am not crazy about their tech support. I have had several tickets go unanswered, and I was shocked to see how outdated the manual was when I bought version 8 (the manual was referring to version 5 in some spots). I did, however get answers in the forums and a few tickets I opened did get replies. Overall the minor issues I had with support do not outweigh the incredible value of this. If you're complaining about the cost then you are not making enough money and you should reconsider your business plan. Suggesting base camp or any other free solution is a replacement is laughable. It costs money for a reason, it works. Do yourself a favor and get this program, you won't regret it.
Like (1)
Version 9.0
counterform
09 September 2011
I own a small design firm and have been using Studiometry since version 4. It has been a solid program for us with a variety of features unmatched by any competitor that we've come across. Additionally, the Studiometry sales team has been accommodating and helpful as we have had questions and support issues. I have recommended Studiometry to other colleagues and will continue to in the future.
Like
Version 9.0
Moxiesozo
06 September 2011
Holy Sh!t -- that's a HUGE list of changes, fixes, and additions. Hopefully no new bugs introduced...
Like
Version 9.0
Londonskater
08 July 2011
I've been using this software a long, long time. Likes: 1. it allows me to track projects and invoice my clients. 2. Server syncing. 3. Templates for invoices. Dislikes: 1. the UI. It's Difficult to understand. Rubbish. 2. Overcomplicated. Too many features all on screen at the same time. 3. Expensive. 4. Hard to use. UI not withstanding, some things, like template design, are difficult to work with. 5. No copy-paste of items, such as work items. When you have a lot to create, right-clicking -> move mouse -> Duplicate is tedious. In short, buy only if, after an EXHAUSTIVE search, nothing else suits your needs. This could have been brilliant, this program, but it does too much, and none of it really well.
Like
Version 8.2
1 answer(s)
Oranged Software
Oranged Software
06 September 2011
Hello, Thanks for your feedback. Just wanted to let you know that you can copy and paste work items. Select an item in the work list and do the usual command-C (or use the edit menu/contextual menu). You can then paste that item into the same project or into another project. Also if you have common items you add to project often, you might want to use the blueprints features.
Like
aedieno
19 April 2011
We tried it with bad results... Studiometry boast stability across platforms (mac and pc), but has many limitations. The set up is long an tedious and did not work for the business. WATCH OUT FOR THE REFUND POLICY... The set up and testing coupled with only support ticket q&a took us outside of the refund policy; ouch! Definitely check out Daylite, FreeAgent or Freshbooks first...
Like (1)
Version 8.2
1 answer(s)
Oranged Software
Oranged Software
07 June 2011
As a note, we have a 30-day trial in addition to a 30-day refund policy that matches the refund policies of our competitors.
Like (2)
Prlab
07 September 2010
Yeah, right. As if a "humble freelancer" can afford $200.
Like (5)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Londonskater
Londonskater
09 July 2011
I think it's expensive, but not over-priced. And it's tax-deductable.
Like
Ericsackett
31 July 2009
I've used Studiometry for a long time now, and there really aren't many products that can compete with the features it has. And with each new version the developer has added new, useful features. The cost is very reasonable for anyone using this to run a real business.
Like (3)
Version 6.1.91
Tim27
01 July 2009
$220 now!!? The price keeps going up it seems. Better off supporting an online solution like Basecamp.
Like (3)
Version 6.1.9
Zoonini
08 June 2009
I've been a devoted Studiometry user since 2005. Before Studiometry, billing clients was a tedious task I would put off doing for as long as possible. Switching to Studiometry made it incredibly easy to track how much time I'm spending on each project, and makes invoicing for that project a snap. It handles complex Canadian tax scenarios with ease and generates professional-looking invoices. Studiometry has run smoothly and without issues for four years. When I recently ran into a problem when upgrading, Orange Software's customer support was exemplary. I received a response to my ticket promptly, and a full resolution to my problem in less than one business day, with personal service by phone and email. I would not hesitate to recommend Studiometry to anyone looking for a full-featured desktop time-tracking and invoicing program.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.8
Andrew-Ross
10 April 2009
Studiometry provides a very solid platform for freelancers/small business's who need a simple trouble free method of doing book-keeping and a way of tracking their related projects with ease, as a real bonus; it is very adaptable to your personal business needs, even as my work flow changed, Studiometry managed to adapt with ease and small changes. This is why I have been using Studiometry over many years in my overall work flow. SUPPORT The guys at Oranged.net offer a really incredible support service, they provide a very often immediate response, it's truly second to none service and this has got to be a real benefit for any small businesses or freelancer. as an example, I was having some problems with freezing and speed when when I used Studiometry, on contacting Oranged.net, they went straight into solving the root of the problem and offering an immediate solution and then spending the next few weeks to taking the issue seriously and actually solving it properly in this update 6.1.3. while all the time keeping me informed on their progress and testing my files before the new release. PERSONAL NEEDS What I like is that I can keep a very tailor made system to track and bill clients with minimal problems, prior software I used to generally would always require a lot more time for me to fit in with their software framework rather than understanding what my needs are, this really allows me to concentrate on my core work of my business and not just being consumed with daunting book-keeping that seems to be a job in itself! WORLDWIDE FLEXIBILITY Also I should add; I work with different clients across different regions, also working out of different countries during the year, which at times can be quite complex with tracking payments and project times etc, but this software has to be one of the few that can cope with what I need on a daily basis, e.g. dealing with different tax regimes, currency conversions, mixed payments currencies and ultimately keeping it logged in iCal for me, very convenient. q.v. Also by adding "Accounted" software that Oranged.net provide, you have a great back-end to how your business ultimately adds up. Highly recommended for the humble freelancer who needs to keep it simple and adaptable to your changing business needs, probably not recommended for accountants who make their money out of complexity of your book keeping! -A
Like (1)
Version 6.1.3
Adamaflynn
16 February 2009
I've been using Studiometry for a couple months now and it's been excellent for my needs. Makes tracking work and invoicing a LOT easier than it was with my old accounting software. It lets me track everything that I need to track for my development business (invoices, expenses, vendors, etc) for taxes and such, but simplifies out a lot of the accounting details that just burned time. The company itself is great as well. I recently needed a way to export data from the program in a certain way to prepare a tax report that I couldn't seem to do easily with the existing features. A few days later they replied to my ticket and told me they built the feature for me and it'll ship early the next week. I'm extremely satisfied by the support I've gotten from them (much, MUCH better than my last accounting package, where you get a support rep from India just trying to get you off the phone). I'd STRONGLY recommend this product!
Like (2)
Version 6.1
Sean-Drake
23 October 2008
I used this application since it first came out and i believe the price was 40.00. it was always slow, and where as it got a little better over time, however the price went up as well. ITs a very heavy application on your system. I feel its a bit outdated with the technology going on and the use of web apps though. I tried basecamp in tandem with freshbooks and its great as people can log in to projects from anywhere with web browser and the accounting with fresh books is great too. no i don't work for them. sean creativemafia.com
Like (1)
Version 6.0.4
Stefano-Cecere
12 October 2008
i used Studiometry 4.0.. it was the one that had the basic features i needed... but it was too buggy and UI wasn't very good... i didn't upgrade to 5 since it didn't fix any of the basic things i needed, while i moved to Billings+Filemaker. i'm not totally satisfied with them, so i keep coming back to studiometry.. tried 6.0 but i still found many bugs and UI headaches!!! (yes i noticed the vertical price bumb.. but it would not be a problem since i use it for work...) my conclusion: OS X still misses a good integrated time tracker/invoincing/project manager for freelancers/small companies it is strange, isn't it?
Like
Version 6.0.3
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
23 October 2008
For the price of this software you could try Creative Manager Pro or even the free Creative Pro Office. They are both web based.
Like
Version 6.0.4
Espiridion
09 October 2008
Regarding price, it wasn't as bad when it first appeared. Interestingly, version 6's price is 6 times as much as the first version. :) Version Price Increase 1 39.99 NA 1.1 54.99 37.51% 2 69.99 27.28% 2.1 79.95 14.23% 3 99.95 25.02% 3.1 129.95 30.02% 3.2 149.95 15.39% 4 169.95 13.34% 4.1 189.95 11.77% 5 209.95 10.53% 5.1 219.95 4.76% 6 239.95 9.09% Of course, these are prices for new customers. Upgrades are another story. From what I remember, a great alternative back then was Studio Boss. Unfortunately it seems it hasn't been updated since 2005. I ended up using Activity & Expense Tracker Plus for a few years. The interface is a bit ugly, but worked fine for my needs years ago. $240 is not that much from an organizational perspective, but still this is not a program that I would consider buying. It does have some nice 5-star reviews from people who had never posted any reviews ;)
Like (1)
Version 6.0.2
3 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
09 October 2008
Sorry about the table. It looks horrible, but looked fine before posting. It's supposed to show the program's version, its price, and the percentage of price increase.
Like
Version 6.0.2
tom
tom
10 October 2008
Yes, we've started asking our users to post their feedback on Macupdate and Version Tracker because of the few users (and non-users) who like to stick around and post negative reviews regarding pricing and issues from years ago that have been fixed. Check out the pricing for one of our competitors: http://www.clientsandprofits.com/sales/promo/ "One-time charge A single-user version of Clients & Profits Pro X costs $11,499* per location. A single-user version of Clients & Profits Job Tracker X costs $7,799*, while a single-user version of Clients & Profits Classic X costs $4,999*. The optional My Clients & Profits! web server costs $2,499. There are no additional up-front charges. Shipping and sales tax are not included. Additional users Additional concurrent users cost $499, $549, or $599 each." We have a large number of C&P converts that have gone from paying that much money to $240 for the first seat. These are some of the people that are ecstatically posting 5 star reviews. If you're comparing Studiometry to a tiny time tracker or invoicing application then it will be more expensive. Studiometry is for companies that need to manage a business, not just run a timer. The thousands of users that are happy with Studiometry keep us growing and in business. The people who sit around and post on MacUpdate and Version Tracker about Studiometry being overpriced force us to ask our users to post their feedback on these sites. Thanks, Tom Iwaniec
Like
Version 6.0.2
Espiridion
Espiridion
10 October 2008
As I said before, $240 is not that much from an organizational perspective. Given the size of our projects, this amount is negligible. I certainly realize that this is a business application, not just a timer. And again, as I mentioned, still this is not a program that I would consider buying. I do wish you the best of luck with your thousands of customers, and thank you for clarifying who is posting the 5-star reviews.
Like
Version 6.0.3
Xplicit
22 September 2008
Way overpriced.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.1
Robl
16 September 2008
Studiometry has been in use in my office since v1.2.3 when I had a one person setup. We've now got five clients and one server and we've just upgraded to a site license. The reason we upgraded to the site license was two fold - 1. We were having problems with what seems to have been serial number conflicts that meant one of the clients wouldn't open without saying it was a trial version. 2. Because of the time of these issues and what was an upcoming release of v6 we could upgrade to the site license in v5 and get a free upgrade to 6 when released. Back to point #1: Over the years I have experienced problems of varying degrees, some of which have been mentioned in other comments here, but at every stage of the way I have found the developers to be very responsive and determined to resolve any issues I've had. Simply open a support ticket and they get to work on it pretty fast. Worst case scenario its taken them 24 hours to respond with a solution best case scenario they have gone back and over several times in a day to help trouble shoot with me. I would have to give the development top marks for their efforts on the support end of things. As I mentioned in point #2 I ran into difficulty with Studiometry 5 and I thought it was going to be the end of my studio using it to manage out information, there is a lot of it and I wasn't looking forward to changing program! Nick from the development team worked with me through their support system to try and find a solution for the problem I was having. This first became a serious issue for us on 6th June and he continued to work on this until 8th September when I upgraded to v6. This might seem like a long time to try and solve a problem but I took a holiday in the middle of it and when I came back there were several responses from Nick waiting for me, plus I like this program and didn't want to give up on it. Ultimately I decided to upgrade to a site license becasue of the serial number issue at v6 pre-release which meant I got a site licence for v5 that when v6 was released was upgraded for free. This was the best thing I could have done. Let me say that again "This was the best thing I could have done". Studiometry 6 is heads and shoulders above previous versions of the program. The initial loading takes a bit longer than usual but this is because it is converting it to work with its new database structure. From then on it opens in 10 - 15 seconds in my experience on several different macs in the office. More importantly (ask my staff) it closes at speeds Usain Bolt would be proud off, so they get to go home without having to wait and see if it closes before the go out the door shaving several minutes of the world record time for leaving the office at the end of the day, in fact several personal best have also been broken since the upgrade - there is talk of random drug testing but I think its just an improvement in technology thats the difference. ;) If you haven't done it upgrade to version 6 - I'm not getting anything for saying this - but the positives (speed, improved features, etc.) far out weighs the negative (price, which isn't bad compared to what's out there). Some other things: Invoicing: Take a bit of time to understand how to set these up and it will be a better investment than any bank or stock (even in better times). It is incredible powerful so read/watch tutorials, create and test some yourself and find the solution that works for you. This programs flexibility is one of its greatest strengths but it is also one of it biggest hills to climb when it comes to the learning curve… keep trying and don't forget their support team. As somebody mentioned earlier take the time to figure out how your current workflow operates and set Studiometry up to work with you set up. A little bit of time here will bring its own rewards later. I've been using this for some years now and I'm still learning, but I see that as a positive. For anybody thinking about trying this out I would really recommend it. 5/5
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
Igoraz
13 September 2008
Studiometry has been a part of my design practice work flow since version 4. I have used it primarily to keep a database of clients, projects and invoicing. The software has been easy to set up, with the only exception of invoice and report templates that took some getting used to. The software has improved over time quite a bit, and the follow through on getting new features and resolving bugs has been very good, especially in the past few months. With version 6 estimating is becoming a viable part of the software for me, with the added ability to create itemized and highly detailed estimates. I would highly recommend this software for freelancers, one person studios and professionals in creative fields. The price point is excellent - compare $219 price tag with PrintSmith at a few thousand dollars. Additional seats do seem expensive, compared to the cost of initial license, but still very doable. A few tips: Overall: Write out your work flow before setting up the software. Run a few projects in your mind and follow each step to see how the software may be of assistance or use during those steps. Read help, watch tutorial videos. Really. There are a lot of features in the software, and it is one that is the backbone of the practice - so knowing obscure features could help a lot. Make additional backups of your data files, template files to a CD or removable drive. Invoice/Estimate templates: Create your invoice/estimate first in a desktop publishing software to know all the things you need to include and understand the flow of it. Print out a list of variables to have it handy when you are editing in visual template editor. It helps a lot especially when you are mixing text and variables. Make backups of your templates you're about to edit through export feature in the visual template editor Debt/Credit Categories: Very useful when you have different rates for different clients, discounts, common expenses, etc - those are set up in Preferences in Categories. Tech. Support/Bug resolution Contact the developers - post bugs and questions on the support system - no other way they'll get resolved. I've used Studiometry support about 5 times in past few years, always to find resolution and quick answers. Personal wish list: InDesign plugin that would allow creation of nicely laid out and typeset documents with data from the program. Trade/Barter billing setting would be wonderful, a lot of accounts that I have employ partial trade or barter and would be good to see which vendors you have credit with at a glance. A more evolved system of discounts - percentages, automatically applied, etc.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.1
Stormchild
09 September 2008
Holy massive price jump, Batman. You guys want $240 for this now? Good luck!
Like (2)
Version 6.0
Dereklerner
20 January 2008
Studiometry v. 5.0.7 Address Book syncing not functioning correctly. MAC OSX 10.5.1 Address Book syncing and Studiometry v. 5.0.7 does not seem to be communicating with Address Book correctly. Address 1:, Address2:, City, State/Prov:, ZIP, & Country are not showing up for contacts in Address Book and these fields are not pulled into Studiometry. If a contact is an associated contact to a Client there seems to not be a way to enter in or view this associated contacts Company name within Studiometry. (1/20/2008, Version: 5.0.7)
Like
Version 5.0.7
Sonjay
03 December 2007
This program allows me to track my billing and generate invoices faster and easier than any other program I've tried. But its comprehensive feature set makes it difficult to learn. I was disappointed when Oranged.net shut down their user forums a while back. There's a new Studiometry Forum for user--to-user support at http://www.studiometryforum.com
Like (1)
Version 5.0.5
1 answer(s)
Dereklerner
Dereklerner
20 January 2008
Studiometry v. 5.0.7 Address Book syncing not functioning correctly. MAC OSX 10.5.1 Address Book syncing and Studiometry v. 5.0.7 does not seem to be communicating with Address Book correctly. Address 1:, Address2:, City, State/Prov:, ZIP, & Country are not showing up for contacts in Address Book and these fields are not pulled into Studiometry. If a contact is an associated contact to a Client there seems to not be a way to enter in or view this associated contacts Company name within Studiometry.
Like
Version 5.0.7
Nergize
31 July 2007
We've used studiometry for the past 6 or so months in our studio and it is constantly a headache. If you want to use it in a shared environment, forget it. We have one copy set up on one computer (that only runs this program) as the server, and all of the employees connect to it. About 1/2 the time when we try to connect, it fails and usually can only start working again if we reboot the machine. Don't even bother with the built-in calendar. It's worthless. And despite what the site says, it won't sync with ical. Well, not usefully at least. The price is ridiculous! $190 for something this difficult to use? If you're in a studio setting, the price get's crazy. For 6 people it was over $800. And you're lucky to get a response if you email the developer.
Like
Version 4.1.5
4 answer(s)
Mjdth
Mjdth
31 July 2007
Hello. If you have issues we offer free tech support on our site and via email, as well as paid phone support. If the server software is crashing you may want to check if it isn't getting along with another program, or possibly there is an issue with the server machine. You can use any machine that is regularly running as a server, so you may want to simply try changing servers. Please contact us via our support board or contact me personally via email at tom at oranged dot net. Also the current price for 6 users is roughly $690, and if you purchased 6 months ago it would have been even cheaper. As an example of the pricing of one of our competitors, Daylite 3 is $650 for 5 users and the project management and invoicing features are purchased separately as their Billings program. Thanks for your feedback.
Like
Version 4.1.5
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
25 August 2007
And as everyone can see, the developer does not understand the criticism he and his company and product receives. As when he above states the crashes could be because of a conflict with another app, while the original post clearly states that the machine ONLY runs Studiometry. Pretty stupid then to try and help by stating it may be a conflict with another app. And, apart from that, another app or not - Studiometry ran in a server(network environment has never been a stable experience. If the developer still had his forums online, a search would reveal that Studiometry+server=crap and headaches.
Like
Version 4.1.5
Tim27
Tim27
31 October 2007
and still the invoicing is awful is try to use.
Like
Version 5.0.4
Sonjay
Sonjay
03 December 2007
We've launched a Studiometry forum to replace the previous forums that Oranged.net pulled down, in an effort to recapture the helpful user-to-user support that was so valuable on the previous forums. Please join us at http://www.studiometryforum.com
Like
Version 5.0.5
Osku-Inc-
08 May 2007
I disagree with many of the complaints outlined in this group. I have been using Studiometry with my design business for about a year and find it has all the tools I need to track projects and bill my clients appropriately. In fact it has more features than I need, and it's good to know they are there incase the need arises. I have had no stability problems, it runs just fine. The invoices can be a little intimidating to custom create from scratch but that flexibility is fantastic when you want a look specific to your corporate image. The fact that you can create a template inside the software or through Illustrator and InDesign makes it a very usable and flexible tool. I send most of my invoices as PDF by email and it does a perfect job every time. It also reminds me nicely when client bills are overdue. It is a big tool to learn and I suspect that the majority of the complaints are due to people not reading the documentation fully, and with performance issues their equipment maybe poorly configured and maintained to begin with. I look forward to enhanced and improved versions of the software.
Like
Version 4.1.3
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
10 May 2007
you didn't read the Feb 20th posting and replies did you?
Like
Version 4.1.3
EpicMonkey
12 March 2007
We really love this program and it get our daily work done. We use one mac as a server, and use 3 macs and 1 pc as clients. Never had any problem or data lost. This program is also great for European companies because of the tax/vat possibilities this program has. We use it as/for: - a project manager database; - as a crm; - printing invoices; - timekeeper. Though the program is sometimes a bid hard to get used to, you can customize endlessly, after a while you can't live without it (and that is scary ;-)) Sorry for my cr@p English.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Jonlink
20 February 2007
I tried this and a lot of other applications like it out. If Studiometry was designed to crash a lot, then it is designed very well. But since it probably isn't, I'd say it isn't designed very well. It looks kind of pretty, but the invoices suck dirt. In my research I have also never seen anything but complaints about support, even when people find bugs (heck, just look at the reviews here). It is also tough to get the informaiton you put in out, if you'd like to switch applications... which, in my experience, you will (thank goodness I didn't put too much into while testing). For the price I'd want no crashes and excellent support. I've been testing Billings and its invoice system is great, it hasn't crashed once, is easy on the eyes, does what I need, and has a much more reasonable price.
Like
Version 4.1.1
14 answer(s)
Mjdth
Mjdth
21 February 2007
The reviews here show Studiometry as 4/5 stars, even with people who don't use the program nor own it putting up 1 star reviews because they didn't need Studiometry. The invoices being "terrible" seems like an irrational argument, being that you can completely modify any aspect of the templates. The visual templates give you the ability to edit with the built in WYSIWYG editor, giving anyone the ability to come up with the exact look they desire. We just released an update today fixing a few small bugs, so we're obviously still developing and supporting Studiometry. Our user base is made up of Professionals who spend their time working and need Studiometry to track their vital business information, not people who spend more time posting bad reviews on MacUpdate than actually trying out the program.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Jonlink
Jonlink
21 February 2007
I played with modifying the templates and it was easily one of the most annoying times I've had working with a template system ever, and I've used a lot. I write xhtml, css, php and a handful of other stuff so if I can't do it easily I doubt anyone could do it easily. I tested Studiometry for a while- the whole demo period. Are you are saying that the demo period isn't enough time for a person to know if the application works well? And if so who's fault is that? I didn't set the length of the demo period. You did. I tried using your application, and I researched other user's experiences, honestly. I gave it a bad review because that is what it deserves. I'm just thankful I bought Billings instead (right after I read your reply). I need an application that does all the things Studiometry does, but I need it to be reliable and I need to know that the developer(s) are going to be there if the application goes south AND it's nice to know that they aren't just spending their time attacking people on MacUpdate for sharing an honest experience. The funny part is I rarely write reviews, but you seem to imply that I spend time bad-mouthing folks. Meanwhile a look at the reviews for Studiometry seems to show that you spend quite a bit of time on here being rude to people.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Mjdth
Mjdth
21 February 2007
There is no code involved in making an invoice template in Studiometry. Here is a screenshot of the template editor: http://www.oranged.net/studiometry/screenshots2/visualinvoiceeditor.jpg It's a what you see is what you get editor, and it doesn't get much simpler than that. Studiometry also has hundreds of features that billings does not have (including completely customizable invoices), hence the price difference. If Studiometry is not for you, we completely understand. Billings is a good program, some people need less, some need more. But there's no reason to go around bad mouthing a program that you haven't used enough to try the features you're complaining about.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Tim27
Tim27
21 February 2007
jonlink is pretty much dead on about the invoicing. I wrote in an earlier post that I had an easier time creating an entire database in FileMaker Pro to do my invoicing than I did trying to edit the so-called WYSIWYG templates. If you want to customize them at all you need to know xml. And even then, they DO NOT turn out just like you want them to. I played around with the demo enough to know that I don't want to spend hours and hours learning xml and editing templates in a program that is "supposed" to increase my productivity.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Mjdth
Mjdth
21 February 2007
There is no XML or code involved in the visual templates. Just look at the screenshot I posted earlier. http://www.oranged.net/studiometry/screenshots2/visualinvoiceeditor.jpg Studiometry has another way of creating templates, which can produce code (such as XML or HTML) but you in no way need to use this advanced section of the program. Check out the screenshot here: http://www.oranged.net/studiometry/screenshots2/visualinvoiceeditor.jpg You do not need to know any code to drag items around and select properties and their values. You put what you want where you want it.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Saosinned
Saosinned
21 February 2007
I'm not exactly sure what in the world is wrong with Tim27 and Jonlink, but I'm going to have to side with the developer on this one. There is no knowledge of code required to make an invoice or an invoice template. I know no HTML, no XML, or any of the other codes you've mentioned, but I made an invoice template that I use every week in about 20 minutes. You drag the elements of the invoice with the mouse and specify with the mouse what information you want in what location. Most likely, the users screaming and yelling here simply work for the makers of Billings or whatever program they spend countless posts speaking about. Studiometry is a great program that I use every day, and it's truly sad that people waste their time (and the developers' time) posting idiotic and incorrect comments on download websites.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Jonlink
Jonlink
21 February 2007
"Studiometry also has hundreds of features that billings does not have (including completely customizable invoices), hence the price difference." That is just a lie. Billings does have a wonderful way to create a custom invoice, much better than Studiometry's. That is one of the things I like most about it. You can modify one of their beautiful existing invoices or make one from scratch. The interface for this is easy to use, unlike Studiometry's which is clunky and difficult. It's pure speculation on my part, but I am guessing you couldn't even name one hundred, muchless hundreds, of features that Billings doesn't have. Especially considering you don't seem to know anything about what Billings does have for features. If anyone is serious about making a good looking invoice they would be very frustrated by Studiometry's "WYSIWYG" version. Before making claims about competitors you should be sure you are correct, especially when saying their application can't do something, when it actually does it a lot better. My opinion is that getting anything half decent out of Studiometry (as far as invoices are concerned) requires you to hand code, and that is a total nightmare. This is the last I am dealing with this. It isn't my battle, but I couldn't let that amazing lie stand. Also, to the person who speculates I work for Billings. Shame on you. I mentioned Billings because I appreciate a reasonable alternative being offered when I read reviews that tell me a product isn't worth buying. So I offered one to folks that might read my review. And characterizing my posts as "countless" and "screaming" is just wrong, since there is now (counting this one) a total of three- three is not really countless at all. I don't know where "screaming comes from, but I can only tell you that I am not screaming. Honest. And I only mention Billings again and again because it was my original point of comparison and what I see as the most reasonable alternative. I've tried things like iRatchet and iBiz and I didn't like them as much, so why would I tell people to try those? My hope is that people check out a few applications, read a bunch of reviews for all the applications they are considering (maybe in this case focus on people's experience with support), and decide for themselves which works best for them. This has been interesting, but I can't waste anymore time debating on MacUpdate.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Tim27
Tim27
22 February 2007
Have you people argueing for Studiometry even tried PRINTING an invoice?? It will only print low-res graphics of a logo. I've tried 300dpi tif and png files and it always prints a low-res 72dpi verion of it. That is not something I want to give to a client. Especially being a graphic designer. The only way to get a good print out is using the xml tags in another program like Illustrator or InDesign. A complete waste of time. Because I could do that without buying Studiometry.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Olipower
Olipower
25 February 2007
The developer stated: "Studiometry also has hundreds of features that billings does not have (including completely customizable invoices), hence the price difference." Indeed that is both untrue, and... paradoxically... what makes Studiometry slow, buggy, clumpy. Featuritis. Studiometry can do so much, it just does not do it WELL at all! The invoice feature... The "Planning" feature... the later being a GANTT chart - but an utterly useless implementation of a GANTT chart. And the developer should have spend more time replying to support-issues and valid user-feedback, than to badmouth reviewers here. But Tom, the developer, does have a clear tendency to hear what he want to hear, and somehow deliberately "misunderstand" user gripes. Like above where he assumes he has valid answers, yet just plain does not answer the real issue. And that's coming from a long-time Studiometry user (v1.1 - v3.9) who recently swithed to... Tadahhh: Billings 2;-) And yes, it is indeed better!
Like
Version 4.1.1
Thirstyrobot
Thirstyrobot
10 April 2007
Add me the list of the disappointed. I tried to like this application. Given the price tag, I expected a much higher level of refinement and reliability than what it offered. It comes down to finding the right balance of price and features. For me, Billings can't be beat because it concentrates on mastering a shorter list of features for a fraction of the price. The deal-breaker for me is having complete flexibility to design my invoice template to my liking. And while the report editor in Billings has a learning curve to it, it's the one that delivers.
Like
Version 4.1.2
Joshuar
Joshuar
21 May 2007
I had to create a MacUpdate to respond to the remarks made by the apparent developer of Studiometry. I will do my best not to swear. I'll address his comment point by point for clarity - I apologize in advance for the repetition of his drivel: "The reviews here show Studiometry as 4/5 stars, even with people who don't use the program nor own it putting up 1 star reviews because they didn't need Studiometry." What an arrogant statement. Has it ever occurred to you that your app might not actually be perfect?! Way to take negative feedback dude. Instead of being graceful and improving your product you decide to insult those who offer their legitimate opinions? Really? "The invoices being "terrible" seems like an irrational argument, being that you can completely modify any aspect of the templates." We've tried, and yes, it sucks! It is possible to push stuff around, but it is like trying to do brain surgery with a shovel. "The visual templates give you the ability to edit with the built in WYSIWYG editor, giving anyone the ability to come up with the exact look they desire." Prove it! You cant! The templates on the site suck, and you feel like suck trying to use your template designer. Think about it - we are a user base of people who criticize Adobe for their insufficiencies! You're template designer doesn't cut it dude, and defending it makes you look ignorant, or unscrupulous.. "We just released an update today fixing a few small bugs, so we're obviously still developing and supporting Studiometry." But I havent seen an actual improvement since I tried it last time a couple years ago. "Our user base is made up of Professionals who spend their time working and need Studiometry to track their vital business information, not people who spend more time posting bad reviews on MacUpdate than actually trying out the program." Well that's just icing, aint it? That is the kind of attitude that will keep my money a very far way from your pocket, forever. Hello Billings (http://www.billings2.com/), here I come!
Like
Version 4.1.3
Olipower
Olipower
21 May 2007
I used Studiometry since version 1.11 up til the latest version 3.x.x where I got quite saddened by the 4.x.x update. No improvements, only new bloat. Anyway, yes the developers attitude is stubborn to put it mildly. And yes, in my years with Studiometry, I never made an invoice myself. Too impossible. Same goes for the "wysiwyg" tool given in SM4. Now, Billings' invoice tool is something that works. It's not InDesign, but it works beautifully. And, in the new version of Billings, it integrates with Merlin the super project management app. Together those two apps costs only a tad more than Studiometry. But then you get two Cocoa apps, that both rock in their domains! Not to push competing products, but Tom the developer of Studiometry has not been the most problemsolving dude in my years of having trouble with Studiometry, with no support, miscalculations, currency-trouble, stability, sync-issues, you name it.
Like
Version 4.1.3
Sonjay
Sonjay
02 December 2007
All of you Studiometery users who were disappointed when Oranged.net pulled down their user-to-user support forums, feel free to visit http://www.studiometryforum.com We can replace the helpful user environment that the Studiometry people took away from us some time ago.
Like
Version 5.0.5
Escoles
Escoles
30 May 2008
My agency used Studiometry (or tried to) for a couple of years. It was hell. When used on OS X 10.4 Macs in a group setting, Studiometry tended to accumulate multiple gigabytes of backup files on each workstation, which had to be synchronized across our 10/100 LAN at each startup. Consequently, startups would often take up to 20 minutes. Since some configuration changes and database updates wouldn't "take" unless you forced a synchronization by shutting down and restarting, people would put off restarting as long as possible. Once consequence was that it was difficult to get accurate reports. With at least one version update, the locally stored Studiometry database was rendered incompatible with the version we had on the network. Took me about an hour and a half to recover from that experiment. The performance was so poor and the user interaction design on the other features was sufficiently arcane that we never considered trying to use it for anything but time tracking. All the while, I'd continue to see glowing reviews from people who never actually used it, like magazine writers or software reviewers. They'd install it, unlimber a list of tests and perform them, run through a checklist, and Studiometry would do just fine. It's in the actual using of it that you'd notice the warts, though. The multi-gigabyte backup caches, for example, and the 20-minute startup times, would only be visible after months of use. All in all, a pretty dismal failure.
Like
Version 5.1.2
Pixelmac
18 January 2007
Studiometry is great for one single user, and it does have many interface issues to be solved. I like it very much, but I am about to move to FileMaker Pro instead. FileMaker has many ready made tools that does what Studiometry do, but much better. Also, with FileMaker you can add your own features in a snap, and it is very fast. FileMaker is king as wlways !
Like
Version 4.0.3
Danilod
25 November 2006
I've been hearing good comments about this application and it appeared to me as a great solution to quickly organize a small team. So i decided to give it a try. Yesterday, I installed version 4.1 in two Windows Pcs (not yet in my mac), one of them as a server. I suppose time goes by really fast as the the "30 day free trial" lasted only 50 minutes in my client PC. I posted a new ticket right after that. I'll let you know if I get any reply from the developers. If I get this solved, I will keep on testing the application during the trial period. However, i have a major concern that may prevent me from finally buying the product: Have anybody tried this software on a team of more than 8 members, i mean 8 client intallations (not all of them in a local network)? I read a comment saying that Studiometry can gets too slow when you make it grow. Thanks.
Like
Version 4.0.2
4 answer(s)
Aqtinc
Aqtinc
28 November 2006
This app is written in RealBasic. RB is not a bad choice for a developer that needs to deploy on Mac and Windows, but it is always behind the curve for both environments. For example, even though Universal Binary has been the recommended standard on Macs for more than a year now, RB still hasn't got their implementation quite right. Studiometry will not scale up well. As a RB app, it lacks the efficiency that either a VisualStudio or Cocoa app will have, and will bog down quickly as users are added. It is a great app in the hands of your billing administrator, but look for something else to do the daily T&E tracking for each of your other users. They can then submit their T&Es to your billing admin for proper handling in Studiometry. That's where we're at. Not the ideal solution, but for us, Studiometry's other benefits far outweigh the switch to some other solution.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Danilod
Danilod
28 November 2006
Thanks for your reply. Now I understand why they are offering an "unlimited licenses" buy option :) I think I will go and try something web based then. BTW, i'm still waiting for Studiometry support team response :) I definitely won't spend a dollar in a non-opensource application that has no support, and doesn't cover all my needs. I hope one of these days, someone at Studiometry reads this thread and take it serious. That day, they may stop loosing clients. Thanks for all the info guys!
Like
Version 4.0.3
Mjdth
Mjdth
28 November 2006
We have most likely responded to your inquiry. Make sure that our mail did not get filtered as Junk, and if you opened a support ticket, simply go back to the ticket page to view our response. Studiometry scales up quit well and we have companies with 50+ users and 1000+ project in the program running fine. Its not going to be as fast as a blank data Studiometry, but it works perfectly fine and you experience almost no delays. Studiometry has Universal Binary support, and with 4.0.3 it is no longer a beta. And with Studiometry being written in RealBasic, it gives us the advantage of only having to develop our program once, instead of splitting resources to make a Mac and Windows product that will most likely not match up exactly. RealBasic is a strong product that is always getting better, and Studiometry is the same.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Danilod
Danilod
29 November 2006
Thanks for the developer's reply. I double checked my spam folder and found no response. I suppose it was a technical failure of my or yours email system. I've opened a new ticket describing the problem I'd already described in this thread at the begining. I see you updated Studiometry from v. 4.0.1 (which I was using) to 4.0.3, available now for download. Hopefully this new version will solve the bug. Thanks, Danilo
Like
Version 4.0.3
Aqtinc
16 October 2006
I've been a Studiometry user for more than 2 years now, and have been very pleased with the product. It's worked very well for us, and while I've never had a support issue, the software has run well and has been continually updated with what I consider to be a sterling record... ...until now DON'T USE THE 4.0.2 UPDATE It will not recognize your prefs or backup data and will continually loop you through a 'data corrupted' error message asking you to restore from backup. If you quit the app, then your data will be lost and while the backup files are present, you can't load them. If you force quit out of the app, you will lose you license data. Thank God I kept a complete backup of the users/.../Library/Application Support/Studiometry folder and the .dmg file for version 4.0.1. I was able to recover everything. Version 4 is a dog running on Rosetta, but version 4.0.1 does work albeit slowly. AGAIN, DON'T USE THE 4.0.2 UPDATE -- at least not before backing up your old version of the app, it's support files, and your Studiomtery data folder.
Like
Version 4.0.2
5 answer(s)
Mjdth
Mjdth
16 October 2006
Studiometry automatically backs up your data whenever you attempt to run a new version of the program. Also, we have all of the old versions available at: http://www.oranged.net/software/download/archives/ If you are experiencing an issue, please open a support ticket and let us know about it via our website.
Like
Version 4.0.2
Aqtinc
Aqtinc
17 October 2006
In fairness to the developer, who as I said has a sterling record of performance with us, it would not surprise me one bit if the source of the problem traces back to REALbasic's recently released update. They've (RB) had a horrible track record with code defects (see the reviews here in Macupdate) and I am delibrately holding off on the upgrade because I simply don't believe their first release of Universal Binary support will be correct. I hope this gets resolved quickly. We love Studiometry, but would love it more in UB.
Like
Version 4.0.2
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
17 October 2006
Well, wouldn't it just be neat if Studiometry was built with de facto standard Xcode from Apple, beautiful Cocoa, and not with flawed, slowly adapting, buggy RealBasic? Then the universal binary would have been a reality like... a year ago... And furthermore, wouldn't it be nice if the developer, Tom, fully tested the releases before letting premium-paying customers be lab-rats, and loose valuable time solving trouble? Or at the very least marking it BETA, like: "Studiometry 4.1.b1 Universal Binary - this is a public beta, not yet stable..." And wouldn't it be nice if a Studiometry-customer could have faith in the support-system of Studiometry? Records clearly show how Studiometry free support equals: Studiometry support-free;-/
Like
Version 4.0.2
Mjdth
Mjdth
18 October 2006
(a) Studiometry cannot be built in Cocoa because it is a cross platform tool that runs on Mac and Windows. RealBasic is the best solution to do this. (b) We have noted on our site that Studiometry 4.0.2 is a beta release and have that displayed by every download link of the beta update. (c) If you need support please use http://support.oranged.net/ Generally posting a response to someone else's review on an independent software download website isn't the best way of getting support from a developer. We respond to every ticket made on our support site and help everyone who has any questions as much as possible. Kind Regards, Tom Iwaniec
Like
Version 4.0.2
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
18 October 2006
Tom, while I realize Studiometry is used by cross-platform teams, I can only talk from my own use, and I for one, like arguably many other mac-users, don't care about a Windows version - as stated before, I'd rather have a native Mac OS X cocoa built app, that works flawlessly on my OS of choice. I've been a paying customer of Studiometry way back since before a Windows version was released. How come you think I'm here for support now? Have i asked any questions? No. Have I expressed a deep lack of confidence in Studiometry development and support? Yes. I'm not writing because I need support in this instance, I'm writing because I feel the need to comment on my own and fellow Studiometry users unfortunate issues with development and support in the past. A past where you just plain DID NOT answer support queries. Not just mine, but many other users as well. And carelessly shut down the forum. Read up on the comments here on Macupdate and Versiontracker for enlightenment. I have tried 4.0 and I have not upgraded. I am deeply disappointed with the development and support of Studiometry in the last year. It is my right to express in sane words my experiences with a company and its product. A product that I've used for 4 years. And enough is enough. With your support-less time off the last months, I believe you've really shot yourself in the foot. You need a very good spindoctor to patch this IMO.
Like
Version 4.0.2
Mjdth
08 October 2006
We are now offering additional support for users requiring more than just the free online support. We still offer the unlimited free online support via email and our support ticket site. It's simply another option for users who require more support options.
Like
Version 4.0.1
1 answer(s)
Olipower
Olipower
14 October 2006
Considering the non-existent quality of the non-existent support during the latter 6+ months, free support sound to me more like support-free!
Like
Version 4.0.1
Tim27
08 October 2006
So, let me get this straight... Oranged Software is basically a shareware sfotware company, like it or not. You are not Adobe. You only make one software application. You are charging $170 for this software. That is fine, it may be worth it to some people. Though, as far as I can tell, you have not improved the invoicing features to make them easier to use. However, you are now CHARGING for paid tech support options? This is crazy. By all the flak you have received on this site alone for your support, you should realize that this isn't a good idea. Plus, the support options are EXPENSIVE! A single incident is $30. Give me a break. I recommend people interested in this software take a serious look at Filemaker Pro. You would be better off investing your money and time on software that has multiple uses such as Filemaker than a one trick pony like Studiometry.
Like
Version 4.0.1
Bumbleb
30 September 2006
The new version for sure has some additions, but I would not call it a complete overhaul of the interface. The reason I'm not upgrading to version 4.x right away is: 1. Support - whatever Tom (the developer) says now, I don't find any comfort in all the previous unanswered communication. It is crucial, and unforgivable, considering the extensive period it's been a problem for many people, including paying customers like me. 2. Studiometry is built with RealBasic. Studiometry is therefore not a native cocoa Universal Binary. What it means to me is for example: 2a. An app like Afloat that makes it possible to make selected windows of cocoa apps transparent simply does not work with Studiometry. Why? It is not cocoa. Cocoa is the de facto norm for sexy, well-integrated Mac OS X apps. 2b. Studiometry is still a native PPC app, and some people complain it is not very stable under Rosetta on Intel. 2c. I like a unified interface and have therefore installed UNO, which makes Finder, and practically ANY OTHER APP look gorgeous (no more brushed metal) well, apart from Studiometry. The single only application where the icons are not properly alpha-masked and therefore look now look like poor pre-millenium gif images. And various other display annoyances. Of course UNO is a third-party product but nevertheless; SM is the ONLY app I've seen have such trouble with UNO. 3. The upgrade from 3.2 to 4.0 is NOT a major update. Yes it adds some stability (wauw?) and bit of this and that - but the interface is still cumbersome, it still has known bugs and annoyances, and an old school interface. So, the bottom line: Studiometry is not modern. I want Cocoa, proper system integration, Universal Binary, AND a blog on the Studiometry website, so I can see what the developer is up to, and comment on his posts, and get replies. I am sorry to write all this so openly, but I've been a Studiometry follower since version 1.x - and recommending it widely, but no more.
Like
Version 4.0
Frequency
21 September 2006
As a potential new customer I have to admit I am slightly worried by the comments on the lack of technical support from this company. Studiometry looks like a great product but as somebody already mentioned trusting an unsupported application with business critical information is not a good idea. I had a look at the support section of oranged.net and found that a lot of the articles in the knowledgebase linked to non-existent or removed posts on the messageboard. I'm looking to trade up from a much simpler app called iRatchet for the additional functionality that Studiometry provides. iRatchet is a great little app and well supported by another one-man development team.
Like
Version 4.0
2 answer(s)
Mjdth
Mjdth
22 September 2006
We have created a whole new section of our site for Invoice Templates (http://templates.oranged.net) which is the only thing that our help files linked to the forums for. We are also working on custom forums that integrate with our StudiometryLink and our templates databases. If you'd like to view the templates, you can now do so at the new section of our site. - Tom
Like
Version 4.0
Frequency
Frequency
22 September 2006
Thanks for your quick reply, Tom. The post I was looking for was the information on how to integrate the xml output into a Indesign based template. Thanks.
Like
Version 4.0
Deadesq
19 September 2006
While I am pleased that Tom has posted here regarding the issues with the support system, it is the first I have heard from him in six months. I have left repeated messages, not only in the trouble ticket system, but direct emails to Tom. At one point, Tom was the most responsive developer I had ever seen. Then one day: nothing. I plan on staying with my current version of Studiometry, which although has some minor issues, is the most complete substitute we've found for Timeslips. When I am more comfortable that Tom and his company are in it for the long haul, I'll be happy to send more money for the updates. Not today, though.
Like
Version 4.0
Mjdth
12 September 2006
Regarding users' issues with the support: We've been in the process of completely revamping our support system and add to our online support system as well as adding completely new paid-for premium support plans. During this transition, there may have been a few support tickets lost or left without a response, and we apologize for this. We now have completed the transition and are back to our usual support. Kind Regards, Tom Iwaniec
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Deadesq
Deadesq
19 September 2006
While I am pleased that Tom has posted here regarding the issues with the support system, it is the first I have heard from him in six months. I have left repeated messages, not only in the trouble ticket system, but direct emails to Tom. At one point, Tom was the most responsive developer I had ever seen. Then one day: nothing. I plan on staying with my current version of Studiometry, which although has some minor issues, is the most complete substitute we've found for Timeslips. When I am more comfortable that Tom and his company are in it for the long haul, I'll be happy to send more money for the updates. Not today, though.
Like
Version 4.0
timstringer
11 September 2006
I've been using Studiometry since version 1. It's proved to be a capable solution and I've posted several positive reviews of the product. However, I'm withdrawing my recommendation of this product as, from my perspective, Oranged.net's customer and technical support is virtually non-existent. I have opened a few ticket over the past six months and none of these issues have been resolved. I'm not comfortable using an unsupported product for such a critical aspect of my company's operation and am curently seeking out alternatives. Until Oranged.net shows a greater commitment to their customers I recommend against using their products.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Christoph3
29 August 2006
Seems unstable on Intel. Anyone have success? Within 5 mintues crashed twice and lost data.
Like
Version 3.2.3
1 answer(s)
spinko
spinko
12 September 2006
just dl the demo but it has crashed several times on a PPC dual processor in less than 15 minutes... looks promising but seems very unstable..
Like
Version 4.0
Olipower
03 August 2006
Like the comment below, I also have the feeling Studiometry is a good, versatile application. I wrote support a ticket like 2 months ago, and it was answered swiftly. I then had a follow-up question, because the first reply did not solve my problem. That question was never answered. The ticket is still open. I then, 14 days later, posted again, asking why my question had not been replied to. No answer. A few weeks after that, I submitted a new ticket, and referred to the first one. No answer yet - and that is like a week ago. But Studiometry is a versatile app, and useful for my company. I've been a registered user since version 1.x ... That said, as can be seen from the above - Studiometry also has bugs and idiosyncratic behaviors. Now that version 4 is on the way, I feel a lot like not upgrading again.Stuidometry support is really bad. Always has been.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Scud
16 April 2006
Although I consider Studiometry quite satisfactory for a small company like mine, I must comment on their support system. I have created a ticket with the oranged helpdesk one month ago regarding the XML output and I still haven't heard one word from them. Not even an automated reply. The issue is that although it seems to accept non-latin characters for the description etc, and produces excellent HTML previews and files, when it comes to XML or plain text output, the non-latin characters are substituted by questionmarks. I really like its capabilities and its interface, it's very straight forward and it also comes in a Windows version which is crucial to my case. But, unless I can have an XML output which supports non-Latin characters, I must consider other alternatives.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Tim27
25 January 2006
This a very good software. However, after reviewing the demo I was unable to get the invoicing to work properly and it was very difficult to firgure out. I ended up creating my own solution in FileMaker. Which goes to show that if I can do that and not be able to figure out the invoicing, there is something that needs to be remedied in the software's usability. The rest of the program is very good and has many features that others don't.
Like
Version 3.2
Olipower
30 November 2005
Having used Studiometry since it's initial 1.0 release, and faithfully upgraded from there to 3.0, I can say Studiometry has improved vastly, and often I've been wondering wherefrom Tom (the developer) gets the energy to develop, support and even comment on the blah blah and complains here and there. I have followed Studiometry from being a flaky, newborn 1.x to the better 2.x to the powerful and indeed nice 3.x. Studiometry is the most complete creative studio / small / medium business solution. Period. I've tried literally ALL of the competing products, but either they lack something or focus a lot on one area, a few examples: Daylite = Customer Relations. Merlin = Project management. Timenet = Lacks features. F.e. client can only contain one contact. iBiz = unstable and confusing as hell despite its apparent simplicity of operation. StudioBoss = Toys'r'us Filemaker DIY kind of solution. But may be good for some. iRatchet = Looks promising, but lacks features. No to-do's, only one contact per client etc.. Studiometry is complete. Has everything I need though. Room for improvement but very good indeed.
Like
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
Binarypackrat
Binarypackrat
28 February 2006
I agree fully with this comment!
Like
Version 3.2.2
Anonymous
21 November 2005
To Jeff: The program is no longer considered "shareware." The price is actually $129.99. Studiometry is not some little timer that does invoices, it's a full fledged business/project/client manager. And I've never heard anyone honestly say that the option to try before you buy is a bad thing. You wouldn't buy a new car without test driving it, would you?
Like
Version 3.1.1
Nolavdo
21 November 2005
Studiometry is truly the best designed OSX software I have ever used. To say Timenet Pro is even comparable is silly. I will be purchasing Studiometry for my recording studio very soon. I love it. So there. I also think $129.99 is a Steal, and NO I do not work for them.
Like
Version 3.1.1